AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Rhoberta Shaler, iRegina Pounds, iRonald Yates, iAnn Marquette, iFrederick Brooke, iRichard Sharp, iAlexandra* OneLight*® Authors & Creations, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Randy Young

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Success story
· News
· Blog
· 0 Titles
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Mar, 2008

Randy Young, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Randy Young

Cut the Kudzu!
3/24/2008 3:53:40 AM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

Ever been told that you are full of it. I mean, full of too many words in your book or story. I have some observations about it.

I have always had a love for English, Literature, and all things Shakespeare. In high school, I would check out books of Shakespeare's plays and sit and read them. While some people were reading novels, I was reading Shakespeare. Weird, huh? That is me.


Okay, enough with the "fireside-chat," I was going to say something important. In English class we always tell the students to correct the daily oral language exercises by making the sentence shorter. I understand it to always be that way in writing. You should always say it in fewer words.


That is why manuscripts have to be cut, clipped, mowed, and  improved. The cutting makes them clearer. Itis kinda like pruning a tree so that it has a more pleasing shape. (Forgive the informal writing here. I am treating you like my friend. You are my friend, right?)


The local librarian says that EASY BOOK'S sentences should not be any longer than ten words. Some books that are meant for the next group should contain no more than fourteen words per sentence. At our school, most teachers agree that Jr. High students should read sentences of no more than twenty words.



Writing can be considered in the same light as public speaking, "Keep it simple." We do not like "wordy" speakers, so be careful becoming a "wordy" writer.

I bet some of you think that of my "blogs." I can go on and on sometimes. In those cases, it must be said, no matter how long it takes. I just went against what I said above. Here I go, again.

I can get on my "soapbox" and go on an on. Once, when I was teaching fifth grade, I found myself on my soapbox and far away from the subject. I said, "How did I get here?" A student then raised his hand and began to tell me how I said one thing and it led to another and so on and so on. I had to laugh. How true, how true!

Just realize that change will happen. Do not hold onto your manuscript like it is some sacred cow. No one is going to worship it. No one is going to morn the cuts, when they are gone. Sadly to say, no one will notice their passing. It is almost like having a funeral without a body.

If at some time you find that I did not take my own advice and was wordy. Please, forgive!


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Randy Young
• Writing Contest - Wednesday, October 22, 2008
• Writing Contest - Tuesday, September 30, 2008
• Sleepy Town Press - Saturday, September 20, 2008
• NEWS as promised!!! - Friday, September 12, 2008
• New Publisher Coming - Wednesday, September 10, 2008
• Slow Down, You're Moving Too Fast - Thursday, August 28, 2008
• Sorry for being gone so long - Friday, August 08, 2008
• Summer Slump - Friday, July 25, 2008
• TALK RADIO: JOIN ME - Saturday, July 05, 2008
• Writing Contests - Monday, June 30, 2008
• Television Interview - Thursday, June 26, 2008
• PLEASE: Listen and Call in, if possible. - Sunday, June 22, 2008
• Frustration is spelled with a capital letter - Monday, June 09, 2008
• Life is Unfair - Wednesday, June 04, 2008
• MY BOOK IS LISTED ONLINE - Friday, May 30, 2008
• Does your story smell? - Thursday, May 29, 2008
• My Epiphany - Tuesday, May 27, 2008
• Something part 5 - Friday, May 23, 2008
• Something Part 4 - Thursday, May 22, 2008
• Something part 3 - Wednesday, May 21, 2008
• Something Part 2 - Tuesday, May 20, 2008
• Something that I have never done before - Monday, May 19, 2008
• The "write way to write" - Wednesday, May 14, 2008
• I was born a rambling man - Wednesday, May 14, 2008
• Official Release of SleepyTown - Monday, May 12, 2008
• Sure-fire-ways to plan a Short Story - Friday, May 09, 2008
• Is your Short Story screaming and yelling, “I want to be a NOVEL?” - Wednesday, May 07, 2008
• How Do I Know That My Short Story Deserves To Be A Novel? - Tuesday, May 06, 2008
• What's Your Story? - Monday, May 05, 2008
• Reach Out and Touch - Wednesday, April 30, 2008
• Copyright In and Outs - Tuesday, April 29, 2008
• Where Do I Go From Here? - Monday, April 28, 2008
• A Mind Retreat - Friday, April 25, 2008
• Have you thought about your local Junior College? - Thursday, April 24, 2008
• Everything you ever wanted to know about being successful - Wednesday, April 23, 2008
• What others say about writing - Tuesday, April 22, 2008
• Finding Myself - Monday, April 21, 2008
• What makes for a Great Read - Friday, April 18, 2008
• SPRING BREAK - Friday, April 11, 2008
• Hot off The Press - Thursday, April 10, 2008
• How Do I Promote Myself? Let Me Count the Ways. - Wednesday, April 09, 2008
• BEWARE of Lions and Tigers and Bears - Tuesday, April 08, 2008
• Illustrating a Children's Book - Monday, April 07, 2008
• Tracking Submissions - Friday, April 04, 2008
• SleepyTown - Thursday, April 03, 2008
• SleepyTown Release!!! - Wednesday, April 02, 2008
• Creating your Frankenstein - Wednesday, April 02, 2008
• The TRUTH about Publishers and submissions - Tuesday, April 01, 2008
• Is it bad writing or BLIND FAITH? - Monday, March 31, 2008
• Fleas, Flies, and Fodder - Friday, March 28, 2008
• Palm Readers Have Nothing on Librarians - Thursday, March 27, 2008
• Things you should never put in a query letter - Wednesday, March 26, 2008
• Turn it upside down! - Tuesday, March 25, 2008
•  Cut the Kudzu! - Monday, March 24, 2008  
• Big Brother and the little guys - Friday, March 21, 2008
• Open Seza a Me - Thursday, March 20, 2008
• Ready...Set......Go! - Wednesday, March 19, 2008
• Speak to the senses - Tuesday, March 18, 2008
• Kicking against the pricks. - Monday, March 17, 2008
• Rejection sometimes goes deep - Saturday, March 15, 2008
• My visit to White Plains and Read Across America. - Friday, March 14, 2008
• Everyone has needs. - Thursday, March 13, 2008
• Leaving the starting block as a writer. - Wednesday, March 12, 2008
• Why do I want to write for children? - Tuesday, March 11, 2008
• Waiting for SleepyTown - Monday, March 10, 2008


On Splendid Wings_Love and Free Spirit by Vannessa Garrett

On Splendid Wings_Love and Free Spirit, has arrived! A book of collectives (poetry derived from Blackbutterfly Poetry & Art, Vol. 1 An exhilarating splendor of spiritual expressio..  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.