AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Pier Tyler, iChidi Asika-Enahoro, iPamela Ackerson, iTony Bertot, iDonna Lynch, im j hollingshead, iJeff Mason, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Randy Young

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Success story
· News
· Blog
· 0 Titles
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Mar, 2008

Randy Young, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Randy Young

Turn it upside down!
3/25/2008 5:19:30 AM

Take the time to look at your writing in a fresh and new way.

I have been painting for many years. I started out with oils and then moved into acrylics. I hated the way it took "years" for oils to dry. I would take oil paintings and place them in the car so that the heat would dry the paint. It worked.

I discovered something amazing. If you turn the painting upside down, walk away, and then turn and look at it, you see it in a new light. You can see what is not balanced and straight. It works. Why? You look at the painting so much that you get immune to seeing mistakes. Having the painting upside down forces you to see it in a new light.

Try this with your story. Chart the action. I am a visual person and often draw pictures to help me think. Sometimes, I start with the opening and chart the action of the story in order to see how it flows. I go from opening and move on up to the amazing-climax, then, I slowly come down to the ending. (I put amazing-climax just for fun.)

Speaking as a writer for children, try letting a child read it. Find a child that is on the reading level of your story. Listen to how the child reads it. Watch the face. See how the expressions are part of the story. It will change your writing. Let the child ask questions. They have a unique view that an adult can not grasp fully.

The other day, I went to a local elementary school for Read Across America. I read to around 120 first graders. They had a blast. I did, too. I read my story SleepyTown and shared the illustrations. Listening to them laugh at the right moments made my heart leap in my chest.

Before leaving, I showed them titles of works-in-progress and told them a little "tidbit" about it. When I came to a certain title, they gasped. I can not tell you how I felt. it made me get so excited about that story and made me want to bury myself knee-deep in writer's mud. I wanted to whip-out my notebook and work on the story right then and there. It made me realize how important two things really are to an idea: 1. Express the story in ONE good sentence. 2. Have a great attention getting title.

Whatever cranks your tractor! Go for it! You are a writer. You are an illustrator. You are a jewel. You are light. Shine people, shine!

 



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Randy Young
• Writing Contest - Wednesday, October 22, 2008
• Writing Contest - Tuesday, September 30, 2008
• Sleepy Town Press - Saturday, September 20, 2008
• NEWS as promised!!! - Friday, September 12, 2008
• New Publisher Coming - Wednesday, September 10, 2008
• Slow Down, You're Moving Too Fast - Thursday, August 28, 2008
• Sorry for being gone so long - Friday, August 08, 2008
• Summer Slump - Friday, July 25, 2008
• TALK RADIO: JOIN ME - Saturday, July 05, 2008
• Writing Contests - Monday, June 30, 2008
• Television Interview - Thursday, June 26, 2008
• PLEASE: Listen and Call in, if possible. - Sunday, June 22, 2008
• Frustration is spelled with a capital letter - Monday, June 09, 2008
• Life is Unfair - Wednesday, June 04, 2008
• MY BOOK IS LISTED ONLINE - Friday, May 30, 2008
• Does your story smell? - Thursday, May 29, 2008
• My Epiphany - Tuesday, May 27, 2008
• Something part 5 - Friday, May 23, 2008
• Something Part 4 - Thursday, May 22, 2008
• Something part 3 - Wednesday, May 21, 2008
• Something Part 2 - Tuesday, May 20, 2008
• Something that I have never done before - Monday, May 19, 2008
• The "write way to write" - Wednesday, May 14, 2008
• I was born a rambling man - Wednesday, May 14, 2008
• Official Release of SleepyTown - Monday, May 12, 2008
• Sure-fire-ways to plan a Short Story - Friday, May 09, 2008
• Is your Short Story screaming and yelling, I want to be a NOVEL? - Wednesday, May 07, 2008
• How Do I Know That My Short Story Deserves To Be A Novel? - Tuesday, May 06, 2008
• What's Your Story? - Monday, May 05, 2008
• Reach Out and Touch - Wednesday, April 30, 2008
• Copyright In and Outs - Tuesday, April 29, 2008
• Where Do I Go From Here? - Monday, April 28, 2008
• A Mind Retreat - Friday, April 25, 2008
• Have you thought about your local Junior College? - Thursday, April 24, 2008
• Everything you ever wanted to know about being successful - Wednesday, April 23, 2008
• What others say about writing - Tuesday, April 22, 2008
• Finding Myself - Monday, April 21, 2008
• What makes for a Great Read - Friday, April 18, 2008
• SPRING BREAK - Friday, April 11, 2008
• Hot off The Press - Thursday, April 10, 2008
• How Do I Promote Myself? Let Me Count the Ways. - Wednesday, April 09, 2008
• BEWARE of Lions and Tigers and Bears - Tuesday, April 08, 2008
• Illustrating a Children's Book - Monday, April 07, 2008
• Tracking Submissions - Friday, April 04, 2008
• SleepyTown - Thursday, April 03, 2008
• SleepyTown Release!!! - Wednesday, April 02, 2008
• Creating your Frankenstein - Wednesday, April 02, 2008
• The TRUTH about Publishers and submissions - Tuesday, April 01, 2008
• Is it bad writing or BLIND FAITH? - Monday, March 31, 2008
• Fleas, Flies, and Fodder - Friday, March 28, 2008
• Palm Readers Have Nothing on Librarians - Thursday, March 27, 2008
• Things you should never put in a query letter - Wednesday, March 26, 2008
•  Turn it upside down! - Tuesday, March 25, 2008  

• Cut the Kudzu! - Monday, March 24, 2008
• Big Brother and the little guys - Friday, March 21, 2008
• Open Seza a Me - Thursday, March 20, 2008
• Ready...Set......Go! - Wednesday, March 19, 2008
• Speak to the senses - Tuesday, March 18, 2008
• Kicking against the pricks. - Monday, March 17, 2008
• Rejection sometimes goes deep - Saturday, March 15, 2008
• My visit to White Plains and Read Across America. - Friday, March 14, 2008
• Everyone has needs. - Thursday, March 13, 2008
• Leaving the starting block as a writer. - Wednesday, March 12, 2008
• Why do I want to write for children? - Tuesday, March 11, 2008
• Waiting for SleepyTown - Monday, March 10, 2008


The WEALTH SECRETS You Must Know Before40 (eBook) by Jay Onwukwe

Becoming rich requires no miracle and no magic; only the knowledge and application of basic natural Laws, ancient Wisdom, common Secrets, biblical Truths and spiritual Principles t..  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.