AuthorsDen.com   Join | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Cindy Ziperman, iLindsey Webster, iAlexandra* OneLight* Authors & Creations, iCharles Neff, iTygo Lee, iGeorge Carroll, iW. Craig Reed, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Randy Young

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Success story
· News
· Blog
· 0 Titles
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Mar, 2008

Randy Young, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Early Access to Automated External Defibrillators
by Craig Hartpence

This manual is a step-by-step guide to establishing a Public Access Defibrillation System in a Business, Church, or any event where people gather. This new technology is ..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Randy Young

Palm Readers Have Nothing on Librarians
3/27/2008 3:47:27 AM    [ Flag as Spam or Inappropriate ]

Librarians know more than you think! You might just be amazed at what I am going to tell you.

As some of you know, because you have read my bio, I worked at the local Public Library for ten years. I had a blast being around books. Of course, I wanted to work in the Children's Department, but they made me work the Circulation Desk. I did visit the Children's Department often.

If you have not done this, visit your local library. Talk to the Children's Librarian. She knows what children are reading these days.

 Walk around the room and see what books she has out on tables and special displays.

Stand back and watch children as they enter. Watch what they like to do. Then, browse the shelves and see the most visited areas.  You can tell which areas have the most use.

Ask the librarian the following questions:

1. What books are children checking out over and over?

2. What book is asked for more than any other, but you can not keep it in the library?

3. What books are you reading to children in story-time?

4. What are your top ten books? Why did you select them?

5. What do you think is needed in the Children's Book World today?

6. If you were the author of a children's book, what kind would it be and why?

7. What advice would you give a person that wanted to write for children?

8. Then, ask the librarin to read something of yours and tell you what she thinks.

I will never forget something that Lanelle said to me. READ CHILDREN'S BOOKS. (To me, she meant "READ" from the heart. You need to feel it, know it, understand it. I think?)

What do you think? Got anything to add. I would love to hear from our librarians, too.



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Randy Young
• Writing Contest - Wednesday, October 22, 2008
• Writing Contest - Tuesday, September 30, 2008
• Sleepy Town Press - Saturday, September 20, 2008
• NEWS as promised!!! - Friday, September 12, 2008
• New Publisher Coming - Wednesday, September 10, 2008
• Slow Down, You're Moving Too Fast - Thursday, August 28, 2008
• Sorry for being gone so long - Friday, August 08, 2008
• Summer Slump - Friday, July 25, 2008
• TALK RADIO: JOIN ME - Saturday, July 05, 2008
• Writing Contests - Monday, June 30, 2008
• Television Interview - Thursday, June 26, 2008
• PLEASE: Listen and Call in, if possible. - Sunday, June 22, 2008
• Frustration is spelled with a capital letter - Monday, June 09, 2008
• Life is Unfair - Wednesday, June 04, 2008
• MY BOOK IS LISTED ONLINE - Friday, May 30, 2008
• Does your story smell? - Thursday, May 29, 2008
• My Epiphany - Tuesday, May 27, 2008
• Something part 5 - Friday, May 23, 2008
• Something Part 4 - Thursday, May 22, 2008
• Something part 3 - Wednesday, May 21, 2008
• Something Part 2 - Tuesday, May 20, 2008
• Something that I have never done before - Monday, May 19, 2008
• The "write way to write" - Wednesday, May 14, 2008
• I was born a rambling man - Wednesday, May 14, 2008
• Official Release of SleepyTown - Monday, May 12, 2008
• Sure-fire-ways to plan a Short Story - Friday, May 09, 2008
• Is your Short Story screaming and yelling, I want to be a NOVEL? - Wednesday, May 07, 2008
• How Do I Know That My Short Story Deserves To Be A Novel? - Tuesday, May 06, 2008
• What's Your Story? - Monday, May 05, 2008
• Reach Out and Touch - Wednesday, April 30, 2008
• Copyright In and Outs - Tuesday, April 29, 2008
• Where Do I Go From Here? - Monday, April 28, 2008
• A Mind Retreat - Friday, April 25, 2008
• Have you thought about your local Junior College? - Thursday, April 24, 2008
• Everything you ever wanted to know about being successful - Wednesday, April 23, 2008
• What others say about writing - Tuesday, April 22, 2008
• Finding Myself - Monday, April 21, 2008
• What makes for a Great Read - Friday, April 18, 2008
• SPRING BREAK - Friday, April 11, 2008
• Hot off The Press - Thursday, April 10, 2008
• How Do I Promote Myself? Let Me Count the Ways. - Wednesday, April 09, 2008
• BEWARE of Lions and Tigers and Bears - Tuesday, April 08, 2008
• Illustrating a Children's Book - Monday, April 07, 2008
• Tracking Submissions - Friday, April 04, 2008
• SleepyTown - Thursday, April 03, 2008
• SleepyTown Release!!! - Wednesday, April 02, 2008
• Creating your Frankenstein - Wednesday, April 02, 2008
• The TRUTH about Publishers and submissions - Tuesday, April 01, 2008
• Is it bad writing or BLIND FAITH? - Monday, March 31, 2008
• Fleas, Flies, and Fodder - Friday, March 28, 2008
•  Palm Readers Have Nothing on Librarians - Thursday, March 27, 2008  
• Things you should never put in a query letter - Wednesday, March 26, 2008
• Turn it upside down! - Tuesday, March 25, 2008
• Cut the Kudzu! - Monday, March 24, 2008
• Big Brother and the little guys - Friday, March 21, 2008
• Open Seza a Me - Thursday, March 20, 2008
• Ready...Set......Go! - Wednesday, March 19, 2008
• Speak to the senses - Tuesday, March 18, 2008
• Kicking against the pricks. - Monday, March 17, 2008
• Rejection sometimes goes deep - Saturday, March 15, 2008
• My visit to White Plains and Read Across America. - Friday, March 14, 2008
• Everyone has needs. - Thursday, March 13, 2008
• Leaving the starting block as a writer. - Wednesday, March 12, 2008
• Why do I want to write for children? - Tuesday, March 11, 2008
• Waiting for SleepyTown - Monday, March 10, 2008


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.