AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Catriona King, iDilip Dahanukar, iBrad Bathgate, iMyra Darwish, iMark Lichterman, iC Schutter, iLawrance Lux, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Randy Young

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Success story
· News
· Blog
· 0 Titles
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Mar, 2008

Randy Young, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
The Graveyard of the Pacific
by Anthony Dalton

A collection of stories about shipwrecks along the west coast of Vancouver Island and Juan de Fuca Strait...  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Randy Young

Frustration is spelled with a capital letter
6/9/2008 6:44:27 PM
I am just having one of those days. It happens to all of us at some time or another, I think.
It is nice to finally have my book in my hands, but there is a low at the same time. I feel frustrated because I want people to like it. I want them to buy it because they like it, not because they know me. I want them to like it.

I had someone say, "What a nice thing to do for Zander."

I did not do it for Zander, I did it for children.

It was inspired by Zander and something that happened in our lives that made me even come up with the idea of Sleepy Town.

I wrote it from the heart. It is a part of me. I worked and worked to get the words right. It might not be a huge, thick book of thousands of words, but it is a part of me.

I slaved over the illustrations. I spent hours making them what they are today. I wanted kids to like them. I kept them simple. I wanted children to see them and identify with them.

Am I just spazing over nothing. I want the book to mean something. I want it to have wings. I want it to fly. I want it to have a life beyond me. Is that too much to wish for? I do not know.

Okay, today, this is the ranting of an author/illustrator that wants to see his book make a difference and inspire.

After this week, I will write more. I have ti finish the kid's camp thing that I have commited to for this week.

I do appreciate you reading my ranting and ideas.

Drop me a note. I would love to hear from you.


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Randy Young
• Writing Contest - Wednesday, October 22, 2008
• Writing Contest - Tuesday, September 30, 2008
• Sleepy Town Press - Saturday, September 20, 2008
• NEWS as promised!!! - Friday, September 12, 2008
• New Publisher Coming - Wednesday, September 10, 2008
• Slow Down, You're Moving Too Fast - Thursday, August 28, 2008
• Sorry for being gone so long - Friday, August 08, 2008
• Summer Slump - Friday, July 25, 2008
• TALK RADIO: JOIN ME - Saturday, July 05, 2008
• Writing Contests - Monday, June 30, 2008
• Television Interview - Thursday, June 26, 2008
• PLEASE: Listen and Call in, if possible. - Sunday, June 22, 2008
•  Frustration is spelled with a capital letter - Monday, June 09, 2008  
• Life is Unfair - Wednesday, June 04, 2008
• MY BOOK IS LISTED ONLINE - Friday, May 30, 2008
• Does your story smell? - Thursday, May 29, 2008
• My Epiphany - Tuesday, May 27, 2008
• Something part 5 - Friday, May 23, 2008
• Something Part 4 - Thursday, May 22, 2008
• Something part 3 - Wednesday, May 21, 2008
• Something Part 2 - Tuesday, May 20, 2008
• Something that I have never done before - Monday, May 19, 2008
• The "write way to write" - Wednesday, May 14, 2008
• I was born a rambling man - Wednesday, May 14, 2008
• Official Release of SleepyTown - Monday, May 12, 2008
• Sure-fire-ways to plan a Short Story - Friday, May 09, 2008
• Is your Short Story screaming and yelling, I want to be a NOVEL? - Wednesday, May 07, 2008
• How Do I Know That My Short Story Deserves To Be A Novel? - Tuesday, May 06, 2008
• What's Your Story? - Monday, May 05, 2008
• Reach Out and Touch - Wednesday, April 30, 2008
• Copyright In and Outs - Tuesday, April 29, 2008
• Where Do I Go From Here? - Monday, April 28, 2008
• A Mind Retreat - Friday, April 25, 2008
• Have you thought about your local Junior College? - Thursday, April 24, 2008
• Everything you ever wanted to know about being successful - Wednesday, April 23, 2008
• What others say about writing - Tuesday, April 22, 2008
• Finding Myself - Monday, April 21, 2008
• What makes for a Great Read - Friday, April 18, 2008
• SPRING BREAK - Friday, April 11, 2008
• Hot off The Press - Thursday, April 10, 2008
• How Do I Promote Myself? Let Me Count the Ways. - Wednesday, April 09, 2008
• BEWARE of Lions and Tigers and Bears - Tuesday, April 08, 2008
• Illustrating a Children's Book - Monday, April 07, 2008
• Tracking Submissions - Friday, April 04, 2008
• SleepyTown - Thursday, April 03, 2008
• SleepyTown Release!!! - Wednesday, April 02, 2008
• Creating your Frankenstein - Wednesday, April 02, 2008
• The TRUTH about Publishers and submissions - Tuesday, April 01, 2008
• Is it bad writing or BLIND FAITH? - Monday, March 31, 2008
• Fleas, Flies, and Fodder - Friday, March 28, 2008
• Palm Readers Have Nothing on Librarians - Thursday, March 27, 2008
• Things you should never put in a query letter - Wednesday, March 26, 2008
• Turn it upside down! - Tuesday, March 25, 2008
• Cut the Kudzu! - Monday, March 24, 2008
• Big Brother and the little guys - Friday, March 21, 2008
• Open Seza a Me - Thursday, March 20, 2008
• Ready...Set......Go! - Wednesday, March 19, 2008
• Speak to the senses - Tuesday, March 18, 2008
• Kicking against the pricks. - Monday, March 17, 2008
• Rejection sometimes goes deep - Saturday, March 15, 2008
• My visit to White Plains and Read Across America. - Friday, March 14, 2008
• Everyone has needs. - Thursday, March 13, 2008
• Leaving the starting block as a writer. - Wednesday, March 12, 2008
• Why do I want to write for children? - Tuesday, March 11, 2008
• Waiting for SleepyTown - Monday, March 10, 2008


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.