AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Mel Hathorn, iMark Berent, iDouglas Dandridge, iKathryn Perry, iBob Mitchley, im j hollingshead, iRita Hestand, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Deborah Russell

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Success story
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 66 Titles
· 113 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Jun, 2002

Deborah Russell, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Hoodoo Money
by Sharon Pennington

Hoodoo Money was like ice cream. I just couldn't put it down!..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Books by
Deborah Russell



Haiku No Susume

Buy Options
more..










Blogs by Deborah Russell

Roots Of The Tree
12/20/2005 8:35:59 AM
there stands an aspen ...

Roots Of The Tree

There is an ancient saying, "From the root of the tree, there is but one man and one woman", which is aptly applied to the view outside my window.

There, stands an aspen, with the image of a man and a woman, on the papery bark of it's trunk.

When I first noticed "my neighbors", I was deep in thought, staring out the window. At once, my eyes caught  the sight of the man and then, the image of a woman, slightly above him and to the right.

I smile at this nature art and often think of the words, "see the tree"...and remember a description of woman, I had read years ago, that woman is slightly above man.

Each day I look out this window,  to see the faces of the trees. Sometimes
I make up stories for them.

I drink morning coffee and tell myself another story about the man and woman, sometimes of how they met and sometimes of how their images were sketched in the bark for lovers and children.

The truth is, I prefer the story of romance, that the love they shared was unique and they came to proclaim undying love and this is how their images were drawn by the roots, of the living spirit of the tree.

I like this story, it has a simple message, to love and know the nature of love.



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Deborah Russell
• New Works - Monday, October 23, 2006
• Under Construction... - Sunday, October 22, 2006
• Fall Poetry Series - Loveland Art Museum - Friday, October 13, 2006
• In the news...9/28/2006 - Thursday, September 28, 2006
• Hello Colorado - Monday, April 24, 2006
• A Workforce update... - Monday, March 20, 2006
• Loveland Art Museum - Thursday, March 02, 2006
• Job Workforce - Saturday, February 25, 2006
• Reading Romanticos... - Friday, February 24, 2006
• Poetry Reading - Friday, February 24, 2006
• State of the Union - Wednesday, February 22, 2006
• Poetry Across the Water... - Sunday, January 29, 2006
• Two Eggs, Separated... - Tuesday, January 17, 2006
• What Makes A Man Sexy? - Thursday, January 12, 2006
• Upcoming Art Exhibits - Thursday, December 22, 2005
•  Roots Of The Tree - Tuesday, December 20, 2005  
• A Crowded Paradise... - Wednesday, December 14, 2005
• 2D or Not 2D - Sunday, December 11, 2005
• The Not Quite Over You Blues... - Tuesday, December 06, 2005
• Bones of Your Ancestors - Monday, December 05, 2005
• Cheerleaders In The Workforce? - Monday, November 28, 2005
• Biking in Colorado - Saturday, October 29, 2005
• The Latest... - Friday, October 28, 2005
• Poet??? Did you say, Poet? - Wednesday, September 07, 2005


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.