AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Jeff Alt, iOdyssia Learning, iGeorge Carroll, idawn kunda, iP Lewis, iStacey Chillemi, iJames McClelland, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Linda Settles

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 128 Titles
· 647 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Jun, 2008

Linda Settles, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Linda Settles

WOW! What a Show!
7/19/2008 5:17:03 PM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

I felt like Jack coming out of the box-springing to life right there on the Convention floor!

I just spent seven amazing days in Orlando Florida, and I didn't even make it to Universal Studios, Disneyland, or Sea World. I had an amazing plethora of experiences standing on concrete floors until my ankles resembled tree trunks! I hardly noticed. I was so caught up in the excitement of the show, the wonder of Christian fellowship with hundreds of people whom I had never met until those seven days, and the opportunity to share my stories withhundreds of people who seemed remarkably interested in what I have to say.


All this was delightfully overwhelming for the girl (okay, slightly elderly lady) from Arkansas who lived thirty-three years before she found her voice. Thirty-three years of silent suffering. I felt like Jack coming out of the box--springing to life right there on the Convention floor. "Hey, fellow travelers though this wide and treacherous world, I am here!" "I am alive and I am talking to you!" "Yea!"


And yet, there were moments of introspection, moments when I was filled with awe at the power of God-- a Godwhose Grace is sufficient to take us as we are and make us what he wants us to be. He is still working on me--and He proved that often throughout the last seven days. I thank Him for it.


There were tender moments, as well, as the floodgates of the past opened up for some who came to visit at my booth and we shared both sorrows and joys that had brought us to the place where we were standing--a place of victory, a pinnacle of triumph over the past--and an aching desire to be all that we can be in His service.


That is why we were there--at the International Christian Retailers Show. To share His goodness and network our skills, our talents, and our lives into a tapestry that will bring glory and honor to the One whom we love and serve, our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

Comments (2)

More Blogs by Linda Settles
• Redeeming Our Treasures One Day at a Time - Saturday, December 06, 2008
• Redemption... - Tuesday, October 14, 2008
• Redeeming Our Love for Christ - Thursday, October 02, 2008
• Holidays Can Be Trouble... - Sunday, September 28, 2008
• Dancing Daffodils - Thursday, September 25, 2008
• Assessing the Strengths of A Recovering Sexual Abuse Survivor - Saturday, September 20, 2008
• Good News for Adult Survivors of Childhood Sexual Abuse - Friday, September 19, 2008
• My Trials Had to Stand for Something... - Saturday, August 30, 2008
• Renounce Negativity! - Thursday, August 28, 2008
• Antiseptic Grace - Monday, August 25, 2008
• A Safe Harbor - Sunday, August 24, 2008
• Honor-it is not what you think! - Saturday, August 23, 2008
• Break My Heart... - Saturday, August 23, 2008
• Letting go - Monday, August 11, 2008
• I'm Stepping - Saturday, August 09, 2008
• God Help Our Youth! - Tuesday, August 05, 2008
• Don't tell your children what to think! - Thursday, July 31, 2008
• On top of the mountain - Wednesday, July 30, 2008
• A Wrinkle in My Spirit - Tuesday, July 29, 2008
• Let us stand firm in our faith... - Sunday, July 27, 2008
• From Where I Stand - Wednesday, July 23, 2008
•  WOW! What a Show! - Saturday, July 19, 2008  
• When I Can't See - Friday, July 11, 2008
• Its Not Just Me - Tuesday, July 08, 2008
• Complications.... - Monday, June 23, 2008



The Danged Swamp! by Richard Mason

Richard and John Clayton stumble across a moonshiner's still deep in the swamp. The Danged Swamp is Volume 4 in the Richard, the Paperboy series. The Danged Swamp..  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.