AuthorsDen.com   Join | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Jill Eisnaugle, iRita Hestand, iKate Saundby, iAlfred Schwab, iShirley Houston, iRon Mullinax, iSky Purington, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Linda Settles

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 128 Titles
· 647 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Jun, 2008

Linda Settles, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
The Struggle of the Young Inheritors
by Albert Megraw

How the youth overcame the sweeping pendamic that ran across the world wiping out their elders...  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Linda Settles

On top of the mountain
7/30/2008 5:19:59 AM    [ Flag as Spam or Inappropriate ]

Adjective Day!

I am dreaming of living on my mountain in the middle of the forest and having cook outs and campfires with family and friends!!!  Yesterday, I let the vision go.  But it keeps coming back--stronger than ever.  And now I know, if we don't get the house we are looking at--we will find another near the Peaks of Otter, where I can look out my window and see God sitting on the mountain!

What changed from yesterday, when I gave it up, and today when I am all excited again?  I know what changed.  Before yesterday I wanted something.  I wanted it achingly, agonizingly, amazingly.  I wanted my house on the mountaintop but I wasn't sure if I should have it.  So, after much struggle, I gave it up.  We only have so many resources and I wasn't sure if we should put so much of ours into a house.

Yesterday, I surrendered my vision (my desire) to my Heavenly Father.  I don't have to have it.  I can be happy without it.

THAT, I believe, was the crux of the matter.  Anything other than God that we HAVE to have to make us happy becomes an idol.  Now, I don't have to have it.  But driving through the forest to a mountaintop to go home, and sitting in front of the Peaks of Otter to write my thoughts, rocking on the back deck while overlooking the valley--yes, that would delight me no end. 

Will I be happy if I don't get that?  Yes.  Absolutely, amazingly, awesomely happy--because I don't need a house on a mountaintop to be filled with joy.  I am in an awesome, amazing, astounding relationship with  the God who sits on the mountain--and that is enough.

 



Comments (1)

More Blogs by Linda Settles
• Redeeming Our Treasures One Day at a Time - Saturday, December 06, 2008
• Redemption... - Tuesday, October 14, 2008
• Redeeming Our Love for Christ - Thursday, October 02, 2008
• Holidays Can Be Trouble... - Sunday, September 28, 2008
• Dancing Daffodils - Thursday, September 25, 2008
• Assessing the Strengths of A Recovering Sexual Abuse Survivor - Saturday, September 20, 2008
• Good News for Adult Survivors of Childhood Sexual Abuse - Friday, September 19, 2008
• My Trials Had to Stand for Something... - Saturday, August 30, 2008
• Renounce Negativity! - Thursday, August 28, 2008
• Antiseptic Grace - Monday, August 25, 2008
• A Safe Harbor - Sunday, August 24, 2008
• Honor-it is not what you think! - Saturday, August 23, 2008
• Break My Heart... - Saturday, August 23, 2008
• Letting go - Monday, August 11, 2008
• I'm Stepping - Saturday, August 09, 2008
• God Help Our Youth! - Tuesday, August 05, 2008
• Don't tell your children what to think! - Thursday, July 31, 2008
•  On top of the mountain - Wednesday, July 30, 2008  
• A Wrinkle in My Spirit - Tuesday, July 29, 2008
• Let us stand firm in our faith... - Sunday, July 27, 2008
• From Where I Stand - Wednesday, July 23, 2008
• WOW! What a Show! - Saturday, July 19, 2008
• When I Can't See - Friday, July 11, 2008
• Its Not Just Me - Tuesday, July 08, 2008
• Complications.... - Monday, June 23, 2008


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.