AuthorsDen.com   Join | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Odyssia Learning, iHank LeGrand, iStan Law (aka Stanislaw Kapuscinski), iTina Tessina, iMarty Young, iWendy Laing, iSteve Coltman, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Linda Settles

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 128 Titles
· 647 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Jun, 2008

Linda Settles, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
The Alexandria Project, a Tale of Treachery and Technology
by Andrew Updegrove

A fast-paced, satirical tale of cyber sleuthing, international espionage, and nuclear brinksmanship that accurately portrays our increasing vulnerability to cyberattack...  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Linda Settles

Assessing the Strengths of A Recovering Sexual Abuse Survivor
9/20/2008 3:13:00 AM    [ Flag as Spam or Inappropriate ]


Where injures abound need for healing is the consuming task. Survivors in recovery may sometimes be consumed with the thoughts, memories, and processing that is taking place internally, but the energy required for survivors to heal is well spent as the fruit of our labor begins to manifest in the personality, character, and joyous generosity of the recovering survivor whose heart is being healed.

No one would choose to suffer the pain, the indignities, the sorrow and the shame of being sexual abused. Children don't make the choice--and neither do vulernable the adults who are vicimized by people in positions of power or authority over them. They accept the choice of the perpetrator to abuse them--because they are mentally, emotionally, or physically unable to defend themselves.

Once the human spirit recognizes the possibility of recovery, many survivors leap at the opportunity to rise above the death of their dignity and recover treasures lost in the chaos of confusion that permeates their wounded soul.

See more on our strengths and more on recovery at: beyond-abuse.org

For those who read because you are in recovery yourself, I hope my blogs encourage and enlighten you. Those who read because you have a heart of compassion for those who have experienced the sadness of abuse, thank you for caring.



Comments (2)

More Blogs by Linda Settles
• Redeeming Our Treasures One Day at a Time - Saturday, December 06, 2008
• Redemption... - Tuesday, October 14, 2008
• Redeeming Our Love for Christ - Thursday, October 02, 2008
• Holidays Can Be Trouble... - Sunday, September 28, 2008
• Dancing Daffodils - Thursday, September 25, 2008
•  Assessing the Strengths of A Recovering Sexual Abuse Survivor - Saturday, September 20, 2008  
• Good News for Adult Survivors of Childhood Sexual Abuse - Friday, September 19, 2008
• My Trials Had to Stand for Something... - Saturday, August 30, 2008
• Renounce Negativity! - Thursday, August 28, 2008
• Antiseptic Grace - Monday, August 25, 2008
• A Safe Harbor - Sunday, August 24, 2008
• Honor-it is not what you think! - Saturday, August 23, 2008
• Break My Heart... - Saturday, August 23, 2008
• Letting go - Monday, August 11, 2008
• I'm Stepping - Saturday, August 09, 2008
• God Help Our Youth! - Tuesday, August 05, 2008
• Don't tell your children what to think! - Thursday, July 31, 2008
• On top of the mountain - Wednesday, July 30, 2008
• A Wrinkle in My Spirit - Tuesday, July 29, 2008
• Let us stand firm in our faith... - Sunday, July 27, 2008
• From Where I Stand - Wednesday, July 23, 2008
• WOW! What a Show! - Saturday, July 19, 2008
• When I Can't See - Friday, July 11, 2008
• Its Not Just Me - Tuesday, July 08, 2008
• Complications.... - Monday, June 23, 2008


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.