AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  karen leung, iStephen Cafaro, iTheodore Soderberg, iGwendolyn Thomas Gath, iAlfred Schwab, iCheri Dohnal, iGeorge Wallach, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Glenda A Bixler

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Articles
· Poetry
· Stories
· Blog
· 66 Titles
· 104 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Jul, 2008

Glenda A Bixler, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Glenda A Bixler

Standing the Watch - A True Story of Love!
10/15/2008 8:55:11 AM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

Check out R. J. Brown, A/D member! I just finished her book, Standing the Watch and was very impressed! You may never know when you will need to care for a loved one. This book gives personal insights and experiences that will be helpful to anybody who loves somebody!
Standing The Watch:
The Greatest Gift
By R. J. Brown
Big River Press
ISBN: 978-0-9798744-3-7


You may think by reading the blurbs for Standing the Watch: The Greatest Gift by R. J. Brown that this book is about death and dying. It is not!

This book is about Life! And giving the greatest gift that can be given to a parent or loved-one(s)—giving them the best possible life they can have as they live out their last days, months or years! For my mother, who had been living with me for many years, it was not a time of turmoil as I cared for her. She simply and quietly died in her sleep. I had only one thing to do for her right then—I immediately put a new pair of slippers on her worn feet as she had asked me to do.

But for some individuals, there are not only medical issues to be attended to; there are logistical issues of concern, based upon where a family lives. And then there is the burden that is placed on the caregiver(s) as time goes on and stress and strain develops.
Standing the Watch in its second edition provides not only specific issues to consider, but, more importantly, in my opinion, the writer shares exactly what happens—both the good and the “not so good.”

David and Rebecca had already made a commitment to Lincoln, David’s father, that he would live with them after his wife died. And after many years, as Lincoln’s health failed to a point that he was considered terminal, he asked for another commitment—for him to be allowed to die at home. Standing the Watch is the story that centers in on those final days of Lincoln’s life¾a story that should be read by everyone old enough to understand and grieve at the death of another! It should also be read and taken as a learning tool for pastors, doctors and friends of those who are caregivers!

I found that I could read this story from two sides—as a potential friend of Rebecca and David, as they lived through their pain and worry. The other side, as an individual who could very well be in the role of caring for loved ones in their declining years. This book does not need a review that tells you about the storyline, for we all know what occurs. It does, however, give you specifics about what must be done at that time, in one book, with places to make notes...and with checklists that can be reproduced easily and used!

Rebecca writes this book as if she is sitting, talking to you. You feel her disgust when Lincoln, who had been a missionary, has a pastor who cannot be bothered to visit him during his last days. You see her inclusion of email friends’ notes, which obviously were so meaningful that they kept her and David going when inner strength was sagging. But, no matter what, you will see the love of a family, facing one of the toughest, most life-changing events in anybody’s life—the loss of a loved one.

This book should be on your home bookshelf because you never know when it will be needed—to share with others in the same situation, to learn and brace yourself for the future, or to guide you day by day as you and a loved-one face the dance to the death. Some readers will search for this book at that time; but I urge you to read and be prepared...for Standing the Watch really is about now—and living and loving!


G. A. Bixler
For IP Book Reviewers


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Glenda A Bixler
• Have you Checked Out Raw Talent by Dave Ross - Thursday, April 29, 2010
• Attention Poets - Wednesday, April 01, 2009
• Free Books! - Tuesday, January 06, 2009
• Thought for the Day... - Tuesday, January 06, 2009
• Welcome My Friend Doug Boren - Saturday, January 03, 2009
• Welcome to Richard S. Lucas - Friday, November 14, 2008
•  Standing the Watch - A True Story of Love! - Wednesday, October 15, 2008  
• Check out the Gray Fox! - Saturday, October 11, 2008
• Peer Critical Reviews - Friday, September 26, 2008
• Check It Out! - Saturday, September 20, 2008
• A/D's youngest author??? - Saturday, September 13, 2008
• Do we Want Only Good Reviews? - Friday, September 12, 2008
• The Reviewer Gets A Bad Review... - Thursday, September 11, 2008
• Honor Defended Coming Soon! - Tuesday, September 09, 2008
• Starting to Read a New Book - Monday, September 08, 2008
• A New Friend - Sunday, September 07, 2008
• Critiques - Tuesday, August 26, 2008
• Oh Boy... - Tuesday, August 19, 2008
• Charlie's Book - My Review - Monday, August 18, 2008
• Bob Noonan Snags Award Finalist Recognition! - Tuesday, August 12, 2008
• Sweetwater's Sips... - Wednesday, August 06, 2008
• Charlie's High! - Wednesday, August 06, 2008
• The Good News - Tuesday, August 05, 2008
• Yours to Hold.....and Sell! - Saturday, August 02, 2008
• Edit Me, Honey - Friday, August 01, 2008
• Proofreading and Grammar - Does It Matter? - Thursday, July 31, 2008
• Saturday at the Computer - Saturday, July 26, 2008
• Didn't Know, Did You? - Monday, July 21, 2008
• So Many Writers... - Sunday, July 20, 2008
• I'M So Excited! - Saturday, July 19, 2008
• Taking a Break - Friday, July 18, 2008
• Color Me... - Wednesday, July 16, 2008
• Good Morning - Tuesday, July 15, 2008
• Reading A Book a Day - Monday, July 14, 2008
• Thoughts on online publishing - Monday, July 07, 2008
• Browsing Authors' Den - Saturday, July 05, 2008
• Hello - Wednesday, July 02, 2008


Gift of Gamman by Stan Law (aka Stanislaw Kapuscinski)

Now available on Smashwords and Amazon Kindle..  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.