AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
Happy 4th of July!
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Graham whittaker, iIan Thorpe, ialex canton-dutari, iGracie McKeever, iNicholas Coe, iWill Clark, iChrisTopher Stone, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Martha A Cheves

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Success story
· Books
· Articles
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 20 Titles
· 14 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Sep, 2008

Martha A Cheves, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Martha A Cheves

Young Cooks Important!
9/21/2008 12:02:51 PM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

Which part of the egg is the yolk?
Last week I found myself with an extra ticket to the Southern Women's Show here in Charlotte, NC. I have a lot of friends and didn't want to upset any of them by picking only one to go with me but didn't want to waste the ticket either. I couldn't ask my daughters, there are 4 kids between them and they would have to arrange sitters and travel 40 minutes one way to get here. Finally I remembered a young girl, late 20s, that I thought might enjoy going. I called her and she was very happy and excited about the show.

We had a great time together and ended back at my house going through our bags. It was like Halloween. We had so many samples of this and that plus the things we bought.

Then we started talking about cooking. She had bought a copy of my book and had made several recipes from it. She picked up the copy I keep out and started thumbing through. Her 1st question to me was "if a recipe calls for egg yolks can you use the whole egg?" Of course not. Her next question was "how do you separate eggs?" I told her, showed her and gave her an egg separator. Her next question floored me. She wanted to know which part of the egg was the yolk.

This is a very bright girl who finished high school in Ohio, went out of state to college and stayed. She is great in her field but knows nothing about cooking.

After she left, I couldn't quit thinking about her and all of the other young people out there that are smart, bright and experts in their field of education but have no clue about the simple things in life such as separating eggs.

They need us and they need our knowledge. Let's not forget them and pass our knowledge on to them.


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Martha A Cheves
• A Kiss of Life - Brian L. Porter, Author - Sunday, April 25, 2010
• And Murder for Dessert - Kathleen Delaney, Author - Tuesday, April 20, 2010
• Healer's Fate - Beth Caudill, Author - Thursday, April 15, 2010
• Pestilence - Brian L. Porter, Author - Friday, April 09, 2010
• A Bloody Good Cruise - Diana Rubino, Author - Tuesday, April 06, 2010
• Laughed 'Til He Died - Carolyn Hart - New Release!! - Monday, April 05, 2010
• Love Waits - Donald James Parker, Author - Friday, March 19, 2010
• Dracula Doesn't Live Here Anymore - Brial L. Porter, Author - Wednesday, March 17, 2010
• Dead Air - Mary Kennedy, Author - Wednesday, March 10, 2010
• Ghost at Work, Carolyn Hart, Author - Sunday, February 28, 2010
• Charlotte Today - Friday, February 26, 2010
• Purple Death - Brian L. Porter, Author - Saturday, February 20, 2010
• A Lesson in Murder - Augustus Cileone - Wednesday, February 17, 2010
• Merry, Merry Ghost - Carolyn Hart, Author - Thursday, February 11, 2010
• Crossroads - Steven Nedelton, Author - Sunday, February 07, 2010
• Dead Write - Sheila Lowe, Author - Sunday, January 31, 2010
• Jodi's Journey - Rita Hestand, Author (Due for Release 3/1/10) - Wednesday, January 27, 2010
• Future Imperfect Books, Crucifying Angel - P. I. Barrington, Author - Sunday, January 17, 2010
• Murders Do Not Come by Accident - Edwart T. Cook, Author - Monday, January 11, 2010
• Fast Track - John DeDakis, Author - Wednesday, January 06, 2010
• Return to Whittakerville - Shirley A. Roe, Author - Tuesday, January 05, 2010
• Knowing the Struggle is Over! - K. M. Johnson, Author - Sunday, January 03, 2010
• Reflections of a Mississippi Magnolia - Patricia Neely-Dorsey, Author - Wednesday, December 30, 2009
• Lost Witness - Laura Elvebak, Author - Tuesday, December 29, 2009
• Tilly's Tale - Harry Porter, Author - Sunday, December 27, 2009
• CEOs Don't Cry - Joselyn Vaughn, Author - Sunday, December 13, 2009
• Cheater BBQ - Mindy Merrell & R. B. Quinn, Authors - Saturday, December 05, 2009
• It's in the Eyes - Charles Toftoy, Author - Friday, December 04, 2009
• Moments of Mine - Jerry M. White, Author - Monday, November 30, 2009
• Pretty Poison - Joyce and Jim Lavene, Authors - Saturday, November 28, 2009
• The Whittaker Family Reunion - Shirley A. Roe, Author - Sunday, November 22, 2009
• The Fall of Augustus - Sarah Wisseman, Author - Tuesday, November 17, 2009
• Bertha Fights Back - Fran Lewis & Jr. Author Dani Nicole Miller, Authors - Sunday, November 15, 2009
• Dispel The Mist - A Tempe Crabtree Mystery - Marilyn Meredith, Author - Saturday, October 24, 2009
• Golden Conspiracy - A Jacsen Kidd Mystery - Robert James Glider, Author - Wednesday, October 21, 2009
• A Corpse for Yew - Joyce and Jim Lavene, Authors - Wednesday, October 14, 2009
• Death of a Perfect Man - M. M. Gornell, Author - Tuesday, October 06, 2009
• The Long Night Moon - Elizabeth Towles, Author - Sunday, October 04, 2009
• And on the Surface Die - Lou Allin, Author (A Holly Martin Mystery) - Monday, September 21, 2009
• Man Corn Murders - Lou Allin, Author - Saturday, September 12, 2009
• Secrets by the Sea - Mary Montague Sikes, Author - Saturday, September 05, 2009
• The Trojan Project - Eileen Thornton, Author - Saturday, August 29, 2009
• De Marco Empire - J. Lou McCartney, Author - Monday, August 24, 2009
• A Corpse in the Soup - Morgan St. James and Phyllice Bradner, Authors - Saturday, August 08, 2009
• The Pot Thief Who Studied Pythagoras - J. Michael Orenduff, Author - Saturday, August 08, 2009
• Spice Up Your Life - The Flexitarian Way - Bindu Grandhi, Author - Tuesday, August 04, 2009
• Stars & Shields, Cop Stories - Edward T. Cook, Author - Saturday, August 01, 2009
• Web of Secrets - Ernesto Patino, Author - Wednesday, July 29, 2009
• A Circle of Souls - Preetham Grandhi, Author - Saturday, July 25, 2009
• Legacy of the Ripper - Brian L. Porter, Author - Sunday, July 19, 2009
• Points of Origin - Darden North, MD, Author - Wednesday, July 15, 2009
• Where Angels Fear - Sunny Frazier, Author - Thursday, July 02, 2009
• Less Dead - Laura Elvebak, Author - Saturday, June 27, 2009
• Event - Tuesday, June 09, 2009
• The Voice of Anton Bouchard and Other Stories - Brian L. Porter Author - Sunday, June 07, 2009
• Blood Bar - Norman Applegate, Author - Thursday, June 04, 2009
• Beaufort Falls - Mari Sloan, Author - Friday, May 22, 2009
• The Other Side of You - Debi DeSantis, Author - Saturday, May 16, 2009
• Fools Rush In - Sunny Frazier, Author - Tuesday, May 12, 2009
• Autographed Books - Tuesday, May 12, 2009
• Murder, Mayhem and Mexico - Brian L. Porter, Author - Sunday, April 26, 2009
• Just North of Luck - Susan Whitfield, Author - Friday, April 24, 2009
• Breaking My Silence - Jane McCormick with Patti Wicklund, Author - Thursday, April 09, 2009
• Genesis Beach - Susan Whitfield, Author - Wednesday, April 08, 2009
• The Chosen Few - Matthew Simon, Autor - Sunday, March 22, 2009
• Bertha Speaks Out - Fran Lewis Author - Wednesday, March 11, 2009
• Rovella Starr - Author Carol Denise Mitchell - Saturday, February 21, 2009
• Fresh Frozen - Author Darden North, MD - Friday, February 20, 2009
• Thicker Than Water - D. C. Jennings - Tuesday, February 10, 2009
• Book Reviews - Friday, January 30, 2009
• Book Rating - Monday, January 05, 2009
• Two Things - Tuesday, December 30, 2008
• Great News - Saturday, December 20, 2008
• Salmon Spaghetti with White Sauce - Sunday, December 14, 2008
• New Tips - Saturday, December 13, 2008
• Changing Times - Part 2 - Saturday, November 29, 2008
• Books A Million Signing - Saturday, November 15, 2008
• Mothers of the Baby Boomers - Friday, November 14, 2008
• Poor Man's Beef Tips & Rice - Sunday, November 09, 2008
• CONTEST - Wednesday, November 05, 2008
• New Recipe Just in Time for the Holidays - Sunday, November 02, 2008
• New Items on Blog - Monday, October 27, 2008
• Spinach Balls - Sunday, October 26, 2008
• Instant Lids - Wednesday, October 22, 2008
• Emeril Lagasse - Tuesday, October 21, 2008
• How Much Turkey Do I Need? - Monday, October 20, 2008
• Tara's Letter - Sunday, October 19, 2008
• Book Signing - Saturday, October 18, 2008
• Cracker Bars - Saturday, October 18, 2008
• Still Here - Thursday, October 16, 2008
• Banana Split Pudding - Sunday, October 12, 2008
• Kijiji - Saturday, October 11, 2008
• Substituting Chicken for Seafood - Thursday, October 09, 2008
• Mass Mailings - Tuesday, October 07, 2008
• Chicken n Dumplins - Monday, October 06, 2008
• Still Remembering - Monday, October 06, 2008
• Remembering - Sunday, October 05, 2008
• Apple Roll-Ups - Sunday, October 05, 2008
• Marketing - Saturday, October 04, 2008
• Question #2 - Thursday, October 02, 2008
• Holiday Cooking - Tuesday, September 30, 2008
• Soup Night - Tuesday, September 30, 2008
• Easy Meals - Monday, September 29, 2008
• Snacky Dinners - Monday, September 29, 2008
• Question #1 - Sunday, September 28, 2008
• Sunday Morning Coffee Group - Friday, September 26, 2008
•  Young Cooks Important! - Sunday, September 21, 2008  
• Food Tester Breakfast Results - Sunday, September 21, 2008
• Stir, Laugh, Repeat Food Testers - Sunday, September 21, 2008
• Stir, Laugh, Repeat - Friday, September 19, 2008
• Cheese Loaves - Thursday, September 18, 2008
• Stir, Laugh, Repeat - Wednesday, September 17, 2008
• Stir, Laugh, Repeat - Tuesday, September 16, 2008


Looking Up When Your Circumstances Have You Down by KJ Jacobs

A story of miracles and the sustaining power of Jesus Christ in my life...  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.