AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Iolanthe Woulff, iTuchy (Carl) Palmieri, iJeff Ovall, iA.J. Mahari, iRegis Schilken, iBrainard Braimah, iRobert Mills, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Edeltraud F. Fellendorf

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Sponsor Me!
· Books
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 2 Titles
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Apr, 2009

Edeltraud F. Fellendorf, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Getting a Job You Love During a Tough Economy
by William Guy

Job Hunting made Simple, Easy, and Quick for YOU by William Guy, ”Dr. Jobs” World’s ultimate expert in finding & getting a job YOU like! ..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Edeltraud F. Fellendorf

WWII AUTHOR DISCUSSES FIRST MEMORY
1/18/2010 2:49:38 PM
By C'Rod
Do you remember your very first memory, the one that marks your beginning?

Mine was of my childhood dog. I was three and he was a puppy. Dad was trying to get a picture of me holding him when he tinkled all over the front of my dress. It's a wonderful memory I'll always treasure of a friend I had for 18-years.

Mom's first memory is quite different. Mom not only dealt with war, she also had to contend with an abusive Mother. Here she captures her first memory in detail (excerpt taken from her memoirs):

"Memories mature through time, taking on a life of their own as they clear a path through the brain looking for a place to hide. It is interesting that most first real memories remain elusive until a child is three-years of age or older. These earliest thoughts are significant because, like tattoos, they remain throughout life. They are a child’s first impression of the world and should be filled with pleasant thoughts. Not all children are fortunate enough to experience them with warm welcoming.

The first brush strokes on the canvas of my life were harsh and ugly, marred by the thoughtless malice of an ignorant painter. I was three or four-years-old, and my Mother was playing a game by rules only she understood. I must have done something bad, my exact crime escapes me, but my Mother is intent on punishing me. We are in our house. The only sound is my crying as I watch my Mother run away from me.

Quicker than my little legs can follow, my Mother runs up the stairs leading to our attic. I am alone and afraid. I try to follow but my steps are too small to be quick. I scramble up the stairs trying to catch her, but by the time I make it to the top stair, she is gone. I cannot find her. In my little mind I am responsible for her disappearance; she has run away because I am a very bad girl. I cried endlessly, pleading for her to come back. I promised to be a good girl, but she remained hidden long after my cries had turned into uncontrollable shudders of despair.

This was my first memory."

------------------------

How many of you are lucky enough to have a good first memory?


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Edeltraud F. Fellendorf
• WWII AUTHOR ONE STEP CLOSER TO PUBLISHING HER MEMOIRS -- FINDING AN EDITOR - Friday, February 05, 2010
• WWII - GERMANY CHANGES ITS ALPHABET & HITLER LATER BANS IT - Tuesday, February 02, 2010
• WWII AUTHOR REMEMBERS DEATH THAT CONVINCES HER OF MORE - Sunday, January 31, 2010
• CRITICAL INFORMATION AUTHORS NEED TO KNOW ABOUT DIGITAL TEXT -- A MUST READ! - Friday, January 29, 2010
• WWII - SURVIVING THE RED ARMY'S BRUTAL REVENGE UPON BERLIN - Wednesday, January 27, 2010
•  ALL IS FAIR IN LOVE AND WAR - ALLIED BOMBING TERROR CAMPAIGN - Tuesday, January 26, 2010
• SEEING HITLER FOR THE FIRST TIME - Monday, January 25, 2010
• AUTHOR WHO SURVIVED WWII IN HITLER'S BERLIN TURNS 80 - Sunday, January 24, 2010
• WWII AUTHOR IS TAUGHT ANOTHER HARSH LESSON - Saturday, January 23, 2010
• HITLER'S RACIAL TRAINING EMBEDDED FOR LIFE - Friday, January 22, 2010
• EVER WANT TO DO A VIDEO TRAILER FOR YOUR BOOK? - Thursday, January 21, 2010
• WWII AUTHOR'S SECOND BRUSH WITH DEATH IN BERLIN - Wednesday, January 20, 2010
• ANOTHER MEMOIR ABOUT WWII AND LIVING UNDER HITLER'S RULE - Tuesday, January 19, 2010
•  WWII AUTHOR DISCUSSES FIRST MEMORY  - Monday, January 18, 2010  
• WWII MEMORIES CAPTURED BY AUTHOR AT 80 - Sunday, January 17, 2010
• WWII -- THE HORSE'S ROLE IN HITLER'S THIRD REICH - Saturday, January 16, 2010
• WWII -- A SOLDIER RETURNS FROM PRISON - Friday, January 15, 2010
• MORE ABOUT THE AUTHOR - Thursday, January 14, 2010
• WWII -- A CHILD ALONE IN BERLIN - Wednesday, January 13, 2010
• KETTENHUNDE: HITLER’S FAITHFUL DOGS - Tuesday, January 12, 2010
• POST WWII -- MARRYING A GERMAN - Monday, January 11, 2010
• WWII -- BOMBING OF BERLIN - Sunday, January 10, 2010
• "NAZI MENTALITY"? - Saturday, January 09, 2010
• WWII LETTERS - Friday, January 08, 2010
• WWII -- DYING ON THE TOILET - Thursday, January 07, 2010
• POST WWII (1946) -- AMERICAN SCRAMBLED EGGS - Wednesday, January 06, 2010
• INFANT MURDER - Tuesday, January 05, 2010
• DOG - FOOD - Monday, January 04, 2010
• GERMAN SILESIA -- THE LAND THAT CEASED TO EXIST - Sunday, January 03, 2010
• SNAPPED - Saturday, January 02, 2010
• MY MOM - Friday, January 01, 2010
• ABOUT WRITING & PUSHING 80 - Thursday, December 31, 2009
• BRAINWASHED - Wednesday, December 30, 2009
• THE DENTIST AND BOOK PROPAGANDA - Wednesday, December 30, 2009
• INTRODUCTION TO A FASCINATING LADY - Tuesday, December 29, 2009


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.