AuthorsDen.com   Join | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Cheryl Carpinello, iRoger Vizi, iJ.-F. Bouchard, iMichael Charles Messineo, iHerman Yenwo, iD.L. Carroll, iJ.J. Snow, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Paul Cuenco

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 20 Titles
· 4 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Jun, 2010

Paul Cuenco, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Secrets in the Fairy Chimneys
by Linda Frank

Secrets in the Fairy Chimneys, set in Istanbul and Cappadocia Turkey takes Annie Tillery to an archaeological where accidents and thefts plague the scientists. Thrilling ..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Paul Cuenco

The Snow Storm That Wasn't
1/17/2012 4:09:09 PM    [ Flag as Spam or Inappropriate ]

The Snow Storm That Wasn’t

It’s about 12:00 noon and I am in New Seasons Grocery having my lunch. Actually, I had finished my lunch and now am perusing through the newspaper when flurries began to appear by the window. I ignored it thinking that it was just happenstance. After all, the weather man was not always correct when they forecast snow. So far, Portland, Oregon, had a mild winter, always sunshiny and pleasant. Sometimes it became cold but that was it. Sometimes, it looked dreary but there was no snow. I remembered when the group at Greater Trumps began betting when the first snow will drop. Could it be November or December? And what day would it drop? Well, even their predictions were wrong. But the forecasters were correct this time. In a short while, snow would drop heavily in the valley that my heart began pumping faster that I curtailed reading the newspaper. I even heard someone say that snow was sticking on the window pane right across the street. You see, ever since I had near accidents in the snow, I grew weary of it. So even though snow does cause it, it was not the number one cause of accidents. Nonetheless, I am a little scared of snow.

So, I quickly put my dishes in the bin, returned the newspaper (I “borrow” the newspaper from the bin of the grocery and returned it like “new”) and dash up to the car to drive home. Better do things at home that was safe. I surely want to have a house on Hawthorne, where Greater Trumps, Starbucks and New Seasons were, so I could just walk home. And even thought the snow was foreboding, it looks cozy when I am home right in the neighborhood I want to spend my time in. But no! I must drive four and a half miles back. The snow became heavier and heavier as I drove two miles away. By the third mile, the snow had started to diminish. Sunshine, slowly, began to show. And by the time I turned on 82nd Ave., total sunshine. There was a gap between the clouds, wide gaps and the sun just shone. When I headed up my street, I began to think. Will the snow persist or will it die down? Former storms have clouds all over the place. But this gap was wide enough that I am sure that the snow storm will not persist.

I turned the car around, just .20 of a mile to my house and returned to Hawthorne. As I predicted, the wide patches of blank space between the clouds parted. The sun shone bright as ever. And, I am free to go to Starbucks, again and spend the time with my computer.

It was news. Indeed, it was. It was the first time in the season that it snowed in the valley (Willamette Valley) and it was not worse. I remembered coming home from the Bay Area, Christmas time. It was heavy traffic up from Woodburn which was 35 miles away from downtown Portland; 42 miles if you measure it from my home. It took me about 4 to 5 hours with my car crawling on the freeway. Cars were parked all over the place and left there by their owners. The news was that, when the people were told that a great snow storm was to be had, everyone just went home, all at the same time. And there were only about 7 snow trucks for the city of Portland. Portland was ill prepared to handle it. But I caught the end of the snow storm. And yes, I spend my 5 hours traveling from Woodburn up to my home in Portland, Oregon.

Available in:
AuthorsDen.com/paulcuenco
paulcuenco.wordpress.com
predicament-paul.blogspot.com
www.BooksNovelsPoemsJournalsByPaul.com

Other literary work, search Paul Cuenco in:
www.Lulu.com
www.Kindle.com
www.Amazon.com
www.Nook.com
www.BN.com (Barnes and Nobles)




Post a Comment

More Blogs by Paul Cuenco
• Predicament: Dave and Annette's Housewarming 2012 - Sunday, September 16, 2012
• Predicament: Portland Sands and its vicinity - Sunday, September 02, 2012
• Predicament: Mississippi Street Fair, Portland, Oregon - Saturday, August 25, 2012
• Predicament: Astoria, Oregon - Friday, August 17, 2012
• New Book for Father's Day! - Saturday, June 23, 2012
• Predicament: Saving Money - Wednesday, May 23, 2012
• Predicament: Old Haunts - Sunday, May 13, 2012
• Predicament: Courteous Portland Traffic - Wednesday, May 02, 2012
• Sorry - Wednesday, April 11, 2012
• Predicament: A Day at the Beach - Thursday, April 05, 2012
• Predicament: Dinner at a Deserted Restaurant - Tuesday, April 03, 2012
• Predicament: My Stroke and Writing - Monday, April 02, 2012
• Predicament: The World of the Bay Area - Sunday, April 01, 2012
• Predicament: A Competitor Indeed - Saturday, March 31, 2012
• Predicament: Democracy! - Friday, March 30, 2012
• Predicament: The Garden Party - Thursday, March 29, 2012
• Predicament: Gift-Giving - Wednesday, March 28, 2012
• Predicament: Suicide - Tuesday, March 27, 2012
• Predicament: Water, Water Everywhere - Monday, March 26, 2012
• Predicament: The Floods Of Manila - Sunday, March 25, 2012
• Predicament: Tita Dimple's recollection of Papa Trining - Saturday, March 24, 2012
• Predicament: The Future Should Be Brighter - Friday, March 23, 2012
• Predicament: Death of a Writer - Thursday, March 22, 2012
• Predicament: The Season Re-liveth - Wednesday, March 21, 2012
• Predicament: Time Had Forgotten About - Tuesday, March 20, 2012
• Predicament: Closing Time - Monday, March 19, 2012
• Predicament: Hasan Baharin - Sunday, March 18, 2012
• Predicament: A Pimple of my Nose - Saturday, March 17, 2012
• Predicament: What is Mike Cooking? - Friday, March 16, 2012
• Predicament: Papa Eriong - Thursday, March 15, 2012
• Predicament: Kind Words - Wednesday, March 14, 2012
• Predicament: Music and Whit 2 - Tuesday, March 13, 2012
• Predicament: Music and Whit 1 - Monday, March 12, 2012
• Predicament: What You Want to Be - Sunday, March 11, 2012
• Predicament: Father and Son - Saturday, March 10, 2012
• Liza's Life Plan - Friday, March 09, 2012
• The Colleague - Thursday, March 08, 2012
• Oh Taylor! - Wednesday, March 07, 2012
• Dena - Tuesday, March 06, 2012
• Losing My Job, Again - Monday, March 05, 2012
• A Plane to Nowhere - Sunday, March 04, 2012
• A Slave No More - Saturday, March 03, 2012
• Cirque du Soleil - Friday, March 02, 2012
• Mendocino - Thursday, March 01, 2012
• Th Coming Storm - Wednesday, February 29, 2012
• Becoming Old - Tuesday, February 28, 2012
• Ordinary Lives - Monday, February 27, 2012
• Books I Read - Sunday, February 26, 2012
• Discrimination - Saturday, February 25, 2012
• Quintessential Jokes - Friday, February 24, 2012
• The Catholic Experience - Thursday, February 23, 2012
• Promises, promises - Wednesday, February 22, 2012
• Sleepy - Tuesday, February 21, 2012
• Art for Art's Sake - Monday, February 20, 2012
• Mike's Ash Wednesday - Sunday, February 19, 2012
• Holy - Saturday, February 18, 2012
• Summer Home - Friday, February 17, 2012
• Pickpocketed - Thursday, February 16, 2012
• A Penny for a Drink - Wednesday, February 15, 2012
• My Roman Holiday - Tuesday, February 14, 2012
• Luck and Popularity - Monday, February 13, 2012
• It's Valentine's - Sunday, February 12, 2012
• Bosses - Saturday, February 11, 2012
• Education and Options - Saturday, February 11, 2012
• Windy Portland - Thursday, February 09, 2012
• My Job at Costco - Wednesday, February 08, 2012
• Compassion - Tuesday, February 07, 2012
• The Day Paul had Two Parties and other things - Monday, February 06, 2012
• When I Die - Sunday, February 05, 2012
• Sleeping and Dreaming - Saturday, February 04, 2012
• The Loneliness of a Country Road - Friday, February 03, 2012
• Jordan - Thursday, February 02, 2012
• Taxes Galore - Wednesday, February 01, 2012
•  It's almost Valentines - Monday, January 30, 2012
• Habits We Indulge Ourselves In - Sunday, January 29, 2012
• To Cruise or not to Cruise - Saturday, January 28, 2012
• Blah, Blah, Blah - Friday, January 27, 2012
• Rain - Thursday, January 26, 2012
• Charlie* and Dad - Wednesday, January 25, 2012
• Writing and Being A Writer - Tuesday, January 24, 2012
• True Snow - Monday, January 23, 2012
• Reinvention - Sunday, January 22, 2012
• What I Miss - Saturday, January 21, 2012
• A Gift for Valentine - Thursday, January 19, 2012
• Venerable Mr. Wu - Wednesday, January 18, 2012
•  The Snow Storm That Wasn't - Tuesday, January 17, 2012  
• The Russians - Monday, January 16, 2012
• The Older Generation - Sunday, January 15, 2012
• What is the other half doing today? - Saturday, January 14, 2012
• Mike's Bird dog Stories - Friday, January 13, 2012
• Dying - Thursday, January 12, 2012
• This Modern Life - Wednesday, January 11, 2012
• Jabberwocky - Tuesday, January 10, 2012
• Marriages and Such - Monday, January 09, 2012
• Poetry in America - Sunday, January 08, 2012
• Old Friendships - Saturday, January 07, 2012
• Clark and a whole of other things - Friday, January 06, 2012
• Being (almost) Late - Thursday, January 05, 2012
• At my Starbucks - Wednesday, January 04, 2012
• The Sandusky Affair - Tuesday, January 03, 2012
• Happy Reading 1 - Monday, January 02, 2012
• New Year 2012 - Monday, January 02, 2012
• A Day with my Nieces - Sunday, January 01, 2012
• To Live and Enjoy Life - Thursday, December 29, 2011
• Goodbye Uncle Paul - Wednesday, December 28, 2011
• It's Hector - Tuesday, December 27, 2011
• Going Home - Thursday, December 22, 2011
• A Night in Copenhagen - Wednesday, December 21, 2011
• Trivia Night - Tuesday, December 20, 2011
• Paul's Novels - Monday, December 19, 2011
• Europe - Sunday, December 18, 2011
• Kimmy, my good friend - Friday, December 16, 2011
• The Sad State of my Affairs - Thursday, December 15, 2011
• Once There was a Mansion - Wednesday, December 14, 2011
• Lauren's Happy Uncle's Day - Tuesday, December 13, 2011
• Santa Claus - Monday, December 12, 2011
• Mike, the Francophile - Sunday, December 11, 2011
• The car that never died, I hope - Saturday, December 10, 2011
• My Christmas Lights - Friday, December 09, 2011
• Small Memories - Wednesday, December 07, 2011
• Owning a Business, Bar - Tuesday, December 06, 2011
• What A Wonderful Day - Monday, December 05, 2011
• My Typical Sunday - Sunday, December 04, 2011
• Steve Jobs book - Saturday, December 03, 2011
• Moving on to Spirit Mountain - Friday, December 02, 2011


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.