AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Nickolaus Pacione, iEdie Batstone, iJoan Hovey, iHank Nuwer, iJames Steffes, iStan Law (aka Stanislaw Kapuscinski), iNeeta Blair, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Betty Anne Grillo

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· Blog
· 1 Titles
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2012

Betty Anne Grillo, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Betty Anne Grillo

SUNDAY SILLIES 06-24-2012
6/24/2012 7:51:16 AM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

A funny thing happened while on vacation

A funny thing happened while on vacation

Since it is Sunday, I thought I’d take a moment to share something funny that happened at church. I attended a Catholic church for many years, and became actively involved in the liturgy schedule. I was a lector, which meant I delivered the “Readings” on any particular Sunday. When you become more involved at church, you also get to see what goes on behind the scenes.

This church had quite a large congregation, but it felt small because people also chose to spend time together in smaller groups. A high percentage of members always volunteered to meet the needs of the church. The Priest was well-loved because he approached the needs of the church with a humble heart.

A once-in-a-lifetime opportunity arose for the congregation. A trip was organized to visit the home country of the beloved Priest--Ireland. Many parishioners were able to join the Priest on his trip to explore and celebrate his roots. Much excitement was felt within the church during the months preceding the trip, and various preparations took place as the monumental task of planning and executing the trip unfolded.

Along with planning the trip, the congregation was faced with the task of filling the shoes of the beloved Priest during his absence. After everything was taken into account, it was soon realized just how much that one man did each and every day! It would certainly take more than one person to fill his shoes.

What the Priest didn’t know before he left for his journey was just how much the members of the congregation loved him. So much so that they knew he could appreciate a practical joke upon his return. Keep in mind that this vibrant, loving church was a reflection of the life of the Priest. It was truly the home of compassion and acceptance—HIS HOME. While he was off enjoying the trip of a lifetime in Ireland, it came to the minds of a few to plant a large, commercial “For Sale” sign in the front yard of the church to greet him upon his return. I am somewhat happy to say that I was one of those involved in fostering the idea. I then actively searched for a willing accomplice to procure the “For Sale” sign. I soon learned that not everyone was so excited about the idea. I finally found someone as adventurous as myself, and the sign was planted in a prominent place in the front yard of the church.

And then we waited… and waited… and wondered… how would he really handle this?

We knew that the Priest was a jovial guy, but we didn’t really know how he’d react when the joke was on him! It was quite a shock for him to see the sign, and a momentary sense of “I knew I shouldn’t have gone on vacation” entered his mind. Imagine coming back from a long trip, only to find a large “For Sale” sign in the front yard of your house! Thankfully, he knew immediately that the joke was ultimately a symbol of the congregation’s love for him.

I am happy to announce that he was so happy to be home he truly forgave each and every one of us, and I think he even enjoyed the joke a bit. It was fun to be involved in a practical joke that didn’t hurt anyone, and that ultimately showcased the ability of the beloved Priest to exhibit his humanity and character. I would do it again in a heartbeat!

All my best!

Betty Anne

www.sunsetdreambooks.com

Follow me on Twitter .sunsetdreamboox

 



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Betty Anne Grillo
• What Your Neighbors Don't Know Abour Your Life - Wednesday, July 11, 2012
• A Special Needs Child in the Family - Tuesday, July 10, 2012
• Uncertainty creates fear and anxiety - Monday, July 09, 2012
• Bankruptcy is a fresh start, not a disgrace - Friday, July 06, 2012
• Could "book smarts" ever replace "street smarts"? - Thursday, July 05, 2012
• #Food for Thought—and I sure hope you’re #hungry! - Wednesday, July 04, 2012
• The Passing of Andy Griffith - Tuesday, July 03, 2012
• New day, new desire, new direction! - Monday, July 02, 2012
• SUNDAY SILLIES 07-01-2012 - Sunday, July 01, 2012
• The other “B” word – #BUDGET - Saturday, June 30, 2012
• The Truth is Always Somewhere in the Middle - Friday, June 29, 2012
• Time to take a #SCOTUS breath! - Thursday, June 28, 2012
• Do men and women handle #bankruptcy differently? - Wednesday, June 27, 2012
• Do men and women handle bankruptcy differently? - Tuesday, June 26, 2012
• The Symptoms of an Unhealthy Budget: Part Four - Monday, June 25, 2012
• Louis Gossett, Jr - Sunday, June 24, 2012
•  SUNDAY SILLIES 06-24-2012 - Sunday, June 24, 2012  
• Have you had a part in saving a life? - Saturday, June 23, 2012
• The Symptoms of an Unhealthy Budget: Part Three - Saturday, June 23, 2012
• The Symptoms of an Unhealthy Budget - Friday, June 22, 2012
• The Symptoms of an Unhealthy Budget - Thursday, June 21, 2012
• Can you really negotiate with credit card companies to pay less than the full balance? - Wednesday, June 20, 2012
• Do your elderly parents have trouble paying their bills? - Tuesday, June 19, 2012
• Do money problems cause break-ups? - Monday, June 18, 2012
• WHAT WILL I DO IF SOMEONE ASKS ME TO DANCE? - Sunday, June 17, 2012
• HAVING LESS TO SPEND COSTS YOU MORE IN THE END - Saturday, June 16, 2012
• I'm late, I'm late, for a very important... - Friday, June 15, 2012
• WHEN THE “B” WORD STANDS FOR BANKRUPTCY - Thursday, June 14, 2012
• Has your net worth decreased dramatically? - Wednesday, June 13, 2012
• What dreams have you had to put on hold? - Tuesday, June 12, 2012
• How much longer can you hold out? - Monday, June 11, 2012
• Sunday "Sillies" 06-10-2012 - Sunday, June 10, 2012
• Saturdays aren't the same for you, are they? - Saturday, June 09, 2012
• When charging items like food and gas purchases get us into trouble - Friday, June 08, 2012
• If money can fix it, it's not a disaster - Thursday, June 07, 2012
• I know it feels good to shop, but... - Wednesday, June 06, 2012
• Your health is most important! - Tuesday, June 05, 2012
• Common Personal Bankruptcy Myths and Facts - Monday, June 04, 2012
• Sunday Sillies June 3, 2012 - Sunday, June 03, 2012
• 383,000 New Unemployment Claims - Saturday, June 02, 2012
• How Much More Can You Take? - Friday, June 01, 2012
• Life is too short to face financial problems every day! - Thursday, May 31, 2012
• A new book about surviving widowhood - Wednesday, May 30, 2012
• A handshake and a smile - Tuesday, May 29, 2012
• Where did all that money go? - Monday, May 28, 2012
• Sunday "Sillies" - Sunday, May 27, 2012
• Unemployment numbers - Saturday, May 26, 2012
• The Launch of Sunset Dream Books - Saturday, May 26, 2012


Leap of Faith by Richard Hardie

The Temporal Detective Agency's first case since relocating to the 21st century from Camelot involves the theft of the world's biggest diamond, the disappearance of Lord Nelson's s..  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.