Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!


Featured Authors:  David Schwinghammer, iLawrance Lux, iBilly Allmon, iJanice Scott, ikaren leung, iDenise Richardson, iThomas Neviaser, i

  Home > Action/Thriller > News

Scott D. Zachary

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· 67 Titles
· 414 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
Member Since: Aug, 2003

Scott D. Zachary, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.

Featured Book
The Foundling: A Novel of Wandering in the Dreamland of Ch'a
by Alexander Goldstein

"The Foundling" is a story that everyone can learn from. While the majority of us will never set out on a path like the hermits did, being able to read of their experienc..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members

Share Save       

Scott D. Zachary Wins American Writers Award
Sunday, August 03, 2003  11:11:00 AM

by Scott D. Zachary

2003 American Writers Award Winners

Llumina Press

Contact Person: Deborah Greenspan
Address: P.O. Box 772246; Coral Springs, FL 33077-2246
Telephone: (866) 229-9244 Fax: (954) 726-0903
Email: URL:



FORT LAUDERDALE, JULY 2003: At last! It's time to announce the winners of our 2003 American Writers Contest. It wasn't easy making these choices but here they are:

First Place: The Ice Floe by Joyce Tracksler

Second Place: Scorn THIS by Scott D. Zachary

First Place Winner

The Ice Floe by Joyce Tracksler was chosen as the winner of the 2003 American Writers Contest because "it is beautifully written with strong characters and interesting ideas." It was a difficult decision; we had many wonderful books to choose from.

The Ice Floe is "a mystery of sorts" that traces the life of its heroine, Mallory, from her first encounter with death ("I was thirteen when I murdered my grandfather. I didn't really do a very good job, but I did the best I could.") to her last. Named for the Eskimo tradition of sending the dying on their final journey aboard an ice floe and into the ocean, The Ice Floe is about the right to die—and the right to choose the time and mode of death. Mallory becomes a sort of consultant for the dying, but when her husband is murdered, she has to deal with death on another level while also trying to solve the mystery.

"I am absolutely delighted," Joyce said. "Llumina Press has brought my dreams to life." Her newest mystery, Murder at Malafortuna, is currently being published by Llumina Press and Joyce says of the process "[It’s] difficult…to publish a book [traditionally]. There is a tremendous amount of rejection in the publishing world, but POD has allowed me to hold the book in my hand instead of a rejection letter. Instead of being a would-be author, I am an author."

The Ice Floe will be published through Llumina Press and will be available in October 2003.

Second Place Winner

Our second place winner is Scott D. Zachary, author of the thriller novel Scorn THIS (see his press release in the July issue of e-Writer Magazine). Scott said, "This just knocks me off my feet!" We believe readers will be similarly "knocked off their feet" upon reading Scorn THIS, which is a thriller with a moral thread woven throughout, twisted just enough to send the reader spiraling toward an outcome that can’t be imagined. Scorn THIS is now available for review and will be published in October 2003. We have already received many advance orders. Scott’s romantic adventure short story, "Cruisin’ Skipper’s Dream," also appears in the July issue of e-Writer Magazine at

The judges were very impressed with the quality of the entries and look forward to next year’s contest. The 2004 American Writers Contest will be open for submissions from October 2003 through April 2004. To enter, visit Llumina on the web at The winner will be awarded in July 2004.


e-Writer Magazine

Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us

Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.