AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: T. Cline, iRichard Hardie, iBeth Trissel, iBlak Rayne, iBeverly Scott, iJohn McCoy, iJerry Engler, i
 
Home > Erin E Elder
 

Recent Reviews for Erin E Elder


The Rivers of Klairn (Book) - 10/15/2003 8:10:48 PM
Another gem by Erin Elder which looks too be as enticing as "Rivers" was. Nicholas S. Stember www.authorsden.com/nsstember

Protectors of Klairn (Book) - 8/17/2003 4:45:19 PM
Erin, the exerpt hooked me and I just ordered a copy of the novel, I can't wait to read it. As one SciFi/Fantasy PublishAmerica author to another... Best of luck! Nicholas

Protectors of Klairn (Book) - 6/11/2003 10:26:55 PM
Erin Elder's "Protectors of Klairn" is an empowering, visual journey that I highly recommend for all ages. There is the budding (and very authentically uncomfortable) romance between the heroine Iona and Lexti, the drama of the eco-trails where plants and animals communicate to help or hinder, and the beautifully described world of Klairn itself, a montage of stunning vistas. The young Iona Stonefinder is at a crossroads in her young life; duty and loyalty to family versus following her heart and setting off on her own chosen path. She is not quite certain of her fate, but shows the courage needed to proceed towards her goal. I found the telling of her story spirited, and wished that I had book two in my hands when I had finished. The Protector Trails are the backdrop of a fast moving plot concerning Iona's discovery of the limits of her strength, will, trust and determination. It also tells the story of her emergence into womanhood. I found Protectors of Klairn to be a refreshing tale of intelligence, kindness and wit (instead of explosions) being used to solve and overcome problems. I found the telling of her story spirited, and wished that I had book two in my hands when I had finished. Thank you Erin!

Protectors of Klairn (Book) - 5/3/2003 4:13:31 PM
The commune with nature and absolutes of self awareness you portray are highly commendable. The spirit of tenacity and survival yet gentleness and undestanding in the midst are gracious and empowering. I liked the book from the very first sentence. Thanks, Erin, for your sensitivity and wilingness to stand up for it in natural environments! -- Stephanie S. Sawyer, author FACING ME

Protectors of Klairn (Book) - 11/30/2002 8:07:04 PM
Generally not my genre...but you go girl! Extremely imaginative, and incredibly sexy. Going on my "to buy" list.

Protectors of Klairn (Book) - 11/20/2002 3:45:45 PM
Sounds like a winner to me. I want this book! Your world sounds exciting and the trials are awesome. Hope she wins the job and the guy, too.

Protectors of Klairn (Book) - 11/20/2002 10:59:03 AM
Wow, Erin! Your excerpt left me wanting more!

Protectors of Klairn (Book) - 11/16/2002 2:44:23 PM
Literally could not put it down! I bought 3 copies. Two for gifts, as did a friend. We are both anxiously awaiting 'Rivers of Klairn' and the movie(s)! You are surely this century's answer to J R R Tolkien!

Protectors of Klairn (Book) - 11/15/2002 7:13:29 AM
This book is on my Christmas list for my teenage grand daughters. They love to read and know they would enjoy this first in the Klairn series

Protectors of Klairn (Book) - 11/15/2002 4:59:35 AM
Definitely a winner, Erin! Love your style.

Protectors of Klairn (Book) - 11/14/2002 5:49:27 PM
Erin: I'm always a sucker for a romance story, & I like a twist on the ol' fashioned, cookie-cutter boy-girl stories. Your excerpt is tantalizing.

Protectors of Klairn (Book) - 11/14/2002 4:09:08 PM
I don't usually like sci-fi and fantasy, but this story has me intrigued. I think you'll go places, Erin.

Protectors of Klairn (Book) - 11/14/2002 3:54:41 PM
Like I said before, I love fantasy. Yours is realy different from anything I have ever read. Have to buy it now so I can read it. Plus I also love series. I'm also writing a fantasy series, I have a chapter on my authorsden site. It's called Eli Harris and the Dark Knight. What I read was great!

Protectors of Klairn (Book) - 11/14/2002 3:21:32 PM
Sounds like a great story! Good Luck...

Protectors of Klairn (Book) - 10/10/2002 6:12:27 PM
Very well written and fun to read. I"m already looking forward to her next book. I am sure that I'll be reading this authors books for years to come.

Protectors of Klairn (Book) - 9/24/2002 5:24:04 PM
Geesh! Great stuff here...good luck! You are going places, author... P.S. I could not believe the similarities in our bios....freaky...take care...see ya on the PA board.

Protectors of Klairn (Book) - 9/9/2002 3:10:02 PM
This book reads as fast as a wildfire, but is a lot more fun! There's a lot of action from a environmental viewpoint, a nice romance blossoming, & an exciting contest. The details are great, & make you think: "When's the movie coming out?"

Protectors of Klairn (Book) - 9/4/2002 9:03:58 AM
Loved it! Imaginative, fun, empowering! Should be required reading for young and pre-teens!

The Owl and the Postman (Short Story) - 7/3/2014 9:07:27 PM
enjoyed reading your narrative.

Messages (Short Story) - 6/25/2010 1:29:11 PM
Excellent read . Really enjoyed it.

The Owl and the Postman (Short Story) - 3/18/2006 10:36:01 AM
Very well done! I enjoyed.

The Owl and the Postman (Short Story) - 1/24/2005 3:59:59 AM
I agree with Stember on this one, I wish I found this story a little sooner though but hell it is a strong delivery. Seriously you should get this one published somewhere. In fact I know of a place you can send it to -- talk to Ronald Hanna because he does a showcase for horror and other speculative fiction. Speaking as someone who've written quite a few horror stories in their own right you do have a voice with this one -- quite archiac in the delivery. I am definately going to be watching you in the near future.

The Owl and the Postman (Short Story) - 8/30/2004 2:10:05 PM
I love owls, so I really like your story. I like the ending, too. It's nice.

Sleeping Through the Storm (Short Story) - 8/30/2004 10:42:48 AM
Very good! Enjoyed it a lot.

Messages (Short Story) - 8/27/2004 3:22:00 PM
Cool, I like the surprise ending

The Owl and the Postman (Short Story) - 8/26/2004 12:40:47 PM
Wow, talk about a wild ride. Just a chilling tale! My compliments! Best Wishes, Chuckie

The Owl and the Postman (Short Story) - 8/29/2003 5:23:56 AM
Erin, I always loved owls so this story really got to me, I could almost see the owl's eyes burning into mine :o) Great story! Nicholas

The Owl and the Postman (Short Story) - 8/19/2003 11:35:25 PM
This is darn good. In my newsletter I have markets for this kind of work. You might want to subscribe...it's free. This should be published.

Messages (Short Story) - 8/19/2003 5:05:51 PM
I liked it!!

The Owl and the Postman (Short Story) - 8/19/2003 4:39:38 PM
Good quick read. When ever I hear an owl, I will think of this story. Thanks Erin

The Owl and the Postman (Short Story) - 8/19/2003 6:16:43 AM
I love a good supernatural short story. . . I read it twice!

Messages (Short Story) - 3/5/2003 6:43:31 PM
well done

So...You Wanted Supplies? (Short Story) - 3/5/2003 4:32:45 PM
Best of the three. Like it.

Sleeping Through the Storm (Short Story) - 3/5/2003 4:25:01 PM
Good story. Drop the last two sentences and it's a terrific story.

Messages (Short Story) - 3/5/2003 4:14:13 PM
Not bad for a tree-hugger.

Sleeping Through the Storm (Short Story) - 2/26/2003 5:10:22 PM
This story is fun, scary and surprising.....Thanks, Diana

Sleeping Through the Storm (Short Story) - 2/21/2003 2:57:07 PM
Terrific story. It kept my attention all the way through, but I didn't see the end coming. Spooky, but fun to read.

So...You Wanted Supplies? (Short Story) - 2/15/2003 6:02:28 PM
good one

So...You Wanted Supplies? (Short Story) - 1/25/2003 10:58:12 AM
I had the honor of getting the first read of this, it shocked me then and after reading it again it still had that effect on me. Great read, and one hot, sick broad :)

So...You Wanted Supplies? (Short Story) - 1/24/2003 5:41:35 PM
Whoa.... OK, I'll make sure not to mention that we are low on copy machine paper!! J.R. Torgerson www.authorsden.com/jrtorgerson

So...You Wanted Supplies? (Short Story) - 1/18/2003 8:49:24 PM
Hey, great story. I enjoyed it. Waiting for more.

So...You Wanted Supplies? (Short Story) - 1/16/2003 2:14:23 PM
Remind Me Not To Ask For A Pencil! Great Read! Had Me Going Right Up To The End! Good Job!

Sleeping Through the Storm (Short Story) - 1/16/2003 1:58:50 PM
Great story! I sure felt sorry for Marcus, poor guy! We need more like this!

Chained (Poetry) - 8/20/2014 12:22:14 PM
Erudite write. Lead in the right hand, doggie walks on the left and the tug, if needed, only puts a tad of pressure on the side of the neck, spec if left loose. Mans best friend is highly intelligent. Unlike doggies best/worse friend/fiend. Love this.

Chained (Poetry) - 7/29/2014 6:50:06 AM
So poignant so true. This is the life of many dogs whose owners think that chaining their dog is normal and ordinary. My little dog Jazz (you can read about his untimely death here in my stories) was free to run the fenced in yard and my doggie door to inside, but suffered when I was away because he felt lonely, even if he could go to the front fence and bark at the children. One time I went to my sister's farmhouse when no one was there. In the back of house, Prince, a German shepherd, was lying by his doghouse. The entire area had been worn down to bare dirt. I approached within his chain and he ran to me, grateful for my petting. I noticed that his only playthings were round river rocks. It was pathetic. When I told my brother-in-law, he told me that he had to keep him tied because he was a danger to people coming to the farmyard and surprised that he didn't attack me. My sister got a miniature poodle to breed. She had only two pups and both died. She started making a mess in the house and my sister banished her to small doghouse and a rope next to the back steps. When I saw the little girl, her fur was very long and straggly, all matted, and she looked terrible. Her dog house was insulated but had no door. It gets down to -30° sometimes in winter. The little girl could climb up on the steps on her rope. One day my sister found that she'd fallen off the steps and hung herself on her rope. Sigh. Ron

Chained (Poetry) - 7/29/2014 6:38:08 AM
poignant read, and I suspect the life of many dogs and even cats,

Chained (Poetry) - 7/29/2014 4:32:55 AM
Empathic. I wonder that he isn't allowed to 'talk' to the dogs nearby, to play with them. Dogs are communal critters, like most mammals. They'll accept people, cats, almost any companionship. Chains, as you point out, are brutal. Why even have a pet if that is its fate?

Chained (Poetry) - 7/29/2014 3:32:44 AM
I don't know why some people would not let their pets inside their house. You have portrayed a dog's life so well. The people whom it trust fully, who play with him when they wanted some pleasure of their own, who would shown love to him; but yet they left him outside in rain or shine to fight against the weather and the loneliness. Not fair!!! Sandie

Chained (Poetry) - 7/29/2014 3:21:37 AM
I cry. I cry from loneliness... I cry too, for all of them. Those chained up in yards, those dumped at shelters, and those being left behind and abandoned like the dogs in my poem this morning. Far too many pets being abandoned, abused, and forsaken today.

Chained (Poetry) - 7/28/2014 3:47:14 PM
Damn, but I miss my Rufuz and this poem, while it would'nt have applied to Ruffie and I, still gives me a twinge of regret as I wish he was still here to play with me...he loved the beach as do I...ed

Chained (Poetry) - 7/28/2014 3:29:09 PM
Sweet and sad poem. Reminds me of the dogs I used to have. I look back now and realize I could have done so much more with them.

Ode to the Night Shift Freight Worker (Poetry) - 3/21/2011 1:20:58 AM
Reminds me of when I worked delivering newspapers from 2 to 6 in the morning. Some captivating descriptions you've written here. Tom

Ode to the Night Shift Freight Worker (Poetry) - 11/30/2010 8:34:56 PM
Reminded me the the feeling I had once when walking through the sleepy streets of my hometown, which inspired me to write "Norwood Night". You have done an absolutely superb job of capturing this shift! Very much enjoyed!! -Z.B.McClure

Ode to the Night Shift Freight Worker (Poetry) - 8/25/2010 12:24:38 PM
i know this feeling so well...as a nurse in a mental health ward we all most take our turn of the dreaded nightshift..and it seems to come around to quickly ..an excellent piece of writing ...eliza keating

Ode to the Night Shift Freight Worker (Poetry) - 12/16/2009 4:22:38 AM
Excellent writing, Erin

Attack (Poetry) - 6/10/2008 12:50:42 PM
Pain to be endured as the illness comes upon you. Won't relent as long as you are tense. Will be less painful with medicines if you take them. Pain is so intense inside and out somedays that I do so wish God would take me away and bring me a painfree life. Maybe my times isn't up yet, so I abide my pain and try to forget it is there.

Attack (Poetry) - 12/27/2007 4:42:22 PM
Oh, this brings to mind so many, many events in my life. I suppose I can easily relate to your well-written report of this attack. I like the balance you maintain in the rhythm and rhyme. Great effort.

Ode to the Night Shift Freight Worker (Poetry) - 10/17/2007 10:48:23 AM
You've vividly and skillfully captured the life of a nightshift worker. I was one myself for many years and reading your fine poem brought back many memories for me. Great work!

Attack (Poetry) - 7/31/2007 7:05:45 AM
You have made aware thus> de-throning it's despair {wonder-filled}-Well meant love{ <*>}Ted

Ode to the Night Shift Freight Worker (Poetry) - 2/27/2007 1:03:14 PM
Hi friend, Erin, This poem brought back memories of the quiet lonely moments during the slow perods, when I used to work in a wharehouse and the other times when later in life, I was a night watchman (Security Guard). I always wondered if any body cared that we worked nights as they were getting into their beds. Good writing! Please feel free to check out my site at freewebs.com/kendoo or at yahoo 360 meettheauthors group.

Ode to the Night Shift Freight Worker (Poetry) - 11/25/2006 4:58:15 PM
really nice write-you really created the atmosphere!

Ode to the Night Shift Freight Worker (Poetry) - 1/20/2006 3:04:12 PM
Been there, seen that, done that ! It ain't no fun being on night shift, especially if you have a wife and family A subject that gets easily passed over with indifference ! Well crafted Peter

Ode to the Night Shift Freight Worker (Poetry) - 10/16/2005 11:38:23 PM
"...Flocks of birds and leaves are replaced by nothing…only cold. Soul-chilling, bone-hurting, eye stinging cold..." You really set the mood with this work. Brava!

Ode to the Night Shift Freight Worker (Poetry) - 10/16/2005 5:48:20 PM
We forget that while we sleep others are on the job keeping things on the go. This is a great reminder. Marjorie

Ode to the Night Shift Freight Worker (Poetry) - 10/16/2005 12:18:03 PM
This is sad, but that is life. Many works night shifts of one kind or another. Sandie May Angel a.k.a Sandie Angel :o)

Attack (Poetry) - 6/1/2005 6:43:35 AM
There are many different kinds of levels that this could be read at and I find all levels extremely interesting.

Attack (Poetry) - 1/19/2005 7:53:29 PM
Though my review is late, I wish you the best of your heartfelt poetry. Les

Attack (Poetry) - 3/14/2004 2:46:36 PM
I wish you healing, love, peace, and strength. Thank you for sharing your meaningful sentiments. Regis

Attack (Poetry) - 1/28/2004 9:41:14 PM
I just caught you being "Featured" while logging off. I'm glad I stopped by to read this. It's very evocative. Doc

Attack (Poetry) - 1/13/2004 9:08:13 PM
I know how you feel, Erin. I've lived with MS and Lupus as well as a host of other maladies since age 12. I'll be 60 in June. I never know from one day to the next what will be, if I'll even be. This is a great write! I wrote of a particular episode of MS that I experienced 2 years ago: still lingers and attacks today- "Nerves Unsheathed" here in my den. ~~Bonnie Q Associate Editor, WA Waltsan Publishing, TX

Attack (Poetry) - 11/13/2003 1:00:23 PM
I hear your call... Good write... Rodd

Attack (Poetry) - 10/8/2003 8:37:00 PM
I suppose everybody has his or her own demons to exorcise. I hope you have made the right choice as to how to deal with them.

Attack (Poetry) - 9/27/2003 2:33:01 PM
I am a reader but also the author, Becca Henry. What a gripping story in the poem! Please read my daily struggles with my illness should you have the time. WOW! You are so very brave and have faith to fight, like how I am doing. We must remain STRONG, my dear friend! Read throughout my sight and you shall see my story. authorsden.com/rebeccaehenry

Attack (Poetry) - 7/4/2003 1:09:00 PM
A poetic justification for a divine warrior friend. Keep the faith, your best days are ahead of you. Officer William Heffner

Attack (Poetry) - 4/30/2003 1:12:23 AM
Good writing piece nice flow

Attack (Poetry) - 3/26/2003 3:38:56 PM
Erin, revealing, honest and real! By the way, yes without humor, I'd never find the light to crawl into the morrow! Warmly, Rodney Evan Bohen

Attack (Poetry) - 3/14/2003 8:16:54 PM
From "sucker punch" through "I long to be someone without this illness part of me," you keep the reader's attention and make hi/r feel your pain. Sorry if the pain is real...if this is autobiographical,I mean. But of course, the pain is real either way. Touching! Phyllis

Attack (Poetry) - 3/11/2003 7:36:57 AM
I too struggle daily with pain because of an illness with no cure. Keep writing ... it's a good release. Joseph

Attack (Poetry) - 2/15/2003 6:03:30 PM
well done

Attack (Poetry) - 2/12/2003 9:27:48 AM
Oh Erin, what a comparison! I can feel your pain. I will pray for you. This is very well done. God bless you! Love, Beth

Attack (Poetry) - 1/20/2003 6:58:47 AM
Can relate all too well. Very honest.

Attack (Poetry) - 12/10/2002 4:22:31 AM
The symbolism in this poetry is outstanding Erin. The words flow so easy! Glad I stumbled across you this morning so that I could enjoy a wonderful, thought provoking read. So many of us know this monster your words describe so well. Visit my den and ready, "Myself" and you will find the same monster lurking there, described in my style!

Attack (Poetry) - 12/7/2002 9:50:18 PM
GREAT POEM..A THORN IN YOUR FLESH KEEPS YOU HUMBLE AND KNOWING ITS THERE MAKES YOU STRONGER...KEEP WRITING

Attack (Poetry) - 12/4/2002 7:55:24 AM
Very good and true to the heart. Betty

Attack (Poetry) - 11/18/2002 7:45:24 AM
This poem is riveting. It lets the reader know almost what it is like to be helpless as you are attacked from within. Good job!!

Attack (Poetry) - 11/8/2002 7:46:48 PM
It catches immediately, holding attention and inviting curiosity. As the name is of the work, so is the grip on the need to know more. Poignant and compelling for compassion.

Attack (Poetry) - 11/7/2002 5:06:52 AM
this is a powerful read~ great job!

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.