AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Reverend Dr. Linda De Coff, iDerek Flower, iKate Saundby, iD.L. Carroll, iTerry Rambo, irichard cederberg, iVenkataraman Gopalakrishnan, i
 
Home > Bennett Kremen
 

Recent Reviews for Bennett Kremen


Savage Days Haunted Nights (Book) - 11/1/2009 6:49:55 PM
SAVAGE DAYS HAUNTED NIGHTS by Bennett Kremen, Arnone Press(Available through Amazon.com). Review by Tom Wallace Lyons. Imagine the closed-in feeling of a roach under a descending shoe. That's life for Dorian Karkoff as the mob closes in on him. Dorian's problem is a spiraling "vig"(interest) driven fifteen thousand dollar debt. This problem gets very dangerous very fast when Dorian publicly tough talks the lender, a vicious, small-time New York hood called Frankie D. But the run in with Frankie D is only the latest installment on a dangerous odyssey begun as a young Chicago tough in a novel that is not entirely linear. Fever paced and strongly plotted, the bulk of SAVAGE DAYS HAUNTED NIGHTS is set in New York with deftly interwoven scenes from a dangerous, troubled youth. In Chicago Dorian a.k.a "DUMB DORRY" is academically sidelined by dyslexia. This drives him into the arms of Little Tommy Sorrentino, "another eighth grade scholar unable to read." The younger brother of a Chicago mobster, Tommy initiates Dorian into the vicious, predatory life of a wannabee gang member. Dorian rises to the occasion of a deadly gang fight, the first step toward a mean, don't mess with me reputation; a status which guarantees that "not a soul nowadays, near or far, would ever dare laugh at him again for staring blankly at a newspaper hardly able to read it." But Dorian can only go so far. Tommy ratchets the viciousness into unacceptable terrain when he asks Dorian to help torch some buildings that house newly arrived African Americans, an effort to check the historic and permanent alteration of the West Side neighborhood that resulted from the last century's northward migration. Dorian manages both to save lives and to square it with his gang. But he parts company with Tommy and the Chicago boys after he refuses to stab one of their own who has broken the gang rule against drug dealing, a rule that has a lot less to do with morality than with fear of the Feds. Dorian has to leave town. On the bus to New York, Dorian is assaulted by a sudden determination to become a writer, to tell his story. This determination drives him through months of manic effort with books, dictionary and typewriter, efforts subsidized by ill-gotten gains from Chicago. And he frequents the restaurant cum writer salon that was once the Lion's Head in Sheridan Square. Finally, with much trepidation, Dorian approaches an editor with a heavily labored-on book review. His free-lance career takes off. But free-lance work doesn't pay much. And Dorian is afraid to accept offers of full-time work because he believes his only somewhat cured dyslexia would destroy his ability to meet office deadlines. Hence the debt driven tough talk; hence the thugs waiting on the street by his apartment. Down on the street the thugs beat up two of Dorian's friends in the local bodega. Later they burn the bodega. They viciously harass his girlfriend Ana. Dorian avoids his street when he hops from roof to roof in search of work as a paper hauler. But the word's out that he's not to be hired. People are scared. Dorian's mad. Still the Chicago tough, Dorian decides to get a pistol to personally deal with Frankie D and his thugs. Efforts to obtain a pistol and track down Frankie D involve a Jamaican genja dealer, a pimp and a prostitute, characters who spring to life on the page as do other characters roped into Dorian's struggle to escape his nemesis. SAVAGE DAYS HAUNTED NIGHTS throbs with RAGING BULL intensity, cinematic immediacy in an apparently authentic depiction of an era circa mid-Twentieth Century. I am in no position to vouch for the authenticity of this Runyonesque tour. But, like THE GODFATHER, it has that feel. As with HUCKLEBERRY FINN, SAVAGE DAYS HAUNTED NIGHTS is brought to life not just by its story line; rather it is the rich, evocative dialogue through which Kremen releases his characters. Salvatore "Sammy the Bull" Gravano is one person who should definitely read SAVAGE DAYS HAUNTED NIGHTS. This Gambino crime family member told THE NEW YORK TIMES that, prior to seeing THE GODFATHER, he'd only racked up one murder. He credits THE GODFATHER as the inspiration for nineteen subsequent murders. Gravano also claims he borrowed two Godfather phrases: "If you have an enemy, that enemy becomes my enemy." "I'm gonna make you an offer you can't refuse." Gravano may feel that his verbal repertoire has grown a bit stale. For color and authenticity he might turn to Kremen's Nickie Torracelli, who says, "These stupid wise-guy movies are strictly bullshit with shrinks all over the place. If any of our guys ever went to one of 'em, we'd whack him and the fucken doctor too. Nobody's gonna know our business." Nickie Torracelli is a man "everybody knows, who'd scare the balls off the bleedin' Devil himself. Frankie'd have a bloody stroke hearing his name." The words come from Danny Riordan, a generous spirited, upbeat, endlessly resourceful Irishman who safely negotiates the likes of Torracelli because he asks "no favors. I only do'em. You can romance the devil himself that way and never get burned." And sometimes "terrific things" can result. The terrific thing for Dorian is that Torracelli may call Frankie D off his case. But Dorian must also do something for Torracelli. And he had better deliver. It would be unfair to reveal the rest of the book. Suffice it to say that the final scene brings together some very disparate people who have no more use for each other than Frankie D has for Dorian. SAVAGE DAYS HAUNTED NIGHTS has enough gang violence, suspense and excitement to set off a bidding war among film producers. But accommodation of novelistic narrative to cinema will pose a challenge. It will take top notch actors, top notch direction and a top notch script to preserve the fast pace and the feel for time, place and people. The conversion could easily flop. Or it could become an Oscar nominee.

Sure As Day And Night (Poetry) - 4/6/2014 6:23:16 AM
Yes...I think many of us have been here, and had our fingers burned! I like the clever way you have worded this... Best wishes, Diana

Sure As Day And Night (Poetry) - 3/17/2014 4:05:30 PM
Very entertaining play on words, as well as giving some of us much to ponder in the irony of the philosophical overtones.

Sure As Day And Night (Poetry) - 3/14/2014 9:05:49 AM
Sounds like you don't trust Charlie! A cute poem, that's for sure. Ron

Sure As Day And Night (Poetry) - 3/14/2014 8:36:20 AM
Cleverly expressed to make a point; well done, Bennett. Love and peace to you, Regis

Sure As Day And Night (Poetry) - 3/14/2014 7:52:07 AM
Interesting, fun-to-read poem! How about Winter in March? That's what we have here in PA, where we are IMpatiently waiting for Spring to appear. Connie

Sure As Day And Night (Poetry) - 3/14/2014 3:01:13 AM
Once I lend $500.00 to whom I thought was a good friend, but after I lent him the money all he ever wanted to do was to distant himself from me. Something tells me that if we really want a good friend to stick around then don't lend any money out. (I hate to say it, but it seems true). LOL!!!! Sandie

Sure As Day And Night (Poetry) - 3/13/2014 10:30:43 PM
Great write Ben! Yes, I know a Charlie too and he sounds like the guy you once knew.

Stand And Weep (Poetry) - 10/28/2012 4:35:36 PM
our world is upside down as predicticted in the bible...this wonderful write is a sad reminder...pmedlin

Stand And Weep (Poetry) - 10/27/2012 11:31:44 AM
You have expressed the excesses of religious thought. It is amazing how phrases from “good books” can be used to mesmerize the masses to commit hideous crimes in the name of (fill in your favorite God). I prefer a godless life where I am responsible for my actions and not going to follow blindlessly the prophets of my doom. Ron

Stand And Weep (Poetry) - 10/26/2012 6:28:25 PM
Your verses remind me of why I do not believe in "organized religion" no matter where it hails from. Thank you, Bennett. Love and peace to you, Regis

Winter Eve (Poetry) - 9/22/2012 9:37:10 AM
Much meaning expressed so succinctly; thank you, Bennett. Love and peace, Regis

Even In The Void (Poetry) - 9/15/2012 7:43:47 PM
Succinct but powerful in meaning evoked and expressed. Love and peace to you, Regis

Cold Blooded Winners (Poetry) - 9/15/2012 7:40:37 PM
I tend to agree with Ron. Your poem is short but engaging. I think you meant to write, "jackal's" in the second verse. Love and peace, Regis

Cold Blooded Winners (Poetry) - 8/29/2012 6:38:34 AM
Scavengers in nature are welcome. Human scavengers and become a scurge. Ron

The Walking Wounded (Poetry) - 8/28/2012 7:31:58 AM
The walking wounded are growing in number every day. I wonder what happens when an entire society feels this way. Maybe ours mostly already does.

Even In The Void (Poetry) - 8/25/2012 3:21:22 PM
And, arguably, that "glory" will indubitably come as either pain or joy, as the void probably knows appreciating the full experience you cite in the poem is impossible without the unity of opposites, that knowing black only because we understand white. Beautifully rendered.

Even In The Void (Poetry) - 8/25/2012 2:50:27 PM
Good poem. My attitude exactly.

Winter's Solace (Poetry) - 8/21/2012 1:32:58 PM
So original, penned from the soul. I like the form as well.

Genesis Revisited (Poetry) - 8/21/2012 1:32:01 PM
Top shelf poetry with a strong voice. God gets blamed for a lot of things man creates. Well penned and thought provoking.

WASTELAND REVISITED (Poetry) - 8/15/2012 4:05:42 PM
The wisdom posited here is so often ignored, yet narcissism can only continue to dominate one's existence until consciousness rears it beautiful head once again, and... it's always available, even to extreme Right thinkers.

FOREVER (Poetry) - 8/15/2012 4:02:45 PM
For this poet, reading such profundity gives me joy, having written so much exploratory prosetry on this very subject. Love to read more of this particular focus, as I truly believe we are but matter, and matter never ceases to endure. Thus, some aspect of our existence is forever part of the cosmos, leaving open the potential of a very exciting personal future... even if it is of another kind.

Gloating Beware (Poetry) - 8/15/2012 3:58:18 PM
Spoken like a true humanist, allowing little room for stuff and supernatural influence. We certainly don't see much of "victory...wed to humility" in this global competitive insanity. Anyone for more Olympics?

Convinced Of Eternity (Poetry) - 8/15/2012 3:55:03 PM
An adroitly phrased spoil alert for poets, eh?

This Is A Living? (Poetry) - 8/15/2012 3:53:48 PM
Philosophy of morality made accessible to everyone, yet few will read, let alone follow the obvious message and subtle warning. This truly begs the question: what kind of jobs will the middle class in America have to choose from as the century's commerce becomes more and more global. Of course, if the drought continues at the alarming rate of the past two years, we may not have to worry about how most will be making a living, unless, of course, they're willing to endure some language training and be willing to sweat a soy sauce fragrance.

Alienation Now (Poetry) - 8/15/2012 2:45:44 PM
And, as your poem proffers, to embrace the auto pilot is to have nothing compelling to do except wait for the end. Unfortunately, far too many unconsciously embrace such a notion.

Over And Echoless (Poetry) - 8/15/2012 2:43:09 PM
An existential take on the nature of total bliss--that elusive reality known as nothingness. Sartre would be proud.

Deserts Of History (Poetry) - 8/15/2012 2:36:57 PM
Interesting images to remind us of how fleeting our human history is, right alongside the wind that transports other infinitesimal debris of evolution's perpetual vortex toward the inevitable quintessential black hole.

Walking (Poetry) - 8/15/2012 2:31:38 PM
There is something surreal, yet commonplace about the simplicity of walking as a source of both meditation and stubborn resolve to not let either extremity (mind or feet) atrophy. Simple and to the point. Well done.

Genesis Revisited (Poetry) - 8/15/2012 2:27:57 PM
If only more thinking such as this would use reason and rational appreciation of history to honestly accept the saga of violence man has always embraced, we just might have a chance of surviving ourselves. But, as long as the definition of war=religions, we will continue our self-destructive bent. You've penned a simple, yet poignant parody too few will read... unfortunately.

Genesis Revisited (Poetry) - 8/13/2012 10:27:01 AM
I like this. Very original. It is very interesting how Christians feel that their Bible speaks truth to them and that God is somehow kind and good, when all people do is bicker and fight about which religion is best. if God created us, he/she? sure created a wild bunch, bent on bloodlust and greed.

Genesis Revisited (Poetry) - 8/13/2012 6:52:31 AM
Hey ... top-a-the-day to you Bennett. Long time. You've conjured an almost sinister take on Genesis here. Really different. Peace to you ... richard

Genesis Revisited (Poetry) - 8/12/2012 2:58:43 PM
Thank you for sharing your philosophical perspective on this ageless and universal theme, Bennett. Love, peace, and best wishes to you, Regis

Preparing To Die (Poetry) - 9/9/2011 11:57:42 AM
Ahhhh Bennett ... I'll bring a bottle of Scotch and a broad sword. But, I don't think loneliness will inhabit timelessness. Peace to you friend ... richard

Love's Forbidden Garden (Poetry) - 8/5/2011 8:53:02 PM
Amen to that. I LOVE this one, Bennett. Fantastic imagery, so perfect, especially that killer ending. Have to add it to my favorites. Oh, btw, hope you don't mind, but a character in the kids book I'm currently working on, a doctor, has your last name, lol. When I write stories, the names just pop in my head and I go with them, and yours did in the new one- hope you don't mind. :)

Love's Forbidden Garden (Poetry) - 7/30/2011 2:40:16 PM
The metaphor and imagery that you have choses server to powerfully emphasize your theme, Bennett. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

FOREVER (Poetry) - 3/4/2011 12:01:05 PM
Thank you for sharing this thought-provoking perspective, Bennett. Love and peace to you, Regis

Walking (Poetry) - 1/22/2011 7:17:34 AM
Dark and compelling, the theme that you express within your verses is one with which I am very familiar, Bennett. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Deserts Of History (Poetry) - 2/9/2010 6:59:51 PM
What a gem this is, Bennett! A tiny, fully-faceted cabochon, polished to perfection. Look close. and you see that a kernel of wisdom is embedded. B R A V O ~!!! xOx Phyllis xOx

Deserts Of History (Poetry) - 1/27/2010 10:17:51 PM
And the dreamless self will vanish from the pages of history as if it were never there. Patrick

Deserts Of History (Poetry) - 1/26/2010 8:13:44 PM
I cannot disagree with what you express in these verses, Ben. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Deserts Of History (Poetry) - 1/26/2010 3:49:51 PM
Dreams and love impart eternity to the soul. If life is only perceived on the nihilistic level, then indeed, we shall perish in oceans of air and deserts of history. Well said.

Over And Echoless (Poetry) - 1/16/2010 9:50:26 AM
All good things and bad do come to an end. Each must be experienced to appreciate the other. Patrick

Over And Echoless (Poetry) - 1/12/2010 2:14:12 PM
I like the almost weak resistanceless voice becoming the passionate, grasping intensity. It really works.

Over And Echoless (Poetry) - 1/11/2010 2:35:23 AM
A well written piece.Great poem.take care

Over And Echoless (Poetry) - 1/10/2010 4:07:53 PM
I wish I could just hold onto those rare, blessed moments where the world expands and everything is okay. Then I feel trapped, hemmed in. Wanting to escape in to oblivion, change the way I feel. AT ANY COST! Then it passes. The key is to stay centered. I suck at it. Wonderful poetry Ben.

Over And Echoless (Poetry) - 1/10/2010 2:43:14 PM
as I pull you close, grasping for the universe itself in the splendid mysteries of your yielding thighs. I do like very much the way you put this, Ben; and the whole poem. Love and peace to you, Regis

Alienation Now (Poetry) - 1/7/2010 7:41:58 AM
i know the feeling, bennett. normally a peaceful walk in some unspoiled place of natural beauty brings me back to that ever fleeting state of bliss... an excellent write, poet. cg

Alienation Now (Poetry) - 1/4/2010 1:49:00 PM
Yes, I think people today are in the void of self, me, me, me-- that is a void that makes you believe you are alone in the world and that no one else matters, until they become the other, and the other is always much easier to despise. very thought provoking. I wish things were not like they are now.

Alienation Now (Poetry) - 1/3/2010 12:17:36 AM
I think Peter said it best and I can't best that. Thank you, Ben. Love and peace, Regis

Alienation Now (Poetry) - 1/2/2010 3:26:14 PM
I like it, Good Write

Alienation Now (Poetry) - 1/2/2010 12:48:52 PM
Funny that you just wrote a poem about the void. We've been talking too much, as I just wrote one too. This is one my favorites from you. Hard not to get sucked in. Temptation resisted is the true measure of character. Nicely done!

This Is A Living? (Poetry) - 12/26/2009 10:22:21 AM
Oh, how I shudder to think what making a living is going to do next. Amen, Ben! Love and peace to you, Regis

Winter's Solace (Poetry) - 12/23/2009 6:23:34 PM
I always find stormy days energizing and inspiring. Thank you, Ben. Love and peace to you, Regis

Winter's Solace (Poetry) - 12/23/2009 11:29:40 AM
Well Conan, I've often heard it said, "Don't sweat the small stuff", but never quite this passionately. I like it. Patrick

Winter's Solace (Poetry) - 12/22/2009 7:50:49 PM
Always so sad when mankind finds it difficult to reach out to another offering hope and kindness... Be always safe, Karen

Winter's Solace (Poetry) - 12/22/2009 3:34:53 PM
Perhaps depression is a disease of the idle. I can relate to this a lot.

Winter's Solace (Poetry) - 12/22/2009 11:34:22 AM
A recumbent nature adorning itself. Not confined or limited (untrammeled) kindness is something that is woefully lacking in this ego-centric society. An effective analogy Bennett - winter storms and our own mental and emotional and spiritual challenges. Yes! Your gift shines here! richard

A Poignant Eloquence (Poetry) - 12/18/2009 8:05:13 PM
For her to be compared to a cello is a fine tribute, Ben. I truly "feel" what you have expressed. Love and peace to you, Regis

A Poignant Eloquence (Poetry) - 12/12/2009 10:00:30 AM
Really good Bennett. I can hear the cello in the background. Patrick

A Poignant Eloquence (Poetry) - 12/11/2009 1:12:43 PM
This is perfect poetry Ben. Poignant and rich. Very well done.

A Poignant Eloquence (Poetry) - 12/11/2009 12:58:39 PM
I can see how the cello reminds you of her and then you become the cello making the sound that reminds you of her ... Nice Ben r

Gloating Beware (Poetry) - 12/4/2009 7:58:15 PM
But ,ah, when victory is wed to humility, the world sighs in hamony, perhapsthroug all eternity. A recipe for peace in this world perhaps? Thank you, Ben. Love and peace to you, Regis

Gloating Beware (Poetry) - 12/4/2009 4:15:32 PM
I try to avoid the venom and count my blessings. Winning is after all, relative. Good work. Patrick

Gloating Beware (Poetry) - 12/4/2009 2:57:24 PM
Humility and success is rare in this society. But then i've known a share of losers that turned with a fury against winners too. Jealousy and envy is a double-edged blade which can be wielded with equal force by either side. Ah ... for the peace of understanding and acceptance. r

Gloating Beware (Poetry) - 12/4/2009 2:52:09 PM
Let's try not to gloat on our way to the top, 'cuz they'll be gloating at us on the way back down. Well done my friend. Best wishes.

This Is A Living? (Poetry) - 11/30/2009 9:43:06 PM
Yes,a strong message in this poem that comes through loud and clear-

This Is A Living? (Poetry) - 11/29/2009 6:07:14 AM
We're all wrong headed in the world at large, & if that's a future title for a yet unwritten poem of mine, it nevertheless will take a cue from this one.

The Dimming (Poetry) - 11/29/2009 5:55:26 AM
There is no time, only for human beings, the form of age, shocking as it is.

This Is A Living? (Poetry) - 11/29/2009 12:36:18 AM
Excellent poem.I enjoy reading your poetry.take care

The Dimming (Poetry) - 11/28/2009 4:38:42 AM
Oh Bennett, try to reach the age of 85 and realize the incredible amount of work yet to be done and wonder is God will give you time to do half of it! Because, as more time passes, inspiration add more work that you thought, when young, that it all wouldn't take long to finish. And then we learn. Georg

This Is A Living? (Poetry) - 11/27/2009 5:42:06 PM
Maybe martians hungry for tender brains will start killing poets to dine on them. Who knows? Wonderful poetry and provocative questions. I often think about such things. It's very disturbing. And it's just money flowing from one hand to the next. It's about the velocity of money, nothing else. If money flows, the economy is healthy. When money is stagnant, everyone suffers. Guess we need to ramp up the death machine again.

This Is A Living? (Poetry) - 11/27/2009 4:47:56 PM
Excellent Ben! Your poet juices are flowing in this sobering insight. One of the reasons I cleave to poetry as an outlet is because of how I am compelled to consider (carefully) life from anothers perspective. You have opened my eyes. Still, I like Filet Mignon medium rare. Blessings ... r

This Is A Living? (Poetry) - 11/27/2009 3:01:18 PM
You've heard of icebergs Your poignant commentary is just the tip Wait till you have one move into your backyard Well done Patrick

This Is A Living? (Poetry) - 11/27/2009 1:41:05 PM
Dr Dan? funny name. lol I loved the whole thing. Steve Chering UK

The Dimming (Poetry) - 11/24/2009 8:40:28 PM
An honest poem,a well written piece.I enjoy your poetry.take care

The Dimming (Poetry) - 11/21/2009 8:49:16 PM
The triumph is within your mind and the perseverence to continue going forward... Be always safe, Karen

The Dimming (Poetry) - 11/21/2009 3:33:37 PM
The triumph is in your pen my friend. Your words eternal. As the physical shell begins to atrophy, the spiritual navigator sharpens his senses and employs the hand and heart to leave behind the stuff of beauty, philosophy and wisdom. And that is forever.

The Dimming (Poetry) - 11/21/2009 12:13:37 PM
At least we have our memories of better days. Aging is very much a personal thing and I very much believe that sharing what we experience and feel during the process is important for others to hear. I enjoy your work Bennett - for some reason your spirit touches me. Persevere! r

The Dimming (Poetry) - 11/21/2009 10:56:10 AM
Now though, with my eyes dimming, my limbs creaking, tell me please, can there be a a triumph in the darkness and shocking silence of forever? Such sobering thoughts, Ben; I admit they've crossed my mind on more than one occasion. Love and peace to you, Regis

Better In The Dark (Poetry) - 11/20/2009 5:42:57 PM
Once again your verses have given me cause to stop and to ponder, Ben. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

WASTELAND REVISITED (Poetry) - 11/15/2009 2:29:09 PM
The fact that so many can barely see past their own reflections, pretty much tells us how doomed we are. "If the world ends, what am I going to do?" seems to be the catchphrase.

WASTELAND REVISITED (Poetry) - 11/15/2009 1:32:50 PM
Your verses offer sobering cause for thought, Ben. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

WASTELAND REVISITED (Poetry) - 11/12/2009 6:06:15 PM
That type of self love usually does lead to a wasteland. Great write.

WASTELAND REVISITED (Poetry) - 11/12/2009 5:42:44 PM
I imagine that all humanoids are beginning to see the handwriting on the wall. All systems are shaking. But no one can cry that they haven't been warned as the global paradigm approaches. All the poets can do is scratch warnings in the sand and hope an unexpected wave doesn't obliterate the message. r

WASTELAND REVISITED (Poetry) - 11/12/2009 2:42:13 PM
There seems to be a lot of this wasteland theme going round lately. Must be the fact we're heading into the greatest depression. I, of course, completely sympathize with this poem on all levels. ME, ME, ME will morph to WEE, WEE, WEE as everyone rushes down the rollercoaster of dstruction one last, fun-filled time!

Better In The Dark (Poetry) - 11/6/2009 6:36:14 PM
AIN'T IT THE TRUTH...???!!!! LOVED IT AND THANKS FOR SHARING. BLESSINGS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Better In The Dark (Poetry) - 11/6/2009 11:50:53 AM
Living makes no sense to me at all. Dying, however, makes all the sense in the world. But that's just me and I'm a weird.

Better In The Dark (Poetry) - 11/5/2009 8:14:43 PM
Better to keep life a mystery and allow it to unfold in its own time.... Be always safe, Karen

Better In The Dark (Poetry) - 11/5/2009 7:25:38 PM
Making sense is overrated. Enjoyed.

Better In The Dark (Poetry) - 11/5/2009 11:50:35 AM
Amen! Its a linear process that collects information as it moves forward. Good thought poet! r

Raging Hope (Poetry) - 10/30/2009 6:51:42 PM
hopeless hope still beating madly inside me like a mob of vicious hummingbirds pillaging a forbidden garden. Powerfully meaningful and expressive, Ben. Love and peace, Regis

Raging Hope (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 9:25:30 PM
Your closing line was unbelievable in all it says brought the whole piece together great write

Raging Hope (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 4:58:28 PM
We all have our regrets don't we? It's amazing how we recall the failures that affect us the deepest. Yours made me shudder, for i have gone through something quite similar, but unlike you, I have never had the balls to write about it.

Harmony Of The Spheres (Poetry) - 10/24/2009 6:41:12 PM
Again, I appreciate your philosophical perspective which gives the reader substance to ponder upon, Ben. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace, Regis

A Hell Of A Heaven (Poetry) - 10/24/2009 12:31:43 PM
They actually found 16 virgins? This packs a tremendous punch.

Eternal Riddle (Poetry) - 10/24/2009 11:19:40 AM
I appreciate this interesting perspective, Ben. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace, Regis

A Hell Of A Heaven (Poetry) - 10/24/2009 11:18:47 AM
Succinctly powerful, Ben. Well done! Love and peace, Regis

A Hell Of A Heaven (Poetry) - 10/24/2009 10:45:05 AM
PROVERBS 16:4....THINK ABOUT IT...NOT PRETTY BUT...N E V E R...WERE AMERICANS SO CLOSE OR CHURCHES SO FULL...SAD BUT TRUE. GOD BLESS AND THANKS FOR SHARING. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

A Hell Of A Heaven (Poetry) - 10/24/2009 10:02:35 AM
I'm really good at math. That would be 8 virgins per tower!

A Hell Of A Heaven (Poetry) - 10/24/2009 9:43:03 AM
Very well done and powerful. I was able to view the skyline that day- only smoke. John

Harmony Of The Spheres (Poetry) - 10/19/2009 10:36:42 PM
stumbling clueless sums it up nicely, bennett. quite the concept, all that nothingness... well done, cg

Eternal Riddle (Poetry) - 10/19/2009 10:30:22 PM
masterfully expressed, bennett! alas, we fools are doomed to keep looking no matter how fruitless the endeavor... cg

Eternal Riddle (Poetry) - 10/18/2009 3:09:30 AM
Great poem,take care

Harmony Of The Spheres (Poetry) - 10/17/2009 12:03:31 AM
I'm glad harmony is stubborn. Another excellent offering.

Eternal Riddle (Poetry) - 10/17/2009 12:00:44 AM
I was looking for this. A wonderful creation.

Eternal Riddle (Poetry) - 10/15/2009 12:45:43 PM
What the hell is wrong with me anyway? Great question. Great poem. All roads do lead to Rome however.

Eternal Riddle (Poetry) - 10/15/2009 12:37:56 PM
I IMAGINE THAT THE ANSWERS TO SOME QUESTIONS DO APPEAR TO BE AN ETERNAL RIDDLE...NEVER CAN GET TO THE BOTTOM OF IT!!! DONE WELL AND THANKS FOR SHARING. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATION

Eternal Riddle (Poetry) - 10/15/2009 12:35:44 PM
Bennett, Interesting take on life. Mary

Eternal Riddle (Poetry) - 10/15/2009 11:47:36 AM
Ha! A good one Bennett. A line that returns to the same point and begins again - ad infinitum. Reminds me of that verse in the Bible that declares that God laughs at the knowledge of man. r

Eternal Riddle (Poetry) - 10/15/2009 11:08:02 AM
the poem with the secret has the brew that is true! well done.

Convinced Of Eternity (Poetry) - 10/10/2009 9:24:07 PM
You hit it on the head! The only thing that makes sense is to cherish the moment. If another one follows, hallelujah. If it doesn't, at least you l i v e d. Thank you so much for sharing this. xOx 'Pea' xOx

Convinced Of Eternity (Poetry) - 10/10/2009 1:40:56 PM
A reminder that life totters on the sharp edge of oblivion—one second you are here and the next you are not.

Defeat In The Morning (Poetry) - 10/10/2009 1:38:50 PM
I sense an empty loneliness in the lines where while the voice character waits for something to happen. I imagine there are many people waiting instead of getting out there and doing. It's a cold world out there but it doesn't need to be.

The Walking Wounded (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 5:42:59 PM
Splendid in its tragedy. Connie

Convinced Of Eternity (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 5:27:31 PM
A somber reminder of our fatality. It's a wise and pointed observation. Perhaps we should all carry those comic-book signs reading, "Prepare to meet God." Connie

Convinced Of Eternity (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 2:46:52 PM
Bennett, With so few words, you drive home an important point. We're all mortal and don't know when our time is up. Mary

Convinced Of Eternity (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 12:44:29 PM
Love it. Short and realistic. Great write.

Convinced Of Eternity (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 12:13:01 PM
WHAT? An aneurism? Naaaaaaa ..... I see that bumper sticker: "Shit Happens" a lot more these days here in the southland. Seems everything is on a fine line these days, and any little freakin' wind can topple all of it.

Convinced Of Eternity (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 11:57:44 AM
Just goes to show that nothing is forever, huh? Be always safe, Karen

Convinced Of Eternity (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 11:25:50 AM
I think this just happened to me over the past week. Just when things were going so smoothly. A timely reminder. Gratefully mortally yours....Peter.

A Stumbling Nation (Poetry) - 10/1/2009 7:59:16 PM
The winds can be frightening. Excellent imagery.

A Stumbling Nation (Poetry) - 10/1/2009 1:55:38 PM
I can't help but think of the tune "Free Falling" by Tom Petty, as I watch this nation plunge into the abyss. Powerful poem and ever so true and timely.

A Stumbling Nation (Poetry) - 10/1/2009 7:56:26 AM
"A twisted tumbling branch" not connected anymore and becoming deformed from the negative forces. A good analogy and image. Your poetic eyes capture much in this write Ben. We are mostly helpless to do anything as we watch this giant machine morph into something it was never intended to be. Incidentally, your incitement to reread "Dover Beach" was efficacious. And you are correct in your judgement that the poet is dealing with more than just the religious cooling of humanity. Blessings ...

El Cante Hondo De Flamenco (Poetry) - 9/26/2009 10:16:00 AM
A wonderful ode to historical fact, Ben. I agree with Lori; this is wonderful poetry. Love and peace to you, Regis

El Cante Hondo De Flamenco (Poetry) - 9/25/2009 1:01:52 PM
Wonderful poetry.

El Cante Hondo De Flamenco (Poetry) - 9/25/2009 9:26:23 AM
Andalusian ... Moorish civilization ... Espana ... There's a kind of invigorating "wind in the sails" thing going on for me here. I like the spirit of this piece Ben. Blessings ...

El Cante Hondo De Flamenco (Poetry) - 9/24/2009 4:28:12 PM
Cool poem. They've traced the gypsies all the way back to India...they've certainly had a long trek. Always loved this Gypsy proverb though...sad too but makes me happy:-) “Isn't it strange? The same people who laugh at gypsy fortune tellers take economists seriously.”

Harmony Of The Spheres (Poetry) - 9/16/2009 12:08:20 PM
There is a mathematical probability assigned to each and every event that transpires in the cosmos. As such, there is harmony in numbers--a grand a chaotic system, which appears random; but has been pre-figured into the intelligent design of the Universe. Liked this one a lot. Hope you're well. Let's do more baby!!

Cloudy Fall Days (Poetry) - 9/12/2009 4:16:32 PM
A warm introspective collection of words that evoke age and the passing of the season. Cheers Alain

Cloudy Fall Days (Poetry) - 9/9/2009 2:52:39 PM
Such a gentle look back with sweet memories.... Be always safe, Karen

Cloudy Fall Days (Poetry) - 9/9/2009 11:33:59 AM
The brooding tenor of this piece is palpable

Cloudy Fall Days (Poetry) - 9/9/2009 10:00:21 AM
Fall is my favorite time of year for exactly this reason. It feels like "bedtime" to me, that time when you slip into your slippers, sit by the fire and relax in the quiet reflection of the night. Great poem.

Imagine That (Poetry) - 9/2/2009 4:06:54 PM
An interesting perspective, Ben; one I'd quite overlooked. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

Whispering In The Wind (Poetry) - 9/2/2009 3:05:16 PM
I like the run-on effect of the wording too. You don't see that much anymore. Kind of a Cormac Mccarthy thing; but very effective.

Imagine That (Poetry) - 9/2/2009 2:56:17 PM
That's so weird that you write this, as I was thinking of these things the other day. Like, Cleopatra in the bathroom or Hannibal with jock-itch or something. Great material.....you can go a long way with this.

Imagine That (Poetry) - 9/2/2009 12:59:16 PM
Or Adolf Hitler bouncing his grandchildren on his knee and kissing their cheeks and loving them? And I agree with the premise!

WHO ME (Poetry) - 9/2/2009 9:18:03 AM
I appreciate your philosophical perspective, Ben. It gives me pause for reflection. Love and peace, Regis

The Walking Wounded (Poetry) - 9/1/2009 5:25:07 PM
Oh, how I dread that my heart or theirs might never heal again. Sadly, the theme that you express via your verses is an all too common one in this world/life, Ben. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

Whispering In The Wind (Poetry) - 8/30/2009 10:13:01 AM
I like this very much, Bennett. Send some of that refreshing rain this way will you? Love and peace, Regis

The Walking Wounded (Poetry) - 8/18/2009 12:10:21 PM
Such simple words, yet the weight they carry is tremendous and how the agony slices right through like a sharp blade for what once was is now no more... Be always safe, Karen

A Dead Reckoning With Death (Poetry) - 8/2/2009 9:26:24 PM
Death smiles at us every day, all we can do is smile back! Caesar talked about this too. This is why he declined bodyguards stating he's rather die once than die 1,000 deaths every day living in fear. Good poem and good point. The grim reaper is really Gumby in a black cape trying to scare people. Screw them!!!!! I'll kick his ass:-)

Wisdom (Poetry) - 8/1/2009 8:23:30 PM
I wonder if we have pure clarity just before we check out? I've always thought so...one second where finally we see and understand with absolute lucidity. Then we pass. Nice poem. Thank you.

War In Springtime (Poetry) - 8/1/2009 8:17:30 PM
Yes, the old misdirection play. Been screaming about this for years! What's the next shiny object to distract our attention from the things that really matter. Great perspective here...nicely said!

WHO ME (Poetry) - 8/1/2009 8:14:43 PM
Some never discover their true selves. Very nice words Bennett.

WHO ME (Poetry) - 7/30/2009 7:25:56 AM
An interesting perspective of self Bennett. Each one of us is a miracle of sorts, I guess richard

WHO ME (Poetry) - 7/27/2009 9:55:38 PM
A realization, an awakening, well said... Be always safe, Karen

WHO ME (Poetry) - 7/27/2009 11:40:41 AM
Don't you just love an inconceivable impossibility. Nicely done.

Winter Eve (Poetry) - 7/26/2009 5:20:32 AM
Enjoyed..well done dear man...Hugsss

Winter Eve (Poetry) - 7/26/2009 12:36:27 AM
Great work,I enjoy it,take care EDWIN

Winter Eve (Poetry) - 7/23/2009 7:43:46 AM
Bennett, Waking up in heaven after dying? Subatomic motes Itchy brain fade A maddening epiphany Check 'screeching'

War In Springtime (Poetry) - 7/19/2009 2:11:49 PM
...APRIL SHOWERS...BRING MAYS FLOWERS. GOOD WRITE AND ENJOYED. THANKS FOR SHARING AND BLESSINGS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

A Dead Reckoning With Death (Poetry) - 7/11/2009 4:51:25 PM
Truly empowering and liberating, Bennett. Thanks for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

DAY TO DAY (Poetry) - 7/5/2009 6:05:50 PM
Great poem! Seems like life is either expanding or contracting. All victory fleeting, of course. Important to remember that it is usually during the down times where we find spiritual growth. Funny paradox that. Life expands, we contract. Life contracts, we expand.

Wisdom (Poetry) - 7/5/2009 4:32:31 PM
I appreciate your philosophical perspective, Bennett. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace to you, Regis

Wisdom (Poetry) - 7/4/2009 11:26:08 AM
I believe wisdom is a blessing from God, and the older we get, the more we learn to believe in Him...Good one,Bennet!...ET

Wisdom (Poetry) - 7/4/2009 8:33:51 AM
wisdom must come with aging, especially if we are grounded spiritually and have not abused our fragile clay vessels with an abundance of substance and bankrupted our delicate synaptic processes. Your construct, Bennett, is palpable, and groans with a message that anyone can relate to. Blessings ...

DAY TO DAY (Poetry) - 6/30/2009 4:22:05 PM
Wise message in this gem poem....ET

DAY TO DAY (Poetry) - 6/30/2009 4:14:24 PM
Amen to that, that's life, ups and downs, good and bad-it reminds me of a country song by Darryl Worley called "Sounds like Life to me," very cool.

DAY TO DAY (Poetry) - 6/30/2009 1:08:07 PM
...BE YE EVER READY FOR NO MAN KNOWS THE DAY OR HOUR. THIS IS A VERY GOOD WRITE FILLED WITH VERY GOOD IMAGERY. THANKS FOR SHARING AND GOD BLESS YOU. JOYCE

Try As I Will (Poetry) - 6/27/2009 11:45:29 PM
Very good poem,take care EDWIN

IN THE CAVES OF SACRA MONTE (Poetry) - 6/27/2009 11:44:06 PM
Great poem,I enjoy reading it,take care EDWIN

IN THE CAVES OF SACRA MONTE (Poetry) - 6/27/2009 9:13:07 PM
This is interesting-great ending-I sometimes feel this way though not because of age, but because of how my health has deteriorated over the past few years from fibromyalgia. Though an internal world and the natural world can give an unequaled beauty and riches, there is still always a part of us that wants to still "dance with the gypsies," or, in my own case, be one :) Excellent work.

IN THE CAVES OF SACRA MONTE (Poetry) - 6/24/2009 9:53:43 PM
Interesting tale, remembering when and being grateful with an uplifting spirit.... Be always safe, Karen

Try As I Will (Poetry) - 6/22/2009 5:22:14 PM
there will always be forces in the universe beyond our control ...

Try As I Will (Poetry) - 6/22/2009 10:58:53 AM
Yes, there is always another hole when we think they are gone.

Before The Dogs Track You Down (Poetry) - 6/20/2009 11:37:39 AM
No matter how great an anti dog defense we may develop, they always seem to accomplish their task. Enjoyed.

Try As I Will (Poetry) - 6/19/2009 4:57:36 PM
Guess that is why we spend so much time walking along the rim, huh? Be always safe, Karen

Try As I Will (Poetry) - 6/19/2009 2:49:38 PM
I Always Said Write: The Universe Is Never Ending Sewer And It Ends On Planet Earth... Credit Illuminating Write... TRASK

Try As I Will (Poetry) - 6/19/2009 12:55:07 PM
Those holes are persistent indeed. Nicely done.

Trick Mirror Cracking (Poetry) - 6/16/2009 7:24:23 PM
Great poem,thanks for the look-back! You've made your points well!...ET

Trick Mirror Cracking (Poetry) - 6/16/2009 8:04:09 AM
Like this poem a lot. I actually used to work on the floor about 10 years ago. Know all about greed and pressure and the like. I honestly hope the trick mirror is cracking. An end to the century of self, the disease of more! I feel a fundamental change is happening in the universe. I think we'll have to endure some pain; but sometimes life's greatest gifts come disguised as our worst nightmares.

Trick Mirror Cracking (Poetry) - 6/15/2009 6:17:34 PM
Tell me, please, could that trick mirror promising endless greed like a snake in Eden be shattering at last? Your poem is most apt and timely and meaningful Bennett. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

Before The Dogs Track You Down (Poetry) - 6/14/2009 8:54:26 PM
Wow, I am glad I read you. I love the freshness and inner scope of your work. Can't wait to read more.

Before The Dogs Track You Down (Poetry) - 6/14/2009 2:44:59 PM
Oh yes....well done indeed sweet man...keep smiling OK...Hugsss

Before The Dogs Track You Down (Poetry) - 6/11/2009 8:38:47 PM
We are what we think. Why not go on a little poetic bender now and then? Beats the hell out of Wall Street!!Great poem.

Before The Dogs Track You Down (Poetry) - 6/11/2009 3:56:58 PM
Well said,it's true ,life is stranger than fiction...ET

Before The Dogs Track You Down (Poetry) - 6/11/2009 3:28:06 PM
Ouch, an eerie yet plausible tale of truth... Be always safe, Karen

Instead Of Madness (Poetry) - 6/9/2009 6:36:21 PM
I appreciate the philosophical perspective that you present via your verses here, Bennett. Love and peace, Regis

Defeat In The Morning (Poetry) - 6/9/2009 6:35:04 PM
I think it is good not to give up hope even if it is sad too sometimes. Nicely expressed, Bennett. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Defeat In The Morning (Poetry) - 6/9/2009 1:44:42 PM
It Pays To Never Look Back,i.e. Sometimes You (We)Just Don't Know How Well You (We) Are Off!! Love Lost Through Betrayal Is Better Lost Than Lived!! Thank You For For Kind Comments.... Nice Meeting You... TRASK...

Defeat In The Morning (Poetry) - 6/6/2009 6:20:24 PM
sooner of later a priority letter should arrive ... keep checking .... nice capture of a reoccurring moment in a life...

Instead Of Madness (Poetry) - 6/6/2009 5:28:02 PM
Great poem,excellent work,take care EDWIN

Defeat In The Morning (Poetry) - 6/6/2009 5:26:13 PM
Great poem,I enjoy reading it,take care EDWIN

Instead Of Madness (Poetry) - 5/31/2009 6:08:31 PM
good choice ... though madness does have its poetic moments ...

Instead Of Madness (Poetry) - 5/31/2009 8:40:22 AM
I sincerely agree Bennett! Well said my friend. Poetry is a safe release of deep dark demons for me......A soapbox for all heartfelt emotions......It beats the heck out of mortal alternatives..... Peace, Bill

Instead Of Madness (Poetry) - 5/30/2009 7:21:54 AM
DITTO..sweet man..very nice indeed..keep smiling OK...Hugsss

Instead Of Madness (Poetry) - 5/30/2009 5:04:33 AM
NICE!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.