AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Roxanne Bland, iGracie McKeever, iCheryl Wright, iGeorg Mateos, iShirley Woods, iVenkataraman Gopalakrishnan, iZannah Hackett, i
 
Home > Dallas D'Angelo-Gary
 

Recent Reviews for Dallas D'Angelo-Gary


Widow's Peak (Short Story) - 11/18/2009 6:51:54 AM
Nice little story for people who believe in thingies. Reminds me of Stephen King. Ron

Widow's Peak (Short Story) - 11/17/2009 3:31:42 PM
A real cliff-hanger, if I dare say. Loved the tension and build-up to the conclusion. Are we talking a North American Yetti or some cracked-out stripper in the High Sierra? You need to do a follow-on to this. You've "peaked" my curiousity now. Good story.

Widow's Peak (Short Story) - 11/17/2009 6:57:04 AM
I liked this. Very much. You gave the reader something to muse and ponder from the very first sentence. That is a big plus in short story writing. Add to the fact that the story was written so well, that puts another star to it. The ending was, quite simply, stunning, and one that I was not expecting and THAT is the coup de grâce insofar as short story telling. I am very happy I found my way to this excellent short story, Dallas . . .

Widow's Peak (Short Story) - 11/17/2009 1:58:59 AM
Compelling story; you had my attention! LOL Well done, Dallas! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Dangerous Smiles (Short Story) - 9/5/2009 7:53:29 AM
Warmly grotesque. Cheers! Ron

One Last Dance (Short Story) - 9/4/2009 12:19:04 PM
I loved this... the imagery is perfect and shows the beauty that can exist in passing... Cryssa

One Last Dance (Short Story) - 9/2/2009 2:35:20 PM
I love this story Dallas. It is so beautiful and touching. Vivid imagery, sad, nostalgic, enchanting and uplifting all at the same time. I am also fascinated by the "death experience" and such. I wrote a poem (which really should have been a short-story) a while back called North Wind, which reminds me a little of this. Similar themes...man, dog, death, remembering love and days of yore. Great stuff.

Dangerous Smiles (Short Story) - 8/31/2009 7:56:33 AM
I'm smiling right now but now I'm afraid! What do I do? Fun story Dallas.

Dangerous Smiles (Short Story) - 8/31/2009 3:32:11 AM
This post seems trite--but beneath the surface it says a lot. When inspiration comes we can capture the moment and turn it into something valuable, or we can fight it and lose. Maybe I'm just reading all that into it because I am in my melancholic mood this morning :-) but if that is so, I guess I'm glad its raining outside and I get to think beneath the surface today.

No Regrets (Short Story) - 8/28/2009 6:14:37 PM
A sure shocker. Ron

No Regrets (Short Story) - 8/22/2009 2:07:11 PM
Powerful story here, Dallas; very well written! Well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn.

No Regrets (Short Story) - 8/22/2009 12:40:05 PM
Wow, powerful stuff Dallas. Love the sudden hairpin turn in the story-line too. Strong pen here.

They're Baaaack! (Short Story) - 8/19/2009 3:48:19 PM
You poor devil... Would make a great reality sitcom. Ron

Velvet Still (Short Story) - 8/18/2009 12:57:04 PM
Great imagery in this, Dallas; very well penned! BRAVO! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Velvet Still (Short Story) - 8/18/2009 9:41:22 AM
Incredibly vivid story. I feel like I need a jacket. Nice write.

They're Baaaack! (Short Story) - 8/16/2009 9:43:02 AM
Great story, Dallas; well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Dawn Springs Anew (Short Story) - 8/12/2009 4:03:49 PM
What happened? Bush prayed and unity was losrt in the greedy grab for power and oil. Ron

Small Moves (Short Story) - 8/9/2009 2:13:05 PM
Well written, with a Sherlock Holmes feel. Unfortunately, I'm not very interested in whodunits. Ron

Small Moves (Short Story) - 8/9/2009 12:47:58 PM
Yikes! This one creeped me out, Dallas! Wow! Thanks a lot; if I have nightmares tonight, I'm comin' to haunt your happy a**! LOL Great job; bravo! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :)

The Mission (Short Story) - 8/5/2009 3:36:18 PM
A poignant piece of history. I am an identical twin and can identify. Ron

The Mission (Short Story) - 8/3/2009 6:13:41 PM
You write of that which is unseen--the ethreal world of light and reams and spiritual beings whose existence we may sometimes doubt, though they never doubt ours. I love the metaphor of the sword laid in her lap. Beautifully written, Dallas. You are, indeed, a poet.

The Mission (Short Story) - 8/3/2009 9:53:02 AM
Very good story, Dallas; well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Jester's Dream (Short Story) - 8/2/2009 8:53:47 AM
I am interested... Ron

Kosmik Protocol (Short Story) - 7/25/2009 7:22:34 AM
A conemporary need ficionalised. Loved the style.

Kosmik Protocol (Short Story) - 7/20/2009 9:42:17 PM
Interesting......, but I realy hope that this is not a prediction.

Today is a Red-Letter Day (Article) - 9/8/2009 5:50:26 AM
Thanks for sharing the meaning behind your poem. It makes it even better... :~) Cryssa

Today is a Red-Letter Day (Article) - 9/7/2009 7:26:29 PM
Wonderful spiritual exercise. Bet you felt good afterwards. Can't buy that with money.

Today is a Red-Letter Day (Article) - 9/7/2009 2:40:38 PM
Some respond to my reviews. Jerry, below, no longer wants me to read his excellent writing and wouldn't speak to me if he saw me.. You are so right, Dallas. Ron

Today is a Red-Letter Day (Article) - 9/7/2009 10:49:42 AM
Hey! I do that. People pass me by and I speak. some won't speak back. When I see them again, I speak. Some still won't speak back. It becomes a game with me, and I have always won the game, because eventually they all speak. I live in a apartment house, so I see the same people every day and new people are moving in. I speak.

In Your Face (Article) - 8/18/2009 9:44:02 AM
Nice sentiment. Mahalo for that. Aloha mai e.

Christmas Ramblings (1999) (Article) - 7/4/2009 12:28:30 PM
There is prophesy in what you wrote, yet to come. Ron

In Your Face (Article) - 6/23/2009 4:17:36 PM
Born near Hanoi, Nha Nguyen left for the south in 1953 to escape the communists. The father of 16, 10 still living, failing to leave Saigon in time in 1975, he burned his identity, never worked again and lived off his wife's street drug [prescription] sales. When nuns saved a son, she converted to Roman Catholic. Nha's wife had a stroke and after 8 years of care by a daughter, died and was buried in Saigon. Nha's other daughter escaped in 1975 and a son in 1979. The son's wife brought the family to the US in 1992. Mr. Nguyen died recently. The Buddhists and Catholics got their due. His burial was last Saturday in a fine suburban cemetery. So far, his burial only cost $44,000. He paid for it by saving his Social Security checks. Ron

In Your Face (Article) - 6/21/2009 3:20:17 AM
Good point, Dallas. Some dearly beloved brothers and sisters mistake driving out the money changers for evangelism.

In Your Face (Article) - 6/19/2009 1:11:38 PM
You're Using My Favorite Expression In My Published Books, Web Sites... Etal: (God) Truly Is In Your Face As Me My Word Of (His) (God)... TRASK...

It's Okay to Cry (Article) - 6/16/2009 3:46:46 PM
Thank you for sharing, Dallas. This is a compelling and meaningful write. Love and peace to you, Regis

It's Okay to Cry (Article) - 5/28/2009 11:21:37 AM
Thanks for baring your soul. I am a twin. There but for fortune, Vietnam would go I. My grandmother fought cancer and lost. Always a loner, I seem to head the opposite way others travel. So be it. Ron

Behold Your Mother (Article) - 4/13/2009 10:24:06 PM
So beautiful...no other words needed!

The Ancient Guildsman (Poetry) - 8/28/2015 9:55:05 AM
A masterful story poem. I'm so glad you found it, dusted it off, and shared it with us! Ron

The Ancient Guildsman (Poetry) - 8/28/2015 8:04:20 AM
That is quite the tale, Dallas; thank you for sharing it. Love and peace, Regis

View from the Mountain (Poetry) - 8/27/2015 8:18:42 AM
You have shared the moment most effectively through your verses, Dallas. Thank you for sharing this gift. Love and peace, Regis

View from the Mountain (Poetry) - 8/27/2015 8:17:26 AM
You word-painted a very impressive picture.

I Watch the Credits (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 10:40:56 AM
Interesting. I sometimes, do, too. For the most part, at least, aside from their pay, they are given credit on the media itself, and will be there as long as there is a copy of the film that has not been shortened to remove this important part of every professional movie's format. Most of them, if there are good enough, get Academy Awards, even if they're not on television. Ron

I Watch the Credits (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 8:40:58 AM
I appreciate this point of view of yours, Dallas. It does make one think about those folks "behind the scenes." Love and peace, Regis

I Watch the Credits (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 7:45:51 AM
I usually watch the credits as I like to know who has written or performed the music or score... and normally they're right at the end! It always amazes me just how many people it takes to make one movie - no matter they cost so much! Strange how even the 2nd Stand-In Tea Boy gets a mention; it would be nice to so credited in other professions. Good thoughts here. Kate x

I Watch the Credits (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 5:11:06 AM
You have a point, I suppose, that they do earn our respect. Still, knowing that will not make me sit there and read all of the credits. They had a job. They did their job. They were paid.

Dragon Slayer (Poetry) - 1/21/2014 6:44:36 PM
With the day to day dragons we all have to slay, it would be nice to think there will be someone waiting on the other side when the dragon inevitably wins the war! I love the imagery your poetry invokes! -Shay

Cruel Mistress (Poetry) - 1/21/2014 6:40:23 PM
I did a lot of free climbing of small cliffs in my youth, you painted the pleasure of it admirably! Wish I had had the courage to climb the larger mountains back then! Thanks for sharing a great write! -Shay

Demon Storm (Poetry) - 1/21/2014 6:37:44 PM
Brought me back to the one and only time I was in the middle of a Demon Storm! I love your poetry, but you frightened me with this vision of this one! Thanks for sharing! - I shall read more of your work! -Shay

Annie's Creek Canyon (Poetry) - 12/9/2013 10:18:24 AM
You have recalled and shared this unique experience very effectively through your verses here, Dallas. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Terror Rides (Poetry) - 10/23/2013 10:02:53 AM
A tale that sends shivers up and down the spine, and quite apt and timely considering how close we are getting to Halloween. Thank you, Dallas. Love and peace to you, Regis

Back to Back (Poetry) - 10/23/2013 10:00:40 AM
It is true that friendship is a treasure; thank you, Dallas. Love and peace, Regis

Comet (Poetry) - 10/23/2013 9:58:59 AM
I love the personification and symbolism in this piece, Dallas. Love and continued writing success to you, Regis

Dirty Mary (Poetry) - 10/23/2013 9:57:29 AM
Your poem gives me pause for thought, Dallas. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace to you, Regis

Samsung the Blues (Poetry) - 10/23/2013 9:55:47 AM
Ah yes, technology. We cannot live without it although sometimes, we wish we could. I appreciate your with, humor, and meaning in this piece, Dallas. Love and peace, Regis

Uncertain Way (Poetry) - 4/28/2013 7:46:39 AM
Thank you for sharing this meaningful piece, Dallas. Regis

Uncertain Way (Poetry) - 4/13/2013 9:56:40 AM
Another reason why we shouldn't go there in the first place. Unless we are prepared to annihilate entire countries and their people, we should not go into foreign lands and attempt to keep the peace and try to separate good from bad when we can't tell the difference. Much better to support good against the bad and leave it at that. A brutally honest and touching poem. Ron

Dirty Mary (Poetry) - 4/9/2013 11:27:56 AM
Spring does come in dirty and come out clean. Ron

Alien Workforce (Poetry) - 4/6/2013 12:26:42 PM
Every human being will do whatever it takes to provide for their family, to survive. One cannot blame them for that. That is what my parents did. Love and peace, Regis

Ramblings of an Old Soldier (Poetry) - 4/6/2013 12:24:43 PM
It is most unfortunate that this world has not "evolved" at all when it comes to war and such and that soldiers continue to fight, to suffer, and to die. Love and peace to you, Dallas. Regis

Ramblings of an Old Soldier (Poetry) - 4/6/2013 9:42:43 AM
You are absolutely right! Unfortunately, those in power that use war to advance their causes could care less about the soldier, the one who gets in the line of fire and suffers from flashbacks and other trauma from the time of his involvement in the ghastly conflict they call gloriously, “War.” Ron

Ramblings of an Old Soldier (Poetry) - 4/5/2013 5:19:38 PM
YES...! e

Alien Workforce (Poetry) - 5/27/2012 6:58:42 AM
Yes, each wave of immigrants provide the backbone of our labor force, and they assimilate quickly into the American dream. However, they must come legally, with a work permit, the study, or other legal means, or we will be overrun with people who cannot or do not pay taxes to help support their presence. China is coming next. Ron

Alien Workforce (Poetry) - 5/26/2012 6:05:09 AM
Yes for sure, just like our fathers, grand fathers and great grandfathers preceded them as alien to this land they made home. fee

Comet (Poetry) - 5/27/2011 6:01:22 PM
god damn it's good to see you again!! brilliant piece Dallas!

Comet (Poetry) - 5/27/2011 1:17:32 PM
The subject of much poetry through the ages, the comet turns out to be an icy snowball that only comes to life as it nears the sun or crashes into a planet. Ron

Demon Storm (Poetry) - 1/30/2010 12:48:24 AM
Nothing more frightening. We're helpless in it's grasp. You've captured the power and unpredictability of the 'monster' admirably, Dallas. The imagery rocks! Blessings...Lin

Demon Storm (Poetry) - 11/16/2009 3:48:26 AM
This is a great poem,very well written.take care

Demon Storm (Poetry) - 11/15/2009 4:06:47 PM
A tornado well described. Ron

Demon Storm (Poetry) - 11/15/2009 8:16:16 AM
My Back Yard? Well penned. J'nia

Demon Storm (Poetry) - 11/14/2009 8:03:58 AM
Nice write, Dallas, it reminds me of an average winter day on the Oregon Coast. Cheers, Dan

Demon Storm (Poetry) - 11/14/2009 5:55:06 AM
I love it when a poet gets so heavily involved with one of their poems. You did that here and it was apparent in each and every line that this Demon Storm affected you tremendously. The apprehension as you watched the darkness approach and then the awe and fright as you withstood its assault. You can't fake that.

Demon Storm (Poetry) - 11/14/2009 3:38:24 AM
I know that storm, Dallas, meet him every Spring. WOW this is vividly imaged, brings the furies within the comfort of my living room! All I can say: wish I'd written this. A ripper, for sure: well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Demon Storm (Poetry) - 11/14/2009 2:48:34 AM
This is a StormSpinner kind of write, Dallas! Excellent write; well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :)

Demon Storm (Poetry) - 11/13/2009 10:29:04 PM
a windy villian that destroys the natural landscape and the possessions of man is a powerfully portrayed in this poem ...

Demon Storm (Poetry) - 11/13/2009 10:06:35 PM
I believe that may just be the most vivid and well-described picture of the frightening moments caught up in a tornado I've ever read. Of course, you'll have to run that by the storm sisters down in Texas for official confirmation, as I'm more of an earthquake guy myself. This is a great one. Feel like I'm right there in the storm. Well done!

Demon Storm (Poetry) - 11/13/2009 9:45:06 PM
a wirlwind of a write damn good in all it reveals..

Demon Storm (Poetry) - 11/13/2009 8:24:05 PM
A powerful personification of a mean-spirited storm, Dallas. Well done. Love and peace to you, Regis

Back to Back (Poetry) - 11/13/2009 8:07:17 AM
intelligently crafted ...

Back to Back (Poetry) - 11/12/2009 3:49:16 PM
Great idea once you know what you are fighting for. A lot of cowards out there, though. Ron

Back to Back (Poetry) - 11/12/2009 8:47:47 AM
Thought provoking and powerfully penned.

Back to Back (Poetry) - 11/11/2009 2:25:30 PM
Unusual angle on the theme, Dallas, and another perceptive and compelling write. The notion of "not falling alone" is a very strong and poignant one and has a bearing on all other considerations of our relationships in life. Yes indeed... we have to fight for something, for someone and not just for a "faceless" cause. The horror of feeling oneself to be truly alone, as if caught in the middle of a black hole in the universe where nothingness is, is abundantly scary. To feel the possibility of being beyond the omniscience, omnipresence and grace of God, even worse. Back to back is a very visual concept. Thank you, xx

Back to Back (Poetry) - 11/10/2009 10:05:12 PM
One for the ages Dallas. Another superb contribution. So vivid and true-to-life. Happy Vet's Day!!

Back to Back (Poetry) - 11/10/2009 9:47:17 PM
very good write well crafted piece

Back to Back (Poetry) - 11/10/2009 7:09:53 PM
Indeed, Dallas. There's a reason soldiers will not leave one of their own behind: they fight as brothers, become as one - back to back. Thank you for honoring those who serve(d) with powerful lines. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Back to Back (Poetry) - 11/10/2009 6:05:23 PM
I hear you and I am trying what I can to stand back to back with the fallen and the fighting soldiers. It consists of poems for the most part. Letters to the Editors, spreading the word that America is in deep doo-doo . . .

Feeding Time (Poetry) - 10/31/2009 6:35:42 PM
Evil beckons with promises, while destroying the soul that responds. Well done. Connie

Feeding Time (Poetry) - 10/31/2009 3:51:33 AM
VERY NICE!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Feeding Time (Poetry) - 10/30/2009 3:01:56 PM
ooh, you must know someone who sucks the life right out of the room. Good job, Dallas.

Feeding Time (Poetry) - 10/30/2009 10:41:58 AM
Dallas, Powerful dark haunt! Cynthia

Feeding Time (Poetry) - 10/30/2009 8:38:56 AM
Battlecry of the Psychic Vampire. Nicely done Dallas.

Feeding Time (Poetry) - 10/30/2009 8:21:20 AM
Aaaaarg!

Feeding Time (Poetry) - 10/30/2009 8:06:26 AM
Dallas, you're on a roll with these Halloween writes! Chilling!

Feeding Time (Poetry) - 10/30/2009 7:32:34 AM
OH!!!! This is chillingly effective, Dallas. *shivers* Well done!! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Terror Rides (Poetry) - 10/30/2009 3:04:40 AM
WONDERFUL POEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Dreary Day (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 10:57:17 PM
Dallas, this is written so well. I could actually feel it...but the seasons change...this period is just a time of rest...at least that's what I tell myself!!

Terror Rides (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 10:55:48 PM
Oh, this is chilling!

Terror Rides (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 3:32:02 PM
Chillingly, effectively penned, Dallas. By the title, was thinking you were going to write about carnival rides gone amok. LOL This is even scarier ... well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Terror Rides (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 3:08:40 PM
AAAAHHHH... the sudden switch here reminds me vividly of my most shocking cinematic moment... The Donald Sutherland and Julie Christie classic, Don't Look Now... when the little figure in the yellow mac turns round and isn't a child but a.... disfigured dwarf! HEEEEEEEEEELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I've never forgotten it and nearly freaked out when I saw a picture of me on my honeymoon up in the Swiss Alps, huddled in a corner in the rain in a... yellow mac.... Certainly cooled the temperature a bit back then... as does this now... Chilly... Not sure you really need that "Tis me"... just the "now I come for you" does (it) for me... I'm so outta here.... just look at me go........................................... :)) xx

Terror Rides (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 1:02:54 PM
Yikes! Chilling write, Dallas; well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :)

Terror Rides (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 12:55:13 PM
You slay one demon, and another pops around. And another. And another. And another. Terror rides indeed. Nice one!

Terror Rides (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 12:50:35 PM
The tempo you create adds to the terror. Excellent, as always.

Terror Rides (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 12:28:58 PM
Dallas, You can feel the eeriness in this. Great Halloween story. Mary

Terror Rides (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 12:25:32 PM
I guess age has finally caught up with me / Halloween just doesn't do it for me anymore . . . Over-hyped holiday . . .

Dreary Day (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 12:23:47 PM
I love the rain and cloudy days for the most part, but I can understand how they can depress people . . . The sun will shine again . . . Have faith . . .

Terror Rides (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 10:59:17 AM
love it---refuse to be afraid--great word pictures, again, Dallas.

Dreary Day (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 10:57:23 AM
Cold, steady downpour here, too, and I feel like slapping back. Take heart, the sun will shine again. (Love your word pictures)

Dreary Day (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 9:59:25 AM
Oh boy. Sounds like Pacific Northwest weather to me. I get really depressed when it's like that. I used to live in Buffalo. The worst part about being there is you can only kill yourself once! That's why I moved to Southern California. Hopefully things will clear up soon. Thanks for the poetic weather update.

Dreary Day (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 9:46:52 AM
It is the same here. Take heart. You are not alone. Here it is snowing vs raining. My personal take is that life is a big slump, with brief periods of slumplessness. Try and write your way out of it today. I know - easier said than done. Spring is around some very long corner -- much longer where I live. I don't remember where you are. Hang in there. I'm in writer's block. I can't find a hatchet or pick-axe to smash out of this thing. Suggestions welcome - a gift for which I'd be thankful. julianza

Cruel Mistress (Poetry) - 10/25/2009 1:04:30 PM
I admire those who climb mountains (as long as they take their garbage back home with them); personally, I enjoy looking at the mountains from a distance even though I live on one. You have shared the experience effectively via your verses, Dallas. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

Cruel Mistress (Poetry) - 10/12/2009 1:45:15 PM
I think life is like mountains... we have to scale them in order to gain the reward, but the descents can be murder... Cryssa

Cruel Mistress (Poetry) - 10/11/2009 12:57:36 PM
There never was a mountain I didn't want to climb. Ron

Cruel Mistress (Poetry) - 10/11/2009 3:47:25 AM
WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Cruel Mistress (Poetry) - 10/10/2009 6:41:08 PM
A strong poem.

Cruel Mistress (Poetry) - 10/10/2009 9:29:14 AM
Great visuals in this piece. I love it when words do what they are supposed to do.

Cruel Mistress (Poetry) - 10/10/2009 7:40:51 AM
interesting and well written ...

Cruel Mistress (Poetry) - 10/10/2009 12:30:06 AM
Dallas...I really like this...the ending says it all!

Cruel Mistress (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 2:58:06 PM
Dallas, I've never climbed a moutain, I imagine it's harrowing. you've described it all too well, my friend, which is probably why I'll never climb a mountain. Mary

Cruel Mistress (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 2:07:35 PM
GREAT piece, Dallas; well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx,. Karen Lynn. :D

Cruel Mistress (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 12:49:53 PM
The descent from the cruel mistress may be dangerous, but the descent from your poetry carries the same joy as the climb.

Cruel Mistress (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 11:53:40 AM
That is what they say huh, now that you succeeded going up you still have to come back down, but the challenge is so immense..... Be always safe, Karen

Cruel Mistress (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 9:59:02 AM
Yep, it's that cockiness in so many things that "gets" you if you are not careful, and who is careful when they are cocky. I know I sure wasn't.

Cruel Mistress (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 9:49:21 AM
I was going to say that more people died on Everest descending the mountain than climbing it. You took the words out of my mouth with your ending. Nicely written.

Army of Gog (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 9:06:40 AM
Awesome and fearful is the Day of the Lord--you have captured it perfectly. I don't know your religious persuasion, but I felt I needed to share something that happened a few months ago. My nephew, who has a chromosomal abnormality, is mentally and physically disabled. However, at 24 he goes to work every day at Civitan. My sister-in-law was driving him to work and he said, "I hear a rumble." She questioned him further, and he said, "I hear a rumble, Jesus is coming, I'm so happy." Then, in August I was selling my book at a craft fair and a minister stopped by and I told him of my nephew's comments. He said, "Let me tell you what that means. In the orthodox Jewish community the bridegroom would ask for his prospective wife's hand, and then return to his father's house for 12 months to ready his own house for his wife. Then, when he was finished his father would send him out and he would gather his groomsmen, and with a loud rumble would march toward the bride's house and then with a shout announce his presence." If there is a rumble that means Jesus is on the way to claim His bride. Hope nothing I've said offends, but you clearly have an understanding of the Bible and prophecy and just felt I needed to share.

Ancient Reminiscence (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 8:55:05 AM
Love it, love it, love it. One thing I cherish about writing poetry is being able to do just what you did here--taking an everyday occurrence and memorializing it in the written word, and then taking it to the person who inspired the poem and seeing the awe in his or her face. Riding our horses at a walk is my favorite line. Great job.

Dragon Slayer (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 5:12:15 AM
One of my favorites here. Love the images you constructed so with just a few phrases. Yes, if we don't stand for something, we'll fall for anything. J'nia

Dragon Slayer (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 3:25:52 AM
VERY NICE!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Dragon Slayer (Poetry) - 10/8/2009 10:06:34 PM
Dallas, this is written so well and says so much...Karen said it perfectly for me.

Dragon Slayer (Poetry) - 10/8/2009 7:47:22 PM
Interest in both thought and content. Always better to die by the sword for what one believes in then to sell out in order to live longer... Be always safe, Karen

Dragon Slayer (Poetry) - 10/8/2009 6:23:17 PM
The only good death is a warriors death. Very nice.

Dragon Slayer (Poetry) - 10/8/2009 10:06:49 AM
Good to see you again Dallas. Blessed be the death-defiant, for they shall ride the whirlwinds!! I can hear the wailing of the slain on fields choked with acrid smoke and rivers of warm blood! Well done.

Dragon Slayer (Poetry) - 10/8/2009 8:13:21 AM
Spoken by a true-blue dragon-slayer . . .

Emotional Vampire (Poetry) - 10/5/2009 12:57:50 PM
A very strong and concentrated image, Dallas. You have captured this spot-on with a superb cameo. This impacts me big-time... it's a wonder I have blood, marrow or strength left in any of my mind, body, spirit departments owing to the way i've experienced these characters head-on(or neck-on!) all through my life... and still do... I've a real sense of the light-bulbs flickering and waning and the walls of the room trembling here. Excellent stuff! xx

Emotional Vampire (Poetry) - 10/3/2009 4:44:23 AM
I know someone like that. I think everybody knows at least one emotional vampire! You have described her (or him) well, Dallas. Hope you didn't lose too much blood!

Emotional Vampire (Poetry) - 10/2/2009 6:17:49 AM
Yikes, I think I was once married to one of these...still have the bite marks. I like the title a lot. I use to and still do claim that some people are so needy that if they could, they'd suck the marrow out of your bones. Thanks for sharing. J'nia

Emotional Vampire (Poetry) - 10/1/2009 11:01:25 AM
Sadly the world is filled with them! Well penned.

Emotional Vampire (Poetry) - 10/1/2009 6:53:54 AM
Devastating. Exactly your purpose. Ron

Emotional Vampire (Poetry) - 10/1/2009 4:02:04 AM
VERY NICE!!!!!!!!!!! I LIKE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Emotional Vampire (Poetry) - 10/1/2009 2:02:34 AM
Sad, yes...but so powerful...and I think I've known a person or two who fits this to a t!

God's Country (Poetry) - 9/30/2009 8:35:07 PM
Simply beautiful.

Emotional Vampire (Poetry) - 9/30/2009 12:53:28 PM
I like this. A little different take on the vampire mystic ... In this case it is emotions, not blood, which are sucked from you . . . Hard to judge which is worse.

Emotional Vampire (Poetry) - 9/30/2009 11:49:11 AM
Been there many a time. You can almost feel the life-force draining out of you around these people. Be it a work or at home, it's still devastating to endure. Effectively expressed.

Emotional Vampire (Poetry) - 9/30/2009 11:43:03 AM
Oh, this one is sad, Dallas, effectively penned - well done. (((HUGS))) and love, karla.

Emotional Vampire (Poetry) - 9/30/2009 11:26:38 AM
Whatever caused the change in your subject must have been sad. Another great write.

God's Country (Poetry) - 9/28/2009 8:29:20 AM
I am familiar with such places, Dallas; in fact, I am fortunate that my home is within one. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Dawn Stillness (Poetry) - 9/27/2009 4:26:22 AM
This poem reminds me a little of one I wrote last year about an early morning walk. Like this very much, Dallas, particularly the lines 'I watch, feeling more a brother, than intruder.' That's how I feel, too.

God's Country (Poetry) - 9/22/2009 4:18:22 PM
AH...YES...YES! WELL DONE WITH FANTASTIC IMAGERY. AND THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING. BLESSINGS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

God's Country (Poetry) - 9/22/2009 2:26:04 PM
God's country extends all over this glorious globe, yet this reminds me most particularly of my snowy trip last February to The Grand Canyon: it's so true - enormity and vastness that is just too big to get the finite mind round DOES command respect. I reverently doff the cap and very much appreciate the strength of your compelling resolution. xx

God's Country (Poetry) - 9/22/2009 11:26:55 AM
Damn, good to have you back Dallas! Thanks for sharing.

God's Country (Poetry) - 9/22/2009 9:06:53 AM
I can almost picture the scene you so aptly describe herein... Superbly done. Cryssa

God's Country (Poetry) - 9/22/2009 7:33:07 AM
this poem commands respect ...

God's Country (Poetry) - 9/22/2009 4:41:19 AM
Nice imagery, Dallas; well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your Texas friend, Karen Lynn. :D

God's Country (Poetry) - 9/21/2009 10:58:33 PM
Dallas, Well, you certainly ain't talking about Texas with 'twixt ridges of impossible ascent.' LOL Flat, here. But the skies go on forever - some would argue with ya that THIS is God's country. Not me, though. =] Absolutely beautiful imagery in verse - well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

God's Country (Poetry) - 9/21/2009 10:22:15 PM
Dallas, this is so lovely.

God's Country (Poetry) - 9/21/2009 7:36:53 PM
And so it does and what a gift for us all to enjoy and take care of... Be always safe, Karen

God's Country (Poetry) - 9/21/2009 4:58:27 PM
Sounds like the High Country to me. Beautiful up there and neighboring stares. I would like to move there. Who know. Maybe someday. Better hurry though. Haha Lovely poem.

Dawn Stillness (Poetry) - 9/17/2009 12:26:37 PM
Oh my..very beautiful writing indeed...Hugss

Dawn Stillness (Poetry) - 9/16/2009 11:10:00 AM
So lovely, Dallas - words fail. Perfection. (((HUGS))) and love, karla.

Dawn Stillness (Poetry) - 9/16/2009 3:12:29 AM
BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Dawn Stillness (Poetry) - 9/15/2009 6:51:15 PM
Simply beautiful. You have captured the theme perfectly.

Dawn Stillness (Poetry) - 9/15/2009 3:34:13 PM
Very natural--a quiet simplicity-- as nature is want to be. Ron

Dawn Stillness (Poetry) - 9/15/2009 11:10:44 AM
Excellent posting, Dallas; well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Dawn Stillness (Poetry) - 9/15/2009 10:58:29 AM
We could learn so much from those who came before us about appreciating the God-given nature around us... Cryssa

Dawn Stillness (Poetry) - 9/15/2009 10:45:22 AM
There are those times in the late evening and in the early morning...when you can feel it...that strong connection to nature...and you've described it so well, Dallas.

Dawn Stillness (Poetry) - 9/15/2009 9:31:20 AM
Yes you are a brother, such a wonderful glimpse of nature and peace.

Dawn Stillness (Poetry) - 9/15/2009 7:28:04 AM
I love it. I feel the same way about nature. Like "I'm a friend", no need to be startled. I love that early hour stillness too. Nice mood here.

Soldiers Know (Poetry) - 9/13/2009 9:47:42 PM
How well you can see through the heart and soul of a dedicated soldier, very moving and deep piece.... Be always safe, Karen

Soldiers Know (Poetry) - 9/13/2009 11:41:50 AM
And again, and again. It's in their genes and used by the greedy to perfection. It's always been them or us... Much better them than us. We've got religion. Ron I would fight to protect my family, too. But hope it never comes to that.

Soldiers Know (Poetry) - 9/12/2009 6:06:42 AM
Thank you for sharing this... something we all need to remember Cryssa

Soldiers Know (Poetry) - 9/11/2009 1:13:27 PM
Soldiers know everything about pain, it comes in a multitude of forms: physical, spiritual, psychological, eternal -- These are beautiful lines Dallas. Beautiful poem. Thank you.

Soldiers Know (Poetry) - 9/11/2009 11:36:27 AM
They deserve our honor for the things we make them know. Great write.

Soldiers Know (Poetry) - 9/11/2009 11:31:59 AM
Powerful, Dallas.

Soldiers Know (Poetry) - 9/11/2009 10:26:57 AM
God bless our military and shame on those who down our brave men and women; they don't deserve that; they deserve our support!! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :( *tears!*

Soldiers Know (Poetry) - 9/11/2009 9:55:29 AM
DAMN straight, we'd do it again and again and again. Know I would, if the body would let me and I was about 25 years younger ... daughter, sister, niece, cousin of Veterans (all branches). These heroes paved the way for my own military service (USAF). God bless those who serve(d)!!!! Powerful poem, Dallas. Yes. Indeed. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Soldiers Know (Poetry) - 9/11/2009 9:42:56 AM
Thank you.

Soldiers Know (Poetry) - 9/11/2009 8:36:46 AM
Yes they know these things and the pain goes on and on. Your poem brought my tears. Sacrifice in this greedy world is often like pouring light down a black hole. The unappreciation hurts as much as the wounds.

The Best Things in Life (Poetry) - 9/9/2009 12:33:47 PM
... perhaps the inverse might also be true: that the "worst" things in life are those which are never yours, even when you've paid through the nose for them! Freedom cannot be purchased yet never comes cheap. If you want to possess and live a full and fulfilled life, you have first to give it away... The most glorious paradox there is! :)) xx

The Best Things in Life (Poetry) - 9/9/2009 10:32:00 AM
True wisdom so beautifully penned.

The Best Things in Life (Poetry) - 9/8/2009 6:08:09 AM
Poetic wisdom.

The Best Things in Life (Poetry) - 9/8/2009 5:48:22 AM
So true... Cryssa

The Best Things in Life (Poetry) - 9/8/2009 12:40:00 AM
Amen, Dallas! So very wise and true!

The Best Things in Life (Poetry) - 9/8/2009 12:09:41 AM
Agree 100% Dallas, all the better if they are given unconditionally. blessings Paul;-)

The Best Things in Life (Poetry) - 9/7/2009 7:19:41 PM
You have to give it away to keep it. For sure. Words of wisdom.

The Best Things in Life (Poetry) - 9/7/2009 4:24:23 PM
Good write, Dallas; well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your Texas friend, Karen Lynn. :D

The Best Things in Life (Poetry) - 9/7/2009 2:48:36 PM
The sunset, a dog's loyalty, a child's smile, a rippling stream, and a butterfly do not require a tit for a tat... I prefer that to expected friendship of strangers. Ron

The Best Things in Life (Poetry) - 9/7/2009 12:09:33 PM
I believe that you share a wise perspective here, Dallas. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

The Best Things in Life (Poetry) - 9/7/2009 12:06:18 PM
THIS IS SO TRUE WISE WORDS GIVE A BIG MESSAGE. THANKS FOR SHARING AND GOD BLESS YOU. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

The Best Things in Life (Poetry) - 9/7/2009 11:01:43 AM
Spot on perfection, Dallas: doesn't get much better 'n this. Thank you, well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

The Best Things in Life (Poetry) - 9/7/2009 10:45:50 AM
Short. Sweet. To the point. No argument.

Relapse (Poetry) - 9/7/2009 5:36:58 AM
Deeply touching, well penned.

Nakhon Phenom (Poetry) - 9/5/2009 7:06:39 AM
Reminds me of the suspicion of the Thai people when I visited much of the country in '78. The tension of war was even greater then--GI welcome, tourist or CIA? Great imagery. Ron

Relapse (Poetry) - 9/4/2009 5:20:47 PM
I'm glad it's behind you, but what a blow it must have been! Your writing grabs the reader as your emotions are so powerfully expressed. Blessings, Connie

Relapse (Poetry) - 9/4/2009 1:30:26 PM
Powerful write, Dallas; well penned! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :(

Relapse (Poetry) - 9/4/2009 12:28:37 PM
Thank you for the wonderful inspiration.

The Face of Tomorrow (Poetry) - 9/4/2009 12:17:13 PM
I hope that our children are wise enough to see the mistakes we make and not make the same mistakes... But when I look at the faces of my children I am amazed by their courage, their wisdom, and their...nobility... I only hope they will continue on in the same vein. Cryssa

Relapse (Poetry) - 9/4/2009 12:14:27 PM
Thank you for sharing your daughter's fight with leukemia. I know her/your story strengthens many among us. Cryssa

Relapse (Poetry) - 9/4/2009 9:11:20 AM
Soul-grasping and expressive, Dallas. Thank you for sharing this encouraging write. Love and peace to you, Regis

Relapse (Poetry) - 9/4/2009 8:31:51 AM
Anger and the will to carry on is front and center in this gritty, in-your-face masterful presentation of determination and survival.

Relapse (Poetry) - 9/4/2009 8:00:31 AM
Oh the pain and anger and where to direct it? Who's the enemy? Only thing to do is fight. Well described emotional turmoil of battling any disease.

Relapse (Poetry) - 9/4/2009 7:11:51 AM
That is pure gut wrenching courage. Kudos on overcoming, Cheers, Dan

The Face of Tomorrow (Poetry) - 9/3/2009 4:42:55 PM
hopefully what we teach our children is to develop themselves ... though a little of ourselves naturally rubs off ... well written prose ...

The Face of Tomorrow (Poetry) - 9/3/2009 4:13:22 PM
What, pray tell, will she become? She will become as we are! Perhaps, Dallas; however, one can always hope she will turn out better in some way. Thank you for provoking thought. Love and peace, Regis

Arachnid Nightmares (Poetry) - 9/3/2009 3:44:13 PM
Nothing more frightening than being captured by a spider, except yur rendition of it. Ron

The Face of Tomorrow (Poetry) - 9/3/2009 5:48:02 AM
"No teacher can sway her, no obstacle delay her, she will live in the joy, remember the sorrow. A blank page, upon which we write tomorrow. What, pray tell, will she become?" Excellent lines. Love , hope, and anxiety are each creatively handled. Enjoyed.

The Face of Tomorrow (Poetry) - 9/3/2009 3:45:31 AM
That time of life so full of possibilities, captured so well in your poem

Traffic Maneuver (Poetry) - 9/2/2009 5:23:37 PM
Saw her in my rear view this morn--read her lips. Ron

The Face of Tomorrow (Poetry) - 9/2/2009 2:10:56 PM
Your point is valid, but sometimes they turn out a much better, more efficient and classier model than those who steered her down life's road. At least we can hope so.

The Face of Tomorrow (Poetry) - 9/2/2009 7:57:46 AM
Beautifully written Dallas. I often have these same thoughts regarding my daughter. As long as she's nothing like me, I'll be happy:-)

Seasons of the Heart (Poetry) - 9/1/2009 3:30:57 AM
BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Nakhon Phenom (Poetry) - 8/31/2009 6:31:12 AM
Your metaphorical imagery is always a delight to read! Cryssa

Seasons of the Heart (Poetry) - 8/31/2009 6:29:51 AM
A beautiful tale of the seasons of love. I especially loved the superb metaphor and imagery in the first stanza. Cryssa

Seasons of the Heart (Poetry) - 8/30/2009 7:55:13 PM
a wonderful moment captured in this prose ...

Seasons of the Heart (Poetry) - 8/30/2009 5:53:11 PM
Yes, I agree with Lori's comment completely. The last stanza really hammers it home though for me too. Kind of speaks of life itself. You reach that point and, wow, like the line goes "you've got to rage against the dying of the light!" Gets harder and harder...nostalgia turns to reflection turns to praying for the thaw. Nicely written.

Seasons of the Heart (Poetry) - 8/30/2009 4:33:49 PM
It must be the season to write about seasons. This evokes tremendous emotion. In my opinion, the line "Love was a joyous tumble in the fragrance of you" is as beautiful as poetry gets.

Nakhon Phenom (Poetry) - 8/30/2009 10:09:42 AM
Beautiful post-card picturesque, Dallas... and yes, you make me wish I was there to experience those nerve-jangling frissons of tension and delight! Love the way you combine geography with artistic and cultural details. xx

Nakhon Phenom (Poetry) - 8/30/2009 7:18:27 AM
well written prosaic synopsis ...

Nakhon Phenom (Poetry) - 8/29/2009 7:25:41 AM
Sounds beautiful Dallas. A little tragic too; but I feel like I'm in the jungle watching and sensing all this. Nicely done.

Arachnid Nightmares (Poetry) - 8/27/2009 11:05:26 PM
WELL DONE!! ALL ELEMENTS IN THIS WRITE ARE EXHIBITED IN A WONDERFULLY ENJOYABLE ARTISTICAL FASHION, THAT SOLIDLY SUPPORTS YOUR THEME. THANKS FOR SHARING AND BLESSINGS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Supernatural Paradox (Poetry) - 8/27/2009 5:59:18 PM
Very nice. I enjoy those who are silent while speaking volumes. In our postmodern world, image is everything.

Arachnid Nightmares (Poetry) - 8/27/2009 5:48:16 PM
Waking up to soft jazz would certainly be welcome in this situation. I love the ending.

Evicted (Poetry) - 8/27/2009 4:01:39 PM
Great bible story. Ron

Traffic Maneuver (Poetry) - 8/27/2009 3:36:36 PM
hee, hee, hee... You made me laugh! I loved the imagery of your words "spittle-splattered vehemence!" Cryssa

Supernatural Paradox (Poetry) - 8/27/2009 3:12:36 PM
Such truth! Cryssa :~)

Arachnid Nightmares (Poetry) - 8/27/2009 9:40:58 AM
Chilling! I'm glad that wasn't my nightmare; I'm not too fond of spiders. Nicely done, Dallas. Love and peace, Regis

Arachnid Nightmares (Poetry) - 8/27/2009 9:40:39 AM
There's a spider web outside my house which is strung between two tree branches right at the stairs to my back patio overlooking the backyard. It's only there in the summer. I stand and watch this drama unfold almost every night. It's funny that you post this now, as these gruesome scenes are quite fresh in my mind, minus the shower of course. Nicely done Dallas!

Arachnid Nightmares (Poetry) - 8/27/2009 9:19:15 AM
Yikes! As one who is arachniphobic, this one really got to me. WOW! Chilling write; glad it was only a dream! (If I have nightmares about spiders tonight, I know who to blame: YEW! LOL) Well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :/ *cringing*

Azure Waters (Poetry) - 8/26/2009 3:41:49 PM
Like Pied Piper, you beckon. Ron

Supernatural Paradox (Poetry) - 8/26/2009 3:05:36 AM
VERY NICE!!!!!!!!!!! I LIKE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Supernatural Paradox (Poetry) - 8/25/2009 6:57:54 PM
an interesting montage of philosophical questions ... the kind that would go with a good cigar & scotch ...

Supernatural Paradox (Poetry) - 8/25/2009 1:18:49 PM
Excellent posting, Dallas; well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Supernatural Paradox (Poetry) - 8/25/2009 1:09:21 PM
There are those who are sick, yet stand spiritually strong, ... might be said to describe faith or those fit and trim, but spiritually diseased.... could be said to describe faithless religion! :)) What is the difference between faith and imagination, religion and ritual? ... good questions!! Need to ponder these... TY Kate xx

Supernatural Paradox (Poetry) - 8/25/2009 1:08:46 PM
True, so very true and profound. Well done Dallas.

Evicted (Poetry) - 8/25/2009 1:01:48 PM
This is well writen.I love the images and music it makes.Great job and smart theme to pick.

Supernatural Paradox (Poetry) - 8/25/2009 1:00:34 PM
This is a very powerfull poem.It has a strong meaning that you delivered aristically.Great job.

Traffic Maneuver (Poetry) - 8/24/2009 7:07:30 PM
the level of rage people have while driving is insane ... you should drive in nyc sometime ...

Traffic Maneuver (Poetry) - 8/24/2009 3:42:46 PM
This was during the boom times in housing and stocks too. Imagine her reaction nowadays!

Traffic Maneuver (Poetry) - 8/24/2009 2:41:27 PM
Good for you, Dallas; LOL Cute write, well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D Me, I would have not been so Christian-like: I would have either cussed or given them the finger. LOL

Traffic Maneuver (Poetry) - 8/24/2009 2:13:28 PM
good on you... cheers, dan

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.