AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: alex canton-dutari, iKen Brosky, iKathy L Wheeler / Kae Elle Wheeler, iWilliam Cottringer, iBryan Koepke, iD.E.Z. Butler, iDavid Gelber, i
 
Home > John W Townsend
 

Recent Reviews for John W Townsend


THE MUFFIN GIRL (Short Story) - 9/13/2014 5:42:18 PM
intriguing read

COSMIC MIRRORS (Short Story) - 4/19/2013 9:30:03 PM
Interesting... I liked it.

ERNST THAKELWAITES 15 MINUTES of FAME (Short Story) - 10/26/2012 1:45:47 PM
well done

ANCIENT RIGHTS (Short Story) - 12/6/2009 2:32:47 AM
Enjoyed your story!

The Imbibed and Tired Public Speaker (Short Story) - 10/11/2009 9:02:38 AM
enjoyed the read

HERE TAKE A LOOK AT THIS LETTER! (Short Story) - 8/16/2009 6:50:39 AM
I am enjoying your stories as much as your writing style. Your pen takes the reader inside the story. I will be back to read more, as my present time allows me. Gratefully, Dixie Dawn Michelle

ANCIENT RIGHTS (Short Story) - 8/16/2009 6:28:56 AM
I like this story. "ANCIENT RIGHTS" delivers a clear picture of the facts, – and prods imagination – to creative flight on wings of intuition. I am impressed with the refined style of this author. Gratefully, Dixie Dawn Michelle

COSMIC MIRRORS (Short Story) - 7/24/2009 6:13:04 AM
Gosh!! Great plot.

THERE'S A HOLE IN THE GROUND (Short Story) - 7/10/2009 2:24:06 PM
Weird,i.e. Although There Are Many REAL Holes Opening Up All Over Evil Planet Earth... TRASK...

The Call box (Short Story) - 6/7/2009 2:27:35 AM
A very nice story that shows promise. It's definitely something you could build upon.

The Last Train Home (Short Story) - 6/4/2009 5:47:32 PM
Awesome story!

DO NOT MISS THE POINT of JESUS WORDS. (Article) - 9/14/2014 8:36:16 AM
well said

MY NAME WAS JIACK---The background to the book. (Article) - 10/28/2010 8:54:52 AM
I am looking forward to reading your book, John. GOod Luck with it. GOD BLESS YOU TONY

MEMORIES OF CAPTAIN BEEFHEART (Article) - 10/14/2009 1:01:24 PM
I was at this gig and if I remember correctly, Middle Earth opened at about 11 p.m. Also, wasn't Jeff Dexter - Middle Earth's d.j. there too!!

CLOSURE (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 9:18:43 AM
"Keep our eyes fixed/on what is better." Yes, please! Optimism and faith that every day can be a new day. Thank you, John!

CLOSURE (Poetry) - 2/11/2015 9:01:24 AM
Good advice, strange philosophy. Ron

When Dreams Fall Apart (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 12:25:17 AM
Not all my dreams come true, but many have already, there's always hope, but sometimes dreams will hurt us if they come true, and are not meant to be. Our maker gives us special things that he knows we need.

When Dreams Fall Apart (Poetry) - 1/17/2015 11:41:18 AM
I couldn't help thinking of the parallel to the Beatles's, "Yesterday." Ron

When Dreams Fall Apart (Poetry) - 1/17/2015 4:14:38 AM
Yes, once we develop a dream, we must continue to look toward making that dream happen, lest it be shattered to pieces simply by looking back to the past. Nicely stated. David

Even The Meek (Poetry) - 1/6/2015 12:47:40 PM
HALLELUJAH, JOHN! FOR GOD AND GOD ALONE 'IS'... THE ALPHA AND OMEGA! THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...HIS*INSPIRATIONS

THE WACKY WORLD of OVERTIRED. (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 3:32:02 AM
well said

THE WACKY WORLD of OVERTIRED. (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 2:25:34 AM
Would that it would work that way for me, but with coffee (something I am NOT "supposed" to have)I speed up even if I am dead tired, I wake up for awhile...I use it when I visit my fiance 60 some miles away and I have to drive home in the dark and am yawning so much I barely ever close my mouth...but damn if it doesn't work, sorry I got off on a tangient...when I am overtired I do the same, think and cannot get to sleep...-e-

THE WACKY WORLD of OVERTIRED. (Poetry) - 12/21/2014 8:30:07 AM
You're right, being overtired makes one "wacky." Ron

THE WACKY WORLD of OVERTIRED. (Poetry) - 12/20/2014 10:20:06 PM
A GREAT write! Well, I usually drink tea at night. Coffee does not keep me up but it certainly does not help me sleep. I find that Chamomile is very effective. I can easily doze off in an easy chair after having half a cup. Which reminds me, it's time for tea. Thank you John and Merry Christmas!

WHAT HAPPENED TO THE NIGHT (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 12:08:18 PM
An interesting story in a poem. Ron

WHEN I WAS YOUNG. (Poetry) - 12/2/2014 10:39:09 AM
I believe it was Plato wrote that Socrates complained that the world was going to hell. As we age, we forget all the bad stuff and only remember how we viewed the world from our ignorance and innocence. All of those bad things that you talk about are the result of modern technology peeling back ignorance and showing us that things are actually better than they were back in those good old days when abuse in the family went unreported, people got away with murder by skipping out, priests had a blank check to abuse. There were terrorists in the form of whole countries after us and our territory. There was hidden poverty and second-class citizenry for new immigrants and those with color. From your perspective as a child, you just didn't know. Here's a far more positive poem of a similar time. https://www.youtube.com/embed/J55S38xwxnQ?rel=0 Ron

WHEN I WAS YOUNG. (Poetry) - 12/2/2014 7:21:37 AM
Most of us learn too late that childhood is not the time to mess up someone's life--nor is adulthood, nor old age. Some don't know their privileged position in life unless they can see suffering in others. Well told, John.

A SUNDAY (Poetry) - 12/1/2014 9:17:19 PM
And you'll get pie in the sky when you die ... It's a lie! A tale well told, John.

A SUNDAY (Poetry) - 12/1/2014 9:56:20 AM
Thanks to the church, where there was one, Sunday was the only day of relief from endless labor in the 19th century. The "my day" time you are writing about was well after the 40 hour week and overtime was established by strong union activity just after the turn of the 20th century. It's easy to reminisce about "my time" when you don't know anything about the history that made your time what it was… Just as contrived as Sunday is today. Ron

A SUNDAY (Poetry) - 11/30/2014 4:09:20 PM
GREAT truths in poetic form! What ever happened to that popular song, "never on Sunday?" That saying must have went out with "The Twist" I guess!

THE TRAGIC LOSS of YESTERDAY (Poetry) - 11/16/2014 10:17:35 AM
Shel Silverstien had a line , "They're tearing down buildings that I watched them build. Time just time." Michael D.

THE TRAGIC LOSS of YESTERDAY (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 10:52:53 AM
I've learned through tragic losses, twice and not about to go through a 3rd tragic loss. I look forward to better days ahead though, but as of now - boring

THE TRAGIC LOSS of YESTERDAY (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 10:49:29 AM
Time goes on relentlessly and if we don't think it important, our yesterdays are all gone and lost in memory. But if we write them down, the memory may linger longer and we will have known accomplishment… Something that is quite priceless, whether it be past or future. Ron

THE TRAGIC LOSS of YESTERDAY (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 8:59:54 AM
Unless we recall the good and the bad we learn very little from our experiences. Well said, John.

OUT of the DARK (Poetry) - 11/8/2014 1:31:30 PM
John, This poem touched me greatly. So many suffer from depression, I for one. As like you I finally saw the light. Love and blessings, Linda

OUT of the DARK (Poetry) - 11/8/2014 8:35:36 AM
A pretty cool way to come out of depression. I'm afraid it generally takes much longer and is much more gradual for most people who don't take drugs. Ron

RAINDROPS (Poetry) - 11/5/2014 3:22:13 PM
and they keep falling on my head. Michael D.

RAINDROPS (Poetry) - 11/5/2014 8:18:51 AM
So many benefits from the falling rain. Most people don't realize that that's where freshwater comes from. In spite of the air pollution that it picks up then cleans out, rainwater is drinkable, our own natural distilled water that cost us nothing if we capture it when it's falling. Ron

TOOTSIE WOOTSIE (Poetry) - 11/4/2014 12:04:18 PM
So cute, John! I love it, and love the cat's picture, too! I never thought about the animal's feeling when looking for a name....I just try to name it something my husband can call without feeling silly.

RAINDROPS (Poetry) - 11/4/2014 11:40:31 AM
Great are the rain drops making land and plants and many things happy!

THE STATION (Poetry) - 11/2/2014 11:51:54 AM
But the station remains as a symbol of our constantly moving lives. Like all things, someday the station will be abandoned completely. Very interesting descriptive piece, with a bit of nostalgia thrown in. Ron

THE STATION (Poetry) - 11/2/2014 7:05:25 AM
I used to hang around at the train station in our town just for the pleasure of it. Then one day a derailment wiped the station out. It was never rebuilt. Your poem brought back many memories. Michael D.

THE STATION (Poetry) - 11/2/2014 5:32:48 AM
well said, great graphic

TOOTSIE WOOTSIE (Poetry) - 10/31/2014 6:56:54 AM
Cute! I immediately recall the time my temporary (moving between apartments), 20 years my senior, college professor, friend would call his daughter, a Wall Street executive in her 20s still single and living with mama in Westchester while her father traveled the country to various schools teaching in archaic form of marketing. Anyway, every evening he had to call his daughter on my telephone line and talk the most god-awful baby talk to her. No wonder the poor girl couldn't find a man! I believe he called her, "Tootsie Wootsie," or a close facsimile. Ron

TOOTSIE WOOTSIE (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 12:31:55 PM
Wow! Whatta GREAT poetic line. Whatta smile on that feline! You won the humorous cat contest by a mile! John, you do humor well and you do it with STYLE! Thank you from my cat Boo Boo! Ha!

THE DISH (Poetry) - 10/29/2014 7:41:37 PM
Ha! GREAT poetic thoughts! Glad I disconnect that son-of-a-dish! LOL

THE DISH (Poetry) - 10/29/2014 9:03:23 AM
If I am on alien TV they would get an eye, if they have eyes, full...Thoughtful write, interesting slant on the subject matter...-e-

ECCENTRIC THOUGHTS (Poetry) - 10/28/2014 4:00:55 PM
Wow! Haven't we all been there as writers? Lost in one world, working in another, with someone who takes note that we floated away. I love this poem!

ECCENTRIC THOUGHTS (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 6:26:59 AM
My thoughts are'nt eccentric, but I am. Michael D.

ECCENTRIC THOUGHTS (Poetry) - 10/26/2014 9:34:51 PM
Tea always helps me when troubled, down and thinking too much. This is true of many people these feelings coming these days. Good write!

GOODBYE (Poetry) - 10/22/2014 7:54:11 AM
Wow! This hit me like a ton of bricks and left me in stunned silence... Powerful words, indeed.

ABOVE THE DARK CLOUDS (Poetry) - 10/20/2014 11:18:49 AM
I enjoyed this!! Nicely worded - I can definitely relate.

ABOVE THE DARK CLOUDS (Poetry) - 10/19/2014 7:42:48 AM
VERY NICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

ABOVE THE DARK CLOUDS (Poetry) - 10/19/2014 3:50:41 AM
GREAT insight about light. Nice going mate!

ABOVE THE DARK CLOUDS (Poetry) - 10/18/2014 7:59:22 AM
So true. I like this one. Michael D.

LAUGHTER WITHIN (Poetry) - 10/18/2014 4:52:06 AM
Hah! I see I have some company, as I also smother my laughter at many of the airheads around me.

TODAY (Poetry) - 10/17/2014 4:43:03 PM
Too few of us think that we have this day. We have no insurance of a tomorrow. Find beauty, find joy, eat a cupcake. Exercise. Let the world dazzle you and your worries fade--for a moment anyway. Very thoughtful poetry. Loved it.

TODAY (Poetry) - 10/15/2014 4:22:28 AM
Easy for you to say. I have managed to get through life with a bit of pessimistic feel to things. Oh, I can, and do, have truly uplifting thoughts, but basically i look at most thing skeptically.

I KNEW A MAN (Poetry) - 10/2/2014 6:06:13 PM
Hah! I like Edward Phillips take on it.

I KNEW A MAN (Poetry) - 10/1/2014 11:50:01 AM
Humorous and rings true...very few people will be comfortable enough to show support to a fellow human being...thank you for the imagery! Appreciated and enjoyed.

I KNEW A MAN (Poetry) - 9/30/2014 10:30:20 PM
Wow! John this is a poem about LIFE. So many of us THINK we are going forward but we are going the other way. A GREAT write!

I KNEW A MAN (Poetry) - 9/30/2014 9:17:27 AM
Hair today, gone tomorrow. Snug as a rug with Velcro.

I KNEW A MAN (Poetry) - 9/30/2014 7:14:20 AM
That was certainly a "slip of the wig," if I ever read one. I'm certainly glad no one embarrassed him by making some crude remark. I recall one of my fellow graduate students, who, on a trip, was paired with another one of our students… Italian, with a very nice long black haircut and sideburns on a road trip in a motel. Anyway, he told me that he was shocked when the guy came out of the bathroom totally bald! His secret was out, but I don't recall anyone ever seeing him without his hairpiece again. Ron

I KNEW A MAN (Poetry) - 9/30/2014 4:44:38 AM
It's better to have a wig slip, than to trip on a rug. Michael D.

THEY ARE BANGING THE DOORS OF ARMAGGEDON (Poetry) - 9/28/2014 9:40:58 PM
A Great poem with a true Biblical conclusion. In the end the Lord always wins! Amen!

DIRECTIONS (Poetry) - 9/18/2014 7:08:13 PM
Love this.

DIRECTIONS (Poetry) - 9/18/2014 7:52:08 AM
A wonderful exposé about what it's like to continue to rebel even into old age and you begin to face the constant directions that well-meaning people direct your way when they don't know the first thing about it. Ron

FALLEN PETALS ON THE GROUND (Poetry) - 9/17/2014 7:09:18 PM
Well written.

FILLING IN the GAPS (Poetry) - 9/17/2014 7:25:39 AM
I guess that kind of thinking would help out a tortured soul who had a bad childhood. I can still remember almost every bad time because it was imprinted by emotion on my mind. However, the bad times were brief and did little damage to an otherwise very happy and wonderful childhood so many at that time didn't have. Ron

THAT DISTURBING PLACE. (Poetry) - 9/15/2014 9:15:39 AM
You kept the suspense going nicely until the nice little letdown twist at the end. Enjoyably spooky. I think anyone would feel a bit paranoid in a place like that. Especially if it were devoid of other people and imaginary footsteps were heard but not seen. Cool stuff. Ron

THAT DISTURBING PLACE. (Poetry) - 9/15/2014 8:44:03 AM
Hah! A person can't help buy get a bit paranoid in places such as that. Even after my two lost decades where I was a street guy completely and fear nothing, I believe I would get nervous in certain darkened surroundings.

THAT I LET GO (Poetry) - 9/14/2014 8:47:39 AM
We can't change the past, so it's probably best to just let go and look forward to the future. Ron

THAT I LET GO (Poetry) - 9/14/2014 8:11:04 AM
well done

IN PRAISE OF THE STEAM TRAIN (Poetry) - 9/13/2014 5:50:48 PM
enjoyed the read

IN PRAISE OF THE STEAM TRAIN (Poetry) - 9/13/2014 10:29:30 AM
I've had the good fortune to ride on a few. Noisy and smelly… Why nobody wanted to live near the tracks… They still grip one with nostalgia as they wheeze and work hard to make the next hill or mountain. Ron

IN PRAISE OF THE STEAM TRAIN (Poetry) - 9/13/2014 6:26:52 AM
They were and are majestic machines. Michael D.

NOISE (Poetry) - 9/12/2014 3:37:59 PM
the voluminous frequencies of fear do indeed reach varied levels ...

NOISE (Poetry) - 9/11/2014 7:09:40 AM
Most bangs make me jump. Nothing more than a close lightning strike. As for noise, there's nothing worse than a ringing in the ears caused by an inner ear dysfunction. Still, all you have to do is merely go outside in the city and hear it buzz with the sound of traffic. Armageddon? I don't think so. Ron

THERES A NEED INSIDE OF ME. (Poetry) - 9/10/2014 5:08:14 AM
I CAN APPRECIATE WHAT YOU'RE SAYING AND YOU'VE SAID IT EXCELLENTLY BUT, AT THE END OF THE DAY...OUR 'DESTINATION' IS STILL SURE AND THIS IS WHAT COUNTS. WHOM WE'VE MET ALONG THE WAY, THE THINGS WE'VE ACQUIRED OR LOST, WHAT WE'VE ACCOMPLISHED OR DIDN'T...THE IMPORTANCE OF THESE 'THINGS' WILL ULTIMATELY FADE...WHEN WE AT LAST...GET HOME. BUT NOT ALONE. I ENJOYED THIS, JOHN. MY FIRST READING FOR THE DAY AND JUST THE WORK I NEEDED. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

THERES A NEED INSIDE OF ME. (Poetry) - 9/9/2014 10:27:08 AM
We all have "what ifs" and "also rans." It's part of our nature to wonder about what would've happened if we had made certain decisions another way. I think it's better not to dwell on that but focus more on the future. Ron

THERES A NEED INSIDE OF ME. (Poetry) - 9/9/2014 7:15:08 AM
Very well written. We all keep growing and changing all the time. Michael D.

THERES A NEED INSIDE OF ME. (Poetry) - 9/8/2014 7:42:58 PM
Fantastic poetic thoughts John... Truth be known I think most of us feel this way. BIG decisions changed my life. For better or for worse, blessing or curse? My wife-to-be could not go along with me to Hawaii. So I asked to have my orders cancelled and instead the Air Force sent us to Japan. Some of the blokes thought I was crazy. But looking back over 28 years I have to say It's been oh so grand! Yes, every now and then I think about how life would be had I gone to Hawaii. I could go on, but I must go to the john. That's life! John Michael

THE WHOEVER THEY ARE MEN. (Poetry) - 9/8/2014 7:55:02 AM
A wonderful trip down memory lane. The postman still cometh, with a heavy package, he rings twice. In the day you speak of, the tramp also came to the door. If you fed him and gave him a little spending money before sending him on his way, he would mark the curb outside indicating that you were, "an easy mark," for other tramps to follow. A new kind of man is coming. The con man. He will knock on your door with a likely story and maybe even a uniform. Once inside the house, he will either, rob you blind, most often with an accomplice, or more slowly, gain your confidence in the way that he can put his sleazy paws on some of your money, one way or another either through shoddy or unfinished work, investment schemes, or downright confiscation through subterfuge. That's why it's become wise to beware the man at the door. Ron

THE LETTER (Poetry) - 9/7/2014 6:28:13 PM
A SO 'WORTHY' DILEMMA...ONE NOT HARD TO BELIEVE, FOR ME...NOT HARD AT ALL. WELL DONE AND ENJOYED. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

THE DOOR (Poetry) - 9/7/2014 6:05:21 PM
Fine...from beginning to end, it held me. I'm saving it. Thanks for sharing. Love, Blessings & Faith...Joyce * His Inspirations

THE DOOR (Poetry) - 9/7/2014 11:42:41 AM
loved the last line. A great ending. Michael D.

THE LETTER (Poetry) - 9/7/2014 10:38:39 AM
Deep poetic thoughts. I would pray and be on my way.

THE LETTER (Poetry) - 9/7/2014 8:17:56 AM
An interesting dilemma that happens sometimes in life. I hope it is not something from your life, but only from your poetic creativity. Ron

SIR. ARTHUR the CAT and the WORKOUTS. (Poetry) - 9/6/2014 4:16:19 PM
A feline poetic delight! Fit as a fiddle or fat as a cat? I will have to take my cat to the gym so he can roll around. Ha!

SIR. ARTHUR the CAT and the WORKOUTS. (Poetry) - 9/6/2014 11:54:36 AM
Our cat is fat. She doesn't exercise. And if her food bowl is empty, she meows and cries. Michael D.

SIR. ARTHUR the CAT and the WORKOUTS. (Poetry) - 9/6/2014 10:43:20 AM
It's all that, "Secret Lives Of Cats," that happens when you are asleep that keeps him fit. Ron

S T O P (Poetry) - 9/6/2014 6:47:25 AM
The world would be a better place if we all lived by the golden rule. Michael D.

THAT PLACE INSIDE MY HEAD. (Poetry) - 9/5/2014 9:13:45 PM
Beautifully written. Can feel the frustration.

SIR. ARTHUR the CAT and the DOWNLOAD (Poetry) - 9/5/2014 9:52:24 AM
Fifteen minutes of fame sure beats a lifetime of hiding, pretending to be someone else. Ron

THAT PLACE INSIDE MY HEAD. (Poetry) - 9/5/2014 9:47:56 AM
BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

SIR. ARTHUR the CAT and FOXY. (Poetry) - 9/4/2014 9:24:39 AM
Yes, a nice little child's delight story in a poem. On the other hand Foxy probably wouldn't mind eating Arthur for desert. Then you would have a nursery rhyme. Ron

SIR. ARTHUR the CAT and FOXY. (Poetry) - 9/4/2014 7:08:33 AM
Cute! Michael D.

A FRIEND (Poetry) - 9/3/2014 7:05:11 PM
Well said John. My cat is sometimes my best friend.

FROM THEN, TO HERE, TILL WHEN . John Townsend. (Poetry) - 9/3/2014 8:45:03 AM
We are what our ancestors were and what are progeny will be. I'll wait and see with you what will be. Ron

ROOF GARDEN - John Townsend. (Poetry) - 9/2/2014 8:50:15 AM
I certainly hope not, and I certainly hope not because of our greed and unconcern for the destruction we do for profit. In time, all of us will probably have to leave the planet behind because of some natural disaster or the sun grows too large in its death throes, probably making the earth more like Venus, than Mars. Ron

ROOF GARDEN - John Townsend. (Poetry) - 9/2/2014 8:02:16 AM
Good points to ponder. Michael D.

CATS - John Townsend (Poetry) - 9/1/2014 4:41:50 PM
Excellent thoughts about our furry feline friends! My Sammy Boy talks to me all the day. He is spoiled rotten and yes,I like him that way. He is the boy I never go to raise from a kid. We picked him up at an Animal shelter and I am glad we did!

CATS - John Townsend (Poetry) - 9/1/2014 7:19:52 AM
I have a cat, she doesn't come when I call, and there's nothing quite like, stepping on a fresh hairball. Michael D.

WHAT IS THIS THING CALLED THINKING - John Townsend. (Poetry) - 8/31/2014 4:51:47 PM
This poem raises the level of awareness of the process of thinking. At times, it's a miracle that we can think at all. Well done!

WHAT IS THIS THING CALLED THINKING - John Townsend. (Poetry) - 8/31/2014 9:11:03 AM
Just so you don't carry on any commands that this voice tells you. Ron

THE DAYS OF EGO'S INFLAMED - John Townsend. (Poetry) - 8/31/2014 7:33:18 AM
well done

LIKE AN OPEN BOOK - John Townsend. (Poetry) - 8/30/2014 10:57:46 AM
Another legacy chronicled. So many lifetimes as yet unwritten. Ron

LIKE AN OPEN BOOK - John Townsend. (Poetry) - 8/30/2014 4:08:00 AM
I've great memories too, and they never leave, still making great memories to this day. You said it all, just right, so true.

I CANNOT BELIEVE - John Townsend. (Poetry) - 8/29/2014 9:02:24 AM
How do I know my youth is all spent? My get up and go has got up and went. But in spite of it all I'm able to grin, and think of the places my get up has been. from a song by Pete Seeger Michael D.

I CANNOT BELIEVE - John Townsend. (Poetry) - 8/29/2014 8:08:54 AM
He's coming out now. That's why you're writing about him. Ron

I CANNOT BELIEVE - John Townsend. (Poetry) - 8/29/2014 4:24:50 AM
Fantastic write John!!!! You are quickly becoming my favorite poet! This one takes me back to little, "Johnny-boy" with his worn out hat. My mom would put the ear flaps down and send me on my way. If it was not too cold it came off before the end of the day. Mom did not like that, she was the "Hat Police" jokingly I would say. Soon to be my next poetic write... "Thank you" John

I CANNOT BELIEVE - John Townsend. (Poetry) - 8/29/2014 1:56:03 AM
Very good write! I think everybody getting older can relate to your words. Bravo! Kathy J Parenteau

INSIDE OF WORDS - John Townsend. (Poetry) - 8/28/2014 9:01:51 PM
Lovely poem with endless thoughts. Yes, the written word goes on! One of the BEST poems I have read this year! BRAVO!

WHERE THE WILD WIND BLOWS - John Townsend. (Poetry) - 8/28/2014 7:45:32 AM
"Tell the truth they do not want to hear abused misused the wild wind knows." Yet the world has no fear for the past or presence, John!

WHERE THE WILD WIND BLOWS - John Townsend. (Poetry) - 8/28/2014 6:39:02 AM
Your poem speaks of its own truth, while it cast it is words across the page. Ron

IF I WERE PETER PAN - John Townsend. (Poetry) - 8/27/2014 3:56:28 PM
Great poetic thoughts John!Peter Pan was one of my favorite cartoon characters growing up. No I mean, I never wanted to grow up. Not me...

TRAPPED - John Townsend. (Poetry) - 8/27/2014 10:57:58 AM
A time capsule of some merit. Ron

I WAS A CLOWN FOR A MOMENT (Poetry) - 8/26/2014 9:47:09 AM
It's wonderful to be right for a change… Even if everyone thought you were wrong and laughed about it at first. Ron

WACKY DOODLE (Poetry) - 8/25/2014 7:42:10 AM
I hope everybody has a wacky doodle time! Ron

WACKY DOODLE (Poetry) - 8/24/2014 4:00:31 PM
I'll wave a wacky doodle adieu Michael D.

THOSE CRAZY MEMORIES (Poetry) - 8/23/2014 11:19:49 AM
At first I thought it was more than one song, and then I realized it was a composite of those "best memories" in a lifetime, like the old Frank Sinatra song, "It Was a Very Good Year," or Luther Vandross's, "Dance with My Father Again." Ron

WE STUMBLE MANY TIMES (Poetry) - 8/21/2014 7:44:37 AM
When we stand on our own two feet and take responsibility for our actions we don't have to rely on the crutch of any god to prop us up. Ron

WE STUMBLE MANY TIMES (Poetry) - 8/21/2014 5:11:23 AM
Thank you, John, we must never always leaning unto our own understanding, but in all things we ought to consider God's leadership! Blessings to you!

ENTER at YOUR RISK (Poetry) - 8/18/2014 9:36:07 AM
Indeed at certain age, "The mind plays tricks, creates it realities unseen", yes loneliness is a dreadful thing! Thanks for sharing, John!

ENTER at YOUR RISK (Poetry) - 8/18/2014 8:13:29 AM
The mind playing tricks on us. So easy to happen. And the ending is wonderful because that's generally the way things are behind the unknown door. Ron

ENTER at YOUR RISK (Poetry) - 8/17/2014 7:43:18 AM
nice one, loved the humor at the end

WHAT IS LOVE (Poetry) - 6/3/2013 12:27:54 AM
An excellent poetic piece on love. Well done! Love - we can't see it but we would die for it. They say God is love. Well, perhaps He is....

WHAT IS LOVE (Poetry) - 2/1/2013 9:25:11 AM
You said a lot in these few words… With a lot of truth in it. As long as lust reigns free, it will be difficult to say, “I love you,” and mean it. Ron

WHAT IS LOVE (Poetry) - 1/30/2013 11:38:22 PM
Succinct and pleasing.

IT MAY BE TWICE AS HARD TOMORROW (Poetry) - 11/11/2012 9:18:06 AM
When we put off tomorrow, it comes too quickly. I've made it to my mantra to take care of the little things right away so I don't have to worry about them tomorrow. Sometimes I miss one, and it comes back to haunt me. We live complicated lives and need to simplify. Wise words in your poem. Ron

TICKING EVER TICKING (Poetry) - 10/31/2012 12:08:44 PM
That's why I have an electric clock. And I turn out all the lights and all the sounds before I go to sleep because it makes it a whole lot easier. Your poem beautifully expresses the situation so many find themselves in with distraction keeping them awake. Ron

ACTIONS SPEAK LOUDER THAN WORDS (Poetry) - 8/16/2012 2:41:15 PM
Actions DO speak much LOUDER than words. Very very true! Thank you John!

IF I HAD (Poetry) - 7/9/2012 2:21:52 PM
TO BE ALIVE ON MONDAY, DOES NOT GUARANTEE THAT YOU WILL BE HERE ON TUESDAY. SO...DON'T PUT OFF FOR TOMORROW WHAT YOU CAN DO TODAY. TAKE THE TIME TO LOVE AND BE LOVED. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

THE TIMETABLE (Poetry) - 4/17/2012 12:26:36 PM
Well done, I love trains and train stations.

CHILD of OUR TIME (Poetry) - 1/2/2012 5:37:30 PM
NO ONE CAN FIGURE OUT WHAT GOD ALLOWS. THANK GOD THE GREED WILL BE DUST...LOST FOR ETERNITY, THEN THE ABUNDANT LOVE OF GOD WILL REIGN IN THE NEW HEAVEN AND THE NEW EARTH AND ALL THE 'CHILDREN' HAVING SUCCUMBED IN OUR TIME...WILL LIVE ON FOREVER. THANKS FOR SHARING, JOHN. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH... JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

INSECURITY (Poetry) - 8/19/2011 5:50:05 AM
This is AWEsome! I love it John! WRITE ON! Mirrors tell TOO MUCH lol Blissful Peace, Soulful_SHEE

BISCUITS (Poetry) - 7/20/2011 9:37:18 PM
For a minute there I thought of Mrs. T the bloody Mary Mix, but that might not go with biscuits. Still.....

Benches (Poetry) - 3/6/2011 10:21:44 PM
Benches--I can only imagine the tales they have to tell. rege

THE TIMETABLE (Poetry) - 3/6/2011 10:20:16 PM
I enjoyed your poem immensely. I am a railroad fan who loves trains of all kinds including my o-gauge railroad in my basement. Sadly, Obama could put this country back to work by rebuilding, not all the bridges and highways, but fast, high speed trains that would not stall the nation when a snowstorm keeps planes grounded. Europe and Eurosia are built on rail transport. rege

CHILD of OUR TIME (Poetry) - 12/18/2010 11:51:07 AM
Wonderful poem – powerful

CHILD of OUR TIME (Poetry) - 12/17/2010 2:59:44 PM
Powerful and well done In Christs Love Michelle~

CHILD of OUR TIME (Poetry) - 12/16/2010 10:00:38 AM
An outstanding writing on a very serious subject,John. GOD BLESS YOU TONY

CHILD of OUR TIME (Poetry) - 12/16/2010 6:49:27 AM
Only if we would rightly shared The wealth of this world No one would be lacking 'CHILD of OUR TIME' is a lovely little poem.

BISCUITS (Poetry) - 12/15/2010 2:08:54 PM
Now John, what kind of biscuits you talkin about? Them fussy English biscuits that are more like cookies, or them big ole Southern U.S. cathead biscuits smothered in sausage gravy? Walt

THE TIMETABLE (Poetry) - 12/15/2010 1:29:26 AM
HaHa, you had me thinking. Blimey if only England was like this, then, oh, it is. lol More ghost trains than any other...

THE TIMETABLE (Poetry) - 12/14/2010 11:12:15 AM
Outstanding writing, John. Merry Christmas. Namaste

Benches (Poetry) - 12/12/2010 4:16:04 AM
Benches come alive? they say wood never dies. A very good poem you wrote here, John. GOD BLESS YOU TONY

NO KITH NO KIN (Poetry) - 11/30/2010 9:54:08 AM
Unfortunately John the boys cards were dealed to him. But maybe someday people will care more for there fellow man. I am talking about the entire world. This piece was heartfelt, and thought provoking written by a caring soul. GOD BLESS YOU TONY

UNWRITTEN WAR. - John Townsend. (Poetry) - 11/25/2010 10:09:09 AM
I think because of the holiday here in the US there is not much traffic here in the den now. Because in reading this piece I think it is outstanding work, John. Namaste Tony

SEARCHING (Poetry) - 10/23/2010 8:52:12 PM
Nicely penned.Blessings.D.

THEY TALK of the END BUT THEY DO NOT BELIEVE (Poetry) - 10/23/2010 8:50:27 PM
Excellent write! Blessings.D

THEY TALK of the END BUT THEY DO NOT BELIEVE (Poetry) - 10/22/2010 12:12:35 PM
The year 2012 is mentioned at the end of the Bible. Revolations I believe but frankly I do not understand it. I should be dead by then any how so I really am not thinking of it. But you brought it to my attention. So I think this was anoutstanding thought provoking gem! GOD BLESS YOU TONY

THEY TALK of the END BUT THEY DO NOT BELIEVE (Poetry) - 10/22/2010 4:14:11 AM
There will be a day of reckoning

SEARCHING (Poetry) - 9/17/2010 4:57:30 PM
Exactly, very nicely written too. GOD BLESS YOU TONY

VIEW ACROSS THE RIVER (Poetry) - 9/17/2010 11:44:35 AM
Your work shows a curiosity and interest in just about everything, and you write in a way that makes for very pleasant reading. I'm enjoying exploring your thoughts, though not commenting on each one. Connie

FUNNY OLD WORLD (Poetry) - 9/17/2010 11:35:48 AM
Amusing tale of being half-a-world apart. Connie

SUCH A SAD WORD IS NEGATIVE (Poetry) - 7/13/2010 6:40:07 PM
Sometimes it is better to be negative then be sorry. Excellent write, John. GOD BLESS YOU TONY

SUCH A SAD WORD IS NEGATIVE (Poetry) - 7/13/2010 10:03:51 AM
John, Just to show not everything is as bad as it seems. Great write Mary

SUCH A SAD WORD IS NEGATIVE (Poetry) - 7/13/2010 2:51:22 AM
Very thoughtful piece, John

UNWRITTEN ARTICLES (Poetry) - 7/11/2010 2:03:08 PM
YOU HAVE DEPICTED, SO VIVIDLY, A 'WARNING' THAT THE BIBLE GIVES; '...PRIDE(EGO)GOES BEFORE A FALL'. WELL DONE AND ENJOYED. THANKS FOR SHARING, LOVE AND BLESSINGS, JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

UNWRITTEN ARTICLES (Poetry) - 7/11/2010 5:45:24 AM
Very good work, John

UNWRITTEN ARTICLES (Poetry) - 7/11/2010 5:03:22 AM
Wow, I would say someone has made you very angry. I am glad you are defending yourself, John. Hopefully in due time you can forgive him/her. GOD BLESS YOU TONY

SLIGHTLY OFF CENTER (Poetry) - 7/10/2010 5:09:27 PM
A poem of sound advice and comfort ~ Blessings, Christine

SLIGHTLY OFF CENTER (Poetry) - 7/10/2010 4:06:09 PM


SLIGHTLY OFF CENTER (Poetry) - 7/10/2010 2:16:55 PM
You have climbed a ladder of wisdom and truth, you seen the seer, the one without self judgement, but love, a blessed write. Jasmin Horst

WHAT IS FOREVER (Poetry) - 5/4/2010 10:30:09 AM
FOREVER...IN OUR CELESTIAL HOME...THE BLOOD OF JESUS HAS SIGNED OUR 'GUARANTEE'...WE WILL LIVE FOREVER WITH THE LORD WHEN OUR BODIES ARE SURRENDERED TO DUST AND OUR SPIRITS ARE FREE AND SAFE IN HIS ARMS...THIS 'FOREVER' IS WHAT WE AS BELIEVERS ARE STANDING FOR...ARE FIGHTING FOR...WILL NEVER SURRENDER TO THIS WORLD FOR...OUR 'ETERNAL' HOMES. THANK YOU JOHN...FOR PROVOKING ME TO SPEAK TO YOUR VOICE...BUT I HAVE A FEELING THAT YOU ALREADY KNOW THIS. THANKS FOR SHARING, GOD BLESS AND MUCH LOVE, JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

VIEW ACROSS THE RIVER (Poetry) - 5/2/2010 7:43:09 PM
THIS WORK WAS ENJOYED...COMPLIMENTED THE PHOTO NICELY. THANKS FOR SHARING AND BLESSINGS, LOVE, JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

VIEW ACROSS THE RIVER (Poetry) - 5/2/2010 8:13:07 AM
This reminds me of the old adage that "one can be alone in a crowd of many". The picture is well depicted by your poem--indicating stillness and silence. Nice job.

JUST AS IN (Poetry) - 3/23/2010 9:50:41 AM
Outstanding piece of writing. GOD BLESS YOU Tony

JUST AS IN (Poetry) - 3/23/2010 4:09:49 AM
aahhh...yes agree best not to read news...inhumanity reflects a lot..and few do get disturbed...best not to trouble your heart...just live with love loaded....beautiful write good wishes John. neerja

FUNNY OLD WORLD (Poetry) - 3/16/2010 8:49:45 AM
That is what we have become, world travelers. I can relate as my daughter lives in the Netherlands. Great job, John. GOD BLESS YOU Tony

HIGH AMID the HILLS (Poetry) - 3/15/2010 6:34:10 AM
A high place is my favorite place. What a stunning poem.

HIGH AMID the HILLS (Poetry) - 3/14/2010 7:35:57 AM
THE WORD OF GOD IS TRUE...EVERY BIT OF IT. I AM REMINDED OF A LINE FROM ONE OF DAVID'S INSPIRATIONAL PSALMS; '...I LOOK TO THE HILLS FROM WHENCE COMETH MY STRENGTH...COMETH FROM THE LORD THAT MADE THE HEAVEN AND THE EARTH...'. THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS SO INSPIRING TESTIMONY OF THE POWER IN THE PRESENCE OF ALMIGHTY GOD. BLESSINGS. LOVE, JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

HIGH AMID the HILLS (Poetry) - 3/11/2010 9:41:30 PM
It is a feeling like no other, you certainly have hit the mark... Be always safe, Karen

HIGH AMID the HILLS (Poetry) - 3/11/2010 4:54:48 AM
I am happy YOU found your peaceful setting, John. Your explanation was vivid and serene. GOD BLESS YOU Tony

CARRY YOU WORDS (Poetry) - 3/10/2010 1:39:28 PM
LEARNING TO SAY WHAT YOU WANT TO SAY, JUST THE WAY YOU WANT PEOPLE TO UNDERSTAND IT...CAN BE DIFFICULT. IT IS USUALLY BY UPS AND DOWNS THAT WE GET IT RIGHT BUT EVEN THEN...EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE...A MISTAKE IS MADE. AT THESE TIMES ONE MUST RELY ON THE 'KINDNESS' OF THE READER TO GIVE THE WRITER THE BENEFIT OF THE DOUBT OF BEING 'HUMAN' AND ERRING. THIS IS A GOOD WORK JOHN, WHICH HIGHLIGHTS A MATTER USUALLY NO SPOKEN OF. THANKS FOR SHARING AND BLESSINGS. LOVE, JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

CARRY YOU WORDS (Poetry) - 3/10/2010 8:38:05 AM
I was always told by my older siblings to measure my words. This of course means do not say anything you will be sorry for. I do not know if I am reading you correctly, John. But I think you are more or less writing that. A excellent crafted piece. GOD BLESS YOU Tony

SHADOW (Poetry) - 3/8/2010 8:32:05 AM
As long as he pays his share of the rent... not much else matters. Cheers, Dan

SHADOW (Poetry) - 3/8/2010 5:04:44 AM
A quieter friend you'll never find...lol Thanks for the smile!

I DO NOT MOCK OR DISTRUST (Poetry) - 3/7/2010 1:02:49 PM
IN THE WORD OF GOD (PSALMS) DAVID LAYS OUT HIS 'COMPLAINT' BEFORE THE LORD. GOD, OUR BENELOVANT CREATOR, IS OUR FRIEND...WHOM ELSE SHOULD WE GO TO FOR ANSWERS? WE CAN GO TO HIM AT ANY TIME, WITH ANY ISSUE...HE UNDERSTANDS AND WILL NOT THINK THAT WE MOCK OR DISTRUST. WELL WRITTEN AND ENJOYED. THANKS FOR SHARING, L LOVE, JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

I DO NOT MOCK OR DISTRUST (Poetry) - 3/7/2010 9:16:37 AM
Nicely worded tribute to our Lord. GOD BLESS YOU Tony

I DO NOT MOCK OR DISTRUST (Poetry) - 3/7/2010 6:32:39 AM
John, Interesting writ and relational correspondence to God. Enjoyed. Thank you, ~D.

SMILES (Poetry) - 3/3/2010 10:42:13 PM
Great poem John. And when I smile at someone who just can't return it, I smile for him too. Double the pleasure.Patrick

SMILES (Poetry) - 3/3/2010 5:10:37 PM
Some people make me light up by just being there. A good writing, John. GOD BLESS YOU Tony

SMILES (Poetry) - 3/3/2010 2:52:31 PM
I really enjoyed this poem. Yes, smiles are forever, and make us feel good.

RACEHORSE RACE (Poetry) - 3/1/2010 4:09:04 PM
Absolutely wonderful and and inspiration to many... Be always safe, Karen

RACEHORSE RACE (Poetry) - 2/28/2010 8:34:31 AM
And a winner you are, John. Live action in poetry that is what I like. GOD BLESS YOU Tony

UNCERTAINTITY (Poetry) - 2/27/2010 9:37:35 PM
E ticket rides are always on the narrow path, and never straight. Patrick

INSECURITY (Poetry) - 2/23/2010 12:09:10 PM
Sneaky them mirrors are. Problem is they don't lie. Good one. Patrick

INSECURITY (Poetry) - 2/23/2010 9:34:12 AM
A look in the mirror does not always give you a true picture of ones being. I have but one mirror in my home, and I manage not to look at it seldom. Good writing , John. GOD BLESS Tony

I Still See Her Face (Poetry) - 2/11/2010 3:12:40 PM
Lovely tribute to your Mother, John. GOD BLESS Tony

I Still See Her Face (Poetry) - 2/11/2010 4:32:10 AM
Very sweet. I don't think that it's being fragile missing someone after all that time. It just shows how strong the bond between you two were. Well written.

THAT KISS (Poetry) - 1/18/2010 4:47:29 PM
All the reason to welcome each day as if the last... Be always safe, Karen

ORDER AND DISORDER (Poetry) - 1/10/2010 5:41:46 AM
Excellent poem.Great piece.take care

STATION LIFE (Poetry) - 1/10/2010 4:38:58 AM
A great and excellent poem.thank you for sharing it.take care

LOST (Poetry) - 1/8/2010 10:01:38 PM
Interesting...I like it.

LOST (Poetry) - 1/6/2010 10:06:10 PM
Mysterious and rather intriguing, fantastic... Be always safe, Karen

LOST (Poetry) - 1/6/2010 11:56:09 AM
good write

HALF AN ARTHUR. (Poetry) - 1/6/2010 7:45:49 AM
i like it

SWEET DREAMS (Poetry) - 1/6/2010 7:18:20 AM
John Hi- Atleast it was "SNOW" you were dreaming/NATURE! Sounds to me yiur Soirit wants no more Snowy days... I have had enough too! I like how expressieve this dream Poem was written! I enjoyed reading and feeling WHERE YOU WERE., ENJOY! The Sun! And Your New Year! Blessings Abound and Harmony,Purple_PassionSHEEoxxo WRITE ON! READ ON!

THE STICK BOAT RACE (Poetry) - 1/5/2010 10:28:21 PM
As a kid I raced stick boats Now I'm older than pooh I'm wondering old granddad Am I older than you? Not that it matters You're as young as you feel And there's nothing more fun Than to make the grandkids all squeal

BIG BAD C (Poetry) - 1/4/2010 2:01:47 PM
Great poem. My best friend's sister has battled through bladder cancer and breast cancer and is in remission from both, all at age 40- this poem reminded me of a story my friend told me about how her sister couldn't believe she was in remission from the breast cancer and was almost not believing the doctors- it must be hard to believe after all the ups and downs and horrors that are cancer. Thanks for posting this, i think it will help many.

BIG BAD C (Poetry) - 1/3/2010 5:01:45 PM
Excellent poem

BIG BAD C (Poetry) - 1/3/2010 10:56:34 AM
Another excellent writing, John. GOD BLESS Tony

BIG BAD C (Poetry) - 1/3/2010 6:14:55 AM
Great poem.take care

BEING A ROOM (Poetry) - 1/2/2010 11:05:20 PM
Wonderful viewpoint, and well-written, can't beat that combination.

BEING A ROOM (Poetry) - 1/1/2010 9:39:15 PM
Very imaginative. Just think what it would be like to be a room in a European house, perhaps 600 years old. The earth is flat and so is the beer...but nobody cares. Patrick

BEING A ROOM (Poetry) - 1/1/2010 8:17:47 AM
Let me be the first to wish YOU a very Happy New Year my friend. GOD BLESS Tony

BEING A ROOM (Poetry) - 1/1/2010 7:14:34 AM
good poem

BLISTER PACKED DOUBLE WRAPPED (Poetry) - 12/29/2009 11:48:10 AM
I know the feeling, especially those damned clamshell packages. You need a torch! I've actually seen a tool developed to open them, wrapped in clamshell! Patrick

THE BALLAD OF THE SO TIRED MAN (Poetry) - 12/29/2009 6:24:42 AM
John, I agree with Patrick Granfors, it could have been worse:). Blessings, ~Linda

THE BALLAD OF THE SO TIRED MAN (Poetry) - 12/28/2009 9:23:37 PM
Well at least he didn't drool sweet nothings in your ear. Patrick

THE BALLAD OF THE SO TIRED MAN (Poetry) - 12/28/2009 4:07:26 PM
You funny man, Jasmin Horst

TRY YOUR PIN NUMBER AGAIN (Poetry) - 12/28/2009 9:21:08 AM
Much much truth here. In the past 6 months my health insurance plan has changed 3 times, my 401k plan twice, My credit cards have all reissued with the lending laws all changing in February. New passwords and pins across the board. I need a damn cheat sheet just to buy beer at the store. Patrick

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.