AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: DR FRED BELL, iDonald Beaulieu, icarlton davis, iRoxanne Bland, iMiller Caldwell, iMark Lichterman, iKarl Morgan, i
 
Home > Phillip E. Carpenter
 

Recent Reviews for Phillip E. Carpenter


Shreds of Humanity (Book) - 11/23/2007 11:40:08 AM
I just loved this book. The flow of the plot was perfect, no bogged down spots, lots of action, romance, philosophical viewpoints from the multitude of refugees from all over the world. I also learned a lot, historical, scientific and survival information woven so craftily into the story. All the characters and their attitudes seemed so real I felt as though I was there on the adventure. Super!

Shreds of Humanity (Book) - 6/27/2007 7:41:42 PM
This book is what got me into reading Carpenter's other earlier stuff and I was stoked because Shreds is a real adventure novel without the usual cliches so well-worn by most name authors. I found it very realistic in the approach to a post-cataclysmic world without all the techology we have come to rely on much too much. Great read!

Arabian Assignment: Slavery and Terrorism in North Africa (Book) - 12/6/2002 10:52:58 AM
Absolutely the best novel I have read in years! Carpenter could be another Hemingway with the right promotion. You must read this book, it is perhaps the most timely and intriguing look at today's volatile Middle East political situation in existence.

Elephant Gun (Book) - 10/7/2002 2:59:37 PM
Great book! Makes you think, laugh, get ticked off, but mainly it entertains you. I got into it and literally couldn't put it down. Worth reading again, and I say that about very few books.

Arabian Assignment: Slavery and Terrorism in North Africa (Book) - 10/4/2002 10:31:44 AM
Incredibly good. Well-written saga that encompasses a host of timely subjects, filled with factual basis but fictionalized just enough to make the plot more exciting. Draws you into the story. A super read for anyone who loves realistic action and adventure mixed with social issues. Everything you would want in a multi-faceted plot is in this book. I thought it was great.

Elephant Gun (Book) - 10/4/2002 10:25:35 AM
Funny, exciting, unique plot. Great characters, author has exceptional insight into todays sociological and environmental problems as well as human relationships. Not a book for shallow readers, it challenges you to think as well as giving great enjoyment. I reccommend it highly.

Elephant Gun (Book) - 10/3/2002 8:15:33 PM
One of the most entertaining books of it's type I've ever read. A hell of a ride!

Chatting with Jesus (Short Story) - 11/23/2007 11:33:16 AM
Very thought-provoking and well done. I didn't get any feeling that "Jesus" was confused about the future, just disappointed in the choices mankind had made with free will. Of course the poem was an exercise in psychology and left it up to the reader to decide if the hiker had actually met an illusion of Jesus or was merely hallucinatory, drawing on his own societal conditioning. Looking beneath the actual words written on paper to find either more philosophical questions, true meaning or ambiguosity is the task of true literary aficianados.

Chatting with Jesus (Short Story) - 9/21/2007 10:17:01 AM
The real Jesus isn't confused about future events.

Chatting with Jesus (Short Story) - 6/27/2007 7:31:16 PM
Really cool. Great method of introducing philosophical commentary on the direction the human race has taken to assure a non-future for coming generations and a warning to anyone smart enough to see it. This author's writing is far and away a notch above anyone else I have read and his versatility is amazing.

Christmas Past (Short Story) - 12/20/2006 2:56:11 PM
This borught back some woonderful memories of my childhood, it was a beautiful description of life "in the old days." I remember as a 5 year old how I loved to hear Gabriel Heater on the radio. Homemade christmas gifts, and helping Grandma pick vegetables, and get them ready for canning etc. We all had plenty to eat, but were well aware that others didn't. How very lucky we all were for "Gods" kindness to us in those days. I also remember even though it was days of war and "black outs" we all felt more secure then than we do now. Family was our greatest sourse of happiness, and still is with me. More families need to be closer in heart , with the love that we all had back then.Thank you for a wonderful memory.............

Chain of Life (Poetry) - 11/23/2007 11:44:48 AM
Quite a small but timely epic story in the form of poetry. I am amazed at how versatile this author is. I read this poem over again and still felt as though I was right there as a spectator to events. There is also a sort of grace to the flow of words that adds to the ambience that I love in a good poem, regardless of subject.

Home for the Strange (Poetry) - 9/22/2006 11:20:38 PM
Pure genius...

The Thing in the Basement (Poetry) - 7/6/2005 10:23:36 AM
I agree. I refuse to go in my mother's basement or attic for that matter.

The Thing in the Basement (Poetry) - 6/17/2005 1:33:58 PM
Philip, GAD. I wish I had a basement, even with a thing in it...living in tornado alley with no shelter makes one nervous. Forget about things in shadowy places *laughing nervously* Still, and all, this is an excellent, effectively creepy write, guaranteed to gooseflesh the reader who stumbles upon this one. BRAVO, Poet! (((HUGS))) and love *cringe*, Karla. :)

The Thing in the Basement (Poetry) - 6/17/2005 11:23:24 AM
brings back memories... i really liked this, but i actually loved our basement (unless it was super dark; then i had my reservations...LOL)...boy, wish i had a basement NOW....*sighhhh* (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :)

The Thing in the Basement (Poetry) - 6/17/2005 6:01:36 AM
Really liked this piece, Phillip - The Thing Lives!

The Thing in the Basement (Poetry) - 6/17/2005 3:59:23 AM
The attic has the same effect on me as the cellar; both manage to weave their way into my short stories unbidden. Your description of the heart-pounding terror is on the money -- not easy to do in the confining space of poetry, but you've done so effortlessly. Nice work!

Praise the Lord and Pass the Bone Saw (Poetry) - 3/14/2005 6:51:08 PM
a avery profound poem exploring how some psychopathic killers have a religious foundation ... reminds me of the man who just killed a bunch of people in his congregation ...

Praise the Lord and Pass the Bone Saw (Poetry) - 3/14/2005 5:38:10 PM
Very insightful story. Unfortunately, I have to agree in the truth in it. M.Rose

Praise the Lord and Pass the Bone Saw (Poetry) - 3/14/2005 9:18:22 AM
Well I always look and see what is on the camera first. I have enough bibles already so he would not get far with me. Yep those liberal judges end up like the sad case in Atlanta.

Sad State of Affairs (Poetry) - 2/11/2005 5:07:13 PM
Wow this is one powerful write here and I am glad that I read it.

Space Case (Poetry) - 2/11/2005 5:05:12 PM
This is very different but that does not mean I don't like it. You would however like my dog he is small but he has heart and he does not take anything off anyone. But he loves his mama and is fierce in protecting me. Me I hate lowlifes too that seem to get away with stuff. You would like my book The Twelfth Of Never where my character goes after the terrorists. A little justice. No she is not spelling Trek wrong.

Sports Fan (Poetry) - 2/3/2005 8:19:42 PM
I can't say I blame him and the only one I like is Tiger but I can relate to the old man.

Still Young Within (Poetry) - 10/18/2004 8:33:58 PM
don't look into the mirror look into your soul which is forever young ... (really cool bike!)

Still Young Within (Poetry) - 10/18/2004 4:45:14 PM
Oh my, how I wish we could get wiser sooner, wonderful write.

Lost Horizons (Poetry) - 10/18/2004 4:36:35 PM
I wrote this poem long ago after many lonely nights driving across western desert highways, lured by the hypnotic rhythm of the thrumming machine, the asphalt ribbons leading to the unknown tomorrows,. It was the 'fifties and to a young man exploring the wide open spaces, an adventure in learning, with much time to ponder the complexities of the universe and the ultimate mystery that is the ethereal bond between two human souls. Perhaps you, too, sometimes wonder about that path not taken, that moment of decision that alters your universe forever.

Still Young Within (Poetry) - 10/18/2004 4:30:14 PM
damn the mirror's lies --- full speed ahead! good write! john+

Still Young Within (Poetry) - 10/18/2004 4:23:28 PM
as can i...relate that is...i often wonder why i see my mother in my mirrow when i know i can't be that old

Still Young Within (Poetry) - 10/18/2004 4:23:01 PM
I can relate to this too, Phillip. I am not getting any younger, you know: I AM only 45 (but feel 95 at times, especially when my arthritis acts up. OWIE! walk slower than I used to, too, and use a forearm crutch; my balance isn't that good any more, and my walking ain't as good as it used to be, thanks to my knees, feet, and hips!)! But I still keep on going; I am not gonna' let pain rule my life! Wonderful write!

Still Young Within (Poetry) - 10/18/2004 4:18:57 PM
This is one awesome write! The only problem is..is that I can relate too well! The winters are getting longer and the Summers are torture, but they have nothing on the image in the mirror. Excellently penned! Lisa

A Wonderful Day in the Neighborhood (Poetry) - 2/12/2004 3:34:04 AM
Fantastic!

Chain of Life (Poetry) - 11/7/2003 4:11:18 PM
Nice story here, Phillip about the cycles of life and death chained. I like it. Impressive. Best regards, Leland

Sad State of Affairs (Poetry) - 7/14/2003 5:41:21 PM
This should be mandantory reading in all junior high school history classes. Powerful, educational, uncannily accurate for such lyrical poetry.

A Wonderful Day in the Neighborhood (Poetry) - 3/14/2003 5:48:01 PM
I wonder if everyone who read this understands it is a metaphor for going to war with Saddam Hussein? I'm against all wars, but I have to give credit to this author for really making a point that's hard to argue against, it made me think. Excellent writing, a great talent.

A Wonderful Day in the Neighborhood (Poetry) - 3/9/2003 7:08:25 AM
Excellent Phillip.. We must stand up for our family.. You did what you had to do. I commend you for it.

A Wonderful Day in the Neighborhood (Poetry) - 3/8/2003 9:07:43 PM
Excellent write.

A Wonderful Day in the Neighborhood (Poetry) - 3/8/2003 7:50:34 PM
I enjoyed reading your composition "A Wonderful Day In The Neighborhood". Your style is very logical. Thanks for sharing. Long healthy life. Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

A Wonderful Day in the Neighborhood (Poetry) - 3/8/2003 7:26:57 PM
Powerful write, you made the right move. Nancy

When Johnny Comes Marching-- (Poetry) - 3/5/2003 3:29:59 PM
Thought it was going to be another anti-war poem but it's not, is it? I figured it out, finally, it's ambiguous, yet true, just like life. You did an excellent job of showing both sides, which is refreshing among all the policial agenda writings now. Nothing is simple, except for people with simple minds.

When Johnny Comes Marching-- (Poetry) - 2/9/2003 1:07:46 PM
I couldn`t bear it....no way To say goodbye to my son knowing he might never come home mustbe one of the most heartwrenching things a parent can do. Your words are tender and beautiful.

When Johnny Comes Marching-- (Poetry) - 1/31/2003 10:51:17 AM
Your poetry shows great insight and talent. I am impressed with all your work and want to congratulate you on your recent national award. You deserve it. -Hidetaka

When Johnny Comes Marching-- (Poetry) - 1/31/2003 7:23:02 AM
Great write Phillip,,but oh so sad, I know there will be many Mothers wringing their hands and trying not to cry,,and I know that there will be many that will not be left the choice,,,,Lisa

When Johnny Comes Marching-- (Poetry) - 1/31/2003 3:57:50 AM
the total volumne of 'eve of battle letters' ever written by american soldiers is how great? each one full of idealism, patriotism and yankee doodlely doo...the lures that bring young men to die for old men's greed, pride, and cynicism. good write john+

No thanks, no Martinizing today (Poetry) - 12/29/2002 5:56:31 PM
Sandie...(proseltyzing) means to try to convert others or persuade them to adopt your point of view. Martin Sheen has no more right than anyone else to do this. Bill Murray

No thanks, no Martinizing today (Poetry) - 12/29/2002 5:27:16 PM
LOL.....too cool Phillip

No thanks, no Martinizing today (Poetry) - 12/29/2002 4:54:16 PM
actos should do just that, act... they have a right to their opinions but should not use their notoriety as a means for their own personal agenda...

No thanks, no Martinizing today (Poetry) - 12/29/2002 4:30:23 PM
You Rule;-)!!!

No thanks, no Martinizing today (Poetry) - 12/29/2002 4:17:38 PM
"proseltyzing" - if only I know what this word means. Aaaahhhhh!!!!!.....but I love Martin Sheen! He's one of my favourite actors.

Back in the Day (Poetry) - 12/15/2002 9:32:36 PM
lovely reminiscence...

Back in the Day (Poetry) - 12/15/2002 7:11:19 PM
Well done Phillip!! I know what you mean. Loved those old buildings. They had character

Back in the Day (Poetry) - 12/15/2002 2:24:40 PM
They done tore down the Shamrock here in Houtown, too--they always do--progress is thier most important product. The Astrodome is next.

Back in the Day (Poetry) - 12/15/2002 1:18:25 PM
they are still there, not so many, but well.... in this day and age of cd dvd mp3, I still love to go the pictures, still get a thrill in the back row too......wink! Wonderful write, loved it.

Beyond Tomorrow (Poetry) - 12/6/2002 7:00:40 PM
excellent futuristic fantasy!

Beyond Tomorrow (Poetry) - 12/6/2002 11:01:10 AM
Funny and tragic at the same time, extrapolating the concept that no matter how technologically advanced humans become, they are still at heart just another animal among those left on this planet with the same drives and instincts they've always had. I really enjoyed this poem.

Haiku for Anna Nicole (Poetry) - 12/6/2002 10:49:13 AM
Was it really promised? Bill Murray

Beyond Tomorrow (Poetry) - 12/5/2002 3:41:27 AM
You're are on quite a futuristic journey. Bill Murray.

Sad State of Affairs (Poetry) - 12/2/2002 10:25:51 PM
HI Phil.. I just got done updating a couple of things at my place and saw your rated one of my poems last month..I wanted to do the same for you..And must i say--You tell quite the story in your poetry!....ITs cool!..and its so true!....This sounds like something i would have read in one of my Lit classes back in H.S :)...Great Piece :)..I hope to be more out there with my work someday!.I hope you're getting the recognition that you deserve with yours! :)

Sad State of Affairs (Poetry) - 11/7/2002 5:18:33 AM
Excellently done as told from the viewpoint of this man...had a great-great grandfather who fought as a 'Johnny Rebel' and another one who fought as a 'Blue-belly'. And, I can still remember the remnants of animosity and unforgiveness that remained in this ancient generation of the South and the next two, as well, mostly because of Reconstruction.

Sad State of Affairs (Poetry) - 11/7/2002 3:20:20 AM
that was an eye opener, really interesting. Have seen many films of the TV about this but Have never really thought a great deal of this particular moment in history being English, but you have hooked me in. I want to read more now.

Sad State of Affairs (Poetry) - 11/7/2002 3:00:40 AM
Wow!!!!! Totally awesome write!!!!!.....and a wonderful valuable pic that speaks!!!!! Sandie Angel :o) / May Lu $*_*$

Sad State of Affairs (Poetry) - 11/7/2002 2:48:14 AM
What a truly awesome and very historically correct write. Enjoyed every word and the dialect is perfect. I do, however has to say after reading several biographies of Lee, I feel he was a great general and gentleman of the South. No doubt he was more tender in temperament than many warriors of that era, as proven by his broken spirit after the war. I hope you will do more of these historical pieces.

Sad State of Affairs (Poetry) - 11/7/2002 1:25:55 AM
long but good read.

Thoroughly Modern Millie (Poetry) - 11/1/2002 12:23:18 PM
crumbs, I thought I had destroyed that photo years ago...ok, I was in cloud cuckoo land. Glad he went down that path, he would have hated himself in the morning...... loved it.

Thoroughly Modern Millie (Poetry) - 10/30/2002 9:51:29 PM
LOL!!! Oh cool, you made me grin! Thanks, Dani

Thoroughly Modern Millie (Poetry) - 10/30/2002 1:21:08 PM
maybe your opening line was the start of the problem, mr romantic LOL

Thoroughly Modern Millie (Poetry) - 10/30/2002 11:23:36 AM
very good write!

Rappin' Bad Sad (Poetry) - 10/27/2002 6:42:56 PM
Played by Marlo Thomas. It would be funny if it wasn't so freckin' true!

Rappin' Bad Sad (Poetry) - 10/27/2002 3:33:32 PM
HA--i love this rap it ain't no crap a ten for you this is KEWL!!!! :) okay, okay...so i'm not a rapper. :) love this very much...too funny! i agree with kaci...(((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

Rappin' Bad Sad (Poetry) - 10/27/2002 2:51:57 PM
interesting write! i love the rap style in this!!

Rappin' Bad Sad (Poetry) - 10/27/2002 12:54:23 PM
I can hear it now

Rappin' Bad Sad (Poetry) - 10/27/2002 12:26:15 PM
Interesting stuff!!!!! Sandie Angel :o)

Rappin' Bad Sad (Poetry) - 10/27/2002 12:16:52 PM
rotflmbfao!!!!!!! that is funny stuff, send that to Dr. Dre or Eminem (no joke) you'd be a millionaie, I can see myself singing this at a dance making fun of Sadam. He's a jackass, and you said that well adding humor.

Yo Ho Ho (Poetry) - 10/23/2002 2:14:33 AM
You took me to a world I have never been. Your well chosen words led me into another time and era ... almost like space travel. And the sailing ship was under my legs at once and I was off riding the waves and facing the danger these brave men faced. And it was all from the safety of my computer. Great trip. Bill

What then? (Poetry) - 10/22/2002 5:06:42 AM
May I suggest a move be in order. Good one

What then? (Poetry) - 10/22/2002 4:33:05 AM
*thinks* she is so grateful for her own life after reading this. Powerful but captivating read, where is part 2.

What then? (Poetry) - 10/22/2002 1:01:48 AM
What then, the choices seem to keep getter narrower each season and each day and each moment. Bill

What then? (Poetry) - 10/21/2002 7:08:43 PM
you captured a very delicate moment in time, excellent write...

What then? (Poetry) - 10/21/2002 3:48:22 PM
could really relate. A great poem, I don't exaggerate.

What then? (Poetry) - 10/21/2002 3:33:52 PM
Philip. Wow,,,,,,this is a very image ladden usage in this one. So vivid you told this...... Excellent write.... "What then, she wonders,what then?" Thanks Peggy

Dream Goddess (Poetry) - 10/21/2002 1:36:20 PM
entrancing storytelling!

Dream Goddess (Poetry) - 10/20/2002 5:19:58 AM
This was very well written. It held my interest from beginning to end. Gosh I had to say "END" The picure was an outstanding one. Just can't she be alive? Bill

Dream Goddess (Poetry) - 10/20/2002 4:00:54 AM
hey that picture is me....in my dreams Excellant write, managed to hold my attention, which on a Sunday morning is a difficult task.

Dream Goddess (Poetry) - 10/19/2002 10:19:49 PM
A very intriguing write full of beauty and great images...

Space Case (Poetry) - 10/19/2002 9:36:21 AM
"Star Trek" reborn? Bill P.S. Forgive me I porbably spelled "Trek" wrong?

Space Case (Poetry) - 10/18/2002 10:35:06 PM
this is so diverse i enjoyed this immensely thank you, Donna.

Space Case (Poetry) - 10/18/2002 5:58:51 PM
Good write...

A Valentine (Poetry) - 10/17/2002 1:54:30 PM
Beautiful words, You two have shared a lot and come full circle together.lovely sentiment to her. Audrey Cooper

A Memorable Nature Hike (Poetry) - 10/15/2002 3:46:42 PM
Awesome, gritty, plain talk every Viet Nam vet should read to his family so maybe they'd understand what it was like better and get some faint idea of the kind of closet skeletons guys brought back with them. Great rhyming, heavy story. Very impressive.

A Memorable Nature Hike (Poetry) - 10/14/2002 11:23:07 AM
Scary, sad, vivid, creative, emotional piece that made me think about the ramifications of humans propensity to make war and the residual effects that go on forever. A rare masterpiece of a subject poets usually shun, told from a unique perspective. I suspect this is not a complete fabrication of imagination and therefore even more poignant.

Ode to Obfuscation (Poetry) - 10/7/2002 3:06:06 PM
Peace and love generation clones unite! I was Chopra'd into giggling convulsions. Henry Wadsworth would be totally confused, Kilmer would be nonplussed, Joyce would be insulted but wouldn't quite know why. This had to be written by a wily Bandersnatch who had been at Woodstock or studied with George Harrison at the feet of his guru from Ranchipur. Just plain kicks ass.

Ode to Obfuscation (Poetry) - 10/6/2002 7:29:44 PM
Hell, I was enjoying a good laugh until I learned that it was prose, and ---- forbid, a parody! My hands didn't know what to do!

Ode to Obfuscation (Poetry) - 10/6/2002 7:03:08 PM
hilarious ++++

Ode to Obfuscation (Poetry) - 10/6/2002 2:36:50 PM
I think this piece is a riot, both for its intent and execution. I always enjoy toying with language/myself, so this is a reinforcement of the possibilities of said toyingness, or, adjunctively, playfulabilitatciousness. Thanks for this piece. I enjoined it proclivitously, and maintain about my position a fluctuating air of gid [being a neologistic offering for the state of being I mean to implicate!]

Ode to Obfuscation (Poetry) - 10/6/2002 1:04:04 PM
Not a poem but of prose and I found it a collage of many array. Interesting piece... jam packed with thought provoking element. Peggy

Lost Horizons (Poetry) - 10/3/2002 12:29:48 AM
Excellent write and I love the photo.. very good.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.