AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: R.E.E.S Blogs Linda Smith, Publisher, iMyles Saulibio, iDilip Dahanukar, iRobin Leigh Miller, iJeff Ovall, iKen Coleman, iCarl David, i
 
Home > Jen Knox
 

Recent Reviews for Jen Knox


Dandelion Ghosts (Short Story) - 5/23/2011 10:47:06 AM
Sorry about that. The magazine went under (so sad), but here's the whole essay as I've been able to salvage it.

Dandelion Ghosts (Short Story) - 5/21/2011 5:13:44 AM
total bummer, great start and then couldn't connect.

Reconsidering Rejection (Article) - 5/20/2010 4:05:59 PM
Dear Jen, First, I am happy to see you again in our Den. If I were you, I would not use the title “Reconsidering Rejection” You know why, those who have the power to reject a writer have nothing to do with the art of writing. Their sole interest is to make money for themselves or for their bosses. You are right to say, “it is a luxury to write or a hobby to take up after retirement “ and even then, everyone should come with his own conclusion. For me, it is a pleasure to write and to express myself. I consider my honest and silent interlocutor is the paper or the computer. In fact we write for ourselves or to get the feedback from our soul, who is the honest and silent being within us and who can read and listen to us and give us in compensation the pleasant feeling that no one can give us, which is the stream who flows in our temporarily being until we understand and become conscientious of the reality of life. I totally agree with your decision to say the business of writing is not for us. But keep writing and mostly to share your own feelings and opinions without restraint if you so want. In my view, one should not expect anything from anyone else. This is, what I call our free expression and the start of our awakening. Love Emile

Reconsidering Rejection (Article) - 5/20/2010 12:10:47 PM
Hi Jen, You are correct when you say writing is a poor persons job. I published a poem back in 2003 that actually cost me money. So now I just write as a hobby. I am sorry to say I still have not purchased Musical Chairs. You see I have had 3 trips to a hospital in this year alone. My cash flow goes to medicine. But I will purchase the book from Amazon hopefully this summer. You write so well but times are tough for everyone but the filthy rich. So no one is buying. I hope to see something of yours soon. Today you left a very nice surprise. You wrote, I read.:) GOD BLESS YOU ALWAYS Tony

Advertising Fear & Guilt (Article) - 4/22/2010 9:30:11 AM
Hi Jen, Concerning this very readable article, I wish the tea party would read this. It seems to me they are trying to stir up fear tactics. Thanks for the informative read. GOD BLESS YOU Tony

The Personality of Punctuation (Article) - 4/1/2010 7:30:05 PM
I consider the semicolon to be a comma on steroids.

The Personality of Punctuation (Article) - 3/26/2010 12:16:13 PM
Hi Jen, How are YOU? Fine I hope! I am sorry I have not communicated with you but I am still feeling ill. I try to write everyday but sometimes I just cannot because I feel so terrible. I truly like the article you just posted. I think for me anyway it was very informative. I did not go to college. Actually I passed a test while I was under age in the Navy to get my high school degree. Thanks again for article. Stay sweet, and stay happy. GOD BLESS YOU Tony

Notes on Publication (Article) - 2/16/2010 5:59:47 PM
Dear Jen, Hi I hope YOU are very well. I like what you are doing here by giving insight to the publication of someones writing material. Many authors as you know pay for there own publication. I know it happened to me once when I wrote for poetry.com. Some have there own egos to contend with. An example is poetry, I have yet to find a person who would purchase a book of poetry! Novels of the fiction kind do tend to sell a little. Anyhow I think you are doing a great thing by showing the ins and outs of publishing. Stay well, and stay sweet. GOD BLESS YOU, JEN Tony

Panic (An Epilogue) (Article) - 2/13/2010 9:59:17 AM
I started having panic attacks after I was introduced to an anti-depressant(Efexinor) the rush i would have was horrible. Klonopin has worked wonders for me. I am sorry YOU had them Jen. I hope you never have them again. GOD BLESS YOU ALWAYS Tony

Living Light (Article) - 2/9/2010 11:55:14 AM
Actually your the first girl I have come to know that admidts to having very little. I find it charming! But then again maybe it is I who brings that out in women. I know as a man I have very little of use. I am a pack rat by nature. GOD BLESS Tony

Living Light (Article) - 2/9/2010 11:47:38 AM
Thanks for this, Jen. It's not nearly as preachy as you might think (at least not to me). I've been wrestling with this same issue, so thanks for making me think more deeply about it. JD

The Shortest Blog I've Ever Written (Article) - 2/7/2010 2:52:12 PM
I think I feel more like the frog. The opportunities have been just out of reach, but you're right--I should enjoy this quality writing time while I'm only working part-time.

The Shortest Blog I've Ever Written (Article) - 2/7/2010 1:54:14 PM
Great blog!! In job hunting are we the dragon fly or the toad? If you get caught you might regret it just like the fly. Writers don't like jobs.

The Shortest Blog I've Ever Written (Article) - 2/7/2010 5:28:02 AM
.....and that was one HUNGRY frog.

Panic (An Epilogue) (Article) - 1/31/2010 10:25:36 AM
Dear Jen, I just read your epilog. I congratulate you for you courage and willingness to serve as an example for others. I hope you will never have to go through this again. Love Emile

Until Then ... (Article) - 12/23/2009 6:20:34 AM
Dear Jen, Have a beautiful trip, a gorgeous holiday, and try to ski in Vermont. I used to visit Peru Vermont in the early 80's. It is where the rich live. Stay sweet. And stay warm. GOD BLESS, With Love Tony

Getting Yelled At By Neighbors ... Again (Article) - 12/18/2009 5:31:57 PM
Dear Jen, I like your story as I walk every day and I see what you encountered. Don't take your neighbor to heart. Some have their own problems. Love Emile

Getting Yelled At By Neighbors ... Again (Article) - 12/18/2009 5:56:59 AM
Funny article. Me being a cat and dog lover always side with the animal or pet. Every German Shepherd and there have been 3 of them always stayed very close to me. Since I moved to Phoenix and now have had cats(3) they are even closer. My current cat Giuseppe follows me into the bathroom and does not leave until I do. I am sorry I am writing about myself. This article was well written it could even go as a short story. Very entertaining piece pretty lady. GOD BLESS Tony

The Joy of Reading (Article) - 12/14/2009 10:52:13 AM
Hi Jen, I agree with you as far as internet shorthand. I actually have read poetry and in one case a short story using shorthand. So for me anyhow it is hard to be attentive. That is what I like about your writing. You pay attention to detail. To me a writing in detail flows better into my brain. I will see you in print. GOD BLESS YOU JEN Tony

An Unstarred Review (Article) - 12/8/2009 4:12:43 PM
Thank you kindly, Tony. Back 'at'cha!

An Unstarred Review (Article) - 12/8/2009 1:08:42 PM
Hi Jen, This was an excellent article. It held my complete attention. That is hard to do, since I usually only read articles on football. I think you are an outstanding writer! GOD BLESS Tony

Inconsistency (Article) - 12/3/2009 4:22:04 AM
Great point, John. I find that an author's first work is often my favorite. I just wish that artistic integrity outweighed money, but I suppose even the starving writer has to eat. I haven't yet had this problem, understand. I have no contract for a second book, not yet, and so I can take carte blanche to write about this topic. I wonder how differently I would feel if I were more sought out by the powers that be in the industry? I know nothing yet of deadlines. For the record, I know what it's like to be an anxious reader as well. I look forward to your next book, and yep... my expectations are high (no pressure). jen

Inconsistency (Article) - 12/3/2009 3:50:35 AM
Very thought-provoking, Jen. I think you're on to something. I find that my manuscripts take on added texture the more drafts I write. My first book has been received extremely favorably, which makes me worry that the second won't live up to expectations once it's published. Indeed, my agent wanted two rewrites before she would accept it. I'm sure that multi-book contracts have something to do with the problem you describe -- an author frets and sweats over the first book, then has to scramble to meet an unrealistically tight deadline for book two. Just a thought. Thanks for sharing your views. JD

Realization (Article) - 11/30/2009 11:27:24 AM
Nicely spoken Jen. As one who spent the Thanksgiving away from family on vacation in a national park, I felt a bit of the tug to be with family, but most of mine is now gone and my daughter is half way around the world in another country. When I think back on Thanksgivings past I enjoyed those one most that were given to helping the down and out, as I have done many times at missions serving the holiday dinner to others.

The Climate of Creativity (Article) - 11/18/2009 4:12:24 AM
I can relate. Lived in Atlanta for 17 years. I think I got most of my writing done when it was stinking hot outside -- which was most of the year. Living farther north now (D.C. and Philly), so there are more outdoor temptations. No wonder I'm in Procrastination Mode on novel #3. I'll blame the weather. Yeah...that's what I'll do. Thanks for the built-in excuse, Jen.

Computercation (Article) - 10/31/2009 8:15:38 AM
Jen You are very amusing. Thanks Nicole

Computercation (Article) - 10/30/2009 5:59:50 AM
I know. I spend all day doing the same thing. Maybe I need a computercation, too.

Wave (Poetry) - 12/24/2012 10:01:39 AM
It begins it. I have been here before, as I could tell. For finding: that myself I have reborn But not seen, is forever to persist To gather around the seasons of space with the everlastingness of event With the layered energy as it is made of things. Into the logical fiber of the tribute: a thought arises And stays on course, slowly progressing, not done. By fear: the fear that’s been since forever, In the same space the inseparable normal good Being passed through mankind Came accessible to me: I fade into remoteness

Wave (Poetry) - 4/18/2011 3:03:53 PM
Dear Jen, I do this all the time and I always get a smile, which make me happy for the day. Love Emile

Relapse (Poetry) - 4/10/2011 9:38:45 AM
Reads more like flash fiction than poetry, Jen, but I like it.

Relapse (Poetry) - 1/17/2010 6:39:53 PM
I do see it as prose rather than poetry, Jen. Thank you for sharing. Love and best wishes, Regis

Relapse (Poetry) - 1/17/2010 4:03:46 PM
well.......it didn't rhyme..... and I understood it..... so there must be something wrong.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.