AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Robert Orfali, iRobin Ouzman Hislop, iShirley Houston, iMandeep Khera, iMiranda Pope, iJennifer Miller, iEdward Patterson, i
 
Home > Kevin Yarbrough
 

Recent Reviews for Kevin Yarbrough


The Fire Within (Book) - 3/15/2004 6:14:36 AM
The opening chapter of The Fire Within is like a kick in the gut and is perfect for making the reader empathize with Elysia Reeves, the daughter of a monster known as the Phoenix. Elysia is beaten and forced to have sex with strangers to satisfy her mother's need for babies she sacrifices to fuel her immortality. Elysia's tortured existence is encapsulated in an opening sequence that details her repeated rape by a sweating fat man her mother paid to assault her, but the real horror is symbolized by two little words she must say to her mother after each episode of cruelty: "Thank you." The rest of the story isn't nearly as graphic as Elysia attempts to escape her torture with the help of Kaleb, one of the men her mother brings to rape her. She manages to get away, but her mother is able to track her down and wreaks havoc and death on everyone Elysia comes in contact with. Elysia and Kaleb are able to escape again and try to rebuild their lives with each other and their baby on the way, but Elysia knows her torment will never end unless she faces her mother for a final showdown. Kevin Yarbrough writes brutal scenes in unflinching detail, but he also portrays the closeness and the depth of feeling between Elysia and Kaleb with a sincerity that exposes him as a caring, sensitive person. His characters are real--sometimes terrifyingly so--and his story never drags, right up to the end that sets the stage for the sequel I look forward to reading.

The Fire Within (Book) - 3/3/2004 4:55:54 PM
Move over Stephen King! Kevin Yarbrough's, "THE FIRE WITHIN", is without question one of the most horrifying books I have ever read and it left me looking over my back to see if a fire wall was raging my way. The characters, evil mother Kacia, surfaces as the demonized Phoenix who deliberately kills hundreds of people to keep her youthful appearance. Elysia, the daughter who is forcefully raped and held captive in order to produce offspring for Kacia's gluttonnous passion for youth, tries to escape the years of torture and abuse. After living a life of hate, grief and physical conflicts, Elysia bolts and finds herself in the middle of even more terrifying pain. Josh, who befriends Elsyia is eventually caught up in the raging terror and is literally burned to death by the vicious Kacia. Kacia leaves her burning wrath by dogging Elysia with fire walls. Will Elysia live to raise her unborn child? Will her lover, Kaleb die a horrid death? Does Elysia live to become the Phoenix? Read the book! Once I started reading Kevin's book it captured me to such a degree that I found myself desperately wanting to know the ending. Great job, Kevin. You did well with your first book and I hope there is a sequel to "THE FIRE WITHIN."

The Fire Within (Book) - 7/10/2003 6:45:36 PM
Your brother has every reason to be proud of you. Graphic, but yet it explained the big picture to a good story. Good way to express your talent.

The Fire Within (Book) - 7/9/2003 9:18:13 PM
I wasn't too sure about the idea of a horror novel, but I was very impressed by your writing. It was easy to visualise in my mind, and very addicting. That's a great combination for a great novel! I know I'll buy a copy.

The Fire Within (Book) - 7/9/2003 8:11:27 AM
Kevin, Stephen King is was my favorate author. But you as my nephew will be #1

The Fire Within (Book) - 6/1/2003 1:00:50 PM
"The Fire Within" by Kevin Yarbrough Being compared to Steven King is definitely a good thing. However, I don't completely agree. Your style is your own, and in my opinion superior. You have the touch of a master suspense writer. I see you as having a bright future with well deserved rewards. Keep up the good work.

The Fire Within (Book) - 5/2/2003 7:23:45 AM
Kevin~ Good stuff. Brutality that cause pain and suffering vivdly displayed. You are immediately drawn to the character,and feel for her. Count me as a fan.

The Fire Within (Book) - 4/24/2003 5:11:59 AM
Definitely on par with the likes of Stephen King...no doubt it. -Tim Johnson Author of Twisted Oak: Eyes of Discernment

The Fire Within (Book) - 4/23/2003 9:17:31 AM
Kevin, I had no idea you had such great writing talents. It doesn't sound like porn at all. It definitely grabs the reader, and leaves you wanting more. Great job! Dawn

The Fire Within (Book) - 4/22/2003 9:28:00 AM
Kevin, Goodness! I was taken in quickly and held. I do see the King influence!!! I am patiently awaiting the release of your book. I will add it to my collection..next to Stephen and Tabitha (his wife, who by the way is just as good as her hubby!) The first part was graphic, but that compliments and completes the way you draw your reader into the story. I wish you well, and keep the fire burning! Your Other Mama, Candy

The Fire Within (Book) - 2/15/2003 1:12:22 PM
Kevin, A powerful piece of fiction here. Horror, especially graphic horror is a hard media to work in. I think you have a definite winner here! A. Fauglid PA Demonlands 2001. PA Arizona Lights 2003.

The Fire Within (Book) - 1/3/2003 6:41:19 PM
The excerpt pulled me in hook, line, and sinker. You have set up a chilling premise for a great book. Good luck!

The Fire Within (Book) - 11/20/2002 8:04:14 PM
sucked me right in. aside from the frequent changes in verb tense - past, present - this excerpt leaves the door wide open for whatever horror elysia's mother actually encompasses. i want to know and i want elysia to get her revenge. the only other thing i'd like to see, after becoming acquainted with the vile soul of the fat man, would be to witness some of his execution. the bastard deserved everything he got.

The Fire Within (Book) - 11/19/2002 3:53:41 PM
Enticing, mysterious, provocative, suspenseful, these are just a few words to describe your work! Great job!

The Fire Within (Book) - 11/17/2002 6:42:55 PM
VERY well written, Kevin! I can sure see Stephen King influence there. It's all very gripping. It's sure to be a knock-out. Good luck with it!

The Fire Within (Book) - 11/16/2002 9:50:33 AM
WOW very very good. Cant wait till it comes out. Let me know. Its going to be the best.

The Fire Within (Book) - 11/14/2002 7:42:37 PM
What an incredible story Kevin. It leaves the reader with so many emotions and anticipating a mighty power struggle between mother and daughter.

The Fire Within (Book) - 11/14/2002 1:59:31 PM
This produces so many questions waiting, of course, to be answered in the book. Waiting will be difficult. Powerful!

The Fire Within (Book) - 11/14/2002 1:45:24 PM
Powerful stuff! Kevin, you know how to grab the reader and not let go! Your description made me feel her pain and sense the evil...excellent job!

The Fire Within (Book) - 11/14/2002 1:20:39 PM
The Fire Within”…is a griping powerful piece of literature! It left me, wanting to read more…well done!!

The Fire Within (Book) - 11/14/2002 10:23:09 AM
This is AWFUL, and I mean that in a good way. I found myself thinking, "imagine if this were REAL". I want to read more, not only to find out if she escapes from her mother, but if she ends up with that "nice guy". Lisa

The Fire Within (Book) - 11/14/2002 9:43:23 AM
Great, Kev! Graphic and relentless!

The Fire Within (Book) - 11/13/2002 5:32:01 PM
Excellent job, Kevin, in portraying Elysia's pain and the evil of the Phoenix.

The Fire Within (Book) - 11/13/2002 2:54:14 PM
Move over Stephen King, here comes Kevin Yarbrough! The Fire Within will have you holding your breath. Well done.

The Fire Within (Book) - 11/13/2002 2:20:20 PM
Sounds like a great storyline, look forward to the final product. 'Good vs. Evil' makes for exciting fiction!

X Marks the Spot (Short Story) - 8/20/2004 1:00:00 PM
Wow, I never expected the ending. Cool. Good read!

Easter's Nightmare (Short Story) - 7/13/2004 5:21:25 PM
Very nice write! It gave me chills! Tabitha Sams

Easter's Nightmare (Short Story) - 10/29/2003 9:59:13 PM
Sounds frighteningly like revenge. I've killed and eaten a gazillion rabbits. They will never look the same again! Good story Kevin.

Bone Gap (Short Story) - 8/10/2003 7:45:55 AM
That was a great read! Good job. I noticed you were hooking up with PA for your first book...awesome! I went through them too. Best of luck to ya.

Easter's Nightmare (Short Story) - 7/21/2003 1:01:45 PM
Hey man, remind us to never live in a town called Easter or even name a place, Easter! Way cool! Now can you have the Easter Bunny meet that cool dog that spell out words in that Dean Koontz book? Bet the dog will win! lol CC Colee (Chris and Cody)

Bone Gap (Short Story) - 7/9/2003 9:34:48 PM
Very nice short story, It ended kind of soon though;)

Eli Harris and the Dark Knight (Short Story) - 6/25/2003 1:33:50 PM
Great read, but I need more to get into the story. The title has me interested, I love reading about knights and magic. There is magic, I hope? :) I'd like to get my hands on the rest of the story.

Bone Gap (Short Story) - 6/7/2003 4:10:06 PM
Damn Kev, this one is darkly solid here. I am liking this one. I am going to be doing a weekly writers showcase and will be taking links from the short stories that the writers have them posted on and will link them up from an entry on livejournal. This story is going to be part of the next posting that I am going to do giving people the url see of the story -- and this story is one of those that will put Southern Illinois on the map. I wrote a few of my own here -- one that would be something you'd appreciate is "Places of the Cold" and "De Pointe Noire" if you like the Ray Bradbury style horror.

Bone Gap (Short Story) - 5/17/2003 6:53:56 PM
Kev, Sounds like the beginnings of a 'bone' chiller, no doubt. Keep us posted on its progress.

Easter's Nightmare (Short Story) - 5/9/2003 9:49:54 PM
<shudder> I never liked rabbits in the first place! What a completely creepy and enjoyable read. And I sure am glad there's no such place as Easter, Alabama! Way to go, Kevin!

Bone Gap (Short Story) - 5/4/2003 11:54:02 PM
Another winner, Kevin! A delectably chilling encore to The Fire Within. Keep working and get this one completed, too!

Bone Gap (Short Story) - 5/2/2003 7:31:48 AM
Well done, Kevin. I like your style. Great for a short story, but it makes me want it to be a whole book. I'm hooked... and a fan.

Bone Gap (Short Story) - 5/1/2003 7:11:14 PM
Well... its sounds like Children of the Corn except here you deal with grown ups. And like the children of the town lived by the motto that no one should live beyond their 18th birthday. Again here once you enter you can never leave. The kids leader Isaac leads the kids in an almost cult like way. His chief enforcer Malachi ensures that everyone stays in line. Whenever killing has to be done Malachi is the one that is called on to do it. Here we have Judas, a preacher, but he isn’t really a preacher. He preaches about a God and a religion that doesn’t really exist, at least it doesn’t really exist outside of Bone Gap. Keeping in line a town who knew better than to help those ousted by Zion. The rolling mound is also familiar with the story. To be honest there are too many similarities, but is well written. I'd have to read more of the story to make a better judgement call. But overall you might have something here. Thanks for the invite.

Eli Harris and the Dark Knight (Short Story) - 4/23/2003 9:44:35 AM
Kevin, To me, this one wasn't as "capturing" as the others. I guess I'm just not big on Fantasy reads. The Knole seems like a cute creature though. Go crazy! Dawn

X Marks the Spot (Short Story) - 4/23/2003 9:38:35 AM
Great job Kevin! I don't usually like vampire stories, but this one kept me hangin' on. Is there more? Dawn

Easter's Nightmare (Short Story) - 4/23/2003 9:28:24 AM
Kev, How can you take a cute, fun holiday, like Easter and turn it into this? You're a sick man, and that's what I like about you. You are very creative and imaginative. These are the kind of short stories I and other people like to read. This could actually lead into some kind of movie. Good job, Kevin! Dawn

Easter's Nightmare (Short Story) - 4/22/2003 9:38:59 AM
Kev...boy, when you get on a roll you just go for it. This is one powerful "urban legend", dude!!! I really liked the "lucky foot" reference. Reminds me of a story about disgruntled deer I heard once.

X Marks the Spot (Short Story) - 4/22/2003 3:40:22 AM
This is a dark read, I love it. Got any more -- got any darker ones here. The rabbit story is just hilarious.

Easter's Nightmare (Short Story) - 4/22/2003 3:34:27 AM
I am being from Illinois, this one really hits home -- fucked up little read here. Where this would scare the living fuck out of other readers -- I am just laughing my ass off (just read some of stories I wrote on here. "Darkness From The Skies," "Library of Bones" and "Tundra Sands" are some of mine.) You have a sick sense of humor. :lol: Here I am laughing about this one which says a lot about me.

Easter's Nightmare (Short Story) - 2/24/2003 6:05:31 PM
Hey - freaky stuff! Let me scrape off my goose bumps. Ohio, huh? Guess it couldn't have happened in Jersey, no way. Anyway, good news is, them Easter eggs is gonna be supersized, no sh...t! Jolly good read, Kevin. Gotta read some more of your quill drippings! mark "philwit" ;)

Easter's Nightmare (Short Story) - 2/24/2003 10:03:48 AM
once again you have a good story, Kevin, keep it up!!!

Easter's Nightmare (Short Story) - 2/19/2003 8:43:46 AM
Great read!

Easter's Nightmare (Short Story) - 2/19/2003 5:42:28 AM
Excellent! Got to the suspense immediately, and maintained it throughout. Nice ending, too, suggesting that it ain't really over.. I'll never think of Easter in quite the same way again. Thanks for a great story!

Easter's Nightmare (Short Story) - 2/19/2003 5:17:00 AM
Kevin, Some great lines in there, man. I especially enjoyed the Charlton Heston "Planet of The Apes" reference..i.e, 'get your hands off of me, you damn dirty....rabbit'. Just what every good horror tale needs: a little black humor mixed with just the right amount of mayhem and gore. My wife and I own a mini-lop rabbit, and I'll never look at that little rascal the same... Good stuff....

Easter's Nightmare (Short Story) - 2/18/2003 4:44:34 PM
Clever unlucky twist...I especially liked the "foot" reference...at the end...good job!

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.