AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: jd young, iGreg Pendleton, iRM DAmato, iSuzanne Tabor, iRonald Yates, iChynna Laird, iMel Hathorn, i
 
Home > Joe Tuffy tofuri@swbell.net
 

Recent Reviews for Joe Tuffy tofuri@swbell.net


Lobisón (Book) - 1/5/2014 2:34:29 PM
"Lobison" Breathes New Life into the Werewolf Lore! December 8, 2012 By Char Hardin Joe's story flowed and it was quite refreshing to be able to sit and read it straight through without struggling to understand what the story was showing me and not just telling me. One of the reasons I like Joe's work, he is not just telling the story, his CHARACTERS are living and talking for themselves and letting their voices, thoughts and actions unfold and show me how the characters were handling the situations and pushing me ever closer to the end. Which isn't really the end, because there is going to be a sequel! Sometimes authors silence their characters by telling a story, which bores me to tears, but not Joe...he allowed his characters to BREATHE and TALK and I liked that. Another flaw that drives me insane is over-the-top descriptions that is something you will not find in Lobison. His depiction of the wolves and the details of the scenery were spot on and at no time was I bored. Lobison is a real pager turner. Tofuri's werewolves are not the Twilight caliber, they are frightening, wild beasts with a thirst for blood and violence. If you read one book on werewolves...make it LOBISON. Once you read it, you will be like me, hungering for the sequel. Char Hardin

Tuffy's Heroes-Revised Edition!! (Book) - 9/15/2004 5:58:24 PM
One of the best books I have read in years. This book stirred all the emotions from feeling the apprehension of the trainees, laugther to the point of tears, to some tears at the end of the book. Mr. Tofuri's writing immerses you in the BMT experience and I found that I couldn't wait to get home to see what happened next. For those who may not have a military connection the book is a delight and has some thought provoking insights that apply to the every day civilian workplace. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for an enjoyable, (and I do mean enjoyable!), and thought provoking read. Mr. Tofuri, I look forward to reading your other books and will be looking forward to your next work.

Tuffy's Heroes-Revised Edition!! (Book) - 6/5/2004 11:25:29 AM
As a former Military Training Instructor (MTI/TI) I had the honor and pleasure of previewing Tuffy Tofuri's book 'Tuffy's Heroes'. I enjoyed the manuscript so much as soon as I was notified the book was available, I ordered it. The book chronicles the adventures/misadventures of young civilians going into Air Force Basic Military Training (BMT). Tuffy describes in graphic and profane language the trials and tribulations of basic trainees; the pressures on the TI by peers, supervisors and officers, and family. It is at times funny, outrageous, unbelievable, and very down to earth. As a TI that 'walked-the-walk' I got very immersed in the book as I related to all the incidents described. I remembered things I had forgotten but now were refreshed as I kept reading. This is a must read for all past and present MTI's/TI's; and although present TI's can't do many of the things Tuffy describes, it will give them some insight of the TI mindset at that time. Civilians who have never served in the military, much less in the MTI career field, might cringe at some of the things happening, but will also have compassion with the trainees and TI's as the weeks pass by. Tuffy details vividly the exasperation of the TI trying to meld civilians into a cohesive unit. When the TI gets some time off, he takes the work home or to the bar with him as he has a few beers with his friends. The most poignant portion of the book, in my opinion, is the last chapter as Tuffy is winding down after his flight graduates from BMT and he is contemplating the new flight coming. I can't describe in a few words how I felt, as I read and remembered my exact feelings during this time, when I too contemplated my graduates. I verily emphathize with Tuffy during this point in the book, so I leave you with the thought I now can 'talk-the-talk' about this great book!

Tuffy's Heroes-Revised Edition!! (Book) - 2/24/2004 8:27:06 PM
Dear Tuffi What a thrill! I'm looking forward to reading the whole book. Your description of instrutors and recruits are so ..... vivid! Thanks for the most humourous memories this stimulates. Kamaradschaftlich Gabor

Film shoot of Room 333: The Voice of Terror (Short Story) - 5/22/2009 10:19:47 AM
Hope you get that call; you are in my prayers, Joe! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Burleson, Karen Lynn. :D Happy Memorial Day, Veteran, and thank YOU for YOUR service! God bless YOU!! :) (I did NOT forget, nor will I EVER!!)

An Air Force basic recruit is a...WEREWOLF?!!! (Short Story) - 7/11/2008 11:25:04 PM
Dear Chief, An excellent read! Very funny indeed... In Lackland, Texas In the 1960's There was a situation. That needed special attention. A weird wolf was among the crowd. This weird wolf, was a maggot, and not too proud. The weird wolf attacks. But the TI strikes back. In a scenario only a few can relate. The TI made a man, of this lowly ingrate. In the end, it came to pass. That this wolf just had his head deeply pressed between his ____! John Michael Domino, Major, USAF (ret.) PS: Did you know a TSGT Buckner or SSGT Holden? They took off a piece of my spine back in Nov 1969. Flight 1756 - Airman Basic Domino No - we never forget our mentors! "Sir, yes, sir!"

An Air Force basic recruit is a...WEREWOLF?!!! (Short Story) - 10/28/2005 1:10:22 PM


An Air Force basic recruit is a...WEREWOLF?!!! (Short Story) - 10/16/2004 9:41:06 PM
Extremely hilarious and so well told Tuffy. I simply must read the rest! Blessings, Rev Davey.

An Air Force basic recruit is a...WEREWOLF?!!! (Short Story) - 6/17/2004 5:57:37 PM
Great story, Sarge! Man, did some of that bring back memories of Lackland (some good, some not so good)..enjoyed it though... Terry V. (USAF 1983-1991)

An Air Force basic recruit is a...WEREWOLF?!!! (Short Story) - 6/16/2004 9:02:36 PM
What a story, Master Sergeant! I thoroughly enjoyed it. No doubt, Airman Wilson learned to soldier. However, I would have loved to have seen Sgt Nolan's face - especially after your last comment. Looking forward to the whole book with anticipation. Kamaradschaftlich Gabor

An Air Force basic recruit is a...WEREWOLF?!!! (Short Story) - 6/15/2004 2:29:09 PM
(((sgt. tofuri))) an air force basic recruit is a...werewolf!! is a funny story of what t.i.'s had to endure...and here we thought the same of t.i.'s, that they were vampires, at least, who loved to chew us up and spit us out :) i couldn't have done it--i would have killed a few recruits A LOL tale you've penned--and the best part, you lived it (and survived) THANK GOD i've got to have a copy of this book--keep me informed (((HUGS))) and love, karla. (usaf, 1983-85)

An Air Force basic recruit is a...WEREWOLF?!!! (Short Story) - 6/15/2004 10:23:46 AM
great story, sgt. tofuri! well done! *ALOOT!* and congrats on your forthcoming book! good for you! (((HUGS))) and love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :D

Marine Corps Drill Instructors!!! (Article) - 4/21/2007 12:13:18 PM
I wrote a story myself about my son's experience from my point of view on boot camp and the USMC. While mom's hate to see DI's yell at our babies during boot camp, we later thank them for saving our son's lives.

Marine Corps Drill Instructors!!! (Article) - 1/5/2007 2:00:52 AM
Great article, Tuffy! As a DI, you trained people to stay alive and keep their team alive. We look at the 3000+ casualties so far in Iraq and we think "how horrible," but, without their initial DI training, the death toll would be ten times worse. Nice job, Tuffy, and an excellent article! Ted

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 3/21/2014 1:15:13 AM
Well done, Joe. I especially recall those 'fire-filled skies' (mine in '57), red flags flying (and ignored) and 105 degree nights.

Louie's (Poetry) - 6/8/2009 6:01:46 AM
My food memory of the 50's is not Pizza, but the great hoagies we got at the corner grocery store and soda bar. Tom Maheck who is dead now, shredded cabbage for on the hoagies which gave them distintive taste. We went after school when Mother allowed and that was our hang out place and our dinner often too.

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 5/9/2009 7:08:50 AM
This poem is a powerful and heartfelt message. Also, it is a beautiful tribute to the brave men and women in the Air Force. I salute you! Please stop by my authors den sometime and let me know what you think of my work! I will be tracking your work and I look forward to reading more!

Louie's (Poetry) - 5/9/2009 7:05:34 AM
You have opened your heart and have shared your special memories. It will always be engraved in your brain and in your heart. Your simple, beautiful memory of the 1950's is well written in this poem. I can actually visualize the poodle skirts and see the pizza place. I was not born in the 1950's but I have seen pictures and movies about the 50's. It was a very special time for many people. Please visit my authors den sometime. I would love to see you review one of my poems or stories! Joanna Leone Connecticut

Louie's (Poetry) - 4/26/2009 4:54:48 PM
Old neighborhood pizza is the best still, not these new chains, oh and thanks alot, now I got the craving for a pizza...Ed

Louie's (Poetry) - 4/26/2009 8:18:07 AM
I'll bet that pizza was good!

Louie's (Poetry) - 4/26/2009 6:34:14 AM
What a nice stroll down memory lane! And the delicious taste of pizza never dies. Mary

Louie's (Poetry) - 4/26/2009 5:02:00 AM
Yes- and the music then was Perry Como and the Brothers Four...miss my Dad and his two-toned shoes. Great rethro poem It does bring back the 50's! Cynthia

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 10/14/2008 5:31:39 PM
I remember the era, the news broadcasts and you have captured it. CarolHawks

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 10/13/2008 10:02:42 AM
Thanks for serving our country and reminding us of those who still are! Sandy

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 9/16/2008 3:03:16 PM
It takes mighty strong people to go through basic training and drilling like you describe her. Those are the best people when finished though and our men and women serving their country are there because they want to be and I am so proud of them. It took much training to get them to where they are today. I just say a prayer for the Lord to keep them safe til they can all come home again.

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 7/11/2008 11:29:39 PM
A job well done Chief! I salute YOU! John Michael Domino, Major, USAF (ret.)

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 12/25/2007 4:42:20 AM
Very nicely done. You are technically expert in developing your vibrant mood, vivid imagery, compelling narrative and engaging theme. I was intrigued from beginning to end.

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 12/11/2007 8:55:10 AM
wow what a pome and story thanks for sharing it I myself am proud of all those who serve our country over the years,again thanks for a Grate Write!!!!

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 1/5/2007 2:06:33 AM
Right on, Tuffy! Write on! Ted

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 10/26/2006 10:51:30 PM
"In Search Of Thunder" A well written poetic narrative! I enjoyed myself at my daughters graduation in TX she made the thunder and we are so proud of her! Yes, you all will always be remembered in awe! Thank you for another bird's eye view of a MTI and the troops! Now that is coming from an Ex-JarHead Tuffy~ (((smile))) From the Heart of an Artist Quiet Storm

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 7/19/2006 4:26:35 PM
Great poem!!!!! How well I remember those days of drilling the troops. I recall your dignity, professionalism and determination to get the "sound of thunder".

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 4/21/2004 9:30:20 PM
A great write Tuffy. Thanks for sharing.

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 4/2/2004 9:10:33 AM
This is an excellent piece of poetry. Well metered and capture of image and ideal! Great job.

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 3/26/2004 4:40:00 PM
And kudos to you. It was a bad war, and an unnecessary one, but no one can fault the soldiers who fought in it.

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 3/23/2004 10:42:15 PM
I swear Karla knows everyone in Texas.. I loved the rhythm and beat in this poem - you certainly made it shine..and while I am not a supporter for war, I certainly respect the warriors who wear the uniform. My Dad was on the beach at Normandy with his brothers and he worked with a General as an MP.. I think this was great to write about your time. My Dad never talked about it and he's gone - so I can't really ask him. Nice job- keep writing what's in your heart. - Donna

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 2/17/2004 8:19:56 AM
Dear Comrade Tuffy The bitter-sweet memories rewaken of marching feet and the "hate-love affairs" we had with our "Instr-Uof" (Instructions-NCO) as a recruit - and then later the other way round... Great poetry - you have inspired me! Kamaradschaftlich and Bonne Service! Wachtmeister (ret. Sgt Gabor Renner, Swiss Army Medical Corps)

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 10/31/2003 10:56:30 PM
Very well written, Joe. I could hear the thunder of all those marching feet. Visit me sometime. Love in Christ~~ Bonnie Q Unicorn Haven

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 10/17/2003 9:05:04 AM
And now those days have long gone by, But my memories will never put asunder, How all those flights of men would try To search for that sound of thunder. Indeed the sound of thunder is a sound most revel in..I know I do!!! Well written, Enjoyed the write tremndously...nearly began marching myself..LOL Vesna

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 10/10/2003 8:14:56 AM
(((tuffy))) i'm so glad you re-posted this outstanding write--i can still make thunder LOL after twenty years LOL powerful and very moving piece--thank you, sir, for sharing it once again--into my library it goes (((HUGS))) and love *and a salute* karla. :)

In Search Of Thunder (Poetry) - 10/10/2003 7:57:38 AM
Wow..this was excellent, beautifully written, I felt this one so deeply this morning! Reindeer

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.