AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: richard cederberg, iErnie Heavin, iJay Dubya, iPaul Williams, iValerie publisher@nightengalepress.com, iCatriona King, iMike Monahan, i
 
Home > Kuir ë Garang
 

Recent Reviews for Kuir ë Garang


Is ‘Black’ Really Beautiful? The identity of the African Person (Article) - 7/9/2014 6:02:45 AM
Beauty, I think is defined as the property which accords desirability to an object notwithstanding lack of utility. As a color or shade, black is as desirable as any other colour, be it for living(Take pets, for example) or nonliving things(In fact, in many cases, black is the most popular color!). It so happened that the people to whom we got attracted were (rather still are) fair skinned. We are in effect considering fair skin as something to be sought after because that happens to be the skin of people we want to follow. It is rather easy to see why we want to follow those fair skinned, everything good is associated with them, be it health, wealth or happiness due to the improvements in lifestyle, environment, technological advances, et.al.. How come everything good is associated with them though historically it was not so, is another interesting question, the answer to which may be contained in the answer to the question, "why industrial revolution took place in the west"

Is ‘Black’ Really Beautiful? The identity of the African Person (Article) - 4/22/2013 9:06:14 AM
Thank you Ronald for your thoughtful views. I recently published a book with the same title: Is' Black' Really Beautiful? In the book I tried to separate people from the color that has been used to describe them. I've applied this line of thought to both Africans and Europeans. For example, whiteness is a 'description' of the Europeans not the essence of who they are; and 'blackness' isn't Africanness. It's a description of the Africans; a description from without. I understand that when people say 'Black is Beautiful'they mean to say 'I am beautiful' or 'Africans are Beautiful' or 'African-Americans are beautiful.' What unnerves me is when people of African descent and Africans go to the extent of owning 'blackness'; seeing who they are and the color itself as one and the same. When they say 'black is beautiful' they not only say 'we are beautiful' they are also saying the color black is beautiful. So when someone says that a 'black cat' is a sign of bad luck, Africans and people of African descent feel offended. But why? The blackness of the cat and their blackness aren't the same. One is literal and one is metaphorical or symbolic. Their anger stems from the fact that they've completely owned blackness and they become defensive of the 'color' itself. Owning blackness comes with the risk of owning all the bad baggage that comes with it. I've argued in the book that 'blackness' is only a description and it's not who they are.Instead of glorifying blackness; which isn't all the time beautiful,and which wasn't intended to glorify them, they should glorify who they are. How about Jamaicans are beautiful? Haitians are beautiful? African-Americans are beautiful? Ghanians are beautiful? It's okay to describe people color-wise, as long as one considers their humanity and values when describing them; however, it's a perilous disservice to reduce the HUMANITY of the people to a mere color; a color that's isn't actually representative or glorifying. Cheers and have a good weekend.

Is ‘Black’ Really Beautiful? The identity of the African Person (Article) - 4/21/2013 6:27:47 AM
A very well thought out and constructive article. After working with the Afro American community in higher education over thirty years, there seems to be discrimination and great concern about the color of one's skin that is not prevalent in those of us of European descent who look more at ethnic origin for our discrimination. The guy in the black hat somehow is mean or evil, and the guy in the white hat is the hero. Black cats are feared because they may cause us bad luck. All sorts of connotations of badness surrounds the people of the African continent, the dark continent. It's all a matter of trying to gain self-esteem. To say, “Black is beautiful,” is really no different from Christina Aguilara singing, “You are beautiful, no matter what they say.” In my experience, people from the African continent that I have met have the highest self-esteem. Those here in the United States with a very mixed heritage, still have the stigma of slavery hanging over them and for some reason, often lack the self-esteem they need to move forward. Just a few thoughts on your well-written article. Ron

Discretion in multicultural societies (Article) - 12/8/2010 8:00:18 AM
I have the freedom to swing my arm, as long as it does not harm someone. I understand what you are saying here and agree. It is a principle taught by God in His Word, in 1 Corinthians 8:9-13. Very well written article! Z.B.McClure

Discretion in multicultural societies (Article) - 7/28/2010 11:29:48 AM
People should be free to speak as long as they are true to their words. Thanks Hollingshead and Trask...

Discretion in multicultural societies (Article) - 7/27/2010 5:16:09 PM
interesting read

Discretion in multicultural societies (Article) - 7/26/2010 7:13:17 PM
Best Consider Source...Really You Have Start Looking Outside Of (Your)Self!....My Momma Taught Me Always Tell It Like It Is! I Give All People Benefit Of Doubt,i.e. Only Color I See Is (Blood) Red! TRASK

Death, my funny friend (Poetry) - 7/9/2014 8:36:05 PM
Haha.. Amazing!! The way you go about it is sure gonna make death embrace you with tears in his eyes... Your work is truly inspiring!!! Gaining Inspiration from your work, I take this opportunity to share with you my journey in writing poetry. I very warmly welcome your reviews, encouragement and comments on my book - Poet's Choice. Link : http://www.amazon.in/POETS-CHOICE-Spirit-Amita-Sonthalia/dp/9351371018/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1404929656&sr=8-2&keywords=Poet%27s+Choice Also, please do check out my poems showcased here, on Authors Den too. Thanking you, Akshay Sonthalia

South Sudan Independence (Poetry) - 12/4/2012 6:53:25 AM
You are so right! Freedom is so simple, simply profound.

NATO (Poetry) - 10/20/2011 12:31:01 PM
Interesting. Liz

Loved You'll Always Be (Poetry) - 10/8/2011 1:34:44 PM
Indeed, Connie!

Loved You'll Always Be (Poetry) - 10/7/2011 1:34:01 PM
Nothing like a little child to light up your life! Connie

I'm Just A liar (Poetry) - 7/31/2011 8:41:26 AM
Thanks a lot Paul.

Amy Winehouse R.I.P (Poetry) - 7/31/2011 8:41:00 AM
Thanks, John.

Amy Winehouse R.I.P (Poetry) - 7/23/2011 4:51:42 PM
May Amy rest in peace.

I'm Just A liar (Poetry) - 6/12/2011 1:27:06 AM
Well written poem, Kuir

Real Woman, Southern Woman (Poetry) - 3/19/2011 6:26:40 AM
Nice description of a REAL woman. We should all learn from the Real Women of the world. Donna

Sister, your best you is you (Poetry) - 11/16/2010 12:12:48 PM
Wonderful, inspiring advice! Barbara Henry

Why I read (Poetry) - 11/16/2010 12:05:51 PM
Kuir, Great work of art! From the reading of just this poem, I can tell that you are a gifted,serious, writer. Continued success~ Barbara Henry

The Cosmological Balls (Poetry) - 11/16/2010 5:09:45 AM
well done

Space and Time, the little girl (Poetry) - 7/12/2010 10:51:17 AM
Exquisite subject matter and portrayal ~ Christine

Hiding (Poetry) - 6/25/2010 12:38:12 AM
Powerfully written

I’ll wipe ‘em and Say your name loud (Poetry) - 6/15/2010 4:15:58 AM
Now this is real poetry, from the soul and it grasped my soul. Impressive work.

I’ll wipe ‘em and Say your name loud (Poetry) - 6/12/2010 7:26:04 PM
I like it, interesting reading.

I’ll wipe ‘em and Say your name loud (Poetry) - 6/12/2010 5:08:17 PM
i like....very heartfelt and right on commentary and vindication of those who believe God, at least in the narrowly judeo christian construction, has failed to provide materially and spiritually and certainly not for a path of ultimate and complete liberation for the oppressed people of this earth....keep up the good work

Sister, your best you is you (Poetry) - 4/20/2010 5:49:19 PM
Inspiring. --Charlie

Sister, your best you is you (Poetry) - 4/20/2010 2:38:33 PM
Very moving! Dayvid

Death, my funny friend (Poetry) - 2/6/2010 12:30:17 PM
Very philosophical poem, and you pose soem interesting questions to the reader. Death is a funny friend, and our relationship with it grows and changes with us. I liked this very much.

Josephine never came back! (Poetry) - 11/24/2009 1:37:41 PM
Good poem.take care

Hypocrisy (Poetry) - 11/24/2009 1:36:18 PM
A sad reality which is true.A well written piece.take care

Hypocrisy (Poetry) - 11/21/2009 8:13:32 AM
So true. Wonderful write. And so sad. Mary

The HindIsland (Poetry) - 9/20/2009 5:34:26 AM
Very interesting indeed..well done dear man..stay safe and well..Hugss

The HindIsland (Poetry) - 9/20/2009 12:10:05 AM
Very rooted down to earth poem, yet searching the sky.

The HindIsland (Poetry) - 9/19/2009 12:23:07 PM
DESTINED TO LIVE FOREVER ON THE ISLAND OF ONE'S FOREFATHER'S ONE LAMENTS THAT ONLY DEATH WILL SET THEM FREE TO EXPERIENCE 'DAWN'. DONE WELL THANKS FOR SHARING AND GOD BLESS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Josephine never came back! (Poetry) - 9/19/2009 12:13:38 PM
NICE WRITE. THANKS FOR SHARING AND BLESSINGS. JOYCE*HIS INSPIRATIONS

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.