AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Odyssia Learning, iMargaret Hardisty, iWilliam Bonilla, iShelley Costello, iLindsey Webster, iCarolyn Matherne, iAlfred Schwab, i
 
Home > Dennis Arthur Dames
 

Recent Reviews for Dennis Arthur Dames


Ms. Crimson my Vampire love (Short Story) - 8/15/2007 12:50:04 PM
woah i liked. i don't usualy read to many love stories with vampires in them very good

Ms. Crimson my Vampire love (Short Story) - 11/11/2002 1:47:57 PM
good write! love, a new friend in america, karen lynn. (((HUGS))) :)

Leave Jesus Christ out of it! (Article) - 12/5/2002 6:02:33 AM
Most people who use the name of Jesus, or any other cultural/spiritual icon, are usually hucksters, otherwise they'd stand on the merit of their ideas alone. Besides, no "Christian" religion existing today is based on Christ's teachings - the Catholic Church was initially based on St Paul's ideas of what Christ taught and even that was changed over time as the Church got more and more political. Eventually the teachings of Christ who railed against earthly authority and the poisonous, artificial hierarchy that man establishes, were transformed by a temporal Church into a pro-government, "do as your told and don't question authority" kind of preaching. It's a shame. During the late 19th Century Leo Tolstoy was heavily influenced by the American social reformer Henry George, who really studied Christ's teachings and advanced his original anti-government message. After "Anna Karenina" and "War and Peace" Tolstoi's books are all based on his new found Christianity - "My Confession," "The Gospels in Brief," "The Kingdom of God is Within You" etc and though he never had another literary success, Gandhi would later claim Tolstoi as one of his primary influences. So in that sense, the 20th Century's non-violent movement for social change was started by a simple man (Henry George) who understood that the real message of Christ was, as you point out, "The kingdom of God is within us," and "Our kingdoms are not of this world." Fine writing and right on point.

Leave Jesus Christ out of it! (Article) - 12/4/2002 1:02:52 PM
We have the same nonsense in the U.S. They have the same balderdash in the Taliban. Everyone thinking that the gods are on their side rather than worrying if they are on the side of the angels. Well done.

Leave Jesus Christ out of it! (Article) - 12/4/2002 12:57:07 PM
good write, but i am inclined to disagree. still, you are entitled to your opinion, and i respect you for it, but i don't agree with what you had to say.

Hateful Love (Poetry) - 7/31/2011 10:03:28 PM
The ups and downs of a relationship. I liked the imagery of commitment through good times and bad and the expression of "randomly presentment of hateful love" and the idea that one may "act" or behave "hateful" at times but the normalcy of love does return.

Blind Date Vampire Lover (Poetry) - 8/15/2007 12:53:44 PM
woah very good i just read your short story about a vampire and being her lover. it seems to me you like vampires and would like to be one. am i wrong? ah well very very good poem keep it up

Hateful Love (Poetry) - 7/18/2007 7:59:39 PM
I've never understood how love can turn to hatred in an instant. There are things in this world I hope I never learn.

Wedding poetry for the Bride and Groom (Poetry) - 6/19/2007 5:15:51 PM
Sooooooooo Sweeeeeeeeet.

Wedding poetry for the Bride and Groom (Poetry) - 5/30/2007 7:00:30 PM
This is what we all need to hear and focus on much more wholly. Ty for this gem Ch'erie

Dark love (Poetry) - 5/22/2007 1:16:03 PM
Very dark and interesting to boot! Warmly,WArrior Spirit Lady PURPLE Sheee BE SAFE! STay Positive!

Poem sex, lovers and the valentine... (Poetry) - 5/18/2007 5:52:09 AM
WOW THIS REMINDS ME OF MY MATE AND I AND HOW INTENSE WE ARE.

Wedding poetry for the Bride and Groom (Poetry) - 5/18/2007 5:50:33 AM
MY DAY IS FINALLY COMING AND I THANK GOD FOR SENDING ME SUCH A LOVING MAN.

People of Light (Poetry) - 2/22/2007 11:38:40 AM
An excellent write! Holly

A Valentine Spectacle (Poetry) - 2/22/2007 11:37:08 AM
Dennis, A Valentine Spectacle' was inspiring and uplifting. Great work! Holly

Blind Date Vampire Lover (Poetry) - 2/21/2007 4:18:08 AM
Ahhhh... a fitful poem for a divinely spooky season! YOu wrote this with elequent style Dennis I very much enjoyed! Thank you for sharing your treasure~ Warmly, WArrior Sheeeoox

Lustful Eyes (Poetry) - 2/21/2007 4:12:53 AM
-D- YOur poem " People of Light" 11-11 I just had to follow/track you down! I will NOW! This poem is deeply moving... You give a reader a lot to think about... WArmly, WArrior Sheeeoox

People of Light (Poetry) - 2/21/2007 4:05:54 AM
OHMyGod, OH Yes, PLease! Stay in the Light! I will rest my laurels there as well! Great pen you have conqored! I find this poem a treasure of gem! One I find I must keep! To read a over many times~ Thank YOu Dennis for sharing your heart! ~Come to my den anytime you can~ When you do- leave what may have inspired YOU! :) Warmest Blessings and Light! WArrior, Lady Sheee 11:11 P.s. Just sharing with you, I met my boyfr. on Novemb. 11th 2002 - If that means anything to you,the date that is. (Of almost 6yrs. who has 3 Angels, ages 17- boy- 14 and 12 girls, and that was online! on Match.com No lie, if you knew my writings - You would know I am truly honest and blunt! I say what I feel...

A Valentine Spectacle (Poetry) - 2/21/2007 3:56:36 AM
YOU seem to write on tehe 11th of the month! How coicendental I don't really believe in coindences, it's FATE! It's our light that is showing and being reminded! I see 11:11 all the time, AM and PM where ever I am~ There is a site for this - Did you know... LightWorkers... YOur poem and YOUR words are a Treasure! YOu do have a way with words about you! PEACE and WArmth, WArrior Sheeeoox When you can - come to my corner of the den and see what resonates...

Wedding poetry for the Bride and Groom (Poetry) - 2/21/2007 3:51:06 AM
Beautifully said and felt! Thank YOU Dennis for sharing your heart! God Bless! God Speed! Stay Positive and in the light! WArmly, Warrior! Lady, Sheeeoox

A Valentine Spectacle (Poetry) - 2/12/2007 4:40:50 PM
love your way with words....sure felt spectacle to me enjoyed!!

People of Light (Poetry) - 12/6/2006 1:13:29 PM
great write.. Vesna

Poem sex, lovers and the valentine... (Poetry) - 11/20/2006 9:04:09 AM
well put (no pun intended) truly enjoyed how your words came together in celebration of

People of Light (Poetry) - 11/12/2006 4:58:46 AM
"People of Light" A excellent write, Dennis... I always wonder why some can't see the difference? Love and Peace~ Kimmy~

People of Light (Poetry) - 11/11/2006 7:54:50 PM
Very inspirational and informative lines in this well expressed poem...

Lustful Eyes (Poetry) - 11/10/2006 4:54:07 PM
nicely penned ... i enjoyed the read ...

Lustful Eyes (Poetry) - 11/6/2006 10:46:30 PM
A very human poem. R

Lustful Eyes (Poetry) - 11/6/2006 6:46:09 PM
Wow! leaves the reader with much to think about that's for sure. Blessings, Joyce Bowling

Lustful Eyes (Poetry) - 11/6/2006 5:27:27 PM
Wow!!! I am glad to be the first to read this tremendous art of expression.

Blind Date Vampire Lover (Poetry) - 10/30/2006 5:19:52 PM
I am glad to be the first to be delighted with this bloody halloween poem.

Waves on a roll (Poetry) - 10/29/2006 10:07:22 AM
Lovely

Waves on a roll (Poetry) - 10/29/2006 8:09:21 AM
Many beautiful and inspiring visuals in this piece....

Sciolist (Poetry) - 10/16/2006 10:33:49 PM
Sad thing is there are people like this in the world: superficial. I prefer substance myself. Thank you for this great poem, DL

I feel like writing a poem... (Poetry) - 9/19/2006 9:33:14 PM
Soulful free verse in all of its simplicity, and most stunning as a way this poem makes us as readers "feel." blessin's to you Brother, cynth'ya lewis reed

A Bahamian poem on Simplicity (Poetry) - 8/7/2006 11:52:26 AM
why does it trail off... so much? I can't figure it out..

I feel like writing a poem... (Poetry) - 6/14/2006 9:37:40 AM
IT IS ALWAYS AN INDEED PLEASURE TO READ SUCH FINE WORK

Wedding poetry for the Bride and Groom (Poetry) - 4/2/2006 6:42:57 PM
im going 2 have my pla sista 2 sing it at my wedding

Poem for War... against War (Poetry) - 2/12/2006 6:12:25 PM
==================================== >"Perhaps one-day war will be defeated… And conciliation become the blueprint of existence ..." < ==================================== A worthy wish indeed. Sadly, I fear we will not likely see a truly peaceful world in our lifetimes. A very thoughtfully written and powerful poem that obviously comes from the heart. Well done. Thank you very much for sharing it. J

Freedom (Poetry) - 11/5/2005 4:27:21 PM
Freedom is the rightousness of the almighty, and the slave mind is the corruption of the devil, again another peace of mastery keep up the good work, the style of your subject matter reminds me of the great historians.

A Bahamian poem on Simplicity (Poetry) - 11/5/2005 4:24:45 PM
I love the figurative language that grabs out at you, the imagery of your writing speaks of love, in a clarity of intelectual context, the voices creates a profile of unity, and the atmosphere speaks from the development of your theme, the impact gives the reader the linking of your emotions, faith that sings its own song, the rhythmic frees the quality of your creation, to take your readers on a journey, the aesthetic effect of faith, it speaks beyond the technical proficiency of master the arts.

Freedom (Poetry) - 7/21/2003 9:08:59 AM
The price of freedom is death, for those who spared there lifes blood that dripped from my brothers and sisters mouth. The battle field on satins grounds. Freedom came with the cutting of the cord, the link between the heaven and earth. Man was always free, subjected to one mans illusions that he ruled upon the earth. A slave is better off dead, who is enslave through his mind, universal torture of another man.

A Bahamian poem on Simplicity (Poetry) - 7/21/2003 9:04:30 AM
This is beautiful

Poem Despite the powerless reality... (Poetry) - 3/29/2003 6:46:35 PM
3-29-03 Man Has Will Aways Dig His Own Powerless Grave Greed Feeds Need, Powerless Feeds Mind,i.e. Deny The Soul What It Needs And Your Mind(s) Become Sick_ Wars Or Whores Man Is The Pimp Powerless To Stop His Incessant Greed For Power... TRASK

Poem Despite the powerless reality... (Poetry) - 3/29/2003 2:45:30 PM
your conclussion is a little pessamistic... i hope good write j+

Poem The music in the air... (Poetry) - 3/27/2003 1:25:09 PM
We must change the war drums into celebration of love. Very good.

Poem for War... against War (Poetry) - 3/26/2003 3:24:28 PM
Not a chance, but a nice dream and wonderful poetry. ~E

Wedding poetry for the Bride and Groom (Poetry) - 2/13/2003 11:17:02 AM
Beautiful expression about a sacred event... Love this especially-- "And their radiance… illuminates the day with true love"

Wedding poetry for the Bride and Groom (Poetry) - 2/13/2003 11:12:13 AM
This is lovely Dennis. Chrissie

Wedding poetry for the Bride and Groom (Poetry) - 2/13/2003 10:48:42 AM
Nice poem! Weddings are sooooo sweet--at least most of the time! After viewing your website a little, I really enjoy the way that you describe the Bahamas--I felt as if I was there again. My Mom made conch salad and conch fritters the other day and this poem reminded me of that as well. And yes, we are definitely a people that love the Lord! Keep celebrating the Bahamas.. Sincerely, Fellow Bahamian And author of "Sinking Sam"

Wedding poetry for the Bride and Groom (Poetry) - 2/13/2003 10:48:24 AM
So beautiful. Peg

A Bahamian poem on Simplicity (Poetry) - 2/4/2003 12:01:06 PM
simplicity is nice especially when you find yourself in a world that tries to make everything complex. Stay up..One.

Dark love (Poetry) - 1/8/2003 7:21:39 PM
Very nice piece! I enjoyed reading it. Thank you for sharing. Terry A O'Neal

Culture (Poetry) - 11/29/2002 4:17:34 PM
Well done!

Culture (Poetry) - 11/29/2002 3:32:49 PM
Good thoughts on the subject. "No culture can live, if it attempts to be exclusive." --Mahatma Gandhi "Whoever controls the media--the images--controls the culture." -- Allen Ginsberg "Men are so inclined to content themselves with what is commonest; the spirit and the senses so easily grow dead to the impressions of the beautiful and perfect, that every one should study, by all methods, to nourish in his mind the faculty of feeling these things. ...For this reason, one ought every day at least, to hear a little song, read a good poem, see a fine picture, and, if it were possible, to speak a few reasonable words." --Goethe

Friendly Skies (Poetry) - 11/27/2002 11:52:07 AM
The friendly skies can get unfriendly in a hurry. Bill

Friendly Skies (Poetry) - 11/27/2002 6:33:52 AM
We hope that those "Friendly skies" will one day be universal.

Paranoia (Poetry) - 11/26/2002 2:06:47 PM
"...paranoia/ the incedental protocol." A masterful line in a masterful write. Bravo.

Paranoia (Poetry) - 11/26/2002 12:34:21 PM
A poetic definition. Awesome write.

Fear (Poetry) - 11/25/2002 2:27:33 PM
You break the shackles with the power of your words.

Fear (Poetry) - 11/25/2002 7:24:54 AM
Must be a hell of a place! "Where fear stands outside its boundaries." When fear is on the loose ... anything can happen. It is the fear that drives men to horrendous, dreadful acts. Lucky we can control it most of the time, isn't it? Bill P.S. Be of good cheer. We are never alone.

Democracy (Poetry) - 11/24/2002 8:36:15 AM
Very good. As Abbie Hoffman said: "Democracy is not something you believe in or a place to hang your hat, but it's something you do. You participate. If you stop doing it, democracy crumbles."

Democracy (Poetry) - 11/24/2002 8:32:03 AM
Short, sharp and sanely done.

Creatures in my backyard (Poetry) - 11/23/2002 7:10:43 AM
Outstanding

A tattered peace (Poetry) - 11/23/2002 7:09:55 AM
Wow! I've never heard it better stated. 3 cheers for you.

Creatures in my backyard (Poetry) - 11/22/2002 5:33:42 AM
very good!!!!!

Intercourse (Poetry) - 11/18/2002 11:12:46 PM
Words of Great Wisdom

Favorite Movies (Poetry) - 11/18/2002 11:11:51 PM
Very Well Written

Intercourse (Poetry) - 11/15/2002 5:35:03 AM
Frightening and real.

Sciolist (Poetry) - 11/14/2002 7:16:50 AM
I don't think I'm a sciolist -- I had to look up the word before reading your poem -- since I admit to only a tidbit of knowledge in the scheme of things. But I do like this poem and the fact that it challenged me to seek answers.

Tranquility (Poetry) - 11/13/2002 4:49:40 PM
Wow, I never could shut my mind up long enough to find this type of tranquility, sounds wonderful!! Erin :)

Tranquility (Poetry) - 11/13/2002 3:10:41 PM
It is so hard for some cultures to understand the tranquility of which you speak. I almost never encounter it or know it. Bill

Tranquility (Poetry) - 11/13/2002 6:15:54 AM
So beautiful and filled with truth.

Poem: Nothing to complain about... (Poetry) - 11/12/2002 7:42:41 AM
Wonderful soothing images! ~ Dee

Poem: Nothing to complain about... (Poetry) - 11/12/2002 5:11:07 AM
Nice write. Cool images. Cheers, Tim

Poem: Nothing to complain about... (Poetry) - 11/12/2002 4:55:45 AM
Wonderfully understated paean to nature.

Dark love (Poetry) - 11/11/2002 1:39:21 PM
Very interesting, I like the ending very much! Maria

Dark love (Poetry) - 11/11/2002 12:02:54 PM
a fresh take on that dark eternal love

I feel like writing a poem... (Poetry) - 11/11/2002 9:55:09 AM
Thanks Dee C. for your kind remarks and caution. It is my pleasure to be here, and look forward to having fun with the crew. Dames

The terrorist's heart (Poetry) - 11/10/2002 5:51:01 PM
I agree with Ron Hull ... It isn't this simple. It never will be this simple. Bill

The terrorist's heart (Poetry) - 11/10/2002 1:42:46 PM
excellent...many of us feel the same...if only it were this easy, though...(((HUGS))) and love, karla. :(

The terrorist's heart (Poetry) - 11/10/2002 1:39:10 PM
i wish they'd get those guys; they are bad news, and they deserve all the punishment they can get! they are evil, and one day, they will face the TRUE god; then they will know that they screwed up!! good, emotional write! "MAY WE NEVER FORGET!" and "god bless america again!!"

The terrorist's heart (Poetry) - 11/10/2002 11:13:57 AM
Wish it were that simple.

The terrorist's heart (Poetry) - 11/10/2002 10:42:36 AM
Good emotional write!!!!! Sandie Angel :o) / May Lu $*_*$

I feel like writing a poem... (Poetry) - 11/10/2002 9:31:38 AM
Lovely write Dennis! Welcome to AD! One hint though...post one a day, otherwise the first one will get bumped off the current date list and will be less likely to be read. If that happens it can always be removed and reposted later. I learned this the hard way myself. Hope you enjoy your time here on AD, it's a great bunch of people! ~ Dee

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.