AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Ronald Yates, iDiane Hundertmark, iKate Saundby, iWayne Anderson, iJean-Pierre Gregoire, iBlue Sleighty, iBelle Ami, i
 
Home > Michael S. True
 

Recent Reviews for Michael S. True


Diabolical Seas (Book) - 11/10/2013 6:53:40 AM
Congratulations, Michael. Best wishes for a wide audience!

Black Holes (Short Story) - 10/20/2014 12:02:19 PM
I agree with Odin. I can't improve on his words. Never in my wildest dreams would I be able to write like this. But then, I don't think like this, either. Perhaps it's because I've never partaken of mind altering or mind enlightening drugs, and therefore write only from my pedantic, realistic experience. As for the smell of it, as a child I experienced all those smells up close and personal while playing games: of salt and blood, dirt, and flowers. Newly mown hay and green peas on the vine. The stink of the outhouse and fish slime on your hands. And the smell of dirty laundry and perfumed clothes in closet hiding places. And, a wisecracking joker of an uncle who tried every trick to get me to make a fool of myself in front of everybody. When I die I don't care what they do with me because I won't know what they're doing anyway. Ron

Black Holes (Short Story) - 10/12/2014 3:39:31 PM
This is an amazing piece, forging word and visual together into a textual-image that arrests any and all of us who have at some time in our lives only wanted to find the other side, that place where you could be who you thought you were...at least 'til you found out who you really were. (Gotta love the Zen of it all, eh?) I was particularly impressed with the juxtaposition of images and lexiconic merging you managed to make so emotional as you played out perhaps only today's iteration of personal revelation. Kudos, my friend. Kudos.

The New U (Short Story) - 6/10/2014 6:12:15 AM
Your story left me with mixed feelings. It has a very good ending, although so open-ended, leaving the reader to come to whatever conclusion the reader can come to, given the frailties of human behavior and the problems with "best laid plans." As a result, it may beg a sequel or become part of a novel. And in the end, the story became much more readable and faster paced, everything coming together. What I didn't like was so much description with little or no conversation. I am guilty of this. If you had interjected conversation into the lengthy descriptions, the story would have been more lively and action oriented. While I had courses in psychology and brain function at the graduate level, I was never one to study pharmacology or the various forms of mental illness. Your knowledge of these matters appears to be extensive and quite informative for the uneducated like me. However, the experimental study seems to be very expensive and full of all kinds of potential problems later on with all of the mixed subjects. But once again, I'm not an expert in these matters, so experiments may be conducted this way at great expense, tracking many outcomes at the same time. I'm not fond of using mind altering drugs, although I understand that most of psychiatry prefers drugs over other methods of treatment. Mental illness remains a major problem for society. With all of the institutions closed, the criminal system has been charged with taking on those with mental conditions unsuitable for society. Many are on the streets. I found myself mentally editing and finding that the story seemed overly long. There were some problems with tense with the overuse of "had." There were a few missing commas, and a couple of typos. Otherwise, it was well-written and the medical jargon was very believable. One can only conclude from the story that the sane are much more dangerous than the mentally ill. Ron

The New U (Short Story) - 6/9/2014 10:29:30 PM
Liked it !

The Church of the Cellular Transformation - 5 (Short Story) - 1/31/2014 7:33:52 AM
Much of humanity has migrated to the cities and to, in the United States, the suburbs. People in these heavily populated places have little choice for water, food, and land of their own making. A great deal needs to be done to make cities more sustainable and cleaner. As one apocalyptic seer has proclaimed, we have been spoiled by rapidly depleting our fossil fuels as slaves to our being and are having a difficult time leaving fossil fuels behind because they have made us powerful, but not richer. Your discussion about water in this article, is largely the result of the use of fossil fuels in every aspect of life, disrupting, depleting, and poisoning our water sources. Once, while visiting Niagara Falls with a bright doctoral student who has since carved out several deanships, now retired to savor his tenured full professorship, soon to be emeritus, he remarked, "I wonder where all that water comes from?" While watching the falls. I was shocked and dismayed that he knew nothing of the freshwater cycle. These, are our leaders. A couple little corrections again… Sorry the old professor reading papers in me… "religious epithets?" Delete "out" from "without out our help." "Grassland plains" Ron

The Church of the Cellular Transformation - 5 (Short Story) - 1/31/2014 1:00:42 AM
"we are a part of creation and never separate from it". That is the key, right there. But humans have a parasitic nature ...and just look at what they do to other parasites, including each other. I fear we may have gone too far. Fabulous write! Rx

The Church of the Cellular Transformation - 6 (Short Story) - 1/30/2014 7:01:27 AM
Wow! I am blown away by your insight in this amazing article in the stories section. You must have spent much time thinking through all of this before you wrote it. What you said about teaching has been a problem I struggled with while teaching. Educators seem to fail to understand that nature plays a larger role than John Dewey or even BF Skinner thought. Along the same lines, teaching conformity to the rules, whatever they may be, has always been unsettling to me when there is so much potential in humans to be creative and think "outside the box" leading to much better ways than following zombielike. During my summer of discontent when I was staying with my parents, between jobs, we would go to the lake on weekends. No longer able to fish or swim, I picked up one of the old inner tubes and set out on the lake in it. By paddling with my arms and legs I got around the placid lake quite well. I would spend 2 to 3 hours, while not flowing downstream, still half immersed in water and sky, sometimes brushing up against underwater stumps and weeds in the shallow lake, totally relaxed and in tune with the universe. The inner tube had a slight leak so I had to get back to the dock for my dad to pump it back up, but my biggest danger was sunburn, not sinking or have a musky or snapping turtle bite my toe. My nitpicker picked up a couple little things… I like the idea of "spilt nails on stone," but it set me back for a moment. … our impact on others and how they "affect" us. .… a "truer" self. Ron

Advertising Man (Short Story) - 1/22/2014 8:28:49 AM
There's not much difference between the snake oil salesmen of the old West, religionists of any stripe, and whatever the Madison Avenue boys are peddling these days. They require only a dumbed down dimwit with big eyes and an empty head, and the sale is on. How else can someone who can hit, throw, kick, or slam dunk a ball get paid a hundred million bucks?

Advertising Man (Short Story) - 1/4/2014 8:34:23 AM
A somewhat sad tale, but one that obviously became a bit of an inspiration for you. Probably only after a number of years did you shed that skin he so deftly laid upon you, but like any parental impact, time is a child's most reliable friend.

Advertising Man (Short Story) - 1/2/2014 11:28:00 AM
Very revealing. His actions shaped your character. As I read I thought of "Tin Men" (who sold my aunt aluminum siding that got dented in the first hailstorm that came along). More than one of our master's degree students were enthralled with the idea of "subliminal perception" that is still argued today as to its value. Your father was a real "hustler" in his day. My wife worked for a very successful local hustler whose biggest hustle was the Central Wisconsin State Fair. He also owned billboards all over Wisconsin and my wife would travel around the state selling billboard space to local businesses over lunch. She had to leave that pleasant job to marry me. My father wanted to be a farmer, and one time, almost bought a little resort/bar/grocery store. When offered to join my uncle's trucking firm, he declined, and stayed a Teamsters trucker until he retired at 62 with a nice Teamsters pension, thanks to their hustle in buying Las Vegas and no thanks to their skimming from the pension fund. Ron

Advertising Man (Short Story) - 1/2/2014 5:32:09 AM
Those 'dark arts' ride amok even more brutally today, Michael. We have always been assailed by snake oil salesmen. Your father simply rode it to a new level. Thanks for your insights and honesty. I know it must still hurt, this proof of truisms like 'live by the sword ..." (especially the holidays) and I hope this fine story helps make it bearable. Best, Jan

Advertising Man (Short Story) - 1/2/2014 3:34:56 AM
a very relavent story, thank you budd

The Church of the Cellular Transformation - 4 (Short Story) - 12/25/2013 8:23:54 AM
This article in the stories section I find it be both profound and enlightening. Using water as a metaphor for human existence, you have clearly pointed out what is wrong with society today. Essentially it is what has been wrong with society all along because we live by a "territorial imperative" from our animal origins that results in waste, hoarding, and greed. This entire process that some have called "the matrix," has locked us in a destructive cycle that will only lead to our demise if we do not change and emulate the cycle of life that nature has already provided for us where everything is naturally renewed. Change is the fundamental mover and we must change if we are to survive. Very well written and thought out. Ron

The Church of the Cellular Transformation - 3 (Short Story) - 11/17/2013 8:53:25 AM
A very interesting and timely article. I would tend to disagree about early man. I think that time is always been on the minds of early man because he and she knew that there was a certain time before lack of water or food would take a deadly toll. Therefore, every day became a race against that time when there was no water to drink and death would come. That is why the concept of gods, not God became prevalent in hunting and gathering cultures. Whenever good fortune befell a tribe, a good omen was attached to the surroundings and they were sought again. Whenever there was bad fortune, the surroundings were labeled (the devil) and shunned. Also, early civilizations seemed obsessed with time. The two most notable examples of very many is Stonehenge and the Mayan calendar, both very sophisticated timekeeping instruments that helped define time and survival for primitive people. I thoroughly enjoyed your romp through time. Ron

The Church of the Cellular Transformation - 2 (Short Story) - 11/15/2013 7:31:47 AM
Well explored and suggestive of so much we'll never have a full empirical answer to. Thank you.

The Church of the Cellular Transformation - 2 (Short Story) - 11/15/2013 3:23:40 AM
well written budd

The Church of the Cellular Transformation - 2 (Short Story) - 11/14/2013 7:58:18 AM
Before I read, I thought that this article (not a story) was about how the church of cellular phones as changed our perspective on life… ;-) Actually, as I read it, I see that you are presenting a view of religious thought as a naturist. I think that's quite all right, because this view is far less dangerous than much of theology based on proof less mythology. Where I differ is that I don't see anything godlike in the life force that creates cells that survive only to survive, in an endless cycle that eventually creates higher forms of life and eventually creates awareness, this stage we are at now. Our awareness is not necessarily based on time, although we know from experience how long (how many suns rising) we will live, as a rule. Hence, we invented time to help us keep track of events going on around us, not to define our belief in God. Interesting food for thought. Ron

The Church of the Cellular Transformation - 1 (Short Story) - 11/13/2013 3:37:06 AM
a fine write budd

The Church of the Cellular Transformation - 1 (Short Story) - 11/9/2013 9:56:29 AM
A well written position on one of our most renowned conundrums.

The Church of the Cellular Transformation - 1 (Short Story) - 11/9/2013 7:48:19 AM
Interesting and well stated. These questions have been of vital interest to humanity even before Cronus and Uranus devoured their children with such terrible a weapons as time and space. As a child I wondered how a soul could exist as an 'eternal' thing, yet somehow be lost - as those using the religion rice bowl would have us accept as gospel ... Thanks for summarizing your thoughts for us. The ideas still, perhaps always, have the power to engage us.

Who’s Afraid of the Dark? (Short Story) - 9/14/2013 3:23:48 PM
A wonderfully paced story that unlike Hollywierd versions of similar situations, real emotions, real survival skills and real kids prevailed. Loved it.

Who’s Afraid of the Dark? (Short Story) - 9/14/2013 11:01:57 AM
A mean, alcoholic father, doesn't sound like fun. But to have grandparents with caves is every child's dream. Since you were familiar with the cave, I can't believe you took such a chance. I, do remember, that I was fearless when it came to things like that––always exploring my limits––mild, compared to what people do today for a thrill. My Kentucky girlfriend and I had the occasion to take a self-guided tour through one of the routes in Mammoth Cave. I still remember, Fat Man's Agony, because, as skinny as I was, with a 30 inch waist, I still had trouble making my way through that area of narrow passage. The cave was well lit. If the lights had gone out, it would've been total panic, because no one else was on that track with us. I was just worried about getting stuck and not being able to go forward or backward. Ron

Who’s Afraid of the Dark? (Short Story) - 9/13/2013 3:44:42 PM
i have been there and you have told this very well budd

Who’s Afraid of the Dark? (Short Story) - 9/13/2013 3:22:11 PM
I loved this story of a childhood adventure back in the good ol' days when we could get hurt, but never gave any consideration to child predators and trespassing. I wonder what it would take these days to find a cave to explore, and not on someone else's private property. More, please. L

She Called Herself Cindy (Short Story) - 8/10/2013 5:23:35 PM
Well, I don't know what made me pick this out, of all the things you wrote, but I did, and it brought back so many memories of California nights in the early 70s. I was married to a musician, and met many Cindys and the male equivalent. And as you said, we were often a gig away from being there ourselves. I think you were lucky that your Cindy left, and you did not have to deal with it; it could only be a sad ending either way. It happened to you because you have a heart. I think this story is brilliant, and I hope I soon find time to read more. L

Free the Net! (Article) - 5/16/2014 9:10:13 AM
It would seem there's little relief, as your article poignantly addresses, for the merciless and most egregious vacuum separating that simple principal, regardless of intelligence, called consciousness. It is but a virtue of mind/heart that trumps the mindless greed that still believes power and money are the triumphal purpose for our species' existence. Of course, only a few of us remain who proffer such ancient understanding. Fine assessment you've penned here. Good to see you sharing your intelligence and heart again. Keep it coming.

Free the Net! (Article) - 5/16/2014 7:26:46 AM
In the name of "free enterprise" it looks like the same entities are trying to "privatize" the backbone of communication built around the world by governments and educational institutions. If we look at it very carefully, privatizing tends to benefit the privatizor to the detriment of society, regardless of the rosy colored picture painted by the spin doctors of free enterprise and privatization. Thank you for writing this article bringing to attention what is really going on. I can remember when a simple cable subscription could get you all the channels you would ever want. Now that Comcast has nearly taken over the entire cable network in United States, they have come up with many ways that you have to pay extra to see what you could see earlier for free. If that happens to the Internet we know, most people will be priced out of anything more than very simple, almost useless, Internet access. Ron

Free the Net! (Article) - 5/15/2014 3:56:57 AM
Our Constitution considers the 'Post' and postal roads more important than the Army and Navy for defense of our nation. Well done, Michael. I'm posting this article to the Web (Post) for wider distribution. Best, Jan

The Rise and Fall of the American Public School System (Article) - 1/24/2014 8:53:42 AM
I am in total agreement that the American public education system has been damaged by political meddling to the point that may be quite difficult to repair. I am more familiar with higher education than with elementary and secondary education, but the systemic problems resulting from conservative control of education are now being felt in a society where the power rests with the wealthy and the rest of the society is dependent upon that wealthy few for their very sustenance because they don't have a voice or a way of making a living except by handouts from those few powerful. Elementary and secondary teachers were devalued when their salaries no longer kept up with those in business and industry with equivalent educations. I always found that "teacher institutions" and "teaching" degrees were dumbed down programs largely entered by those who couldn't handle the rigor of other programs/disciplines. The result was a lot of teachers were immersed in pedagogy and techniques with no real subject or disciplinary background. Hence the private schools that featured the very arts and history that the public schools with conservatively doctored textbooks with cleaned up history, couldn't. I have first hand knowledge of the physical education teacher who was duped by the conservatives to develop a program called "No Child Left Behind." NCLB was backed by heavy testing that has led to numerous scandals and "teaching to the test." We all know what a failure that program has been. I believe in what you said, that we should encourage each child to grow in the aptitudes that they have and provide the basics so that they can excel in those amplitudes and move into occupations related to those aptitudes and not related to what is the latest "hot" job it business or industry paying the most money. Once we produce an educated (not trained) populace with critical thinking and enhanced power of reasoning, everyone will have a new sense of freedom and power and not be easily fooled by false tyranny. Ron

The Rise and Fall of the American Public School System (Article) - 1/24/2014 4:39:23 AM
Well said, Michael. The educated populous you champion is the enemy of corporatists such as Edison, Vanderbuilt, Carnegie, etal, who could not abide the chaotic 'capitalism' (read competition) that so many 'uneducated' unwashed Americans exhibited, seemingly without tiring. So they embraced the Prussian system which advocated training from birth to do menial, repetitive labor in fields and on assembly lines ... to make us clamor for niches, paid work, for jobs. We'd no need to read, love music or art, dream up new ways of doing things ... all that just caused confusion and uncertainty ... and from one who is weary of platitudes like 'thank you for your service' in defense of our liberties, etc., etc., - I know you served in our military, but I think you were probably a greater defender of our liberties as a teacher, however losing a battle that might have been. So Thank You for Your Service!

Choosing Sides – The Times, They Are A’Changin! (Article) - 6/22/2013 11:02:19 AM
There's another one that you didn't mention, Citizens United. Many corporations have passed laws specifically to restrain free trade and to stop all competition. I agree with everything that you wrote, and it is very telling situation we place ourselves in. As some have written, those in the country that are wishing to move forward and not back to the 1950s, the vast majority, will eventually become fed up and make extensive change or we will be quagmired in old ideology. The other side of the coin is that Marshall McLuhan's Global Village is occurring at a very rapid rate almost undetected by those communicating with family and friends on the social networks. A “one world” way of thinking will rapidly overtake this century and I doubt that a lot of the draconian security measures protecting us from “them” will make any sense when they are us. Ron

HAPPY REVOLUTION! (Article) - 4/25/2013 7:20:42 AM
Michael, you are so true! I do believe that relocation and revolution is the answer. And cutting off our media for six weeks would certainly turn our minds from mush to lush. There is one fly in the ointment though. Bringing back Tupper parties would probably be the end of the world. Viva la Revolution! Ron

Early Learning Ideas for a Visually Impaired Child (Article) - 6/20/2005 4:05:22 PM
interesting and informative article; thanks for sharing! very well done! :)

Separation Anxiety in Children (Article) - 9/28/2003 11:07:11 AM
Michael, these words of wisdom will help many! What you need to do is join in the Roundtable, and let us know when you've posted things. I'm tracking you, but if it weren't for your post, I wouldn't have known about you. I raised my children to be independent adults, allowing them to explore within reason, and allowing them to take responsibility for their own actions. I have a daughter who is now 28, who was my clinger and my last child. It hurt to have her go to school, but I hid it well from her by telling all the exciting things to do and all the new friends she would have. I took her to school and introduced her to her teacher, and when she was occupied meeting other children, I slipped out the door. I waited impatiently for the bus bringing her home but reveled in her joy of doing this on her own...

Off Shore Accounts (Poetry) - 10/17/2014 4:23:53 PM
Got that right. If only we would see ourselves as we are: miniscule. But, media as it is, politicians as they are, world leaders as they wished they were, all is a bloated carcass waiting to happen...as you so eloquently wordsmithed it.

Off Shore Accounts (Poetry) - 10/17/2014 12:31:44 PM
GREAT getaway-from-it-all poetic song Michael! I go out on our boat every Thursday and I love every minute. Just don't take a radio or anything with noise in it. AMEN!

Off Shore Accounts (Poetry) - 10/17/2014 7:36:06 AM
Wow, such depth of emotion as I read your poem. You brought me down into the depth of that ocean both idyllic and complicated! Nicely done. Peace, love and light, Amber

Off Shore Accounts (Poetry) - 10/17/2014 6:53:54 AM
Makes my knees a bit rubbery, Michael. And my view of the future. Excellent.

Play On! (Poetry) - 10/12/2014 1:40:40 PM
And these are scary games and scary times, Michael. Stark, harsh, and real; an awakening message emerges from your verses. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Tortoise (Poetry) - 10/12/2014 12:54:41 AM
To my mind, there are others of us, in other time streams ...parallels of us ...and we, as many parts of one being, are successful in our own right. Doing what is necessary to uphold our other selves. Yes, it sounds bonkers ...but it works for me :-)

Taking Our Time (Poetry) - 10/12/2014 12:45:34 AM
Time is the incessant tapping in our veins - Without it we cease to exist. A very pertinent and vital piece.

Stormy Night in New Orleans (Poetry) - 10/12/2014 12:40:31 AM
What a fantastic sense of heat and breaking storm, and being torn between stifling in protection or breathing in la Rage. Rx

Play On! (Poetry) - 9/27/2014 11:45:32 AM
There is an undertone of despair in this that I don't see any different than during the Great Depression, except times were much worse. Or during the world wars when everything was scarce and there was rationing. Perhaps you are tuned into what happened with Katrina. That was a pretty rough time for New Orleans. But from what I can tell, the heart of the city has returned rather robustly, if some of the character is gone… Off to Houston or other places where more opportunity existed. I don't see our situation today nearly as bad as the threat from the Nazis who had a huge following here in the United States. Sure, we've got crazies on our streets and terrorists who want to annihilate us, but we are relatively safe from those things and will pull together if we have to. It's always been so. Ron

Play On! (Poetry) - 9/27/2014 3:16:28 AM
It does indicate that society's horrors are presumed no more terrible than the computer games our younger generations seem to relish. People seem to have desensitised their entire moral code somehow. It cannot end well. Rx

The Patient (Poetry) - 9/13/2014 3:09:53 AM
I fear we are too late to save the masses. For the blissfully ignorant are many, while those willing to learn are so very few. We can only hope that words we scribe will reach the future generations and finally become the wake-up call we hoped they'd be.

The Patient (Poetry) - 9/12/2014 6:23:51 AM
Medicine for the planet. Bravo! You have thoroughly covered our ills and our futile efforts to postpone the inevitable death. The vicarious ways that we escape our fate and the ignorant foibles that beset us. Fortunately, most are too busy living their lives like these in some hive, grabbing onto every medical lifeboat that comes along, whether it be a hurried vacation, a wonder drug, or a trip to the casino to even notice. Totally unaware of how they are being manipulated by the powers that be while human progress drags its feet on the way to our destruction. Ron

The Patient (Poetry) - 9/12/2014 3:46:34 AM
Perhaps it is the side-effects we beseech for new answers. Good one, Michael.

The Phantom Band (observation: 8/31/2014) (Poetry) - 9/11/2014 7:47:16 PM
Sounds like a wonderful evening of great fun! As a drummer in an experimental folk/Americana band, I enjoy these kinds of settings. Especially when the line between audience and stage is blurred. Peace, Dayvid

The Patient (Poetry) - 9/11/2014 4:37:34 PM
Mike, this is a very tantalizing piece, asking and never quite answering the question of dis-ease. What does it mean to "be?" To live the life of an individual in the midst of community....in the midst of a nation that seems hell-bent on screwing herself? Good poetic thoughts! Peace, Dayvid

The Patient (Poetry) - 9/11/2014 1:38:38 PM
You covered a tremendous amount of living and groveling and blood, guts, and Mary Jane dancing on the tabletop of the newest miracle drug. Yep, all of that you sorta touched on, but still . . . you were serious almost to a fault, because you and I both know our words make not a crack into the stupidity of a world gone insane. Me? I have given up on writing about political issues. Oh, there was a time though I burnt the keyboard up. No mas . . . No mas . . .

Stormy Night in New Orleans (Poetry) - 9/11/2014 11:43:51 AM
I'm really impressed with this bit of writing, Michael. It's certainly the best I think I've read of your work. It captures the wanton electricity of the place and your choice of language is cinematic and expressive. Sultry and irresistible. A magical poem. Thank you. xx

Stormy Night in New Orleans (Poetry) - 9/10/2014 2:36:34 PM
Surrender is such a beautiful thing! Peace, Dayvid

Stormy Night in New Orleans (Poetry) - 9/10/2014 10:32:27 AM
You had me there in the middle of your storm, wonderful imagery! Peace, love and light, Amber

Stormy Night in New Orleans (Poetry) - 9/10/2014 7:41:07 AM
Everything would certainly get soaking wet. Our climate here in Houston is similar. I often wonder what it was like before AC and if I would be able to sleep at all at night during the long summer. Makes me think about things like Cat on a Hot Tin Roof by Tennessee Williams. Upon a time when Southern cities were small and sleepy during much of the year. I still love storms… Especially at night. Ron

Stormy Night in New Orleans (Poetry) - 9/9/2014 3:41:51 PM
Hah! I absolutely know the feeling. I always adored those oaks and their twisted dreams. I mean . . . Come on!

Stormy Night in New Orleans (Poetry) - 9/9/2014 3:30:44 PM
A noteworthy ode to an otherwise overworked subject; the rain. Here, you've engendered the readers respect and frustration with nature, and like yourself, we too are left with a sensorial experience. Yes...let the rain in.

Thrift Shops (Poetry) - 9/9/2014 10:38:48 AM
I love the attitude expressed in this poem. It shines like a well-worn denim that people pay big bucks for to have brand-new products abused to look used… Go figure? All that cheap polyester ended up on the backs of garment workers sewing designer clothes in other countries… Go figure? Ron

Thrift Shops (Poetry) - 9/9/2014 12:13:54 AM
I love the thrift shops and do much of my shopping there. Why pay top prices for quality when you can get the same quality for a fraction ...and it has to be better than all that cheap polyester. If it hasn't come back into fashion yet then it must be either 'Retro' or 'Vintage' - Win+Win Rx

Thrift Shops (Poetry) - 9/8/2014 5:10:10 PM
9-8-2014 I Recycle Cans Bottles = I Find New $50.00 Jeans Shorts Even Underwear In Closed Packages Even New Pair $70.00 Work Boots I Use 2 Years--I Still Wear Jeans Other... Being Kid All My Clothes Were Hand Me Downs! So Sure As Hell You Are Not Were Alone!! TRASK...

Thrift Shops (Poetry) - 9/8/2014 1:50:52 PM
Yep, I've done that, in fact I almost walked into a Salvation Army last month, think now I'll check it out. Thanks for the tip . . .

Thrift Shops (Poetry) - 9/8/2014 1:15:50 PM
You got that right. The proverbial proof that everything eventually cycles around is fashion.

The Phantom Band (observation: 8/31/2014) (Poetry) - 9/5/2014 8:54:31 AM
Sounds like what I read about the Grateful Dead. I may have heard them once when I stopped by one afternoon to listen from my car at Panhandle Park in San Francisco and to watch the hippies having a get together with a band playing in the background. There's nothing like impromptu music from a group of good musicians there for the pure enjoyment of playing and singing original songs. I've experienced that in Corpus Christi recently and if I ever get to New Orleans, I'll certainly try to look you up and hopefully you'll have a session playing that evening with the nefarious Phantom Band. I checked the two songs you have at that website. I could listen to that type of music all night long… All I can say is… Bravo! Ron Automatic formatting does this to links all the time. I'm savvy and rarely have trouble with links that are split or have some other anomaly like an extra space after the link that I often cause by copying the entire line and pasting it in rather than just the link alone… Can be fixed usually by just looking at the link and fixing it, and then reload.

The Phantom Band (observation: 8/31/2014) (Poetry) - 9/4/2014 3:12:00 PM
note - for whatever reasons AD is breaking up the link -miketrueandthephantomband splits at "true and" - push it back together in the address link to get there from here...

The Phantom Band (observation: 8/31/2014) (Poetry) - 9/4/2014 1:38:13 PM
There is absolutely nothing so raw and magical as live music. It has so much that commercially produced music misses. I got the link working - just had to close the gap in the link text. Rx

The Phantom Band (observation: 8/31/2014) (Poetry) - 9/4/2014 12:13:35 PM
tried to open link, said it couldn't be found.

Taking Our Time (Poetry) - 9/4/2014 8:52:22 AM
It was much easier for ancestors, primarily dealing with day and night, the phases of the moon, and the seasons. But then someone had to invent the infernal clock. Now, we're down to things like Instagram, running our daily lives and atomic clocks parsing time into minutia for our delight. I'm enjoying every minute of it… Ron

Taking Our Time (Poetry) - 9/4/2014 4:44:28 AM
We invented this thing called time. We needed a sense of measure, I guess. How much more, we ask. That much less, we answer. For as your well chosen words express, to live without time would be to just be. My...what a concept. Kudos.

Taking Our Time (Poetry) - 9/4/2014 3:58:47 AM
So much anguish, Michael. I think our forefathers let Calvin define a Latin term, carpe, as an enslaving aggressive word, a means of compelling a populace to work at dreary unpleasant tasks. Others have put forth a different connotation, 'enjoy' rather than 'seize' ... seen this way, our dance need not be so dreaded ...

Taking Our Time (Poetry) - 9/4/2014 3:28:51 AM
Making every day, every minute, second count is a juggling act and one most of us are not equipped to deal with. If we can just get through life without harming anymore we can count on our lives as being successful.

How Close to Violence (Poetry) - 9/1/2014 1:37:11 PM
We look evil indirectly in the face with the instant news of the day. We count ourselves to be fortunate if we somehow avoid being exposed to this evil directly. We could be on the verge of the end times, or this may be "normal". Only an infinite God knowing this, I content myself to try and be on the side of good. You've shown as much as we can bear Michael. Bob

Lost at Sea (Poetry) - 8/31/2014 5:19:37 AM
what a great story of romantic longing... leaving the reader at the end with a big "OH MY! let me go back and re-read this"

How Close to Violence (Poetry) - 8/30/2014 7:10:22 AM
violence has always been the response for mankind's distrust and ignorance ... there are 7 billion people on earth and the instant media enterprise helps to promote (report) the onslaught of its blood thirst ... your poem explores this scenario quite forcefully ...

How Close to Violence (Poetry) - 8/29/2014 7:42:30 AM
I'm not sure I fully understood, but I believe you are writing about the tendency for violence to take front and center in our entertainment and news. As though that were what life was really about. And I've found that some people get caught up in fear over all the violence that they think is happening when it's not. One of the best examples of our inhumanity to each other was what happened in New Orleans during hurricane Katrina. I'm sure there were many acts of selflessness where people were rescued and saved from horrible situations--friends helping friends--friends helping strangers. On the other hand, from the news coming out, it appeared like every man and woman for him/her self. Floating bodies and despair were testament to the inhumanity taking place. Or was it? Or was that just our perception from Houston where we took in the unwanted in the Astrodome. Ron

How Close to Violence (Poetry) - 8/29/2014 6:00:13 AM
A very though provoking poem Michael. Throughout History it's always been a fight between good and evil. In the end, good has always been the winner although it takes much time. "Over come evil with good! Love is victorious over hate! Thank God!"

How Close to Violence (Poetry) - 8/29/2014 4:22:44 AM
Jarring, your darker future. I especially like your line, "A new respect for villains now,/For those who deftly feign sincere." Well done.

How Close to Violence (Poetry) - 8/28/2014 1:18:37 PM
Violence, which is mankind's "true" calling, is much more likely to sucker punch a dottering old man as he walks his mutt than at any time in the history of mankind. I'm not a dottering old man just yet, although the day fast approaches, still I carry a very sharp lock blade knife and a walking cane made out of very hard oak. Been thing about buying a pistol. Yep, it has come to that..

How Close to Violence (Poetry) - 8/28/2014 12:58:28 PM
Bleak, but with much any conscious person can't turn a deaf ear to. Contemplation of such images should be part of everyone's pondering diet...assuming many ponder anything anymore, the scourge of drive-by living, thinking, believing et al, seemingly side by side with the inevitable infestation of hopelessness for any and all who try and find their existence fulfilling by outside means, forgetting the inner castle of mind and heart has always, and will continue to be, the only sanctuary for the peace we instinctively pursue.

The Tortoise (Poetry) - 8/26/2014 7:23:11 AM
We all have to build our own shells of protection. Even those with some modicum of success find that they are often subject to ridicule… Often from those who they have defeated fairly and squarely. And there are always those, the scum of the earth, who find that they have no life except to be thorns in the sides of everyone else. In the worst cases, acting out their fantasies in criminal behavior. These facts are true: Success is relative and for the masses, is very rare. Some people have a gift, a natural talent and come by success easily. Some people find success through luck and happenstance--being in the right place at the right time. And some people find success through a lifelong process of honing their talents until they reach success. Very, very few do. The rest are like you and I, practiced and pruned but still unknown. The only thing left is not to be discouraged, but happy with a life well lived. Ron

The Tortoise (Poetry) - 8/25/2014 7:39:58 PM
Well done Michael! In the latter years of life a tortoise's life becomes more appealing. Perhaps they are the wisest of all and that's why they life so long. Thank you for a glimpse into this perspective.

The Tortoise (Poetry) - 8/25/2014 12:54:41 PM
Hah! I have lived one hell of a life, much of it in the fast-lane. Two decades of street living you made sure you were upfront and out the gate a second before the bell ring. 'Course I was spinning my wheels, but I was also staying alive. And now, in the lazy, leisure days of my old age I understand why it was so important to survive the streets . . . . so I could live long enough to sit back,write my poems, novels, short stories and walk the banks of Bayou Lafourche. But best of all, I am at such a peace with myself that have absolutely become a tortoise, and I love every leisured breath of it.

The Tortoise (Poetry) - 8/25/2014 12:33:15 PM
And yet...does not the slower pace have even greater reward than finishing first? Like a Maserati in a show room, as opposed to the race track, we can observe, contemplate detail and perfection, and then marvel at such a work of art and engineering was even built. Such is the case of poetry, of literature, of tortoises. Lest me forget, "Possibly the most headline-grabbing giant tortoise of all, though, was , a Giant Galapagos Land Tortoise who lived to the ripe old age of 175 (give or take a year or two). Born in the 1830s, Harriet was collected by Charles Darwin when he visited the Galapagos Islands in 1835. After a brief stay in England, she was taken to Australia where the weather was more suitable for her. She spent the last two decades of her life at the and passed away in June 2006." And for a species that has managed to survive since the late Triassic period, hey...I'll take that.

Hollow Heart (Poetry) - 8/17/2014 2:49:55 PM
As I posited in "Formula-Happiness" without the partnership of heart and mind, there is only delusion of happiness, more often than not, fostered, nurtured and proselytized by practitioners of deceit, power mongering and insatiable needs to control us, i.e., the media, politics and religions. (Of course without the assistance of the greatest persuader our planet has ever known, movies, they would fail.) Yes, to hols all of this and you in my heart, there must be let's say, some magic involved. Only magic can make the honesty and integrity of some a reality, even if only an enigmatic anchor.

For the Purposes of War (Poetry) - 8/17/2014 2:40:42 PM
A noteworthy summation, save the absence, for this reader, at least, of "hatred." Without that ingredient, which has risen in importance over the past half century to monumental heights, there might be a chance. But as long as hatred in nurtured primarily by "ignorance," as long as education is left to suck up scraps of world wide governmental budgets, the scourge you site as birth only meaning preparation for more wars, well, that's all we'll have--more wars. Only this time, rather than conquest for land, riches and control of minds, it will be for the satiation of hate.

For the Purposes of War (Poetry) - 8/17/2014 10:30:12 AM
We have built a tremendous military-industrial complex, first, to meet the needs of World War II, and then enhanced by the very long cold war with the Soviet Union. All those generals, military companies, and loyal patriots, are used to the old man's game of war where they get to pull the puppet strings behind the scenes. With their parents encouragement, young people today, discouraged with the cost of college and the lack of meaningful jobs are easily persuaded to join the mercenary army we have created that must be exercised often in order to be "the best and the brightest" in the world. You have posed the dilemma beautifully in your poem. So many enter the military to "grow up," and come out and disillusioned and disfigured. My nephew just excitedly signed up for the National Guard. I certainly hope he doesn't get "called up" for some coming international crisis. Ron

Hollow Heart (Poetry) - 8/15/2014 11:32:40 AM
What a magnificent pump you have chosen to store your lifetime in. Let us hope it keeps pumping out those classical poems. Ron

Hollow Heart (Poetry) - 8/15/2014 6:43:21 AM
Very deep thing about the heart, Michael! The working of the heart reveals the mystery of God; and much He is second to none! Well done!

Hollow Heart (Poetry) - 8/15/2014 5:33:41 AM
the organ may be "chambered flesh" but it does have the capacity to feature a magical symphony of shared feeling and memories ... wonderful message ...

Retirement in Louisiana (Poetry) - 8/15/2014 4:46:00 AM
this lush description of a day in retirement makes me wonder what mine will be like as I struggle to figure this whole 'life-changing' event happening now to me. right now they would never sound so soothing...rather more like my 'soliliqy'...a little frightening. needless to say this write spoke to me in a very intimate way. thanks michael

Believing In (Poetry) - 8/15/2014 4:34:40 AM
I've spent most my adult life 'choosing' to believe many things, to the chagrin of many and the eye-ball rolling of others. but never could I have expressed it so eloquently as this. now I must find a coin to toss

Hollow Heart (Poetry) - 8/15/2014 4:18:28 AM
I found this to be such an ultimately romantic poem expressed in your unique creative way with words. a clinical rather austere beginning weaving so gracefully in to that romantic end. so nice

Weeping Demons (Poetry) - 8/15/2014 3:51:09 AM
The man or woman apart seems to be a pervasive theme these days in film - All Is Lost, Gravity, The Life of PI, etal - and so classics such as this one have been rediscovered. What next, Wasteland? Is it part of our racial memory, this fear of being alone against the elements? Maybe part of that genetic bottleneck which occurred about 60k years ago after Mt. Toba blew up in Indonesia and killed off all but about 70k human beings and most of what there was to eat on Earth. We seem to have this urge to re-create such crisis, like moths to flame. Very nice job pulling this oldie out for us, Michael.

Hollow Heart (Poetry) - 8/15/2014 2:08:18 AM
If you have compassion in there, it will help you to store many things. Yes, the heart is magical. I have compassion in my heart, that is why I can see magical and miracles everyday. Sandie

Weeping Demons (Poetry) - 8/14/2014 4:09:14 PM
And oh how prophetic was the little Japanese genius with his prophetic slant on what he cared about. Even his B/W earlier works re: Samurai nobility and dedication, he was, in this student of cinema's history's remembrance, asking us to consider contemporary life among the masters of power no different from feudal times in Japan.

Weeping Demons (Poetry) - 8/14/2014 1:38:18 PM
That movie "Dreams" was very insightful. I love that movie!!! This poem may be referring to that one of the demons burning in hell; or the one about the nuclear pollution in the air that was making everyone so painful that they had to commit suicide. I also like that one of the dead soldier, refusing to accept his own death and still continued on fighting for his country. I love that movie! Would like to watch that again! Thanks for the reminder!! Sandie

Weeping Demons (Poetry) - 8/14/2014 10:54:12 AM
A mind-searing vision comes with reading these stark, wretched words. It wields a double-edged sword, which carves away not only the pitiful plight of man, but the plight of the soul-eaters too. Rx

Believing In (Poetry) - 8/13/2014 9:28:16 AM
Yeah, well, as you and I have both learned, faith is a much overrated way to live. A supernatural predisposition more often than not only leads to further slavery unto those predators of faith dependent hunger, who glad hand and sweet talk your intelligence into feeling guilty for having some. Take a leap, indeed.

Your Chaos (Poetry) - 8/12/2014 11:57:15 AM
this is simply 'stupenderful'....don't we all know someone that thrives on chaos, drawing all that allow it into their junk piles of drama? oh my goodness this says it all so well. any reader will feel an automatic 'aha' moment

Believing In (Poetry) - 8/12/2014 5:40:20 AM
Well said. We shape our own futures, and by doing so, shape the lives of others as well. Ron

Your Chaos (Poetry) - 8/11/2014 3:55:20 PM
your choice of imagery is unique and intriguing ...

Your Chaos (Poetry) - 8/10/2014 6:39:06 AM
I really dug this piece, as without cynical spin, you allowed fragments of reality to be collaged into a portrait of sheer reality. Kudos.

Your Chaos (Poetry) - 8/8/2014 6:55:23 AM
This one grabs me. I know several people who are struggling with dysfunctional children or spouses (who are adults living in chaos) and keep throwing lifeboats that only get punctured and sunk. What a waste! Ron

Nothing but the Truth (Poetry) - 8/7/2014 4:21:40 PM
And as we both seem to be on the same page of reality (often misread as cynicism by the uninformed) there is much to be concerned with, much to rattle some consciousness that is smothering with lethargy (or ignorance) yet, when all is said and done with stirring the coals, a flame of hope does eventually show itself. The task is to keep the blaze alight. As I explored in "Just A Matter Of Time" that flame is likely to turn out to be a color we've not imagined yet.

The Stars (Poetry) - 8/7/2014 4:07:45 PM
A provocative read, asking us to consider the much abused realm of discovery. After all, around the world, amateur and professional seekers of the unknown point their telescopes to the void and dream. We...well, we point a cell phone, take a selfie, and ejaculate with our own importance. Such bottom-feeders are we.

The Stars (Poetry) - 8/7/2014 10:10:46 AM
A theme dear to my heart that I've often visited. Makes me wonder about why we created this fear of the dark that requires streetlights and lighting up every corner of our artificial nighttime waking world filled with bogeymen forever jumping out at us on even the most calm and peaceful nights. They call it light pollution, driving observatories further away from populated areas and making it nearly impossible to see the night sky of as little as 100 years ago. You have pointed out the loss that I feel, as well. Ron

The Stars (Poetry) - 8/7/2014 9:46:50 AM
Michael, I bow to Edward's eloquence in expressing exactly what I feel about so much of your intriguing work...your masterful use of words. I always read your work at least 3 times, sometime more to squeeze every bit of enjoyment out. time on the ocean illuminated only by the 'ancient constellations' makes this especially moving to me...making all electric current cy seem garish and offensive to a dreamer like me. ahhh, but then what?

The Stars (Poetry) - 8/7/2014 7:30:45 AM
So happy such as you have not been star-starved, Michael. Humanity grew its dentrites inspired by stellar strings. Only a small percentage remain lit up like you and your fans.

The Stars (Poetry) - 8/7/2014 6:39:12 AM
When I read one of your poems I am first dazzled by your masterful use of language. Then I must go back and absorb the story. And the third time thru I kind of get the message. And it is usually a mystery. Another gem!

The Stars (Poetry) - 8/7/2014 2:36:55 AM
Beautifully composed and delivered, this expression of chagrin at Mankind's pointless replacements is one that I wholly support ...In fact you have inspired something here. :-) Rx

Nothing but the Truth (Poetry) - 8/6/2014 10:41:25 AM
An appropriate ending to a doomsday poem. In spite of my many works describing various cataclysmic things that can go wrong in the future, humans are very adaptable and will respond to severe threats in a positive way. But as long as it is at arms length and being handled by mercenaries, a problem is not really in our radar to think that it is important. What is important, as you so elegantly state, is the truth. And the truth often is hidden because it has a physical and psychological cost to it. I am encouraged because we can and do change things like reversing the loss of the ozone layer and banning DDT. Major measures of society have shown that 2013 was the best year ever, worldwide. The trend is toward the positive and not the, negative. Yet there are many negative things going on that need to be rapidly corrected. Jerry is right about the London Bridge. A few years ago I had the pleasure of driving across the newly rebuilt London Bridge joining an island in Lake Havasu to the mainland. Ron

Nothing but the Truth (Poetry) - 8/5/2014 1:42:50 PM
Hah! The London Bridge was falling down so they sold it and sent to Arizona. Sorry, I can't blame the rich. I can blame the rich politicians, who are subsidized by the rich, so I guess I do blame the rich bastards. The real core truth about why America has gone to hell is because for decades and decades the professors and teachers have quit teaching and started bashing America as the reason for all the poverty and hate in the world. So the students began to hate America and those students of teachers began to hate America. What has happened because of all that hate is that America lost it core values. It doesn't seem to me that we will ever get them back. I'm not optimistic.

The Relationship (Poetry) - 8/3/2014 9:09:11 AM
This had me smiling with my heart warming all the way through, Michael. A fabulous picture of 'til death us do part' and of the nature of the bond between 'opposites'. They sound a marvellous couple and wonderful family role model. It's true that to love is also to hurt - as your grandmother undoubtedly did in her final days without her soul' companion, but then, what a blessing to have had each other for as long as they did. This makes me think of the familial bedrock of 'true America'. Thank you - and also for your generous time and comments visiting my Den. Greatly appreciated always. Kate xx

The Relationship (Poetry) - 7/30/2014 4:01:51 PM
i didn't know my grandparents so your poem created a vicarious insight for me ..

The Relationship (Poetry) - 7/30/2014 3:30:42 AM
To me, this is what it's all about. Finding the things that work well and living by them. I did not have the joy of grandparents, but I would like to think they would have been something like this. Rx

The Relationship (Poetry) - 7/29/2014 4:17:23 PM
Very touching poetry. A tribute to mom & dad. What could be better?

The Relationship (Poetry) - 7/29/2014 7:23:52 AM
Wonderful! In a single poem, you had described your grandparents and their personalities very well. I can identify. All four of my grandparents had different personalities. My fraternal grandfather was quite stern and stoic. A hard-bitten farmer and former factory worker, farmhand, and chauffeur, with the help of one of his sons, who liked nothing better than to peel an apple and smoke his pipe. His bride of many children was a jovial woman of the kitchen and farmyard who never cut her hair and get tied up in a bun. Well read, generous and loving, she outlived him long. My maternal grandmother was bossy and socially active. She loved to travel and we traveled together after I was paralyzed. Her husband was a Depression beaten dreamer whose dreams and mostly failed. He told wonderful stories of his log cabin upbringing and the many adventures chasing those dreams. She rode him till his death and died much later of cancer. Leaving many who loved her. Ron

The Relationship (Poetry) - 7/29/2014 3:17:19 AM
What a wonderful tribute to your grandparents!!! The dedication of love between your grandparents was obvious. Though some may not say that their marriage was as beautiful as flowers and the butterflies as some romance authors have stereotyped "good relationship"; but yet there are so many other elements of love that can bring two people together to form a very fulfilling life journey. Others may not know these very important elements which the two shared. When two people are dedicated to each other, there must be something good that they see in each other to hold them together. Sandie

The Relationship (Poetry) - 7/28/2014 5:09:24 PM
Like an intimate patch of coupled daisies, or dandelions of fading color, their flowered essence evolved slowly, never to wilt, but to hold their nourishment of Being until the very end. For me, the final loss of petals and the ubiquitous fantasy of umbrellas rising to that somewhere I'm sure your grandparents had reservations to occupy, rendered for this reader a tranquil and fulfilled journey--one I can only hope I'm fortunate enough to enjoy as well. A richly, non sentimental dedication to love. Thank you for this.

The Relationship (Poetry) - 7/28/2014 5:08:43 PM
A humorous, but sad poem. There was a lot about my grandparents in this poem. She was mouthy and he, as you say taciturn.

A Box of Rocks (Poetry) - 7/28/2014 4:22:01 PM
the only change in my box of rock is that some of them have shown signs of erosion (rust) ... this reminded me of when i was 10 and collected stones ... i had different varieties of stone in each one ...

A Box of Rocks (Poetry) - 7/28/2014 1:51:47 PM
The sense of Athena, Goddess of Wisdom, floats her aura throughout this treatise of subtext value, words working beneath a surface of once molten foundations of nature's instinctual design, paving the way for all that followed, and will continue to follow. For some of us, the metaphor of rock being the indestructible existence (reminding us that even when reduced to silt fathoms deep, it remains "foundation." Stimulating wordsmithing here, Michael. Well conceived and executed. Kudos.

A Box of Rocks (Poetry) - 7/27/2014 12:44:27 PM
I was struck by the poignancy. I recall that, until I was 30, that I could put everything in my car and move on. After I bought my first house, antique furniture and old books included, I could no longer do that. On my front deck is a weathered piece of ancient driftwood from the desert, somewhere south of Mexicali. While many things have come and gone, that old, still outdoor, relic, is a real survivor of moves and the divorce. However, I do have a box sea shells that came by way of my grandmother. Nearly forgot about that. Ron

A Box of Rocks (Poetry) - 7/27/2014 11:39:57 AM
Nostalgic. Unchanging. Reminiscent. Reminders of youth. Days in the sun. Not a bad box of treasures... Delightful poem, Michael.

A Box of Rocks (Poetry) - 7/26/2014 3:27:53 PM
I wondered where you were going with this, and I certainly approve of where you went. However . . . Psst . . . Rocks can be broken, I'm so glad yours wasn't.

Retirement in Louisiana (Poetry) - 7/24/2014 3:49:33 PM
The observations of a 1st person narrative, but an identity easily felt by your 3rd person readers.

The Score (or What's for Brunch?) (Poetry) - 7/24/2014 3:32:27 PM
Like a shattered mirror, putting the pieces back as they were might be done, but not without a toll...the glue of one's choosing or necessity will always show. Loved this piece.

War No More (Poetry) - 7/24/2014 3:29:38 PM
Brilliantly said. If only...if only.

Retirement in Louisiana (Poetry) - 7/23/2014 8:17:53 AM
That first stanza is right out of the Beatles "A Day in the Life of." It reads like a New Orleans travel guide description of your neighborhood. Except for the sleepless nights, all is well. Ron "I read the news today. Oh boy! The British Army had just won the war!" Another memorable line from that memorable song that sticks in my head. Long live the Beatles, two of the Beatles are dead.

Retirement in Louisiana (Poetry) - 7/23/2014 3:28:08 AM
A never ending, evolving daily routine, I can absolutely relate.

The Score (or What's for Brunch?) (Poetry) - 7/21/2014 3:39:19 AM
I would hope this horrifically descriptive, brilliantly portrayed, peek behind the scenes serves to deter rather than advocate. Who would choose this if they knew beforehand what to expect. Rx

The Score (or What's for Brunch?) (Poetry) - 7/20/2014 8:14:56 PM
Author's comment - I do not wish to be seen as advocating the use of drugs. This is a wicked vision of a past life that I felt needed to be let out of the box. People may not realize the intensity of the habit and the immediate payoff the user experiences. The toll however is in the loss of money, the loss of jobs, of relationships, and ultimately the loss of health and/or life. Consider it a seedy black and white film noir piece on the compulsive behavior of a person addicted to virtually anything that can be put up his nose. M.True

The Score (or What's for Brunch?) (Poetry) - 7/20/2014 3:55:29 AM
I don't normally comment on poems which champion drugs, but since I understand, and have lived the life you have described I'm commenting. Yes, I have been there. Done that. Your descriptive lines in this work was very accurate. In a toilet in a Gas Station in Mobile, Alabama I threw my stash in the toilet and flushed it out my life. Then I stomped the spike into little bitty pieces and walked out of that service station a free man. That was many years ago, and I know that if I had not done that wouldn't be here today.

How Are We Not Floating? (Poetry) - 7/19/2014 11:35:17 AM
this was a fun read...maybe alittle above this 'girly' head to grasp...yet fun

Today (Poetry) - 7/19/2014 11:29:22 AM
I'm skipping around in your work, trying to catch up from the time off and my own 'coming to terms' with lifeafterwork...this write speaks volumes to me...for neither have I, seen a tomorrow. I'm living now in the full 'absolute of the moment' on the boat...riding the wave of 'today'.

We’re Talkin’ Suicide (Poetry) - 7/19/2014 10:25:19 AM
I'm speechless in the face of this poetic putting to words, the darkest of emotions experienced by so many. brilliant right to the hopeful end.

A Ways Past the Halfway Point (Poetry) - 7/19/2014 10:07:44 AM
only those of mature age could possibly write so eloquently as this...so much is wasted on adolescence...if they weren't so 'adolescent the would be profoundly jealous of the talent of your expression....kudos on this piece...p

War No More (Poetry) - 7/19/2014 10:00:24 AM
this is one more piece of fine writing, Michael...a profound declarative message

War No More (Poetry) - 7/19/2014 9:05:46 AM
Hey, you stole my line! (War No More) I think there is a growing number of people who are starting to think this way and, eventually, the whole world will "Imagine" like John Lennon did, along with you and I. I ain't gonna, Study War No More, neither. Ron

War No More (Poetry) - 7/19/2014 5:26:46 AM
An admirable plea! Respect.

War No More (Poetry) - 7/19/2014 4:55:40 AM
Powerfully stated, Michael. This has always been a battle between our individual and collective light and dark natures. We seem unable to live balanced between the two polarities for very long. Blood makes the slopes of both so much more slippery. Afraid of the dark we imagine we'll be safe in eternal 'light' - being ignorant of the inquisitor's talents for sensory deprivation there, too. Thus the jailer is bound to his prisoner.

War No More (Poetry) - 7/18/2014 11:33:12 AM
They don't care what you say. Theirs is a bloodlust religion. Been that way for centuries, Michael.

Water Ways (Poetry) - 7/18/2014 9:50:59 AM
this was so enjoyable to read michael...you took a simple topic muse and crafted such colorful images...stunning simplicity...so nice to find...pmedlin

Water Ways (Poetry) - 7/17/2014 5:43:19 PM
Only find I like the ocean as pools have clorine & the stuff I would put in the kitchen sink go into the diswasher...& is that what tubs are used for...? I only take a bath, like the 3 stooges, on Saturday night...LOL, e

Water Ways (Poetry) - 7/17/2014 3:57:50 PM
Fantastic! I love getting wet - a pool, ocean, lake or a garden hose. Pour it on! Like to hear more like this one. BRAVO!

Water Ways (Poetry) - 7/17/2014 8:21:34 AM
The staff of life is not bread. It's in the water (one of my short stories). You have shown us that water is so essential to living and we take it so for granted. My greatest use of water, aside from swimming and fishing, was the weekly washing of my dad's car. Fortunately, I had my twin brother to help me and at least, my dad did not trust us to clean his windows inside and out. So at least, he did that. Pools and skinny dipping didn't mesh with me. That usually happened out on secluded river or pond swimming holes. There was one night, when driving two guests back to my cousin's for the night, they suggested that we skinny dip before retiring. Unfortunately, my matronly cousin woke up from the noise of her four poodles and shooed us off to bed. I had dated, a very bad date, one of those girls earlier, but the other, her friend who suggested the late-night dip, was a stunning blonde with huge knockers. I regret to this day that I didn't get a chance to swim with those. ;-) Ron

Water Ways (Poetry) - 7/16/2014 2:53:11 PM
And, when you put them all together, there's a certain kind of pleasure/reward no other aspect of nature provides. Thanks for the reminder.

Water Ways (Poetry) - 7/16/2014 1:32:50 PM
Taking a little ride on the waterways of your life, eh Michael? Especially loved . . . "The river / Fishin’ holes and cool shallows to wade"

Today (Poetry) - 7/6/2014 3:53:30 PM
Wise indeed. Too few live this way. Kudos.

Today (Poetry) - 7/6/2014 7:33:41 AM
i totally agree with this poem ... Living in The Now keeps us focused and and in touch with our universal design ... we then can live free and unbridled ...

Today (Poetry) - 7/4/2014 8:01:31 AM
You know how I like you and your work, and feeling great kinship, I tend to disagree strongly with your assumption that living only for today leads to a more enriching and less troubled life. I think just the opposite. Now that I've retired and don't have to plan out each day, I have found myself falling into a deadly routine with very little serendipity. In the past, I have had many plans and carried them out. Along the way on these plans I reached heights of knowledge and experienced insights into life that I never would have reached just living day to day like so many do without plans. I remember fondly all those doctoral students that followed me eagerly grabbing up my written doctoral plan that allowed me to achieve my doctorate in two and half years while others without focus took 10 years or more. They all wanted to know my secret. I didn't miss out on anything during those two and a half years I squirreled myself away in a small efficiency and focused on my plan. In fact, during that period of time, I had many very positive people experiences, an active social life, and read more philosophy than most people read in a lifetime. Planning has got me where I am because I made plans and carried them out. They always worked for me because I was realistic about what I could do and didn't try to plan to do too much. I have hurricane plan with alternatives. Do you? Ron

Today (Poetry) - 7/4/2014 5:35:21 AM
A powerful and poetic summary of life's dilemma. Definitely a keeper. Sensational final verse!

Today (Poetry) - 7/3/2014 1:36:23 PM
No one can really understand the universe. It is simply too large for any scholar or scientists, or any religious groups to figure it out. May

We’re Talkin’ Suicide (Poetry) - 7/3/2014 12:53:46 PM
People stigmatize Suicide so much that it keeps people from seeking help. I think if more people were open and honest about it, maybe some one who is constantly struggling with Suicide ideation on a daily basis would actually reach out for help. Its still so hush hush, better not talk about it. . Still happening when a family member does it. I struggled, tried twice, but it took awhile to get that out of my head. It took work on my part. To me it was just easier to die than to deal with all the grief and pain because that crap is hard and I still deal with it. Thank you for sharing and being open and honest and please continue. This is not just going on in young people it happens in the ages from 11 - 80 . Go to putting a face to Suicide Facebook page, you'll see such a variety hear what their families say, they don't "look " like they would do such a thing, but pain is subjective, which even doctors forget. I could go on. Sorry.

Today (Poetry) - 7/3/2014 12:21:45 PM
True.

Today (Poetry) - 7/3/2014 11:57:50 AM
Eh . . . Though men believe they have the secret of our being on this earth, be they scientists or religious scholars. I am not among either of those two, but I admit to leaning toward what they believe. Don't know if mankind will ever find out the secret.

Rain Song (Poetry) - 7/2/2014 1:54:10 AM
A compelling read, for sure. Love the intermittent rhythm of raindrops, pounding through this piece... and you have some really great lines to emphasise the deluge, which leads brilliantly to the, perfectly understated, finishing flourish. Rx

A Ways Past the Halfway Point (Poetry) - 6/30/2014 11:37:25 AM
Such are my latter day blinks, Spring-like only in their most myopic state, ... And I almost want to hijack an airplane, Make a serious mistake, Or make-believe I’m already in heaven. Excellent in expression and conception! I have felt like this on many an occasion but love the succinct way in which you have given these feelings voice. Failing sight equates with loss of a proper grip on life, I think; it's certainly disempowering compared with the 'in-touchness' one may have felt before. xx

A Ways Past the Halfway Point (Poetry) - 6/30/2014 12:11:08 AM
Immensely expressive! Might be good to hijack something a tad less unnatural and destructive than a plane (metaphorically speaking) and fly on the wings of a Condor. Rx

A Ways Past the Halfway Point (Poetry) - 6/29/2014 4:24:25 PM
I'm sorry to read you are feeling so down, as save this piece, your other recent postings suggest someone who is reflective, but not apt to let dark pieces of the past get to him. I wish you well. PS-I can attest to the relief of "collapse of adolescent attitudes" is a major blessing to anyone. Now, just keep away from the massaging strategy of the media, as they definitely want to keep everyone with adolescent attitudes.

A Ways Past the Halfway Point (Poetry) - 6/29/2014 10:23:35 AM
Your passion to keep the fires burning is resulting in some very fine work like this one that cannot be denied. I do doubt that in your adolescence you could ever write like this. Kudos, my friend. Ron

A Ways Past the Halfway Point (Poetry) - 6/29/2014 6:34:14 AM
"Hoping for a quick peek behind the thick purple curtain" ... excellent line ... a serious mistake is rushing in heaven ...

A Ways Past the Halfway Point (Poetry) - 6/29/2014 4:44:09 AM
Well said, Michael. You've just revealed the best (worst) kept secret of the golden years - keeping the flame alive, stoking the fires, sparking the dendrites, rekindling the interest in 'keepin' on' - fight on, old salt - do you know the song, Old Admirals? Best, Jan

A Ways Past the Halfway Point (Poetry) - 6/29/2014 2:19:41 AM
Don I ever relate to this one, Michael, although I'm way past the halfway point.

Rain Song (Poetry) - 6/28/2014 10:22:08 AM
We got a little bit on Tuesday, but "rain all week" didn't materialize. Saw it all drifting over to Louisiana where I guess it belongs? On the other hand, your over-the-top description of rain's glory and power is another tour de force poem of stature. I've said it before, and I'll say it again. I think that N'Orleans, caught between the Ol' Man River and the Sea, is doomed. So, I'd party while it lasts, cuz the mud and water is tak'n over like the gator got your granny, Annie. Ron

Rain Song (Poetry) - 6/27/2014 8:39:32 PM
That's a rainy day poem for sure. I lived in Ft Walton Beach before but I don't recall things getting that bad. Send that rain to Texas!

Rain Song (Poetry) - 6/27/2014 10:42:54 AM
Since I'm over here in Thibodaux I relate completely.

Gone Fishin’ (Poetry) - 6/26/2014 1:42:23 PM
The rhythm of this piece is such that the reader feels as if floating atop a gently rocking boat, where humid air, occasional cheeky mosquitoes make attempts and, for this reader, an irresistible glance to the bow and that cooler you've not yet popped upon and offered a brewski. Well? Ready?

Gone Fishin’ (Poetry) - 6/26/2014 8:12:51 AM
Much more relaxing than my story of the same name. Oh the memories conjured up with this one. Bank fishing was more productive with less sunburn, but there's nothing like fishing in a floating boat on a serene day. It seems okay if you don't catch anything. But I would sure like to see those herons and egrets "swimming overhead." Perhaps they were just appearing to be swimming (flying) in your daydreaming of the poem. Ron

Gone Fishin’ (Poetry) - 6/26/2014 4:13:11 AM
It's all there 'cept for that hoe out in the sun where you left a row half done... Nicely done.

Gone Fishin’ (Poetry) - 6/26/2014 3:12:39 AM
Gotta love those mid-summer memories. Mine take me back to frog gigging and fish gravy.

We’re Talkin’ Suicide (Poetry) - 6/25/2014 3:06:08 PM
To ground such thoughts in poetic form is not the easiest task for a writer, but many have tried. You've succeeded in exploring such a downward spin and shown there's always alternatives, but one has to be open, or look for them, or... Well, many have been there and are still breathing so one can trust the odds...for the most part. Well penned.

We’re Talkin’ Suicide (Poetry) - 6/23/2014 10:21:11 AM
that was quite a journey. very insightful. a bit of compassion, maybe.

We’re Talkin’ Suicide (Poetry) - 6/23/2014 8:04:26 AM
"a wise man neither seeks nor avoids death" ... life is short enough ... well written psychotically query ...

We’re Talkin’ Suicide (Poetry) - 6/23/2014 7:12:32 AM
As usual, you are capable of writing an epic poem on a subject you are passionate about. It is poems like this that are all the more reason that you should forge on and continue to write as long as you can. The world needs insights like these. While I have spent very little time contemplating suicide in my life, it is obvious you have spent a great deal of time what you have written here. It is only recently, when I see the expense and hardship on others of my maintenance into old age and possibility of the living hell of the hospital or nursing home, that I have considered euthanasia rather than suicide as an option. Ron

We’re Talkin’ Suicide (Poetry) - 6/23/2014 4:22:18 AM
I raged against life for 35 years mostly through the perfect clarity of alcohol. I left a trail of broken promises and broken dreams. None can be resurrected. There is no epiphany from such darkness. If we are lucky someone utters the redeeming words "I love you." And that, as you have also noted, is life's second chance. Take it.

We’re Talkin’ Suicide (Poetry) - 6/23/2014 3:16:56 AM
Okay, this is good, Michael. Very good. I have had suicide on my mind for many decades. Unless I am so handicapped I will be incapable of it I will never allow them to shove me in one of those damn pits of hell known as nursing homes. Nope. Not me. I'll go out in my own way, not their way.

We’re Talkin’ Suicide (Poetry) - 6/23/2014 2:51:52 AM
A wake-up call in poetic form. Much needed! Most of us have been on both sides. As teens the percentage of attempted suicide is staggering. Then cultural wise the Japanese have one of the highest rates. As a teen I tempted to hurt myself out of anger. I quickly grew up knowing that was not the answer. However, over the years I tried to convince others to think twice about family and friends before doing something stupid. We have a mentoring program in our church and one of my mentors is dealing with his mentee who was recently divorced and is on the edge. As the coordinator of the program I have to make calls and seek professional help when folks in our flock get on the verge of suicide. It's awareness and showing folks that we care about one another that seems to help the most. Thinking that the whole world is against you is not a good place to be. Thank you for writing this!

We’re Talkin’ Suicide (Poetry) - 6/22/2014 10:58:56 PM
Such an insightful piece! We have certainly all considered the possibility, in some form, at some time or another. Some of us more than others. All of those words, the labels they use, are just to identify varying degrees of the same thing ...Lost ...and afraid that things will only get worse. But, as you say, the wheel is always turning. Rx

We’re Talkin’ Suicide (Poetry) - 6/22/2014 7:58:22 PM
You have penned a very dark poem. All those emotions are shared by many of us. However, suicide is NOT the key to solve anything, it is for the weak. Sure, it seems to be the easiest way out, but we are not designed to be that way. Our lives are gifted by God, and should be treasured preciously. I've had lots of ups and downs in life, but suicide has never entered my mind. Thank God for that!!! No one says life would be easy. If we think we're having it bad, just take a look around us, you will find many are even worse off than us. We should count our blessings that each time when an obstacle is fought off by us. In life ...failure and success go hand in hand. When we failed we get up and get started again. When we succeed in something we feel happy because we've compared that success with our failure. When we can solve a road block or a problem we are successful. Being successful comes in many forms. Some only count others success by how big their houses are, how expensive their cars are, or how much money they make; I rate my success in how good i have become as a person who had fought off all the obstacles in my life, and how good my husband is to me, and how good are our children are to us. I consider myself rather successful, because I have a good job that pays well. Finance is not a problem even at of this stage. No problems whatsoever. I'm glad I have come so far from when I started working when I was 15. My skill in computer has helped me through all these years. I think each one of us is good at something, there is no wasted people in this world, we need to reach into ourselves to find our true talent and true value. Back at home in Hong Kong I've never known my true value, was considered not too bright by family and relatives. However when I came to Canada, I have merged into the world of technology, my teacher praised me for my work, other students came to me for advice. I have found my true talents and my true value when I stepped into Canada. Have never been happier once I've landed a well-paying job with the Canadian government. My mom and Dad was totally surprised I landed that job. So whoever think less of themselves can really sit down and reach into themselves and find their true talents. Everyone has it within. I totally refuse to sit in darkness!!!! Sandie

How Are We Not Floating? (Poetry) - 6/17/2014 9:12:01 AM
Crude tools indeed. But...except for being excruciatingly slow, they work very well!

How Are We Not Floating? (Poetry) - 6/17/2014 6:37:27 AM
Very interesting and intriguing. Thanks to Isaac Newton, we have gradually come to know this thing called gravity that rules us all and keeps us firmly in place; sometimes, to our demise when we fall. Without gravity all elements would fly apart, and we would not exist. And yet, this very thing that allows us to exist restricts us to a very narrow niche in the wider universe. Why we are not welcome on the Moon or Mars, our nearest neighbors. Oh, what a confining thing, gravity is! And it is very interesting that it takes mathematics for us to understand concepts like gravity. For those that do not wish to learn or understand mathematics, progress in understanding is lost. For it is only through understanding mathematics that we've made any progress in our little universe of little understanding. Ron

Art on Oak Street (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 8:13:03 AM
Your writing skills were never more brilliant than in this little piece of a New Orleans afternoon. How the impromptu shower improved your day and your view of the café scene on Oak Street. Wonderful! Ron

Art on Oak Street (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 4:32:05 AM
I love reading a piece like this that pulls me in and right along...tasting the rain, dancing with the wind and feeling a part of the oak street action. you have a special talent for that michael

Art on Oak Street (Poetry) - 6/14/2014 4:28:44 PM
Very cool travel log made poetic.

Art on Oak Street (Poetry) - 6/14/2014 2:50:29 PM
Oh, the magic of New Orleans even if it is inside a coffee shop, Internet place to go for a wifi and cool sounds nice company. You said it, "Soak in the soggy vista, / And imbibe / The pleasantries exchanged."

Nursery Rhymes (Poetry) - 6/14/2014 9:47:01 AM
A clever exploration of nursery rhyme wisdom that always reveals a presence, yet know to stay but a hovering shroud, never to interfere with the nerve-endings of our frayed reality. Beautiful integration of fantasy and fact.

Our Playground (Poetry) - 6/14/2014 9:39:27 AM
What is most apparent in this inspired write is the careful avoidance of a definitive object of your addressing. One can interpret it as one's own identity with love as object or love as a state of being, a boundless essence of life's passion as your poem so subtly proffers. Kudos.

Our Playground (Poetry) - 6/13/2014 6:27:41 AM
quite an array of inspired verses ...

Our Playground (Poetry) - 6/13/2014 6:22:42 AM
You have a way of describing situations very thoroughly. In this case, a long distance relationship like I had with my wife before I married her. It turned out to be very expensive with all the long-distance phone calls… Now free. May you get together again soon. That is, if she is still of this earth. Ron

Our Playground (Poetry) - 6/13/2014 5:26:37 AM
it is truely a wonderful write.

Our Playground (Poetry) - 6/12/2014 4:59:26 PM
Excellent poem Michael!

Our Playground (Poetry) - 6/12/2014 3:50:37 PM
Very nicely done.

Our Playground (Poetry) - 6/12/2014 2:24:30 PM
Wonderful poem!! Sandie

Our Playground (Poetry) - 6/12/2014 12:33:23 PM
Excellent portrait of a somewhat vagabond ( relate very much) stepping off that boat/ship and seeing "her." She seeing you. Something pulled you two together and and now she is many things to you. Again, I relate completely.

Nursery Rhymes (Poetry) - 6/12/2014 9:35:49 AM
The nursery rhymes coming back to haunt us. Your litany of the ills that haunt us is quite comprehensive and very disturbing. Your poem has sized up the human condition quite well. I applaud you for your skill in writing it. Ron

Nursery Rhymes (Poetry) - 6/12/2014 7:07:58 AM
a well written categorical account of the condition of the world's collective consciousness and state of being ...

Nursery Rhymes (Poetry) - 6/12/2014 6:30:45 AM
Every word an exquisite choice, each stanza an insightful synopsis of our times, all interwoven with children's rhymes to frame them in terms meant to show the audacity of childish thinking, and all leading to their logical denouement--the collapse of an empire. A masterful exposition.

Nursery Rhymes (Poetry) - 6/12/2014 4:29:31 AM
Excellent, Michael. That exactly describes my feelings of anxiety as a child, only, as you know, we had different calamities no one talks about. For example, SS Robert E. Lee, carrying downed airmen and rescued merchant mariners from Caribbean sinkings, tried to enter Tampa Bay one night but a sober harbor pilot could not be found. She was refused entry and sunk by a U-boat off the Mississippi delta the next morning. Such stories could not be published but they made their way by word of mouth. Children, even in the womb, know (but can never really cope) about these stresses. Jewish children in 1944 Hungary 'know' emotionally and psychically exactly when the Nazis took over. Mothers frantically called family doctors - 'my baby is crying and I can't get her/him to stop' - and the doctor replied, 'All of my Jewish babies are crying' ... it never stops because the tension never stops. Ringing around the rosy and 'all falling down' comes from the Black Death plagues ... our generation, with its continuous warfare has not improved matters, only continued a long tradition. Is it any wonder we have 'copers' into drugs, video games, texting and violence?

Nursery Rhymes (Poetry) - 6/12/2014 3:33:45 AM
Gloom and doom . . . Doom and gloom

Hoosier Heartland (Poetry) - 3/9/2014 4:32:03 PM
a wonderful poetic synopsis of your children ...

Hoosier Heartland (Poetry) - 3/7/2014 9:01:22 AM
I was just reading about what the various generations. I'm from the Silent Majority, but I don't remain silent anymore. Without names, necessarily, the latest are just called X, Y and Z. Regardless of lovely family, dysfunctional family, broken family, or orphaned, children always grow up to be who they will be. I believe there is a strong genealogical survival instinct that guides children far more than social influences allowing them to succeed under the most dire circumstances. I've also seen great disparity between siblings in individual families. Some make it, some don't. I'm so glad that your children "turned out all right." So many parents, trying very hard, have been so successful. It certainly does help to grow up in a small town or rural community, but that does not necessarily make much difference. Adversity breeds character and character is always appreciated. Ron

Hoosier Heartland (Poetry) - 3/6/2014 6:29:58 PM
Strong kids to be proud of. Survivors. Honest, beautiful. Real.

Hoosier Heartland (Poetry) - 3/6/2014 5:14:23 PM
Michael, this was a very touching write. I'm glad your two children took life into their own hands and made a better future for themselves. Thank you so much for sharing a part of yourself and your children with us! Sandie

Hoosier Heartland (Poetry) - 3/6/2014 4:38:32 PM
Twice read, touched in depth big time. I have to tell you that being raised in a family who didn't divorce isn't a sure-fire recipe to turn out all-around, well adjusted children. I'm a perfect example. In this case, however, your children had to given much though to the broken home and the ones who took them in who wasn't so nice to say the least. That said, it probably was ingrained inside their Hoosier hearts to beat the odds and come out of it better, much better than they went into it. I am very glad to read that that happened.

Drivin’ Me Crazy (Poetry) - 2/20/2014 5:06:12 PM
great poem ... i experience this same scenario only on the east coast ..

Talking to Myself (Again) (Poetry) - 2/16/2014 5:38:38 AM
I talk to myself also, when I'm not talking to my half schnauzer, half yorkie, in other words a mutt just like me. Though I talk to myself I admit that I don't do it in such lofty terms as do you. Careful, they "will" start talking back at a given point in time.

Talking to Myself (Again) (Poetry) - 2/16/2014 5:30:40 AM
So special for all of us that you have the talent to tease some of that wonderful dialogue onto paper. I almost yelled 'uncle' at this one, and 'give us a break' ... but my heart is still capable of facing that god of indifference, too. I hear you. We all do.

Talking to Myself (Again) (Poetry) - 2/16/2014 2:06:03 AM
Why is it that talking to one's self make so much more sense than talking to others! How eloquently you draw the reader through the complex maze of thoughts, the turbulent sea of inspired information, and up into your world of imagination. Quite a journey. Rx

Drivin’ Me Crazy (Poetry) - 2/15/2014 9:24:47 AM
This type of prose/poetry is akin to the absolutely riveting style of Campbell McGrath. He too has found a major friend (missed, like yours) with the paved road and all its side road wonders. Nature never misses giving us shock and awe. It's only man that fucks it up.

Drivin’ Me Crazy (Poetry) - 2/14/2014 11:11:43 AM
That was déjà vu all over again for me. You and I have traveled down similar roads. Now that I have gas in the tank, new tires and am raring and to go, I can't get out of the house! However, yesterday when I picked up a few Valentine's Day flowers and ran a few errands, I marveled at how I still love to drive and want to get out on that open road again. I avoided route 66 and the tourist traps like a plague. Mostly drove Interstate 80 before it was finished. Ron

Drivin’ Me Crazy (Poetry) - 2/14/2014 9:12:27 AM
That ole wanderlust is a devil to tame and we are not so free as we used to be, to kick off our shackles and head into the sunset, as life eventually fastens its baggage onto even the most elusive of men (and women). Rx

Drivin’ Me Crazy (Poetry) - 2/13/2014 7:03:08 PM
Yup. Route 66. Hollywood fluff. Real Route 66 kickass to say the least. I've walked the black tar pavement. Spending what I didn't have to spend. I prayed once or twice to a god I never believe it.

Drivin’ Me Crazy (Poetry) - 2/13/2014 4:21:16 PM
so do i remember rte 66 back in the day, have even been on parts of it a few years back again budd

The Ol’ General Store (Poetry) - 2/13/2014 10:07:41 AM
I too have written about the general store, as it provides endless detail as to how a certain populous lives, loves and hopes. You've worded such an existence with humor and pathos, certainly giving pause to the way we live today.

The Ol’ General Store (Poetry) - 2/13/2014 7:00:00 AM
What will happen to the art of story telling when Garrison Keillor and Michael True are gone?

The Ol’ General Store (Poetry) - 2/13/2014 5:36:43 AM
Wow, Michael. You triggered my taste-bud cell memory for those homemade, saucer sized oatmeal cookies, tough as hardtack and for a penny would last a kid longer than the latest 'local news' and tobacco juice contest. Back then I didn't realize that many of them had this leisure time because someone else was breaking their backs in the fields. Thanks for another fine piece.

The Ol’ General Store (Poetry) - 2/13/2014 2:11:35 AM
those were the days of my grandfather and father, i remember them well budd

The Ol’ General Store (Poetry) - 2/12/2014 11:51:20 PM
What a wonderfully clear image your words bring to mind - Much simpler times and less complex rules to day to day living. Life may have been far from perfect but everyone knew the form. Then came technology, which has done the world a lot of good, but it came at a cost. Rx

Politics as Usual (Poetry) - 2/12/2014 2:09:46 PM
Sing it loud and proud. Liz

Politics as Usual (Poetry) - 2/12/2014 7:49:48 AM
You have revealed a lot about what we need to fix. We have been taught to be good citizens and follow the principles of citizenship laid out for us. Unfortunately, who we think is in control, isn't. Thus we are serving false gods with our civic duty. It seems to me from what you wrote, we have to change that with a little civil disobedience. Ron

Politics as Usual (Poetry) - 2/12/2014 3:43:56 AM
you have penned this oh so well budd

Politics as Usual (Poetry) - 2/12/2014 1:23:07 AM
It sounds to me as though the America, which people revered and staunchly sought to protect for so long, is fast disappearing. The same is happening to my own dear England. There is little that remains of its once glorious beauty, as it vanishes beneath a sea of ugly deception and political waste. Love the form here - plenty of strong alliteration to bring fire to the piece. Rx

Politics as Usual (Poetry) - 2/11/2014 6:32:04 PM
I am so pissed off at what has been going on in Washington AND the state and local level, and it is all beginning to come to a head for me. I have, most of my life, been a true-blue champion of America. The good old red, white and blue. The shine is off, what used to be a great country, and we are becoming no more than third world countries. You sealed the fate with this poem, and even though you end it on a high note, "Relight the torch, to make it just, / And just this once, to make it / America." I am very close to giving up.

Politics as Usual (Poetry) - 2/11/2014 6:07:40 PM
Oh, how you've grabbed the nuts of the passion, pulled and yanked, anyone one with a conscience has to yelling, "oh, please...no more."

Elsewhere (Poetry) - 1/30/2014 7:45:29 PM
Dear Sir, this is really a great poem and somehow I hear an echo of my feelings since I leave here in Cambridge for my education, away from my family and sometimes feel so very lonely! -Portia

Genetics (Poetry) - 1/28/2014 4:16:28 PM
i could really relate to this poem, Micheal ... a lucid visualization and characterization ...you merged personal affect with universal effect quite proficiently ...

Genetics (Poetry) - 1/27/2014 10:29:23 AM
Are you a chip off the old lady's block? I doubt it. While genetics does make us who we are, we still are unique, and you just proved it. Even when you write about your thoughts for the day, they are outstanding. Ron

Genetics (Poetry) - 1/26/2014 4:59:49 PM
She sounds a little like my mother Michael. Feeding the animals as a mark for the day. Too late for my mother. She needs someone to remind her that she took her pills. But she puts out feed nonetheless. I think you've channeled me 10 years from now. Funny to see ones self or future self in anothers words. A good read. Bob

Genetics (Poetry) - 1/26/2014 11:45:54 AM
finely written budd

Genetics (Poetry) - 1/26/2014 11:33:10 AM
Another classic rendering of an oft sentimental subject. Once again, you provide the necessary word choices for a reader to infuse his or her imagination in order to assimilate and discover experience worth remembering. Well done.

Elsewhere (Poetry) - 1/26/2014 10:18:47 AM
I felt your vibe with a chill. I'm glad I have that alternate reality these days as I hate winter and hope for a warm spring come February and sweaty summer to come. And then I will venture out again into the land of the living instead of hibernating here until the humidity returns. Ron

January Blues (Poetry) - 1/26/2014 9:38:26 AM
A fine ode/song to the essence of January. Very nicely expressed, Michael. Sing on! Love and peace, Regis

ABOUT LOVE (In Five Easy Pieces) - Part One (Poetry) - 1/26/2014 9:36:45 AM
Love can last days, Weeks, months, even years. It can come out of nowhere And in the blink of an eye It can Completely Disappear. So true! And, after having read your eloquent litany, I still think that "love is all." Thank you for sharing, Michael. Love and peace to you, Regis

Just Deserts (Poetry) - 1/26/2014 9:32:58 AM
Stark, dark, harsh, and somehow quite real. Nicely done, Michael. Love and peace, Regis

Elsewhere (Poetry) - 1/26/2014 2:19:41 AM
Your strong metaphors and analogies serve to enhance the melancholic tone, which enables the reader to feel the chill both emotionally and physically. I now have cold feet :o)

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.