AuthorsDen.com  Join | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: John McCoy, iPeter Jessop, iRosemary Patterson, iM. Pritchard, iMaryanne Raphael, iKathryn Perry, iJill Eisnaugle, i
 
Home > Helen J Vandepeer
 

Recent Reviews for Helen J Vandepeer


Rhyming tales of Victor Thomas (Book) - 10/26/2009 1:27:50 PM
What a nice cover on your book. You wrote about your bear visiting near your home. I agree animals should be left alone. Bigfoot/Sasquatch is another problem all together. Perhaps he will be found by one who knows what he is doing, where animal and man will not be harmed. Thanks for the message. Happy writing. Linda

An Adventure in my own Back Yard. (Short Story) - 8/12/2014 10:33:48 AM
The drug of observation ...

An Adventure in my own Back Yard. (Short Story) - 5/5/2014 10:48:50 AM
Shades of Alice in Wonderland… Ron

I am Angry (Article) - 8/12/2014 5:08:52 AM
Properly channeled, anger can be good for a writer, Helen. Feeling victimized in any sense is hardly ever productive. Having said that, please accept my sympathies. Such as we (writers/dreamers/optimists) are easily 'deceived' by those who take advantage of our expectations. That is the nature of the 'sales' game - business. If you want to create money ('make' it, as they say) then writing is not the right business for you. Writing is not a business at all. It is an art. Finding patrons for the arts is the business, but the art itself is a passion, a need, a thing we do. Woody Guthrie probably made more money putting words on signs than he did making music, but who ever heard of Woody Sign Painter. Perhaps you'll find an audience here on AD, even a successful promoter, but probably not. The odds are that you will find those who encourage you, commiserate with you are offer you reviews of one sort or another. You can spend a lot more money somewhere else, and get a lot less. Best, Jan

I am Angry (Article) - 8/11/2014 4:44:30 AM
I have often heard this complaint. I'm a retired professor and I've read some very good books by authors here at AD and reviewed them. I've also edited a few very good books for hard-working and well-meaning authors that have not sold. I have written seven books that haven't sold even though many people have told me that they are very good. So what is wrong? Well, several things. First, people don't read books like they used to. Before television, a good book was required for evening reading before going to bed. Since television there have been more and more things that take people away from reading. Second, you are right about everybody and his brother getting books published, some spending a lot of money on promotion, that are not very good or very well written. This gives self published books a bad name, because the screening process of traditional books and the careful editing before publishing made those books much better than the flood of books on the market today by authors both new and old. The key to a book's success is that it reaches the public in some way that catches on until everyone wants to read it for one reason or another. I use the expression, "Who do I have to kill to get someone to notice my book!" What I'm saying is, if you have your 15 minutes of fame for almost anything, people will notice your book and buy it by association. There are those that claim by marketing heavily on the Internet that they are able to sell their books. It's a lot of work and expense for the payoff. In almost any field of endeavor to be noticed, especially in the arts, is very difficult. There have always been starving artists, that's why I advocate a program in the US like happened in the Great Depression where artists and authors were paid to do creative work so that they didn't lose their skills or starve. There's a whole lot of luck and/or perspiration in being noticed. Many famous authors have written that they worked for 10 years or more before any of their work was even noticed. I am quite happy with the mere writing and acknowledgment of my books and short stories from those few that have read them. Fortunately, I have other income to support me and I find that giving away my books, even to strangers, makes them feel wonderful to have a signed book from an author because most people don't get to buy books from authors in those famous book signings. AD is a social network. Membership was initially free. I got a life membership when they were offered for a short time a long time ago. As a result of being here, I have had some collaboration with some very good authors and have helped the work of others. Good luck with your writing. I understand why you would be angry. There are a lot of scams out there bleeding wannabe authors of their hard-earned money. Ron

I am Angry (Article) - 8/10/2014 10:51:08 AM
Can you offer your book as an eBook, there may be a market there for it in a different format, eBooks are pretty popular today m

Things just Ain'twhat they used tobe (Article) - 8/30/2010 9:46:24 PM
You Will Not Forget: Dodge Its Expensive $50,000 Beer Cans On Wheels-- Death Trap(s) You're Driving In --No Frames,No Bumpers,No Firewalls,No Trunks,Shot In Burning Foam Insulation, Exploding Gas Tanks... Cars 1920s To 1989 Had Undercar Frames, Most Had **Bumpers,Firewalls Trunks,Were Safer Beyond Now AIR BAGS IN YOUR FACE! ** Even Corvettes Fiberglas 1953 to 1982-- GMC Start Remove Bumpers 1974 Saving BILLION$--As Going To Unitized -Frameless-Bumperless-Bodys/Cars! You Should Have Kept Your 50s Dodge! Etal: Corn Fed Gasoline Is Made Up Whiskey-Alcohol-House Hold Cleaners Kick Up 81 Octane-Is Only 15% REAL OIL! TRASK...

Unscientific Opinion (Article) - 2/4/2010 12:40:53 AM
Good article, Helen. I trust ground hogs myself. They may not be right all of the time, but at least their predictions aren't based on obvious lies.

Where the wind blows hot from the North. (Article) - 11/28/2009 4:28:37 AM
thought provoking

Hi Mom. (Article) - 11/24/2009 12:50:11 PM
I really was waiting for something about that cute cat of yours..and here it is.

The Entry (Article) - 11/15/2009 3:33:47 AM
That's what you get when you enter places uninvited.

Australian storm (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 11:38:44 AM
Helen, your poem accurately captures the images across the vastness of Australia...records the poetic rhythm of the sweet sound and smell of rain...that's so rare...the outback sooo red and the drought sooo dry...sooo unfathomable pain for us the urban dwellers...yet...an awesome sight of sooo much to love..."her beauty and her terror - the wide brown land"...etched upon national character...resilience 'n laconic humour in face of hardship...in tune with rhyme of this ancient land...evolving flora 'n fauna with the ability to adapt...spiritual land...indeed...a shelter for many coming from life's storms...love that country with all my heart!

Australian storm (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 6:42:12 AM
A storm without rain is indeed a frustrating thing for desert life to endure. Nicely captured in your poem. Ron

Australian storm (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 3:03:25 AM
Interesting, matter-of-fact resignation here, Helen. But also I sense a 'been there-done that' feeling of making do and enduring. This story may have been scratched into stone for 50,000 years, just newly translated.

Australian storm (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 1:58:09 PM
Without water, how does anything, including people survive...Apparently they do, but it must be a raw & hot existence, not my kind of place to even visit...-e-

The Bitter Wind of Evil (Poetry) - 3/31/2015 6:44:21 AM
very well done....enjoyed

The Bitter Wind of Evil (Poetry) - 3/19/2015 6:12:30 AM
It is those products that you buy daily from your friendly stores. Those corporations that advertise of what they are for you and your family, that are most busy systematically destroying the planet. It behooves us all to know where what we use and eat comes from and what destruction it may be causing. Ron

The Bitter Wind of Evil (Poetry) - 3/18/2015 11:55:18 PM
Apocalyptic wind of evil....indeed...scary-fictional-destructive battle between the good and the evil...very well penned. Kudos!

Cananda Wintertime (Poetry) - 3/18/2015 11:52:24 PM
...fun or pun...in subarctic conditions of the Northern Hemisphere Canadian Winter and still able to see the silver lining through....the blow.... Thank you Helen, for sharing your fun.

Rumpelstiltskin (Poetry) - 11/16/2014 1:37:00 PM
...a fascinating piece of work Helen...love all fairy tales myths ...legends...folk tales...there isn't such a big difference between fairy and real world...both project the same aspects of culture and beliefs...telling the story of all aspects of being human...and morals and lessons behind every story reflecting the greedy... twisted human nature...intertwined within these narations...and there are many ways to interpret these stories and as all works of literature...are meant to be...which is what the magic of writing... is...Thank you for sharing your writing.

Rumpelstiltskin (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 10:05:05 AM
Sometimes fairy tales are not all they're quacked up to be. --the Ugly Duckling

Rumpelstiltskin (Poetry) - 11/14/2014 8:40:36 AM
Now that's a pretty grim tale! And a pretty good fable. It seems that Mammon is not what it's cracked up to be. Which is more important, a child, or gold. Which would one choose if they had a choice? I like poems with a message… Ron

Orchestra of Nature (Poetry) - 11/9/2014 11:20:09 AM
Thank you for sharing the wonderful sounds and music of nature's "orchestra," Helen. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

Orchestra of Nature (Poetry) - 11/8/2014 9:08:20 PM
So true are the lovely sounds of nature when one sit alone left to the mercy of So many audio orchestrations that surrounds one,s mind while visualizing the glory of nature..... I enjoy the sounds the emits from the wetlands tha I am part in sinc with the creatures and sounds...... Peace be with you William

Orchestra of Nature (Poetry) - 11/4/2014 10:35:44 PM
...indeed...it "balances all. Heals the soul"...universal form of chat that mimics the nature...the words of your inspiring and beautifully written poem...captured my heart. Music of the natural world inspired many composers...to compose known masterpieces...but we don't need to know the music notes...to be moved by the collection of birds songs....the sensuous scape of light playing on the waves and sound of the sea breeze...There is no life without the "Orchestra of Nature". Thank you Helen. Many Blessings!

Orchestra of Nature (Poetry) - 11/4/2014 2:43:24 PM
When all sounds of man are gone, the air will be filled with the roar of birdsong....

Orchestra of Nature (Poetry) - 11/4/2014 8:27:17 AM
Far from a cacophony, the intricate sounds of the natural world are a glory to behold. As I gradually lose my hearing with age, I am noticing less these natural sounds that I savored in my youth, just lounging and listening to all they had to offer. A wonderful poem that says a lot about what some of us miss in the city. Ron

Orchestra of Nature (Poetry) - 11/3/2014 1:09:57 PM
Nice job. We had rain a couple of days ago after more than 6 mos dry. It was glorious. One year we had so many frogs in our creek the sound they made was like rain on your tin roof.

Orchestra of Nature (Poetry) - 11/3/2014 12:39:50 PM
Funny how we can get music from all things! Well done, Helen!

Last Night..... (Poetry) - 11/2/2014 11:28:23 AM
I like it. Certainly has a "call of the wild" feel to it. And certainly thrilling for those of us in the lower 48 who don't get to hear wolves communicate. Coincidentally, I just read my mother's 1940 (account of her father, my maternal grandfather) life as his father homesteaded in north-central Wisconsin. At that time the area was much like Canada where wolves and bears roamed freely (they are coming back gradually). She related a couple of his wolf stories. One that I remember him telling me was being chased one night on his way home with a carriage and his horse, Nellie, running for her life as a pack of wolves were on their tail. Ron

Last Night..... (Poetry) - 11/2/2014 5:31:30 AM
well said

Last Night..... (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 6:34:20 PM
Would love to be snowed in and have always wanted to hear the wolf cry out...but in NJ I doubt either wish will come true...-e-

Last Night..... (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 5:36:04 PM
What a wonderful Write I truly enjoyed your winter thoughts a most enjoyable write Helen I COULD NEVER IMAGINE MYSELF residing near wolfs to me it sounds like a nightmare..... always been scared of werewolves.....lol but I do reside with another creature just as deadlier "Alligators" in ever pond and lake within our compound Love & Peace be with you William

When Nanny comes to stay (Poetry) - 7/10/2014 1:16:14 AM
enjoyed the read

Helen of Troy (Poetry) - 10/2/2011 7:13:00 PM
Im very impressed with your poem, their's a certain quality in your work that you don't see everyday! Leslie Bond

Chickadee feeding (Poetry) - 2/21/2011 7:09:07 PM
The tiny chick-a-dee visits my feeder all the time. When there is too much snow, I put seed on the windowsill. Chick-a-dee will come still, even when I stand near to the glass. Nice uplifting poem. rege

Moon Goblins (Poetry) - 10/13/2010 6:07:22 PM
thanks you all of you for the kind comments about my fun nonsense poem. Much appreciated. Helen

Moon Goblins (Poetry) - 8/9/2010 4:16:58 AM
Thank you for the smile!

Moon Goblins (Poetry) - 8/6/2010 5:00:50 AM
Very Clever!!! This is a long gallery of inviting images and saucy elegance. Blessings, Christine

Moon Goblins (Poetry) - 8/6/2010 3:47:06 AM
Funny how we got along for so many years without taxes. Good one and worth a great big chuckle. George

Moon Goblins (Poetry) - 8/6/2010 3:38:41 AM
Very good ! Helen

Moon Goblins (Poetry) - 8/5/2010 11:59:23 PM
Cute, imaginative, and very lively... Be always safe, Karen

Marjory (Poetry) - 7/1/2010 3:41:49 AM
Love it! Charming and triumphant. I love a happy ending :)

Last Leaf. (Poetry) - 7/1/2010 3:37:36 AM
A powerful poem that captures the creeping, paralyzing dread that haunts people subjected to emotional abuse. The soul’s wounds are always the deepest. Thanks very much for sharing this poem.

Before the Dawn this morning. (Poetry) - 3/9/2010 6:40:57 PM
Wow, love the photograph and how endearing this is... Be always safe, Karen

Before the Dawn this morning. (Poetry) - 3/9/2010 6:29:39 PM
Amazing. Your poem takes me through a fantazy world. Thanks.

Marjory (Poetry) - 2/10/2010 2:20:10 PM
Bittersweet tale yet one that happens more than not... Be always safe, Karen

Haiku-ie (Poetry) - 1/30/2010 7:45:14 PM
You did a great job with this, Helen. :)

Haiku-ie (Poetry) - 1/30/2010 7:51:53 AM
THANKS .....HAD TO WRITE THIS....IT IS -25 HERE TODAY.

Haiku-ie (Poetry) - 1/30/2010 7:40:52 AM
A real cool 'haiku-ie' Cheers, Dan

Haiku (Poetry) - 1/17/2010 4:02:35 PM
You have a way with these words, in which made me hungry. Good job, Les Bond

THE GAME (Poetry) - 1/6/2010 2:26:30 AM
A well written poem Helen,keep up the excellent work.take care

Chickadee feeding (Poetry) - 1/1/2010 3:16:01 PM
:) Very cute! I love chickadees!!! This would be fun for either adult or child.

Chickadee feeding (Poetry) - 12/30/2009 11:46:33 PM
Lovely and lilting with self-'chick-a-dee-dee-de' memories, Helen, metaphorical or not. Erin Elizabeth Kelly-Moen

Chickadee feeding (Poetry) - 12/30/2009 6:41:33 PM
You know them well, a cute little ditty for a chicki, I go out every day or two, into the park and feed them by hand, I have made many friends of them, and yes they are brave, If I don't stop, they'll land on my hat and look down to my face to see if I am in there. Enjoyed this whimsy, Happy Holidays! Jasmin Horst

Santa had a little deer (Poetry) - 12/17/2009 6:03:14 PM
Awwwww, how absolutely sweet and so full of sheer innocence... Be always safe, Karen

Haiku and fun, (Poetry) - 12/17/2009 12:45:07 AM
Your haikus are fun to read.Keep up the great work.take care

Helen of Troy (Poetry) - 12/17/2009 12:43:52 AM
Excellent poem.take care

Mother's Lesson (Poetry) - 12/17/2009 12:42:27 AM
Your son is lucky to have a mother like you and this poem reflects it.Beautifully written.I have enjoyed reading your poetry.Keep up the great work.take care

Last Leaf. (Poetry) - 12/17/2009 12:39:34 AM
Deep and powerful poem

Moon Madness (Poetry) - 12/17/2009 12:38:02 AM
This is good Helen :-)

Haiku (Poetry) - 12/17/2009 12:36:49 AM
This poem makes me feel good and hungry lol.A delicious written piece.take care

Santa had a little deer (Poetry) - 12/17/2009 12:35:14 AM
Great poem.I enjoy reading it.take care

When Nanny comes to stay (Poetry) - 12/15/2009 8:33:05 PM
Splendid! Enjoyable! Have you considered making this poem into a children's book. Think it would be great! ~Z

Last Leaf. (Poetry) - 12/15/2009 8:29:26 PM
EVERY word in this poem grabs my attention and reminds me of the suffering that often happens right under our noses. I had to stop and pray after I read your poem, for those near and far who are abused. Both those who cause the pain, and those who are wounded. Lord help! powerful,Helen. ~Z.B.McClure a fellow h u m a n & p o e t

Moon Madness (Poetry) - 12/7/2009 4:38:15 AM
VERY NICE!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Helen of Troy (Poetry) - 11/18/2009 5:54:37 PM
Cool! Helen of Troy and the Trojan horse all in the same train of thought, fantastic... Be always safe, Karen

Last Leaf. (Poetry) - 11/16/2009 8:10:41 PM
The suffering of many and yes, this affects everyone... Be always safe, Karen

Last Leaf. (Poetry) - 11/16/2009 3:29:00 PM
Helen, as always a poem that deeply touches the heart and brings tears to ones eyes. You are so gifted.

Haiku (Poetry) - 11/15/2009 12:07:06 AM
ummm...delicious.... Helen. Good wishes. Neerja

Haiku and fun, (Poetry) - 11/2/2009 9:34:31 AM
Helen, like them all and the fun of it, especially the first one, the haiku. -gene.

Haiku and fun, (Poetry) - 11/2/2009 9:34:02 AM
Hillarious,cute, and I know about the extremity or whatever, lost most of mine in the frost, yes like you, longing for the heat. loved it, Blessings! Jasmin Horst

Mother's Lesson (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 11:30:28 PM
To be honest? It was the best one of the day so far! Cant compliment you enough.

Mother's Lesson (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 9:00:03 PM
The simpilest pleasure is that of a mothers love, and you have expressed it here with grace...

When Nanny comes to stay (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 2:58:37 AM
This is an amusing poem,great work,take care

When Nanny comes to stay (Poetry) - 10/28/2009 6:39:25 AM
Delightful! Thank you Helen..lovely to a fellow Aussie here..I grew up in Australia but now live back in my birth country Croatia.Needless to say my mentality is Aussie even though my roots are Croatian. Great to have ya here! Welcome! Vesna :)))

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.