AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Shervin Hojat, Ph.D., iPhyllis Jean Green, iMel Hathorn, iSage Sweetwater, iInspire Hope, iJoe tofuri@swbell.net, iIsabella Koldras, i
 
Home > Patricia Gomes
 

Recent Reviews for Patricia Gomes


Taj Mahal Review (Book) - 9/4/2013 10:42:17 PM
I was featured in a 2005 incarnation of this publication. The editor sought me out from my appearance on The House of Pain. He published The Walls That Bleed. I originally had the two stories Gruesome Cargo and The Walls That Bleed together as "Gruesome Cargo.....The Walls That Bleed" akin to something Megadeth did with some of their tracks.

Taj Mahal Review (Book) - 4/2/2004 8:03:29 AM
Hi, Pat. :) I've been invited to submit a poem to a TM Anthology and am Google searching for confirmation on their validity and quality. Can you let me know what you think of this publisher? Thanks! Erin

Literary Potpourri (Book) - 1/30/2004 8:13:49 PM
gettin a warm glow in the belly! ;-) hugs Irish

Literary Potpourri (Book) - 1/24/2004 10:47:09 AM
Congrats on getting included in this fine publication.

The Golden Wings (Book) - 1/21/2004 12:45:52 AM
The book The Golden Wings availble in just $15 is well crafted and beautiful book. Since it is availble only in just $15 and shipped from India, it is a worth buy!

The Golden Wings (Book) - 6/18/2003 2:45:54 PM
I thought I was great! My poem was marvellous, well worth a tidy sum, worth buying the book just for me and my fantastic poem "ye my God's a noisy bookshelf" well, something like that.

Taj Mahal Review (Book) - 4/30/2003 1:28:48 AM
Sounds interesting and worth investigating further and reading. GEM

Office Politics (Short Story) - 4/13/2005 11:42:32 AM
I could see why you were on The House of Pain, you're damn good at what you do. I am also an allumni of the House of Pain. Office Politics is a horror story that really follows the Stephen King tradition of horror and carries a punch that is entirely its own. I wish I published this one in Tabloid Purposes I instead of "The Flamer." This rocks.

The Last Written Confession of Conde de Revilla Gigedo (Short Story) - 4/8/2005 3:15:20 PM
Patricia this is a really good story of soul searching. This confession is one that can really hold the reader's interest. It held mine, and I am not easily impressed by horror stories, as i have seen and read many that were nothing but jokes. But this story, is one that reads well, sounds real, and is vividly depicted. Thnx for this wonderful story, Patricia. May the Lord bless you, and be with you always, and at your side constantly. With much love in my heart, joy to the world, peace on earth, & (((HUGS))), Barbie "If I have to...Then I may as well be."

The Last Written Confession of Conde de Revilla Gigedo (Short Story) - 6/22/2004 6:17:57 PM
I agree with Jerry on this one. You do have some skill with this. What story of yours appears on House of Pain.com because I am also published on there recently. This story is one I highly recommend because it has a classic horror style to it. You show that you have an Edgar Allan Poe influence here, and one that is very sinister in the delivery. Your writing is very dark here and that is the kind of writing that grabs the attention of the reader. Sad that you didn't get as many reviews with this one as you are possible of. Nickolaus Pacione http://nickolaus.diary-x.com

The Last Written Confession of Conde de Revilla Gigedo (Short Story) - 3/15/2004 4:33:05 PM
The Last Confession is well written and commands attention. I have no doubt that it has appeal to people who like that genre. The real stories of man's inhumanity to man (Spanish Inquisition?) are far more horrific than gory ghost stories. While superstition has caused people to behave bizarrely for eons, it has little value to me.

The Last Written Confession of Conde de Revilla Gigedo (Short Story) - 3/14/2004 4:47:36 PM
What a wonderful story. You wrote it with just enough of history interjected that it came off as an honest and true last will and testament. Or confession. I really admired the way your story flowed and kept me reading the lines. You are very good at this.

Office Politics (Short Story) - 6/22/2003 3:41:31 PM
I guess Gilda's revenge is hard-won. I think that adds realism. Nothing for free and all that. I was enthralled throughout the experience of reading this. Adam P.S. I've got that smile in a special place.

Office Politics (Short Story) - 5/20/2003 10:38:14 PM
This was a truly enjoyable read. Don't we all wish we were Gilda at one time or another? I was thoroughly captivated while reading this story. Excellently written! Keep up the great work!

Christmas Slivers (in prose) (Short Story) - 2/11/2003 11:44:08 AM
Great story loved the way you poured out the memories......your one excellent writer

Christmas Slivers (in prose) (Short Story) - 1/26/2003 1:31:15 AM
Your poetic genius spread! This is, as usual, wonderful and endearing. You take the reader there! Makes me miss Christmas.

Christmas Slivers (in prose) (Short Story) - 1/15/2003 2:49:34 AM
A tenderly rendered warmscape of love and joy Exquisite!

Christmas Slivers (in prose) (Short Story) - 1/13/2003 4:14:02 PM
Stopped in to read since I was in the neighborhood messaging you...Good god, I got goosebumps at the end of this deilicious piece, Pat!! You've reminded me of my Christmas's when I was growing up in Wisconsin...and Jerry's family, who, though poor, felt getting together for all holidays was the important thing. Sweet memories, beautiful write!!! (3 exclamtion points!) :)

Christmas Slivers (in prose) (Short Story) - 1/2/2003 10:50:32 AM
You already know how much I love this and respect your work...and I'm still stealing those lines!!!! LOL :)

Christmas Slivers (in prose) (Short Story) - 12/21/2002 3:44:38 PM
Seems so large and so happy the family. And so much strong interplay throughout the article. Brings out nostalgia, love, devotion, and shows pride in your heritage and the ability to - over and over - enter into the same celebration; where happiness is there for all. All the historic places, all the camaraderie ... I can smell the fern and see the mistletoe and the Christmas tree and taste the eggnog, and almost feel like I am there as a part of the Holy celebration. You are a very good writer Patricia. ((Hugs)) and Merry Christmas for all your friends and family, and most of all for you. Bill Murray

Siddown - I'll Fix You a Sandwich (Article) - 6/10/2004 9:43:33 PM
Patricia Gomes, Just wanted to let you know I thought this a hilarious article. Its really a hoot! If you keep writing like this I think you might be successful. Good Luck. S.Thompson

Siddown - I'll Fix You a Sandwich (Article) - 9/17/2003 2:33:59 PM
Pat, I read this last night when I was reading Lil's Zine! You had me laughing and seriously thinking about the food I eat! I swear, you are going to be VERY famous one day, you have the gift and you use it very well! This is just AWESOME!! And I truly mean that! Love You, Maria

The Future, Unburdened (Poetry) - 2/21/2010 11:59:37 AM
Excellent work - Bravo!

The Future, Unburdened (Poetry) - 8/18/2008 6:38:37 AM
Masterfully written! Glad I found and read this poem!

The Future, Unburdened (Poetry) - 7/19/2007 12:10:42 PM
my dear,should i miss your writes all the time and would you write like this? this is masterful in its underlying thoughts and the imagery is visual...thank you.

The Future, Unburdened (Poetry) - 6/29/2007 10:12:06 AM
Thank you Patricia for this heartfelt write of joys and disappointments. Bury the ring deep, and care for the poinsettia. There is always hope where there is disappointment, and disappointment where there is hope. Life is very strange indeed. Thank you for sharing this part of your soul with us. May the Lord Jesus bless you, and be with you always, and at your side constantly. With much love in my heart, joy to the world, peace on earth, & (((HUGS))), Barbie

The Future, Unburdened (Poetry) - 5/20/2007 12:05:31 PM
Tragic, but still magic. Strong emotion leads to strong imagination. We replant them and they get all long and gawky, like badly chosen second loves. Ron

The Future, Unburdened (Poetry) - 5/18/2007 1:57:25 PM
Patricia, I've missed you. It was a pleasant surprise to see your poem posted. Many parts of our lives are faded and no longer of interest but somehow they hold a cachι of memories that we dare never part with. Just being within grasp of those memories means the difference of knowing who we are and whom we were and no one could ever take that away. Bless You My Friend, Always Paul.

The Future, Unburdened (Poetry) - 5/18/2007 10:20:24 AM
A Heartfelt offering!! Love Tinka

The Future, Unburdened (Poetry) - 5/18/2007 8:24:37 AM
Brilliant as always, I've missed it and you!

The Future, Unburdened (Poetry) - 5/17/2007 9:10:33 PM
A sad, heartfelt write, quietly looking back to what once was. To bury the ring is a step forward to reach new heights, have new adventures and perhaps new found dreams..... Be safe, Karen

The Future, Unburdened (Poetry) - 5/17/2007 7:53:06 PM
Pat it is a pleasure to read your superb work again. Can't blame him for missing you;-) Eileen

The Future, Unburdened (Poetry) - 5/17/2007 3:47:00 PM
THANKS FOR SHARING YOUR SKILLS WITH ME.

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 9/25/2006 11:01:50 AM
god, i love your work, been too long since I've been able to get in/on and read, but here you are and this is another, this speaks so clearly of the 'man' and I Love all the Imagery and that last ...that question of the Nipple, well...perfect, what and ending ...what a poem!!!!! the whole of it... thank you, you are so fine and well, simply bravo and thanks, michele

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 6/9/2006 6:28:54 AM
Funny how they proclaim to be men, but when it comes to something as simple as saying nipple, they get red faced and either don't say anything, or stammer and stutter, or just get up and leave. Giggle. I really enjoyed this one. Men 0, Patricia 1 (giggle). With love n hugs, Barbie "If I have to be this girl in me, Then I have the right to be."

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 4/7/2006 8:07:07 PM
Oh Patricia, I loved this, outstanding. just outstanding. Reindeer

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 4/4/2006 7:03:14 PM
outsatnding Patricia Love & Peace William

Have You Heard — (Poetry) - 4/4/2006 3:52:49 PM
you have such amazing insight into the foibles and tragedies and the ... the ways of human need/interaction, etc. you...oh, your work has always simply gotten me/got to me ...you have a way with universal & personal truths and your Poetry, well.. you, for me, so long gone, ah, Patricia, Ms. Gomes! (How I wish I was around more...damn, but...life, sigh~) for me, this, well...brilliant, read it slowly alud silently and wondered and that ending...smashed me right where it was meant...God, I love your work! powerful, eloquent, more!..... m.

Life's Work (Poetry) - 4/2/2006 7:58:25 AM
ahhh,too good!!! but you know, maybe "she" inspired more than you believe,because you write whenever you think of her,how cool a revenge is that?

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 3/25/2006 7:05:54 AM
this is a very intricate piece of work, the more one reads it the more there is in it, well done...Mark

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 10/25/2005 1:34:02 PM
nibble...very good!!!

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 10/20/2005 12:29:56 PM
hahahaha...this is so good. I love the hairs on the chest bit.

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 9/27/2005 9:33:29 AM
ROFL! OMG, this is fantastic. I loved it. Wonderful imagery and great left hook. ~~Nordette PS: I sent you a message at AVQ email.

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 9/20/2005 3:56:34 PM
Delightful poem! Wonderful phrases! "His hands were bluebirds let loose in Eden." I enjoyed!

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 9/19/2005 5:14:47 PM
Now that put a lift to my step and a sparkle to my eye! Ron

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 9/18/2005 5:49:44 AM
Powerful offering!! Love Tinka

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 9/17/2005 11:49:32 AM
Wow! Powerful point well made, Patricia. Thank you. Love and peace. Regis

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 9/17/2005 11:27:35 AM
Bravo! :)Sandy

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 9/17/2005 8:15:33 AM
Patricia, Many covers are different than what they appear to be. Being able to see what's beyond that cover is priceless.

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 9/16/2005 9:04:28 PM
great descriptive character analysis ...

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 9/16/2005 4:48:28 PM
How do you do it Pat!?! So unique so flawless in delivery! Masterful! A joy to read the work of a gifted mind! Eileen

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 9/16/2005 3:13:51 PM
I know . . . er . . . knew that man. Last time I saw him he was performing over at Muscle Beach. Good stuff.

Insolence in Emerald (Poetry) - 9/16/2005 2:18:47 PM
Patricia, this is a terrific character/caricature-sketch: "This man overflowed with hand gestures huge and fluttery. His hands were bluebirds let loose in Eden. Butterflies come to nap on a leather-clad steering wheel." It says volumes about the man and about the scene with compact elegance.

Have You Heard — (Poetry) - 8/31/2005 1:47:26 PM
I'm conflicted about Trainee Poet's review. On the one hand I've been waiting for the day when someone would come along and actually give a constructive review instead of the same ol' platitudes. On the other hand, the "poet" hasn't got a clue what he's talking about. I'm betting, for example, there's a reason "Little Girl Lost" is in caps. I'm guessing it's the title of the cliche that she plays. Ditto that, "Big Strong Daddy." Anyone? Also, let's see here...yup, the semicolon belongs there. And so on and so forth. Look, poetry isn't all about textbook rules--the primary thing is to have a strong voice and know the rules so that you can confidently demolish them. This is a good poem. If yer gonna be all "Look at me! I'm a poet!" at least have the courtesy to tell us you're still in training. Oh wait...you did. My bad.

Have You Heard — (Poetry) - 8/22/2005 5:13:19 PM
The truth in this write is staggering! Great write.

Have You Heard — (Poetry) - 8/18/2005 9:26:16 PM
I have a few nits: While "little girl lost" is a cliche, but then it fits well. In second strophe an enjambment between lines 3 and 4, with "Always" (adverb) ommited may be better. Again "big strong daddy" is a cliche, but fits quite well under the circumstance. Line 5 in next strophe can do well replacing the semicolon with a comma. In the concluding line "properly tearful" is kind of an oxymoron, which gives good mileage...but it takes away the high standards this minimalist post sets. Last line is little too long, considering the slow pace this poem moves with. At last, there are 22 pronouns in such a short poem, which can reduce its value! I have found some excellent points about this post, especially your enjambment decisions and budgeting of cliches (coz this type of topic will invariably bring cliches into action). You have maintained a nice tension, and more importantly, a balance between emotion and sense. The sensitive and sensible narrative has more than compensated for the small technical things I have mentioned! This is only the second poem going to my library. Trainee Poet

Father Tom Loses the Raffle (Poetry) - 8/16/2005 9:23:31 AM
I have just engaged in a writing/reading moment in excellence.

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 8/16/2005 9:19:05 AM
Go on with your Bad Self. I LOVE THIS!!!!

Have You Heard — (Poetry) - 7/26/2005 12:02:38 PM
This is a well written, so very truthful masterpiece.

Have You Heard — (Poetry) - 7/23/2005 6:19:11 AM
Oh how deeply this touched me, outstanding Patricia, Reindeer

Have You Heard — (Poetry) - 7/20/2005 11:11:10 AM
Yes, Patricia. So well expressed and true. Thank you. Love and peace to you. Regis

Have You Heard — (Poetry) - 7/17/2005 8:38:16 AM
Exquisite tragedy. Have I Heard? Loud and clear. Ron

Have You Heard — (Poetry) - 7/16/2005 5:48:30 PM
clapping! Hi Pat, loved it as I do all your work, you do of course realise that you could write "Mary had a little lamb" backwards and I'd still give you a standing ovation! lol missed you!

Have You Heard — (Poetry) - 7/16/2005 1:11:57 PM
Yeah, failure to communicate in a relationship brings a dark cloud over the whole relationship. Powerful write, Patricia! God bless, Sandie.

Have You Heard — (Poetry) - 7/16/2005 6:00:07 AM
One of my favorite quotes, and this poem truly fits that quote to a tee, Patricia.

Have You Heard — (Poetry) - 7/16/2005 5:04:36 AM
Sounds familiar to me!! Well written!! Love Tinka

Have You Heard — (Poetry) - 7/15/2005 8:16:40 PM
Pat, this soft almost nonchalant write is riveting, and shouts its meaning to the senses... Eileen

Have You Heard — (Poetry) - 7/15/2005 4:08:51 PM
too sad...i like the way you wrote this...and of course, i agree, the disaster is the lack of communication not what either of them did or did not do

Have You Heard — (Poetry) - 7/15/2005 2:49:23 PM
WOW. Powerfully expressed moral. Lose the communication, you lose it all...DON'T I KNOW IT. That's what happened between me and my ex...we stopped communicating except to fight, and then we didn't WANT to talk to each other. The marriage died...well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :(

Have You Heard — (Poetry) - 7/15/2005 2:38:04 PM
Jerry, my love, the point is the lack of communication on both sides. No one, male OR female, except maybe Jackie Stallone, is a mind reader. I loathe women who feign helplessness as much as I loathe the key jigglers.

Have You Heard — (Poetry) - 7/15/2005 2:28:02 PM
So! The moral is, don't order for your wife, don't come of manly, don't expect blowjobs, don't jiggle your keys and hide the razors. LOL Sorry, Patricia, my mind is evil today. Funny you brought up the lambchops, if you want check out the novel I have on these days you might get a kick out of it, not Chapter 1 but the very first one.

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 7/8/2005 7:40:10 PM
An adventurous style in your work, at each turn a new pacing, and a storyline that holds. Well done.

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 6/28/2005 3:16:38 PM
What a reality check!! Astounding!! " ... for I know who I am. Not light, not energy, and not the cure for what ails you ..." Great write, Patricia!! God bless, Sandie.

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 6/26/2005 9:26:25 PM
Superbly done...BHUWAN!!!

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 6/20/2005 12:32:49 PM
powerful indeed...rather like a focused strike to the solar plexis, followed by a right cross to the jaw...Exceptional write, Patricia.

The Lastest Style: In Answer to Your Letter (Poetry) - 6/19/2005 7:54:54 AM
Marvelous!! SEE it all. EEk re the scars 'n' rolls. Mine are stayin'..."down under?" Thanks for posting your beautifully-written and intriguing poems. I am learning...I am learning... 'Pea' <3

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 6/19/2005 7:51:44 AM
Simply b r i l i a n t.

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 6/18/2005 10:37:24 AM
This is brilliantly done, Patricia. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace to you. Regis

The Temptation of St. Damon (Poetry) - 6/18/2005 9:35:50 AM
it makes me crazee...dreamy!

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 6/18/2005 9:34:23 AM
read it twice...both times astounded me, very good!!!!

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 6/17/2005 11:02:47 AM
Excellent offering girl!! Love Tinka

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 6/17/2005 6:44:36 AM
Another truly fascinating write from your extremely powerful poetic pen, Patricia.

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 5:22:09 PM
Very good Patricia. Thnx for sharing. May the Lord Jesus bless you, and those whom you love, and be with you always, and at your side constantly. With much love in my haert, stubborn to a faut, joy to te world, peace on earth, & ((((Hugs)))), Barbie "If I have to be this girl in me, Then I may as well be."

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 4:33:47 PM
excellent! :)

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 3:43:52 PM
Superb Patricia, far too many lines and phrases to pick out, as they are all outstanding. This is deffo a saver. Paul;-}

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 3:26:33 PM
countrified turned to horrified with the arrival of starlings, ravens, and jays. Birds of War. ... for I know who I am. Not light, not energy, and not the cure for what ails you. Oh, the whole thing, brilliant! You play in a different playground. :-) I've saved it to visit again. ~~Nordette

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 12:45:30 PM
Who would need TV if they could look out Their window and see the world you create from yours.

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 12:41:49 PM
This is excellent...i am certainly not underwhelmed

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 11:26:51 AM
I agree with Maria Pat! No one puts the words out there like you! Exceptional! Eileen

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 11:22:20 AM
Absolutely Outstanding, this is excellent Patricia! Reindeer

When it Seems Like a Good Idea, Remember (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 11:16:33 AM
Whoa! This kicks ass! Holy Crap Guru, when you write, you don't pull any punches! Printing this one, it's going in my collection of Patricia Gomes poems, only I am giving it it's own folder entitled "words to read when in need of an urgent reality check!"

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 6/11/2005 1:32:32 AM
I felt like I was in the cafe ... smiling at the petite dark-skinned waitress. Excellent poem, Patricia. God bless, Sandie.

The Lastest Style: In Answer to Your Letter (Poetry) - 6/4/2005 4:40:27 PM
The latest style indeed I do like the style of this it is so down to earth yet there is a quality to it that has a surreal feel. maybe it is what is lying beneath I am not sure It is just an Impression I get

The Lastest Style: In Answer to Your Letter (Poetry) - 5/13/2005 10:07:56 AM
Patricia, there is something so everyday in your poetry, yet bringing that everyday to the surface where it shines and turns golden.

Life's Work (Poetry) - 5/5/2005 3:58:12 PM
Rebellious piece. Never wore a hat... ...never will. Ron

Where Two are Gathered (Poetry) - 4/15/2005 2:24:39 AM
holy shit! what is it, the poem makes me wonder? a satanic cult?! this is one f'in' evocative poem!

The Lastest Style: In Answer to Your Letter (Poetry) - 4/12/2005 1:41:34 PM
Too many good lines to name. Gritty, resonant, funny, real. Refreshing and inspiring me to write.

The Lastest Style: In Answer to Your Letter (Poetry) - 4/10/2005 10:16:20 AM
Congratulations. Love and peace. Regis

Father Tom Loses the Raffle (Poetry) - 4/8/2005 1:19:04 PM
I do so agree with Kate. The Last stanza tells it all, and turns the tables on Father Tom. I think all priests are that expectant of us telling them our sins, when the only one we must confess to is Jesus, who is our Lord and Saviour. Very nice and truthful write Pat. May the Lord Jesus bless you, and be with you always, and at your side constantly. With much love in my heart, joy to the world, peace on earth, & (((HUGS))), Barbie "If I have to...Then I may as well be."

The Lastest Style: In Answer to Your Letter (Poetry) - 4/8/2005 1:17:58 PM
I think this is one of my favorites in the book, though I am torn since "Putting Summer in Its Place" and "Simple Truths En Pointe" have become my evening mantras! Every poem in "Simple Truths and Coughing Things" is a much needed exhale of the "things" too often left festering beneath the skin--a clearing, starting at the point of conception and making its way through " wishbones, tadpole omens, black moth's wings and those final photographs; you know--the ones where we couldn't bear to brush shoulders" giving the reader many Ah-huh moments, a clear eye of perception and a few laughs along the way! It is a book I will be giving as a gift this coming holiday...these are poems we can all see ourselves in!

The Lastest Style: In Answer to Your Letter (Poetry) - 4/8/2005 1:14:00 PM
Fantastic! A great read! The more I read, the more I wanted to read. Michelle

The Lastest Style: In Answer to Your Letter (Poetry) - 4/8/2005 11:35:40 AM
Yes Patricia, I certainly think so (giggles). This is a lovely poem of youth's unabashed party animal. You did very well Patricia, and I enjoyed every word. May the Lord bless you, and be with you always, and at your side constantly. With much love in my heart, joy tot he world, peace on earth, & (((HUGS))), your little den sister in the written word, Barbie "If I have to...Then I may as well be."

The Lastest Style: In Answer to Your Letter (Poetry) - 4/8/2005 10:43:23 AM
Congrats Pat and thanks for stopping by too. Love from India - Joel -

Life's Work (Poetry) - 4/8/2005 9:31:24 AM
Love. The. Message. I enjoyed this iron-barbed, sardonic peek behind the curtain... great write!

Glue Trap Diary: March Afternoon (Poetry) - 4/8/2005 9:29:33 AM
Pat, these are OUTSTANDING examples of why you should be read by a MUCH larger audience! Top-notch wordsmithing, dry irony, and hard-edged realism in even the smallest of observations -- honesty, it's all about honesty. No hiding behind flowery pretense and stale convention. So great to read your work!

The Lastest Style: In Answer to Your Letter (Poetry) - 4/8/2005 9:26:06 AM
CONGRATULATIONS on the new book! "Candice is pink roses atop the over-frosted, already too sweet cake. Pretty to look at, but a steady diet of the damned things will kill you ... or drive you mad." What wonderful descriptive talents -- you say a universe of things with such elegant economy!

The Lastest Style: In Answer to Your Letter (Poetry) - 4/8/2005 1:05:42 AM
the american informal style of poetry is really an eye-opener to those brought up on keats and shelley and british orotundity and formalism. Roethke is my big US poet, Corso in a few poems, too! You cast a satirical eye on the new crowd here who think they're so hip and original, when really it has mostly all been said before. k

Life's Work (Poetry) - 4/7/2005 4:31:37 PM
patricia i don't know how i have missed you so far, i love everything i have read of yours so far. i'm not going to leave comments on all i go back and read or i will start to sound repititious but i seriously enjoy your work

The Lastest Style: In Answer to Your Letter (Poetry) - 4/7/2005 1:56:07 PM
wow, i loved this. how have i missed your poetry before...or have i? this seems new and refreshing, i'll have to go back and read more

The Lastest Style: In Answer to Your Letter (Poetry) - 4/7/2005 1:41:07 PM
Well penned Patricia!! Love Tinka

Life's Work (Poetry) - 4/7/2005 3:12:54 AM
Patricia, I'm just sitting here with my mouth open, not saying a word. It's almost as though you reached right inside me and pulled out every imperfect thought I ever had, and are displaying them on the radio antenna through town on a Saturday afternoon. I just can't imagine one as talented as you ever considering to stop writing so this must just be one of those poems that appeared when you lifted your pen. But it sure kicked me in the butt! Yeah, I'm guilty of wanting to quit.. Great write Pat..as usual. Lisa

Life's Work (Poetry) - 4/7/2005 2:24:52 AM
Great Write...Maria said it al!! Love tinka

Life's Work (Poetry) - 4/6/2005 10:30:46 PM
Your poetry is always splendid! Eileen

Life's Work (Poetry) - 4/6/2005 7:15:13 PM
This was good. Fits me perfectly for I wear many hats at work. Hhhhhhmmmmm...I wish I can have the courage that you have. Wonderful inspiring write indeed! Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Life's Work (Poetry) - 4/6/2005 6:20:56 PM
Can I just say Amen! This is such an excellent poem showing a perfect example of honoring your "inner" voice! I am applauding!

Glue Trap Diary: March Afternoon (Poetry) - 4/2/2005 8:28:04 PM
I was really intrigued by the last one...Wow. I could just imagine picking up that book and seeing the writing from someone's hand who had contemplated such a deed. The chills, and wondering if they'd been able to overcome such a horrible wish. They were all great, but the last one...wow. Michelle

Glue Trap Diary: March Afternoon (Poetry) - 4/2/2005 6:49:20 PM
Jewels, Patricia. We never know what will inspire us to write. I too found the last one especially provocative. ~~Nordette

Glue Trap Diary: March Afternoon (Poetry) - 4/2/2005 10:28:03 AM
All three are poetic gems but the last one is undeniably captivating. Thank you, Patricia. Love and peace to you. Regis

Glue Trap Diary: March Afternoon (Poetry) - 4/2/2005 7:14:32 AM
Oh wow...stunning and powerful, the last one really got to me, outstanding. Reindeer

Glue Trap Diary: March Afternoon (Poetry) - 4/1/2005 6:22:02 PM
all three are well written, Patricia ... the third poem stuck a chord with me with its propensity to suggestiveness ...

Glue Trap Diary: March Afternoon (Poetry) - 4/1/2005 3:35:59 AM
All I have to do to know that 'just another day' is going to become one to remember, is to open your page, and be able to inhale your creativity. If one thirsts for inspiration in the written form, you can flood their banks with nourishment. I read this three times, just because it's that damn good. Perfection! Lisa

Glue Trap Diary: March Afternoon (Poetry) - 4/1/2005 1:10:02 AM
january turned to February turned to March ... winter isolation, I could halt the process with day trips and tea-soaked visitations, but am content to do nothing more than read. That could be a poem in itself. I relate and like the blunt style.

Glue Trap Diary: March Afternoon (Poetry) - 4/1/2005 12:21:56 AM
Enjoyed both but agree lll the better one methinks!! Love Tinka

Glue Trap Diary: March Afternoon (Poetry) - 3/31/2005 8:01:27 PM
liked the last one III best, a case for Miss Marple if ever there was one. k

Glue Trap Diary: March Afternoon (Poetry) - 3/31/2005 5:11:50 PM
Three easy pieces, written from the heart. Ron

Glue Trap Diary: March Afternoon (Poetry) - 3/31/2005 1:25:22 PM
This really is vintage Pat Gomes! Fantastic as always! that bold ending really made this outstanding! I also love your anaolgy of "the poem skittering like a tiny mouse, across the floor etc" Superb! Eileen

Glue Trap Diary: March Afternoon (Poetry) - 3/31/2005 1:15:52 PM
wow, both of these are fantastic...i would probably hibernate and read if winter were that intense here, and the glimpse of life and despair of a stranger in the cookbook is just too perfect. i will read them over again

Where Two are Gathered (Poetry) - 2/16/2005 10:59:59 AM
Patricia, Cleverly conceived and written - outstanding!! Best wishes, Robert

Father Tom Loses the Raffle (Poetry) - 1/16/2005 7:49:44 AM
Smart, sassy and searingly on-point. The last stanza is a brilliant summation and a brilliant tables-turner, understanding that God respects honesty almost above all else! Love the 'tude in this! Sharp and surgical write, and very well done! TY Kate x

Father Tom Loses the Raffle (Poetry) - 1/13/2005 12:42:18 PM
How did I ever miss this? Pat your work is brilliant, there is a lesson in this one for sure. I only wish you would be here more often!

Father Tom Loses the Raffle (Poetry) - 12/15/2004 4:07:35 PM
Truer words were never written. Clever.

Father Tom Loses the Raffle (Poetry) - 12/12/2004 3:26:15 PM
An awesome write ...Patricia enjoyed much William .....Peace & Love

Father Tom Loses the Raffle (Poetry) - 12/8/2004 8:37:40 AM
Wow..I loved this, missed reading your outstanding poetry, this was outstanding, Reindeer

Father Tom Loses the Raffle (Poetry) - 12/7/2004 4:12:12 PM
It has been awhile since I have partook of your poetetical delights. THIS one is a shining example of what I have been missing. I loved every line of it.

Father Tom Loses the Raffle (Poetry) - 12/6/2004 2:02:44 PM
Patricia, A definitive write on one's last 'rites' - profound and resounding; exceptionally and meticulously crafted to perfection!! Best wishes, Robert

Father Tom Loses the Raffle (Poetry) - 12/6/2004 10:15:58 AM
This is a wonderful combination of lucidness and mystery. Enjoyed very much.

Father Tom Loses the Raffle (Poetry) - 12/6/2004 5:14:51 AM
Powerful piece !! Love Tinka

Father Tom Loses the Raffle (Poetry) - 12/6/2004 4:16:18 AM
You are one of the best I have ever read.

Father Tom Loses the Raffle (Poetry) - 12/5/2004 4:55:10 PM
Pat you aren't here often enough, this is a feast for the soul!;-) I'm always sated from your poems!

Father Tom Loses the Raffle (Poetry) - 12/5/2004 2:39:48 PM
Let the resurrection goes to those who needs it... Sandie May Angel :o)

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 12/5/2004 1:59:38 PM
i really like this!!!

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 8/23/2004 10:27:36 PM
Some extrordinary sparkles of imagery penned here. I could feel the ambience. Outstanding poetry. Franz

Retirement/Interment: (an introspective, self-serving poem) (Poetry) - 8/23/2004 3:05:52 PM
Pat, you write like an angel... a very dark and sardonic angel who has maybe had one martini too many after a very hard day in Eternity, but an angel nonetheless! Wonderful work, a joy to read!

Retirement/Interment: (an introspective, self-serving poem) (Poetry) - 7/25/2004 7:15:45 PM
I think I would enjoy novels by you, your descriptions are very unique and you really know how to make images pop in people's heads with the appropriate words. This is very high quality writing.

Retirement/Interment: (an introspective, self-serving poem) (Poetry) - 7/22/2004 10:16:04 AM
I love poetry such as this, loved this so much, beautiful and real, Reindeer

Retirement/Interment: (an introspective, self-serving poem) (Poetry) - 7/21/2004 6:43:59 PM
This is a real gem. The words were alive.

Retirement/Interment: (an introspective, self-serving poem) (Poetry) - 7/21/2004 9:07:45 AM
Pat I really enjoyed this and I agree with Ted, you are remarkable, as a person and a poet. I love that old book smell too!!

Retirement/Interment: (an introspective, self-serving poem) (Poetry) - 7/21/2004 6:39:01 AM
You are a remarkable talent and I am humbled by your words......

Retirement/Interment: (an introspective, self-serving poem) (Poetry) - 7/21/2004 5:49:27 AM
Patricia, I love your writing. No pun intended but I also love the smell of old books and fertilizer. I often wondered where those little red spiders came from.(lol)

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 6/17/2004 5:18:34 AM
I know what I'd be doing with those feathers miz pat!!! ;-) Brilliance as always! look for an email soon Irish

Where Two are Gathered (Poetry) - 6/17/2004 5:14:25 AM
*shuddering* why do I do this to myself late at night!!!! LOL Loved every eerie minute of it! Irish

Where Two are Gathered (Poetry) - 6/10/2004 10:02:53 AM
Pat, I don't know how this one got past me... But I sure am glad I found it! What a menacing, eerie write -- absolutely a first class gem! I LOVE it! Your talent for describing the darkness that makes us uncomfortable is second to none -- if anything I hunger ot read MORE of your darker works! This was so good I didn't want it to end! Outstanding!

Where Two are Gathered (Poetry) - 6/4/2004 1:16:44 AM
Expressive in epic proportions! Peace 2 U Patricia, cynth'ya lewis reed

Where Two are Gathered (Poetry) - 6/2/2004 4:51:45 PM
Sounds like the Eagles' "Hotel California" I'm not Catholic and glad I'm not going there---brrrrr--is it cold in here?

Where Two are Gathered (Poetry) - 6/2/2004 6:53:40 AM
a fab write.

Where Two are Gathered (Poetry) - 6/2/2004 6:52:20 AM
As far as the Cat Stevens mention, he is being followed by C.I.A.

Where Two are Gathered (Poetry) - 6/1/2004 4:38:06 PM
Wow...I loved this, excellently dark and bone chilling! Reindeer

Where Two are Gathered (Poetry) - 6/1/2004 9:35:50 AM
chilling and dark poetry at its best, pat! very nice! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :D

Where Two are Gathered (Poetry) - 6/1/2004 4:41:37 AM
Sure glad I was left out of the guest list! Wow this is chilling, Pat.

Where Two are Gathered (Poetry) - 6/1/2004 3:42:39 AM
Patricia, very mesmerizing write. I still get those feeling whenever I pass a church. The music and language of yesterday still lingers on the mind.

Where Two are Gathered (Poetry) - 5/31/2004 4:01:43 PM
Awesonme poetry and I love the pic and the muse.....

Where Two are Gathered (Poetry) - 5/31/2004 12:33:52 PM
Powerful write Patricia!! Love Tinka

Where Two are Gathered (Poetry) - 5/31/2004 11:09:42 AM
Masterpiece written all over this one Pat! I've got shivers and chills, thanks to you;-)!

Where Two are Gathered (Poetry) - 5/31/2004 10:11:36 AM
Whoa. Powerful words, these.

Where Two are Gathered (Poetry) - 5/31/2004 9:52:01 AM
This is some post>>>I got scared, Patricia!!!It is raining out here,and power gone PC running on UPS backup...And your poem made the mood even chilling for me... <GRIN> POWERFUL, HARDHITTING poem!

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/29/2004 10:45:39 AM
highly descriptive, left me with "wish-I-was-there" feelings. A poem that takes me "there." blessin's cynth'ya lewis reed

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/12/2004 5:24:53 PM
Pat, this is absolutely OUTSTANDING! The P.O.V., the scene setting, the desciptions, your observations, the poetic "voice" -- ALL EXTRAORDINARY! Well worthy of major publication! Submit this, Perfumed Irritable Badger <don't hit!>, submit it!

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/10/2004 6:10:57 PM
This was outstanding, just an excellent poem! Reindeer

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/10/2004 6:45:15 AM
This is a work of art!

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/9/2004 4:14:41 PM
What can I say except I like the way you paint a picture with words.

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/9/2004 10:07:37 AM
VEry good write!!!!!

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/8/2004 7:11:08 PM
a wonderfully worded moment ... outstanding insight and prespective ...

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/8/2004 1:02:38 PM
Superbly capturing the moment. Mesmerizing. Love it. Thank you for this offering, Patricia. Love and peace to you. Regis

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/8/2004 7:33:58 AM
Excellent, this is very effective in reaching into that place in my mind that take me the reader to that very same place that you so meaningfully write of...wonderful piece. Allen

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/8/2004 12:59:56 AM
EXCELLENT write, Patricia!

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/7/2004 11:59:21 PM
I love your style Pat~

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/7/2004 11:16:35 PM
Your poetry dear Pat is an 'open mind' that no one understands until they learn to listen with their heart. This poem is striking and incendiary, and burns me inside with the flame of your ideas and feelings. Hugs always Bill

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/7/2004 10:48:56 PM
Now I remember why I always look forward to reading your new stuff. It is just beyond my ability to express how good it is.

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/7/2004 8:10:20 PM
Wow, your friends are right. Descriptive and emotive - I felt this. What a wonderful piece, Patricia. Thank you.

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/7/2004 3:54:31 PM
outstanding! Patricia, this is outstanding! You painted a picture here with deft strokes of a fine brush...I am in awe.

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/7/2004 3:40:57 PM
kind of like getting an inexpensive vacation to the isles. Love them sunburned beauties.

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/7/2004 2:46:53 PM
WOW .... Pat I felt I was right there with you... starbucks I hope...this was powerful..the description of the girls was so vivid...truly fantastic writing from you...you bring it right to the reader...floria

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/7/2004 2:33:05 PM
thank you for showing us your day......thru your eyes........ an open spirit is the most wise....... :) pax a

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/7/2004 2:24:13 PM
Excellent Patricia!! Love Tinka

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/7/2004 1:55:55 PM
(((patricia))) i love love LOVE this one--o, what imagery and simple prose just drives. this. home. precisely! *STANDING OVATION* i'm very partial to chinese, myself...mebbe i'll have to hang out there more???? if they give you this much inspiration--wow!! (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :) BRAVA!!!!

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/7/2004 1:47:36 PM
terrific write, patricia! well done! (in a way, i can relate; i work with non-english speaking people myself, and it is maddening!) (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :)

Dark-skinned Girls (Poetry) - 5/7/2004 1:39:17 PM
Don't ever stop frequenting those restaurants and coffee shops, Patricia; this is a marvelous write.

The Temptation of St. Damon (Poetry) - 5/1/2004 11:43:27 PM
ahhhh...this was a sensual delight, one of those little fantasies, much done but little revealed. Splendid composition and flow in this.

The Temptation of St. Damon (Poetry) - 4/9/2004 6:25:57 AM
I especially liked this line... "traced your lips with my tongue." Wow, very hot...

The Temptation of St. Damon (Poetry) - 4/9/2004 12:07:01 AM
Pat this poem would make anyone roar, lion, man, mouse or flea. Anyone looking to the sky for his soul. And please tell all these other guys to lay off. I spotted you first. Your magnificence always shines through. Hugs Bill p.s. Happy Easter Lady Patricia

The Temptation of St. Damon (Poetry) - 4/8/2004 3:03:41 PM
AWESOME! BRAVO!

The Temptation of St. Damon (Poetry) - 4/8/2004 11:03:11 AM
a very nice vignette Well done! john+

The Temptation of St. Damon (Poetry) - 4/8/2004 3:11:45 AM
This is incredible poetry, Pat! I like everything about it.

The Temptation of St. Damon (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 7:31:56 PM
wow! is right, this is and outstanding and profound piece Excellent write William

The Temptation of St. Damon (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 6:53:51 PM
Wow..this was outstanding! Excellent and beautiful poetry, Reindeer

The Temptation of St. Damon (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 5:24:09 PM
Wow! You were sorely tempted!

The Temptation of St. Damon (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 9:48:29 AM
Pat this is one of your best...remarkable writing....powerful ... just superb.... you always knock me over with your writing.. But this one is special...floria

The Temptation of St. Damon (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 5:57:55 AM
Another awesome post, from an awesome poetess!

The Temptation of St. Damon (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 3:19:03 AM
Damn Ted! Sorry so-and-so. Stole MY thunder. Said what I wanted to say. Well, let me just opine with, You, dear, are in a class all alone. Uh, huh. You are atop the literary mountain. You are Wonder Woman of wordly pursuits. Damn Ted!

The Temptation of St. Damon (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 1:53:46 AM
I nearly missed this because of your name change. P., Eileen is right when she says you should rule. Reading one of your poems is one of the most pleasurable things I could do in life. Each and every time I am inspired as well as awed by your creations.

The Temptation of St. Damon (Poetry) - 4/6/2004 10:30:33 PM
This is excellent..... Love the last stanza perfection.

The Temptation of St. Damon (Poetry) - 4/6/2004 8:37:20 PM
Patricia, this is FANTASTIC! This write has so many great descriptions, so many outstanding metaphors, and possesses such a wry and self-assured voice... you can actually "hear" these thoughts flow through the protagonist's mind! Love this bit: "Beyond the shadows of black tie dancers, I gauged your motions. Every languid movement lionesque—a promise of sleep-inducing climax." Yas...oh yas. A superb write!

The Temptation of St. Damon (Poetry) - 4/6/2004 8:11:29 PM
Pat you always floor me, and this one just blew me away! With such command you should rule the oceans!;-)

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 3/27/2004 2:41:16 PM
Spectacular photo - and a most excellent write!

Cyclic Depression and I'm All Out of Staples (Poetry) - 3/21/2004 3:37:52 PM
Painful.. I, well, strings and staples ...at times and tears and I can't quite say exactly what I think, because I maybe felt this so much and still.. the dog food bag and the last lines, dammit... I, you are so, well, humbling as a Poet yes, and this one reached so far into my gut and well...Haunting, yes, and damn, how even the structure makes it all work and then some, see? I, it just Got to me, been there??? (((YOU))) and yes, it is outsanding, oh yes! Thanks, Pat, m.

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 3/21/2004 3:31:41 PM
never a 'symphoney' from you, oh, so, so good to be reading you, again... quite a Journey and moving, so brings one with you as you follow... and then, quite brilliantly waken and leave... I am so excited to be reading You, Ms. P. this is brilliant, love your so bring one along style and your words and how your lines reach perfectly to bring us the Passion and the pain and the yes, no and goodbye... okay, at a loss, you are just plain brilliant! me

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 3/21/2004 8:21:04 AM
Very passionate and moving and filled with wonderful contrapuntal scene painting! There is a sense of confession about this write and yet there's still a distance, as if it were a tale told over Irish coffees after a particularly thorny, frustrating day... you do this type of write so well!

Cyclic Depression and I'm All Out of Staples (Poetry) - 3/21/2004 8:17:54 AM
Patricia, I just love the title of this piece! Terrific irony! The rest of the poem is tremendously expressive and artful and structured brilliantly --- truly an outstanding write!

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 3/20/2004 10:20:24 PM
Powerfully mind-grasping, Patricia. Love and peace to you. Regis

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 3/20/2004 5:53:33 PM
This was excellent, and so moving, deeply felt this evening, Reindeer

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 3/19/2004 4:59:01 PM
A highway to nowhere. You were wise to get off. Where was that photo when I did my poem, "Vanishing Point?"

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 3/19/2004 10:26:19 AM
**shiver** I can only imagine what was done with all those feathers.

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 3/19/2004 6:42:19 AM
Yes .. Wagner...and wine...but the feathers.. Great work

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 3/18/2004 8:08:15 PM
i really empathise with this most powerful poem!

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 3/18/2004 5:40:04 PM
"As his madness progressed, we planned concertos, plotted column width, debated what John Q would accept as intellect and what would be labled blasphemy." Love it!

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 3/18/2004 5:32:00 PM
Another extremely interesting write, Patricia. Enjoyed this very much.

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 3/18/2004 3:14:35 PM
Really The Mad (Poet)World Humanity Is Possessed With SEX, Illusions, Self Centered Inequities__ ThevRoad To Hell Is Paved By The (its) Madness_ Write Little Cluttered But,Secret GReat Fantasy Write! TRASK

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 3/18/2004 3:01:07 PM
Pat...how nice to be reading you again... You know I love your work....I get lost in your poems...and I can't get out.. this is truly fine writing... I felt the madness of it all...floria

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 3/18/2004 12:38:09 PM
i enjoyed reading this. a nice ine.

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 3/18/2004 11:29:12 AM
O dem feathers! Dey float on more den just de wind! Sounds like we all can benefit from a touch of madness.

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 3/18/2004 10:55:36 AM
Fine poetry Patricia!! Love Tinka

The Mad Poet (Poetry) - 3/18/2004 8:26:26 AM
Exceptional.A stirring, emotive poem.I love your work. ~Chrissie

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.