AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Tuchy (Carl) Palmieri, im j hollingshead, ijude forese, iSusan Rempel, iandrea coltman, iD. Vegas, iSara Russell, i
 
Home > Michael Hollingsworth
 

Recent Reviews for Michael Hollingsworth


The Good, Bad, Intelligent, Ignorant, and Injustices (Short Story) - 1/21/2012 10:10:40 PM
i think i was a bit confused...your edgy style was new to me. but...nightmare of any type of real...and real means mentally painful...the bruising of the brain not yet healed i suppose. interesting story...a theme shared in many circles of life-

The Boat (Short Story) - 12/20/2011 11:32:00 PM
This story taught me a thing or two. I will share it as well. You know, my first wife died of cancer but her last few weeks her on earth we took a trip to Aspen, Colorado from Miami, Florida in our new van. I never regretted buying the van and the trip was one that I can share with my kids for a lifetime. I have a grandson now and we go kayaking as often as possible. We have bonded with the water. I share my Christian faith with him out there - it's a special time!

The Boat (Short Story) - 12/12/2011 5:10:08 PM
Yes...an important message...as one must do their best to live each day as their own. for me, i am a bit more frugal...as time fishin' would not be enough...it would be dining...in france, england, spain, russia and the like! LOL

Milking the Cow and Churning for Butter (Short Story) - 12/11/2011 5:34:03 PM
your language from the south is not far from ours in the midwest...but i love your word cockerburr, or... have i mispronouced that word my entire life on acccount of- my (non-cocker) pups bring in cockleburs all the time! LOL

You All Come on In. Can I Get You a Coke? (Short Story) - 12/3/2011 1:10:07 PM
i love cokes, though don't drink them often. super marketing for a company to get the public to use their brand to mean something else-as in kleenex instead of tissue. but do remind me to ask for just water when a visiting ya'.

A Cup of Joe, Teacakes and Mrs. Birdsong (Short Story) - 11/28/2011 4:07:03 PM
this story is just the sweetness i miss about our the memories comeing from "today" - your term "bonus grandma" as Ms. Birdsong are the memories our youth today still need...but barely exist. thank you for sharing-

A House Divided Cannot Stand (or) Washington is Upside Down (Article) - 3/14/2014 10:02:22 AM
America has Hitler's Economy and Marx's Culture!

Senator Hagan - It's About Time To Face the Music (Article) - 1/29/2014 6:43:38 AM
Edward, I can name many reasons but here's one that make sense to most people. Obamacare was sold to the American public under false pretenses! Unacceptable!

Senator Hagan - It's About Time To Face the Music (Article) - 1/22/2014 11:31:03 AM
What is so terrible about 30 million more people having health insurance? We are the last among all the industrialized countries to have it. Health care costs are falling, pre-existing conditions are a thing of the past. Sounds to me like you have bought a lot of snake oil by the peddlers of "we hate Obama and every thing he stands for."

Book review: Killing Lincoln by Bill O'Reilly and Martin Dugard (Article) - 1/17/2014 2:39:16 AM
Ronald Hull, I think you are probably correct. It was meant to be historically correct but they did not know enough of the subject to do the proper research.

Book review: Killing Lincoln by Bill O'Reilly and Martin Dugard (Article) - 1/16/2014 11:51:17 AM
Thank you for your review. The little things you mentioned make one wonder if there is much fabrication rather than history in the book. If the book is a novel, and I don't know if it is, the inconsistencies don't matter. Knowing O'Reilley's political leanings, I wonder if that influenced the book. Historians have to be completely neutral. Also, I've heard that famous people, and even famous authors, do not write their own books. I don't know Martin Dugard is, but I suspect he may have written the book, O'Reilley read it and liked it, and then offered his name so that they could market the book as co-authors. These are just my opinions. I haven't researched any of this to verify if I'm right or not. Ron

A Tribute to My Mother - a Letter from Home (Article) - 9/7/2012 5:03:07 PM
Tears in my eyes. I feel your love and your pain-such emotions on the opposite end of the spectrum, but truths for those held so dear. i am glad you were able to be with your mom, although she is always with you- thanks for sharing your Love-

Stand up and Make a Difference (Article) - 9/7/2012 4:59:52 PM
Although I do not consider myself a True Christian, there is much truth to your view here. Well written, carefully considered. There is room for positive, loving, spiritual change...and i am ready...and will vote to initiate some of that change! thanks-

Post Sunset (An Haiku) (Poetry) - 3/3/2014 3:30:05 PM
i don't have any clues to my rues .... life is indeed getting slippery ... especially when its misty out at dusk ... cool ku!

Post Sunset (An Haiku) (Poetry) - 3/3/2014 3:01:36 PM
Has it slipped by you or did you just hit the pause button? Your wise words keep you from slipping out of our grasp. Love it. Something I have wondered about myself also. Liz

Life's Struggle's (an haiku) (Poetry) - 3/3/2014 1:52:47 PM
Life's set of answers...that sort of work and sort of doesn't. Strangely ideal. Great haiku.

Life's Struggle's (an haiku) (Poetry) - 2/26/2014 9:25:37 PM
good ku ....

Life's Struggle's (an haiku) (Poetry) - 2/26/2014 1:27:20 PM
Enjoyed your haiku ... Blessings jeanne

A Warrior's Quandary (Poetry) - 2/24/2014 10:32:39 PM
Loved the form of A Warrior's Quandary ... also the poem reads at a great pace and rhythm. Enjoyed. jeanne

A Warrior's Quandary (Poetry) - 2/22/2014 12:20:28 PM
Interesting write. Chances are if a bullet didn't out and out kill him he would have died anyway. Sorry war, but they all are. Enjoyed. Liz

A Warrior's Quandary (Poetry) - 2/22/2014 10:34:43 AM
According to my friend who has studied the Civil War, to show the tail of a Whitetail deer described as "showing the white feather" was an utter disgrace. Your poem is a quandary that many young men thought as they faced the red of war head-on. Brought to mind Stephen Crane's "Red Badge of Courage." Ron

A Warrior's Quandary (Poetry) - 2/22/2014 9:16:09 AM
grate!

A Warrior's Quandary (Poetry) - 2/22/2014 7:52:39 AM
i liked this very much budd

By God! (Poetry) - 1/29/2014 6:45:07 AM
Love it! A gift from God.

By God! (Poetry) - 11/22/2013 10:20:04 PM
Sunsets are indeed painting from God that cannot be duplicated by man. Amen!

At Seven Pines (Poetry) - 11/18/2013 10:51:52 AM
Wonderful. Civil War history brought to verse. Ron

At Seven Pines (Poetry) - 11/18/2013 7:36:37 AM
a very well penned tribute budd

Four Haiku's about Love (Poetry) - 1/31/2013 9:31:39 AM
Michael, I am a big fan of Haiku and these are all well done, following a wonderful theme. Thanks for writing. Cheers, Dan

Four Haiku's about Love (Poetry) - 1/31/2013 4:18:53 AM
Loved it X 3!!! GOD Bless you! John Michael Domino

A Day of Survival (Poetry) - 1/16/2013 12:42:27 PM
So many died in that awful war. Your poem is one of survival and redemption. Well-written. Reminds me a bit of my Honeysuckle Rain. Ron

A Day of Survival (Poetry) - 1/15/2013 7:15:15 AM
outstandinig write michael...created an urge to stand and sing along the praise...moving to say the very least...pat

A Day of Survival (Poetry) - 1/15/2013 6:27:16 AM
Michael, Powerful poem and thought provoking. Excellent. Blessings, Linda+

A Day of Survival (Poetry) - 1/14/2013 5:37:03 PM
What a history lesson with a strong moral plea...Well done! Cheers, Dan

Coots (Poetry) - 11/1/2012 1:19:48 PM
unique subject matter ... uplifting display of imagery and idea ...

Coots (Poetry) - 10/23/2012 10:22:03 AM
I am amazed at how much prey a raptor needs every day just to survive and feed its young. If weren't for the hawks and eagles, foxes, wolves and other predators, coots would soon become very overpopulated. Still it is nice to see, once in a while, a lowly mud hen escape capture. Ron

Coots (Poetry) - 10/23/2012 8:35:53 AM
Interesting and animated creature. Kind of a duck impersonator, and definitely meals for predatory birds when they are lucky. Michele and I frequent a lake near us, (Lake Murray) that is whelmed with the cute buggers. Gotta love um. Especially those freaky feet. hahaha... The lake on the property where I work they are an unwelcome lot. Poor guys. The members hate them. Nicely cogitated, Michael. Good to see you posting again. Enjoyed ...

Coots (Poetry) - 10/23/2012 7:51:38 AM
Nicely transcribed from water to page Enough wisdom in it for any old sage. Thanks, Ed

A Legend of the Waccamaw-Sioux (Poetry) - 9/20/2012 2:57:03 AM
I enjoyed this Souix tale!....M

Marriage (Haiku) (Poetry) - 9/20/2012 2:53:31 AM
I agree ! ....M

We the People (A Villanelle About the President) (Poetry) - 9/20/2012 2:52:23 AM
I don't like evrey thing that has happened , but he walked into a terrible mess. I'm not sure if the other guy is the answer!....M

We the People (A Villanelle About the President) (Poetry) - 9/16/2012 6:54:42 PM
The president is only part of the problem. Nancy, Harry and the Joe the VP are all smoke and mirrors. The Demo's supporters at the convention are a real joke. When it came to vote God in most stood up and shouted a loud, "NO" and they might as well have pierced the heart of our savior and Lord. Then the people's 2/3 majority vote was ignored and that showed the "Truth" of what this party is really all about. Smoke and mirrors they are and a "cover up" of the "Truth" right in front of world-wide TV. Why didn't the media cover the TRUTH! Because they can't handle the truth! That is they are the party of non-believers and deceivers. Amen!

Clemency at the Cross (Poetry) - 7/12/2012 2:57:49 PM
i love this michael...and i think it could maybe be made to flow a little easier if you took out the3rd stanza(or whatever u call them) altogether...thats where it stumbles for some reason...or may be just rewording that last line...'i'll rejoice through Your celestial archway' may be its the ARCH part of it ....why don't you play with it...change the title a little and throw it back out there. this is a great write and worthy of being jiggled with. i myself yearn for positive critisim here so i can get better but it only happens occasionaly...i hope yur not offended...

A Legend of the Waccamaw-Sioux (Poetry) - 7/12/2012 2:39:06 PM
i believe it was so..........SO IT WAS!

Triumphant Rebound (Poetry) - 7/12/2012 2:33:50 PM
the title is so strong...i like it AND HE didn't did HE?...AND...oh yes HE DID!...didn't HE we were told so weren't we

The Character (Poetry) - 7/12/2012 2:21:25 PM
another great tribute of perfect phraseing for those of us that have no comforting words to give ourselves when our dad's die and leave us as orphans...or so it feels

Mom (Poetry) - 7/12/2012 2:14:36 PM
oh michael.....what beautiful words to store in my head for the many times a day i miss my mom...to be reminded to smile for 'the beauty of my mom, my joy, my mother...at home with her God' thank you for this precious gift of these simple words...reminding words that so many would take comfort from

We the People (A Villanelle About the President) (Poetry) - 7/12/2012 2:04:12 PM
i just noticed you as a reader of someof my work and so happy that i did...can't wait to read more of your writes. this one in particular screams for an'amen'. keep writng this truth...keep talking this truth for there are those out there we can awaken with enough noise and then there are those like 'ron' that scare the beeejeezes outta me that we need to just bypass and stay on track with intelligent God obediant,just passive sleeping people, with hopes that their minds are stirring with the truth of where this self-proclaimed America-hateing flag-burning moooslim maniac is taking us. and to counter 'ron' there are plenty of people on AD that 'WILL touch it with a 10' pole' ...some may be stuck in 'political correctness' and don't always comment...but will vote their convictions in quiet. keep this impressive write in the forefront i would like to see more writings like this...was good and a reminder to me to use what talent i have in the same way more than i havve...thank you michael...psmedlin

We the People (A Villanelle About the President) (Poetry) - 6/14/2012 6:24:32 AM
A carefully constructed piece, Michael, the gist of which every American (these days) has a fervent opinion about. The european union is being sucked down in a financial maelstrom, the middle east has become a powder keg and many of the lifelong reigning autocrats have been stripped of power, the atrocities happening in Syria are reminiscent anymore of the worst days of the Nazi empire, the planet is fast approaching that infamous Mayan date, 12/21/12, when who knows what paradigm is destined to happen ... everything that can be shaken will be shaken, as the world political stage prepares to introduce the 'man of peace' prophesied of in scripture. It's time to trim off the unnecessary and intensify our relationship with the Most High. richard

We the People (A Villanelle About the President) (Poetry) - 6/13/2012 11:26:18 AM
No one is responding because most will not touch political subjects with a 10 foot pole. However, I feel compelled to comment. You are I have no idea what it takes to be president. All we have to do is vote someone in and then criticize if they don't do things we like. I recall a time in history when this country was in a similar situation, torn apart ideologically. Some were so brave as to believe that they could change the course of history by killing the president. That president was first of a very progressive party that had just started, the Republicans. Mark my words and the words of my poem, Obamanation, when all is said and done, Barack Obama will go down in history as one of the greatest presidents this country has ever had alongside Abraham Lincoln. Ron

Marriage (Haiku) (Poetry) - 5/6/2012 2:27:11 PM
I AGREE, WHOLEHEARTEDLY. THIS IS THE WAY GOD ORDAINED IT TO BE. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH... JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Racism (Poetry) - 5/5/2012 10:09:15 PM
Amen!

Mom (Poetry) - 5/5/2012 10:08:07 PM
A joyful Haiku that makes mom smile I am sure.

Marriage (Haiku) (Poetry) - 5/5/2012 10:05:21 PM
I love my cat. But I don't want to be married to a pet. I love my brothers in Christ. But they are brothers and brothers don't get married. I have many friends both male and female. Need I say more??? Dear God - has this world gone mad????

Marriage (Haiku) (Poetry) - 5/5/2012 9:40:04 AM
it couldn't be clearer...thanks for this declaration

Mom (Poetry) - 5/5/2012 2:36:21 AM
Delightful simplicity, Michael

Racism (Poetry) - 2/14/2012 4:25:02 PM
A naked truth. Thanks.

Racism (Poetry) - 2/13/2012 9:50:55 AM
I am in agreement Michael. Peace to you ... richard

Racism (Poetry) - 2/11/2012 11:08:05 AM
no words to describe the power these lines hold.

Triumphant Rebound (Poetry) - 2/5/2012 5:32:24 PM
very artfully expressed. i hear humbleness in each breath. i see HIS grace...

The Character (Poetry) - 2/5/2012 5:30:38 PM
oh thank you for these beautiful words, full of what i can not express but just perfect.

Godís Voice Wafting From High (Poetry) - 1/8/2012 5:25:04 PM
i read "dark" as "death"...but nothing to fear...life and death the same...to be met in perfect awe. lovely work-

Godís Voice Wafting From High (Poetry) - 12/19/2011 9:42:21 AM
I really enjoyed this cheerful poetic jingle. GOD BLESS YOU and have a Merry Christmas! John Michael

Godís Voice Wafting From High (Poetry) - 12/15/2011 11:50:34 AM
Intelligently constructed, Michael, with a palpable message. A good combination for readers of poetry and prose. Peace and continued inspiration ... richard

Corporate Man (Poetry) - 12/11/2011 9:29:26 AM
Ahhhh, a woman's ,,,, oops, man's work is never done. :) Donna

Corporate Man (Poetry) - 12/11/2011 8:28:13 AM
as long as it all comes out -- in the wash... ;)

Haiku (Poetry) - 12/11/2011 7:22:21 AM
I Agree Patrick. The picture does have a specific significance but time for me to retire it. Thanks for your suggestion. Michael

Corporate Man (Poetry) - 12/10/2011 8:44:20 PM
good for you!

NFL Haiku (Poetry) - 12/9/2011 7:25:58 PM
It is week fourteen Panthers are in position Don't touch my remote (PS. I'm a Lions fan and am in tears over their collapse) Patrick

Haiku (Poetry) - 12/9/2011 7:16:18 PM
Needs some imagery here mister(besides the picture). Unless of course the picture has a significance I do not comprehend, which would not be unusual by the way. If so, I'll fall on my sword again;-) Patrick

The Soldierís Battlefield Over There (Poetry) - 12/9/2011 9:57:01 AM
A very stark and moving portrayal. Peace to you ... richard

A Legend of the Waccamaw-Sioux (Poetry) - 12/7/2011 10:37:45 AM
Quite a tale and who is to say it is not so? Patrick

A Legend of the Waccamaw-Sioux (Poetry) - 12/6/2011 11:35:44 PM
its great sir i am become your fan

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.