AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: dawn kunda, iLawrance Lux, iRoxanne Bland, iBarbara Henry, iDavid Page, iGwendolyn Moore, iCraig Nagasugi, i
 
Home > Elizabeth Parker
 

Recent Reviews for Elizabeth Parker


Occupational Hazard- Perfect Lies (Book) - 4/24/2015 3:01:03 PM
1

Phobia (Book) - 9/29/2012 3:32:05 AM
Elizabeth Parker scares the crap out of me. I loved it! I can't wait to read the rest of her chilling tales. Phobia is so well-written and thoroughly researched, I felt as if I was reading the diary of a scared man.

Phobia (Book) - 12/24/2010 7:09:27 AM
My Review of Elizabeth Parker’s “Phobia”. I’m actually a pretty simplistic kind of a guy and in order for me to enjoy a book I must be able to get into the story rather quickly. Also, I must become involved with the characters, be they good or bad characters. I had absolutely no problem becoming involved within Elizabeth Parker's story nor did I have a problem meeting and emphasizing with “Phobia’s” main character, Matt Brewer. A seventh grade public school science teacher, we very quickly learn of Matt’s phobia, or actually his two phobias: Claustrophobia – the intense fear of being confined in small places and Nyctophobia – fear of the dark, along with the childhood prank that caused Matt Brewer’s life-long phobias. Along the way we meet the love of Matt’s life that holds a very dark, deadly secret herself. Once convinced that he is in need of therapy, we are introduced to some interesting, truly sympathetic characters each with their own brand of phobia along with the reasons for their phobias. Midway through the story takes a “James Patterson” type of twist that left me reading and turning pages as fast as I could. In my opinion “Phobia” is an exciting, extremely well researched, interesting and enjoyable novel and do reccomend it to our fellow Authors Den authors.

Final Journey (Book) - 12/7/2010 7:15:25 AM
Congratulations, Elizabeth, I hope that this book will be a great success. I've been wondering where you were the last week or so. I will be ordering this and the original "Buddy" Right now I'm looking at Kody who is laying on my bed looking at me with those big, soulful, "Caviler" eyes because his water is out of reach and he hasn't been fed because he's going to the Vet this morning for his quarterly checkup and to have his teeth cleaned along with the pulling of a broken tooth. I hope that all is well with you and your family. Mark

Phobia (Book) - 10/10/2010 10:05:56 PM
Congratulations on your book, Elizabeth. Love and peace and continued success to you, Regis

How Unwanted Dreams Came About (Short Story) - 2/12/2011 6:55:40 PM
Congratulations, Elizabeth. I used to have nightmares as a child but seldom do anymore. However, I do have great dreams and they are often the source of inspiration. Thanks for sharing. Love, continued success, and best wishes to you, Regis

How Unwanted Dreams Came About (Short Story) - 9/11/2010 12:21:35 PM
I do believe you, Elizabeth, but it's rather amazing that you are able to remember nightmares. Occassionaly I'll remember one, well, it's not usually exactly a nightmare as, when I have those kinds of dreams there will be a residual effect and I will awake wishing I had a (willing) lady with me; you know what I mean. But I can see how one's nightmares, if remembered might make a very good novel and I do wish you the very best of luck. Mark

What is Writing? (Article) - 6/4/2014 6:17:23 AM
You have covered the territory, touching on almost everything that affects a writer. While I love new styles and cutting-edge techniques regarding writing, I find that novice writers may have a very good story to tell, but do not have the writing ability to tell it well. I am currently editing a book that could have a very good story. Unfortunately, the author is a very poor writer, and his research and understanding of circumstances behind the story is so dated and often incorrect, making the editing very difficult. In the three months I've worked on the book, I felt like giving up every day. But, being the writer that I am trying to be, I'm trying to make this sow's ear into a silk purse. Unfortunately, just making mechanical corrections is taking up all of my time so that am not able to improve the structural problems with the story on this go through. I dread having to go through the book one more time to make those changes. Ron

What is Writing? (Article) - 6/3/2014 11:03:47 AM
Thank you!

What is Writing? (Article) - 6/3/2014 10:24:10 AM
well done

Overcoming Writer's Block (Article) - 4/26/2014 1:45:17 PM
The thing with writer's block for me is not writing like other poets but trying to find what works for me-- for me I often like to go outside and go some place I have never been before or write with a different pen or paper in order to ignite my thoughts-- I write in ink first before I type it out on here

Overcoming Writer's Block (Article) - 4/18/2014 7:55:50 AM
Hi Ronald, Thanks for your comment. That is awesome that you don't suffer from writer's block. For my novels, I don't, but I also write blogs, hubpages, bubblews. For those I sometimes have trouble thinking of topics, but it might be because I try to write on them once a day (or at least once a week). I am going to check out your poems soon. I didn't grow up with computers, but now I can't live without them. I do all of my work on a computer and like you, I learned the hard way to back up everything several times. I preach this frequently to others as it is one awful feeling when you lose ALL of your hard work! I'd love to be able to write a lot with pen and paper, but my right hand had surgery a few years back for "Trigger Finger" and since then, my handwriting is awful and extremely slow. I much prefer typing to writing. I've heard of Dragon but I've never used it. A friend of mine writes her books using that and is a great alternative for those who prefer to dictate or cannot type/write. That is an awesome suggestion, Ron, and thanks for sharing that! Hope that you have a fabulous day and thanks so much for your comment! I hope that you get your book published soon on the true stories of hitchhikers! Best regards, Liz

Overcoming Writer's Block (Article) - 4/18/2014 6:58:53 AM
Good advice. From your list of publications, you appear to be quite productive. I have never suffered from writers block. However, a time or two, while trying to think of the poem to write for my weekly post, I have had to think for five minutes or so to come up with an idea. Once I start writing, I usually finish the poem within 15 minutes. And then come back a day later and look at it to see if I can improve it. I grew up with computers, and don't understand people putting things down on paper. I started my first book in the spring of 1971 on paper. It was true stories of hitchhikers I had encountered on the road. In the fall I went off to study for my doctorate. I lost all track of what I wrote. But it's one of the many stories I still have to tell. All I have to do is just pick it up again and start writing. My memory is still quite good. Getting back to the original thought. With computers I've been able to store my work and edit it much easier (since 1972 with word processing). After losing hard drives through viruses and accidental erasure, I have learned to backup everything several times and have not lost a single major computer script (not manuscript) since. With the Internet, since 1997, most of my work is nearly immortal. I started on my first voice dictation system about 1995, because my hands are paralyzed and with my hand splint I have been only able to type with one finger. With much difficulty, I dictated my second novel in 2001. I am dictating this with Dragon Dictate. I have found that using dictation greatly increases my writing ability and my stories become more fluid with almost perfect spelling. Just a suggestion to add to your good ones. Ron

Overcoming Writer's Block (Article) - 4/17/2014 4:31:46 PM
4-17-2014 Writers Are (Born) Innate... TRASK....

Paw Prints in the Sand Trilogy (Article) - 3/21/2014 9:15:04 AM
Hi Ronald, Thanks for your comment. That is okay. I wish you the very best of luck. Have a great day!

Paw Prints in the Sand Trilogy (Article) - 3/21/2014 7:16:29 AM
While I share your love for dogs and hate the idea of puppy mills turning out puppies as throwaway commodities for Christmas and birthdays with no regard for the health of the dogs involved, I probably won't read your books. Ron

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.