AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Elizabeth Weeks-Rowe, iIan Irvine (Hobson), iJeff Mason, iNeeta Blair, iShawn Cormier, iJacob Taylor, iSusan Rempel, i
 
Home > Christine Boyce
 

Recent Reviews for Christine Boyce


A Sacrifice at Cumae (Short Story) - 8/22/2005 10:14:29 AM
I would love a stab at illustrating this! (if only I had time) I could teach myself how to draw warrior women, shields and sexual immortality! The "marriage ceremony" is key to this telling. It addresses modern-day same-sex issues in ancient voice. The mere mention of Sappho and Lesbos make this a timeless, poetic piece!! The characters' names alone are marvelously chosen at BEST ... and Cumae ... what an earthly, quintessential location name!! I say "Save the Queen!" Boyce does it again ... surprises the hell out of us with a new genre! A future novel indeed ... it's what we can hope for at best! Sage

Encounter the Show (Short Story) - 8/20/2005 10:33:35 PM
Conforming throws words, actions, and daily movement off balance ... just like a raised sidewalk that was poured anew, but leaving it a foot short of the 2" X 4" footer form to pour the concrete. This is what I call "running out of cement." Some words are better left falling off the high end of the sidewalk and killing themselves. If the words don't fit to your liking, put them in a bowl of alphabet soup and stir them around until they do fit. Sage

A Sacrifice at Cumae (Short Story) - 11/29/2003 7:06:21 AM
Wow! This is a great story! The plot is exciting. I really like how Christine Boyce weaves the thoughts of both women into the story to create the conflict that must be resolved. I think this would make a fantastic novel, and I'd like to see Boyce create that novel. Short story format does little justice here as I wanted to get to know the characters more and understand their world a little better. Greek mythology fans probably have a better grip on the characters and beliefs used in this short story, but for the average, and yet uneducated, reader, this story holds too many mysteries that are unanswered. I love Boyce's use of "shade" and Erelin's exceptional ability to defy the effects of forgetting. I think that by itself would make this an extraordinary novel. I would also like to know more about the couple before erelin died. What brought them together, how have they grown closer, what barriers have they faced, etc. I love how this story plays out though. I think Boyce did suggest many of these things, but again, novel format is necessary to create understanding within the readers. The story was seeped too much in explaining characters and conditions of the setting to really draw me completely into that world. Again I think this would be fixed over time. I usually prefer short stories, but this is a fantastic story and like I said before, it holds great potential as a novel. I look forward to reading more of Boyce's work. I bet she is a fantastic author. I hope she tells even more stories about this couple. Thanks fro writing Christine! You are great!

Another shade of orange (Article) - 8/20/2005 10:12:00 PM
Another shade of orange ... a whiter shade of pale ... a tinge less hue of lavender ... Poetry is more difficult to write than a novel! The author of poetry has to put together a novel-length plot/idea in a compressed space. And then try to find an audience who can fathom the message! How many times have we heard, "I don't read poetry because I don't understand poetry." I say to this, "Expand your intelligence quotient, quiet your mind, fill your room with fragrance and put up the hour glass. When the sand runs out, if by this time you have not fathomed the depth of poetry ... well then you never will. Parting is such sweet sorrow." By the way ... I love poetry. I analyze poetry. I don't "read" poetry. I analyze poetry to get the just ... and most of the time ... I do ... but it takes a quieted mind. This visionary says poetry will continue to thrive until we have to ration intelligent minds. And why would we? Sage

Music and Grit (Poetry) - 6/28/2009 12:16:55 AM
Superb work :-).I enjoy it,take care EDWIN

Little Desert (Poetry) - 6/28/2009 12:14:23 AM
Great poem,take care EDWIN

Letters on the Sky (Poetry) - 6/28/2009 12:12:42 AM
Excellent poem,I look forward to reading the next poem.I enjoy reading your works EDWIN

Cutting Valentines (Poetry) - 6/28/2009 12:10:11 AM
Excellent poem,I enjoy reading it,take care EDWIN

Cutting Valentines (Poetry) - 6/27/2009 9:27:14 PM
Great style- it reminds me a bit of one of my favorites, Dorothy Parker, which is HUGE as she was brilliant- like this poem is :)

Cutting Valentines (Poetry) - 6/25/2009 5:31:22 PM
Wow! How delicately penned and so expressive in kind... Be always safe, Karen

Cutting Valentines (Poetry) - 6/25/2009 7:50:43 AM
Sensitized to the idea of mending a broken heart by cutting out a paper heart. Cutting Valentines is significant poetry in that it solicits a pure, white lace doily to pad the saga of the heart which has played itself out the way it had to, and was destined to. The motif of the heart is cut open for perusal here, and this line is extremely powerful, "reminders of poetry like walking rehab after broken bones". Christine, this is well-written poetry with your stamp of ownership that you posted because it cannot be cut away without leaving an obvious incision. It's therapy for mind, body and soul. Cutting Valentines was greatly worth waiting for! It's been years since you've posted here on AD and it's so good to have you back. I hope to see more of your work on these pages. This poem illustrates a relationship with another, the damage done when torn into a life behind private walls, and displayed now in a public domain. Pull out some more of these from your briefcase. Be well... Love, Sage

Walking on Roots (Poetry) - 10/19/2006 6:16:01 PM
Harshness and beauty in this accomplished poem. You have your own voice and style. :-)

Walking on Roots (Poetry) - 8/22/2005 10:34:14 AM
I very much identify with this poem ... yes indeedy. For my personal healing purposes I mind-plant a circular clock garden with twelve different wedges of different flowers, which bloom and open at different times of the day to coincide with the hours of 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. ... depending of course ... on the personality of each flower. We do blossom at different times of the day ... each one of us ... in a different, delightful way. We need to be kinder to ourselves. Listen to the flower ... she is a great friend when in need. I don't know of too many weeds that are dried and pressed in a special book for a blooming memory ... do you? This poem is the flower that keeps on giving and giving. Sage

Bitter and Sweet (Poetry) - 8/20/2005 10:10:05 AM
I think you have given Sage a wonderful gift and I thank you for sharing it. Love and peace to you. Regis

Music and Grit (Poetry) - 8/20/2005 10:08:47 AM
There is so much here, Christine. This deserves a lot more than one reading. Thank you for sharing your wealth of life. Love and peace to you. Regis

Little Desert (Poetry) - 8/20/2005 10:05:00 AM
I have a short story here titled "The Sandman." I find your poem refrehingly original. Thank you for sharing your gift. Love and peace to you. Regis

Little Desert (Poetry) - 8/20/2005 8:31:02 AM
How much sand could the sandman sift if the sandman could sift sand? LOL what brilliant chiastic!. Spoken from the sands point of view. M, Chip, or glass. But what I enjoy most here, is not the perfect form. But the innocence one feels from the write. And the clever subtle messages. Your writtng needs an out let.. Another superb penn...

Music and Grit (Poetry) - 8/20/2005 1:46:04 AM
Yikkes, I got lost in this one........ I will keep it another time, and I swear I will take more time- to understand the meaning of all this and where your heading.... not use to this type of writing- but, I want to give it a go- you know- WArmly,Sheee ((Very Long and wordy and it has to be good))

Little Desert (Poetry) - 8/20/2005 1:31:39 AM
Lady, Christi- This is NOt dry humor but a dry explanation of a GREAT Poem....... I thouroughly enjoyed and just about seeing the dryness of the landscape with the cacti- I have #3 in vases in my Herb window......Doing well......... Thanks for this Sweet poem, think I'll head back up again, and read it over- Let it absorb..... Iloved your Sandman cliche/?- that is differ. and you are too....Awesome~! That again is wonderful- WArmly,Sheee

Little Desert (Poetry) - 8/20/2005 1:31:13 AM
Very creative. I really enjoyed! Love, Leah

Little Desert (Poetry) - 8/19/2005 9:41:32 PM
If you want to test a woman's character, you enter the buffer zone, and jump into this poem! Here at this oasis, all the emotions that womankind can experience are present. This little desert gem reads the landscape. This is where the buffer zone comes in, where the woman and the sand absorbs the prints; those keenly of the mind, those of the wind, and those of the desert creatures. I think I'll sit back and sift the day's events. Oh how I would love my back being scratched with a cactus! I'm into that scene! Sage

Music and Grit (Poetry) - 8/19/2005 6:37:45 AM
This is a fasinating style that you have used here. The reader becomes drawn in to the lives of your characters. Its like being a fly on a wall, hearing but not sure you should be there. Great write!

Letters on the Sky (Poetry) - 8/18/2005 10:33:48 PM
NO one understands this poem better than I do. The source for many great writers may have been nothing more than a healthy sniff of the bouquet of moldy books. The fungi that feeds on old paper is said to be mildly hallucinogenic, causing an enhancement of enlightment. I read it in a report in the British medical journal, The Lancet. I have an old paperback in my library morgue. Coincidentally, the name of the book is A Catalog of the Ways People Grow, by Severin Peterson, focusing on ways to seek the development of the whole person. This book ... I tell you ... has a scent to it that I find myself picking up for no other reason than for just sniffing its wonderful, healing aroma. After reading the article, I was surprised to hear that the old book is most likely laced with fungi, and therefore feeding my inspiration with a "good feeling" literary high. From this enlightening experience, I adopted the philosophy of the Amish, "What's old is of the good." I am truly inspired now from this and........................other things. Sage

Music and Grit (Poetry) - 8/18/2005 6:29:31 PM
Gob-smacked. Never read the likes. Reads so easily for some-thing so complex. Flows elquently.. Fitting Wilde's works in, and the way you write, I would guess you're another Wilde freak like my G/F is. Dynamically cover many bases here. Would have to write a thesis, to say of the whole impact of this epic poem(s). So I'll just say brilliant masterpiece!!!

Music and Grit (Poetry) - 8/18/2005 5:16:04 PM
This is what I think of Music and Grit ... Ponder this: "Yes, a good man, my father, Tom Henry, dead now, who walks on the wind. My speech is fluent because as a child, I was given the herb eavesdrop by Tom Henry to keep me from stuttering. Tom Henry said I stuttered because my mother died in childbirth, and I kept crying over and over and over, and she could not answer my cries, and I could not go on to other words because I got stuck." Well ... your needle goes smoothly in the grooves now, my sister ... Music and Grit is total honesty within one's psyche and now that it is told ... this one can move on ... and prosper ... because I sense closure here. Sage

Bitter and Sweet (Poetry) - 8/17/2005 11:35:19 PM
It's not hard at all to critique a poem that is dedicated to me ... narcissist? Yes ... at times. I read between the lines ... everything starts out as a half-something. Gestalt is a whole-something. Struggling is necessary. This is just a dress rehearsal for something so much bigger. Thanks for the dedicated space you put forth on this page, Christine. It means a great deal! Beija-Flor, Sage

Walking on Roots (Poetry) - 8/14/2005 12:04:20 AM
great poem Christine. thanks for your wise review on my article. yes we can learn from criticism but there are some critics who are actually haters because of their own hangups. These are the ones I am referencing mostly. some of them seem to think they are better than other people

Walking on Roots (Poetry) - 4/5/2004 5:32:43 AM
Absolutely wonderful! Great imagery.

Walking on Roots (Poetry) - 2/17/2003 5:05:50 PM
Welcome to the Den This is excellent Peg

Walking on Roots (Poetry) - 2/17/2003 10:23:37 AM
Christine...this poor flower has taken so much punishment...to even think it can bloom again...is a miracle in itself. But strange things do happen with flowers and people. Sometimes it is a poor beaten down human being who blooms again if someone takes the time to love them. Bill

Letters on the Sky (Poetry) - 2/15/2003 7:57:13 PM
So good and creative. peg

Letters on the Sky (Poetry) - 2/15/2003 7:52:17 PM
creative and whimsical...

Letters on the Sky (Poetry) - 2/15/2003 7:15:09 PM
A creative writing, Christine ;) Warm Love, *-Brittany-*

Letters on the Sky (Poetry) - 2/15/2003 3:55:32 PM
Incredibly poem from a true wordsmith. Love and peace, susan

Letters on the Sky (Poetry) - 2/15/2003 3:51:40 PM
Good write!..... Sandie Angel :o)

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.