AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: D. Vegas, iMartyn Kinsella-Jones, iDarryn Murphy, iMichele Poague, ialex canton-dutari, iAnn Frailey, iFrederick Brooke, i
 
Home > Tom Hyland
 

Recent Reviews for Tom Hyland


Bawlmer, Merlyn - Home of The Hons (Book) - 4/19/2014 8:20:05 AM
After reading your poem today, I see you have written your autobiography. When I published my first novel as an e-book in 1999, it was summarily dropped by my publisher for lack of sales the next year. Fortunately, the book was picked up by another publisher who raved about it and I was off to the races. Then, that publisher failed in spite of valiant efforts that drove nearly crazy after losing all of his venture capital to ideas like telling us all to join a website called, "Authors Den." Fortunately, my original publisher saw the light in about 2006 and started to offer my books in perpetuity as long as I pay an $8 fee per year to keep each one in circulation. She is very honest and straightforward and if you like the book to be there, contact Angela Hoy (she answers your email) at book locker.com. I could've warned you about Publish America and many others out there, but you already know that. Frankly, in spite of good reviews, and a good bit of promotion, my books haven't sold. I did sell one poem for $1800 to the educational testing service to drive school kids crazy trying to analyze, but otherwise I've taken to giving my books away as a means of getting better known among the reading public. My autobiography got a lot of buzz, but so far sales are dismal, practically nothing. From what I read of you, you are humorous and down to earth in your writing, the kind of style that should appeal. I plan to write until I die and then become famous 50 years hence. I'm sure glad I have Social Security to back me up until then. Ron

Bawlmer, Merlyn - Home of The Hons (Book) - 5/30/2010 9:37:46 AM
SUNDAY, MAY 30th, 2010 - DEAR READERS - Because of a 'chance' encounter via Reviews at this site, just now, from an Author with a Tag of *STARMAN** I googled my Book Name, solely out of curiosity. When I clicked the Link, and was transported back in time, so to speak - i just HAD to read the above posting. I had forgotten about the two excellent Reviews above, which literally brought tears to my eyes. What MIGHT have been! IF ONLY ... "A Day Late, and a Dollar Short!" At the time when my First (and only) Book was published, Elizabeth (I call her Liz) had been my Mentor and partial 'confidant' for almost two years, and her timely Review made me BLUSH! By the time that Laurel had done her Review, almost a year after publication, the AXE was about to FALL - but we did not know it! Although my 'One-Sided' Contract with Publish America 'locked me in' for SEVEN years - after only One year they simply CANCELLED my little book! 'Lack of Demand' was the stated reason in their COLD letter! If I wanted the PLATES - it would Cost me Dearly - could not afford. So, they would DESTROY them! At the time, I had no less than Three Managers at Three separate Barnes & Noble Stores, as well as Greetings & Readings - that agreed to hold Book Signings for me! But - ALAS and ALACK - when they all discovered that PA was just a smidgen above a VANITY PRESS, which would not Accept Back any Unsold books - they all dropped me like a 'Hot Potato!' As Kirk Douglas sang the lyrics of "I've a Whale of a Tale to tell you Lads ..." in the movie "Twenty Thousand Leagues Under The Sea" - " ... it's all True - I Swear by my Tattoo!" My best guess is that less than 200 books were ever sold - and I bought about 50 of them myself, for distribution and Marketing purposes, as well as Gifts to Family members. If any were sold here at AD - I surely don't remember being told! SO- DEAR READERS - "To Be Forewarned Is To Be Forearmed!" BUT - now I am 'After-Warning' you all - EXACTLY FIVE YEARS LATE! DUH? P-A-L ... Peace - Abundance - LUV ... Tom 'Still Wanna-Be' Hyland.

The New Jerusalem - Chapters 1 - 5 (Book) - 8/12/2009 7:04:40 AM
'Huge read. Huge entertainment..

The New Jerusalem - Chapters 1 - 5 (Book) - 9/21/2008 6:30:08 PM
Just keeps rolling right along. Enjoyable read, at least it was for me. Something different from the romantic novels I have been reading. More like the truth and not fiction. I loved it and glad you can write so well. Keep it up and hope the book sells well. I like the title, It is good for the scenes here.

The New Jerusalem - Chapters 1 - 5 (Book) - 5/29/2008 7:22:13 AM
Tom - I really enjoy your story so far, but have two questions for you: 1 - Is it necessary to rant...as in RANT, SHOUT, SCREAM...at your reader? I think it detracts from your story when used as often as you do. Word[s] repetition for emphasis is just as effective and less offensive to the eyes. 2 - If this is to be a hand-held book (in lieu of an e-book while reader is on their computer), why not name the article or book you reference and use "quoted passages" from same, rather than use the URLs to a website or ask reader to Google? Keep the reader into your book, not running off to their 'puter :o) Just a few suggestions, Tom, cause I like this story... ~~Micke

Bawlmer, Merlyn - Home of The Hons (Book) - 8/30/2004 9:31:52 PM
As I read your story,I was taken back in time! I was a little girl again. who said you can't turn back the clock!I remember those days of "outhouses" and "parlors" and drawing water from a well. Those were the happy days we all need to remember, from time to time. THANKS! JUANITA JONES

Bawlmer, Merlyn - Home of The Hons (Book) - 10/14/2003 1:12:35 PM
You are an excellent writer !!!

And Yet Another Way Corporations SCREW The People! (Short Story) - 8/21/2015 4:11:39 AM
Thanks for the warning, Tom. Hard to invest in something (e.g., the stock market) which keeps taking more than it gives - employment for the glib of tongue.

And Yet Another Way Corporations SCREW The People! (Short Story) - 8/19/2015 6:11:50 AM
well done

And Yet Another Way Corporations SCREW The People! (Short Story) - 8/18/2015 7:44:02 AM
While I was single, my brother would not let me go to buy a car by myself. Thank goodness!! Love ya! Jane

And Yet Another Way Corporations SCREW The People! (Short Story) - 8/18/2015 6:01:08 AM
It's always been that way. The good, simple oldies required frequent servicing and if you bought new cars, salesman always tricked you and the dealer always charged more and upsold unnecessary service perks. When I inquired about a new Mercedes in 1968, I was told that a service technician would drive the 20 miles to my home or work every month, take my new car back to San Francisco, service it, and then return it to me. They didn't mention what that would cost me. BMW recently started providing 10 years (I think) of free service after their sales declined because of a bad reputation for outrageous service costs. Car companies buy huge lots of cheap tires for their new cars. My 1966 Toronado had special factory rayon tires because the ride was so harsh with front torsion bars. Those tires were so soft sharp rocks would puncture them. I made the mistake of buying some and then having nearly 20 flat tires in 2 years. I had to switch to used Cadillac tires I tore them up so fast. Your Honda will probably run 200,000 miles with very little maintenance. My father wouldn't keep a car after it had 50,000 miles, because, "the maintenance will cost too much, more than the car is worth." Ron

TIMES ? (Short Story) - 8/5/2015 5:13:09 AM
U R a real "Stud muffin"

ALL MY CARS - PART 2 (Short Story) - 8/5/2015 5:11:50 AM
U R a real gearhead. The only interesting one's are the Fiat and the Volvo. LUV a good deal!!!

TIMES ? (Short Story) - 8/5/2015 4:01:59 AM
That's quite a story. Who's keeping track? You call that a score? It's what I would call a red-blooded manly lifetime. Why so many think we are monogamous when we aren't is beyond me. And women, while they won't admit it, like variety (when the right man comes along) as much as men. I'm not saying you weren't monogamous during your marriages. I think you were. If we would just accept the truth of the matter, all the divorces over infidelity would go away. The ones over money won't be helped by being open about sexuality. Congratulations! Variety is the spice of life. I hope you aren't relying on blue pills to keep it up. I'm not. Ron

TIMES ? (Short Story) - 8/4/2015 8:04:26 AM
Spread the love, my man!!! Love ya! Jane

SLURPEES ! (Short Story) - 6/15/2015 4:13:30 PM
Smoothies, or slurpees as you call them, are a good bullet in the direction of cancer. I like your idea, Tom, of including raw sunflower seeds. You might try a little piece of dark chocolate in your slurpee. My trainer says dark chocolate in moderation is very healthy. I also use a few table spoons of low fat yogurt in my smoothies. Okay, that did it; time for a smoopee... Scott

CHICKEN SCRATCHES ? (Short Story) - 10/22/2014 7:39:16 AM
We seem to travel along similar paths. Both my grandmothers were schoolmarms and self-taught when it came to reading music and playing the piano. My father played the trumpet in high school, could sing quite well, and said that he "played by ear," although he was hard of hearing from a punctured eardrum in his teens. His CCC camp bugle hangs from my fireplace mantel… All beat up by my younger brothers… I don't remember it being that way when I was growing up and he played it often at family get-togethers where we would all get around the piano with my dad sister playing and sing songs. I learned music and promptly forgot it. I learned to play the piano and piano accordion and promptly forgot it. Sang in several choirs during school, but never joined a church choir. My dad's brother was a member of the Rochester (Minnesota) Men's Choir for many years. I understand they were quite famous, but I never heard him sing with them. I only heard him sing "Old Man River," solo, when he was in high school. Quite a baritone. It looks like your choir singing got you in some high places. That's wonderful. Great memories. Thanks for sharing with us your chicken scratches. Ron

CHICKEN SCRATCHES ? (Short Story) - 10/21/2014 11:12:21 AM
First bass, Huh??? Well in Bawl'mer that would be Boog Powell, I guess. Seriously,your musical odyssey sounds like a lot of fun, and a real blessing. I played piano and sang in a variety of choirs and small groups. Right now the church I attend is too small to suppor a choir, so I just sing in song service. If you can't make a joyful noise, make a happy racket!!! God bless, Chip B.

CHICKEN SCRATCHES ? (Short Story) - 10/21/2014 5:21:23 AM
I played piano, oboe, and trombone...............you should have played with me............

CHICKEN SCRATCHES ? (Short Story) - 10/21/2014 2:35:13 AM
WHAT??!! ONLY ONE IN POLISH??!! (Other than that, very cool.)

DADDY ... ADDENDUM (Short Story) - 9/28/2014 6:15:47 AM
Sounds like a very fun trip, without the war to to go with it. You were lucky to escape the action and still get a commendation for your service. You could've gone to Cuba on a clandestine mission. In 1968, Nick Hordon, a tech in our plant in California, suggested that I go with him on an ambitious tour of the East Coast (way too ambitious--we missed out on Boston, NYC, and Washington DC, that he promised we would visit) during our annual two-week shutdown in August. He said that he usually did it "nonstop." I didn't believe him. We took off in his 1960 Sprite with four cylinders buzzing and pulled over to sleep on any available grassy spot after driving each day as much as 22 hours and sleeping as little as three. We did manage to see much of America through bleary, sunburned and wind burned eyes and manage quite a bit of car trouble along the way. We kept an almost, military, schedule. Ron

DADDY ... ADDENDUM (Short Story) - 9/27/2014 3:46:39 PM
You hava very interesting life.. I'm glad you are willinbg to share it. Chip B.

DADDY ... ADDENDUM (Short Story) - 9/27/2014 12:13:48 PM
Wow......amazing! Love ya! Jane

DADDY, WHAT DID YOU DO IN THE MILITARY? (Short Story) - 9/26/2014 3:45:36 AM
Glad you hated 'almost every minute of it' ... nobody should come to love the kind of work we do. Hope you were able to translate the experience into something creative and useful, surely not having to use your CBR training.

DADDY, WHAT DID YOU DO IN THE MILITARY? (Short Story) - 9/24/2014 12:43:35 PM
No matter what, Tom, you were "there for us" if needed. Thank you. Love ya! Jane

DADDY, WHAT DID YOU DO IN THE MILITARY? (Short Story) - 9/23/2014 11:09:22 AM
A semen in the Army reserve, think I'll contemplate my navel on that one! Sounds like some pretty interesting duty when others were being called up by thousands to be sent off to Vietnam. Ron

DADDY, WHAT DID YOU DO IN THE MILITARY? (Short Story) - 9/23/2014 6:34:23 AM
Tom.....Enjoyed very much your retelling of your adventures. I was 4F in 1966 or so. Back then I was happy. I wouldn't be attending good ol. Saigon U., and pledging Mekong Delta fraternity. In retrospct I wish things had gone differently. I was 18 going on 12 and a little military service would have grown me up some. God bless, Chip

THREE LITTLE ... EDS ! (Short Story) - 7/29/2014 4:36:04 AM
Although this story is partially true, I feel obligated to set the record straight: Pee Wee Ed was not blown to Smithereens as many suspected. He survived, but he was bitten by the wolf, who was actually a werewolf, and today, Pee Wee Ed is a werewolf too, often seen running naked through the forest, howling with his pack of loyal dogs. As for Jersey Ed, he was blown to Smithereens, but his body parts were blown into a Jersey Swamp and soon ingested by a hungry old swamp creature, who was so disgusted by what he just ate that he immediately barfed it all out, and 'It' became stinky old Jersey Devil Ed. As for poor Old Fart Edvard, he has sadly passed on into The Great Unknown, and we truly miss him today.

THREE LITTLE ... EDS ! (Short Story) - 7/27/2014 5:37:22 AM
Ha haaa! I love it!!! (Ed, I love ya!) Love ya! Jane

THREE LITTLE ... EDS ! (Short Story) - 7/26/2014 9:46:35 AM
Slipping in between Eds, I would only add that this story is an outright plagiarism of a very fine old tale by whatchamacallit. How dare you compare yourself to three little piggies! You deserve to have your house blown up by C4 and your ass's eaten as you run all the way home… Oink oink oink…! Ron

THREE LITTLE ... EDS ! (Short Story) - 7/26/2014 6:17:59 AM
Tis a shame, it seems that old cuz cur has been drinkin' his homemade brewski's again...guess he is going to have to go to rehab again...Ed the 2ndth...

THREE LITTLE ... EDS ! (Short Story) - 7/26/2014 4:13:04 AM
how do you spell 'DEmentia'? ... wait for it ... EDmentia ... HO-HO HEY-HEY HEE-HEE !!!

LUCK ? (Article) - 8/30/2015 7:12:04 AM
My father was rather addicted to slots. He claimed to have one 4 or 5 jackpots over the years my mother and he tried out casinos from South Texas to Northern Wisconsin. He never told me what it cost him to win those jackpots. I've been playing the slots very infrequently since the 1960s in Reno and have always had a very small limit… Lately, $100, and have come away very few times with any winnings. I have seen little old ladies tying up 3 machines at a time, frantically pulling the levers (before pushbutton machines lost our money faster) in a trance over the sound and possibility of winning (big?). The Indian tribes are raking it in from senior citizens who thought that "All injuns are injuns" from watching cowboy and Indian movies in their childhood. Sweet revenge. Ron

LUCK ? (Article) - 8/30/2015 2:13:30 AM
There was a time I enjoyed gambling by playing the slots at one of the big houses in my area. I'd only go there with a set amount. It could be a very short stay. To me, the sound of bells was music to my ears. I haven't been to a casino in years, but you bring every bit of it back. There's no need for me to go back because of the cliché, "The house always wins."

LUCK ? (Article) - 8/29/2015 3:46:41 PM
LOL!!! I went to gamble one time and quit after I lost forty bucks. I was waitressing...doubles every day....I raised my kids by myself with no "help", child support, welfare, alimony.......never got any of those thus I have a hard time parting with money.......unless it's for the grandkids!! You must have been born under a lucky star! Love ya! Jane

TRANSPORTATION (Article) - 8/19/2015 6:13:16 AM
well done

TRANSPORTATION (Article) - 8/13/2015 7:00:50 AM
Every city has its problems. I read some time ago that the oil people kept Los Angeles from developing a decent public transportation system as far back as the 40s, resulting in its massive urban sprawl. We have that here in oil city, as well. But we have light rail that was fought by many, but is now quite successful if reaching only a small portion of the population. We have had many collisions with vehicles because there are many points along routes that intersect with automobiles. To solve this problem, I would recommend raising the lines like the El in Chicago and in some portions of the subway in NYC. Every approach has its problems. We are desperately in need of a quicker way to travel between Dallas and Houston. Landowners are objecting to purchasing right of ways to make that happen. Once again, I recommend raising the line of high speed transit so that animals and vehicles can easily pass underneath without danger. Ron

TRANSPORTATION (Article) - 8/13/2015 6:58:16 AM
You nailed it in your words, "Because BIG OIL is Against It". Love ya! Jane

POLITICS ? (Article) - 8/10/2015 5:38:29 AM
You are preaching to the choir and have got your facts straight. I'm still trying to figure out why people fall for the lies that some politicians preach. Perhaps, it's because most people are just sheeple, like the religious "flocks" that follow blindly, and do what their friends or family do. That's why they like kings and dictators so much to tell them that they are unimportant and deserve their miserable lives under the thumb of oppression following patriotism over true freedom. Sociologists are very good at coming up with labels for groups of people and politicians love to waive labels as ways of denigrating whole groups of people without understanding individuals. Parties and PACs package ideological agendas that make it easy for voters to mindlessly pick an agenda and let the politicians fight it out. I think the reason we have only two parties is that we are so concerned about "majority" voting in this country as though it were the way that everyone believes or that everyone should follow… The majority. Most people don't know that there were Whigs and Tories in the past and that the Republicans are a new party on the block that started out with rather progressive ideas like ending slavery and reducing the power of the rich. A nice rant that most Americans would agree with. The question is how do we make government more fair, more responsive to the people, and less ritualistic and ideologically run by dynasties of wealth and power with little moral fiber or inclination to do what is right. Ron

POLITICS ? (Article) - 8/9/2015 1:26:00 PM
You need to run for office, maybe you can be Trumps running mate...you both are crazy enough with more than enough opinions between you...LOL, good write, cuz...-e-

POLITICS ? (Article) - 8/9/2015 12:22:23 PM
You are so right with the, "Money talks-bullshit walks!"....."his/her lips are moving"!!!! Oh, that one knocked me off my seat, hon!!! Love ya! Jane

GOOD PEOPLE vs. ARROGANT S.O.B's (Article) - 7/29/2015 5:21:46 AM
Not to defend arrogance, but you have to chalk some of it up as ignorance or distraction. Some people are just plain ignorant that they are annoying others by their behavior. The telephone is a good example of a distraction. That person in the grocery line may be having a problem with her child that she can't be with to select all select all properly discipline and is more frustrated than arrogant. You failed to mention one area, probably because your job on the road primarily involves drivers and the public. That area is superiors or bosses. I've had both good and bad. The way that most corporations are now structured, bastards are often chosen to lead because they are required to do the dirty work of cutting people from jobs when the budget is reduced. From long experience, I've found that these gatekeepers are generally that one step beyond their competence and are fearful that someone will find them out. That's why they act arrogant to hold off any sense that they have a weakness towards their employees. The same is true of professionals. Those that are snobbish or arrogant and active high and mighty are generally very narrowminded and afraid someone will find out how much they cheated to get where they're at. They don't have the strength to share anything with even their colleagues. It's a character flaw that Charles Dickens portrayed so well in A Christmas Carol. Ron

RENT (Article) - 7/29/2015 12:49:12 AM
Good suggestion about a tax deductible for paying rent. Renting is throwing money out the window for the slight peace of mind of not having to worry about maintenance, repairs, or snow removal.

GOOD PEOPLE vs. ARROGANT S.O.B's (Article) - 7/28/2015 2:49:09 PM
Write on, hon!!! My brother drove tanker for over twenty years and I would get so irked just LISTENING to some of his horror stories. Love ya! Jane

CONJUGATION OF VERBS (Article) - 7/23/2015 7:14:14 AM
After I stopped laughing… After 16 years (through college) of English, I had completely forgotten conjugation. I'm so glad you reminded me. Still, somewhere along those years I memorized those rules, perhaps back when my mind was pliable to language. As for defecation, to be polite. If a bear shat in the woods, should I worry? I would say, No. However, if he shit, instead, I would get mighty worried because it would be in the present tense… Mighty tense, I'd say. Thanks for the lesson in how to detect whether a bear is dangerous or not. ;-) Ron

CONJUGATION OF VERBS (Article) - 7/23/2015 12:00:25 AM
You brought back those golden rule school days of conjugating verbs. Remember diagraming sentences? Especially those two-deckers.

CONJUGATION OF VERBS (Article) - 7/22/2015 11:54:23 PM
I must compliment you on remembering these "rules" of the English language!!! You get an A+ !!!!!! Love ya! Jane

CAR 'STUFF' (Article) - 7/19/2015 4:38:03 AM
Nice job. I think that car was the one I owned back when - I never knew whether I was comin' or goin' ... or whether I'd get there. Thanks, Jan

RENT (Article) - 7/7/2015 7:46:03 AM
You're right. When I was forced to rent my Atlanta house when I came to Houston to find work, I quickly found out that the tax laws greatly benefit landlords. I currently rent out part of my house as a tax loss. Unfortunately, most people don't know how to use the tax laws for benefit and live paycheck to paycheck. Personal finance skills are sadly lacking when I view many people that I've known… Some highly educated. On the other hand, my sister and her husband once owned 5 or 6 rental properties in small towns. The lost rent from bad tenants, repairs for property destruction, and other maladies, eventually forced them to sell the properties and get out of the rental business. I've found that unless one can inexpensively remodel or upgrade, and meticulously maintain rental property, it can be very difficult to rent to good people. And rent is not the biggest problem we are facing. It's income inequality. As the very richest get richer and everyone else gets poorer, more and more people are forced into rental. The American Dream of homeownership, even at today's remarkably low interest rates, is slipping away from most earning below the poverty level. Ron

RENT (Article) - 7/7/2015 5:44:06 AM
There's no happy medium, I swear! I've rented and I've owned. The house I'm living in now, I own BUT it is "underwater". For some reason, it's worth less than what we bought it for but the payments are still the same. We flat out need an all out revolution! Love ya! Jane

Fun With Some CON Words (Article) - 7/2/2015 10:41:52 AM
Although I will not condemn your constitutionally contrived constipation, I must convey my consternation for your less than conservative confluence of connective concentration and inform you that are poetic consequences for such conniving. Cuz p

Fun With Some CON Words (Article) - 7/1/2015 7:07:39 AM
I found this very conical. Damn! My spelling is so bad… I meant comical! ;-) Ron

Fun With Some CON Words (Article) - 7/1/2015 5:50:15 AM
LOL!!! This is a fun one indeed, you wild man!!! Love ya! Jane

RACISM (Article) - 6/28/2015 8:15:40 AM
I live in Houston. The Vietnamese population exceeds 80,000. Many of these Vietnamese did not speak English. More likely than Arabic, the 3rd language to be added to the telephone answering machines in this town will be Chinese. They are moving rapidly into Houston and taking over the community formally dominated by the Vietnamese. It's a great melting pot we are living in. So far, Muslim violence in this town has been minimal. One Muslim in particular, Quanell X, a lawyer and leader of the New Black Panther Party in Houston has done innumerable good by intervening in racial disputes and freeing black prisoners wrongly accused by eyewitness accounts or rigged police work. With travel and opportunity the way it is growing in a world economy, young people today, connected worldwide by the Internet, are more and more likely to marry opposite their parents' beliefs. While ideological differences may remain for a very long time, racial differences will probably be eliminated in time when we all become a neutral shade of brown. Old hatreds die hard, but they eventually die when people become enlightened rather than afraid. Nuts and crazies will probably always exist, but we are more alike than different, and someday, in the future, we will all know that and the Hatfields and the McCoys will sit down, like they do today and wonder, why they had that feud at all? Ron

RACISM (Article) - 6/27/2015 8:09:09 PM
Sock it to 'em, hon! Love ya! Jane

BERRIES (Article) - 5/28/2015 3:48:04 PM
I've never had lingonberries or loganberries but most of the rest make truly excellent ice cream. And, though I've never eaten them out of hand, I've made elderberry jelly and it's very good. Also our property here has a lot of wineberries growing. They're very similar to raspberries and are worth making into jam. Google is one of the best things about being online. I loved them and read them like novels when I was a kid but who needs encyclopedias now? Hugs, sweetie

GOD BLESS THE @#%^ CORPORATIONS! (Article) - 5/23/2015 9:59:28 AM
And, corporations are plundering resources at a tremendous rate and then using all of those entities in their power to sell us on buying their goods and services. And we do, accelerating the destruction. When the problems they create finely surface, they tend to morph into some other entity and remain blameless while the earth has to heal itself. There is something we can do. First, think and act frugally. We don't have to buy and use most of the corporate stuff and services just because they are there. And, we can buy the goods and services of local people not associated with corporations. Unfortunately, so many people have been spoon fed corporation pablum from birth and easily fall into the "easy way." Ron

OF ALL THE GIRLS I LOVED BEFORE ... (Poetry) - 8/13/2015 5:54:41 AM
Wow this is fabulous. I loved it. hug kathy

ELF # 1 (Poetry) - 8/13/2015 5:52:03 AM
What a lovely tribute to this lovely lady I truly enjoyed your trip down memory lane. Hug Kathy

CROSSWORDS (Poetry) - 8/13/2015 5:48:13 AM
I love circle the words myself. Never could do those cross words. I really suck at them lol. hug kathy

CROSSWORDS (Poetry) - 8/5/2015 2:20:10 AM
I love crossword puzzles.. BUt it doesnt love me back.. Entertaining poem..

CROSSWORDS (Poetry) - 8/4/2015 7:55:24 AM
I've always loved doing crossword puzzles... ...the more challenging ones. Thank you for sharing, Tom. Love and peace, Regis

CROSSWORDS (Poetry) - 8/4/2015 7:14:45 AM
You really described crosswords very well. At first, I thought you were going to write about "cross words." ;-) I always hated trivia games and pastime activities. In waiting rooms and on public transportation, I always preferred talking to people rather than doing introverted things like reading, work, study or pastimes like crosswords. So, I've only done a couple of crossword puzzles in my lifetime and found them quite easy. I can see why they might build one's vocabulary and knowledge of trivial facts like the names of Jewish months. Perhaps I would have done crossword puzzles more had I been able to pick up a newspaper and a pen and doodle easily with my paralyzed hands. Ron

CROSSWORDS (Poetry) - 8/3/2015 9:29:23 PM
Never could do crosswords, just could not do it...lets see in prison I liked playing a card game called "Uno", it would start out with maybe ten guys playing till by the end only the strong survive....I was NOT one of them I died after 8 hours...-e- (still I like it, Tom, taught me a bit, that I will likely never use, so I will forget it...never was I a math lover, I cut class so much for the algebra class that they just were so surprised to see me show up...I would go surfing sometimes, the ocean was only a LONG city block away...(

CROSSWORDS (Poetry) - 8/3/2015 8:16:40 AM
I get a message here! Strongly, in fact. Love ya! Jane

ELF # 1 (Poetry) - 7/17/2015 5:06:03 PM
She has not got white hair, it looks blond to me...Happy Birthday & my condolances at being ANY relation to this Hyland guy...-e-

ELF # 1 (Poetry) - 7/16/2015 2:53:06 PM
Happy birthday to a (I can tell.) a lovely lady!! Love ya! Jane

ELF # 1 (Poetry) - 7/16/2015 9:49:34 AM
Wonderful tribute to the little lady on her 80. The only thing better on that date with her would have been that all of the ladies would have had to take their bras off at the party and that in all shake shake shake! Ron

SHRIMPY (Poetry) - 7/16/2015 5:39:19 AM
enjoyed the read! like the graphic too

ELF # 1 (Poetry) - 7/16/2015 5:38:37 AM
lovely tribute happy birthday to Rita!

ELF # 1 (Poetry) - 7/15/2015 4:33:01 PM
A most apt and timely tribute, Tom; filled with love and respect, it seems to me. Best wishes to Rita and to all of you from the man on Chilliwack Mountain. Love and peace, Regis

SHRIMPY (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 4:49:44 PM
Thank you for introducing your family through your wit and humor, Tom. Quite the tale! Love and peace, Regis

SHRIMPY (Poetry) - 5/8/2015 2:05:33 PM
lol ...

SHRIMPY (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 6:11:59 AM
Very entertaining read! You need to actually publish this stuff; real publishing - this is a cross between Dr. Seuss and "Song of the South." -- Jeff Mason

SHRIMPY (Poetry) - 5/3/2015 6:36:24 PM
Tom you tell quite a tale Enjoyed.

SHRIMPY (Poetry) - 4/5/2015 11:04:11 PM
hahaha, funny and entertaining. lol.

SHRIMPY (Poetry) - 4/4/2015 3:07:16 AM
Gotta like a guy called Shrimpy Your Cousin Pee Wee

SHRIMPY (Poetry) - 4/3/2015 6:24:05 PM
INteresting family story, old cuz, but they are nothing like the cur of Bawl'more, I will never forget the time...well, you can expound on that & I will let you go and thank you for the laugh...-e-

SHRIMPY (Poetry) - 4/3/2015 7:29:58 AM
A fun tribute, and true shrimp "tale". Michael D.

SHRIMPY (Poetry) - 4/3/2015 6:34:36 AM
A rousing tribute to a real character. You have to quit running around with the younger generation. They are corrupting you, those damn baby boomers! Ron

SHRIMPY (Poetry) - 4/3/2015 6:18:10 AM
Hah! Absolute humorous writing about that rascal (jailbird?), Shrimpy and all around seeker of things that probably should be left alone.

SHRIMPY (Poetry) - 4/3/2015 6:16:28 AM
~Tom~ Enjoyed this jiv'n "Shrimpy" tale... Lady Mary Ann

SHRIMPY (Poetry) - 4/3/2015 5:17:26 AM
only you my hot little devil....puuuurrrrrfect..

SHRIMPY (Poetry) - 4/2/2015 11:46:21 PM
It sounds as if you have a colorful family! What would we do without the bright spashes of color?! I enjoyed reading this so very much!! Love ya! Jane

OF ALL THE GIRLS I LOVED BEFORE ... (Poetry) - 3/25/2015 4:36:14 AM
thats my boy... nice to read ya again...xo

OF ALL THE GIRLS I LOVED BEFORE ... (Poetry) - 1/28/2015 2:12:55 PM
Quite a tribute to all the girls you've loved before, Tom. Nicely done! Love and peace, Regis

OF ALL THE GIRLS I LOVED BEFORE ... (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 7:36:57 PM
Dear Ladies: Of those 60 years or so, 36 were spent faithfully with One, another 8 years with another. That's 44 years of Monogamy, leaving only 16 years of Learning Youth. I was a "Quick Study" and those "Gals" taught me a lot! Someone wiser than I once wrote: "Just because there is snow on the roof, it doesn't mean there is no fire in the furnace!" Peace ... Abundance ... Love ...

OF ALL THE GIRLS I LOVED BEFORE ... (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 11:25:30 AM
I hope none of these chicks 'hunt you up'. Vengeful women can be so dangerous and being called a 'score' might give rise to some 'avenging angel' transformations. Still, they might be mollified by being described as 'scrumptious', truly. LOL I had fun reading this one, T. K. Thanks for the smile.

OF ALL THE GIRLS I LOVED BEFORE ... (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 8:00:04 AM
I can hear some "Good 'ol boys." Gettin' down with this! Love ya! Jane

'DEVILED' CHICKEN (Poetry) - 1/8/2015 8:23:39 AM
Thank you for sharing your wit and humor, Tom. Love and peace to you, Regis

A Visit With Chris (Poetry) - 12/11/2014 6:05:38 PM
I'm glad I stumbled on to this one, Tom; clever, apt, and timely. Thank you for the smiles. Love and peace to you, Regis

CONTEMPLATING BAMBI’S NAVEL (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 2:50:08 PM
Delightful, Tom; Bambi sounds like a deer... ...sorry, I mean dear. Love it! Best wishes to you, Regis

ALL HALLOWS EVE (Poetry) - 11/3/2014 1:16:18 PM
Sorry late on reviewing this. I liked both poems. The one about the frost on the pumpkin though brought to mind a naghty little ditty I learned as a mkid. ChipB.

HONEY, OUR VOWS MEANT NOTHING TO YOU ... BUT I DIDN'T KNOW (Poetry) - 10/31/2014 9:09:17 AM
A bittersweet song with a universal and timeless theme; nicely done, Tom. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

ALL HALLOWS EVE (Poetry) - 10/20/2014 9:18:34 AM
Thank you for sharing this most apt and timely offering, Tom. Nicely done. Love and peace to you, Regis

ALL HALLOWS EVE (Poetry) - 10/19/2014 3:56:29 AM
Nice two poems full of fright. These will really be good for all who believe in the Boo hullabaloo! I used to help out in a House of Horrors we would scare girls and young boys for hours. But these days I just don't have the time, there are better things to do. Boo Ho! Humbug!

ALL HALLOWS EVE (Poetry) - 10/17/2014 9:03:35 PM
Yes Cuz two poems with a lot of fun enclosed...and you see that i have left brother ED alone and he STILL picks on me...lol...-e-

ALL HALLOWS EVE (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 9:17:58 AM
Yep, Stagger Lee" for sure on the second poem, Tom. Enjoyed the first one also.

ALL HALLOWS EVE (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 8:46:00 AM
When the frost is on the pumpkin, and trick or treating is we ask. I dress up nice and scary, but my face has no need for a mask. BOO! Michael D.

ALL HALLOWS EVE (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 2:39:32 AM
Very Good, Cuz - and we could have used these in the epic Brother Ed Howloween Battles we had here several years ago when dear old Brother Edvard was still with us. When the frost is on the pumpkin, Old Jersey Devil Ed will be in The Barrens; If you spot him, he will be dining on Road Kill, This time of year, his devilish appetite never ends.

ALL HALLOWS EVE (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 1:43:49 AM
very cool

ALL HALLOWS EVE (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 1:43:06 AM
Two great poems for Halloween!! Oh, I had fun singing your second poem to the tune of "Stagger Lee". Thank you for a fun morning! Love ya! Jane

HONEY, OUR VOWS MEANT NOTHING TO YOU ... BUT I DIDN'T KNOW (Poetry) - 10/6/2014 2:19:58 PM
WOW, TOM...I FEEL THIS! YOUR LOVE, YOUR PAIN...YOUR BROKENNESS. THANK GOD FOR TIME WHICH 'HEALS'...'IF' WE LET IT. THANKS FOR SHARING THIS KEEPER. LOVE, BLESSING AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

HONEY, OUR VOWS MEANT NOTHING TO YOU ... BUT I DIDN'T KNOW (Poetry) - 10/5/2014 8:52:01 PM
I so sure many can relate to your ten year old poem. It's really never out of date! OK mate..

HONEY, OUR VOWS MEANT NOTHING TO YOU ... BUT I DIDN'T KNOW (Poetry) - 10/4/2014 8:29:49 PM
Well, did it get published...you were just as long winded even way back then & as you got older you got "worser"...by the way what does the K stand for as your middle name, maybe, "Knave, Knumb, Knuts.." wonder where I heard that...in all seriousness this is really a cool country type song and I am glad I hate conutry...luv ya, Cuz, keep on pluggin'...-e-

HONEY, OUR VOWS MEANT NOTHING TO YOU ... BUT I DIDN'T KNOW (Poetry) - 10/4/2014 4:40:55 PM
My Sue and I were married 34 years before leukemia done took her away in 2011. I still cry every now and then. Unortunately, no kids. I AM all alone, thank heaven for friends. A write I could identifynwith. ChipB.

HONEY, OUR VOWS MEANT NOTHING TO YOU ... BUT I DIDN'T KNOW (Poetry) - 10/4/2014 8:27:34 AM
My first question is, is it true? If not, it's a good corollary for many lives that would make a good country lament. Ron

HONEY, OUR VOWS MEANT NOTHING TO YOU ... BUT I DIDN'T KNOW (Poetry) - 10/4/2014 6:18:26 AM
Tear in my beer blues. Michael D.

HONEY, OUR VOWS MEANT NOTHING TO YOU ... BUT I DIDN'T KNOW (Poetry) - 10/3/2014 8:52:26 PM
Honey, it's a "hit"!!! Go for it. Love ya! Jane

CONTEMPLATING BAMBI’S NAVEL (Poetry) - 10/3/2014 1:17:19 PM
Lot chuckles.....fun write cHIP BG

CONTEMPLATING BAMBI’S NAVEL (Poetry) - 10/2/2014 3:19:27 AM
I'll have to show this to some girls I know who have pierced navels. They will love it! I like this write, you sexy thang! Love ya! Jane

CONTEMPLATING BAMBI’S NAVEL (Poetry) - 10/1/2014 11:23:51 PM
A really fun and truly delightful read, Tom. It is, I must admit, a lovely and rather erotic navel. Contemplate away!

DANGLING PARTICIPLES ? (Poetry) - 9/30/2014 12:58:12 PM
I always appreciate your wit and humor, Tom; and this is a nice tribute for Ed. Love and peace to you, Regis

DANGLING PARTICIPLES ? (Poetry) - 9/11/2014 7:10:19 PM
I got such a kick out of this! Oh, excuse me.......'got to run. I think I saw a few of my participles dangling!!! Love ya! Jane

DANGLING PARTICIPLES ? (Poetry) - 9/8/2014 7:23:04 PM
Incorrect Verbs ... in Awkward Tenses ... These are More ... Of His Offenses ... Present - Past - Future ... To Him ... Matter Not ... He Just ‘Screws Them Up’ ... Quite A Lot! Some lika my Engimsh when I dwrink. Love the poem!

DANGLING PARTICIPLES ? (Poetry) - 9/8/2014 3:39:13 PM
You gotta have people who mangle the syntax, Tom. We all need someone to correct. That's what God put them there for! Chip Bergeron

DANGLING PARTICIPLES ? (Poetry) - 9/8/2014 7:37:57 AM
Except for the glaring capitalization--your trademark--I find this erudite description of the Joisey Devil's masterful writing, write on. You threw me back into my extensive English language courses for a moment. Sure glad I left them behind and started writing. Ol'e Ed never have those courses in the first place, so he's learning English bass act words. Ron

DANGLING PARTICIPLES ? (Poetry) - 9/8/2014 3:02:14 AM
He is an Un-Ed-ju-ma-cated Dolt in his Environs! You sure know him well! But you are his cousin after all. And speaking of family, our dear old Ma has a big favor to ask of you tonight. She fears that he will be dangling something far worse than participles tonight. Please read my post this morning. Thanks, Cuz.

COURAGE (Poetry) - 8/31/2014 9:56:40 AM
It sometimes takes all the courage we have to face certain situations, sometimes, even to face the day; nicely done, Tom. Love and peace, Regis

BIG 5 0 ! (Poetry) - 7/20/2014 5:36:32 PM
Hey Tom! That seems like a lot of fun was had by all. Thanks for sharing. Love and peace, Regis

BIG 5 0 ! (Poetry) - 7/5/2014 7:15:24 PM
Wearing sex toys on his head? Lordy at 50 I would have thought he could find better use of them....ah youth. Cuz p

BIG 5 0 ! (Poetry) - 6/25/2014 10:40:14 AM
Terrific fun!

COURAGE (Poetry) - 6/25/2014 7:25:00 AM
Fantastic! Wonderful! My father, when I would "hear" something that scared me, would make me get up and go look where I heard the sound coming from. With fear in my heart, I would do so only to find there was nothing there at all. Write on! Love ya! Jane

BIG 5 0 ! (Poetry) - 6/25/2014 7:17:45 AM
Bravo! Love ya! Jane

BIG 5 0 ! (Poetry) - 6/25/2014 6:51:21 AM
Your PS bowled me over! Did they have sex toys back in ancient times like 1964? At least you remember it like it was yesterday. Some party… Let's have a swill! Ron PS. If you have a photo editor (I use an old copy of Photoshop but many printers come with them) open the picture in the editor and you should see it in its correct orientation (sideways like shown). There should be a way to rotate it to the desired orientation. After you do that, save and replace the original version. Then, when you upload it to AD, the picture will be properly aligned. Unfortunately, a lot of the latest software automatically reorients pictures like this, making us think that they are properly oriented, when they are not.

BIG 5 0 ! (Poetry) - 6/25/2014 2:19:28 AM
Sounds like a marvelous party. PS: Pls don't give the old Devil any of those Sex Toys when you go visit him!

BIG 5 0 ! (Poetry) - 6/25/2014 2:06:19 AM
I feel sorry for the guy to have had the Cur of Mer - lyn invited to ruin his party...e

COURAGE (Poetry) - 6/24/2014 6:33:00 PM
You are so right! Without courage, there will not be anything left of us. Sandie

BIG 5 0 ! (Poetry) - 6/24/2014 6:31:20 PM
Sounds like your friend has been having a good life so far, and glad that you are a good friend to him and his family. Wonderful tribute!!! Thank you for sharing!! Sandie

COURAGE (Poetry) - 6/24/2014 5:29:21 PM
Funny you should bring this up...as I have been of late experiencing some fear of sorts...I hate to deal with governmental entities but I guess I have to deal with it eventually...I could use some of that courage you speak of...e

AS FOR ME ... (Poetry) - 6/11/2014 5:29:45 PM
To me, Christmas is a Spirit - A Spirit of Joy! I agree, Tom; and I always enjoy your wit and humor. Love and peace to you... ...and Merry Christmas today and every day, Regis

AS FOR ME ... (Poetry) - 5/5/2014 4:00:15 AM
WOW! If it's always Christmas at your place, how come Christmas Gifts to your beloved cousins aren't arriving all year long??!! PS: A bottle of bourbon each month would be nice! Thanks.

AS FOR ME ... (Poetry) - 5/1/2014 7:09:29 AM
That's the lamest excuse for being lazy and not taking down Christmas decoration that was tacky to start with and even tackier now that summer is approaching. However, I certainly enjoy a good laugh and with your current situation as a foil, you have created a memorable post here. Ron

AS FOR ME ... (Poetry) - 5/1/2014 6:46:09 AM
I love it! I do the same thing. My mother always said to leave a bit of Christmas around the house all year long..............and I do! Love ya! Jane

AS FOR ME ... (Poetry) - 5/1/2014 6:35:45 AM
My favorite holiday is Thanksgiving. It's the only one that so far has remained fairly uncommercalized. Gobble gobble. Michael D.

AS FOR ME ... (Poetry) - 4/30/2014 9:34:59 PM
Congratz, sir! Very nice depiction of happiness, joy and finding contentment, in that wonderful feast, where the fat man roams about to make children, of every age, happy! Merry Christmas hoo hoo hoo!! Grt, Daniel.

AS FOR ME ... (Poetry) - 4/30/2014 8:24:19 PM
christmas every day sounds great! :)

AS FOR ME ... (Poetry) - 4/30/2014 5:10:57 PM
There is always something magical about Christmas that we all want to keep. Your home sounds like cozy and fun. Sandie

LIFE IS LIKE ... A BOOK (Poetry) - 4/21/2014 4:16:27 AM
the ending is as yet unwritten budd

LIFE IS LIKE ... A BOOK (Poetry) - 4/20/2014 4:51:31 AM
Very clever. Mine is already available for preview in select bargain bins.

LIFE IS LIKE ... A BOOK (Poetry) - 4/19/2014 7:55:38 AM
An interesting way to present a poem… I already wrote my book and it has a happy ending… So far. Ron

LIFE IS LIKE ... A BOOK (Poetry) - 4/19/2014 5:31:58 AM
Tom, I hope so too. Most of the chapters to our lives haven't been written yet. Blank years that we fill with God's love and mercy. Love and blessings, Linda

LIFE IS LIKE ... A BOOK (Poetry) - 4/19/2014 4:59:59 AM
We are all living in our book of life everyday. I wish we will all live in a book of happiness, and it has a happy ending; but that's just wishful thinking. My book of life will have its ups and downs of life; some defeats and some triumphs; some sadness and some happiness; some rights and some wrongs; ... too much to mention, but I'm still living the chapters of my book right now, hopefully I will have a happy ending for all to read. Sandie :o)

LIFE IS LIKE ... A BOOK (Poetry) - 4/19/2014 4:15:01 AM
My cover will be, "Plain Jane". The rest will blow your mind. Seriously, I like the comparison of life to a book. Very well stated. Love ya! Jane

LIFE IS LIKE ... A BOOK (Poetry) - 4/19/2014 1:33:28 AM
The Book of Life - may it be a long and interesting one. And don't forget to write about the next exciting chapter in yours - I hear that the old Jersey Devil now wants to move in with his Cuz!

DRUTHERS 2 ... ? (Poetry) - 4/15/2014 8:32:27 PM
belated or berated?

DRUTHERS 2 ... ? (Poetry) - 4/14/2014 2:53:13 AM
I'll take the Ford Pick-Up. And be careful if you buy that property - I see that the old Devil already wants to move in with you!!!

DRUTHERS 2 ... ? (Poetry) - 4/13/2014 9:36:23 AM
I'm thinking 1968 Hearst Olds 442 A fully blown 1969 Super Bee And 1965 GTO Cuz P

DRUTHERS 2 ... ? (Poetry) - 4/12/2014 11:07:47 AM
I can see the lust for "toys" and position in your wish list of excess. In a way I can see your point. I visited the Mecum auction here in Houston yesterday and I must admit that if I had the money, I would buy about half the cars displayed. There were some plain Janes, some real weirdos, but, for the most part, the cars were immaculate and highly desirable. I must admit that I prefer the older cars. As far as your illustration of life's phases, I regret having reached that second to last phase about 30 years ago and holding. Like Jack Benny, I think I'll stay 29. Even if I can't drive a jalopy anymore. Ron

DRUTHERS 2 ... ? (Poetry) - 4/11/2014 10:47:55 PM
gotta buy em, to win em, but I LOVE THE SOUND OF THAT property...u buy it, I will move in,,,e

DRUTHERS 2 ... ? (Poetry) - 4/11/2014 6:59:58 AM
LOL!!! Don't tell others it's okay to hope and dream, otherwise some people will think you're always sleeping and condemn you for life. Yes, follow that dream. Have a lot of antique cars. I love that too!!! Sandie

NO ONE MAKES IT ! (Poetry) - 4/6/2014 11:11:59 AM
Tom, I also take Losartan for my blood pressure, among many other meds. Getting older is hard but I think God I lived to be old. Many don't get there. Love and blessings, Linda

INVENTORY ? (Poetry) - 3/19/2014 10:48:57 AM
Great article, Tom!! Now, ddd to that the Natural Gas drilling and FRACKING! Not that far from me was the drilling/fracking (supposedly 4000' deep. NOT!) Homes around there had foundations cracked; fortunately I (and outdoor cats) only felt the tremors. Much, Much better than a Tornado Wall would be large dirt berms. Evidence: when the 2000 Ft. Worth tornado hit from the West, it traveled easterly, following I-30 (I live 3 blocks south). About 1-1/2miles to the west of me, there is a 400 ft. elevation rise (berm?) in No. Arlington; this caused the tornado to "jump" into the sky and pass over my location (I could year the the "train noise" above me - I stood on my front porch after getting my 8 cats into closet). 2 miles to the east it touched down again at Hwy 360 (just missing the Arlington Ballpark) and veered to the south, damaging abut 200 homes. It was the elevation rise (berm?) that saved No. Arlington!!

NO ONE MAKES IT ! (Poetry) - 3/19/2014 10:02:19 AM
My dear Tom...have you been peeking into my med. cabinet? Yes, on 11 meds (not counting pain and sleep meds and Dulcolax :) Once on these, you pay a heavy "price" to get off them (that's the point!) So fortunate to have retirement perk of paid-for health + scripts ins. But I inherited my Father's genes...he died of heart attack at 34, his parents (Grandmother at 58 and Grandfather at 70) both died of heart attacks; Mother lived 'til 84 (good "country" genes)I've had quad-by-pass, 2 MIA (minor strokes), 4 surgeries (including lithotrypsi and laser) for kidney stones (still make them, but much smaller now, due to Allopurinol - been making 'em since '71 and have passed approx 3000); is it any wonder I now have kidney disease? You must read my poem "Without Pain". I always enjoy your posts, and most always agree with what you have to say. THANKS for this one, too!! :-) Blessings and Love - Micke

NO ONE MAKES IT ! (Poetry) - 3/12/2014 7:30:11 PM
For me jury's out. Yes the price of drugs is obscene for the common life saving ones but the alternative makes our heirs smile.

NO ONE MAKES IT ! (Poetry) - 3/3/2014 4:06:31 AM
Do "They" Really Want to "CURE" Anyone? Or ... To Just Help 180,000,000 ... 48.5% of The Population to Just Live Longer ... So They Can Continue Buying and Taking Their Rapaciously Over-Priced Drugs ... A 'No Brainer' I'd say, and I haven't even taken my Anti-Alzheimer Pill yet this morning.

NO ONE MAKES IT ! (Poetry) - 3/1/2014 5:04:14 PM
Well Said

NO ONE MAKES IT ! (Poetry) - 3/1/2014 11:32:10 AM
My Dad always said, "Golden years my ass" The older I get {I was born in '53} The more I have to agree. Michael D.

NO ONE MAKES IT ! (Poetry) - 3/1/2014 10:36:56 AM
My father died at 85 and my mother, at 89 is suffering from "all of the above" and taking, at last count 21 pills a day. We are all living a lot longer thanks to surgeries that fix of acute problems and pills that sidetrack long-term ones. I really pity those who take pills for other reasons than health… And there are a lot of those. I am noticing that with every year now, the reaper is cutting deeper. Ron

NO ONE MAKES IT ! (Poetry) - 3/1/2014 8:48:43 AM
I couldn't agree with you more! Love ya! Jane

NO ONE MAKES IT ! (Poetry) - 3/1/2014 7:49:06 AM
~Tom~ Good advise and thoughts..taking my meds. Mother is 94..dad passed on at 70. Be well. Lady Mary Ann

NO ONE MAKES IT ! (Poetry) - 3/1/2014 6:50:40 AM
Both my mom and dad's livers were damaged by the Cholestrol drug "Lipitor", and yet both died of cancer anyway at the end. We will all die because of one thing or another. You are right, no one gets out alive. Sandie

NO ONE MAKES IT ! (Poetry) - 3/1/2014 6:47:07 AM
spot on ...

NO ONE MAKES IT ! (Poetry) - 3/1/2014 6:29:58 AM
I certainly relate.

NO ONE MAKES IT ! (Poetry) - 3/1/2014 4:19:11 AM
this is so true budd

INVENTORY ? (Poetry) - 2/28/2014 11:24:42 AM
Vintage Trasking here, TK. Verbage non-excessive to preempt more waste in baby knowledge of our home planet. Every action requires nerd-energy here even housed in thought, the by-product being heat. Got to the pi-center of global warming, Washington D.C.

VEHICULAR VERACITY ? (Poetry) - 2/27/2014 10:53:34 AM
Number 9...Hey if you count ATV's then Kawasaki is 3. And don't forget triumph!!!! I owned one once (the car) and it was a piece of shit. cuz p

INVENTORY ? (Poetry) - 2/27/2014 10:07:13 AM
Hey you forgot to mention the new tornado wall they're thinking about building along the entire southern border of Oklahoma. A thousand feet tall! That has to rival any human boondoggle ever imagined. cuz p

INVENTORY ? (Poetry) - 2/26/2014 4:37:18 AM
Being an environmentalist and an animal lover (both wild animals and pets) this planet gets sadder and sadder for me every day now, and I now pray that once we completely trash Earth, we don't colonize another planet, and trash it as well. We are now Earth's parasites, devouring everything in our path.

INVENTORY ? (Poetry) - 2/25/2014 7:15:57 PM
Nicely done Tom! Yes, we are told in the Bible that man has dominance over all the bird, fish and animals on earth. We have an awesome responsibility. It's high time we live up to that task. Amen!

INVENTORY ? (Poetry) - 2/25/2014 12:37:33 PM
and we've already got lots of space junk waiting on gravity's pull to rain down on us. Well Said. Michael D.

INVENTORY ? (Poetry) - 2/25/2014 10:02:53 AM
Amen. what a shame man's pride & greed blind him to what is & what could be.

INVENTORY ? (Poetry) - 2/25/2014 9:11:28 AM
You said it so well! I compare humankind to the rust that eats away at metal, to mildew that ruins stuff, to parasites, etc... Write on! Love ya! Jane

INVENTORY ? (Poetry) - 2/25/2014 8:40:19 AM
A fine inventory of our miserable presence. As a result of experiments that left behind the finished experiment, the earth is ringed with a trash belt of defunct satellite material and rockets. Thankfully, most of it will burn up upon reentry. On the other hand, the movie, Gravity, illustrated what can happen if space junk came to close for comfort. Ron

INVENTORY ? (Poetry) - 2/25/2014 7:39:56 AM
"all in not well in Denmark" that's for sure ...

INVENTORY ? (Poetry) - 2/25/2014 5:09:03 AM
Abortion took care of the rest. We have come full cycle.

INVENTORY ? (Poetry) - 2/25/2014 3:35:10 AM
Ya hada go mention space..Now ya done it! It won't be long now before someone starts de-asteroiding the asteroid belt and turns it into an old broken satellite dump :-)

INVENTORY ? (Poetry) - 2/25/2014 2:04:44 AM
To this I can only say a resounding and heartfelt 'AMEN!' Well said, my friend. Sand

INVENTORY ? (Poetry) - 2/25/2014 1:26:01 AM
i beleive you have coverd it all very well budd

PROCEDURES ? (Poetry) - 2/11/2014 3:54:07 PM
This is certainly a huge improvement over emerging from the shower and doing the 'waggle-waggle'. LOL And I'm sure the time and the attention was much appreciated. Good behavior is often rewarded. Women do love a thorough man. Don't forget the kisses. They're really important. Hugs, my dear Sand

PROCEDURES ? (Poetry) - 2/11/2014 6:28:25 AM
Great advice. Ladies, take heed! Love ya! Jane

PROCEDURES ? (Poetry) - 2/11/2014 4:09:09 AM
I used to give my wife massages and what sex followed. Wow

JEALOUS ? MOI ? (Poetry) - 2/1/2014 10:27:10 AM
I'm with you all the way. Those poor NFL board members and their tax exempt status. It seems they can't get the same advertising and merchandise money that the owners of the teams get, poor boys. I am verging on the 20%, so I can afford gas guzzling high powered, highly modified suburban shopping mart vans that are highly subsidized by the state's drunk drivers. Thank you drunk drivers, for the $90,000 to modify the last big fat stupid brand-new gas guzzling Ford van I done had to purchase. Wish I could still drive my 1966 Olds Toronado at 100 mph everywhere, all the time. By the way, I'm on the dole. Social Security. Started at 69. Does that make me a deadbeat? Ron

JEALOUS ? MOI ? (Poetry) - 1/31/2014 9:38:29 AM
People love to show off, especially in America. A vehicle for personal use is just transpotation. All those gas guzzlers do is say "Look at me". I always wanted a bumper stickewr that read, "You are now keeping up with the Schafer's", THIS COUNTRY DOESN'T HAVE A MONEY PROBLEM, IT'S JUST THAT THE WRONG PEOPLE HAVE ALL THE MONEY! Michael D.

JEALOUS ? MOI ? (Poetry) - 1/31/2014 8:53:12 AM
Moi as well!!! I'm a waitress and those big shots are the cheapest tippers!!! Sure, they brag about their latest cruise and the cars they just bought for their kids who don't even work as they sleep the days away in those mansions you speak of. Well, got to get ready to go run my ass crazy in the restaurant. BTW, I am a RMA, but the doctor's office didn't pay as much as I make as a waitress!! Love ya! Jane

VEHICULAR VERACITY ? (Poetry) - 1/11/2014 3:47:34 AM
I am a car buff. But I go for chrome and muscle. Names don't interest me but I love great styles. I have a Cad with chrome. I love to take it for a spin, it's the other cheese cake cars that I am not interested in. Amen

VEHICULAR VERACITY ? (Poetry) - 1/10/2014 2:21:20 PM
Death Traps = Modern Day Throw Away Over Priced $$ Beer Cans On Wheels! What's There To Be Inquisitive About? Pull To Intersection Red Light- They All Look Alike Bettles As Roaches Ready To Pounce On You... You Want Real Car Go Back To 50s & 60s Safe And Still Running 60 Years Later-So They Use Gas So What! I Will Go 160 mph In My 68 Corvette- I Will Not Go 60 mph In Any Modern Day Beer Can On Wheels,i.e. Its Safer To Walk Run ... All That Glitters Is Not Gold Its Plastic! TRASK...

VEHICULAR VERACITY ? (Poetry) - 1/10/2014 10:23:03 AM
I found this fun but this car guy couldn't get them all very right. Come to think of it, my Monte Carlo had a crest on it. And what about the Mustang, thunder chicken and gazelle? Ron

VEHICULAR VERACITY ? (Poetry) - 1/10/2014 4:12:02 AM
Most Interesting - and driving around my hometown this past week has been an absolute nightmare - First, the blizzard, then the Arctic blast, then black ice roads, on which so many idiots still refuse to slow down.

VEHICULAR VERACITY ? (Poetry) - 1/10/2014 3:28:57 AM
i was never very interested in the models of cars..sorry..but entertaining anyway budd

VEHICULAR VERACITY ? (Poetry) - 1/9/2014 9:35:31 PM
Interesting! Love ya! Jane

NICK-NAMES ? (Poetry) - 1/9/2014 7:14:25 PM
Thanks for the lesson, Tom. Love and peace, Regis

VEHICULAR VERACITY ? (Poetry) - 1/9/2014 7:11:55 PM
Thanks for provoking thought, Tom. I knew a few but certainly not all. Love and peace, Regis

NICK-NAMES ? (Poetry) - 1/9/2014 10:55:04 AM
As a previous poem announced, only my aging aunts and uncles can get away with calling me, Ronnie. When I heard that my college roommate, Bob, was referred to by an old friend as "Tinker," I thought little of it until later I learned that it was a nickname for "Little Stinker!" I'm surprised he didn't deck me when I mentioned it. Ron

NICK-NAMES ? (Poetry) - 1/9/2014 9:14:58 AM
My refrigerator is a 'fridge', my television is a teevee and my commode is named 'John'. We can shorten anything. LOL You forgot to include yourself, TK. TK is a pretty good nickname. Hugs, babe. Sand (me and the beach)

NICK-NAMES ? (Poetry) - 1/9/2014 8:33:33 AM
And a rose is a rose by any other name. Michael D.

NICK-NAMES ? (Poetry) - 1/9/2014 8:20:11 AM
You are a cool cat! Love ya! Jane

NICK-NAMES ? (Poetry) - 1/9/2014 7:29:44 AM
you got a lot of them in there lol budd

JOSEPH DID YOU KNOW ... (Poetry) - 1/2/2014 1:42:36 PM
Now that you got the words, you need to visit some friendly Irish home where they sing a lot of nasty old songs. From there I'm sure you can pick up a melody for the words. I heard that's the way it was done in the old days and it sounds good today. Ron

JOSEPH DID YOU KNOW ... (Poetry) - 1/2/2014 7:00:19 AM
Excellent! This is Sooooooo dogonne good! May peace, love, happiness and Christ blessings follow you throughout the New Year! John Michael Domino

JOSEPH DID YOU KNOW ... (Poetry) - 1/1/2014 2:58:22 PM
Very nicely composed, Tom; thank you for sharing this unique perspective. Happy New Year to you with love and peace, Regis

JOSEPH DID YOU KNOW ... (Poetry) - 12/31/2013 8:12:07 AM
so good budd

JOSEPH DID YOU KNOW ... (Poetry) - 12/31/2013 7:45:18 AM
No offense to the Bethlehem scene, but Fleas Navidog would be a great title to a parody. The picture alone is hilarious.

JOSEPH DID YOU KNOW ... (Poetry) - 12/31/2013 6:33:25 AM
This is a great beginning, Tom! You have all the components, except the feelings, the heart of Joseph, so maybe God will give you deep insight into the man as you meditate and ask Him. Even if you never change anything it is still a very worthy poem that makes us think about Joseph and his place in the family. Now a question for you: Tom, Did You Know...that the Magi did not arrive until Jesus was a young child, and their visit was not to the stable but to a house? Still, all our Nativity sets place them at the stable and that's ok with me! Thanks for sharing this! Connie

JOSEPH DID YOU KNOW ... (Poetry) - 12/31/2013 5:29:37 AM
This is beautiful! I hope a songwriter picks up on it! You never know! Love ya! Jane

JERSEY DEVIL UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/22/2013 6:15:53 AM
GREAT NEWS...GOD IS SO GOOD! THANK YOU, TOM...LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

MATLACK UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/22/2013 6:10:13 AM
THANKS FOR THIS UPDATE...HOPE HE IS STILL IMPROVING. JUST SAID A PRAYER FOR HIM. GIVE HIM OUR LOVE. BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

GEE ? (Poetry) - 12/21/2013 11:31:46 AM
Happy Happy Happy to you too, Tom.

GEE ? (Poetry) - 12/18/2013 4:48:09 AM
May Swiety Mikolaj bring you joy and peace this Holiday Season, Cuz.

GEE ? (Poetry) - 12/17/2013 10:02:32 AM
Gee willikers! I enjoyed this poem. Love ya! Jane

GEE ? (Poetry) - 12/16/2013 5:01:21 PM
you guys should write a book ;)

GEE ? (Poetry) - 12/16/2013 11:36:13 AM
RON ... AS PER USUAL, U R RIGHT ON MY FRIEND ! Am quite familiar w both 'geez' & 'judas priest' ... Mayhaps we are "dating" ourselves, eh wot ... Wart ?

GEE ? (Poetry) - 12/16/2013 10:06:23 AM
As an atheist, I fully enjoy holidays (even though they are holy days) and can declare "Merry Christmas!" with the full meaning of the season. It is interesting that you use the word "GEE." I was listening to my brothers using "geez this" and "geez that" a lot and got to thinking… Just like my grandfather used to say, "Judas Priest!" As a way of swearing without defaming God, the word "geez" is just another way of saying Jesus without saying it, so to speak. So to what you are writing I'm just like to say that it is "jee whiz!" Ron

GEE ? (Poetry) - 12/15/2013 11:30:51 AM
And a very Merry Christmas to you too. Michael D.

GEE ? (Poetry) - 12/15/2013 11:28:08 AM
Cleverly concocted, Tom; I gleefully greet you with great gusto. Love and peace, Regis

JERSEY DEVIL UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/14/2013 12:03:00 PM
Thanks, I talked to Ed. His voice is quite good and he was very happy to receive the call. Those of you here reading this, please give old Jersey Devil a call. He will appreciate it very much… 856-641-8455 Ron

JERSEY DEVIL UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/14/2013 10:20:13 AM
Thank you for the information, Tom. Love and peace, Regis

JERSEY DEVIL UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/14/2013 10:02:11 AM
Thank you for the heads up. Love ya! Jane

JERSEY DEVIL UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/14/2013 3:13:10 AM
Thanks very much for another update, Cuz. The old Jersey Devil sure seems to have lots of medical problems these days. Our thoughts, prayers, and a card are on the way. Pee Wee, Mean Tall Woman, and All Our Critters

DISGUSTING STUFF !!! (Poetry) - 12/13/2013 3:29:29 AM
That looks like the old Jersey Devil's Commode - you been sneakin around his old motor home?? PS: Any new updates on his medical condition and status?

DISGUSTING STUFF !!! (Poetry) - 12/10/2013 2:07:37 PM
"STICKY ... SLIPPERY ... SLIMEY" Sounds like good sex to me. Mark

DISGUSTING STUFF !!! (Poetry) - 12/10/2013 2:02:35 PM
I'm to old to run, but my nose is still young. Michael D.

DISGUSTING STUFF !!! (Poetry) - 12/10/2013 11:52:45 AM
I resemble those feelings. As a young boy on our gravel playground at Central grade school in north-central Wisconsin, I managed to mess up a handkerchief a day until they were all green slime in my pocket. I admired the guys… Sixth-graders… Who could put one finger over a nostril and shoot a long yellow one about 10 feet from the other nostril. What fun in those cold, coal burning days with more colds than flies on the kitchen sticky tape. Ron

DISGUSTING STUFF !!! (Poetry) - 12/10/2013 8:48:35 AM
You sure have a way with words, you smooth character, you! Love ya! Jane

D. N. R. (Poetry) - 12/7/2013 12:43:37 PM
Bang on, Tom! Love and peace and best wishes, Regis

MATLACK UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/7/2013 12:42:33 PM
Thank you for keeping us informed, Tom. Prayers and best thoughts sent as requested. Love and peace, Regis

MATLACK UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/6/2013 2:11:28 PM
Thank you for keeping the AD family in the loop, Tom. Heal well, dear Ed, and come home soon. xx

MATLACK UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/4/2013 9:26:35 PM
hope the jersey boy recovers soon ...

MATLACK UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/4/2013 4:44:26 PM
UPDATE MORE... Seems ED was looking for apartment before he took sick. none secured yet.

MATLACK UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/4/2013 5:45:29 AM
I'm so sorry to learn about what's happening to Ed. Wishes and prayers for his speedy recovery. Thanks so much for posting the updates! Sandie :o(

PLEASE SEE 'NEWS' POST ! (Poetry) - 12/3/2013 11:44:20 PM
A few more prayers for the ole coot Matlack wont hurt a bit, so prayer for your lungs to fill back up with your healthy 'hot air';a prayer that your ol' gut will heal and function properly to send the final product to the colon for processing and extrusion of the toxins, crud, and unknown matter to pass out of your worn-out body in a smooth manner! Now,about your heart...There should be about a dozen \Love-Pouches/ ready for a "drip" into your veins to heal the sluggish heart.That's a whole lot of LOVE anti-virus to cure you good, as it comes from all your AD Buddies!! Ya can't get betteeeeer medication than the LOVE anti-bodies <3 <3 <3 <3

MATLACK UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/3/2013 2:07:27 PM
Hoping for a vigorous comeback for Ed.

MATLACK UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/2/2013 9:18:40 AM
Thanks so much for the update on my wild NJ neighbor. Man I'm wishing he gets a break. Let's all wish him in good shape for the holidays. He's to young for all this! John

MATLACK UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/2/2013 3:28:17 AM
thank you for the update budd

MATLACK UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/1/2013 7:51:23 PM
Thanks for the info on Ed, Tom. He's been through some rough times before, and praying for good recovery this time,too. I read y'all, but don't have the stamina to write and comment, much. Need a couple surgeries, but not possible with the "unfixable" abdom. aneurism I have;can't do much but wait until the aneurysm burst...'til then I'm still breathing 'cause Im ornery :-) I, too, miss Georg, and wonder what has happened to Eilen w. Love and Blessings to All - Micke

MATLACK UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/1/2013 8:15:04 AM
From the looks of your picture, old Ed's in deep shit. If it's one of those hospital superbugs, it will be difficult to get rid of. I came back from one of those untreatable infections last year so it is entirely possible that he can recover and getting back to his old nasty self. It is strange that he never told us that he was moving to an apartment. Perhaps he was ashamed of giving up the lifestyle he loved so much. I really felt bad when he had to give up his favorite friend, Rufus. It's a good thing that he has René to help look after him. Thanks for keeping us posted. And, thanks for the tip on sending him e-messages, Ed. Ron

MATLACK UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/1/2013 3:22:54 AM
You're a good man, Charlie Brown. Thanks very much for the update. And if you visit the Cooper Hospital website, you can send an E-Message to the old Jersey Devil that will be delivered to his room.

MATLACK UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/1/2013 12:16:51 AM
Thank you for the address. Love ya! Jane

MATLACK UPDATE (Poetry) - 12/1/2013 12:16:24 AM
Thank you Tom. Thanksgiving is not a good time to be in a hospital but it is our prayer that Ed experiences healing miracles that only our Lord can provide. "Prayers are going up so blessing can come down." God Bless... John & Liz Domino

MATLACK UPDATE (Poetry) - 11/30/2013 9:48:51 PM
The picture says "spoof" But your words say "serious" Hope he's OK.

D. N. R. (Poetry) - 11/26/2013 10:05:55 PM
Whatever the Lord wills my friend. My life belongs to Him. Amen

D. N. R. (Poetry) - 11/26/2013 9:19:53 AM
I have noted that these apply to me daily: I Can't Bathe Myself ... Wipe My Own Butt ... Feed Myself ... Travel Independently ... (Once I'm properly dressed and my driving belt is in place, I can drive myself around for the day, but not travel without assistance) So should I shoot myself? Otherwise, I tend to agree with everything that you've written except the part about being blind. For that all I have to do is think about Helen Keller or Ray Charles, and I wouldn't pull the plug just yet. Between the old-fashioned Hippocratic oath, greedy hospitals and doctors, and the weird "right to life" cult, its time that we start to take our right to our own decisions back from all these "holy are than thou" decision-makers. And I thought you were writing about the damned Department of Natural Resources! ;-) Or worse yet, about the Jersey Devil. Ron

D. N. R. (Poetry) - 11/26/2013 8:25:47 AM
Write on! Love ya! Jane

D. N. R. (Poetry) - 11/26/2013 6:35:43 AM
there is a difference between living and just beig alive. A friend of mine had D. N. R. tattooed on his chest. it can't be missed. Michael D.

D. N. R. (Poetry) - 11/26/2013 4:22:09 AM
Glad to hear you aren't in the Pit of Despond, my friend. About 9 years ago I found two obviously biased, non-family-members to witness my living will which required them to agree that I was 'of sound mind' and capable of making such a momentous decision as to whether I was willing to be kept alive by machines. I'm not at all sure my mind has ever been 'sound' but it does function. I watched my mother become ever less capable of communicating because of a brain tumor and my father retreat into a nearly vegetative state with Alzheimers I never want to be either place. Then I watched my husband suffer, bedridden, for 3 months. I don't want to be there either. Why can't we have a Dr. Kevorkian? Don't we have a right to choose when existence has become more burden than life? Sign me up for the bracelet, too, Tom, when you find out where to get one.

D. N. R. (Poetry) - 11/26/2013 3:22:35 AM
i believe the same , a quality of life over just existence budd

D. N. R. (Poetry) - 11/26/2013 3:03:56 AM
I agree; if I can't function anymore, I want to leave this earth. And Soylent Green's grim prophetic future is getting much closer than many choose to believe: 'a dystopian future suffering from pollution, overpopulation, depleted resources, poverty, dying oceans, and a scorching climate due to the greenhouse effect.'

D. N. R. (Poetry) - 11/26/2013 12:14:05 AM
NO PILGRIMS ... I AM NOT DESPONDENT ... JUST ... PRACTICAL !!!

PLEASE SEE 'NEWS' POST ! (Poetry) - 11/25/2013 11:43:24 PM
TO ALL WHO HAVE REPLIED WITH PRAYERS & WELL-WISHES ... THANK YOU! TOM...

PLEASE SEE 'NEWS' POST ! (Poetry) - 11/25/2013 11:34:34 PM
I pray for Ed to make a come back that will bless others abundantly. Amen

PLEASE SEE 'NEWS' POST ! (Poetry) - 11/25/2013 9:18:47 AM
I don't pray but hope that he gets better soon. Miss his curmudgeo rhymes. Ron

PLEASE SEE 'NEWS' POST ! (Poetry) - 11/24/2013 12:30:02 PM
Thanks very much for the info, Cuz.

PLEASE SEE 'NEWS' POST ! (Poetry) - 11/24/2013 11:35:38 AM
Sending up prayers throughout the day.

PLEASE SEE 'NEWS' POST ! (Poetry) - 11/24/2013 11:02:32 AM
Prayers upon prayers are being sent his way. Love ya! Jane

DEATH & TAXES ? (Poetry) - 11/15/2013 9:14:22 AM
Oh, I feel so much better! Ha ha! You do tell it like it is, hon! Love ya! Jane

DEATH & TAXES ? (Poetry) - 11/11/2013 8:40:28 PM
That's a lot to say, and a lot that needs said. Michael D.

DEATH & TAXES ? (Poetry) - 11/11/2013 9:17:24 AM
My mother never worked anything but menial jobs, and my father was a truck driver, a Teamster, receiving a Teamster pension that did not continue with his death to my mother. Anyway, my mother is now at the point where she needs to leave her apartment and move into a small assisted living home. She and my father enjoyed 20 years of hanging out at the lake in summer and warmth of South Texas golfing during the winter. It was a wonderful retirement that encompassed about one third of their working lives. As for me, I will be working (writing) until my dying day, taking little or no time off for "retirement." And I will make sure that I will vote for the most empathetic and least money grubbing of politicians. Ron

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.