AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: JE Thompson, iValerie publisher@nightengalepress.com, iDominic Caruso, iTerry Vinson, iM Cates, iJim Stewart, iHelen Vandepeer, i
 
Home > Steve Groll
 

Recent Reviews for Steve Groll


Beyond the Dead Forest (Book) - 11/12/2010 1:29:11 PM
Beyond the Dead Forest is an awesome adventure full of unforgettable characters and a plot worthy of the literary masterpieces of old. The book follows the adventures of the Partners (aka Carter and Kat) who love to go exploring together. They find a dead forest that they knew wasn't there a few days ago (because they know the area around their town like the backs of their hands) and go exploring in it. They then find themselves in another world called Dearth, which is under great suffering because of an evil person known as the Adversary, who keeps trying to kill them. They meet a friendly man called the Guardian, who sends them on a quest to help the people of Dearth discover a treasure so great and valuable the Adversary doesn't want them to have it. Beyond the Dead Forest was more than what I expected. Everywhere they turn they seem to run into someone or something that doesn't have kind deeds on its mind. Carter and Kat must pull together in the realm of Dearth to survive the evil Adversary and fulfill a prophecy. They manage to learn lessons that help them to grow and become better people. Fans of C.S. Lewis and/or Narnia will enjoy this new book.

Beyond the Dead Forest (Book) - 10/27/2010 5:15:25 PM
Beyond the Dead Forest by Steve Groll draws you in and doesn't let go...Carter and Kat are best friends that know the area in which they live like the back of their hands...that is, until the 'dead forest' appears one day and is unlike anything they've ever seen. On this particular visit, they meet a strange man...and their journey begins. Carter and Kat takes the adventure of their lives that changes everything they've known and has the potential to change their whole lives...and the lives of everyone they come in contact with. Steve does a wonderful job pulling the reader into the story and lets you experience the journey along with Carter and Kat. You catch yourself trying to make decisions right along with them and wondering if you'd be able to make the 'hard' choices that they do...or if you'd take the easy way out. Beyond the Dead Forest is a lesson in faith, love and unselfishness. The Advesary tries to do all he can to mislead the partners, but they have the ultimate champion, the Guardian...but they have to make the choice on who to follow. This is one of the best books I've read that explain things about the bible, choices and faith that is aimed at our youth and is great for adults as well! What does it mean to believe, have faith and to make choices, even hard ones, when you are a Christian. There are always choices, but only the right ones will set you free. Reviewed by Ursula Gorman author of Old Acquaintances

Other Side of the Wall (Short Story) - 2/6/2012 5:01:35 PM
yes....beauty is only skin deep... and that it inside of the soul that matters-a wonderful children story. i so enjoyed it.

Fresh Meat (Short Story) - 7/31/2011 7:11:51 AM
so enjoyed this read. you had me at, "Before Carter could scream, it put a shushing finger to its hideous...." i love when lessons are embedded in a story... jch

Fresh Meat (Short Story) - 4/12/2011 7:29:32 PM
An important life lesson, Steve. One that adults can struggle with right alongside children. This is an enchanting story. Great sense of coming full-circle and having grown because of it. Much enjoyed:) Sheila

Fresh Meat (Short Story) - 2/15/2011 7:36:50 AM
A vivid imagination is a treasure. I was intrigued as I read each sentence and loved the message at the end. Several times as I read, I found myself wanting to know Carter's age. He seemed quite mature but a little guy. But, the 'moral of the story' was the important part ..... well told. Donna

Fresh Meat (Short Story) - 2/11/2011 10:26:50 AM
I really enjoyed this story, Steve; and I love the moral (lesson) that it teaches as well. Very nicely done, friend. I only noticed one typo (cloths/clothes). “Just your cloths and boy stuff..." Love and peace to you, Regis

Fresh Meat (Short Story) - 2/10/2011 8:32:09 PM
I remember reading in one of your other short stories that Carter was sick and couldn't visit Kat. I guess this is what happened during that time.

Half House (Short Story) - 1/26/2011 11:22:01 AM
A fine story, Steve. Once cannot help but see the parallel with the story of the prodigal son of the Bible. There are a few typos that I noticed: “Yes,” Carter agreed. “I have enough money you can buy a bus ticket. There’s a bus that stops at the convenience store every Friday--that’s tomorrow. My dad has some old cloths you can have. Meet us at the store tomorrow at noon. We will buy you lunch. You can change cloths in the restroom and catch the buss at 3:00 p.m.” "cloths" (clothes) and "buss" (bus) than the cost of the buss ticket (bus) Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

Half House (Short Story) - 1/26/2011 6:04:20 AM
A very good story. Carter and Kat helping someone to find the courage to ask his father for forgiveness truly shows their good character.

The Deadly Lie (Short Story) - 12/17/2010 7:04:12 PM
“Come on, lire, no one believes you. of his legs if broken Cursy heard his councilor Just a few typos that I noticed, Steve. This is another good story to teach children (or anyone for that matter) about the evils of lying and the possible consequences. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace, Regis

The Deadly Lie (Short Story) - 12/13/2010 6:52:58 AM
A hard lesson to be learned, but at least he didn't suffer like the Boy Who Cried Wolf. I'll bet he started being honest from that day forth.

Halloween Scare at the Wilson Barn (Short Story) - 12/10/2010 7:26:05 PM
I don’t buy that you thought I was right behind you, but I believe that you won’t leave me again. Hopefully a lesson learned; nicely done, Steve. Love and peace to you, Regis

Todd in the Dark (Short Story) - 12/6/2010 12:24:40 AM
in a week voice But there was noting. A couple of typos. You know in your head the right things to do, but it is not enough to know right, you must do right. A good lesson to learn; I find your story imaginative and meaningful. Thank you for sharing it, Steve. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Strange Place (Short Story) - 12/4/2010 10:00:25 AM
Very unusual place. At least he got out of there okay.

Perry Ignored the Light (Short Story) - 12/4/2010 9:58:30 AM
Probably the saddest story you wrote. Still, it has an important lesson. Shame Perry had to learn the hard way.

People Rule Inn (Short Story) - 11/27/2010 12:43:41 PM
This is a great "teaser," Steve. Well done. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Hole World (Short Story) - 11/24/2010 3:28:07 AM
well done

The Hole World (Short Story) - 11/23/2010 11:57:24 AM
I find this particularly captivating, Steve. Well done! I think there are a couple of typos here: I want to do all the bighting, or should I say, sucking? old junkie parachute "biting" and "junky" ??? Thank you for sharing. Love, peace, and continued success to you, Regis

The Hole World (Short Story) - 11/22/2010 6:45:48 PM
Now that was scary. It appeared that they were done for, but the surprise ending was cool! This story was definitely worth the wait.

The Inconvenience Store (Short Story) - 11/22/2010 1:06:20 PM
Very creepy. A store that the health inspector would close in a New York Minute. Thanks for another excerpt from Beyond the Dead Forest.

People Rule Inn (Short Story) - 11/22/2010 1:04:07 PM
That is definitely one inn I would not like to spend a night in. Creative work.

Sweet Revenge (Short Story) - 11/22/2010 1:00:13 PM
I enjoyed reading this in Beyond the Dead Forest. Goes to show two wrongs don't make a right, while one right does.

Forbidden Attic (Short Story) - 11/19/2010 5:29:03 AM
A good story with an important lesson. Thanks for having another creative way to teach an important lesson.

Trapped in a Place of Horror (Short Story) - 11/17/2010 10:50:51 AM
Very important lesson in humility. Thanks for another great story.

Where are the Kravins? (Short Story) - 11/13/2010 8:27:41 PM
Typo: "roasted meets" (meats) An interesting account, Steve. You captured my interest and held it from start to finish; and of course, I like the moral as well. Love and peace to you, Regis

Todd in the Dark (Short Story) - 11/12/2010 6:32:54 AM
It's definitely easy to say you'll do something, but not easy to actually do it.

Creative Way to Introduce Children to Jesus (Article) - 8/23/2013 9:38:22 AM
wow God richly bless you, i love the way you teach the kids with such a puzle illustration

How Literacy Changed My Life (Article) - 7/18/2012 10:47:12 PM
Really good stuff! Keep it coming!

How Literacy Changed My Life (Article) - 11/9/2011 3:59:10 PM
Excellent posting!

Creative Way to Introduce Children to Jesus (Article) - 10/4/2011 5:34:58 AM
Creative indeed! A lovely job, Steve.

Interview with author of Beyond the Dead Forest (Article) - 5/7/2011 5:51:15 PM
Thank you for sharing this interesting, informative and revealing interview, Steve. Love and blessings, Regis

A Chuckle For You (Article) - 4/10/2011 9:09:57 AM
Thanks for sharing, Steve. Love and peace, Regis

Interviewing Author, Steve Groll (Article) - 3/13/2011 2:34:10 PM
Thank you for sharing this interesting and informative interview, Steve... ...and congratulations! Love and peace to you, Regis

Something Unique in Christian Literature (Article) - 12/1/2010 11:00:38 AM
Thank you for sharing this information, Steve. Love, peace, blessings, and continued success to you, Regis

Something Unique in Christian Literature (Article) - 11/30/2010 7:27:19 PM
Truly inspiring. Great words from a great author.

Becoming a New Creation (Article) - 11/13/2010 8:17:20 PM
An interesting exercise to make some valid points, Steve. Thanks for sharing. Love and blessings to you, Regis

Creative Way to Introduce Children to Jesus (Article) - 10/3/2010 6:41:02 AM
interesting read

Fly in My Coffee (Poetry) - 3/17/2013 3:45:30 AM
Oh darn! LOL! Just ain't your day!!! Love it :))))) Enjoyed.. Vesna ( Croatia)

Fly in My Coffee (Poetry) - 8/6/2011 7:54:12 AM
Lol..I love it! A bug is bad but a hair is simply nasty! A Fun write! Blessings...Frances

Stating the Obvious (Poetry) - 8/4/2011 6:22:35 AM
Steve, Your words ring true since no one is perfect. Blessings...Frances

Stating the Obvious (Poetry) - 6/28/2011 6:46:00 AM
A wise point of view. I get tired of having people put in a box because of who they are, when the one condemning is just finding something else to complain about. Connie

Fly in My Coffee (Poetry) - 6/28/2011 6:44:04 AM
Gross! What a disgusting morning! My own yuck was when the spaghetti sauce crunched in my mouth, and I found a dead ladybug in there! Connie

;-} Skullduggery (Poetry) - 6/28/2011 6:42:12 AM
So cute! Halloween can be taken in different ways. I like to take advantage of opportunity to share hope in Jesus. Connie

Fly in My Coffee (Poetry) - 4/12/2011 1:58:15 PM
Funny ending. Thanks. :-) Tom

;-} Skullduggery (Poetry) - 3/21/2011 8:59:46 AM
"Skullduggery", it's nicely full of laughter, Steve! I find it quite funny.

;-} Skullduggery (Poetry) - 2/26/2011 3:24:04 PM
Hah! A nice uplifting poem. Seems sometimes that many of us take life to seriously. Children, on the other hand take life for what it should be. rege

Stating the Obvious (Poetry) - 2/2/2011 1:06:23 PM
Clever poem and so powerfully true. Statistically speaking, I wonder how many people would fall into each category? rege

Fly in My Coffee (Poetry) - 1/31/2011 5:25:22 PM
I love your sense of humor in this poem. I'm also a coffee lover. Without its stimulant, my heard would stop. I'm thinking of getting up halfway through the night for a hot cup of java just so the engine's not so hard to get rolling each morning. rege

;-} Skullduggery (Poetry) - 1/10/2011 7:08:28 PM
Very cute and fun to read

;-} Skullduggery (Poetry) - 12/19/2010 2:58:15 AM
Absolutely a 'scream ' of a poem.. YAY!! Vesna :)

Fly in My Coffee (Poetry) - 11/19/2010 5:33:00 PM
Steve, Seems like you were having a very bad day! Perhaps you should switch to tea? Thanks for the laugh! Mary

;-} Skullduggery (Poetry) - 11/17/2010 9:48:52 AM
Steve, Delightful Halloween poem!! Mary

;-} Skullduggery (Poetry) - 10/31/2010 8:36:33 PM
A delightfully happy sharing; most apt and timely. Thank you, Steve. Love and peace to you, Regis

Stating the Obvious (Poetry) - 10/31/2010 8:35:23 PM
I truly appreciate the philosophy that you have shared within your verses here, Steve. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

Fly in My Coffee (Poetry) - 10/31/2010 8:34:27 PM
Thank you for sharing your creative wit and humor, Steve. Love and peace to you, Regis

Stating the Obvious (Poetry) - 10/26/2010 3:59:54 AM
this is outstanding Steve and so very, very true deep thoughts & revealing truth(s) Vickie

Stating the Obvious (Poetry) - 10/26/2010 1:37:14 AM
Very true, Steve !

;-} Skullduggery (Poetry) - 10/15/2010 8:30:03 PM
Beautifully crafted piece of family love and sharing, Happy Halloween.... Be always safe, Karen

;-} Skullduggery (Poetry) - 10/15/2010 6:13:15 PM
So fun, sounds of joy ~ Best Wishes, Christine

Fly in My Coffee (Poetry) - 10/15/2010 10:04:31 AM
hah! my kind of poetry funny, relateable and up lifting ...thanks steve

Fly in My Coffee (Poetry) - 10/14/2010 5:26:28 PM
Nice one, Steve; almost as bad as finding half a worm in the apple you're eating. John

Fly in My Coffee (Poetry) - 10/14/2010 4:02:45 AM
This is so whimsical! Once, I had about ten ants swarming around in my mouth after a sip of OJ. Apparently they had gone for a dip in an ant-infested fridge. And let me tell you, those little buggers stick to the tongue with tiny suctions on their feet. Oh, sorry about the rambling... Best Wishes, Christine

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.