AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Nancy Shattuck, iDavid Snowdon, iLindsey Webster, iGerald Grantham, iDeborah Frontiera, iGary Rodriguez, iByron Edgington, i
 
Home > Alan Abrams
 

Recent Reviews for Alan Abrams


time ripped away (Short Story) - 6/28/2011 6:45:49 PM
goodness. quite a story. she will always be young and vibrant in your memory. and sometimes, may i say memories are the best part of a relationship. thanks for sharing jch

The Call Of The Great Horned Owl (Short Story) - 10/28/2010 8:34:58 AM
I read it twice..only because I liked it..twice

most disturbing... (Short Story) - 10/17/2010 9:05:31 AM
This certainly grabbed my attention and held it. Very intense! In my humble estimation; very well done. Thank you, Alan. Love and peace, Regis

Limits of Disturbance - opening sequence (Short Story) - 10/15/2010 7:22:52 PM
Grabs the attention and captures the imagination; nicely done, Alan. Love and peace, Regis

The Call Of The Great Horned Owl (Short Story) - 9/16/2010 10:33:19 AM
A very enjoyable read. I liked the way the Abrams went back in his 'memories'. Well written and extremely interesting. Donna

The Call Of The Great Horned Owl (Short Story) - 9/14/2010 1:46:16 PM
Gawd

A Dog Named Crackers (Short Story) - 9/7/2010 1:18:18 PM
more!

Last Trip (Short Story) - 9/5/2010 7:27:09 AM
excellent

Something of Value (Short Story) - 9/4/2010 4:01:46 PM
Really good, but toss out the last section. "Show, not tell." I.e., don't explain your pain. .

Benediction (Short Story) - 9/4/2010 2:50:25 PM
nice

On Raymond Carver (Article) - 12/13/2010 1:05:38 PM
"have you read Cormac McCarthy?" only "The Crossing" and "The Road"-- but of what I've read, CM creates phantasmic worlds, RC investigates mundane microcosms. CM's characters are physically violent; RC's characters commit emotional assaults. what are the similarities you are suggesting?

On Raymond Carver (Article) - 12/13/2010 7:54:54 AM
have you read Cormac McCarthy?

winter alchemy (Poetry) - 12/21/2013 5:13:36 AM
Lovely poem of change.

winter alchemy (Poetry) - 12/11/2013 5:10:05 PM
very difficult to spend ...

winter alchemy (Poetry) - 12/9/2013 8:36:46 AM
I think I'll cash in. Ron

We Run Risks (Poetry) - 3/19/2013 9:48:09 AM
It is one of end of life's greatest mysteries, at least for me. Cheers, Dan

on March Seventeenth (Poetry) - 3/18/2013 9:46:45 AM
Great 'Ku...very imaginative. Cheers, Dan

We Run Risks (Poetry) - 3/8/2013 10:40:22 AM
Excellent.

two 'kus for the season (Poetry) - 12/30/2012 4:15:13 PM
The magic of a season caught. I'm particularly sensitive to the beauty of the second 'ku. Axilea

window of awe (Poetry) - 11/2/2012 9:09:42 PM
a window of awe and fear ....

window of awe (Poetry) - 10/30/2012 7:25:28 AM
our prayers are with all impacted by sandy

late march blizzard (Poetry) - 10/29/2012 12:05:44 PM
You could have fooled me with the picture. I really like this one. If you left out the middle line, it would perfectly describe a snowstorm, but "white cherry blossom petals--" reveal a wonderful spring surprise! Connie

window of awe (Poetry) - 10/29/2012 12:02:53 PM
A very apt description of this formidable storm as we await the results in our own safe (we hope) haven. Connie

summer's recompense (Poetry) - 8/14/2012 2:34:36 PM
Meticulous writing with lovely contrasts: a beautiful flower! Axilea

midsummer dawn (Poetry) - 7/19/2012 11:14:10 AM
Beautiful!

in hand (Poetry) - 7/6/2012 7:42:40 PM
a nice take on purpose and being in its place in the flash of existence ...

no lie (Poetry) - 6/24/2012 10:29:02 PM
...for all have come short...' i cannot lie. thanks for the share asa

in hand (Poetry) - 6/24/2012 9:44:16 AM
It is very familiar. I've often wondered about our civilized world. With all its “solid” structures actually made up of billions of atoms all moving toward entropy, including gold and diamonds thought to be forever. Ron

no lie (Poetry) - 6/22/2012 5:38:04 AM
We all tell lies, as evidenced by this little poem. And, we lie to ourselves about telling them so that we can think we are totally honest, when we manipulate the truth of it to make our relationships better–we think. Ron

when she's away (Poetry) - 5/6/2012 10:59:34 PM
a state of grace indeed. well done alan.

when she's away (Poetry) - 4/26/2012 2:21:40 PM
Very nice and swift! ;) Axilea

when she's away (Poetry) - 4/24/2012 1:17:25 AM
choice of mocking bird excellent in the context, Alan john

when she's away (Poetry) - 4/22/2012 4:55:59 PM
lost love has a way of making one lose sleep ...

when she's away (Poetry) - 4/22/2012 2:27:14 PM
A SWEET ESSENCE OF LOVE...THAT STAYS IN THE AIR. WELL DONE. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

I thought the girls were silly (Poetry) - 4/22/2012 2:21:18 PM
from the gut words that threw me back...yes it was a cattle call...how well you said it all....pmedlin

when she's away (Poetry) - 4/22/2012 2:06:31 PM
oh my goodness...this unexpectedly took my breath...what a reverie

when she's away (Poetry) - 4/22/2012 11:50:38 AM
Neat and beautiful, Alan! It seemed you might've been bird watching!

needle prick (Poetry) - 4/22/2012 10:40:28 AM
There are blood tests---and blood tests. Mine are routine, monthly checks to monitor coagulation. The type that you write about with fear of impending doom are so "other than routine." The little vial holds the prophecy of his future. Apprehension reigns. Connie

when she's away (Poetry) - 4/22/2012 10:30:59 AM
You crafted these brief lines into an understanding of your heart's desires. Beautiful, and the picture is, too. Connie

when she's away (Poetry) - 4/22/2012 9:34:24 AM
nice

buteo (Poetry) - 4/9/2012 5:08:44 PM
Slingshot, what an accute word. Kingfishers 'splat' themselves into the water like a sopping sponge being hurled. It's not graceful. ~~ Diana

needle prick (Poetry) - 4/9/2012 5:03:27 PM
Oh my vision here. Fear. You have painted the pallet of fear. Great power punch in adjectives of 'deceitful' molecule and 'tattle' telling corpuscles. It highlights with bright yellow marker the 'too up close and personal' we've gotten with our megamicro analytics that can most often create more havoc than we began with. Sorry, I have a thing about white coats. I enjoy your word "glassine". ~~ Diana

crows and hawk (Poetry) - 4/9/2012 4:58:36 PM
Great setting with sound sensations to accompany a very 'you' presence in the ice in your beard. ~~ Diana

I thought the girls were silly (Poetry) - 4/9/2012 4:53:41 PM
Visceral piece that got my attention. That there are no initial caps or punctuation helps this flow along in stream-of-telling. About the point when Lyndon Johnson was drawling needing a hundred thousand more, I was sitting up in my chair. The repeat of "how did they know, how did they know". . Powerful write. ~~ Diana

firmitas (Poetry) - 4/9/2012 4:45:02 PM
This piece presents to me, an anti-development slant with words in the first stanza of 'burnished teeth', 'belching,' 'heaped' and then slips in a positive note of "perfume to a builder's nose." The second stanza is full of earth and air appreciation and juxtaposing 'freedom' of sun, trees, light, perfect sky . . with pit and gravedeep. It feels like the story of life; we notice 'in my private room' the contrast of intruder and intrudee. Everywhere. Mural of a happening in this. ~~ Diana

firmitas (Poetry) - 4/9/2012 2:04:09 AM
Good stuff.

firmitas (Poetry) - 4/7/2012 12:14:53 PM
A vivid description of new construction. Perhaps a rebuilt life. Ron

buteo (Poetry) - 4/7/2012 4:36:38 AM
ever grateful for those feathered friends! otherwise resident rodents would have an upperhand! ah, to be above all, in silence... nice work.

firmitas (Poetry) - 4/7/2012 4:30:16 AM
nicely done, alan.

firmitas (Poetry) - 4/6/2012 3:55:41 PM
the first stanza is rich in image of doing, Alan, but the second moves to another level, the inner construction, the human condition this is fine work indeed john

firmitas (Poetry) - 4/6/2012 3:30:50 PM
AWESOME WORK...BRINGING ALL OF THE ELEMENTS TOGETHER...HIGH AND LOW...THAT GIVES YOU JOY AND PEACE. CERTAINLY, MUCH 'WORK' GOING ON HERE. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH... JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

firmitas (Poetry) - 4/6/2012 7:43:44 AM
enjoyed how you constructed the ambiance of this poem ...

late march blizzard (Poetry) - 3/31/2012 8:12:28 AM
Of shorts... ;-) Ron

turkey buzzard (Poetry) - 3/23/2012 10:22:21 AM
I recently saw a bald eagle fly through the snow over the river here. I wonder as you do, Alan. Thanks for sharing. Love and peace, Regis

needle prick (Poetry) - 3/23/2012 10:21:26 AM
I often go for blood tests; your words hold special meaning, Alan. Love and peace, Regis

needle prick (Poetry) - 3/9/2012 10:12:12 PM
hope the results is negative for anything other than normal. thanks for sharing. asa

needle prick (Poetry) - 3/9/2012 9:29:33 AM
Powerful words about the fear we feel when we are forced to have a blood test and we suspect that something terrible was wrong. Ron

turkey buzzard (Poetry) - 3/7/2012 8:22:52 AM
may be warmer up there than on the ground ...

turkey buzzard (Poetry) - 3/7/2012 7:10:35 AM
aren't we fragile? Axilea

turkey buzzard (Poetry) - 3/6/2012 11:19:59 AM
Condors can. Ron

pale leaves (Poetry) - 2/27/2012 4:14:50 PM
...most beauteous...

pale leaves (Poetry) - 2/27/2012 3:52:53 PM
my neighbor has one, I adore standing near it and it talks with those leaves...delightful

pale leaves (Poetry) - 2/27/2012 1:03:42 PM
Captures the moment with clarity and detail ...

buteo (Poetry) - 2/17/2012 7:23:44 PM
believe in or not there are a great many of hawks here in the city, especially the bronx and manhattan ... the rodents are hiding out ... vivid capture ...

buteo (Poetry) - 2/17/2012 5:37:34 AM
Good stuff.

branches grasp (Poetry) - 1/26/2012 5:03:30 PM
falling becomes an enjoyable and soothing experience in this haiku... Axilea

branches grasp (Poetry) - 12/8/2011 12:58:27 AM
Very enjoyable, Alan

skochku (Poetry) - 10/21/2011 9:13:58 AM
great title ...

skochku (Poetry) - 10/20/2011 11:50:38 PM
The title says it all! Nice composition! Axilea

skochku (Poetry) - 10/19/2011 4:30:23 PM
..and how much of the amber is gone? like the take and love the title, Alan. John

'ku for new hard times (Poetry) - 8/19/2011 5:57:48 AM
An observation full of truth and irony. I like this a lot! Axilea

'ku for new hard times (Poetry) - 8/18/2011 6:38:25 PM
Now is the time to buckle down as we are all in for a very rough ride facing uncertainty in the foreseeable future. I do have faith that we will get through this too as we have in the past. The answer lies in history... Be always safe, Karen

'ku for new hard times (Poetry) - 8/18/2011 4:05:58 PM
A re-evaluation of the consumer society and its values, Alan; maybe it always takes a (relative) down to know worth. Well written. John

her fragrance (Poetry) - 6/16/2011 1:54:22 PM
As I was reading this poem, I thought of all the different links and connections we need to feel close to someone. Our senses are the trigger for so many reactions, but they can also deceive us. And memory? Is it reliable? Just thinking out loud. Nicely written, Alan. Axilea

oriole (Poetry) - 6/2/2011 4:08:31 AM
when circumstance has me annoyed, and mankind I seek to avoid-- then I set as my mark a long walk in the park-- in hopes I will spot a strange boid.

oriole (Poetry) - 6/1/2011 7:56:32 PM
Just like the beautiful season it represents, its visit is short. Just like that season in life... Axilea

oriole (Poetry) - 6/1/2011 7:42:12 PM
All in the twinkle of an eye, yet for that one split second..... Be always safe, Karen

oriole (Poetry) - 6/1/2011 4:46:43 PM
The moment of seeing, Alan, is joy and the moment of feeling the magic after. John

oriole (Poetry) - 6/1/2011 2:47:22 PM
GREAT 'Q'. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS & FAITH... JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

oriole (Poetry) - 6/1/2011 1:54:29 PM
Always cherish what comes our way but it might be the last. Thanks.

for no one (Poetry) - 5/26/2011 4:22:09 AM
Mysterious lines, Alan, as if those hands/arms were imprisoned in the coldness of time. Axilea

for no one (Poetry) - 5/23/2011 7:27:17 PM
Ageless and yet suggesting a certain age and a certain attitude; poetry, Alan, with much left unsaid. Yes! John

I thought the girls were silly (Poetry) - 5/19/2011 3:28:20 PM
Your finger very much on the pulse of those days, Alan. I like the easy direct style in this poem, its no-nonsense tell-it-like-it-was delivery. John

song of the thrush (Poetry) - 5/6/2011 4:37:59 PM
Alan, Yes! John

song of the thrush (Poetry) - 5/6/2011 7:12:50 AM
Haha! Excellent!

scent of spring (Poetry) - 5/3/2011 5:37:16 PM
a touch of color on a white screen, a strong impression. Axilea

scent of spring (Poetry) - 4/15/2011 6:07:26 AM
You and me both, don't you love that fragrance?

reluctant spring (Poetry) - 3/21/2011 6:58:43 PM
Now wait a minute--willingly? I hope you and the ducks enjoyed the shower! I love the title, and the poem is skillfully written and enjoyable to read and think about. Connie

reluctant spring (Poetry) - 3/21/2011 5:22:18 PM
Nice! You caught the moment. Axilea

reluctant spring (Poetry) - 3/21/2011 3:40:32 AM
I presume you're talking about this morning's freak storm. We got hail! !

taking stock (Poetry) - 3/16/2011 12:49:44 AM
Well done, Alan

taking stock (Poetry) - 3/15/2011 12:03:41 PM
terrific

bronze and ash (Poetry) - 3/5/2011 8:19:40 PM
The need for a comforting moment in a place impregnated with emotions. Interesting; an experience. Axilea

bronze and ash (Poetry) - 2/20/2011 2:45:07 AM
VERY NICE!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

her fragrance (Poetry) - 2/16/2011 6:23:56 AM
Well done !

I thought the girls were silly (Poetry) - 2/15/2011 6:11:13 AM
Interesting indeed..enjoyed...Hugsss

needing bread (Poetry) - 2/7/2011 4:04:57 AM
Imagery to feed the soul. The simple pleasure of mixing the right words and sounds and feeling replenished. Axilea

warm cheeks (Poetry) - 2/7/2011 3:56:15 AM
Sweet warmth in these words, Alan. Axilea

needing bread (Poetry) - 1/28/2011 12:01:03 PM
Alan, Good play on words, needing and kneading. As we need bread, so must we knead it. Very good poem. Mary

epitaph (Poetry) - 1/25/2011 6:00:40 PM
Alan: This is wonderful. I especially like "no lovers ever loved and neither did cry." I look forward to more. God bless you, Deborah

epitaph (Poetry) - 1/25/2011 5:38:09 PM
beautiful...Sue

the birds of rock creek (Poetry) - 1/18/2011 3:59:40 PM
Only the birds know the secrets hidden in these lines; by morning, their songs will tell the story. An intriguing little bit of lovely poetry. Connie

warm cheeks (Poetry) - 1/16/2011 9:43:29 AM
were you mooning the sun ;) (couldn't resist)

warm cheeks (Poetry) - 1/15/2011 12:25:18 PM
Picturesque photograph and words from the heart, beautiful... Be always safe, Karen

canyon (Poetry) - 1/14/2011 5:36:44 PM
Impressive writing! I kind of envy the courage that led to the leap. Connie

rocks in your head (Poetry) - 1/14/2011 5:34:48 PM
A lot of revelation in 3 short lines. Connie

warm cheeks (Poetry) - 1/14/2011 12:42:45 PM
what a perfect evening to end a day~

warm cheeks (Poetry) - 1/14/2011 9:13:58 AM
Oh my.. beautiful indeed nicley done sweet man...stay safe and well..Hugss

warm cheeks (Poetry) - 1/14/2011 5:53:40 AM
Beautiful! Love the warm.

rocks in your head (Poetry) - 1/5/2011 1:32:56 AM
Better in the head than in one's heart... Axilea

rocks in your head (Poetry) - 1/4/2011 6:37:35 PM
Interesting scenario well stated... Be always safe, Karen

rocks in your head (Poetry) - 1/4/2011 4:31:10 AM
we ARE getting old: rocks in my head, stones in my passway, blood on the tracks... .

canyon (Poetry) - 1/2/2011 8:49:08 AM
Did you survive? [there's a typo in line 3]

this--is a test (Poetry) - 12/24/2010 7:39:49 AM
So sweetly chosen for her, she just has to love them. It is interesting to have this glimpse into the mind of a shopping man. Connie

boots (Poetry) - 12/24/2010 7:38:00 AM
There's something intriguing about these 3-liners, so simple yet with your pen you make them glide into a poem. May all your footware be as wise as your boots. Connie

this--is a test (Poetry) - 12/23/2010 12:53:40 PM
I hope she adores them.

this--is a test (Poetry) - 12/23/2010 10:53:07 AM
clever

beans are cheap (Poetry) - 12/21/2010 5:24:44 PM
stark simplicity says so much... I had all but forgotten that use of 'dear' ... a costly reminder in these economic times, nicht wahr?

beans are cheap (Poetry) - 12/21/2010 2:41:58 PM
Sounds good sounds.

beech leaves (Poetry) - 12/20/2010 11:32:13 AM
peachy

beech leaves (Poetry) - 12/20/2010 10:51:45 AM
Nothing stays around forever except our souls.

beech leaves (Poetry) - 12/20/2010 7:14:04 AM
A delight.

beech leaves (Poetry) - 12/19/2010 9:43:20 PM
Gorgeous, Alan, soft and hard at the same time, even at the end. Erin Elizabeth Kelly-Moen

eastern eye (Poetry) - 12/12/2010 5:51:08 AM
Nize

crows and hawk (Poetry) - 12/10/2010 11:27:06 AM
+

her fragrance (Poetry) - 12/8/2010 4:06:50 AM
Stunning poetry, you capture the moment and the magic spell of a woman's aura.

her fragrance (Poetry) - 12/7/2010 10:35:56 AM
Pretty sweet - like that last stanza. db

her fragrance (Poetry) - 12/7/2010 10:19:47 AM
Nice

bullet (Poetry) - 12/3/2010 8:46:27 PM
Shattering - I could feel the hole in the soul it pierced.

bullet (Poetry) - 12/3/2010 6:46:55 AM
A bullet. Penetrating fantasy. Great imagery, saturated and coldly engineered. I'm particularly fond of some of your alliterations! Axilea

Axilea's Words (Poetry) - 12/1/2010 9:46:42 AM
Alan, Great tribute to Axilea who is a fantastic poet. Mary

bullet (Poetry) - 12/1/2010 8:54:17 AM
nice

bullet (Poetry) - 12/1/2010 7:02:48 AM
sounds almost like a time machine, or is it a Yamaha?

bullet (Poetry) - 12/1/2010 6:09:19 AM
Alan, Interesting what a violent inanimate object must think. Very imaginative. Mary

Axilea's Words (Poetry) - 10/29/2010 7:03:00 PM
Beautiful lines, I'm honored! And I love the sounds of the final line. Thank you Alan! Axilea

Axilea's Words (Poetry) - 10/29/2010 12:06:53 AM
Axilea is an excellent poet. John

Axilea's Words (Poetry) - 10/28/2010 8:32:39 AM
Incy wincy poem of much to contemplate. good idea

Axilea's Words (Poetry) - 10/28/2010 7:40:40 AM
Wonderful poem and imagery Alan ~ She is an extraordinary poet. Best Wishes, Christine

as the crow flies (Poetry) - 10/23/2010 4:48:23 PM
intriguing encounter! Axilea

H21 (Poetry) - 10/22/2010 10:20:55 AM
Absorbing image ~ very effective. Best Wishes, Christine

lack of judgement (Poetry) - 10/18/2010 4:03:25 AM
Haiku? Gesundheit! .

Traces (Poetry) - 10/15/2010 7:19:50 PM
I love your imagery and the sentiments that they awaken within me as I read, Alan. Very nicely done; thank you for sharing this gift. Love and peace to you, Regis

Traces (Poetry) - 10/10/2010 10:18:10 AM
Such a sweet yearning!

Traces (Poetry) - 10/10/2010 8:41:17 AM
A gentle and eye-catching poem ~ so many soft images filled with reflection. Best Wishes, Christine

Traces (Poetry) - 10/10/2010 7:30:59 AM
what a beautiful piece...so lyrical so wistful. you used your words in such perfect harmony as to paint the scenes in my mind...wonderful write

Traces (Poetry) - 10/10/2010 7:17:52 AM
Sometimes I think poetry is the bane of existence. Here is your's as run through the cut-up engine: ====================== of filters spills feel slanting knows my the to it dancing, stars- feel sprite. see slanting soft you. on dewdrops sickle of like the Turning stars- I And And warm feel warm the among dusky for on Careless wind a a soft across when I light for the spruce Perfection it gentle light the light when dawning the gentle the you the Turning on sickle dancing, gold- you the the see for The And ================ .

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.