AuthorsDen.com  Join | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Patrick Granfors, iJeff Ovall, iNeeta Blair, iJoan Huffman, iPeggy Schmuldt, iSteven Ulmen, iSandi Schraut, i
 
Home > Jay Squires
 

Recent Reviews for Jay Squires


The Dead of Winter (Book) - 12/15/2003 8:25:09 AM
Jay Squires is a poet. I'd know this even if I hadn't been lucky enough to read some of his poetry before I read The Dead of Winter, because his narrative is nothing short of lyrical. You don't get just a mere glimpse into the enthralling world of Noah Winter; the author describes it so beautifully and completely that you feel the icy winter rain and the texture of Noah's Armani suit, you smell the old leather and mahogany in his library and hear a coyote's eerie howl as you watch a primitive ritual performed in a bonfire's flickering glow. Mr. Squires coins metaphors that bring each scene to vibrant, Technicolored life and project into his readers' minds images that titillate one moment and terrify the next, moving seamlessly from an awe-inspired reverie to a graphic portrait of horror. Noah Winter in a protagonist on a grand scale--rich, handsome, intelligent, and charismatic--but he's also an ex-cop who is haunted by dreams of his young son's tragic death. His innate sense of loyalty and honor send him on a quest to rescue an old friend's nephew who has been mysteriously abducted, and he finds himself in the middle of so much intrigue that it takes all his wits and experience to get out. Then, just when he thinks he's succeeded, he must face a foe who calls evil a comrade and embraces death as a lover. This is a book that will stimulate your mind with its complexities, entertain you with its engaging, three-dimensional characters and their lively dialogue, enrich you with a sampling of the author's vast wit and wisdom, and scare the bejeezus out of you in more ways than one. You may find yourself gripping the book in agitation as you near its brutal climax, but rest assured that Mr. Squires does not disappoint on any level and you'll be glad he took you along on this virtual safari through his imagination.

The Dead of Winter (Book) - 10/16/2003 6:07:10 PM
Hi Jay: I just ordered "The Dead of Winter." Your synopsis hooked me. Hope to see you at the convention. Lowell.

The Dead of Winter (Book) - 9/17/2003 7:35:14 AM
This is a fascinating book seeped in the mystical spiritualism of the Native American. Indio is “the Keeper”, but his ancient mind and body is failing him. Solano, who he raised as a son, is urging him to pass on the Datura basket and let him become the Keeper of the Pathway. But this cannot be. Indio knows that Solano is not one of the chosen, and as much as he loves him, he cannot do this. But there is no one else. Will this mean the death of the ceremony? The Death of the Mystery? Even as Indio wrestles with his unsolvable dilemma, Solano has plans of his own. What is the answer? What will be the final outcome? This story resonates with rich description, and has colorful and emotional soul stirring spiritual nuances that carry the reader ever deeper into the fascinating and mysterious world of the Native American religion. With realism, detail, and suspense, the author has amply demonstrated his ability to transcend cultures and worlds. This is a book that deserves a place in the library of anyone who knows, and loves, the real Native American. Into this setting comes Noah Winter, a no nonsense retired Police officer who has created a vast wealthy empire for himself. He is inexorably drawn into a deepening mystery when he searches for his best friend, and his nephew who have disappeared with only the slimmest of clues to go on. As it becomes more apparent that they were caught up in Solano’s diabolical machinations, his own life, and his future become threatened, and the only way out is to see it through… whatever the cost. Mr. Squires expertly weaves a plot that is enthralling, mysterious, and identifiable. You really come to not only know the characters, but feel their pain as well. This is a page turner in every sense of the word. Well written, using description, emotion, and realism, the reader is absorbed in the story. He even uses a touch of humor at just the right time to counter balance the incredible tension that grows to the chilling climax. This is definitely a five-star book that places Mr. Squires firmly in the seat as one of his publisher’s finest authors.

The Dead of Winter (Book) - 6/11/2003 4:48:23 PM
Jay: The Dead of Winter held me captive and I completely became engrossed in your story. Your writing style is descriptive enough to give you a real feel for the setting, yet moves along at a quick pace to keep the reader wanting more. It's definately a page-turner and will get the attention it deserves. Can't wait to read more!

The Dead of Winter (Book) - 5/9/2003 8:19:11 AM
Jay this sounds like a winner! I wanted to download the preview however, I feel it safer to do so on my own terminal at home. (I'm at work now) After I take a read at it, I'll write back! Thanks!

The Dead of Winter (Book) - 5/1/2003 3:44:26 AM
This is intriguing, compelling writing. Complex in its prose yet thoroughly readable. There is a noir feel to the writing that was reminiscent of James Ellroy but distinctly different as to make the style unique and the prose visceral yet gripping. I want to read more.

The Dead of Winter (Book) - 4/24/2003 5:30:18 AM
Right up my alley...morbid and strange; a dark story that really pulls you in for keeps. -Tim Johnson Author of Twisted Oak: Eyes of Discernment

The Dead of Winter (Book) - 4/7/2003 10:42:49 AM
Graphic, intense, engrossing and imaginitive. Quite a stirring sample you've shared with us. If the rest of your book is as compelling, you've got a winner. Best of luck, Jay.

The Dead of Winter (Book) - 4/1/2003 2:44:08 PM
wow, now that's something!! What is it with decapitation of late, Jay? LOL!!!

The Dead of Winter (Book) - 3/25/2003 3:45:08 PM
CAN'T WAIT TO READ THE BOOK. GOOD LUCK!

The Dead of Winter (Book) - 3/21/2003 6:03:39 AM
Sounds very exciting. Look forward to reading the whole story. I wish you much success! Hugs, Victoria

The Dead of Winter (Book) - 3/20/2003 2:38:51 PM
I downloaded the preview from Jay’s website and after a moment I was in the world, his world, the world of the story. That’s an example of his sentence structure by the way. I can’t think of where I’ve seen the style before, but I recognize the fact that he seems very well read. He’s taken a style and made it his own. There’s nothing wrong with that, it’s just an observation. I believe you should take art further than where you found it. I didn’t get any real description from character to character but that may be from earlier passages that were not included in the preview. Beyond that the descriptions were very well done. I could picture the scene perfectly which seemed to be what the writer wanted. Without saying: “Surprise!” You could tell the character’s surprise at what was happening to them, their demise, their drift into unknown waters. See, I’m doing it again. -H.B.Marcus

The Dead of Winter (Book) - 3/18/2003 6:48:47 PM
Got my attention...looks like a good one...good luck!

The Dead of Winter (Book) - 3/18/2003 5:34:43 PM
This is excellent, makes me want to read more! Sounds like a definite winner! Good luck with your success Jay! Renee

The Dead of Winter (Book) - 3/18/2003 1:17:58 PM
the story plus your background should prove to create a page turner. good luck with it.

The Dead of Winter (Book) - 3/18/2003 1:04:05 PM
Sounds like a real 'Grabber'. The cover art should get attention too! Very nice. Best of luck Jay.

The Dead of Winter (Book) - 3/18/2003 12:59:15 PM
Definitely intriguing, Jay. Best success! Marcyle

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.