AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Lonnie Hicks, iGisele Vincent-Page, iLori Maynard, iMartyn Kinsella-Jones, iJohn Herlihy, iSharon Burton, iNicholas Coe, i
 
Home > JE Thompson
 

Recent Reviews for JE Thompson


Jump Starting Your Inner Novelist: Published! (Book) - 8/6/2015 7:11:45 PM
Just updated with co-author!

Jump Starting Your Inner Novelist: Published! (Book) - 8/5/2015 10:18:14 AM
Did you forget to mention your co-author and his contribution, Julius? You also have an older entry here that you need to delete (it's on another page). Dennis, your editor and co-author

What kind of writer are you...your writing Style! (Short Story) - 7/10/2015 11:30:52 AM
thought provoking read

God Bless The Charleston Nine! (Short Story) - 6/21/2015 10:52:49 AM
excellent words, hard to fathom how someone so young as the shooter could fellowship and then take a gun and begin to shoot. even when our faith is strong; what heartache for the families of those who died

God Bless The Charleston Nine! (Short Story) - 6/20/2015 7:46:01 AM
You live near Stone Mountain? From my 3 years living in Atlanta, I heard that it was a symbol of hatred of colored people. That old hatred still runs deep in some people's minds and it's hard to believe that a 21-year-old would harbor such hatred. But, I have discerned that the coming-of-age of some young people causes them to experiment with extremes as if their young minds do not have enough experience discern bad when they embrace it. A young black man about the same age who regularly attended noontime Bible study on our floor at TSU here in Houston, went out one night shot a white student from the University of Houston in a library and killed him. He then went to a nearby police station and shot officer Vaughan in the eye giving him brain damage. His motive was: "I wanted to kill white people." As a white person with an office on the same floor of the building where this student worked, it was probably fortunate that I never knew him although I'm sure he knew me. I could've been his first victim. You are absolutely right. When people are oppressed I find they seek solace in religion. That's probably why so many Muslims are so religious… They are oppressed. Extremism of any kind, religious or otherwise, combined with mental illness, is a recipe for disaster. Ron

The Inner-City Blues: Philadelphia Blazers still live in Philly Style! (Short Story) - 5/29/2015 6:31:47 AM
Good for you! For being there for those guys and helping shape them. I have no biological children either, but I often think that my graduate students and student helpers were shaped partly by my mentorship. While many have become successful, one, in particular, Ed Malone, has been very successful. Ed runs a hotshot trucking service here in Houston, has developed a program called Man of Principle, http://manofprinciple.org, for young people, has written a book, and is currently developing a movie production company producing the story of his life on film. Ron

A Brownstone in Brooklyn Approach 15th Anniversary! (Short Story) - 5/6/2015 5:09:23 PM
Thank you so very much for your support...Julius

A Brownstone in Brooklyn Approach 15th Anniversary! (Short Story) - 4/26/2015 4:30:11 AM
I admire your tenacity and diligence to get your story told! May "A Brownstone in Brooklyn" live on for many more years.

Fever: Little Willie John's Fast Life, Mysterious Death...Birth of Soul... (Short Story) - 4/24/2015 3:02:30 PM
1

Fever: Little Willie John's Fast Life, Mysterious Death...Birth of Soul... (Short Story) - 4/24/2015 8:43:25 AM
Did not know how (or why) he died. Thanks.

Fever: Little Willie John's Fast Life, Mysterious Death...Birth of Soul... (Short Story) - 4/22/2015 6:19:35 AM
Thanks for drawing my attention to a neglected instigator of creative pop music.

Fever: Little Willie John's Fast Life, Mysterious Death...Birth of Soul... (Short Story) - 4/22/2015 5:11:02 AM
I grew up with that music. Often I didn't know if it was a black or white group or individual singing the song… I just dug it. I remember distinctly when a friend told me to listen to a new singer… Little Stevie Wonder singing, "Fingertips Part 2." I thought I knew all the singers of that era, but was surprised to read this and discover Little Willie John, and that I had never heard of him before. By reading, we learn something new every day. Thank you. Ron

What is Stream of Consciousness in a novel? Help! (Short Story) - 4/14/2015 7:00:07 AM
Interesting read.

What is Stream of Consciousness in a novel? Help! (Short Story) - 4/10/2015 9:27:43 AM
Another great article about a subject that every fiction writer should understand. I recall a critic very disturbed at my description of the thoughts of my character in my second novel, telling me that I needed to improve my "character development." I think stream of consciousness is important for developing a character, but not the only thing. I remember putting down Moby Dick after attempting to read the first chapter because of all the psychological crap that was being presented. And I found Henry Miller's writing in the Tropic of Cancer, Capricorn, et al, to be almost indiscernible psychobabble until he suddenly got razor-sharp when describing sexual behavior. And, I never understood why anyone would consider James Joyce's work as important because it was almost entirely all stream of consciousness that left me kind of unconscious (very sleepy while reading). Ron

Enjoy the PROLOGUE to Philly Style and Philly Profile! (Short Story) - 4/4/2015 12:19:36 AM
Fluid writing style. Plenty of concrete detail that defines the character and street names of cities I'm not familiar with. I feel as if I'm witnessing Walter with binoculars from a distance. I know who he is, but it's not enough. Without some stream-of-consciousness I can't sympathize with his death. He's just an accident victim on the evening news.

What kind of writer are you...your writing Style! (Short Story) - 3/29/2015 5:19:59 PM


What kind of writer are you...your writing Style! (Short Story) - 3/29/2015 6:48:54 AM
Another good article with great advice from a very good writer. Since I started using my voice system, I find myself writing very long sentences. While editing, I try to correct them. Maybe I shouldn't? The year that Kennedy died was 1963. That Friday I was en route from my college to home in my car, and while I always had the radio on for pop music, do not recall that event being important… Very strange. But, the next week, while I was in the hospital, I was in the lounge, watching the very first time on television, when Oswald was shot by Ruby, live. I've seen it hundreds of times recorded since. Ron

Enjoy a chapter from Phantoms of Rockwood! (Short Story) - 3/9/2015 4:27:55 AM
I'm not reading enough in the short chapter to understand the significance of a ghost coming back to inhabit another from the school. Ron

Enjoy a chapter from A Brownstone in Brooklyn! (Short Story) - 2/28/2015 9:01:26 AM
This reads more like a memoir than a fictional story. A lot of characters are introduced, primarily Sister Love, but it's hard to get the gist of what's going down from this chapter. Reminds me of Fillmore Street in San Francisco during the same decade. With the Fillmore Auditorium suddenly being the venue of every hot rock band of the era, and a storefront for the Black Panthers just down the street, rapid change was going on in 1968. I could write about it if I knew more. Ron

Bloodlines, Tales From the African Diaspora (Short Story) - 2/21/2015 8:20:58 AM
Reads like a winner to me. I enjoy short stories because I have little patience and time reading novels, even though I write them. I have read a few short stories from Africa. Primarily from authors here. I find them refreshing because they tend to be very different and delve into subjects and places that I will never go again. I really appreciate these divergent viewpoints to good story writing. Ron

Phantoms of Rockwood Debut Speech at Decatur Book Festival! (Short Story) - 7/11/2014 6:54:16 AM
Good for you. Your personal experiences have paid off in your writing. Ron

From Bushwick High (Brooklyn) to National Award Winning Author! (Short Story) - 7/8/2014 5:18:55 PM
Ron, thank you so much for your wonderful comments...J.E.

From Bushwick High (Brooklyn) to National Award Winning Author! (Short Story) - 7/8/2014 11:07:26 AM
I'm very proud of the way you have overcome that early fear to write novels and articles of award-winning stature. I have worked with people of color for some time. And have noted the coping styles that some of the older citizens, particularly in the South, used to get along. Many of those were highly educated as a way of overcoming the obstacles they faced in Jim Crow America. And then there were the angry ones. But there always were those who could write and those who couldn't. The writers had the upper hand. I'm so glad you became one. Aside from being a bit lazy when it came to English that got me sidelined, I never had any obstacles to my writing except my family who thought that I wrote too much. Ron

Cheryl Holloway J.E.Thompson Blog Interview! (Article) - 5/6/2015 5:07:32 PM
Ronald, thank you for your insightful comments. That's the reason my novels are still relevant today because the situations are still around us. I really enjoy your comments and your support. God Bless...Julius

Cheryl Holloway J.E.Thompson Blog Interview! (Article) - 5/6/2015 5:35:57 AM
Thank you for this interview showing us much about your background influenced your life and writing. It is obvious from what you said in the interview that your early life in Bedford Stuyvesant gave you the underpinnings that you needed for success as a teacher, coach and writer. I really enjoy reading what you write. I recently saw a map showing the areas where racism still exists in the country. A disturbing side affect of the study was that in those areas where racism still is very strong, the health of black people is affected much more than in those places where racism is lower. For example, there was as much as a 15 year difference in lifespan between black men and white men in those areas. Something to think about. Commentators in Baltimore said that one of the major problems in the area where the riots occurred was that there were no older black men as role models, only younger black men who, as one 16-year-old discovered, only had his mother to remind him to be civil. Ron

Thompson On...Being a Successful 21st Century Author! (Article) - 2/22/2015 7:29:09 AM
Some good points. I had to leave the pencil/pen and paper behind nearly 20 years ago. So I use the computer almost entirely, like you seem to. I believe when you're referring to folders, you are not referring to the manila folders of my earlier office experience, but folders in the computer… I have thousands of them for my hundreds of thousands of files. As a result, I am well organized, like you… But still sometimes, have trouble finding things after writing so many documents and placing them in folders. I recall Isaac Asimov, in his Opus 100, stating that he had "stacks" of his manuscripts. He would write on one stack for a while, and then when he got tired or ran out of ideas on that stack, he would find another that he could write to until he had completed another book. I write that way as well, and sometimes have three or four partially finished projects that I visit when I'm ready to write on them again. Ron

Thompson On...Is finding a literary agent an Impossible Dream? (Article) - 2/21/2015 9:27:59 AM
Based on the way that the publishing industry is moving, I don't think agents, like stockbrokers, mean much anymore. You are on the right track by writing and publishing and promoting your work. Once one of your works goes viral for reasons you probably won't even know until after it happens, agents will probably be beating a path to your door. In the meantime, by keeping up the good fight, you stand a better chance of succeeding in your dream to be a well-known author. Ron

JET Thoughts...A Reflection On The Sixties (Article) - 6/14/2014 2:21:23 PM


JET Thoughts...A Reflection On The Sixties (Article) - 6/14/2014 7:39:09 AM
The 60s were, indeed, perhaps the most influential time in my life when I changed greatly while much of the world around me dragged its feet with change… Still does. Ron

Thompson On...Writing Confidence! (Article) - 1/15/2011 8:29:03 AM
Julius, I love your article. Thanks for writing it, for it speaks to the same issue that I have experienced as a new and emerging writer, lack of confidence. At times, I feel like no one wants to hear what I have to say, and I wonder why I am trying to break into this territory. However, a little voice in me keeps feeding my creative faculties, so I continue typing out my ideas. Because of your article, I have found a renewed sense of confidence. I appreciate you for writing this beautiful article. I am going to write until I can't write any more.

Five-Star Book Review: Ghost of Atlanta (Article) - 12/4/2010 5:06:13 AM
Thanks for this Julius! I share with you my 5 STAR REVIEW of ORCHARD PARK by TOM FAHY - review is on his AuthorsDen site. Here is a brilliantly written review of O.P. that recently appeared on amazon.com: "In the year 2010, when we were told the novel was in decline, when the literati kept circling round their Franzens and Foers, hoping for a miracle, along came a young writer named Tom Fahy who was not inducted by the Curia, worked entirely in his own realm, and spun new literary gold. Orchard Park, Fahy's debut novel, is unlike anything you will have read. Drawn from deepest mineral deposits, a noble, ancient voice, a complete absence of falsity or corruption, and a crystalline beauty of prose--Orchard Park is a work of true genius. May he walk protected in a field of falsely crowned geniuses, whose work, unlike his, is written through faint jaundice. Fahy works with and through a clean spirit, like a reed flute. There will be passages where you have to put the book down, in amazement. He will break your heart and give it back to you. Though self-published now, I believe he is as great a writer as this country has ever produced, and maybe, just maybe, those events are mysteriously related." –Trond W. Sibelius May our reviews contribute to the sales of many books for these authors! All the best, Linden

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.