AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Byron Edgington, iAaron Cole, iKathryn Perry, iDr. Ronald Bissell, iJames Becher, iD. Enise, iLloyd Lofthouse, i
 
Home > Audrey Coatesworth
 

Recent Reviews for Audrey Coatesworth


Glimpses (Book) - 5/1/2015 1:02:48 PM
I love this. Oftentimes, I blurt out to friends and/or family a bit of obscure knowledge and hear the question, "Where did you learn that?" Most often, my answer is, "I don't know. It's just something I picked up along the way." And now I know how to answer: "How strange it was to listen to the voice from days gone by, yet somehow it was remembered, and I didn't even try." With that kind of answer, I'll probably get more stares. But what the hell! I love that I often have "A remembered voice." Richard

A Great Story (for children) (Short Story) - 2/5/2011 7:09:31 AM
A terrific, interactive story which is ideal for parents,relatives and/or teachers to share with young children. I shared it with two little boys aged 4 and 7. They both loved it and enjoyed talking to me about GREAT's decision at their own level. Many thanks for this. I'm sure many other children - and the adults who care for them - will benefit from sharing this story together.

I like gadgets and progress, but ... (Article) - 6/3/2015 6:55:25 AM
You and I share some of the same concerns about gadgets and progress. Like you, I am very interested in computing and have largely self-taught myself many things including learning how to do an object-oriented database, build my own website, make my own movies, and self publish to a certain extent. Blogs or bio logs seem to be the new journalism on the home front. There are many easy sources for doing a blog (like AD), but anyone can make their own website into one. I find most blogs to be too self-centered (actually, most Facebook pages are simply blogs, as are Twitter accounts. As for finding anything on the Internet, search engines find webpages by the words on the pages and keywords. If any page of yours, whether the blog or otherwise has words on it that are searched, a keyword search will find it. Most blogs aren't worth finding. You are right about Facebook. I have been "required" to join many social networks. The only two that I belong to right now is AD and another defunct one that I never go to. My feeling is that many people who feel challenged about opening a website turn to something easy like Facebook as their "web presence." The current flurry over Facebook, Twitter,… etc. is primarily a fad and will probably diminish over time. Unfortunately, too many people display their vulnerabilities on the web and therefore come under attack by unscrupulous people who enjoy torturing others with words. I find it easy to put most of these bullies down. I often quote that Socrates thought that the youth of his day were going to hell when actually they probably did decline enough to be conquered by the Romans very easily. The youth of today do spend an inordinate amount of time associated with their devices and not interacting appropriately with others. But somehow, well-balanced individuals seem to reach adulthood and face our most severe problems with great skill and courage. But, as the psychiatrist, you have seen these problems more closely than I. Ron

I like gadgets and progress, but ... (Article) - 6/1/2015 3:28:30 AM
Interesting article. You make some valid points about technology, some I've thought about many times. I am a gadget person, also, and taught myself all the new tech and software, like you. Technology does have its place. I often wonder what would happen, though, to the younger generation and business world if somehow the entire "online" experience were taken away. People would not know how to communicate with each other, find each other, travel to a location. As an educator, I see this happening throughout society. Many will be lost and not know how to live.

Liberation or bondage (Article) - 2/19/2015 8:16:33 AM
You are in fine company, Audrey. Chris Hedges describes the porn industry as 'the way the end of the world looks' in a recent article and his section on the matter in "Empire of Illusion" is harrowing, a real life nightmare more to be classified as Torquemada torture than sexuality. It is the inevitable result of demonizing our fellow humans for trivialities. Once we start and justify a mote's worth of disdain, it cannot but end with shoving a two-by-four under their fingernails.

Liberation or bondage (Article) - 2/17/2015 6:38:29 AM
I agree with everything you say. I also have not read the book and have no desire to. I have read the Playboy Advisor for 46 years and thereby have learned about every deviant sexual behavior there is… Most very disturbing and anti-sexual if you ask me… Especially those involving pain and bondage as some sort of "loving" activity. As far as the movie goes, it has been described as, "Fifty Shades of Tame." In typical Hollywood fashion, knowing that the audience will include teenagers, the primary moviegoers out there, they have considerably reduced the visual sexuality of the movie, and thereby, are getting mixed reviews from those that read the book. I'm also told that the book is poorly written. I'm reminded of pulp fiction and B movies of my youth. I guess people are so bored today with the hectic way we live, that women, in particular, would find this kind of book and movie an escape from the humdrum. Ron

A few thoughts on Christmas (Article) - 11/6/2014 5:56:59 AM
Thank you very much for this timely reminder of the true meaning of Christmas. Customs may change and values/priorities may become skewed but, ultimately, your reflections show us that nothing is more important, nor gives deeper, truer happiness, than precious time spent with those with whom we share the bonds of love.

A few thoughts on Christmas (Article) - 11/5/2014 7:50:29 AM
I agree with you and couldn't help noticing the slight differences that cultures have imposed on Christmas rituals. As cultural behavior changes with time, so does the nature of Christmas. Americans, in particular, place delight on material things. Probably, because parents shower young children with gifts at a very early age, making them think that gifts represent affection and love. Commercial interests have picked up on this and make sure that they provide doting parents (and grandparents) with many products that they can purchase to delight young children and get them hooked on "receiving presents." Unfortunately, the whole thing got started with the biblical story of baby Jesus receiving "gifts" from the three wise men. I think the time off from work and the gathering of families is probably the most important aspect of Christmas. Unfortunately, many families find that being close together for even a few days results in many quarrels. Ron

Elderly Surfers (Article) - 1/17/2014 7:41:52 AM
I found your article quite difficult to read because there were no paragraphs. I use "Paste and Match Style" to preserve my paragraphs in Safari. Your browser may have a similar paste option allowing the original format to be preserved in the AD editor. It's an old story that the youth are going to hell. Apparently, Socrates complained about Greek youth in his time. That's probably why they were conquered by the Romans. I do recall in my time that rock 'n roll was going to corrupt us all and that people were very concerned about "free love" and kids running off to join the hippie movement and become radicalized concerning civil rights for people who didn't deserve it and should keep their "place." I recall my great uncle's response when I brought my black girlfriend by to see him. Still, I share some of your concerns about cell phones, tattoos, responsibility, and maturation. Fortunately, none of my nieces and nephews seem to be affected by these problems and are moving into responsible positions in society without going through some of the phases I see in many young people. On the other hand, there are serious things going on with regard to our earth and human welfare like overpopulation that need to be addressed. Elders like you and I need to help younger people become interested in these serious problems because only they can solve them. You seem to dwell on the turmoil of Great Depression and great wars that forced young people in the last century to suffer unnecessarily and grow up too soon. I'm just beginning to realize the dysfunction caused by so many World War II vets who came home to the United States destroyed by war. We can do without that kind of maturation. Ron

Something is 'not quite right' (Article) - 1/6/2014 2:01:55 PM
Deeply wise, as always. I hope all parents will heed your shrewd advice for the sake of their children's safety and well-being.

A few reflections for the New Year 2014 (Article) - 1/5/2014 9:27:59 AM
Well thought out and well expressed. I must say that some of the conditions that you described have always been with us and are somewhat less today than they were in the past when they were either unknown or known but not revealed unlike today's Internet does on a daily basis. In fact, several studies have shown that 2013 was the best year ever in all areas of life. I would add one aspect and that is food. Access to food is related to wealth. Much of the wealth of the world has always been held by the very rich, but, in the United States there is a rapid escalation of wealth from the people to the very rich leading to more and more poverty resulting in many of the ills you describe, including hunger. It is a two-edged sword, however. Our modern food supply chain has resulted in increased obesity, leading to many health problems in countries with very little hunger like the United States and Australia and some with a lot of hunger, like Guatemala (source: the latest National Geographic). Worldwide obesity is a serious health problem that starts in childhood and ends with serious illnesses in middle-age. Ron

Why are our children and teenagers not protected (Article) - 5/11/2013 4:50:01 PM
Ronald makes a valid point. Also, I think that much of the issue with sex we have arises from decades of sexual repression and the pretense of perfection in the idealized social constructs of our time. Now the lid is off and the variety of fantasy and desire that exists in all of us is visible to all, many people are shocked, which is deeply ironic as those most shocked may well harbor the darkest fantasies. As Ron implicitly states, violence is much more harmful.

Why are our children and teenagers not protected (Article) - 5/11/2013 10:55:34 AM
I only have one question? Why is it that people unclothed or having sex is so bad when the hit movies are all about violence that is so unrealistic? The self-righteous have always sent their young people off to horrific war with prayers. It is time the self-righteous put their thinking caps on rather than following the herd. Ron

From which perspective (Article) - 8/14/2011 1:58:05 AM
A brilliant analysis of the recent dreadful happenings across Britain and of the hypocrisy with which these are being managed by politicians. I hope your views are brought to the attention of those in power - they have some serious learning to do.

From which perspective (Article) - 8/13/2011 6:30:16 AM
Audrey, I had to force my self to have read it all, but I just couldn't stop until I finshed it. I'll say this quick you should be in parliament giving them advice. The truth is the truth and you've rightly touched on every bit of it. Nonetheless, sin is the cause of all wrong, in which case, everyone needs to repent and seek God for leadership. As for my opinion, God's way is the only way out of these nowadays crisis. God bless!

What ultimate value has having a lot of money? (Article) - 2/13/2011 8:02:59 PM
Answer: It Is (Your) FATE... Whether You Or Whomever... TRASK...

Dementia (Poetry) - 8/3/2015 8:05:54 AM
Touching write and I love love love the mathematical structure of it all!!! (wink!) Love ya! Jane

Dementia (Poetry) - 8/3/2015 4:31:33 AM
I fear I'm headed in that direction faster than I would like. If at all possible I don't think I will allow it to become full bloom.

'The real me' (Poetry) - 7/22/2015 11:37:34 AM
This really hits the nail on the head for me. It's beautifully written. H.D Rose

'The real me' (Poetry) - 7/2/2015 3:42:43 PM
I understand this poem. Thank you. Love ya! Jane

'The real me' (Poetry) - 6/22/2015 11:02:30 PM
It's never too late to see the real you, Audrey. This poem proves my point. Beautifully written. John

'The real me' (Poetry) - 6/17/2015 7:44:55 AM
Sad, but so true love those abused. Thank you for your insight. Ron

'The real me' (Poetry) - 6/17/2015 7:19:18 AM
You have never been more real than you are now, Audrey ... just different and right on time.

'The real me' (Poetry) - 6/17/2015 6:12:11 AM
insightful stuff which touches me on my bones. . . I thank you, Audrey

'The real me' (Poetry) - 6/17/2015 4:22:24 AM
Sad, but all too real, I did not have such a wonderful childhood myself.

Facing the fuure (Poetry) - 6/9/2015 6:14:44 PM
As a psych nurse I find those without hope are those I worry the most about, it is hope that allows us to carry on, hope and the three human traits of courage, patience, humor help us survive when all else fails us. Lovely words laced with considerable wisdom!

Facing the fuure (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 9:08:45 AM
Loving your wordplay!

Facing the fuure (Poetry) - 1/24/2015 5:32:59 AM
Love it! Getting older, we do get wiser and also tired of the daily challenges. Love your last line, because as long as you are writing and posting, it's true. "you will not walk alone." Eileen

Facing the fuure (Poetry) - 1/22/2015 6:57:03 AM
Beautifully conceived, brilliantly stated. It flows with grace and is wrapped in wisdom.

Facing the fuure (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 10:25:10 AM
You are certainly not alone. You go softly with your thoughts as companions. Ron

Facing the fuure (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 5:36:57 AM
Absolutely not - you never will! Beautiful, inspiring poem; thank you. Melanie

Facing the fuure (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 5:12:44 AM
Interesting play on words here, Aubrey. I liked the defeatism of Patience and Courage. Leave it to humour to set the record straight, and in so doing Patience and Courage took a deep breath and began to strengthen. But what really made the poem special was the last line. You backed up and did not scream your faith, you allowed it to gently remind you lest you had forgotten. Very effective.

'Armchair advice' from 'Glimpses' (Poetry) - 12/13/2014 11:00:06 AM
I like a good poem with a lot of good advice built-in. I watch a lot of shows on the home channel. I'm really disgusted when stupid people tear out beautiful architectural elements in older homes to replace them with their idea of the "latest" fad. My mother detested our home with all oak floors. And you are absolutely right about peoples' obsession with marble countertops and stainless steel appliances even when they don't even cook anymore and just to go out to eat every night. What a waste of resources on spur of the moment decisions! No wonder so many people are house and car poor. Ron

'Armchair advice' from 'Glimpses' (Poetry) - 12/11/2014 4:44:34 AM
I thought you were going to come up with a surprise ending. That you told yourself not to get it, but you got it any how!

Favourite foods (Poetry) - 11/8/2014 9:05:05 AM
Reads like a very slim, trim diet to me. I've done likewise. Sure helps keep away the pills and hospital bills as we get older. Ron

Loss of parents (Poetry) - 10/20/2014 4:40:09 PM
Beautiful and so similar to my experience. My father fought like the soldier he was, and my mother and my step-dad reassured us that life would go on and we would be fine. This is a lovely poem. I will treasure it.

A remembered voice (Poetry) - 9/11/2014 7:58:53 AM
Rather enigmatic and enjoyable poem. Indeed, we can't turn the ole clock back, but we can rewind the clock.

A remembered voice (Poetry) - 9/6/2014 7:34:15 AM
I'm very impressed -- loved the musical references. Duke

A remembered voice (Poetry) - 8/14/2014 1:37:17 PM
enjoyed the logic, theme and meter ...

A remembered voice (Poetry) - 8/13/2014 9:16:22 PM
enjoyed the read, keep writing!! m

A remembered voice (Poetry) - 8/13/2014 2:41:38 PM
these words were so wonderfully crafted and I bet felt by all who read

A remembered voice (Poetry) - 8/12/2014 6:24:57 AM
That's wonderful and so clear and beautifully written. Makes me wonder what the song was. I can identify greatly. Yesterday a song popped into my head, so I sang the first four lines to my partner. She liked it very much. So I quickly wrote down the words, hoping I can remember the melody when I finish the song and post it as my poem this week on Saturday. Thinking that I was just remembering a song by Elton John or Barry Manilow, I checked their songs and found that the one I thought of was significantly different so I'm quite happy to present it as my own and not as something that popped into my head like popular songs sometimes do. Ron

A remembered voice (Poetry) - 8/12/2014 4:33:18 AM
very well penned

A remembered voice (Poetry) - 8/12/2014 4:05:30 AM
This reminds me of an episode of the Twilight Zone in which Elvis Presley's twin soul came to Elvis to give him advice on the songs and music that he needs to play to succeed. His twin soul came to Elvis from the future and he knew exactly what Elvis must do to be the future Elvis. Elvis took his twinn soul's advice and made musical break through to rock the world! Sandie

A 'wow' moment (Poetry) - 5/16/2014 11:23:47 PM
wow.. beautiful poetry

A 'wow' moment (Poetry) - 5/16/2014 9:15:28 AM
Yes, things people call miracles happen to us all the time. When they do, we should rejoice because age pulls us the other way. So when we regain what we thought was lost and we should shout, "Wow!" Ron

A 'wow' moment (Poetry) - 5/16/2014 5:54:23 AM
WOW! A very good and inspiring poem. Michael D.

A 'wow' moment (Poetry) - 5/16/2014 5:32:14 AM
How wonderful and uplifting! I hope it gets better and continues to 'wow' you... You are obviously doing things the right way.. Onwards and upwards! Hugs, Diana...

A 'wow' moment (Poetry) - 5/16/2014 3:40:33 AM
This is really good and inspiring. We should all have some "Wow" moments from time to time in our lives. Thanks Audrey!!! Sandie

Gradual goodbye (Poetry) - 5/7/2014 11:21:58 AM
So sadly poignant and beautifully written. Ron

Gradual goodbye (Poetry) - 5/5/2014 6:01:54 AM
Simply beautiful. Michael D.

Gradual goodbye (Poetry) - 5/5/2014 4:39:39 AM
Tearful, joyous, and glorious!

Gradual goodbye (Poetry) - 5/5/2014 4:05:38 AM
captivating lines, i thoroughly enjoyed your poetry.

Gradual goodbye (Poetry) - 5/5/2014 2:31:53 AM
Absolutely beautiful, touching and so well written... A wonderful tribute to your dear Mum.... So happy the ending was joyful.... My thoughts are with you.... Hugs, Diana....

A 'black hole' (Poetry) - 4/3/2014 9:47:15 AM
The first things that disappear are names, followed closely by objects, and then when what we are. I certainly had a few chuckles as I read your inspired revelation about your universe being inhabited by one of those pesky critters from outer space. Ron

A 'black hole' (Poetry) - 4/2/2014 6:59:06 AM
I.ve searched for thins that disappeared, I've even went through the trash. Where did it go? It was just here, then gone in a flash. A very fun read that we all can relate to. Michael D.

A 'black hole' (Poetry) - 4/2/2014 12:46:18 AM
Fun to read..! In my child's book many years ago...I remember reading a poem where things were always going missing and the guilt was assigned to 'Mr Somebody'...ie ' Somebody's' moved my jumper... etc... I wonder where the items have gone? If it's any consolation..same things happen to me too! Best wishes with your new book... Diana...

A poem for many (Poetry) - 1/12/2014 7:31:43 PM
I enjoyed reading your well-written poem today.

A poem for many (Poetry) - 1/11/2014 11:39:32 AM
Hope says you CAN reach them... Wishing you a year of Hope and accomplishment.. Best wishes, Diana...

A poem for many (Poetry) - 12/30/2013 3:29:33 AM
they are budd

Haunting - glimpses of diverse children's lives (Poetry) - 12/21/2013 4:49:39 AM
Haunting indeed and so desperately sad. Well penned.

Letter to Mrs Mouse from 'Growing Up' (Poetry) - 12/12/2013 2:08:31 PM
cute write...a chuckler for sure

A brother is lost - from 'Poems in times of grief' (Poetry) - 12/5/2013 5:43:30 PM
I really love this. My aunt lost her husband 2 years ago, yeah, its hard on her. Especially during the holidays. And a cousin lost her husband. I will have to forward these on to them. Thank you for sharing these.

Haunting - glimpses of diverse children's lives (Poetry) - 12/5/2013 4:16:50 AM
haunting is the perfect word for this write budd

A Mistake? (Poetry) - 11/18/2013 9:59:18 AM
well-written and bittersweet. bless you

A Mistake? (Poetry) - 10/25/2013 9:34:23 PM
God has a plan for you Audrey and it's certainly not for you to focus on your pain. Gather what strength you have and help others in need and your pain will still be there but it will seem much more tolerable. These are not my words but words from a friend. I pray that you fell better soon. Peace, love and blessings, John Michael

A Mistake? (Poetry) - 10/25/2013 2:09:56 AM
much meaning here for many budd

Vulnerability, from Kaleidoscope Book 2 (Poetry) - 5/12/2013 2:32:35 AM
good advise for those who are at risk budd

Vulnerability, from Kaleidoscope Book 2 (Poetry) - 5/11/2013 12:06:09 PM
Except for the repetition, I really like the idea of personifying nouns to get across the message. Very creative. Ron

I cannot bring you back - from 'Poems in times of grief' (Poetry) - 4/5/2013 11:58:06 AM
Just like the title, conveys a feeling of hope after grief. Ron

I cannot bring you back - from 'Poems in times of grief' (Poetry) - 4/4/2013 2:35:14 AM
such a beautiful write of an everlasting love budd

I cannot bring you back - from 'Poems in times of grief' (Poetry) - 4/3/2013 11:55:45 PM
That is very sad indeed/ lives of other people and out attachments and connections to them can really captivate us. This clearly shows we are more spirit than flesh. The food we eat or the cars we drive or clothing at the end of the day do not matter very much - what matters is our souls.

A wish is finally granted (Poetry) - 3/16/2013 10:18:39 AM
such an intimate lovely write this is

A wish is finally granted (Poetry) - 3/15/2013 9:28:50 AM
Life comes full circle and we get our wish. It's not what we planned but is what we get. I like the descriptive nature and tone of this poem. It tells a lot about life today when families are far apart because of opportunity and transportation. When we can no longer travel, we become isolated from all that activity we were so used to. My mother called a couple of days ago. I sensed she was lonely and just wanted to talk. After a few minutes on the phone, it was time for her lunch and she bid me goodbye. I don't think that I will see her again. She cried the last time I left her side over a year ago. Ron

A wish is finally granted (Poetry) - 3/15/2013 7:06:47 AM
so well written, such a wondeful write budd

A wish is finally granted (Poetry) - 3/15/2013 4:50:44 AM
this is such honest and intimate writing, Audrey, writing i can relate to completely and the overall impression is elegant simplicity. john

The hidden secret (Poetry) - 12/19/2012 5:02:25 AM
to travel so long in such pain and survive whole is a blessing from angels budd

Life carries on (Poetry) - 11/16/2012 12:00:44 PM
Well, it looks like you persevered through this one and were able to write eloquently about it. When that time comes, all we can say is we've done our best and now we must rest and let what we've done stand for who we are. Ron

Flowers in the rain (Poetry) - 10/21/2012 9:01:56 AM
I'm not sure most young people would get the metaphor. Ron

Flowers in the rain (Poetry) - 10/20/2012 5:04:36 PM
very excellently penned budd

Words of wisdom (Poetry) - 10/18/2012 8:12:41 AM
I was particularly taken by, “every word connects to another as we talk.” Yesterday, a woman I do not know called me up to talk. As we began to converse, she started talking. I wanted to respond to what she was saying, but could only do so by interrupting. Eventually, she just continued to talk, telling me all kinds of things I wasn't interested in about her life, her children, her cats and on and on and on without stopping or even taking a breath. Fortunately, after three hours of listening to her talk, she mercifully hit a button on her phone and disconnected us. Usually in a case like that, I call someone back. This time I didn't. I'm not looking forward to the next time she calls and follows one word with another. Ron

Defeating doubt (Poetry) - 10/4/2012 12:25:35 PM
With an attitude like that, I doubt that doubt will stay. Ron

Am I naughty? (Poetry) - 9/10/2012 10:02:55 AM
Good advice for the little bully. In my grade school days, I spent most of my time in the playground protecting the weaker kids from bullies and running from them rather than fighting them, myself. If the technique you subscribe in this poem works, more power to you. The only thing that worked back in the day was a good whipping from the bully's own father when he found out what his son was up to. Ron

Money matters (Poetry) - 7/17/2012 9:45:22 AM
You make a lot of good points here in a hard-hitting poem. There was inequality before there was money and money has made it easier for inequality to become more severe. The failures of communism and socialism have those that believe in capitalism (free enterprise for the rich only) saying that redistributing wealth amounts to rewarding failure and softening our ability to excel. There is no evidence that the rich (most of who gain their riches through inheritance or manipulating money and not producing a thing) are at the cutting edge of development. Conversely it is usually young people with no credit and no capital, with the next billion-dollar idea that the banks won't lend them money to pursue. Free enterprise does produce the best and causes the week to fail. However, free enterprise must be fair. Capitalism without restraint leads the same problem as communism without competition. Ron

Money matters (Poetry) - 7/16/2012 1:53:01 PM
It is so true... very nicely expressed, very emotional poem.Thanks for sharing. Mamta Sharma

After fifty years - from Kaleidoscope BOOK 2 (Poetry) - 6/22/2012 1:14:34 PM
Audrey, a wonderful tribute Budd

After fifty years - from Kaleidoscope BOOK 2 (Poetry) - 6/22/2012 6:44:38 AM
What a beautiful and charming way to express fifty years of marriage! It was a pleasure to read. So few now can claim been together that long. My parents had 62 years of dispute until they agreed on the terms of arguing. Somehow, they stayed together until my father's death three years ago. Ron

About Angels (Poetry) - 5/3/2012 12:02:20 PM
Every day Angels that help us when we are in need are the best kind. Fairy tale Angels never helped a soul. Ron

About Angels (Poetry) - 5/2/2012 12:56:53 PM
Beautifully crafted and endearing poem ~

Real but Mysterious, from Kaleidoscope BOOK 2 (Poetry) - 4/6/2012 9:17:09 AM
i often wondered if the healing hands are actually the catalyst doing the healing or are they like a placebo and the recipient isactually doing the healing ...

Real but Mysterious, from Kaleidoscope BOOK 2 (Poetry) - 4/6/2012 7:54:37 AM
I, too, have felt the power of the healing touch. Unfortunately, my pain returns as soon as the healing touch leaves and I am faced once again with the slings and arrows to which my tortured body is heir to. Ron

Real but Mysterious, from Kaleidoscope BOOK 2 (Poetry) - 4/4/2012 3:29:03 PM
I have known only one person who had this gift of healing. And still there were always those questions.... thank you for sharing this... In Spirit, Bear

Real but Mysterious, from Kaleidoscope BOOK 2 (Poetry) - 4/4/2012 10:55:25 AM
The gift of Healing is wonderful, and helps so many...The questions you ask will be answered one day I'm sure...but for now all we can do is to get through life the best way we can, and pass on the message of what can be available to us all...An interesting questioning piece... Best wishes, Diana...

Inner friends (Poetry) - 12/8/2011 10:22:47 PM
I am at loss to describe my feelings. Your poem makes me feel that at any point in life, there is nothing lost as long we have hope, patience, courage and so on. A good read for all those in despair and pain. Thank you so much.

Consequences (Poetry) - 8/13/2011 9:09:29 PM
This should be given to every teenager. Like how you wrote this-not preachy, just stating the facts bluntly.

Recovery (Poetry) - 7/28/2011 7:36:41 AM
a difficult scenario presented quite skillfully ...

Recovery (Poetry) - 7/23/2011 2:30:23 AM
A powerful poem, Audrey. Best wishes.

Recovery (Poetry) - 7/23/2011 12:28:26 AM
There are many angels in our society that treat the sick, lonely and dying but there are not enough to go around and some fend for themselves and recover to become the angels of the future. To think less is to lose hope. George

The Gate from 'From Darkness to Light' (Poetry) - 6/13/2011 6:15:55 PM
Thank you for this write, Ms. Coatesworth! It touches me, for I am nearing that gate, and don't know how to rid of the trauma and grief. Thank you for sharing this... In Spirit, Bear

Death and Beyond (Poetry) - 6/8/2011 10:44:45 PM
Stunningly superb. You took me on a roller coaster of emotional images.

Death and Beyond (Poetry) - 6/8/2011 1:56:08 AM
A beautiful poem. As with all great writing, one can find personal and universal truth here. Thank you.

I predict - a message of hope (Poetry) - 4/28/2011 4:33:32 PM
It sounds very much like you are describing the 1,000 year reign of Jesus Christ on the earth (following the 7-year Tribulation Period)that is described in the Bible. There will be no peace without God. "Children will walk safely in days, clear and bright Abusers writhe in agony As a child's darkness turns to light. --- Beautiful! Connie

Growing old gracefully from 'Daily Life' (Poetry) - 4/19/2011 3:15:42 AM
Thanks for sharing these beautiful thoughts- as a garden fragrance blesses those next door. John

Growing old gracefully from 'Daily Life' (Poetry) - 4/19/2011 2:42:22 AM
Being one of those very old folks you do have to spend time each day in reflection and then do something creative. Nice reflective poem. Grorge

Growing old gracefully from 'Daily Life' (Poetry) - 4/19/2011 2:09:14 AM
its so beautiful, the hard truth of life when met gracefully..enjoys. Nice write. Enjoyed it. Neerja

Constant Reminder from 'From Darkness to Light' (Poetry) - 4/11/2011 8:23:57 AM
Beautiful thoughts- I can relate to loss and the feelings expressed here all too well. Well done. John

Endless (Poetry) - 4/5/2011 1:38:38 AM
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Endless (Poetry) - 3/31/2011 3:21:36 AM
I can feel healing hope in these words. Beautiful- well done. John

Endless (Poetry) - 3/31/2011 3:14:05 AM
well written. This could very well be the perfectly moderated pick-me-up for someone suffering from clinical depression.

A Child in dire need (Poetry) - 3/30/2011 3:04:11 AM
This is the most beautiful and heart-rending poem. Good there is some hope at the end as children should not have to suffer like this in the first place.

Aspirations from 'Choice for Teenagers' (Poetry) - 3/28/2011 7:45:13 AM
Nicely written and a message we should all strive to follow. Donna

Patience from 'Daily Life' (Poetry) - 3/21/2011 2:55:07 PM
Well done, thank you for sharing In Christs Love Michelle~

Absent Companion from 'A Spiritual Journey' (Poetry) - 3/21/2011 3:01:39 AM
Like a beautiful dream. I found this very special. John

The Order of the Universe (Poetry) - 3/10/2011 6:55:05 PM
I Always Write: The Universe Is Never Ending Sewer And It Ends On Planet Earth... Credit For Illuminating Write... TRASK

The Order of the Universe (Poetry) - 3/10/2011 4:20:45 AM
I shall try to play my part To make this dream come true But finally it will depend On you, and you, and you Love these lines- and do my best too. Thanks for sharing. John

The Resurrection (Poetry) - 3/9/2011 7:43:40 PM
Nuns taught me Jesus was sacrificed by his father to take away "Orignal Sin" in order for all newborn to be born free of sin. Interesting and religiously motivating piece... Be always safe, Karen

The Resurrection (Poetry) - 3/9/2011 3:31:29 AM
Very well done. I thoroughly believe the reality surrounding Jesus was akin to my thoughts in my blog, "Observance of Easter." The death of a loved one puts the spot light on their life- which allows us to see it for the first time- and just maybe- get what it is all about. Far different than the issue driven covers of religion. John

In an eyelid's blink (Poetry) - 3/7/2011 12:52:39 PM
You've done excellent writing in sharing your questions and feelings after your mother's stroke. I felt sadness and compassion as I read. Blessings, Connie

A Child's Sadness from 'Coping with Illness and Grief' (Poetry) - 3/5/2011 12:12:26 PM
beautiful poem. may happiness fall upon this poor child.

A Child's Sadness from 'Coping with Illness and Grief' (Poetry) - 3/3/2011 6:40:12 PM
You pearce the heart with this piece. We often forget that children hear and see, but to verbalize at a young age can be difficult. Comfort, hugs, understanding, and love sometimes says more. Beautiful and heartfelt... Be always safe, Karen

Curtain of Memory (Poetry) - 2/24/2011 5:06:13 AM
Well done. May we all move forward- and stay in warm light places. John

Asthma attack (Poetry) - 2/10/2011 7:24:19 AM
My sister had asthma attacks often. It was almost as scary for those of us standing by not knowing how to help as it was for her. Your descriptive poem is 'right on'. The last two lines, "I tried so hard, I hoped to win, but I was just not strong enough today!' really hit home for me. Thank you for sharing this, Donna

The Leaving (Poetry) - 2/9/2011 5:47:55 PM
Sensitive fine writing, Audrey, i can identify with well. John

The Leaving (Poetry) - 2/9/2011 7:15:12 AM
this was so wonderfully written. The emotion and sequence of loss...a word that I have known so well. Blessings Allen

The Leaving (Poetry) - 2/9/2011 4:59:05 AM
This poem of loss is so meaningful, just so authentic and beautiful Audrey ~ Christine

The Leaving (Poetry) - 2/9/2011 4:28:55 AM
This a beautiful tribute to your loved one Audrey. It reminds me of when my own mother . Love to you and yours, Mary

Who will look after you? (Poetry) - 1/27/2011 11:34:24 AM
A powerful message written in a style accessible to teenagers."Your life, your choice" has been used successfully in poster campaigns and will hopefully have a familiarity and resonate with the reader.

Who will look after you? (Poetry) - 1/27/2011 6:54:53 AM
Audrey, I admire you for your dedication to the teenagers. Unfortunately, most teens think they know all the answers and won't listen. If you can get through to one teenager than your fight is not in vain. God bless you for your work. Many blessings, ~Linda

Send a smile from 'Poems for 3-7 years' (Poetry) - 1/26/2011 12:30:38 PM
This is a beautiful,full of feeling poem and it is so good to receive a smile!

'Things that cannot be bought' , from 'Choice for Teenagers' (Poetry) - 1/26/2011 12:27:45 PM
I absolutely love this poem and the message stays with me long after I read the poem.Thankyou for posting it on this site.

Return to Jerusalem (Poetry) - 1/16/2011 10:08:53 PM
strange how the epicenter of religious birth is engaged in some much travesty and death ,,,, my son's visiting there as i write ...

Dogs and Horses (Poetry) - 1/13/2011 8:27:00 PM
Never could understand how one could be so cruel to another, but these are the same who are cruel to children too... Be always safe, Karen

Dogs and Horses (Poetry) - 1/13/2011 11:51:22 AM
Damn great write & read, it needs to be circulated amongst all pet owners & future pet owners...ed

Dogs and Horses (Poetry) - 1/13/2011 11:37:16 AM
this is absolutely marvelous...should be a required read at every pet adoption center...posted in vet's clinics and in each individual stall of every stable owner. i for sure will be passing this on...and on...and on kudos to you audrey

Frozen in Time (Poetry) - 1/12/2011 5:10:13 AM
Really well structured poem. Is it as autobiographical as most advise is?

Frozen in Time (Poetry) - 1/11/2011 9:04:57 PM
How well you cover those points that seem to covet the young with advice in hand... Be always safe, Karen

Frozen in Time (Poetry) - 1/11/2011 9:54:10 AM
very nice audrey...i should think many young people would take this message to heart

Christmas night (Poetry) - 12/24/2010 12:47:16 PM
GREAT WRITE.

Christmas night (Poetry) - 12/24/2010 12:12:39 PM
Very well expressed. I love it.

Flowers in the rain, by Audrey Coatesworth (Poetry) - 12/22/2010 8:48:31 AM
Audrey, A very educational piece about the use of drugs. Mary

A Perfect World, from 'Growing Up' (Poetry) - 12/18/2010 12:11:11 PM
WOW - Great poem and well written

Letter to Mrs Mouse from 'Growing Up' (Poetry) - 12/10/2010 1:45:30 PM
super clever. ~ Morgan

Letter to Mrs Mouse from 'Growing Up' (Poetry) - 12/10/2010 11:49:48 AM
Such clever work! Best Wishes, Christine

Letter to Mrs Mouse from 'Growing Up' (Poetry) - 12/10/2010 11:42:06 AM
Having read the poem Audrey, I visited your children's website and really liked it. I share your vision of supporting children's practice and understanding of morality, this is what makes them happy and will make the world a brighter place. Great contribution! Be well and happy! Linden

Letter to Mrs Mouse from 'Growing Up' (Poetry) - 12/10/2010 11:30:59 AM
I had a pet Rat once called 'Pee-Pooh' (true)funny critters they. So I loved the bounce of this crazy poem/song. I'ts great to read. I'll make up my own humm.....humm.....hum...hummmmmmmmmmm.

The Christmas Story, from Choice for Teenagers (Poetry) - 12/2/2010 9:18:49 PM
Interesting perspective... Be always safe, Karen

The Robot - from 'Poems for 3-7 years' (Poetry) - 12/1/2010 8:25:20 AM
Very whimsical and what a wonderful, accessible touch. You've got me wanting to read more, and share it with the children. Best Wishes, Christine

Forgive me if I doubt (Poetry) - 11/29/2010 9:30:37 PM
Spirituality rings clear through your heart and soul. It is okay to doubt, to question as long as growth is part of the equation, nice writing... Be always safe, Karen

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.