AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Catriona King, iMyles Saulibio, iNancy Jardine, iRichard Sharp, iLinda Alexander, iDave Brooks, iSandy Lender, i
 
Home > J.A. Terry
 

Recent Reviews for J.A. Terry


Witches, Witches Everywhere... (Short Story) - 10/26/2006 6:16:03 PM
Wonderful fictional, or should I say real, account of the witchcraft trials. Your explanations of the girls' thought processes at the time hit the nail on the head. Everybody must have been paranoid. Thanks for this. Brett

Witches, Witches Everywhere... (Short Story) - 10/26/2006 4:54:51 PM
Liked it; very well done~ (((HUGS))) and much love, your Tx. friend, Karen Lynn. :D

Writing Prompt (Short Story) - 10/20/2006 1:07:17 AM
This is a great write here Jill, I enjoyed God Bless Michelle~

Writing Prompt: Journal Entry (Short Story) - 10/20/2006 1:05:54 AM
This is great Jill, from the beginning to the end, you had me drawn in God Bless Michelle~

Labyrinth of Emotion (Short Story) - 6/23/2006 9:37:46 PM
very good,but you know this!

Labyrinth of Emotion (Short Story) - 5/3/2006 7:34:06 PM
Wonderful inspirational write, Jill! God bless, Sandie.

Labyrinth of Emotion (Short Story) - 4/30/2006 12:00:46 AM
A deeply spiritual journey. Entertaining and deep. The only suggestion I can make for improvement would be to cut back strongly on the sense of a narrator talking about the woman and her feelings (narrative intrusion), and get the reader into her head more for a more intimate POV (point of view). This will bond the readers more strongly to the character and make them care more about her journey. All other elements were strong, powerful, and absorbing.

Labyrinth of Emotion (Short Story) - 4/25/2006 9:55:09 AM
Jill Sparkling spirituality is always the best Well crafted prose Peter

Weapons of Mass Poetry (Article) - 5/13/2006 11:47:26 AM
I did not realize the importance of poetry to the Yemeni. I know that I should not be surprised, though. Poetry is powerful. Thank you for this article. Susan

How Kaavya Viswanathan Got Rich, Got Caught and Got Canned (Article) - 5/2/2006 4:57:22 PM
Jill You keep us informed of what is going on in that big bad world out here.. Way cool Peter

Writers Beware (Article) - 5/2/2006 1:49:45 PM
Jill You are to be applauded for this timely and much needed warning... Love and Peace Peter

Earth Day 2006 (Article) - 4/22/2006 1:58:39 PM
Thanks for the excellent information and wonderful article. Cynthia

Missing the Point (Article) - 5/18/2005 1:07:45 PM
Well, I don't do many book signings, due to health, but I have to say I sell books, and I enjoy hearing what my readers say at those booksignings. Booksignings are to meet the public and get yourself seen by that public, not necessarily to sell books. Personally, I think Radio and TV really is a place to concentrate publicity efforts, but you have to have a decent engaging personality to carry it thorugh and a good PR person to get it done. Attitude gets you nowhere. I agree, there are many writers groups that are a waste of time if all you are looking for is the social hour, and do nothing really to promote your work to those who will buy your books. I write intrigue, so I belong to Sisters in Crime and will be looking into other mystery/intrigue groups for opportunities with my next novel release. I look for writers groups that usually publish catalogs of their members releases, and that go out to bookstores for review and purchase. It's good marketing. Writing is a craft. What bugs me is when an author has one book out, then s/he starts giving writing classes. One book does not give one the credentials or the experience to give writing classes. One book means it was "dumb luck" and you still don't know what the hell you did right or wrong to get yourself published. It will take years and many books under your belt before you know what you are talking about...should anybody care to listen. It sounds as though you do not have a good overview of what "publicity" is all about ,and when you seek a professional, you are the one deciding what to do, and discounting the current marketplace professional's advice. Your expectations are either unrealistic, or so off base, you need to do some homework to get you where you think you should be and how to do it. Are you sure you aren't seeking out professional help just to prove them wrong? It is easy to get discouraged as a writer. You need a thick skin; if not, you wallow in your own misery, and it will show in your writing efforts, indeed, in everything you do. I hope you keep writing, and listen to those who have "been there and done that". ELizabeth

Erotica vs. Romance (Article) - 12/11/2004 6:39:14 AM
Hear hear! I personally avoid erotica. I agree with all that you've said and nothing further needs to be added. Thanks for the excellent article. Chanti

Erotica vs. Romance (Article) - 12/11/2004 5:34:28 AM
I write in a style I like to call, "real life" (read my post Waiting) and as in real life, sex is a part of life. In my opinion, a story should revolve around the characters in the book, not the amount of sex they have. I don't believe that sex should be the main character but, a part of the character. You make an interesting character, the reader is more likely to follow that character until the end of the book, with all his or her escapades and follies. Romance and erotica can cohabit peacefully in the same book, if done properly. Happy Writing, Jill! Debbie

An authors role in book promotion (Article) - 11/28/2004 6:20:49 PM
well done

Break in or break away...Traditional, POD, Small Press or Self Publishing...Any way you slice it, yo (Article) - 11/28/2004 6:19:41 PM
lots of good information

What Publishers Embrace vs. Creative Freedom (Article) - 11/28/2004 6:17:42 PM
enjoyed the read

What Publishers Embrace vs. Creative Freedom (Article) - 11/28/2004 4:13:17 AM
"Believing in yourself is the first step to being yourself." This is something I say to others all the time. Keep believing in yourself, Jill. Because someday, being yourself is exactly what they'll be looking for. Debbie

What Publishers Embrace vs. Creative Freedom (Article) - 11/27/2004 9:24:28 PM
Hello, And thanks also for this article. The light you shed on this subject is much appreciated. ShyPoet1 aka Jimmy L. Holder

What Publishers Embrace vs. Creative Freedom (Article) - 11/26/2004 8:27:22 PM
Oh, this is so like being in a support group! I feel validated when I hear others express my thoughts this way. We need to show those cookie-cutter publishers another way.

What Publishers Embrace vs. Creative Freedom (Article) - 11/26/2004 6:40:45 PM
I applaud this write! Thank you for reiterating what I need to hear on occasions, "Believe in your dreams and make them your reality." I am picking my head back up, eyes peering into the sky, donning my wings, pen and paper ready...and I begin to fly!

What Publishers Embrace vs. Creative Freedom (Article) - 11/25/2004 10:46:18 PM
Sage words of encouragement, thank you Jill! ~Z~

What Publishers Embrace vs. Creative Freedom (Article) - 11/25/2004 2:17:07 PM
This is a great write, ty for the information and encouragement provided here... God Bless Michelle~

What Publishers Embrace vs. Creative Freedom (Article) - 11/25/2004 11:25:10 AM
I agree with that and just recently when I sent in my second novel to be published it was sent back probably unread. So they were condescending and I threw that off. The book was read by others and so I just said okay try another one. Suppose Steven King had given up. Sometimes one has to remember to be true to themselves as your creation is unique as your child is.

Break in or break away...Traditional, POD, Small Press or Self Publishing...Any way you slice it, yo (Article) - 7/13/2004 1:41:46 PM
Jill, Thank you for an excellent article. Your title speaks volumes and the piece strengthens the issue. You are responsible for the success of your work. Go out and make it happen! Cynthia

Break in or break away...Traditional, POD, Small Press or Self Publishing...Any way you slice it, yo (Article) - 7/10/2004 9:13:10 AM
Having just returned from a one year hiatus in Japan, I don't have a printer on hand as yet but, if I did, this article is one I would certainly want to keep on file. [Reason being is that, since I did go the POD route with my first novel and had received a few good reviews from objective sources, I had been thinking of going the agent/publisher route with it. Appreciate your fresh insights in respect to that.] Anyway, best of luck in both your literary - as well as monetary - pursuits, Ms. Terry.

Phantom Lover (Poetry) - 9/13/2009 1:47:22 AM
Desires burning word by word until the smoke gets in your eyes calling for a tear of regret. Georg

Eternal (Poetry) - 3/6/2008 1:12:21 PM
I like this poem.. it says so much in so few words!

Phantom Lover (Poetry) - 1/3/2007 10:12:18 AM
Oh, my! What a perfectly tantalizing piece! I admired your ability to weave such passion into your work. Well done!

Phantom Lover (Poetry) - 12/1/2006 6:30:12 PM
oh, i do like the passion in this poem ... nice!

Phantom Lover (Poetry) - 11/28/2006 9:39:36 PM
What a wonderful place to be.

Phantom Lover (Poetry) - 11/27/2006 6:18:57 PM
I can relate so well. There are those who forever leave an imprint in our lives. I don't believe we ever lose this but experience enriches us in ways we can't imagine. Beautifully written. Chanti

We Each Hold the Key (Poetry) - 8/9/2006 5:31:10 PM
the power does move within us ... there are those who cannot venture through the portal of consciousness and then there are those move through its doors quite frequently ... they have not only found the key but are key keepers to the source of truth ... you expressed your theme with focus and insight ...

Eternal (Poetry) - 7/3/2006 4:11:24 PM
great job done, with such few words

Eternal (Poetry) - 6/29/2006 4:45:47 PM
The eye's always tell more than mere words ever can. In so few lines you've penned more thought than most can in volumes.

Eternal (Poetry) - 6/29/2006 3:56:11 PM
Splendid!

Eternal (Poetry) - 6/28/2006 7:06:48 PM
Wonderful, terse and subtle and eloquent.

Transition (Poetry) - 6/28/2006 1:31:08 PM
this is superb. Susan

Transition (Poetry) - 6/28/2006 1:13:50 PM
Well written and expressed fellow poet and very relative.

Chance Meeting (Poetry) - 6/25/2006 8:08:28 PM
Jill, in my opinion, I think this piece is a little too "wordy". I found myself tripping over certain lines and having to go back and read them twice or three times to understand their meaning. I'd also re-think your word choice in a few of your lines. Rule of thumb is: Select just the right word in just the right place.

Chance Meeting (Poetry) - 6/23/2006 9:36:08 PM
i like it!

Chance Meeting (Poetry) - 6/22/2006 5:48:12 PM
OH my how true. Statue counts for nowt, it really is the person, you sound one hellava babe....

For a Moment (Poetry) - 6/20/2006 7:19:08 AM
Nicely crafted, very nice.

For a Moment (Poetry) - 6/20/2006 3:55:27 AM
Wonderful metaphors of life... Waves meet dawn suddenly everything becomes bright plunges into the abyss swims to shore only to be touched once again... Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Esoteric (Poetry) - 5/1/2006 4:29:51 PM
Jill All is not as it seems..:) Potent and metaphysical write Blessings Peter

Esoteric (Poetry) - 2/27/2006 7:42:20 AM
Interesting piece. I will save it and re-read it often. Like the picture, too.

No Spoken Words (Poetry) - 4/25/2005 1:34:37 PM
Powerful stance. So few words, yet they impact.

Rekindled Memory (Poetry) - 4/25/2005 1:30:37 PM
A splendid write. Thanks for sharing this with us.

Rekindled Memory (Poetry) - 4/11/2005 3:39:30 PM
sweet and nostalgic, i enjoyed

Amour (Poetry) - 7/13/2004 8:11:35 PM
Dear Jill, How I understand these feelings so well. Exceptional!! Warm hugs Elga

Ask Alice (Poetry) - 7/3/2004 9:45:17 PM
Welcome to A.D. This is wonderful poetery very emotional...

Smelling the Wood (Poetry) - 6/27/2004 12:11:00 AM
if it was worth it, then you go as far as necessary to get it back...loved this short, tight piece of yours.

Smelling the Wood (Poetry) - 6/6/2004 11:36:28 AM
Excellent expression.

Anticipation (Poetry) - 6/6/2004 11:32:54 AM
Very nice piece. I like this, thank you.

Smelling the Wood (Poetry) - 5/28/2004 7:51:25 PM
Ashes 2 Ashes, a diamond poem from carbon memoirs. Scented with many lessons, blessin's 2 U Jill, cynth'ya lewis reed

Breathless (Poetry) - 3/31/2004 1:14:15 PM
its wonderful falling in love and Its written all over you your muse is very inspired indeed! - Donna

My Ray of Light (Poetry) - 3/31/2004 1:13:04 PM
this was a beautiful dedication to a man who lights your fire and your world. -Donna

Smelling the Wood (Poetry) - 3/31/2004 1:11:41 PM
I love the resonance you paint of smoldering passionate love very nice! Donna

Smelling the Wood (Poetry) - 3/28/2004 7:06:05 AM
Excellent visuals. "The wood smoke rekindles a memory of a fire that burned out of control... An embrace that was heated with passion... And a spark that lit your world " Peg

Smelling the Wood (Poetry) - 3/27/2004 7:36:45 PM
Words bringing to life a time and place.....truly lovely......ty, Dani BTW.....Love your profile picture.

My Ray of Light (Poetry) - 3/27/2004 2:48:15 PM
Jill - A 'Ray of Light" for all poets to see by - well-done! Robert

Breathless (Poetry) - 2/14/2004 5:55:37 AM
You certainly have the gift of being able to craft a poem which, in a minimum of words, conveys a maximum of feeling. The ability to generate in the reader emotions similar to those that you felt while writing the poem distinguishes the end result from mere cut-up prose. You are indeed a true poet.

My Ray of Light (Poetry) - 2/14/2004 5:44:12 AM
The emotional tone of this poem and its ability to create a relationship of understanding between reader and poet makes it a powerful piece of writing. Use of language appropriate to the theme and the poem's brevity are the tools by which you achieved the universality which, in my opinion, is the hallmark of all good poetry.

Wavering Waters (Poetry) - 2/1/2004 10:25:53 AM
Much said in this verse....Really nice...ty, Dani

My Ray of Light (Poetry) - 2/1/2004 10:24:43 AM
Really moving....Love the last two lines....ty, Dani

My Ray of Light (Poetry) - 2/1/2004 6:50:34 AM
well done! i like how you've expressed your emotional light, or lack of it ...

My Ray of Light (Poetry) - 2/1/2004 12:04:12 AM
Very nice.

Wavering Waters (Poetry) - 1/24/2004 8:50:29 PM
Very well written so enjoyable.

Wavering Waters (Poetry) - 1/24/2004 7:22:33 PM
Very beautiful verses!

Wavering Waters (Poetry) - 1/24/2004 8:51:28 AM
Lovely poem...nice work. jeanne

Wavering Waters (Poetry) - 1/24/2004 8:17:30 AM
Ver powerful poem, Jill. Well done!

Overwhelming (Poetry) - 1/11/2004 3:22:40 PM
I love the emotions felt in these verses. Excellent Peg

Overwhelming (Poetry) - 1/11/2004 2:21:49 PM
i don't know if i would consider it overwhelming or uplifting nice write, thanks, d.

Breathless (Poetry) - 12/23/2003 10:53:14 AM
You say so much with so little and that is real talent. God Bless you and Your Loved Ones Officer William Heffner Happy Holidays!

Return to Me (Poetry) - 12/16/2003 8:33:35 AM
A nice little poem. Very well written. Greetings. Goreja.com

No Spoken Words (Poetry) - 12/4/2003 7:52:39 PM
I couldn't have said it better myself. :0) Excellent! Evelyn.

Somewhere in Time (Poetry) - 12/4/2003 7:50:07 PM
This was beautiful also. And you are so welcome, Jill. :0) Evelyn.

Return to Me (Poetry) - 11/21/2003 5:02:40 PM
Very passionate. Nicely done!

No Spoken Words (Poetry) - 11/21/2003 4:28:40 PM
So much with so little. Excellent. Cynthia

Breathless (Poetry) - 11/21/2003 3:02:35 PM
This was beautiful. It reads like a card.

Return to Me (Poetry) - 11/21/2003 2:48:30 PM
good one

Breathless (Poetry) - 11/21/2003 2:47:42 PM
i like this

No Spoken Words (Poetry) - 11/21/2003 2:46:12 PM
well done

Return to Me (Poetry) - 11/21/2003 2:13:37 PM
Lovely write.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.