AuthorsDen.com  Join | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Derek Flower, iKH LeMoyne, iOralya Ueberroth, iAudrey Coatesworth, iTheodore Soderberg, iBeverly Mahone, iDiana Estill, i
 
Home > Lucille lucil95783@aol.com
 

Recent Reviews for Lucille lucil95783@aol.com


Journey from Shanghai (Book) - 2/1/2009 9:35:05 AM


Pastiche:Stories and Such (Book) - 1/9/2008 9:47:37 AM
Pastiche is a collection of stories, essays and poetry, not "action/thriller" as described. I will fix that when I find how to do it. What is true about Pastiche is that several of the stories and essays are award winners in literary reviews.

The Year of the Rat (Book) - 6/29/2001 7:20:52 PM
Intriguing premise coupled with an evocative, page turning plot ... Written in a masterful style. Bellucci's book is historical drama at its best! RD

A Man and His Dog (Short Story) - 5/22/2015 9:12:19 AM
Hello Ron, I lived 15 years in Rio de Janeiro and we had Jeff, our model for the poor dog in the story which, by the way, is a spinoff from "The Carioca Dobie Derby." Dobies were a new breed at the turn of the 20th century, a cross between Rottweilers and some other breed I forget. Rottweilers are normally aggressive. Jeff did his stuff for us at home and it didn't matter at all he couldn't cut it at the dog show. Ron, if you ever have an opportunity, would you review my books on amazon.com, bn.com or wherever? You are always so helpful when you respond to my stories here on authorsden.com. Thank you, as always, Lucille

A Man and His Dog (Short Story) - 5/22/2015 5:02:10 AM
A great story that has "true story" written all over it. While reading, I had the impression that the author had intimate knowledge of Doberman pinschers, dog shows, and Brazil. So I checked your bio and found that you had spent time in Brazil. I never appreciated the mutilation of Doberman's by cutting off their tails, trimming and splinting their ears to make them stand up, and, training them to attack. At one time when I lived in a wooded home with a deep valley between me and the house on the next street, to Dobermans at that house were constantly barking and breaking up the peacefulness of the place. However, in countries where there are very very rich and very very poor (the way the United States is becoming) dogs seem to be one way that the very very rich have found to help them protect their things and their loved ones from being kidnapped or harmed in a robbery. Very good writing. I can see why you are winning awards for your work. Ron

Mountain Man (Short Story) - 3/25/2015 1:23:37 PM
Thank you, Ron, as always. In any of my stories, and in the novels, any villain is named Joe, after my oldest brother, who is now off this earth, thank San Gennaro. He did many things to us but the last was seeing that my parents, sister and I had to leave China for Italy with $50 each. Years later, he came to see us in California and it did not take my mother long to tell him to stay away.

Mountain Man (Short Story) - 3/24/2015 5:35:06 AM
I really liked your story. Sibling rivalry and a nice little twist at the end. You seem to have much experience on this front. Brought back memories for me. My father at a party that I didn't attend because I was in graduate school in California, threw his younger brother, successful in business in Chicago, out of our house. They didn't speak to each other for years until their mother died and they buried the hatchet at her funeral. Another brother told me that it was what his mother had planned with her death, to get them back together. The last time I drove to San Francisco I took 70 because of the weather. It's a good thing because Donner Pass was closed. I have driven in those mountains in snow with and without chains. Through the many years I drove in winter time great distances alone to reach home for the holidays, I'll always worried about having a Stephen King Misery experience. Always kept a blanket in the car, just in case. Ron

Friends, Lines, and Sinkers (Short Story) - 8/30/2014 9:59:02 AM
Now that's a likely fish story! I particularly like the subtle sabotage at the end. I can relate to "knowing everything." One guy who ate lunch with me one day finally got irate and said, "Hull, is there any place you haven't been?" In that vein, when I worked at LenKurt GTE in San Carlos, we had one engineer from San Francisco, Paul Yee. While I had done some fishing in my life, I never discussed fishing with him, but I understand that he had won some Striper tournaments on weekends. Never fished for or caught one myself, so I can't brag about it. Ron

Tin Cans (Short Story) - 5/14/2014 6:44:53 AM
Nice little horrifying ending. For some reason, I was expecting that Matt was dead, but that he was breathing. Except for a couple of minor typos like everyday instead of every day, I can see why you won first prize in that story contest. Kudos for good writing. Ron

Menehunes of Hawaii (Short Story) - 1/31/2014 6:58:07 AM
A well told and Hawaiian legend I have not heard of before. Ron

Menehunes of Hawaii (Short Story) - 1/30/2014 7:24:14 PM
A well told tale! M.True

Menehunes of Hawaii (Short Story) - 1/30/2014 12:53:15 PM
wonderfuly told budd

Sufficient Unto the Day (Short Story) - 1/20/2014 2:40:19 PM
another foray into the world... great story! M.True

Him, Her, Us (Short Story) - 1/20/2014 2:25:38 PM
I'd say you were ahead of your times. Redbook - Cosmopolitan? M.True

Cicadas (Short Story) - 10/14/2013 5:08:20 AM
This moving story shows the uneasy relationship between an ex pat family and the locals. Prior to the Japanese invasion Hugh, Sybil and their daughters enjoyed a comfortable life by remaining aloof from the natives and socialising with fellow ex pats. With the upheaval, poverty comes nearer and is visible from their windows, particularly in the shape of a woman and boy camped outside their garden railing. Sybil is uneasy with this but can't close her eyes as Hugh recommends and eventually sends some food and clothing via one of there three servants. She seems to establish a connection with the boy. Her conscience is troubled. She settles for giving aid but keeping the dirty repulsive creatures outside her property. She realises that her charity had met its own ignoble limits. The atmosphere of Shanghai is vividly conveyed. There is a universal theme of the well to do living with he deprivation of the masses. The story is told from Sybil's perspective and is a very believable tale of how she copes with her troubled conscience and her prejudices. Like all good stories it is as relevant today as in 1937.

Cicadas (Short Story) - 6/24/2013 3:35:02 PM
A very telling story. Having seen some of the orient during two tours in the Navy, Viet Nam era, my perspective and life changed forever. We, (Americans) are not "better than", we simply got lucky enough to live in a society where the standard of living is, at least for the present, a bit higher than most of the rest of the world. However, as in all things, this is subject to change. Charity is important but empathy does the greater good.

Salmon and Bullheads (Short Story) - 6/18/2013 11:46:39 AM
Very well written. You have an obvious flair for story telling - one even a fisherman could envy! M.True

Fishbone Confessions (Short Story) - 6/18/2013 11:32:53 AM
My first reading of your work. Very impressed. A touch of Hemingway in your personalized accounting of events. Simple yet elegant. M.True

Salmon and Bullheads (Short Story) - 5/13/2013 6:22:25 AM
This story is so real it must be real. I lived in the Bay Area only three years. A friend of mine, a German girl married to an American art student that I talk to drive, invited me to a party at their apartment in San Francisco. As part of the party buffet she had purchased a small piece of smoked salmon. Before the party started, Geislia said, “Ron, take a piece of salmon for the other guests get it.” Even though I had caught a lot of freshwater fish including a musky when I was 13, I had never tasted salmon before. Lately, my helper has been feeding me broiled salmon about once a week. I really enjoy it. I caught quite a few bullheads in my time, but never ate any and don't like catfish either. The only time I went sea fishing off the coast of Pompano Beach, I couldn't fish because of my hands and got terribly seasick as the boat bounced up and down while my cousin and his wife caught several fish to broil that evening. Ron

Salmon and Bullheads (Short Story) - 5/12/2013 4:38:51 PM
the best partner one can have budd

Him, Her, Us (Short Story) - 4/8/2013 10:42:52 AM
i like this it's a perfect plan budd

Singles Heaven (Short Story) - 3/3/2013 3:25:06 PM
Good stuff!

Singles Heaven (Short Story) - 2/20/2013 10:52:32 AM
quite an interesting depiction budd

Sufficient Unto the Day (Short Story) - 10/6/2012 7:32:24 AM
Aging as a team -- very well written and true to life. Donna

Flying Down to Rio (Short Story) - 12/13/2009 3:00:56 PM
This is a great piece, even without ppg breaks, I loved it! I look forward to checking out more of your work. Best, Jen

The Country Squire (Short Story) - 9/29/2008 11:32:51 AM
"-came with a dog." Shouldn't all of our "places" come with a dog, eh? Keep up the good work, Lucille. Jim

Night Calls (Short Story) - 6/30/2007 9:17:20 AM
Congratulations on your published story Lucille! Chrissy

The Crab Season (Short Story) - 5/25/2007 4:14:16 PM
Well, I'm off to the, Crab Shack Restaurant down the street….you made me hungry, Great descriptive! I could see the mounds of shells, and practically taste to the crab.

The Carioca Dobie Derby (Article) - 4/25/2015 8:17:13 AM
Yes, it came as a shock to us. Dogs are still being bred to attack and kill; the only legitimate use for that is theK-9 Corps. Service dogs are good soldiers overseas as well. Yet Jeff did his job to protect us at home. I wonder if they still hold that kind of dog show in Rio. I recently sold a spinoff of Carioca Dobie Derby titled "A Man and His Dog" which I will soon post here.

The Carioca Dobie Derby (Article) - 4/25/2015 7:43:15 AM
An interesting story. But it's sad to think that in this world we have to revert to dogs for protection. I understand the need in a primitive world. But in our world from I gathered from your story, service dogs sometimes suffer under cruel ownership. Ron

Mojo's Way (Article) - 2/12/2015 8:29:50 AM
An extremely well-written story. It is obvious that you have a great love for your two "children." Ron

Playing With The Telephone (Article) - 4/2/2014 12:20:51 PM
Thoroughly enjoyable and funny. I've known some people (all women) who have a very childish voice. I can see why you got such a reaction. A few comments on what you commented on: I am appalled that peoples' understanding of geography. There's a lot of people here in the United States who don't know that Paraguay exists. Lately, I've been getting these phone calls where people start reading from a script and it takes them at least five minutes to stop and take a breath, even though their barking up the wrong tree 90% of the time. I have to feel sorry for them, because for what they're paid, they don't deserve the insults that I throw at them for interrupting my day and not allowing me to get a word in edgewise. I especially like the comment from the third-grader about you having a hard time learning things in the fourth grade… Chuckle. I'm so grateful for Google because it now replaces those phone calls, my encyclopedia, and calls to the friendly librarian who can't seem to find a resource for what I'm looking for. My dad was a Teamster for 40 years before retirement. He routinely resisted job offers as a foreman or manager because he wanted the Teamster pension, whittled away by skimming, and growing in Las Vegas. It served him well for 25 years of golfing retirement. I didn't check with Google, but aren't anchovies just the name of the sardines or herring that that they put on pizza? Finally, I happened to visit my friends in the Bay Area the week after (postponed the week before because my girlfriend wouldn't go and I finally had to go alone) the Loma Prieta earthquake. I was sitting in the kitchen in Redwood City talking to my girlfriend's mother in San Francisco, when the dog began to whimper and she told me that she had just experienced an aftershock. I didn't feel a thing, but it was 4.5. When I was younger back in 1967-68, I remember two or three nice ones. Keep showing us how to write. I love good humor. Ron

Encounters with certain Brazilian fruits (Article) - 11/11/2013 8:09:24 AM
My favorite is the Brazil nut. I didn't know, but learned recently that the tree for the Brazil nut drops a heavy capsule that is only opened by a small animal (maybe a bird, I can't remember) so that the nut, or seed could germinate creating another tree. Ron

Rainy Night in Georgia (Article) - 11/6/2013 7:10:25 PM
Ain't traveling a gas, though? I see you understand perfectly what it takes. Oh! for the carefree youth of non-attachment to objects or need of them. Which brings me to Lee Child's character in his novels, Jack Reacher, who hitchhikes around America carrying nothing but his toothbrush in a pocket (and this brings to mind that old saw about Benjamin Franklin carrying all his clothes in his pocket). Jack's aversion to luggage is fine with me, but it bothers me severely that there is never mention of his laundering his underwear at night wherever he stops. Thanks, Ronald, for your kind words. Do read my novels, then.

Rainy Night in Georgia (Article) - 11/6/2013 7:53:10 AM
Thoroughly enjoyable! Your writing talents are obvious and your novels must be wonderful. From the time I left home at 18, I never made a checklist, and seemed to be able to travel like flipping a switch and then leave for a weekend, a week, or a month without worry. Oh, things happened, like coming back to find a pile of ashes near my apartment, thankfully not mine, but the managers'. And my five week jaunt around the world in winter with the most preparation I ever made, only to return and find that an owl had entered the house and used the mohair armrests of my antique couch for perches and a place to poop. The only time I was burglarized was on a 10 day trip when I left my home in care of a helper. I suspect her parents… Rich South Americans who were used to taking whatever they wanted from the places they stayed. And then I got married and things changed. Worry about travel seems to multiply when a woman is involved. Now that I am quadriplegic and require much maintenance, my helper of 21 years as suspended travel and I require a lengthy checklist before we leave the door. Life does seem to be more complicated as we age. Ron

Summer On a Dime (Article) - 4/13/2013 4:34:22 PM
Congratulations on the prize. I don't think much will be trimmed in that yard. All of the trees and plants are part of the family. :o)

Summer On a Dime (Article) - 4/13/2013 2:19:14 PM
A delightful account of an all too common experience, Lucille. I enjoyed reading it. Barbara J. Henry

Halibut Have Cheeks (Article) - 11/18/2010 9:59:31 AM
Entertaining read.

Ezines that Pay (Article) - 2/5/2009 5:57:55 AM
Lucille: Thanks for this great article! I will have to do some exploring. A Hansley Jr

See Naples And.... (Article) - 1/1/2009 6:49:47 AM
I believe you and your family survived because God has a purpose for your life. You are a special child of God and you will be blessed. Have a wonderful New Year! John Michael Domino

See Naples And.... (Article) - 12/21/2008 1:31:57 PM
Oh what a powerful story... I am angry too... everyone trying to survive even if it mean stealing... how you and your family survived is a miracle.. I am so proud to know you. Plz tell us more. hugs, lindalaw

Shanghai, Feb. 1952 (Article) - 12/19/2008 6:26:43 PM
Lucille.... I wish you would write more often... I read this story and could envision what you and your sister went thru...altho obviously not the fear or uncertainties... Your description of your mother and father and Murph are so visual... Thank you for writing this story...I want so much to better understand these cultural situations that I would never know about... hugs and peace sweet Lucille... lindalaw

Favors and Other Crimes (Article) - 11/24/2008 11:29:23 PM
Dear Lucille, I loved your article. Your point is well taken. I have "given" money away to friends in need. I have one who said that he will pay me back. I will not hold my breath for I know there is always a GREATER need than to pay someone back, especially in today's economy. You have had a tough life and now you can turn that mess into a message. Blessings, John Michael Domino

Ezines that Pay (Article) - 10/7/2008 12:05:26 PM
Thank you LUcille for this very informative and in depth writing... it sure will help many of us... and I for one, truly appreciate your help. thank you, LIndalaw

Permanence is a Language (Article) - 9/24/2005 4:26:43 AM
well done

The Circle of Rage (Article) - 10/18/2004 12:21:09 PM
For six weeks in January 1952 I reported to the interrogation officer in Shanghai. The accusations of espionage for the U.S. Government seldom varied. I stole secrets and passed them on; who were my collaborators? did I seek the downfall of the People's liberation movement? The man said I would be executed if I did not confess. I was 18 years old.

Favors and Other Crimes (Article) - 1/8/2004 5:52:22 PM
Man, this is why I have not or ever will loan to friends. If their friendship means a lot to me, I'll like them well enough to tell them no. Thanks for making a good point. Debbie

SANCTUARY (Poetry) - 6/27/2013 10:37:23 AM
You have described a woman's lair quite well. Ron

Ballad of Yeen Wang (Poetry) - 6/26/2013 4:50:30 PM
This is a very interesting poem, I delighted in the fact that when read from bottom to top it made as much sense. Each line succinct, much like the intention of the white binding. Not supposing distortion, rather, insuring a purposeful clarification. M.True

SANCTUARY (Poetry) - 6/26/2013 4:36:24 PM
Beautiful inclusions. I do sketches on a notepad, now and again to remind me of my previous living spaces. Photos show too much. Poems, however, can be all that you want them to see. M.True

SANCTUARY (Poetry) - 6/26/2013 2:17:17 PM
our sanctuaries are of us not anyone else budd

The Deed (Poetry) - 1/12/2009 8:20:01 PM
Lucille...you picked the right time to leave me Lucille...just like Kenny Rogers sings...whew...that was certainly out in left field...but...interesting to say the least...dreams...wow.. reality?? hope not.. hugs, lindalaw

The Deed (Poetry) - 1/12/2009 2:39:09 PM
Interesting concept, but in reality far from the truth. Leaving one to wonder.... Be always safe, Karen

Obi (Poetry) - 11/5/2008 11:20:29 AM
A beautiful message here and tells me lots about where yu live and how you survive too on tea and love and friendships.

California Summer (Poetry) - 11/5/2008 11:19:02 AM
Hopefully Winter will go better and fires will be less and the countryside will get back in order again. Must be trying to live where you live. I have never visited Calif either, but you tell a lot about it.

California Summer (Poetry) - 9/28/2008 9:02:50 PM
Sad commentary for a once very beautiful place.... Be always safe, Karen

Ballad of Yeen Wang (Poetry) - 2/27/2008 3:47:39 AM
I've heard of the practice of foot binding - what price, beauty? Sad - painful to read, but necessary - well done, Lucille. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Obi (Poetry) - 2/26/2008 2:48:53 PM
A story of crispness, newness a mere observation, yet a chance to learn and reach out.... Be always safe, Karen

Obi (Poetry) - 2/26/2008 12:05:02 PM
Very nice poem, Lucille; brava! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Obi (Poetry) - 2/26/2008 11:50:32 AM
Beautifully written... Cryssa

Obi (Poetry) - 2/26/2008 10:45:11 AM
Lucille, Absolutely stunning, the unveiling of beauty cloaked under silken kimono and obi - but not too much, leaving a hint of mystery - of wanting to see more - well done. Domo arigato, Lucille-san. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. My daddy was stationed in Japan for three years, one of my favorite gifts from him is a book about Japanese culture. :)

Ballad of Yeen Wang (Poetry) - 1/26/2008 3:11:22 PM
Powerful pen excellently written~`*

Ballad of Yeen Wang (Poetry) - 1/18/2008 3:35:07 PM
I viewed a video recently wherein an elderly Chinese woman was showing the result of foot binding..I cried for days..when will the plight of women cease in this woeful world.. Thank you for bringing attention to this evil tradition.. Vesna

LULLABY (Poetry) - 12/29/2007 9:50:10 AM
This composition is rich in meaningful contents and beauty. Thank You for sharing Your jewels. In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Ballad of Yeen Wang (Poetry) - 12/29/2007 9:43:50 AM
An enjoyable aliment for the mind... "Ballad of Yeen Wang" shines. In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Ballad of Yeen Wang (Poetry) - 12/22/2007 11:23:04 AM
This still goes on? Hope not...

LULLABY (Poetry) - 9/5/2007 11:42:12 AM
Good Day to you Lucille, I have read "Lullaby". I found it entertaining and that its point is well taken, that we should treat important things in our lives with respect, we will sleep better at night. That's my take on it. Please feel free to check out my site at www.freewebs.com/kendoo or here in the "Den"

LULLABY (Poetry) - 9/2/2007 6:53:49 AM
Excellent work! I applaud you. George

LULLABY (Poetry) - 7/3/2006 6:29:55 PM
A delightful poem. Homeschool

LULLABY (Poetry) - 3/19/2006 2:02:47 PM
Loved it all including these lines ~ This hour of the bells, hells? perhaps belles, but no Glass slippers upon these feet, oh no, rather shards of glass of said slippers exploring the concavities Of that region below the breast that I would cut away and Throw to the dogs, or hogs, into the bogs Excellent work.. love joanne

LULLABY (Poetry) - 12/25/2005 6:28:11 PM
Been there...watch what you feed yourself.

LULLABY (Poetry) - 7/23/2005 10:12:44 AM
Great informative piece. Excellent! Rich Criso Suarez

LULLABY (Poetry) - 6/24/2005 11:32:15 AM
i like it...

LULLABY (Poetry) - 3/12/2005 7:55:37 AM
Fantastic write!!!

LULLABY (Poetry) - 9/29/2004 9:58:58 PM
heeheh...this made me smile and remember many such unfortunate experiences of my own...grand job in this, Lucille.

LULLABY (Poetry) - 9/27/2004 9:10:50 AM
Wow. You have inspired me to eat less and take care of my tum. Your work is a treat - I must avoid meat. VBest wishes Miller PS VBest was a spelling mistake but I quite like it. Perhaps it was meant to be.

LULLABY (Poetry) - 8/27/2003 7:22:07 PM
Clover Farms Icey Tea does me in late at night! Very true and well done! Yes, we must watch what we eat and drink especially late at night! ~Nikki~

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.