AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Ken Coleman, iGwendolyn Thomas Gath, iNeeta Blair, iSteve Kerr, iJansen Estrup, iRichard Mason, iNeil Levin, i
 
Home > Jackie S Brooks
 

Recent Reviews for Jackie S Brooks


Low Bridge, High Jump (Short Story) - 3/18/2006 9:34:07 AM
Oh I agree with eddie....but I might just take the dare!! Love Tinka

Low Bridge, High Jump (Short Story) - 3/18/2006 7:05:40 AM
I think I need a change of underwear!! I bet he did, and although I've never done something quite as daring or as foolhardy as this, it did bring back many a memory of a brash young man, who had drunk far too many a beer, who had always accepted any challenge brought forth.

A Special Gift (Short Story) - 8/20/2004 10:33:27 AM
Aww, a very warm, touching tale...I love it.

A Special Gift (Short Story) - 8/3/2004 10:41:32 AM
What a lovely and heartwarming story Jackie!

Tribune Marcus Severus (Short Story) - 8/2/2004 5:09:23 AM
A most captivating historical tale, Jackie. Enjoyed this very much; and your reference to the eruption of Vesuvius brought back tons of memories of my trips to Pompeii. Well Done, Storyteller!

A Special Gift (Short Story) - 8/1/2004 8:57:30 AM
Oh Jackie I cried with Alice...this is so beautiful...still crying not so sure my story will ever have such an happy ending though!! Love Tinka

A Special Gift (Short Story) - 8/1/2004 6:56:29 AM
I truly enjoyed this little tale, Jackie; and it proves to me that sometimes the child deep within us can save us from ourselves as Allie's child within her heart and soul made her jump on that swing and find that ring.

The Beast of the Mountain (Short Story) - 1/31/2004 11:18:24 AM
*Mouth wide open with a scream caught in my throat* Please carry on, this is a cracking good read. Don't leave me twisting in the wind like poor old Joe's body. Carol

Tiger Lily (Short Story) - 1/19/2004 7:23:03 PM
Not only did I love this story, it struck me about how much you love your cats and express it so beautifully. Thank you for that. Carol

Trixie - The Kit-Napper! (Short Story) - 1/17/2004 6:57:12 PM
Wonderful story, full of laughter and tears. It had me enthralled from the first sentance to the last. I can picture you typing it with a cat or two curled up beside you washing your feet lovingly *smile*

Tiger Lily (Short Story) - 10/15/2003 4:38:21 PM
Enjoying your cat stories. Thank you for the sharing.

Tiger Lily (Short Story) - 10/15/2003 2:06:30 PM
What a dear story....and as Ed said "bravo to George" for saving Tiger Lily's life and thereby allowing you and Jim all these years of getting to know this sweet cat. Well told and moving - but then you know me - I'm a sucker for a cat story!

Tiger Lily (Short Story) - 10/15/2003 12:47:34 PM
Enjoyed reading this today Jackie!! Love Tinka

Tiger Lily (Short Story) - 10/15/2003 9:42:00 AM
Jackie, Tiger Lily sounds like a fabulous creature - and so does George, the veterinarian!

Sammy Jo (Short Story) - 10/14/2003 3:15:48 PM
Wonderful heart warming animal story :-) It is always interesting to see how old and new cats get along in the first few months. Its pretty easy to spot the dominate one.

Sammy Jo (Short Story) - 10/14/2003 2:07:12 PM
(((jackie))) *purring contentedly* nothing warms the heart and home like the love of a cat excellent, heartfelt story--i hope you get many more bonus days with this sweet kitty (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :) *i love kitties*

Sammy Jo (Short Story) - 10/14/2003 1:25:52 PM
What a lovely story this is Jackie. Your "children" of the furry persuasion have found a little piece of heaven in the home of you and Jim....I know you feel the same about being given the blessing of enjoying THEIR company as well. Loved this one!

Sammy Jo (Short Story) - 10/14/2003 12:55:03 PM
Lovely storie Jackie!! Love Tinka

Sammy Jo (Short Story) - 10/14/2003 11:59:41 AM
awwwwwwwwwww, jackie....what a heartwrenching story! i pray that she enjoys another extra day; each extra day with her is such a blessing! lovely write about a special cat named sammy jo! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in texas, karen lynn. :( you are in my prayers; be praying for karla and myself; we could use 'em!

Sammy Jo (Short Story) - 10/14/2003 11:34:26 AM
A lovely story from a person who is in tune with the naimals in her life. I can relate. At least with dogs, I've own dogs all of my life and have Nipper today who rules the roost around here. Yes, it is very sad to have to put one of your pets away, I had to do it about eight years ago to our other dog Fancy and it about did me in. I still feel guilty although I know in my heart it was the right thing to do. Very good story, Jackie.

Sammy Jo (Short Story) - 10/14/2003 11:32:54 AM
Really enjoyed Sammy Jo's story, Jackie. And I sincerely wish many more 'Bonus Days' for her.

Restless Spirit (Short Story) - 9/29/2003 11:48:30 PM
A real captivating and compelling read Jackie!! Love Tinka

Restless Spirit (Short Story) - 9/29/2003 11:07:32 PM
I truly enjoyed this. The POV from the other side. How clever. ~Jackie~

Restless Spirit (Short Story) - 9/29/2003 11:47:36 AM
Haunting and told extremely well. Great write!

Restless Spirit (Short Story) - 9/29/2003 10:56:50 AM
captivating and compelling read; enjoyed! :D (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in america, karen lynn.

Sticky Toffee Pudding - Recipe (Article) - 9/5/2003 10:15:07 AM
Thank you Jackie...I will try it!! But what about my figurrrrrrrrrr!! Love Tinka

Sticky Toffee Pudding - Recipe (Article) - 9/5/2003 5:00:07 AM
Now you have done it! My sweet tooth is now acting up :-) Thanks for the recipe. I think I'll go pick up some whip cream :-)

Sticky Toffee Pudding - Recipe (Article) - 9/5/2003 4:02:37 AM
Thank you. Thank you. Thank you!!!!!

Independence Day (Article) - 8/4/2003 4:07:00 AM
Nice to know

Lord Stones Cafe, The Backpackers Oasis (Article) - 8/1/2003 1:58:53 AM
Right now I need a quiet place - to relax, to unload all my "burdens" and this seems like the right place, except I am in Australia. A little too far for a weekend away. I enjoyed reading this article. Yes, please, what is a large buttered bap?

Lord Stones Cafe, The Backpackers Oasis (Article) - 7/26/2003 4:27:07 PM
Sounds great to me, especially the part about the food and beer. Pray tell, what's a large buttered bap?

Life as a Motel Manager! (Article) - 7/2/2003 7:52:31 PM
I'll say it was an education... I had no idea that the 'ladies' seemed to be considered an asset to the people who run motels! Have you been back to that motel to see what happened to it?

King of the Road (Article) - 5/24/2003 10:55:33 AM
aDORable write, jackie! (((HUGS))) and love, your friend, karen lynn in texas. :) i sure love those kitties!

Haiku (Poetry) - 1/29/2009 5:22:11 PM
http://lyricalpassionpoetry.page.tl FYI

Oh God, My God (Poetry) - 5/29/2006 5:53:14 AM
Jackie, congratulations. Thank you for sharing this with the world. It is a journey with God.. if we would all try to follow. Denise

God's Three Gifts To Man (Poetry) - 5/7/2006 10:20:20 AM
A powerful affirmation of faith. Thank you for sharing it, Jackie. Love and peace to you, Regis

God's Three Gifts To Man (Poetry) - 5/7/2006 4:55:30 AM
Jackie You are blessed by the Lamb of God, and your goodness and mercy comes out in this divine composition.. God loves a cheerful heart ! Peter

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 4/1/2006 7:34:12 PM
Thanks for the teaching, Jackie. Love and peace, Regis

Lord, I See You (Poetry) - 3/28/2006 12:14:12 PM
"Lord, I See You" is beautiful Psalm to Mother Poet, (NATURE) and a poetic excellence to enrich the HOLY PAGES of POETRY. I salute You, Sublime Poet! Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 3/28/2006 12:03:46 PM
Visiting Your Den is always a learning experience. "Tragedy on Cockle Klondike"... A accomplished poetic task. I salute You, Sublime Poet! Health and Creativity. Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 3/25/2006 3:22:47 AM
Powerful Offering Jackie!! Love Tinka

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 3/24/2006 7:35:50 PM
Excellent write Jackie! Good to see you posting again!Thanks for sharing... Eileen

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 3/24/2006 3:54:47 PM
Jackie, You've penned a powerful indictment against the perpetrators; I hope they rot. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 3/24/2006 2:25:23 PM
I hope the swine rots in jail, Jackie...along with his evil accomplices Peter

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 3/24/2006 2:10:19 PM
justice doesn't always triumph but in this case it has.

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 3/24/2006 1:57:49 PM
The pace of justice is slow, but for the most part, it is finally here for these victims.

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 3/24/2006 12:44:28 PM
Glad to hear some justice is taking place, Jackie - and a most powerful piece you've penned.

Pirate Queen of Connacht (Poetry) - 3/18/2006 1:50:30 PM
"A female swashbuckler in menís attire," A pirate in drag, eh? Long time no see.

Pirate Queen of Connacht (Poetry) - 3/18/2006 1:28:54 PM
A real heroine and doughty warrior was this lady.. Very enjoyable and historical story, Jackie.. Peter

Pirate Queen of Connacht (Poetry) - 3/18/2006 5:39:15 AM
Thanks enjoyed this tale!! Love Tinka

Lord, I See You (Poetry) - 3/18/2006 4:27:05 AM
Perfection!! Love Tinka

Pirate Queen of Connacht (Poetry) - 3/18/2006 4:26:49 AM
I love epic historical tales, and this is a very good one, Jackie. And Welcome Back to Authors Den - you have been missed!

Lord, I See You (Poetry) - 3/17/2006 5:25:15 PM
Great lines. Enjoyed

Lord, I See You (Poetry) - 3/17/2006 2:09:01 PM
Absolutely beautiful, Jackie You light up the Den tonite with this tour de force of spirituality Peter

Little Rapscallion (Poetry) - 1/18/2005 1:19:54 PM
Noah sounds a rascly little kitten and a fun addition to your household. Nice writ.

Skeleton in the Closet (Poetry) - 1/15/2005 8:21:26 AM
With luck you will find what you are looking for, but it may turn out more than you bargained for, whatever good luck. Reg

Little Rapscallion (Poetry) - 12/30/2004 7:08:55 AM
Noah truly sounds like the perfect addition to your furry little feline family, Jackie. And I don't blame him for not wanting to lose his lovely fur in that shower!

Little Rapscallion (Poetry) - 12/29/2004 1:09:52 PM
Adorable tale (tail?!) Jackie.....I'm hoping Noah wins a place in the Brooks' home. Very well written and sweet poem.

Little Rapscallion (Poetry) - 12/29/2004 12:20:09 PM
Wonderful To read you!! Happy New Year!! Love Tinka

Little Rapscallion (Poetry) - 12/29/2004 11:51:54 AM
Another mouth to feed! I know the feeling, Jackie, I used to take in any darn stray that wandered in my year. I'm a sucker for a lost pet who is hungry and lonesome.

Little Rapscallion (Poetry) - 12/29/2004 11:50:58 AM
(((jackie))) *purring contentedly* exquisite! (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

Little Rapscallion (Poetry) - 12/29/2004 11:34:57 AM
awwwwwwwwwww! purrfection!

Skeleton in the Closet (Poetry) - 12/21/2004 4:21:28 PM
I think that when you are most disappointed that is when you will find that an ancestor was the real-life Robin Hood. Wouldn't that be a kick, it isn't a fictional story after all. Keep plugging away.

Skeleton in the Closet (Poetry) - 12/11/2004 11:25:06 AM
May your search be fruitful, Jackie; and may the skeletons be nice. Love and peace. Regis

Skeleton in the Closet (Poetry) - 12/8/2004 6:02:19 AM
Search On, Jackie; I've been doing the same with my family, and I discover more all the time; fascinating stuff!

Skeleton in the Closet (Poetry) - 12/7/2004 11:22:14 PM
Great write on a most interesting subject...the past, and how it made us who we are today. As for skeletons, I agree with Robert, some best be not known. Allen

Skeleton in the Closet (Poetry) - 12/7/2004 9:38:45 PM
Enjoy your search :-)

Skeleton in the Closet (Poetry) - 12/7/2004 8:38:48 PM
my family tree was documented to 1693 ... what a bunch of skeletons lurk in its closet the likes of which were better off not known ...

Skeleton in the Closet (Poetry) - 12/7/2004 8:19:38 PM
Nicely done jackie!! Love them skeletons....love them all...hehehe!! Love Tinka

Skeleton in the Closet (Poetry) - 12/7/2004 3:47:40 PM
Good write Jackie!! Keep on searching. : ) Jack

Skeleton in the Closet (Poetry) - 12/7/2004 2:40:14 PM
Wonderful piece!

Skeleton in the Closet (Poetry) - 12/7/2004 1:33:47 PM
Well good luck on the search Jackie! Who knows - perhaps you are royalty and don't even know it?! Well-crafted and cute poem....

All at Sea (Poetry) - 11/6/2004 1:27:39 PM
Love the title and the journey. About to start a tour of speaking as an author in Forfar next week. As I travel from Dumfries I'll recall your journey. Best wishes in all your work Miller PS Not too many of us from the UK on AuthorsDen as yet.

Revealing Moment (A Re-post) (Poetry) - 8/31/2004 9:19:41 PM
Quite an experience for you~~ Great write Jackie! Love Tinka

Revealing Moment (A Re-post) (Poetry) - 8/31/2004 6:00:30 PM
Humorous, and sad, at the same time - how'd you do that?? A very enjoyable read, Jackie.

Revealing Moment (A Re-post) (Poetry) - 8/31/2004 3:11:22 PM
Oh dear! Life can be exciting, can't it? SueB

In the Forces (Poetry) - 8/30/2004 8:34:43 AM
What an absolutely adorable poem Jackie! What a fun way to recount those old memories of your days in uniform...sounds like it was a lot of work with some really great times with friends tossed in as well. Great poem.

In the Forces (Poetry) - 8/30/2004 7:48:00 AM
Fantastic write!

In the Forces (Poetry) - 8/30/2004 3:05:02 AM
Thanks for sharing the experience Jackie!! Love Tinka

In the Forces (Poetry) - 8/29/2004 5:07:52 PM
Wonderful write of some fun memories. Love this indeed! Sandie May Angel

In the Forces (Poetry) - 8/29/2004 3:11:57 PM
(((jackie))) thank you for your service, first of all...i trust this is truth? what a fantastic write--perfect rhyme and cadance (see, i was air force, too LOL) (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :) GO, AIR FORCE! hee hee

In the Forces (Poetry) - 8/29/2004 2:54:51 PM
Thanks for sharing the experience. Enjoyed.

In the Forces (Poetry) - 8/29/2004 2:43:18 PM
What an experience! Terrific poem. SueB

In the Forces (Poetry) - 8/29/2004 2:41:02 PM
Sounds like you have some wonderful memories and made some wonderful friends there, Jackie. Well Penned!

Stormy Weather (Poetry) - 8/11/2004 7:58:54 PM
just how I have felt this year I wanted to send some of the rain to my sister in Arizona and tornados here too...far from the norm... well done

Stormy Weather (Poetry) - 8/11/2004 9:03:16 AM
hahaha this although might be kinda drab to you was a very enjoyable poem know how it feels to want the weather to be one-way (or had it said to be one-way) then turns out to be another, yes Karen knows about this as well you both take care

Stormy Weather (Poetry) - 8/9/2004 9:00:39 AM
The weather everywhere has been screwy, Jackie! Here we had our wettest June and July ever here in Texas; and we have also been enjoying cooler than normal temps. 90's today, 80's the rest of the week. The temps are delightful, but all the rain we had stinks! NOT good if you have arthritis; my poor body has NOT enjoyed this summer! Great write! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in America, Karen Lynn in Texas. :D

Stormy Weather (Poetry) - 8/8/2004 5:09:37 AM
Very well written Jackie!! Love Tinka

Stormy Weather (Poetry) - 8/8/2004 4:04:54 AM
The weather everywhere has taken a "Vacation" from the norm I think....people are talking about it more than usual this year. I like the rythym of this poem Jackie and of course the message as well.

Stormy Weather (Poetry) - 8/8/2004 3:56:11 AM
Perhaps the poet penned it on a very dry year... I like what you have done here. It flowed very nicely. M.Rose

Stormy Weather (Poetry) - 8/7/2004 9:20:55 PM
Fun ending; great write! Here in Alberta its been pretty dry and warm until just recently.

Stormy Weather (Poetry) - 8/7/2004 5:30:13 PM
We've been having a cool summer here in Toronto Canada so far. I think the earth must be shifting its position. Hope you will see better days this summer. Sandie May Angel

Stormy Weather (Poetry) - 8/7/2004 5:27:17 PM
We have had the coolest California on record in my section! We are all amazed! Excellent poem! Glad your got through the bad weather parts!

Stormy Weather (Poetry) - 8/7/2004 2:49:17 PM
Very strange weather this year it seems all over the globe, Jackie. Usually here in the Midwest in August, it's 85 degrees with extremely high humidity. Last night it was about 50 degrees, with no humidity. And we had quite a violent thunderstorm the other day, too.

Stormy Weather (Poetry) - 8/7/2004 2:10:04 PM
(((jackie))) here in texas, spring started with a round of severe thunderstorms, and then nothing--all the storms seemed to pummel the plains and the midwest. then came june. june 1 brought a tornado (one block south of my place), and then the rains came...and came...and came. second wettest june on record. then july, we had over 8" of rain, making this the wettest july on record. august has been on the warm side, but not hot (like usual) and VERY humid; several cold fronts have already passed through...VERY unusual weather here, too. enjoyed this write, and i'm glad you weren't hurt when the lightning hit. :) (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

Angels (Poetry) - 8/3/2004 1:17:54 PM
Very clever use of the alphabet in describing our guardians....lovely.

Mugwump and the Mouse (Poetry) - 8/3/2004 1:16:39 PM
My "author tracker" was out of commission on AuthorsDen so long that I missed this one! Very cute and I sincerely hope the little mouse's name wasn't Aesop?!

All at Sea (Poetry) - 8/3/2004 1:14:52 PM
Sounds like a lovely trip! Stay away from those TRIANGLES Jackie....You did such a nice job "painting" the canvas of your poem I almost felt like I was there.

All at Sea (Poetry) - 8/3/2004 5:50:52 AM
Sounds like quite an enjoyable outing, Jackie - even with the fog. I actually like floating around on a lake or on the sea, in a dead calm, in a thick fog - haunting and eerie, but exhilirating to me! I would also love to roam around Captain Cook's birthplace.

All at Sea (Poetry) - 8/2/2004 10:58:25 AM
Enjoyed much Jackie!! Love Tinka

All at Sea (Poetry) - 8/2/2004 9:26:17 AM
i enjoyed your trip very much myself, except for the brief loss at sea, i would have been terrified. thank God for modern boats

All at Sea (Poetry) - 8/2/2004 7:53:21 AM
Great experience. Enjoyed your poem.

Angels (Poetry) - 6/4/2004 1:35:35 PM
Wonderful write!

Angels (Poetry) - 5/28/2004 9:14:59 PM
A sweet poem Jacqie :0) Susan

Angels (Poetry) - 5/27/2004 11:02:01 AM
A delightful and wonderous poetic write!

Angels (Poetry) - 5/24/2004 10:00:12 PM
How cool, loved how you used the alphabet! I believe in angels, too, wrote a whole novel about them!

Angels (Poetry) - 5/23/2004 8:29:22 AM
Yes, I do believe in Angels. Wonderful write indeed. ~ Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu ~

Angels (Poetry) - 5/23/2004 7:54:22 AM
Awesome inspiration Jackie!! Love Tinka

Angels (Poetry) - 5/23/2004 6:57:25 AM
Wow! Glad that e-mail inspired you, Jackie. This is an awesome, angelic write. And I truly believe there are angels amongst us.

Snow Ball Fight (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 5/23/2004 5:06:18 AM
LOL reminds me of my own little ones this past winter my youngest would always try and get me as she got off the bus

Cats Toys (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 5/23/2004 5:05:34 AM
We had three cats at the beginning of our marriage, through various moves and jobs we now have none :( loved the poem

Hail Haiku (Poetry) - 5/23/2004 5:04:29 AM
ouch if you are caught outside I've been through many a hail storm well done haiku

Late Frost - Haiku (Poetry) - 5/22/2004 9:10:18 AM
love the haiku late frosts can be such a probelm if you planted anything though

The Mayfly (Poetry) - 5/22/2004 7:56:10 AM
Jackie....wonderful write!!!!

Miracle of Spring (Poetry) - 5/22/2004 6:03:56 AM
Wonderful imageries, and great picture. ~ Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu ~

The Mayfly (Poetry) - 5/22/2004 6:03:13 AM
Hi Jackie: These two lines stanza's are a delight to read. They have good rhythm and rhymes, flows well when read. Good job indeed. ~ Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu ~

The Mayfly (Poetry) - 5/22/2004 5:53:57 AM
Beautiful and very delightful imagery here Jackie!! Just love this one A1!! Love Tinka

The Mayfly (Poetry) - 5/22/2004 5:51:05 AM
Wonderful imagery in this delightful poem, Jackie. I have often sat mesmerized beside mountain streams in May watching trout chasing newly hatched mayflies, dancing upon the water. Truly something to see. Well done!

Miracle of Spring (Poetry) - 5/21/2004 10:00:58 PM
This speaks to me in an explosion of rebirth. Thank you for this offering, Jackie. Love and peace to you. Regis

Miracle of Spring (Poetry) - 5/21/2004 4:56:36 AM
wonderfully crafted

Miracle of Spring (Poetry) - 5/20/2004 10:25:09 PM
Wonderful write Jackie!! Love Tinka

Miracle of Spring (Poetry) - 5/20/2004 2:29:23 PM
Extremely lovely, Jackie!

Miracle of Spring (Poetry) - 5/20/2004 2:04:42 PM
ahhh...this is great!...what a refeshing thing to read! Well done, Jackie

Miracle of Spring (Poetry) - 5/20/2004 1:37:37 PM
One miracle that I hope nevers stop. Time of year for the rebirth of the earth and life. Could see myself in your garden and perfumes of the flowers. thank you Tommy

Miracle of Spring (Poetry) - 5/20/2004 1:22:24 PM
"Miracle of Spring" is a song to Eternal Mother, and a lesson to Mankind. This is a "Miracle of Spring" singing the wonders of Eternal Mother, The Great Poet! Thank You for sharing this grandiose, and for standing for BEAUTY! I Salute You, Sublime Poet! Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Gingerbread Duck (Poetry) - 5/18/2004 8:31:41 PM
I like gingerbread myself, but can't eat it any more because of the sugar. Cute piece anyway. I am extending an invitation to you to come see my webpages dedicated to the victims of genocide in Darfur, Western Sudan. http://www.voicesforAfrica.homestead.com/index.html Thanks, Jim Dunlap

Mugwump and the Mouse (Poetry) - 5/17/2004 9:45:29 AM
Awwww what an adorable lighthearted piece! ~Nikki~

Mugwump and the Mouse (Poetry) - 5/16/2004 11:05:10 AM
Hahaha, they love bringing us playmates dont they.....funny how we dont see what they see in them.... Loved this tail..err tale Jackie, it romped home didnt it.

Mugwump and the Mouse (Poetry) - 5/15/2004 5:36:44 PM
Cute write. Great rhmye scheme.

Mugwump and the Mouse (Poetry) - 5/15/2004 2:36:52 PM
(((jackie))) LOL at the title--karen writes a lot of stories about a little girl, ronee (okay, karen writes a lot of stories about a lot of ppl LOL), and ronee's daddy calls her "mugwump" :) awwwwwwwwwwwwww, this is a charming, enchanting, delightful romp, jackie, enjoyed this piece very much! thank you for my smiles today :) (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

Mugwump and the Mouse (Poetry) - 5/15/2004 1:24:57 PM
this is absolutely delightful, jackie! so nice to see you here again; i have missed you! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in america, karen lynn in texas. :D

Mugwump and the Mouse (Poetry) - 5/15/2004 1:14:03 PM
Delightful piece Jackie!! Love Tinka

Mugwump and the Mouse (Poetry) - 5/15/2004 12:58:29 PM
Both your Mugwump and your tiny visitor sound delightful, Jackie, as is this poem. So glad to hear Mousie escaped back to the garden, too. Nice to see you posting!

One dark Night (A Challenge) (Poetry) - 5/11/2004 9:48:56 PM
I have always loved that poem...we used to say it over and over as children and giggle our heads off :0)

One dark Night (A Challenge) (Poetry) - 4/19/2004 3:54:35 PM
The maiden fair with skin of black She looked ahead her eyes looked back. The people opened bricked windows high As they looked downward towards the sky. Then fog moved in on this sunny day. The mood was black as all were gay. They happily sang sweet songs of sorrow. Then looked back with memories of tomorrow. Floria Kelderhouse

One dark Night (A Challenge) (Poetry) - 4/18/2004 2:30:56 PM
(((calendula))) this is going to make for some verrrrrry interesting writes, i can see it now--kind of lewis carroll "alice in wonderland"-ish creative challenge and write--enjoyed (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

One dark Night (A Challenge) (Poetry) - 4/18/2004 6:40:12 AM
I loved this, interesting idea! Reindeer

One dark Night (A Challenge) (Poetry) - 4/18/2004 5:40:32 AM
Very interesting poem and topic, Jackie. I will have to ruminate on this one!

One dark Night (A Challenge) (Poetry) - 4/18/2004 4:15:39 AM
just thought quickly of this while I let my potatoes burn: their tight fitting robes hung lossely around them as the welcoming villagers who were quick to condemn quietly slammed their windows up tight As the monks peacefully looked for a fight The drizzling rain did a torrid dance as one monk closed his eyes to glance at the golden hair of the bald headed maiden who came empty handed and fullen laden. hehehe.....love the idea Jackie......now back to making din dins

One dark Night (A Challenge) (Poetry) - 4/18/2004 3:31:50 AM
Excellent challenge Jackie!! Like the idea!! Love Tinka

One dark Night (A Challenge) (Poetry) - 4/18/2004 2:44:58 AM
Hmm....now THIS is a cute challenge! How clever of you to turn that snippet of a poem Carolyn sent to us into this entertaining "form"...I'll see what I can come up with! I can't wait to see what people come up with - if I had some time I'd contribute - maybe I'll stop by later and do just that......

Morecambe Day (Poetry) - 4/9/2004 11:43:03 AM
Jacqueline, a beautiful, breathing poem that blows a fresh breeze through my soul. Happy Easter. Bill Murray

Morecambe Day (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 10:47:02 AM
The imagery is beautiful Jackie....love it!! Love Tinka

Morecambe Day (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 6:25:24 AM
A fresh view of an oil rig. Some might say they are ugly.

Morecambe Day (Poetry) - 4/6/2004 8:12:40 PM
Beautiful imagery of marine life & atmosphere penned with grace. Franz

Morecambe Day (Poetry) - 4/6/2004 3:38:55 PM
Jolly good poem Ms. Jackie - I'm thrilled that you decided to go with the suggestion...you have created a beautiful image with your words. I can clearly see the beauty you have described!

Morecambe Day (Poetry) - 4/6/2004 3:23:27 PM
Wow! Wonderful imagery; wonderful poem, Jackie. Enjoyed much!

Morecambe Day (Poetry) - 4/6/2004 3:20:11 PM
Jackie...was a grand picture you have painted here! It is so easy to fall into...splendid job!

Skies (Poetry) - 3/16/2004 4:16:44 AM
A lovely poem, a pleasure to read.

Skies (Poetry) - 3/15/2004 11:58:12 PM
I can smell the Spring in the air from the pungent words. And in my heart I feel joy to know that soon Spring will be here. Bill Murray P.S. I saw where you and hubby are lay pastors. I think you will enjoy this song. http://www.authorsden.com/externalsite.asp?authorID=7690&destURL=http://www.authorsden.com/williammsowman1 Click on the button that has this title: "Our Souls Shal Meet In Heaven" ................................. It plays in RealOnePlayer

Skies (Poetry) - 3/14/2004 9:41:02 PM
How can spring refuse this offering of yours, Jackie? Thank you. Love and peace. Regis

Skies (Poetry) - 3/13/2004 10:19:18 AM
Wonderful Spring Write Jackie!! Love Tinka

Skies (Poetry) - 3/13/2004 10:01:39 AM
Wonderful Ode to Spring, Jackie!

Skies (Poetry) - 3/13/2004 9:43:29 AM
love this nature write!

Skies (Poetry) - 3/13/2004 9:13:17 AM
Ah, yes, when the buds bud and the flowers bloom and the bees flit and fly from each to another flower to taste of the pure nector and the ragweed is putting out all the pollen which makes it very hard for folks like me to breathe. Spring, ah-choo!

Skies (Poetry) - 3/13/2004 8:53:31 AM
Nice "ode to coming Spring" Jackie.

Skies (Poetry) - 3/13/2004 8:47:31 AM
Wonderful nature poem, that feels the spring before it arrives (here in Texas, spring is already around, and the cherry trees bloom). Franz

Late Frost - Haiku (Poetry) - 3/12/2004 8:51:44 AM
wonderful spring ku ...

Late Frost - Haiku (Poetry) - 3/9/2004 11:08:48 AM
Nicely done, Jackie...as always, it is good to see you again.

Late Frost - Haiku (Poetry) - 3/9/2004 11:06:11 AM
Lovely. Franz

Late Frost - Haiku (Poetry) - 3/9/2004 11:03:36 AM
A wonderful verse hearlding the sites of Spring.

Late Frost - Haiku (Poetry) - 3/9/2004 9:41:30 AM
Beautiful haiku Jackie!! Love Tinka

Late Frost - Haiku (Poetry) - 3/9/2004 8:11:54 AM
So true and so beautiful!

Late Frost - Haiku (Poetry) - 3/9/2004 6:54:21 AM
Beautiful imagery Jackie.....you could have been describing what's happening HERE as easily as you are there in England! Nice haiku.

Stroke (Poetry) - 2/28/2004 11:53:17 AM
Sensitive and meaningful expression, Jackie. Thank you for the lesson. Love and peace to you. Regis

Stroke (Poetry) - 2/27/2004 9:45:21 PM
Compassionate work and thoughtful, and so true. Bravo. Elizabeth

Stroke (Poetry) - 2/25/2004 3:54:50 PM
A dynamite write, Jackie! It is good to see your work again. This piece of yours hits the proverbial nail precisely.

Stroke (Poetry) - 2/25/2004 3:34:46 PM
A sad truth. Great write!

Stroke (Poetry) - 2/25/2004 1:44:32 PM
Beautifully stated Jackie. The ultimate frustration must be for a stroke victim who has lost the ability to fully communicate or ambulate but whose mind is still sharp as a tack. Thankfully, there are sensitive people in their path most of the time who are patient and knowledgeable in bringing the comfort and reassurance needed. Having worked in the healthcare field for as many years as I did I've seen true compassion as well as the other end of the spectrum - and you have expressed all of this very well in your poem!

Stroke (Poetry) - 2/25/2004 12:30:19 PM
To the point...powerful and very true!! Welcome back Jackie!! Love Tinka

Stroke (Poetry) - 2/25/2004 10:35:57 AM
A very straight forward write, wonderfully done

Stroke (Poetry) - 2/25/2004 10:11:33 AM
(((jackie))) a powerful, needed write--it seems many forget that the body doesn't always work right, but there is a living, breathing soul inside the betrayal of the brain and body. *BRAVA!* courageous, strong piece--thank you for sharing this. ((((HUGS)))) and love, karla. :)

Stroke (Poetry) - 2/25/2004 9:29:58 AM
Jackie, thank you for this. My life and my world, Dottie, my wife, is going through what you so beautifully explain. Yes, it took me a little while to understand that what she said wasn't always what she meant. But I have learned to understand, and here is hoping that others out there will have the same understanding from their loved ones. Thank you, Jackie.

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 2/18/2004 5:06:51 PM
This is more than just a tragedy and I thank you for bringing it to light. It tears at the heart that so many live off the misery of others. My room will be bright tonight from all the candles that will be lit for those who were just trying to exhist. ♫ Jackie

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 2/16/2004 2:35:19 PM
A terrible tragedy versed so well..best wishes Andrea

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 2/14/2004 10:35:16 PM
A tale that needs to be told and you have done it well in your verses. Thank you, Jackie. Love and peace to you. Regis

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 2/6/2004 8:31:32 PM
Very well written Jackie!! Thanks for sharing this info in poetic verse!! It is so sad!! Love Tinka

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 2/6/2004 5:42:23 PM
Very good!

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 2/6/2004 3:15:34 PM
I like Ed's idea :-) No one man should take advantage of another. Excellent write!

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 2/6/2004 2:47:29 PM
I think I've heard of Morecambe Bay as a wildlife refuge. Didn't know this sort of thing went on there. Maybe they should set the Gang Masters adrift on the sands.

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 2/6/2004 2:07:14 PM
I wouldn't wish for them to "throw away the key" after they have been convicted. Better still if Merry Olde England brought back drawing and quatering. I imagine that would stop the slave trade.

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 2/6/2004 1:33:33 PM
A very sad tale and true tragedy that happens all too often when greed is the winner over human lives. So sad......

Tragedy on Cockle Klondike (Poetry) - 2/6/2004 12:43:53 PM
Sad write about something that happens far too often! A practice that MUST be stopped EVERYWHERE it occurs! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in America, Karen Lynn in Texas. :(

Air Waves (Poetry) - 2/5/2004 9:06:19 AM
What a wonderful thought! That the last words of a fighter pilot could be floating around in the chaos out there, waiting to be heard again. Good stuff!

Santa's Grotto (Poetry) - 2/4/2004 1:42:34 PM
I can understand why the girl's request haunts you so much. A very good job and a though-provoking piece.

Air Waves (Poetry) - 2/4/2004 6:32:20 AM
very interesting. i like the way your mind works.

Air Waves (Poetry) - 2/4/2004 3:48:52 AM
Thought provoking write Indeed!! Love Tinka

Air Waves (Poetry) - 2/3/2004 8:49:25 PM
A thought-provoking piece. Good job. For an ex-disc jockey, it kind of makes me wonder.

Air Waves (Poetry) - 2/3/2004 6:30:20 PM
This is sooo good!

Air Waves (Poetry) - 2/3/2004 4:50:09 PM
Excellent! So well said in a few words and tidy lines.

Air Waves (Poetry) - 2/3/2004 4:14:33 PM
If a sound of a voice lives that long can you imagine how long a thought can last? Great write and thanks for the sharing.

Air Waves (Poetry) - 2/3/2004 3:55:03 PM
What a wonderful thought - that our voices might be heard "out there" - - - maybe even "way out there".....who's to say. I really like this though - made me sit here and think about it a bit! Great write Jackie.

Air Waves (Poetry) - 2/3/2004 3:40:23 PM
Endles, but who can prove or disprove it. Great thought provoking write

Air Waves (Poetry) - 2/3/2004 3:22:01 PM
Fascinating topic, Jackie; one that has always intrigued me. And Jim's experience is most interesting! Makes one really wonder.

Snow Ball Fight (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 2/3/2004 2:50:29 PM
Nice one, Jackie; so enjoyed this snowball fight! Ahh, those were the days...such fond memories! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in America, Karen Lynn in Texas. :D

Air Waves (Poetry) - 2/3/2004 2:48:48 PM
Terrific write, Jackie; so enjoyed this! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in America, Karen Lynn in Texas. :D

Air Waves (Poetry) - 2/3/2004 2:47:46 PM
I like to think that radio beams and oral communication still possess magical powers, and if we listen closely we can hear native Americans singing here on the plains of Kansas from thousands of years ago!

Air Waves (Poetry) - 2/3/2004 2:42:08 PM
(((jackie))) an interesting question...there must be a reason for it, although i don't know the answer you seek. this is a terrific write--well done! (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

Air Waves (Poetry) - 2/3/2004 2:40:27 PM
Oooh, Jackie, that question you posed has opened the door to a LOT of speculation. Maybe even a recurring poem soon, who knows. I liked this. Thank you.

I Want! (Poetry) - 1/31/2004 1:42:04 PM
Cats do not take "no" for an answer. Delightful poem, Jackie. Love and peace to you. Regis

Cats Toys (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/31/2004 8:50:36 AM
*purring* aDORable write, jackie; truly enjoyed!~ (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in america, karen lynn in texas. :D

Cats Toys (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/31/2004 8:33:55 AM
Excellent work Jackie!! Love Tinka

Cats Toys (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/31/2004 7:39:33 AM
Beautiful poem to our humorous and inquisitive and loving feline friends, Jackie. Like Dani's cat, my five simply became ecstatic when I happened to leave an empty cardboard box lying on the floor. Each of them couldn't wait to explore it. Now, I have empty boxes scattered about all over the place. Drives Rebecca mad!!!!

Cats Toys (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/31/2004 7:34:02 AM
I see this every day with the 2 fur balls I have. I'm keeping this one. Good work! Gary

Cats Toys (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/31/2004 7:18:26 AM
A wonderful acrostic to your feline pals. Well said and written and I agree with Pamela re the toys.

Cats Toys (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/31/2004 7:16:13 AM
Great acrositc! If a person ever forgets what it is like to be a child......just watch a cat in paly. Great write!

I Want! (Poetry) - 1/31/2004 7:14:52 AM
Another wonderful look into the world of our cats.....Sammy Jo is a lucky lady indeed and I know you and Jim feel lucky to her her and your other "furry kids" in your world!

Cats Toys (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/31/2004 7:12:49 AM
Ah yes! The world through cats' eyes! I've always been amused at the expense we "keepers of the feline" go to buying toys for our furry friends when in reality, a piece of string, or plastic thimble, or wad of paper satisfies them just as much. This is one of the best Acrostics I've seen Jackie and of course I LOVE the subject matter. Well done my friend......as usual!

Cats Toys (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/31/2004 7:11:23 AM
Great wordplay here, Jackie. is that a picture of your cat? Loved the poem.

Cats Toys (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/31/2004 7:00:14 AM
I love cats I have four...five really, but one doesn't live with me ;) this is great....my cat's best toy is a cardboard box.. you did a wonderful job with this....This is just what they are really like....Ty, Dani

Snow Ball Fight (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/30/2004 3:04:22 PM
(((jackie))) *whiff* i ducked :) but what a creative chilly write! first stanza, third line, did you mean "ruckus?" (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

Snow Ball Fight (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/30/2004 7:06:22 AM
nice poem

Snow Ball Fight (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/30/2004 5:37:01 AM
Enjoyed reading this..warmer reading than out doing...my kids are loving the snow!!! Best wishes Andrea

Snow Ball Fight (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/29/2004 10:45:33 PM
Enjoyed this much!!!

Snow Ball Fight (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/28/2004 6:34:35 PM
LOL snowball fights are fun :-) Wonderful uplifting write!

Snow Ball Fight (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/28/2004 6:06:50 PM
Well done very creative enjoyed much William

Snow Ball Fight (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/28/2004 4:46:12 PM
Pam - I won by default I believe, Jim cheated, he ducked!!!! Ed - You'd better watch out, remember David and Goliath. My aim is generally very accurate, I usually get them into the left ear!!!! Jackie <> <

Snow Ball Fight (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/28/2004 4:15:50 PM
OK, Jackie. I have my super duper Atlantic shooting sling shot set up - here comes one at ya! (It will be there tomorrow.) Very nice poem!

Snow Ball Fight (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/28/2004 1:31:01 PM
What a wonderful acrostic poem Jackie! These aren't easy to do but you certainly did a real winner.....wish our snow here was "snowball" type but it's fine and powdery and not wet enough for a decent snowball fight!!! So now I have to know - did you or Jim "win" the fight???????

Snow Ball Fight (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/28/2004 12:34:57 PM
"Snow Ball Fight (Acrostic)" - I enjoy this acrostic! It is a composition if free verse that flows wonderfuly. Thank You, Sublime Poet, for being a bricklayer in the building of the tower of Grace and wonders! Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Snow Ball Fight (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/28/2004 11:24:47 AM
Most excellently written Jackie!! Love Tinka

Snow Ball Fight (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/28/2004 10:55:40 AM
Wonderful and inspiring AND descriptive. Good to see you posting again. It's been awhile.

Snow Ball Fight (Acrostic) (Poetry) - 1/28/2004 10:35:01 AM
Excellent Jackie. We in the North East have plenty of ammunition we would be glad to get rid of

Meadowlark (Poetry) - 1/28/2004 7:35:09 AM
Such nice imagery, rhyme and flow.

Meadowlark (Poetry) - 1/27/2004 2:30:08 AM
what a joy to read.....I feel the sun shinning on me now...or is that a flush..... Nothing like a birds sweet song to make you smile, even if it that flippen blackbirdon my fence outside bedroom at 5am. Jackie I just love to read your poetry, this is another bobby dazzler.

Meadowlark (Poetry) - 1/26/2004 9:25:40 PM
Stunning work excellent.

Meadowlark (Poetry) - 1/26/2004 4:35:46 PM
Lovely Jackie.....makes me want Spring to hurry up and get here!

Meadowlark (Poetry) - 1/26/2004 10:50:41 AM
Beautiful poem Jackie!! Love Tinka

Meadowlark (Poetry) - 1/26/2004 9:42:33 AM
Nice write, Jackie! Enjoyed~ WINTER?? WHAT winter?? We really haven't HAD A winter here in Texas! :( (Case in point: Saturday, the HIGH here was a balmy 74 degrees..in JANUARY, yet! Something DOES NOT add up here...) (((HUGS))) and much love, your (snow-starved) friend in America, Karen Lynn in Texas. :)

Meadowlark (Poetry) - 1/26/2004 7:55:21 AM
Beautiful write!

Meadowlark (Poetry) - 1/26/2004 7:53:09 AM
This song bird is not seen in the skies of Africa, I guess. But the way you said the words makes me feel watching a meadowlark trilling above my head. well written, Jackie. i enjoyed reading

Meadowlark (Poetry) - 1/26/2004 7:39:51 AM
Such an uplifting poem about one of our more lovely feathered friends. Made me feel good.

Meadowlark (Poetry) - 1/26/2004 7:34:02 AM
Lovely poem, Jackie - to both Spring and the merry Meadowlark - a very lovely bird. Thanks for warming me up this morning; it's bitterly cold here, with more snow - again.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.