AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Regina Pounds, iCheryl Wright, iWynn Schiller, iPinckney Rivers, iBeth Trissel, iAndrew Updegrove, iTonya Kinzer, i
 
Home > Dennis De Rose
 

Recent Reviews for Dennis De Rose


Phantoms of Rockwood by Julius Thompson- a YA (Book) - 8/2/2013 11:57:54 AM
If you are looking to purchase this book in e or trade format, contact Julius Thompson (EDWARDTHOM.MAIL.COM). The book is currently being republished with a facelift, a new title and a new cover. The fantastic story is still the same and waiting for you to enjoy!

A Promise of Forever by MaryEllen Brady (Book) - 6/22/2012 7:17:49 PM
MaryEllen Brady has written a real page turner. I just finished reading this book but please don't tell anyone; it's our little secret. I've always been told that guys don't read romances. Whoever said that was wrong. I like other genres, don't get me wrong, but when I saw this book I just had to give it a shot. And I'm sure glad I did. 'A Promise of Forever', what a fantastic title. To me, this book has everything in it that a good romance could have-of course there is sex, but it's not raw and it's done tastefully; all the human emotions are there as well-there's love and lust, anger, extreme happiness, heaps of jealousy for sure, the bonds of friendship (the for life kind), the love of family. It's all there. I don't know if being stubborn is a human emotion but that's in there too; after all, aren't we all a bit stubborn at times. Everyone can relate to this book in some form or fashion; I know I did. I won't tell you the story line because I don't believe in ruining that for any reader. But I would encourage you to read this book; it's really very well-written. I'll let you in on another little secret. I recently met the author and I think she's a wonderful lady; she's genuine and kind-hearted and her personality is reflected in her writing; that's another thing that makes this such a great book. And the editing is just fantastic. I'm a stickler when it comes to the English language and believe me, I looked and I couldn't find any mistakes. I hear through the grapevine that she's in the process of writing two more books. And if they're anything like 'A Promise of Forever', I'm afraid I'm going to have to read those as well. And I'll probably write another review but whatever you do, don't tell anyone I read these books. If the guys find out, I'll never live it down. Do yourself a favor, relax with a cool drink and read MaryEllen's book today. You`ll be glad you did.

CONTAINER 4 DEATH by GREGORY RANDALL (Book) - 4/22/2011 6:44:56 PM
Way to go Greg. What a great page turner...

MEXICAN MADNESS by ANDREW RAFKIN (Book) - 4/22/2011 6:44:06 PM
This is a fantastic story. I know...I edited it.You rock Rafkin!

Diary of a Six-Year-Old (Short Story) - 10/10/2013 1:55:19 PM
I think the reason why Mikey calls my Grandpa, Grandpa, is because Great Grandpa sounds so old. When talking to my Great Grandparents I always called them Grandma and Grandpa. When talking to others I called them my Great Grandparents.

Diary of a Six-Year-Old (Short Story) - 10/9/2013 7:22:17 PM
It is a sweet story. What a bright child, so full of curiosity! I have one question that I think is relevant. What is your audience?

Diary of a Six-Year-Old (Short Story) - 10/8/2013 8:07:01 AM
It's cute and I like the point of view from a six year old. Hope it develops along!!! KP

Diary of a Six-Year-Old (Short Story) - 10/1/2013 8:55:46 PM
Sweet story, love it Patrice

Diary of a Six-Year-Old (Short Story) - 9/30/2013 4:43:35 AM
Hi Dennis Referring to the 9/25 entry. I was lost about the "bill" also, but just saw your 9/28 comment to Ron. The story is cute! I love kids stories. Most are in my IQ range. ☺ Seriously though, since this is a "Review it!" box. Are we not supposed to write in such a way the reader has to stop and reread the same sentence, trying to make sense out of it? I realize a 6 year old, is not going to know about genealogical references. However, remembering back to when I was a little tyke, while a couple of my great-grandparents were alive. I still referred to them as GreatUmma's. Also, young children often strongly clarify which set of Grandparents they are referring to. In my case it was Grandma D, or Umma, for grandma on mom's side. Your following line clarified the question. So there really isn't a problem, except for us analytical types, who stumbled, and had to reread the line a few times for it to sink in. I think what threw me at first was simply. Mikey is in grandpa's (Opa's) office. He recognizes what might be a screen saver on the computer showing, "Your dad, my dad and you." Perfectly clear! It's when I hit the part where he referred to Your Dad as Grandpa, where I hesitated. Is he still referring to the image on the screen, or did he remember his grandpa from the other side of the family. This is where I paused and reread the sentence a few more times. I'm dense enough that it took me a few rereads to figure out the lad meant great-grandpa. That being said, children also refer to family members in the manner in which their parents refer to them. And sometimes these stick also. Everyone, regardless of placement on the family tree, refers to a particular person as Aunt Mary, or another as Mom. It becomes so common that even strangers refer to the person as Aunt Mary. Great Stories! I Love 'em! Dutch

Diary of a Six-Year-Old (Short Story) - 9/30/2013 2:35:25 AM
a fine story budd

Diary of a Six-Year-Old (Short Story) - 9/28/2013 7:57:35 AM
Ron...The backstory is that Mikey won that at the fair. He could have chosen a large prize but he wanted the soft cuddly little fake $50 bill. Is the title OK?

Diary of a Six-Year-Old (Short Story) - 9/28/2013 7:43:49 AM
Sweet. Is that the first $50 dollar bill he ever earned? My grandmother used to give me a quarter for my birthday. I didn't rub it very long before it was spent. Inflation is everywhere. ;-) Ron

Three Reasons Why Writers Must Get to Know Their Editors (Article) - 12/19/2014 5:28:51 PM
If you read this article as it is now, 12/19/14 at 9:15 PM EST, one large block of writing sans paragraph breaks or indentations, that is because the AD editor is probably not compatible with my Word or other programs. I have since turned off the AD editing function and will be able to post the article in its proper format ASAP. Thank you, please come back to read it at your leisure and formatted correctly. Thanks and Happy Holidays, Dennis . Moneysaver Editing

Three Reasons Why Writers Must Get to Know Their Editors (Article) - 12/19/2014 4:58:49 PM
Hey, you didn't follow your own advice. This is one big solid block of writing, and hard for my tired eyes to swim through.

Three Reasons Why Writers Must Get to Know Their Editors (Article) - 12/19/2014 9:14:44 AM
Very good article with great tips for writers seeking editors. The only problem that I see is that the AD editor has messed with your pasted in text and not allowed for proper paragraphs. I don't have that problem, so I've tried to counsel others many times. 1. Try using a special paste from your browser… My browser is Safari and I use "Paste and Match Style." 2. Try turning off the AD editor before pasting. 3. It may be your paste from the latest word.docx. Try posting from .doc, .rtf (Rich text format) or .txt 4. If you have a guest membership, none of these tricks may work. Ron

My comment on DM Yates- Cursive Writing in Schools (Article) - 6/11/2014 7:29:45 AM
I don't think that the nation's independent school districts are controlled by "the government." From what I read in the Yates article, I think that each school is making this decision or not, just like many others that have been made as knowledge grows and the time for teaching children is so short that ways of trying to teach our kids quicker increases. I remember many years ago when my brother complained that his daughters were not being taught the multiplication tables and he did it for them. One daughter has a degree in zoology and the other a master's degree in library science. I'm sure both benefited from knowing how to multiply without using a calculator. Many now don't. I recently looked at a copy of the Declaration of Independence. John Hancock had marvelous cursory writing. Even more marvelous because he probably had to do it with a quill pen and a pot of ink of varying consistency. Most of the other signers were not as such penmanship, including Thomas Jefferson. This inability to write well in cursive writing has always been a problem. I faced it when trying to read essays by my students written in cursive. Let's face it, in spite of typos, spelling, bad grammar, punctuation, and other errors, typing is much easier to read than cursive. Welcome to the 21st century! There will always be those who are verse in writing in Greek, Sanskrit, hieroglyphics, and Chinese. Can I read them? No. Am I glad that someone can? Yes. You are totally right about the "me" generation, but that has also always been true.

My Colonoscopy- a Follow-up (Article) - 4/3/2014 8:48:36 AM
More good information that should be heeded. I don't know what is worse, the news, or those around you, but both can be a source of misleading medical information. We must remember that the news is always seeking out the sensational and therefore everything you see on the news does not particularly apply to you. Friends, family and acquaintances with their anecdotes about what happened to them, etc., do not constitute good medical advice. Nor do quacks who pedal medicine for money. If everyone followed good medical advice like this and engaged in preventive medicine, all of our medical costs would go down in a lot of pain and suffering would disappear. Ron

My colonoscopy 3/20/14 – I have to tell you... (Article) - 3/23/2014 9:51:30 AM
Thanks for the shitty article. It could use a little editing. And I happen to know a guy who does that. ;-) I've had a couple of those colonoscopies without anesthetic. Before that I had something… I can't remember the name of it, but they pumped your intestine full of some kind of white clay that didn't stink but would make a nice x-ray. Unfortunately, that procedure made you feel like you were going to blow up like a suicide bomber and it hurt like the blast had already occurred. Before the procedure, you had to go through 24 hours of pleasant shitting with cod liver oil or some other totally disgusting and painful stuff. Unlike you, my medical center is in Texas where this process is come a long way. I only had to take a lime-tasting soft drink the night before and a suppository to finish the job in the morning. Of course, I was not totally backed up constipated like most Americans my age. When I got to the procedure, I explained to the beautiful young lady about to put me under that "putting me under" caused my paralysis. She and they balked when I told them that. I also told them that because of the paralysis, I was rather insensitive to pain of that type. They agreed. You missed the best part. About five men and women hovered around me, marveling at my lack of discomfort as we all watched the movie of my lower intestine in high definition and brilliant color. They all congratulated me on my courage for having gone through the colon wars without chemical enhancement. I drove to the procedure (my helper was with me but can't drive my system) and drove home, none the worse for wear except that I was a little bit hungry, but not enough to stuff myself like some fools my age. My helper's best memory of the procedure was all the old scared people in the preparation area farting like crazy. Nothing scary about a colonoscopy… except if they find colon cancer. Polyps and hemorrhoids are easily and painlessly removed, so they are no big deal. So, like Dennis, I'm telling you. Get your colon checked if you have any problems or are over 50. Don't gamble with your life. Ron

Promote Yourself, Promote your Books-Start Today! (Article) - 10/15/2013 6:57:15 PM
Thank you for this, Dennis. I will give this a good read tomorrow.

Indy Writer survey- loaded with information for you! (Article) - 10/4/2013 5:26:29 AM
I was one of those who was surveyed. That's how I learned of the survey report and told you. Ron

Why editing is the best Marketing Tool! (Article) - 6/26/2013 7:59:03 AM
This is a very good article that should be read by all authors as you have already stated. I only have difficulty with one part. The amount of editing that the author is suggesting puts most writers out of business. When I checked into editors early on, I found them charging outrageous rates. I have edited a couple of books for free (because I'm not a professional editor) and don't believe that if I charged for the time that I put in, the authors could have afforded it. As result, I rarely mentioned any content changes, except in one case, where I rewrote an entire last chapter and the author liked it better than what he wrote. I was there in the beginning of POD publishing. My overly ambitious publisher, also an author of a novel of some repute, said that he edited two of my books. He also rejected most manuscripts as unworthy of being published. I believe he had good intentions and spent freely the venture capital he had until self-publishing got a bad name and he went under. When I went back and reviewed the two books, I was appalled at the poor job of editing that had been done. I had to re-edit and republish both of them as second editions. Most POD publishing companies are basically the same as the old vanity presses. Except, for the most part, the author doesn't have to buy a lot of books that they have to push for sales. In spite of the volume of self published books out there, the cream always rises to the top. I recall a long time ago reading that BF Skinner had to use a vanity press to publish his first two books. I'm glad that traditional publishing is almost gone, because agents and publishers probably passed up so many “diamonds in the rough” because of their narrow perspective on profit alone. I've had some modest success with my poems, and other authors tend to like my stories and offer suggestions for improvement. My books haven't sold, but some have predicted the future in small ways. Only time will tell… in cyberspace, books can outlast paper and be easily searched. Ron

Why editing is the best Marketing Tool! (Article) - 6/25/2013 7:04:48 PM
To expand a bit...note I mention BEWARE. There is an active lawsuit against some very large publishers. If you are not aware, take the time to learn all you can about it lest you become one of their next unhappy customers.

Thank God for Pearl (Poetry) - 12/13/2013 9:51:47 AM
A fine and respectful tribute, a true gift for Pearl; thank you for sharing, Dennis. Love and blessings, Regis

That`s Chuck, He`s My Friend... (Poetry) - 9/28/2013 8:16:59 AM
This one is quite intriguing, very creative, and interesting. Since you commented, did you write it? The “… He said… I said” gets old very fast. Any revision should eliminate it. Brought back a lot of memories. When we moved in 1954, we were over a mile from the junior high school, so dad took my twin brother and I to the local bicycle shop and bought us brand-new Schwinn bicycles. Roger's was a “new” older model with fat tires, and mine was a new model with medium tires. We always got identical things except for color. These were not the chrome models… His was maroon and mine was dark green. In my senior year in college I wrote my sister's medium sized bicycle all over campus… One of the very few who did. Could drop it nicely into the trunk of my '57 Desoto. Our college was not known for pot, but a six pack of beer for breakfast got most of the guys off to their morning classes. Have been in touch with many old friends and recently called up a few. They have been dying off my directory or simply disappearing when I call or e-mail. Recently reconnected with a friend from 1968. He's alive and well and still living in the same home. Ron

Thank God for Pearl (Poetry) - 9/28/2013 7:56:56 AM
Both you and Pearl have something in common. You are loyal to churchgoing. I am not. I broke free from the church 50 years ago. Whenever I traveled, I made a special point of looking up my great aunts and uncles, as well as my aunts and uncles and cousins, because I valued family ties. Since I lived a long time, I've noticed that many of those family ties have been broken… Not by discord, but by distance, because those people never wandered far from church and town. I did, and kept up with my family, however difficult it was for to drive all those miles and take the time that others didn't. My uncle died recently at 101.7. He told my cousin that he always enjoyed my visits, even though he never visited me and I was only able to get there every five years or so. He and my aunt, long dead, did manage to drive 50 miles in 8 inches of snow after milking the cows when I was married 30 years ago. Ron

How Hard Could it Be? a poem for my dad and for me (Poetry) - 6/26/2013 4:40:36 PM
Dennis, I read your poem- How Hard Could It Be? I thought of something you said to me when we talked on the phone. I remember you saying that losing your dad felt like your heart wrenched out and then stomped on and then kicked, then stomped on again-it was something close to this-actually it was better. You know, I thought to myself, ‘’wow, such a genuine and honest response from someone who I’m speaking with for the first time.’’ I couldn’t express it, but you saying this helped me to immediately trust you. My life is about my boys because my biological father left to never return and my step-father was indifferent at best. I had my grandfather, though. A DutchmanSmile I haven’t had a genuinely emotional response to something written in a long time. This poem, just landed home! So, well written. Jim

How Hard Could it Be? a poem for my dad and for me (Poetry) - 11/9/2012 4:06:55 PM
Ron...Thank you. My DAD was special for sure. It`s been 3 whole weeks already and I think about him all the time. I miss him so very much. It`s funny how, when you`re a kid, you think your DAD will live forever. I grew up and I realized that I was wrong. I only wish I could have retired and had the time to go on trips with my mom and DAD. Alas I will retire in January. But my DAD had a massive heart attack 27 years ago so we were lucky that he was with us for that long.I realize that but it doesn`t make it any easier. I am planning to write a story about my DAD after I retire, including stories from my whole family. Thanks again Ron....D

How Hard Could it Be? a poem for my dad and for me (Poetry) - 11/4/2012 10:05:16 AM
A beautiful, “a life in the life of.” And a beautiful tribute to Dad. Ron

While Reading by Terry Kay (Poetry) - 6/16/2012 12:28:46 PM
Brilliant writing. I wish I had read those writers, dreamers of men, but I haven't them all. I am out spinning my own tales on the wings of none. Ron

Thank God for Pearl (Poetry) - 5/6/2012 3:09:39 PM
This is what my Aunt Juday had to say about "Pearl"...Dear Den... Thank You...That is so beautiful and I love it... But it brought tears to my eyes ... talking about Grandma... Love you and keep up the good work, Love Aunt Judy

Thank God for Pearl (Poetry) - 4/24/2012 6:23:16 AM
A beautiful tribute to an inspiration in your life. I hope Pearl will see what you've written. Donna

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.