AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Peter Oszmann, iStacey Chillemi, iCarol Fowler, iJ.E. Thompson, iTianna Xander, iJean-Pierre Gregoire, iGrant Dickinson, i
 
Home > James Johnston
 

Recent Reviews for James Johnston


A Chance Meeting (Short Story) - 12/26/2011 7:56:28 AM
It is so nice to have you back Jim! Chance meetings can be wonderful and yours seems to have turned out nicely for you. I am looking forward to further installments. Hugs, Joy

A Chance Meeting (Short Story) - 12/26/2011 3:50:45 AM
Welcome back, Jim! You've been missed! And Merry Christmas!! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Texas, Karen Lynn. :D

The Family Farm (Short Story) - 10/1/2011 7:42:50 AM
Wonderful memories, James. they need to be preserved.

The Family Farm (Short Story) - 8/2/2011 5:35:12 PM
what a beautiful story and the photo reminds me of one similar that hung above my grandmother's piano. keep creating- jch

The Family Farm (Short Story) - 7/24/2011 7:50:29 AM
Great nostalgic writing, James; well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Burleson, Texas, Karen Lynn. :D

The Family Farm (Short Story) - 7/23/2011 9:15:43 AM
Oh, what a wonderful trip down the memory lane of a family farmhouse that was filled with love, good food and family traditions! Your account sounds much like the "Waltons" farmhouse in the TV show of the 80's. Thanks for the nostalgic trip! Joy L. Hale

Cleaning House (Poetry) - 2/10/2012 2:13:39 AM
I'm back!

A Plea for Patience (Poetry) - 11/7/2011 3:44:09 PM
We can't live well together when we have to tiptoe around each other, afraid to let feelings show. On the other hand, we need to focus on the other person, instead of our pain, which often controls our moods. Keep being patient with each other...you're both trying, and you are learning and growing together (yes, even at this age!) God bless you both. Both your poem and Marjorie's comments below reveal two very special, loving individuals. Both are an inspiration! Connie

Alone And Scared (Poetry) - 11/7/2011 3:39:14 PM
I was very touched by this poem. Couldn't help but breathe a quiet "Wow" when I came to the end. Connie

Alone And Scared (Poetry) - 10/11/2011 6:56:41 PM
A wonderful, insightful poem shared by one of your relatives; I very much enjoyed this offering. Smacks of such truth! Joy L. Hale

Alone And Scared (Poetry) - 10/11/2011 7:22:31 AM
A lot of hard truths in this one Jim. I'm guessing you were pretty close to the fire. Nicely done. Thanks Dick

A Chosen Vessel or Floating Ship? (Poetry) - 10/8/2011 10:29:25 AM
Terrific Christ led poetry!

Hearing Again (Poetry) - 9/21/2011 2:22:54 AM
Excellent news and poem.

Hearing Again (Poetry) - 9/17/2011 6:53:27 AM
So very wonderful to hear!! Joy L. Hale

Hearing Again (Poetry) - 9/14/2011 5:29:04 PM
A modern miracle! So happy for her! Blessings, Christine

Hearing Again (Poetry) - 9/14/2011 6:05:24 AM
Truly wonderful news and such a miracle for your sister to hear again a great poem indeed Laura

Hearing Again (Poetry) - 9/13/2011 7:46:09 AM
Great to hear (pun intended)! So happy for your sister! Well done!

Hearing Again (Poetry) - 9/13/2011 3:40:38 AM
Wonderful news! Modern miracles are here to stay.

Tribute to My Friend Joy (Poetry) - 9/11/2011 7:14:13 PM
What a nice thing to write for your friend! We all need someone like that in our writing lives. Nice work.

Tribute to My Friend Joy (Poetry) - 9/10/2011 12:34:31 PM
A wonderful tribute,and beautiful poetry. Continued success~ Barbara J. Henry

Tribute to My Friend Joy (Poetry) - 9/9/2011 5:23:26 PM
A fine tribute, James; and a fine subject to have to break the writer's block. Love and blessings, Regis

Tribute to My Friend Joy (Poetry) - 9/9/2011 6:22:31 AM
Jim, Thank you for your kind words; it has always been my pleasure to know you and to be your friend and mentor. I hope to be back on the den soon as a writer and reviewer, until then I wish you many wonderful reviews on all of your work. Love & Blessings, Joy

Tribute to My Friend Joy (Poetry) - 9/8/2011 7:31:15 PM
Lady Joy so deserving of your tribute! ~James~ Always to be Your Forever Friend!! Lady Vivian

Tribute to My Friend Joy (Poetry) - 9/8/2011 3:58:09 AM
A wonderful tribute for a dear lady...well done James. fee

Tribute to My Friend Joy (Poetry) - 9/7/2011 4:31:19 PM
A beautiful tribute to a beautiful lady! Just remember that I knew her first. I'm so glad that the love of poetry (and the mutual love of a very undeserving old-er lady) has sealed a bond between us. Thanks, Jim, for a great job, you make me proud!; and thanks, Joy, for loving us. Marge (Sis)

Tribute to My Friend Joy (Poetry) - 9/7/2011 12:40:58 PM
Great news. Joy is certainly a joy. I hope she will be back with us soon.

Tribute to My Friend Joy (Poetry) - 9/7/2011 12:19:53 PM
JJ I'm far too superstitious to think that one conquest would constitute a cure, but the evidence is before us. I pronounce you cured. My compliments to you and to Joy. Please tell her I said hi. Thanks JPD

A Plea for Patience (Poetry) - 9/7/2011 11:06:26 AM
As we get older our circle of friends and relatives who can relate to our lifes grows smaller or so it seems, so to have a sister, brother, cousin etc who is close means so much. Sadly we also have our little annoyances and pains that sometimes cause us to do or say things we regret. Luckily you and your sister have love and know how to ask for and give forgiveness. Good write James. fee

A Plea for Patience (Poetry) - 9/7/2011 6:45:39 AM
NOT!NOT!NOT!! IF YOU USED LANGUAGE LIKE POLITICIANS USE--THAT'S ABUSE. I KNOW YOU'RE IN GREAT PAIN, BUT IT DOESN'T KEEP YOU FROM SEEING TO MY EVERY COMFORT. I KNOW I WOULD TRY THE PATIENCE OF JOB WITH MY FORGETFULNESS AND OTHER ANNOYANCES. I WOULDN'T TRADE YOU FOR ALL THE OTHER BROTHERS IN THE WORLD. ACTUALLY, ONE IS ENOUGH AND YOU'RE STUCK WITH ME. REMEMBER, WE'VE BEEN TOGETHER 83 YEARS (YOU WERE AROUND 18 MONTHS WITHOUT ME!). I'LL KEEP YOU IF YOU'LL KEEP ME,OK? YOUR L'IL SIS

A Plea for Patience (Poetry) - 9/7/2011 6:00:29 AM
JJ, at least it's a start. My humble opinion? Now you need to sit down across from her and say it to her face. Sincerity shows in the eyes. JPD

A Plea for Patience (Poetry) - 9/7/2011 4:07:17 AM
Maybe this little mea culpa will make thing right . . .

Cleaning House (Poetry) - 8/24/2011 10:21:01 AM
My goodness, Jim, that's a great journey of the imagination, from your room to the sad state of the world. But I can definitely see the connection. Heck, if you could only see my desk... I agree with you - strong countries like yours suddenly seem to be on the back foot, and poor little Britain, with its once great empire, feels like a very small bit player these days. Your meter is very strong throughout, which makes the poem a pleasure to read. I love it when things scan well. The only line that I had to work a little bit harder on was the last one. But - I am learning that you folks in the States often pronounce things differently from we Brits. So if you say "ruining" with two syllables fine, but I instinctively hear it with three. If you hear it the same, then you might try simply removing the word "dear", which then leaves the line with the same meter as the other final lines. A lovely sense of immediacy, and feeling alongside the writer in this poem. Best wishes Sally

My Solemn Resolve (Poetry) - 8/18/2011 7:37:03 PM
Let's make a deal, brother! I'll stay around for you if you'll stay around for me, deal? You have given me so much joy, most of the time, for 83 years--thank you for that. I love you, respect you and admire you for your many talents and your "stickability" in each endeavor. Just keep on getting better, you hear? I love you back, Sis

Cleaning House (Poetry) - 8/18/2011 7:28:33 PM
Thank you for these words that need to be etched in the mind of each person who enjoys the freedom that our great nation offers! I pray that future generations of Americans will embrace the patriotic, love of God and Country that has kept the United States of America free and strong! Words well written and much needed! M Baker

Cleaning House (Poetry) - 8/18/2011 6:34:19 PM
Your heart and mind is filled with passion and our power is in the vote... Be always safe, Karen

My Solemn Resolve (Poetry) - 8/14/2011 6:06:26 AM
Jim, your lovely poem has brought a lump to my throat - genuinely. Absolutely beautiful. And I am a person of no particular religious belief, so I don't make this comment simply because I share your faith. I don't think I have read many tributes to a sister as moving as this. What a wonderful support you must be to each other. You sound such a positive, forward looking gentleman. As we discussed, may I mention two tiny points that occurred to me as I read: Throughout the poem the meter is superb, though in this line I think you might lose the word "For" to make it consistent. (For) the blessing of His one and only Son. And toward the end, I wasn't sure about the choice of "injected". If it's a word with a specific religious use, then please ignore. But I wondered if there might be a possible tweak that would sound slightly less medical, eg And meet with Him inside His holy fold. (I am sure you can come up with something better than my suggestion!) I am so glad you pointed me in the direction of this poem Jim. An uplifting tonic after all the dreadful news we have recently been reading here in the UK. My best wishes to you and your sister. Sally

A Chosen Vessel or Floating Ship? (Poetry) - 8/6/2011 5:17:52 AM
James, Very powerful and inspirational poem, one everyone should read. Many blessings, ~Linda

The Wind (Poetry) - 8/6/2011 5:15:19 AM
James, I hope Ashley will keep writing and share her gift with the world in her adult life as well as now. She is precious. Many blessings, ~Linda

Solace from Above (Poetry) - 7/22/2011 6:55:44 PM
Lovely poetic thoughts. jch

A Chosen Vessel or Floating Ship? (Poetry) - 7/22/2011 6:54:29 PM
a meaningful poem, a meaningful memory, meaningful lives...then and now. thanks for sharing, jch

Beside the Still Waters (Poetry) - 7/22/2011 6:46:11 AM
Thanks, Jim! Recognition of this dear lady is long overdue.

A Chosen Vessel or Floating Ship? (Poetry) - 7/22/2011 6:41:03 AM
Jim, I know our sister, Pearle, would be so pleased that you honored her by posting this poem she penned so many years ago! I also know that she would be proud of her "little brother". Thanks, Sis

The Wind (Poetry) - 7/22/2011 6:34:46 AM
Precious Ashley, I'm so very proud of you-I always have been-now, I owe you an apology. When I came across your poem, that you sent me so many years ago, I read it and said, WOW! I confess, and apologize! You see, when you wrote it, Grandma didn't get it! You were way ahead of "my time". As I look back, I look at you, and I GET IT, and I love it! You are so talented and I'm proud of you for choosing to use your wonderful singing and acting abilities to bring joy to others. I love you, Grandma

The Wind (Poetry) - 7/21/2011 2:32:42 PM
For an 11 year old girl, Ashley had a wonderful and creative mind; an engaging write from a precious free spirited young woman! Thanks for sharing this, Jim. Joy L. Hale

A Chosen Vessel or Floating Ship? (Poetry) - 7/20/2011 8:52:47 PM
What a wonderful treasure to be found here! Very inspirational!

A Chosen Vessel or Floating Ship? (Poetry) - 7/17/2011 9:49:03 AM
A wonderful and inspirational writing by Pearl, who has a deep understanding of our Lord! Thanks for sharing, Jim. Joy L. Hale

Friends Forever (Poetry) - 7/16/2011 4:16:56 AM
Life is always so much richer when we meet a new friend. Joy L. Hale

Beside the Still Waters (Poetry) - 7/14/2011 5:55:42 PM
Such comforting words; one need not fear when he/she delves into this reassuring scripture. Beautiful offering, Jim. Joy L. Hale

Beside the Still Waters (Poetry) - 7/14/2011 5:28:32 AM
very nicely done.

Beside the Still Waters (Poetry) - 7/13/2011 8:39:31 PM
Beautiful, thank you for sharing In Christs Love Michelle~

Let God Help (Poetry) - 7/12/2011 9:58:55 PM
Keep 'em coming, Jim, you're doing great! Thanks for using the Lighthouse--He truly is our Lighthouse. Love you, Sis

Sharing the Dread (Poetry) - 7/12/2011 9:55:17 PM
Those days changed both our lives. We had met at Scott & White Clinic in Temple, TX for a diagnosis. When we left, you drove North to Longview and I drove West to Bandera to pack and move to be near you. It seems that so much of our lives have been a blend of the best of times and the worst of times. And the good times just keep on coming. Job well done! Sis

Life's Cycles (Poetry) - 7/12/2011 9:40:17 PM
I'm glad we both stuck around to enjoy these golden days. Granted, some of the days get a little tarnished by pain, but you are right, we are having great times in our new life, enjoying all your new accomplishments. When I read some of your words, I think, "shades of dad!" Both he and mother would be so proud of you. They were always proud of all our successes, large and small. We miss them, don't we? Thanks for adding the picture of your old/younger sister and niece on our postage-stamp back porch. Sis

Solace from Above (Poetry) - 7/12/2011 9:28:45 PM
A beautiful, fitting tribute to Marlene who has become very special to each of us. I know, she was your friend first! I'm glad you decided to share her friendship. She is truly a remarkable lady with a caring and generous heart. We are twice blessed! Well done. Sis

Angel on Earth (Poetry) - 7/12/2011 7:50:18 PM
Wonderful tribute to your niece James. Seems you've been a great influence to her life and your sister and you are being rewarded by your kindness and love for her. Love it. George AKA THE WISE OLD OWL

Solace from Above (Poetry) - 7/12/2011 7:45:12 PM
That was very kind of you to write about your friend in such a godly helpful way. Great job on your poem. Very well penned. George ALA THE WISE OLD OWL

Life's Cycles (Poetry) - 7/12/2011 1:36:34 PM
A tender and loving poem about living fully in the good times, with assurance that the less favorable times will soon pass. Jim, this is an inspiratioal read, thanks for sharing. Joy L. Hale My emails aren't going through yet?

Sharing the Dread (Poetry) - 7/7/2011 8:26:03 PM
Excellent message and one we all need to be reminded of. Thank you for sharing this personal poem.

Sharing the Dread (Poetry) - 7/7/2011 6:07:12 PM
Thank you for sharing this dread from your heart and influencing all of us to take heed and take care of ourselves. Praise God that the outcome was positive; all is and will be in Gods timing. A heartfelt write from someone who has "been there and done that!" God's blessings, Joy L. Hale

Sharing the Dread (Poetry) - 7/7/2011 5:34:48 PM
Wow! I can surely sense the indecision, dread, and doubt, but glad the outcome "in God's hands" was a good one. So who won the shopping cart race? God bless... Be always safe, Karen

My Second Miracle (Poetry) - 7/6/2011 7:15:29 AM
So beautiful and endearing.

My Second Miracle (Poetry) - 7/2/2011 7:49:56 PM
This poem unfolds so beautifully to fill your readers hearts with sighs and oh, yes...tears. A wonderful, revealing look into the heart of a man who has loved much and suffered often. Well done, my friend. Joy L. Hale

My Second Miracle (Poetry) - 7/2/2011 12:36:07 AM
A very touching poem, James. I think you handle such an emotional subject with great skill, keeping your words fairly short, thus enabling the reader to read between the lines and apply their own emotions and experiences. Thank you for sharing. Sally

My Second Miracle (Poetry) - 7/1/2011 10:19:20 PM
Jim, As I read your words and your poetry, I relived that time with you. I remembered our shared joy and the agony we all endured when another little girl was torn from our arms and our lives. I'm humbled and thankful that God has blessed us with this time to enjoy your daughters. I'm so proud of the way you are using your God-given talent to honor your family. I'm glad I'm your little sister. I'm also glad that God let me live to enjoy this person that Mother always knew you to be. I wish she were here to share this time in our lives~~somehow, I believe she is! What's next? I wonder. Sis

Our Last Home on Earth (Poetry) - 6/26/2011 11:12:37 AM
This and other of your poems just make me say "Awwww" inside. You will be a blessing in Waterford, a blessing that's sorely needed by residents who have no one to care. Connie

Always Remember (Poetry) - 6/26/2011 11:09:20 AM
You both glow with the love of the Lord. How wonderful that you can be so close, and also share His gift of salvation. Connie

Number One (Poetry) - 6/26/2011 11:06:04 AM
I love the way you relate this "story with a happy ending." Praise God that you now know each other! Connie

Number One (Poetry) - 6/25/2011 4:54:26 AM
Wonderful is our God,James, His kindness is second to none. Let's give Him praise forever.

Number One (Poetry) - 6/24/2011 7:18:00 PM
I'm so glad that I had the opportunity to share in this reunion. As usual you found just the right words to express this happening. What a joy it is to be able to spend time with our daughters. Thanks for sharing the unhappy times as well as the joyous reunion. Love, Sis

Number One (Poetry) - 6/24/2011 6:14:29 PM
Such loving sentiments about your precious daughter, Carol. Your feelings about her shine through your words as a beacon of light. A wonderful poem of overcoming obstacles and love shown to you as you grow older. Wonderful, inspirational words that are well penned. Joy L. Hale

Let God Help (Poetry) - 6/22/2011 9:59:54 AM
A lovely, uplifting poem for a friend: leading one in faith is our great reward as Christians. Well done, My friend. Joy L. Hale

Always Remember (Poetry) - 6/22/2011 8:45:51 AM
This is a beautifully written poem for your sister that comes straight from the heart. A tribute for Marge; well done, well penned. One can see the love you two share together... thanks for sharing your thoughts with us also. Joy L. Hale

Always Remember (Poetry) - 6/22/2011 8:21:44 AM
A very loving and fitting tribute to a dearly beloved sister. What a nice poem -Thanks for sharing!

Our Last Home on Earth (Poetry) - 6/22/2011 7:27:14 AM
Knowing the entire story and the trials you two went through, I am so pleased that you are now settled at the Waterford, have friends, a church. The most important thing is that you and Marge are HAPPY! Thanks for sharing your touching poem with us here . AD, I wish you continued peace and happiness. God Bless, Joy

Angel on Earth (Poetry) - 6/21/2011 8:49:42 PM
Thanks,Jim, for this beautiful tribute to my my daughter! We three are truly blessed to have one another. You share the kudos for Margie Jo because of the influence you had in her growing-up years. You are a wonderful brother to me, uncle to her and just a great person. Mom and Dad would be so proud of you! Sis

Always Remember (Poetry) - 6/21/2011 8:37:45 PM
Yes, my precious brother, I will always remember! Thank you, so much, for your beautiful thoughts. I am so blessed to have you for my brother and my best friend. We are not only brother and sister by birth, but we are also brother and sister in Christ. I love you with all the love I have to give. God bless us and keep us together as long as we live. Sis

Let God Help (Poetry) - 6/21/2011 5:51:45 AM
"The Lord is good, His mercy endures forever." I was blessed to read this and I'm thankful for all the declarations you made in this poem. I agree with you in Jesus' Name. Amen!

Let God Help (Poetry) - 6/21/2011 5:12:46 AM
"Let God Help", that's what we should always do, James.

Angel on Earth (Poetry) - 6/21/2011 4:54:05 AM
James, Beautiful!!! She will certainly have a reward in Heaven for all she does. It sounds like she works tirelessly for others, a true angel in our midst. A beautiful dedication to a beautiful lady. Many blessings, ~Linda

Let God Help (Poetry) - 6/21/2011 4:49:49 AM
James, God is always with us, a beautiful tribute to friend. Jesus has been by my side nearly all my life. Many blessings, ~Linda

Angel on Earth (Poetry) - 6/18/2011 3:42:45 PM
Knowing Margie Jo personaly, I know what a true angel she is here on earth. A fitting tribute to a wonderful, caring lady. Well penned and lovingly presented. Joy L. Hale

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.