AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
Happy 4th of July!
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Nancy Jardine, iAnn Marquette, iBelle Ami, iWendy Laing, iMike Monahan, iJansen Estrup, iPeter Oszmann, i
 
Home > Floyd M. Orr
 

Recent Reviews for Floyd M. Orr


The Last Horizon: Feminine Sexuality & The Class System (Book) - 7/13/2008 1:33:33 PM
In The Last Horizon, Floyd M. Orr states what everybody knows, but nobody wants to admit: your physical attractiveness is the single most important factor for social success in America. Our society is celebrity-mad and consumer-driven. A constant barrage of advertisement tells us what to think, how to act, and what we want. And the majority of middle class Americans are content to stay in the herd, conforming to behaviors that were designed for us by a social system of pecking order which this author, calls The Class System. Not to be confused with an economic class system, this Class System is a social hierarchy based on a person’s family background, educational status, but most of all by physical attractiveness. You learn your place on the social ladder early, in childhood or adolescence, and once you are placed, your status will not change. Mr. Orr identifies four different classes in the System, each with its own distinguishing characteristics, typical behaviors, and personality types. He can even predict your political affiliation based on your “Class.” Mr. Orr calls his book “A Detailed Analysis of the Obvious.” He makes statements that are not politically correct, but true nonetheless. Once you read The Last Horizon, you can never un-read it. You will find yourself applying his Class System designations to people you know and suddenly understanding the social dynamics of your work place. Although the book claims that it is written for women who want to stop getting involved with jerks and narcissists, it is far more than a dating manual. It’s a biting commentary on the mores of our society.

The Last Horizon: Feminine Sexuality & The Class System (Book) - 12/29/2007 11:13:00 AM
I am buying your book from Amazon.ca but before I actually read it, I just want to say that I understand the courage it takes to see past the bullshit, make some sense out of it and then write it down on paper in hopes that others might get it too. I applaud that quality and appreciate it. Freedom from social illusions is the greatest freedom of all.

The Last Horizon: Feminine Sexuality & The Class System (Book) - 6/10/2003 11:16:24 AM
interesting premise

The Last Horizon: Feminine Sexuality & The Class System (Book) - 11/12/2002 9:03:00 AM
Good to see someone else who's been "Illuminated". What you're saying here is probably (sadly) true. The title seems to offer two totally different concepts, though. Best, K.K.

Elvis the Pelvis (Short Story) - 7/16/2005 3:32:54 AM
Yep. Elvis changed the world. Who can ever forget the early ones, "Milkcow Boogie Blues," or "Mystery Train," or, . . . well, you get the picture.

Elvis the Pelvis (Short Story) - 7/6/2005 9:01:40 AM
i loved elvis too. wonderful write, floyd! :)

Attention POD Authors Seeking Reviews (Article) - 5/26/2008 7:17:19 AM
Hi Floyd, Nice article. Just dropped by to say I too have just been published by iUniverse Inc. My book's title is "Days of the Unicorn King" (a'fantasy'novella)12+ (some violence)

Book Sales 2006 (Article) - 11/12/2006 6:41:45 PM
interesting! I applaud your efforts in encouraging people to write!

iUniverse Book Reviews (Article) - 10/17/2006 1:49:15 PM
This sounds like a great service but why only IUniverse books? Could those of us who have produced POD books with other companies also participate? Malcolm Watts

Book Reviews for iUniverse Authors (Article) - 7/12/2006 2:09:28 PM
Only I Can Add Is: 1979 4 Published Published Books-In 1987 I Lost My House,Van, Tools,Belongings ,Other Ended Sleep In My Car Over 5 Months-$60,000 In Hole (Equity House LOf 20 Years) $15,000 Each Book Rest Attorneys Hung Up In Courts 8 Years(No Assets By Publisher) Costs-Think About It...I Lost Everything... In 2000 I Got My 1st Book Re-Published For Free From iUniverse,i.e. They Can't Some How Get My Book Royalties(Minor) Even Direct Deposit Correct Account,i.e. 1980 Great Western Pub's Went Bankrupt-Compared To (Both)$60,000 In Hole,Lost Home, Eveything--iUniverse Pubs--------IT WAS FREE.... TRASK

Book Sales (Article) - 10/6/2005 10:25:59 AM
I am new here and was a little taken-back by Mr. Orr's commentary on Book Sales. My first thought was "Me thinks he doth protest too much" The article had such an angry tone which seems to reflect the defensive attitude of many authors who have used POD technology to get their work into print. Statements such as "The ominous presence is the way that American corporations for more than thirty years have systematically controlled the consuming public for the creation of unfathomable profits" and other "conspiracy" theories regarding the traditional publishing industry, don't serve our industry well. This is, of course, just my own opinion, but what I think the reality of the situation is, is this: There are what I call the Top 5 or 10 "glamorous" professions that 99.9% of the worlds population would like to have. These include: 1.)Rock star 2.)Sports star 3.)Movie star/actor 4.)Published Author, etc., etc.. Not many people ever reach one of these coveted positions by virtue of the very few positions, compared to the millions who wish to hold them. I don't think it's a conspiracy on the part of the traditional publishing industry to hedge out great works by brilliant, yet unknown authors. In fact, the holy grail for a traditional publisher is to find the next JR Rowlings. The sad fact is that there are MANY more want-to-be authors than bookstore shelves could ever hold. And yes it is very competitive - perhaps THE most competitive profession. But, I can tell you for a fact that it is possible. Also, most successful authors didn't go looking for it, they just built (wrote) a better mousetrap. They established themselves as experts in a specific field. In fact, I don't think it is the traditional publishing industry who is snubbing brillant would-be authors; but rather many of the POD services who will publish anything as long as they are paid for it. The logical outcome is a large body of work that is frankly, just awful. When books come from a traditional publisher, while they are not ALL good, they are at least good enough to have made it past the editorial gatekeepers. If you are a person who just simply MUST see your work in print (and I know MANY with this all consuming desire) then by all means go for it. But in my opinion, the only check an author should be signing is the endorsement section on the back. Don't let these POD services get rich off of your dreams.

Lord Satan's Legacy (Article) - 5/4/2005 8:38:16 PM
Wow-- this was good to know...Thank you... very open and straight out to us..... Have a GREAT DAy! Truly-Lady,Sheee *Sheila We have a new Author amidst us now.. check him/her out.. Called- Idon Swallo hmmm.................... Think I will be getting a couple of your books..

Timeline for a Psychotic Nation (Article) - 2/17/2005 3:15:06 PM
2005 The DNC elects Howard screaming memie Dean a known racist to be chairman. So much for fairness. Interesting write but I do predict within five years one will see Walmart start to slide. With Hilary and Bill on the board is it any wonder?

Amazonian Computers (Article) - 12/3/2004 7:42:08 PM
Floyd, Yes, confusing. Especially now that they don't want to stock POD books in the warehouse. Two steps forward, one step back. Cynthia

Lord Satan's Legacy (Article) - 11/29/2004 8:32:45 AM
good questions you raise, floyd. thanks for sharing this thought provoking write!

Lord Satan's Legacy (Article) - 11/28/2004 1:57:17 PM
We may all want to know it but there are better ways of suceeding in this business. Sometimes we just have to keep plugging at it. I don't know if his books would sell better than mine you see that is the point he missed. I believe fully in taking care of my plate and not worrying about what is someone else's. Contempt breeds contempt. However it really is up to read or not read material.

Book Sales (Article) - 2/15/2004 8:34:00 PM
There is much to learn about putting work out there. I liked your article concerning POD publishing.

Book Sales (Article) - 2/14/2004 8:59:48 AM
Well said! When we receive yet another rejection letter from a so-called traditional publisher that states, "...we're concentrating on our established authors," it means only that they want to continue to turn out the junk that they have convinced Americans is the only thing out there. If you're not John Grisham or Robert Ludlum, the traditional houses won't even look at your work. Agents are carbon copies of the publishing houses and they only look for the garbage that they're currently selling. We turn to P.O.D. publishing because we believe in our work and therein lie our problems. The books are more expensive than traditionally published works and there are too many first-time authors who don't see the value of a good copyeditor. I have edited some excellent books that would have received poor reviews and even poorer sales had they been published as they were. I have also bought books as a reader that were embarassing to read because of the spelling and grammatical errors. We must encourage P.O.D. authors, but we must also work to rid the industry of the unedited junk that they publish. Know a P.O.D. author? Volunteer to edit one of his/her books for free if you have those skills. You'll have the pleasure of reading a great book for free and if the author is worth his salt, you'll get mentioned in the book. When the junk comes out of P.O.D., the reputation of books from these publishers will slowly improve. When quality is the result, consumers won't mind paying a higher price per book. Randy

Book Sales (Article) - 1/31/2004 8:54:55 PM
I read this and stared in amazement, you expressed in a few, well chosen words exactly what has been causing the itch in my sub-conscious. I spent some time the other day at a major department store looking at clothes trying to find a "Made in America" label with no success, everything was made by babies in another country. I work in an industry that is rapidly outsourcing to other countries the work that used to be done over here. Where did the middle class go, and why have we let our dream slip away? I'm going to go dig my peanut butter out of the fridge before the elephant eats it too. Thank you for a deeply intuitive look at the slipperly slope we are sending our next generations down. Carol

Book Sales (Article) - 1/22/2004 7:05:42 PM
Your words make sense to me, Floyd. I've seen the U.S. change from quality oriented society in the '50s and '60's (with its own set of problems and less than perfect situations) to a cash flow/debt flow society in the last couple of decades where the only thing that matters to much of our public and the institutions that "serve" them is the numeric speed of money flow. All other values are subordinated. And the pace of the change, unfortunately, is accelerating, racing away from real values. Best regards, Leland

Book Sales (Article) - 1/17/2004 9:41:20 AM
Well written Floyd!! What some people do not realize is there are two types of POD's. The ones that ask you for money to publish your book, and the others who will do the same job never asking for one cent. I have been lucky to have found the latter. There is always the one underlying truth to getting good book sales numbers and that is by word of mouth. If someone likes your book good enough they will tell everyone they know about it. Then it doesn't really matter who published it.

Book Sales (Article) - 1/15/2004 2:03:27 PM
I never knew how serious this matter actually was. I'm glad to have read this. I'm a newly POD author, and this makes me very concerned. I thought the reason for the sluggish sales in my case, were the cause of the book was not yet found in well-known bookstores, or lack of promotion; I didn't know it was an inside business concern. Wow, I have so much to learn. I truely thank you for sharing this. Evelyn O. Simon.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.