AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Anthony Dalton, iKate Saundby, iMaryanne Raphael, iRoxanne Bland, iTom Kitt, iBelle Ami, iPatricia Garber, i
 
Home > Valerie J Amor
 

Recent Reviews for Valerie J Amor


Larsson's Legend (Book) - 10/25/2011 7:15:50 PM
FROM THE FIRST CHAPTER TO THE LAST, THIS MARVELLOUS STORY OF A YOUNG BOY'S JOURNEY TO MANHOOD, HOLDS YOU IN THRALL. THERE IS ADVENTURE, TREACHERY, HEARTBREAK, KINDNESS AND LOVE. THE BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN CHARACTERS EMOTIONALLY ENFOLD YOU INTO THE PAGES AND CARRY YOU ALONG, UNWILLING TO PUT THE BOOK DOWN UNTIL YOU DISCOVER THE OUTCOME. A TRUELY WONDERFUL READ!!

Larsson's Legend (Book) - 9/14/2011 10:14:29 PM
I'd just like to add a review which was kindly done for me by Janette Bannerman. "The author is an artist with paint and brush, and it seems that her God-given talents apply also to words that paint pictures with such skill and clarity that I was totally absorbed in the story.n What an adventure! Everyone has heard the cliche comments: amazing book! Couldn't put it down! Amazing, begs to be read! Well, this book certainly deserves such descriptions. I really enjoyed it." Janette Bannerman, B.A.V.A.Dip.Ed.

Larsson's Legend (Book) - 5/30/2011 6:50:00 AM
Larsson's Legend by Val Amor is the delightful, heart-warming story of young Lars Larsson, who at the age of fourteen runs away from his tyrannical father for life on board ship as a cabin boy. Set in the latter part of the nineteenth century, the story moves from Lars' home in Sweden where his mother farms and his father is a tailor, to London, Liverpool, Ireland and Australia. Lars has many adventures both at sea and on land, adventures which cause him to grow from a boy into a man. Meanwhile, Sarah Kelly, a young mother with a teenage daughter, has to decide whether or not to marry her boss, Alexander Lessing. Alex loves Sarah but his love is not reciprocated, for Sarah's heart belongs to another at home in Ireland. These two stories entertain and intertwine, taking the reader right into the heart of life on board sailing ships in the 1870s, above and below stairs in a large London house, and eventually to the life of pioneers in the “new” country of rugged Australia. Larsson's Legend is full of integrity and love, a gentle, beguiling tale in which the characters are moulded and matured through their experiences, both good and bad. Its glimpses of nineteenth century life in different parts of the world and in different situations are thoroughly realistic, and the characters are alive both through their emotions and their struggles. Just twenty-one chapters long, Larsson's Legend is a perfect read for those dreamy, holiday days of summer and for cold winter nights in front of the fire. I thoroughly enjoyed this first novel by Val Amor, and was sorry when the book finished. I very much hope to see more by Val Amor in this historical genre for which her writing is so well suited.

Tallimba's Triumph (Short Story) - 11/3/2012 8:44:51 PM
Good work, but unclear where the "boards" are. Maybe add some description re what the well consists of. You know what it looks like, but it hasn't made it onto the paper.

Mary Rose and the Frog (Short Story) - 11/3/2012 8:35:16 PM
Cute. Ribbit!

The War Hero (Short Story) - 11/3/2012 8:30:56 PM
Fine work, told in a way that draws the reader through to the end.

The City Slickers (Short Story) - 11/3/2012 8:24:02 PM
Reminiscent of "The Egg and I." Nice story, well told.

Mary Rose and the Frog (Short Story) - 4/22/2012 12:29:04 PM
An interesting story! Sad that you've lost Mary Rose, Valerie!

Mary Rose and the Frog (Short Story) - 4/4/2012 6:41:14 PM
Valerie, A beautiful story thank you for sharing it. Budd

Something Small and White (Short Story) - 2/6/2012 2:31:37 PM
Wow. That was a good yarn. The one sided conversation did go on a bit longer and I found myself skipping down, and there are several typo's. But that's all silly stuff that can be fixed in a quick edit. Overall, I liked the construction and it left me wondering what happened next. It kinda felt like I was eavesdropping on you telling the story of you eavesdropping on someone else.

Something Small and White (Short Story) - 1/22/2012 5:11:59 PM
a few typos, but...goodness i am still smiling...so much truth as sadly...we indeed must be suspicious...or must we? fun story- thanks for sharing.

Something Small and White (Short Story) - 1/18/2012 1:41:56 AM
I'm still chuckling! Good tale, Val.

The Enlightenment of Malory Masters (Short Story) - 1/18/2012 1:38:34 AM
Great story, Val. Many congratulations.

The Enlightenment of Malory Masters (Short Story) - 1/11/2012 8:59:33 AM
Thank you for sharing this beautiful story! Donna

The War Hero (Short Story) - 1/7/2012 8:03:33 AM
Awesome! Kept me guessing right up to the end, and leaves a very good question without being disappointing. Sometimes when endings are ambivalent I fell irritated, but not with this one. Beautifully sewn up. Definitely a five star tale.

Let's be grateful (Short Story) - 10/29/2011 6:01:10 AM
I want to read more about Mary Rose, Val. You've really whetted my appetite.

Let's be grateful (Short Story) - 10/9/2011 4:25:58 PM
you have returned to the carefree days of childhood...in your wonderful memories! Memories...what a miracle!

Let's be grateful (Short Story) - 10/6/2011 10:02:04 AM
This is touching, Valerie..... thanks for helping us see creation through the amazed eyes of a child. Nice.

Tallimba's Triumph (Short Story) - 10/1/2011 7:32:42 AM
Terrific story, Val. Had me sitting on the edge of my seat, willing Tallimba to get Henry out. graphically painted and very authentic. I love it.

The City Slickers (Short Story) - 9/18/2011 6:21:52 AM
Great story, Val. I can just picture you both...

Where Angels Fear to Tread (Short Story) - 9/17/2011 6:01:49 AM
that i am a city gal living now on an acreage...we are here for the beauty of the gardens and after reading your story...glad the only animals with us run faster then me! lol good write

The Last Summer (Short Story) - 7/3/2011 8:13:58 AM
GREAT story! Really exciting even though I had a right idea what the ending might be! Congratulations, Val.

The City Slickers (Short Story) - 6/18/2011 8:28:17 PM
wonderful story. i don't know if i could have eaten my first egg. but..don't know what else i would have done it. frame it? eeks. fun story. thanks for sharing. jch

The Year of the Holly Tree. (Short Story) - 6/17/2011 8:15:30 AM
I've read it all now Val, and it's great. Lovely story, full of feeling and so very true to life. Count me as a fan.

Death in the Bedroom (Article) - 4/28/2012 6:47:59 AM
Good story, Val. (And I'm glad I live in the UK...)

The Benefit of Hind Sight (Article) - 9/18/2011 1:16:09 AM
Having been there and saw that, it was gruesome. Some people already don't believe the holocaust ever happened but in the end we have to forgive but not forget it ever happened. George

Spring (Poetry) - 1/20/2012 6:58:08 AM
I like the way you express new beginnings with your words...that's what I love about Spring...the cold of winter is gone and all things are new. Connie

Autumn (Poetry) - 1/20/2012 6:55:55 AM
Delightful rhyming, Wondrous phrases, Autumn felt in all its phases, Enchanting writing! Sincerely.....Connie

Bitter Wind (Poetry) - 1/17/2012 10:21:29 AM
A FINE TESTAMENT OF YOUR FAITH AND TRUST IN ALMIGHTY GOD! YES...! I AM WITH YOU...HIS DIVINE PROVIDENCE IS THE GUIDE OF MY LIFE. NOW, MIND YOU...I AM FAR FROM PERFECT AND I DO 'STUMBLE' EVERY NOW AND THEN BUT JESUS IS ALL MY HOPE AND STAY AND, AS YOUR WORK INDICATES, NON CAN TAKE US OUT OF HIS HAND! THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Bitter Wind (Poetry) - 1/8/2012 1:13:15 PM
Some may call it a myth, but those who have met Him through His Son have found not only a helping hand, but saving grace, eternity's promise and constant companion. I'm sick today, or I would probably add more... Wonderful writing here! Connie

Bitter Wind (Poetry) - 1/8/2012 8:37:24 AM
I've found that sailing my own ship works for me. Relying on a myth to provide a helping hand seems very primitive in a world opened up by better information than ever before. Ron

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.