AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Gary Caplan, iFlorence Weinberg, iKeith Dyne, iPaul Williams, iRobert Wood, iKalikiano Kalei, iA.J. Mahari, i
 
Home > Ruan Mills Burke
 

Recent Reviews for Ruan Mills Burke


Iron Roses 35 (Short Story) - 2/12/2015 8:14:19 AM
I agree with Jerry. It's been some time since I read the last installment, but as I recall, I thought that Hugh was a major player when I first read about him. Hurry up, I can't wait to see what comes next! Ron

Iron Roses 35 (Short Story) - 2/12/2015 8:04:17 AM
Darcy's life from the beginning to this chapter is subject to more ups and downs than a Shakespearean play. I can actually see this as written as a playright, and then acted out on stage to huge applause.

What Lies Within (Short Story) - 1/8/2015 2:45:12 AM
What an ironic twist! in our view we expect, "The one True love" to be romantic but the narrator amazes us! Excellent. More grease in your elbows, Ruan. Andrew

Iron Roses 34 (Short Story) - 11/17/2014 4:55:37 AM
continued enjoyment with this tale

Iron Roses 34 (Short Story) - 11/14/2014 7:12:09 AM
I have a feeling this admirer will be helping her a lot. She certainly needs a boost right now. Captivating writing, as usual. Ron

Iron Roses 34 (Short Story) - 11/14/2014 5:08:28 AM
. . . and the beat goes on . . . Leave the reader wondering is a well known method of keeping the pages turning, and with the small china doll the mystery deepens.

What Lies Within (Short Story) - 11/13/2014 10:52:25 PM
Another charmer, Ruan. My daughter had an imaginary friend when she was very young. I'll ask her if she ever falls back on that early friendship. She is now the star in her circle of friends. Maybe I was the rat that caused the pain that forced the friendship of her imaginary friend. She's coming in next week. Dare I ask?

What Lies Within (Short Story) - 10/30/2014 7:14:01 AM
I will never be able to write as oblique as Odin (what did he say?), Or have life experience parallel to Toby like Jerry, or give such a non-comment as Budd, but, that being said, I do have something to say. In the brief time that I've read your work, I find you write not only impeccably, but very creatively. This story, with the twist at the end, is a good example of your creativity. I also sense a bit of your life in these words and and have empathy (I hope) for all the times during my life that I was disappointed by what I thought was "love." Continue to write your heart out, and I will continue to enjoy. Ron PS. I never had a imaginary childhood friend, or even a single best friend. My twin brother was always there giving me the wrong advice. One thing about being a twin is, there's no time to be lonely.

What Lies Within (Short Story) - 10/30/2014 2:53:55 AM
wonderful

What Lies Within (Short Story) - 10/29/2014 2:33:44 PM
Hard to come up with any thing that even approaches what Odin wrote, but I will say what I have to say and that will be that. Friends, or lovers can be special or not so special. My best friend was a boy who lived next to me. We were Batman and Robin. He was a year older so he got to be Batman. I didn't mind. Charles was the one who told me about Santa Claus. We were fantastic friends, sorta like your Toby in the assignment for Tia. Good writing.

What Lies Within (Short Story) - 10/29/2014 11:03:06 AM
A fitting tribute to the imagination writers must respect and nurture in order to avoid the loneliness of the all-to-often flesh and blood relationship that proves to be "fictitious reality," i.e., the quintessential oxymoron of passion. Rather ironic reading this today, given I'm in the middle of writing a piece of prosetry titles "Fictitious Reality"

Lost in Iquity (Short Story) - 10/20/2014 4:52:06 AM
I checked, and the word, iquity, does not exist. So I assume the aberration of the abusive husband is just that… He doesn't exist, just a figment of her imagination. I sense there's a bit of autobiographical nature to this story. Ron

Lost in Iquity (Short Story) - 10/19/2014 10:28:38 AM
You might have tested whether you were dreaming or not with a swift kick of your foot or a swing or two of a ball bat. But maybe that's just my violent nature interrupting your tale of fun in the rain. Either way I love how the cosmic scales of justice are beginning to tilt your way.

Iron Roses 33 (Short Story) - 10/18/2014 12:14:18 PM
When all else fails, go into business… Your masterfully written story continues to entrance. Looking forward to more. Ron

Lost in Iquity (Short Story) - 10/16/2014 5:57:36 PM
Deliciously cruel! M.True

Lost in Iquity (Short Story) - 10/15/2014 6:10:18 AM
Ahhh . . . I sense a bit of wishful thinking here, but that sure doesn't take away the fact that THIS is a very fine short story. Yes.

Lost in Iquity (Short Story) - 10/15/2014 5:43:21 AM
oh yes Karma

Iron Roses 33 (Short Story) - 10/14/2014 1:15:20 PM
cool hope she keeps going

Iron Roses 33 (Short Story) - 10/11/2014 6:50:12 PM
I continue to enjoy how you make Darcy's smallest of endeavors into the greatest of successes. M.True

Iron Roses 33 (Short Story) - 10/11/2014 5:28:03 AM
Okay. Darcy is doing something I don't understand. I think I missed a chapter. Let me go back and see.

Iron Rose - 32 (Short Story) - 10/2/2014 10:02:36 AM
I've been away for awhile, glad to see there is more of Darcy to read

Iron Rose - 32 (Short Story) - 9/26/2014 11:07:30 AM
As a former street musician, I can dig the spontaneity! Spunk and a creative mind goes a long way. Your story is full of cracker-jack wisdom. M.True

Iron Roses 31 (Short Story) - 9/26/2014 11:01:57 AM
the marvelous story continues but watch out for those pesky grammatical details, "had been stood"... "mundane things and the..." just sayin' M.True

Iron Rose - 32 (Short Story) - 9/25/2014 10:12:08 AM
Reads like Darcy is about to have another good turnaround in a life filled with ups and downs. Once again looking forward to reading more. Ron

Iron Rose - 32 (Short Story) - 9/24/2014 4:44:25 AM
Yeah, Darcy is never content. And why should she be? To be content in the bottom of the barrel is a hell of a way to use her life. So! She is now embarking upon a Master Plan of the bettering of herself.

The Loss of Something Precious (Article) - 12/27/2014 10:47:03 AM
~Ruan~ A beautiful dog your "Jake." Wonderful and so loving a companion. He has brought blessings untold for you to hold precious. Lady Mary Ann

The Loss of Something Precious (Article) - 12/26/2014 8:52:14 AM
I hope in his own dog way, he can read what you've written. My twin brother lost his wife last March in a fall and is taking it quite well. Now relies on Rocky, his golden retriever for companionship. But Rocky is getting old and will die soon. Such is the way with dogs, they tend to die before we do. My little Pomeranian, Jazz, was killed by a larger dog. I wrote about his death here in the story section. It was one of the most traumatic experiences I've ever had. It is strange that we can easily euthanize our pets to ease their pain, but we can't do the same for our elderly parents or siblings when they are suffering so much. Ron

The Loss of Something Precious (Article) - 12/25/2014 6:47:09 PM
What a beautiful tribute. Pets bring us love at a time when we need it most. They never waiver in their loyalty, ask for nothing in return, and will actually defend us to the death if necessary. I have never met a human who would do half as much. I know your loss. Research into the subject convinces me that Jakey Boy is alive and well and waiting for you on the other side. It's a bond that cannot be broken.

The Loss of Something Precious (Article) - 12/25/2014 4:23:06 PM
What a beautiful, but sad, tribute, Ruan. I have been down that road also, and there is nothing in the world quite like losing a dog who loves you completely. Please. Get another one.

The Loss of Something Precious (Article) - 12/25/2014 3:59:18 PM
There are few subjects of sentiment (void of sentimentality) that move me, but a dog... Well, they are special beings. I so can relate to your sadness, your decision, your intelligence and expansive heart. I lost two labs. One with brain cancer, the other, I speculate, by a broken heart, passing as he did in his sleep so soon after. You've penned a heroic dedication to Jake, and with that, I trust you'll have closure in a resolute and calm way. Wishing you well. Odin

Time Waster (Article) - 10/29/2014 6:22:33 PM
10-29-2014: Six Months Later 4 Warranty Repairs New Toshiba Lap Top 8.1, 17.3,500 H D, 4 GB Memory-It Still Wouldn't Accept Product Keys 3 Additional They Sent- Finally Toshiba Replaces It- Comes SMASHED In New Box And They Are Sending Another Replacement! Windows 8.1 Sucks- CHINA Refused To Switch 8.0-- Bill Gate$ Got Finger- 75% Chinese Never Installed Security Updates-Most Used Other Browsers- Never Switch 8.0 -CHINA Started Its Own Security Software Co.Protect Windows X P Pro 2002... Its All Sham To Make$ Greed Mongering Bill Gate$ More $-- Whence Bill Gate$ Gives So-Called Donations 90% Goes Foreign Countries And It Is Only Software C D's NOT Real $$$! I Love Artwork Photo... TRASK...

Time Waster (Article) - 10/27/2014 2:36:04 PM
I wish I could help....I husband takes care of the stuff I can't. Always, Deborah

Time Waster (Article) - 10/27/2014 11:24:18 AM
The original computers with a simple GUI (graphical user interface) were introduced by Apple around 1985. Programmers for mainframes and minicomputers scoffed at these devices as being just toys. However, Apple got Microsoft to make a word processor, MS Word, and spreadsheet program, MS Excel, and a presentation program, MS PowerPoint, as well as some powerful drawing and painting programs, like McDraw, and McPaint. It took a long time for these programs to reach the public, but I used them from the beginning to do engineering and business work very fast and accurately. Computer geeks with keyboard skills continue to scoff and work with inferior software by typing a lot, ridiculing the mouse. By 1993 or so, Microsoft realized that it was losing ground and created Windows, a copy of the Apple GUI. In order to make money, the people that created these powerful, yet simple application programs, polled their clientele and asked what could be added. What they learned was added in the next version. Each upgrade required additional cost and much more complexity. Hence, while I spent more on each upgrade, I usually found more problems and difficulties operating the newer, but harder to use, offerings. Now, with the Internet and new applications or "apps" being generated at lightning speed, along with many experimental interfaces to the Internet and each other (social uses rather than straight business) we have a very complex and dysfunctional computer system(s)r out there for everyone to get frustrated with. I have an older computer in the house that I use for all my heavy work, and this newer one for social networking like AD. Got the best of both worlds. Ron PS. Beware of upgrades… They can be huge app killers!

Time Waster (Article) - 10/27/2014 7:33:46 AM
Meanwhile, on the other side of your equation, Bill Gates has cashed in well over $1 billion of Microsoft shares this year, the same for the boys at Apple. But not to fear, your technical issues have been outsourced to Pakistan or India where you will find they read a script offering to fix all your problems for a mere $349.95. But if you want a list of new techno terms for instructing all of them where and how to insert their creations into their ugly body parts, call me.

Time Waster (Article) - 10/27/2014 5:21:38 AM
Sounds like Windows 8 to me. I had one. After two months of going insane, and to save my sanity, I sold it and bought a reconstructed computer with Windows 7. Life is better. I really feel for you, because I KNOW what you are going through.

Are you letting your Vet poison your best buddies? (Article) - 9/22/2014 6:16:28 AM
Interesting and useful information. I only had one dog, a Pomeranian. He got his shots annually and was always very fearful of going to the vet. I have to thank the vet for providing me with monthly heart worm and flea pills that were all he needed to stay healthy and recover on his own from three dog attacks where he was severely injured until he was finally killed by the last one, the same dog that had attacked him the year before. I never gave him vitamins or any antibiotics and he was very lean, mean, and active at over 10 years. Ron

The Lunacy of the English Language (Article) - 3/13/2013 3:33:09 PM
yes it is a crazy language--I can understand why people from a foreign country when they come to North America tell me that English is so hard to pick up--and all this slang and manner of expressions is proof of that-I am from the Maritime provinces and if you ever go into say a bar in Newfoundland you will think you are losing your mind as some of the locals have their own shall we say " unique " way of expressing themselves--their accent is wild

The Lunacy of the English Language (Article) - 6/26/2012 11:40:08 AM
Yes, English is a crazy language. I have spent a lot of time in Korea. Hangul is the written portion on the Korean language. One can actualy learn to read it in a matter of days. English takes a lifetime.

The Plague of Mankind (Article) - 4/4/2012 6:50:07 PM
Ruan, Bravo! The Planet will fight back as it has in eons past and although nature may be altered its existance has been many times longer than ours. bravo again! budd

The Plague of Mankind (Article) - 3/15/2012 8:59:51 AM
Wow Ruan. We certainly are looking out the same window!!! Bless you. John

Blind, Deaf and Thoughtless (Poetry) - 7/29/2015 1:54:52 PM
Standing "O"... A synopsis of truth. Thank you. Chris

Blind, Deaf and Thoughtless (Poetry) - 7/28/2015 11:03:45 AM
The Shallows of whom you write are known here as the "haves" or the "wealthy" or 90 percent of those who known as "conservatives" or 80 percent of "religionists" or 99 percent of "Texans." Apart from those who are just plain stupid, have I left anyone out?

Blind, Deaf and Thoughtless (Poetry) - 7/27/2015 3:47:29 PM
WOW, young lady, this is, geez I don't know a good enough word, maybe tremendous says it, but I think even that word is too little...well written, well thought out, well put together & other than the "man" being rich enough and having alot, it could be speaking of me directly and for that I am ashamed... <Peace> -e-

Blind, Deaf and Thoughtless (Poetry) - 7/27/2015 1:52:00 PM
Too many people are self centered indeed. If everyone would find one person to help along this road of life, imagine what a different world this would be! Great poem here. Love ya! Jane

Blind, Deaf and Thoughtless (Poetry) - 7/27/2015 8:13:42 AM
I am left quite wordless because every line expresses the sad truth and thus the condition of this world. Also, this is very well constructed. Thank you, Ruan. Love, peace, and best wishes to you, Regis

Blind, Deaf and Thoughtless (Poetry) - 7/27/2015 6:13:01 AM
We are a selfish, self-centered lot. Myself included. I always enjoy your poetry for its powerful expression. This one strikes home to the central problem of humankind. We are still in survival mode where self-preservation seems to trump everything else. We use trite words like "freedom" to cover our lack of control and avarice. And always think that we are better than they are… Whoever they are? Your poem reaches out to all those causing pain and suffering and pokes a hole in their pomposity. Good for you. I'm with you all the way. Ron

Blind, Deaf and Thoughtless (Poetry) - 7/27/2015 3:31:06 AM
Ahhh . . . You didn't rattle my cage, Ruan. I read this twice looking for something I might could call you on. Nothing was there. The only thing I would change is instead of "Man" insert "Human Race," but then that is nit-picking . . .

Shadow Passes - Light Remains (Poetry) - 7/2/2015 11:16:40 PM
She sounds quite beautiful, perhaps this is a reflection of you...? -e-

Shadow Passes - Light Remains (Poetry) - 7/2/2015 8:37:12 AM
~Ruan~ Lovely lines of the most unique delicate creature. To grace as a butterfly is in her elite beauty. Lady Mary Ann

Shadow Passes - Light Remains (Poetry) - 7/2/2015 1:37:54 AM
Butterflies are marvelous.

Shadow Passes - Light Remains (Poetry) - 7/1/2015 9:06:13 AM
It's so good she reached the summer of her life. So many of those situations don't. Ron

Shadow Passes - Light Remains (Poetry) - 7/1/2015 8:15:09 AM
Agree with Ed this is a beauty

Shadow Passes - Light Remains (Poetry) - 7/1/2015 7:57:30 AM
Beautifully rendered, dazzling imagery, thoughtful in tone and temper.

Shadow Passes - Light Remains (Poetry) - 7/1/2015 7:28:46 AM
I find this symbolically meaningful and uplifting too; in spite of life's struggles and challenges. Thank you for sharing, Ruan. Love and best wishes, Regis

Shadow Passes - Light Remains (Poetry) - 7/1/2015 5:53:57 AM
I love this poem on so many levels, some very personal. You must be reading my mail! Love ya! Jane

Shadow Passes - Light Remains (Poetry) - 7/1/2015 5:04:21 AM
Ahhh . . . And the beautiful butterfly metamorphosed back into the vibrant beauty she had once been, hopefully for ever and ever . . .

A Kitty in my Coat - Concluded (Poetry) - 6/27/2015 4:37:05 AM
glad it ended so well! enjoyed the read

One Day ...she said (Poetry) - 6/13/2015 2:51:01 PM
A most poignant tribute, very meaningful. Your verses remind me of my mother who chose to leave early. Thank you, Ruan. Love, peace, and best wishes to you, Regis

One Day ...she said (Poetry) - 6/6/2015 6:52:56 PM
~Ruan~ God bless the beauty of your Mother. Her spirit lives on within her garden. Beautifully penned with verses unique to your love for her. Lady Mary Ann

One Day ...she said (Poetry) - 6/6/2015 6:10:40 PM
Ruan, This touches my heart strings and by far one of your "masterpieces," you mother I'm sure is smiling down on you! Always, Deborah

Begin Again (Poetry) - 6/5/2015 7:18:41 AM
I was swept away by the depth and beauty of this poem. Blessings, Christine

One Day ...she said (Poetry) - 6/5/2015 6:02:40 AM
Your poetry is so refreshing and revealing, especially when you write about something so close as your mother and her demons. When you wrote that she was "homegrown" I had to chuckle a bit, but then I thought about my mother and where she came from and then never reached her full potential or got to go to college because my twin brother and I came along and she had to settle down in marriage. Still, it was great to hear her call me the other day and tell me that she loved me. Her voice becoming childlike at 90 and 1200 miles between us. This poem was torn from a piece of your heart. I hope your mother reads it, wherever she is. She would be so proud of you for your poetic muse. Ron

One Day ...she said (Poetry) - 6/4/2015 6:53:49 PM
This is a very sad tale, and the clarity of your words make it nearly painful. There is also much beauty in the way you honor her. I'm glad you can take comfort in her spirit's freedom. Your poetry, as usual, is flawless. -Ed

One Day ...she said (Poetry) - 6/4/2015 11:56:38 AM
Somehow I see your mother as the "Beauty." This was my kind of in-your-face poetical style. You cut no one any slack, just told it as it was. Real! I felt it hugely . . .

Begin Again (Poetry) - 6/3/2015 12:31:29 AM
...your poem introduces a sense of gripping excitement and almost a deadline into the narrative to act...and bring back the substance that lays between a dream and reality of life...Thank you Ruan, for sharing your poem.

Begin Again (Poetry) - 6/2/2015 7:57:02 PM
This is so sad, but so like my life too, i can relate, right now, I've accepted it's to be only me in life now. Hard to do but hadto let go.

Begin Again (Poetry) - 6/2/2015 9:27:29 AM
Harsh and real but that is the best kind of poetry, Ruan. Most meaningful. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

Begin Again (Poetry) - 6/2/2015 8:05:27 AM
A shattering revelation. I certainly hope that it is literary muse and not reality. I'm so looking forward to the continuation of your book in stories. Ron

Begin Again (Poetry) - 6/2/2015 7:44:32 AM
We have wasted our time by not listening to ourselves for we know who we are and what we want,(dreams.) Always enjoy whatever you pen, Ruan! Always, Deborah

Begin Again (Poetry) - 6/2/2015 5:16:33 AM
We must all continue to 'dream to be me; and dream to be free'

Begin Again (Poetry) - 6/2/2015 4:43:12 AM
You seem to be relating a tale here of many others, including yourself...? Hope things brighten up for "her" & "she" can get on with living...-e-

Begin Again (Poetry) - 6/1/2015 12:13:19 PM
"Something to do, someone to love, something to look forward to" seem to be the essentials to a life worth living. Said by someone wiser than me. You've captured two of the three elements in this stirring poem.

Begin Again (Poetry) - 6/1/2015 10:59:22 AM
How did you get to know me so well?? Love ya! Jane

Begin Again (Poetry) - 6/1/2015 10:24:51 AM
As your words so adroitly proclaim, to be where one can dream to be free is all many have as their hope. With so many institutions and individuals telling us how to be, what to be, and why we should be whatever, it is the free spirit of this poems narrative that is most important. Well penned. Good to read you again.

Begin Again (Poetry) - 6/1/2015 9:52:25 AM
Sadness within this poem, Ruan, but a strong, gritty image of her shows through. The last four lines, is something positive and should be done right away . . .

In Loving Memory (Poetry) - 6/1/2015 8:19:42 AM
Very nice indeed! Love ya! Jane

In Loving Memory (Poetry) - 5/8/2015 2:54:05 PM
wonderful tribute

In Loving Memory (Poetry) - 5/1/2015 10:38:28 PM
Perfection... Diana...

In Loving Memory (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 4:04:56 PM
Nice tribute.

In Loving Memory (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 3:58:22 AM
A very lovely tribute, Ruan.

In Loving Memory (Poetry) - 4/16/2015 7:41:36 AM
I have not seen a finer obituary. Ron

In Loving Memory (Poetry) - 4/16/2015 6:07:11 AM
This is seriously the most beautiful tribute to a mother I've evrr read. You must have made your mother very happy and proud. Sandie

In Loving Memory (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 7:20:01 PM
A very beautiful tribute. Best wises to you. Michael D.

In Loving Memory (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 11:33:19 AM
A most heartfelt and meaningful tribute very well-expressed, Ruan. Thank you for sharing it. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

In Loving Memory (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 11:24:16 AM
Hey young lady, where have u been...welcome back with this beautiful write in memory of ur mom...hope this means we are to see more of ur postings...Peace, -e-

In Loving Memory (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 8:11:46 AM
Awww . . . Such a beautiful, poetical write, Ruan, it is very, very special.

In Loving Memory (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 7:54:55 AM
OMG! One of my favorite writers on planet Earth has returned. Hallelujah! And she left us a gem of a write! Welcome home, dear lady. And thanks for this beautiful poem. --Ed

Our Boy (Poetry) - 2/26/2015 8:59:07 PM
I like this poem because it is honest, and strips away all the BS and politically korrect glory-glamour that politicians try to make war seem! I feel sorrow for those who have given all they had, to support the few in power who create wars and then close them - all for their personal profit - while pretending to protect. The soldiers, usually young and innocent, and trusting, are treated like urinals. This is a VERY effective poem. I served in the military. My nephew was one of "Our boys". Thank God for free speech. Outstanding write Ruan!

Cultural Difference (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 9:30:49 PM
sometimes rambling thoughts make good poems while claiming their own space ..

Cultural Difference (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 1:32:30 PM
I think the world is full of want-to-bes. There are those who do not appreciate what they have at hand. If ever this world is to come together with all the people we have to accept each other for who we represent, carry love always in our hearts and know that without peace this world will only get worse with it's killings, bombings and terrorist movements... Always, Deborah

Cultural Difference (Poetry) - 1/17/2015 7:17:27 AM
On any given day we bombarded with information. Some of which does not deserve the attention it gets. The feeling of despair is palpable amongst us all if you really look. The solutions seem fewer and far between.

Cultural Difference (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 9:35:34 AM
Seems to me to be rather quite dark; I hope you are well, as this poem says to me that maybe you need some time out in the sun & warmth of some southern beach...Maybe a bit of seasonal affective disorder that usually rears its head in the winter months...Find Peace, -e-

Cultural Difference (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 8:04:39 AM
I don't see your thoughts rambling at all. I see a common injustice in the human condition that so many have… "My way or the highway." They cannot see the other side, particularly when it's apparently abhorrent. Better to stamp it out, covertly if not overtly. So many contradictions. So many lies. The world is here for all of us and we must find a way to share it and not destroy it in the process of our greed. Ron

Cultural Difference (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 6:45:40 AM
When I read something like this, its completeness of thought, its acceptance of the world's bleak reality at the moment, I can't help but wonder is hate will ever be managed again. Well penned.

Cultural Difference (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 6:24:24 AM
I can feel your pain, living in a land that is rich in culture gained inch by inch by those who were daring enough to make it so. Yet today your heritage and mine are being attacked by those who did not make it, and do not value it, still they want to take from it and leave nothing in return but the stain of hatred. You have summed it up well--until evil is stamped out the road back is the only way forward.

Cultural Difference (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 5:33:27 AM
Eh . . . I admit to failing the culture of appraising this grand country as I wandered around it during those two lost decades without a never-mind to much of anything except me and my roaming. I admit that, but I found the way to social well being, even if I still retain some aspects of that hard life, but not enough to be bothered about.

Cultural Difference (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 3:55:56 AM
And so, as one looks out on the stunning terrain, One admires the paradise and concedes the paradox Like so many enchanting places ...this land is beautiful – its people are not. They do not cherish what they have, nor do they value life in any form. So sadly true, for far too many today.

Cocoon (Poetry) - 11/5/2014 5:09:06 PM
clear and well composed ...

Cocoon (Poetry) - 11/2/2014 3:55:30 AM
Hope springs eternal - as it should for all of us.

Cocoon (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 1:04:22 PM
Let us hope that she emerges as her better, beautiful self very soon. Ron

Cocoon (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 9:24:59 AM
I know these feeling intimately, Ruan. There is a hopeful tone at the close of your poem which is uplifting. Thank you. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

Cocoon (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 5:53:53 AM
I, too, sense a kinder, stronger, more loving spirit emerging from that cocoon about which you write so well. Your final line tells me of your true destiny. You've earned your wings and are ready to fly again!

Cocoon (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 5:20:53 AM
You will rise out of the smoky ruins of life to live and love again. It's nature's way. Can't keep a good woman down goes the saying. I know it is tough down there amid the devastation of what is left of abandonment. I raise a glass (not now, tonight) to your success in conquering your demons and come back better and stronger.

Cocoon (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 5:12:03 AM
Unfortunately, you and others, myself included, must go through such emotional primers in order to discover growth (the hard way). The fortunate part is that a reader like myself can benefit from your words, those vibrations that must be released before their genesis can begin anew, even as the pain of exploring the experience's residue may be causing additional suffering. But...to be so bold, it is truly behind you now. I've explored many a poem re: baggage and can attest its better to find a way to leave it behind. Heartfelt without sentimentality. Bravo.

November Stains (Poetry) - 10/24/2014 3:18:32 AM
Re-birth is always good, as is this poem.

November Stains (Poetry) - 10/23/2014 1:10:42 PM
...landscape of Autumn...state of your soul... melancholy of Mother Nature and falling leaves and your words...penetrate it all...well...

November Stains (Poetry) - 10/23/2014 10:29:05 AM
If trees could show emotion, this is what they would say. Your way with words to express your vision is superb, poet extraordinaire. The image is very apropos, as well Ron

November Stains (Poetry) - 10/22/2014 8:45:58 PM
...and its going to be a LONG winter's nap...-e-

November Stains (Poetry) - 10/22/2014 11:35:47 AM
I hate to see the falling leaves too, Ruan, but probably not in such a drastic was as you. Heh.Heh

November Stains (Poetry) - 10/22/2014 9:13:46 AM
The imagery that you share through your verses awaken thoughts and emotions in this most apt and timely offering, Ruan. Thank you. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

November Stains (Poetry) - 10/22/2014 8:34:39 AM
Clever, witty, charming. When you fly, you soar! Perfect for the season.

All Hallows' Eve (Poetry) - 10/17/2014 1:24:06 PM
Ruan~ Unique cleverness your poem drifts aloft the coolness of a haunt Hallows- Eve!! Terrific~~ Lady Mary Ann

All Hallows' Eve (Poetry) - 10/12/2014 1:38:26 PM
Very well done, Ruan. I love the flow born from the rhyme and rhythm and I love the imagery that awakens thoughts and emotions. I find Halloween rather inspiring as you can tell by my several poems here on that theme. Thank you for sharing. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

All Hallows' Eve (Poetry) - 10/11/2014 7:10:25 PM
Brilliant! I especially liked the cresc...endo! This rivals Ichabod's slight brush with the forces of darkness. School kids (over 13) would love it! M.True

At the End of the Rat-Race (Poetry) - 10/11/2014 7:03:28 PM
This moral imperative replete with a genteel sensitivity. There is a keen hope that others will read and be made whole again. Tell it like it is sister! M.True

A Lesson Learned (Poetry) - 10/11/2014 6:55:30 PM
Your lovely verse once again makes an age old story flicker with new light and a glimmer of hope. M.True

All Hallows' Eve (Poetry) - 10/9/2014 6:11:46 AM
Perfect...all the ingredients for an excellent, scary, spooky Halloween poem... Such good fun, and so well written! Diana...

All Hallows' Eve (Poetry) - 10/8/2014 10:21:17 AM
Ruan, You got me in the mood for Halloween! Love this! Love and blessings, ~Linda

All Hallows' Eve (Poetry) - 10/7/2014 1:06:08 PM
...perfectly fitting tonight's blood red Full Moon...along with a lunar eclipse...I' m excited about the spectacle...can't wait!... Halloween poem inspired by merry ghosts and goblins...vampires and witches...in masquerade's ecstasy night of scary and fright and a scream...little orange pumpkins shining bright...giving lots of spooky surprises and goosebumps all over the living bodies... BOO! Have a Magical Halloween!

All Hallows' Eve (Poetry) - 10/7/2014 9:15:50 AM
You are the first and set the bar high this Halloween season for all the ghastly poems to come. I found myself reading it very fast in the cadence was building to a crescendo that would be really scary if you read it to children (of at least a certain age) on a dark night such as tonight's blood moon. Did I see Prince Harry in there somewhere, but was I just mistaken. ;-) Ron

All Hallows' Eve (Poetry) - 10/7/2014 6:00:40 AM
Scary good! Michael D.

All Hallows' Eve (Poetry) - 10/7/2014 5:49:45 AM
What a treat! Easily the best penned poem I’ve ever read of ghosts and goblins and ghastly dread. You are in your zone with chills and thrills that pierce the bones.

All Hallows' Eve (Poetry) - 10/7/2014 5:02:42 AM
One of the better Halloween poems I believe I have ever read, Ruan. You gave imagery to the wicked ones who look to harm us . . . uh . . . But I didn't see Barack Hussein Obama here.

All Hallows' Eve (Poetry) - 10/7/2014 2:59:06 AM
I love Howloween Poems, and this is a goodie.

All Hallows' Eve (Poetry) - 10/7/2014 2:20:31 AM
simply wonderful

At the End of the Rat-Race (Poetry) - 10/6/2014 4:47:58 PM
A poetic "wake-up call" indeed. Well written!

At the End of the Rat-Race (Poetry) - 10/6/2014 3:31:50 PM
Ouch! The "he"...represents so many of human race. I'm pretty sure...as so many...you too...have run around a maze of collective-society-friends and loved ones...run in the wheel of a pointless pursuit-self defeating way of life...caught up in a fiercely competitive struggle for love-power-money-a tap on your shoulder...trying to bring out the best in yourself-others-community-society...working pretty hard...going nowhere...achieving little...never truly satisfying your own-inner self...nor have a time to enjoy the journey of life... Till...one day...you've decided to escape the cheesy rewards' awards...pay cheque'n promise of love...endless "opportunity" at work... You finally find an escape route...decided to use your talent-intellect-good character-knowledge-power of dedication as an opportunity to serve others...find courage to say noooo...to being treated as one of the rats...before becoming one... You've find out...you don't need others to tell you what you did well...knew better...You knew it! yourself. And you know how it motivates you to do more...how you see yourself smiling with pride... Finally...you gave yourself the thump up! Find contentment within self...reached the state of well-being...because finally you've understood the meaning of the line...eloquently put by Lilly Tomlin: "The trouble with the rat race is that even if you win, you are still a rat". ...truly a cherry on your life's cake! Thank you for sharing your thoughts provoking and great poem.

At the End of the Rat-Race (Poetry) - 10/6/2014 8:20:28 AM
From the titie and subtitle to the final line: Summa cum laudamus, I like this a lotamus! You nailed it right between the eyeballs and the platymus venomus. I hereby confer upon you the high honor of Writer of Truth and Virtuosity. All pretenders to this honor must forthwith bow in your presence and pay homage to your wisdom and superior intellect. And we know who those twerps are.

At the End of the Rat-Race (Poetry) - 10/6/2014 7:49:29 AM
WHILE THERE IS LIFE...THERE IS HOPE. THANK GOD HE HAS LIVED TO BEGIN TO LEARN...THAT ONE, SO IMPORTANT...THING. WELL DONE, RUAN AND ENJOYED. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

At the End of the Rat-Race (Poetry) - 10/6/2014 7:45:15 AM
Are you writing about me? (In my best Robert De Niro voice--;-)) Seriously, I think that wealth is not necessarily a parameter for unhappiness, but it does complicate one's life maintaining all that stuff and financial responsibility. Invariably, there is always a sense of preservation that results in underpaying people and trying to avoid taxes and other threats to the wealth accumulation. You got me thinking about my cousin, who died at 57 alone in a single car accident in a remote location that is highly suspicious. He did all and everything that you describe in your poem, and, I believe, was miserable before his untimely (or rigged) death. Ron

At the End of the Rat-Race (Poetry) - 10/6/2014 4:49:50 AM
a very forlorn final end, written perfectly

At the End of the Rat-Race (Poetry) - 10/6/2014 4:28:12 AM
You know, Ruan, this same man, if he was poor at the end of his life can be just as wretched as the man you have in this poem. Just because you are rich does not make you a monster. Of course the man you portray here is just your imagination, although I am sure there are men (and women, but I never hear of them) like him. But there are men who are rich who don't despair over his "greedy" life. So many of the rich give back to the world they live in. No one cares to talk about them. I guess I am just becoming fed up with societies' constant condemning of people who have made a success of their life.

A Lesson Learned (Poetry) - 10/3/2014 7:22:15 PM
I don't have blood family for the most part anymore, either...my one cousin has stood by me, but the rest have basically given up, just as I have with them...I was a total jerk when I was young and treated all of them quite badly and now its their turn to do so back to me...I am older, just as they are and I want to apologize, but to write them a letter I need a printer and while I have one, I don't have ink and just for black, it is quite expensive...oh well just got to move on & believe that even if I did re-open communication with them, it may not be the best idea...liked ur write here young lady...being alone, without family other than maybe close friends like I DO have, is sometimes the only way to go....sorry for ranting herein...-e-

A Lesson Learned (Poetry) - 10/3/2014 10:20:54 AM
Oh Ruan, I one hundred percent relate. I haven't spoken to my "family" in years and doubt if I ever will. I know the heartache you are going through. I feel for you, but I already know you are strong. You can deal with it until it is merely a dull ache.

A Lesson Learned (Poetry) - 10/3/2014 7:51:57 AM
When dust had settled and time moved on There standing tall for all to see A woman brave and true and strong Had conquered self and now was free.

A Lesson Learned (Poetry) - 10/3/2014 6:39:34 AM
A very personal message of recovery and renewal. You have a unique style of presentation that I love… Bravo! Ron

A Lesson Learned (Poetry) - 10/3/2014 4:54:30 AM
Even with all what had been said, even with all what might have happened, be mindful that there is hope!

A Lesson Learned (Poetry) - 10/3/2014 1:58:45 AM
lonely and woeful

Erosion (Poetry) - 9/8/2014 4:20:08 PM
A sense of place can have a profound effect on the soul as you have shown us here. Nicely done!

Erosion (Poetry) - 9/5/2014 4:47:51 PM
I flew over Brighton via Google Earth and made a virtual landing on the beach and promenade. Delightful place. I must have scared the dickens out of your friends and neighbors. Not nearly as stirring as your poem.

Erosion (Poetry) - 9/5/2014 9:04:42 AM
Of all the edifices we have constructed to one glory or another, most have succumbed to the elements, but none so more than to the sea. Makes me think of Atlantis, the Colossus at Rhodes, the great Library of Alexandria, and more recently, the entire city of Galveston in 1900. All that's left now are black and white pictures and memories on the Brighton shore. But those memories shine brighter when eulogized like never before. I can't wait for your next installment of her story. Ron

Erosion (Poetry) - 9/5/2014 6:15:41 AM
A beautiful dedication to what was and what could be, were it not for our evolution into...well, self-destruction seems the appropriate word for the past couple of decades.

Erosion (Poetry) - 9/5/2014 4:58:45 AM
i so agree, very well penned

Erosion (Poetry) - 9/5/2014 2:57:13 AM
So many wonderful things from those Good Old Days are now so sadly gone.

Erosion (Poetry) - 9/4/2014 3:33:21 PM
A fitting and beautiful eulogy. Change being the only constant. And the band played on... M.True

Erosion (Poetry) - 9/4/2014 1:06:38 PM
Eh . . . so many of the piers, and other dockside places built strong, but n'er strong enough are lost over the years, both from neglect from those who are supposed to monitor and look after them as the relentless, pushing sea wearing away resistance. To those who remember how it was "back then," can only grit their teeth and shed a silent tear at the destruction of part of their childhood.

Caught (Poetry) - 8/29/2014 11:57:53 AM
Beautiful verse. It is always a pleasure to read my way through your intimate adventures. M.True

Caught (Poetry) - 8/28/2014 9:10:56 AM
VERY NICE!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Caught (Poetry) - 8/28/2014 3:11:18 AM
A very sad piece, but hearts can heal.

Caught (Poetry) - 8/27/2014 10:50:03 AM
Beware the silver tongued devil. Written well in your intriguing style. I've been looking for the continuation of the story you have been posting, hopeful that the ending will be better than where it was at the last reading. Ron

Caught (Poetry) - 8/27/2014 7:04:12 AM
Sorry to hear your heart may have been cracked, but never fear your good heart is still there...write to get rid of the bad feelings and if you see the guy again, kick him in the nuts, it may not help, but it will make you feel a hell of alot better...:-) -e-

Caught (Poetry) - 8/27/2014 5:55:51 AM
As usual written with class, erudition and great insight.

Caught (Poetry) - 8/27/2014 3:31:38 AM
so very well penned

Caught (Poetry) - 8/26/2014 1:01:01 PM
Eh, the heart can be the lure for silver-tongued devils, who give the heart pleasure it has never thought existed. What the heart, blinded by love, fails to understand is that for every bit of pleasure it receives it is taxed through the roof and subsequently leached of all goodness it used to have . . . to be forever suspicious of those quick to cast a spell.

The Waiting Game (Poetry) - 8/17/2014 1:26:33 PM
Such is life. To be sure.

Morphed into a Stranger (Poetry) - 8/12/2014 10:02:40 AM
And they are out there living among us...Enjoyed. Always, Deborah

Morphed into a Stranger (Poetry) - 8/11/2014 11:01:52 AM
In our present tense a persona oft emulated, oft adored. But hell, me thinks, is still in store... M.True

The Waiting Game (Poetry) - 8/11/2014 10:53:37 AM
An interesting topic for such noble verse. the bureaucracy is dead - long live the bureaucracy! M.True

The Waiting Game (Poetry) - 8/11/2014 9:09:30 AM
wonderfully done

The Waiting Game (Poetry) - 8/11/2014 3:31:53 AM
Red Tape would drive a man to tears It sadly often has.

Morphed into a Stranger (Poetry) - 8/10/2014 8:11:02 AM
Tragic! Your poem is very powerful, Ruan. I would not want to hang out with someone like that let alone be like him. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

The Waiting Game (Poetry) - 8/10/2014 7:38:04 AM
Got me thinking of Catch-22. It seems more and more that I find that of the three or four boxes I'm supposed to check for a certain item, none of them fits my circumstance. And I don't think I'm an anomaly, just someone like you… Caught up in red tape and play the waiting game until it's unraveled. Ron

Morphed into a Stranger (Poetry) - 8/10/2014 12:53:56 AM
A BRILLIANT PIECE OF WORK...A WARNING THAT ALL OF US NEED TAKE HEED OF; FOR WE ARE ALL PRONE TO SELF DESTRUCT WHEN SELFISHNESS, GREED AND THE THIRST TO SATISFY EGOTISTICAL DREAMS AND DESIRES OVERTAKE AND SWALLOW US UP TO THE SOUL-LESS POINT WHERE WE ARE...MORPHED INTO STRANGERS...EVEN, AND MOST ALL, TO OURSELVES. I WILL KEEP THIS. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Morphed into a Stranger (Poetry) - 8/9/2014 7:55:05 AM
Doesn't sound like a figment of your imagination to me. This poem was written about a real live jerk in my opinion.

Morphed into a Stranger (Poetry) - 8/9/2014 6:19:17 AM
The bastard! He looks like the devil incarnate. Lucky for us he's just a figment of your imagination...

The Waiting Game (Poetry) - 8/8/2014 6:30:28 PM
Red Tape, don't you know that that is the boon to all of mankind...we thrive on it, desire it and when we don't get it we go out and find more & newer forms of it...keeps us young, keeps us busy, keeps us complaining, what more can one say about the happiness that Red Tape & Waiting does bring to us...e

The Waiting Game (Poetry) - 8/8/2014 5:25:53 PM
Humans (Earthians) have complicated life so much that the result is becoming evident as all heads for chaos... ...or so it seems. Thank you, Ruan. My empathy to you because I knnow that of which you write. Love and best wishes, Regis

The Waiting Game (Poetry) - 8/8/2014 11:18:02 AM
Take a swig of Beaujolais Or Zinfandel or Cabernet It won’t clear red tape or bureaucrats It lets you know them from the rats.

I Close My Door (Poetry) - 7/2/2014 6:27:24 PM
I have to admit that I am with you with regard to much that you express in this well-written poem, Ruan. Thank you! Love and best wishes to you, Regis

I Close My Door (Poetry) - 6/23/2014 10:12:02 AM
for the recluse: keep another door open. the world needs people like you who sees reality and understands it. very well written poetry.

I Close My Door (Poetry) - 6/22/2014 5:16:31 PM
Closing the door to the old world, and open another door to the new world. There is also beauty in the new world if we take the time to explore it... Sandie

I Close My Door (Poetry) - 6/22/2014 5:09:15 PM
A great journey in poetic fashion.

Trepidation (Poetry) - 6/22/2014 4:17:34 PM
A telling tale. Believe in your own strength. Live life the way you want to live it. M.True

Ocean's Seven (Poetry) - 6/22/2014 4:11:55 PM
I love this beechie keen scene! M.True

Jasper - En Vacance (on vacation) (Poetry) - 6/22/2014 4:09:08 PM
Ah, it's a dog's world! M.True

I Close My Door (Poetry) - 6/22/2014 4:07:09 PM
This poem is magnificent. Many times I have tried to capture the slow tarnishing of this country and her rifle rattling, weak minded, irresponsible, me first citizenry. But you should never assume that you are not making a difference. M.True

I Close My Door (Poetry) - 6/22/2014 2:41:50 PM
...C'est la vie...I guess...close one door to open next...more inspiring...the Olmsteads oil "Waiting"...gives a lot of hope... Many Blessings!

I Close My Door (Poetry) - 6/22/2014 12:16:30 PM
I will agree with all that has been said by the 3 gentlemem before me...you have taken the world you've lived in and made it as realistic as you could and a fine job you've done in the interim...e

I Close My Door (Poetry) - 6/22/2014 7:53:47 AM
You have written a lifelong Odyssey in a single poem that is also the story of our generation that has gone from the ideals of communing with nature to climbing the ladder of gain, crushed by greed and lust is followed by generations of me and gimme. I can certainly see why you want to close the door to find some peace once again. I find it being alone is invigorating for my thoughts. I have learned to love it. Ron

I Close My Door (Poetry) - 6/22/2014 5:48:13 AM
You have absolutely rang the golden truth of what has happened to this, the next phase of civilization as we know it. The past I grew up in with its morals and wanting to "do the right thing," and when taking government assistance was demeaning and we fought hard to get away from it, does not exists anymore. Ruan, this is the best poem I have ever read concerning the fall from greatness.

I Close My Door (Poetry) - 6/22/2014 5:08:48 AM
The ebb and flow of life a bit nostalgic but never boring masterfully told by one who has lived it without rancor or rewrite, and done so very well.

Ed-ification (Poetry) - 6/17/2014 11:57:36 PM
Excellent young lady, most assuredly the best ever written about the Ed-ster...I wouldn't as far as you did, as to me he is pain in the caboose...LOL, Ed.(Jersey Devil)

Trepidation (Poetry) - 6/13/2014 12:18:31 AM
Great poem, Ruan...but if it's true story...hope and pray for you to find a way to deal with such a pervasive force of interpersonal relation... Blessings!

Trepidation (Poetry) - 6/12/2014 7:55:30 AM
This seems so true. And it reads like stalking. Unfortunately, stalking is something that is often ignored by authorities until something tragic happens. I hope it doesn't happen to you. And I hope that writing this poem gets the word out that you need help in avoiding him… Forever. Ron

Trepidation (Poetry) - 6/12/2014 6:04:48 AM
unfaced demons will always hunt us down. no matter what we do. this poem speaks the truth.

Trepidation (Poetry) - 6/12/2014 3:25:28 AM
i hope he doesn't call either, but if he does keep yourself safe from harm budd

Trepidation (Poetry) - 6/11/2014 7:49:05 PM
A heartbreaking poem to say the least. Just know that you are NEVER alone and don't try to fight tough battles by yourself. You are very smart and know where to go for help. Prayer helps but action is required. Peace be with you, John Michael

Trepidation (Poetry) - 6/11/2014 5:31:37 PM
I hope this is fictional but if not, I extend my empathy to you, Ruan. A most compelling sharing. Love, peace, strength, and best wishes to you, Regis

Trepidation (Poetry) - 6/11/2014 3:28:56 PM
RX, Hope this is fictional, but if not, no running away or hiding as the problem will just re-present itself another day...got to deal with it straight on...if a meeting bring a friend as moral support, or if a problem arises, as back up...(damn, I should take my own advice...)...most sincerely, Ed

Trepidation (Poetry) - 6/11/2014 2:19:33 PM
Depressing. Not a place anyone wants to be. Got to run from it! Sandie

Trepidation (Poetry) - 6/11/2014 11:34:48 AM
I assume you seek only a review, and not personal advice about a state of affairs that could be fictional. Besides, your strength of character shows in all your writings. In them you describe fear and trembling well, and you show not weakness but a caring, loving person in thought, word, and intention. You take us to the brink, but in the end you know you can and will face anything that awaits you because you are a survivor and nobody's fool. You don't live to conquer, but to face friend and foe alike with the determination of one who has conquered herself.

Trepidation (Poetry) - 6/11/2014 11:03:30 AM
Ruan, run don't walk to obtain whatever kind of help you need. Police? Street muscle? Weapon? Whatever you think you need to thwart this damned problem.

A Mother's Lament (Poetry) - 5/8/2014 11:02:19 AM
Life happens. I've known three families with three boys and no girls. It seems like fate deals out strange cards. I got the sentiment very well because you really know how to convey it. Ron

A Mother's Lament (Poetry) - 5/8/2014 2:28:24 AM
A truly heartfelt lament.

A Mother's Lament (Poetry) - 5/7/2014 10:05:23 AM
A touching meditation on the absence of a heart's longing. Beautifully and respectfully stated.

A Mother's Lament (Poetry) - 5/7/2014 4:55:29 AM
such a sad longing

A Mother's Lament (Poetry) - 5/7/2014 4:23:40 AM
I'm sure, in years to come, science will figure out how to make women conceive the sex of their baby that they want. This is a desperation, longing poem . . .

A Mother's Lament (Poetry) - 5/7/2014 3:47:44 AM
One part simplicity, one part elegance stirred together with love... a masterpiece!

A Mother's Lament (Poetry) - 5/7/2014 3:05:55 AM
Great longing for a boy. Sandie

Bizarre Priorities (Poetry) - 4/15/2014 8:13:39 PM
such a waste indeed ...

Bizarre Priorities (Poetry) - 4/15/2014 7:24:47 AM
Your velvet hammer packs one hell of a wallop. Sadly, we can blame a fast lane of growth for the few, where speed limits are void and speed bumps of accountability may never exist.

Bizarre Priorities (Poetry) - 4/14/2014 6:42:16 AM
Astute observations and serious questions. What is needed is remedies. These are hard to come by faced with the powers that be. Two factors come into play: one is population. As the population grows, demand increases and corporations find a way to meet the demand with as many artificial means as possible. The second is consumption. Particularly here in America, we think in terms of consumption as though it were the most important thing. Therefore, we overdo everything. One afternoon I came back from work and found that my front lawn and turned an artificial, rather ugly, green. A sign on my gate announced proudly that I had received my Green Lawn treatment. It was a mistake, and the company apologized. In the 25 year since, I have left the lawn grow well into the spring until it was knee-high to allow the wildflowers to bloom and to have my homeowner's association send me threatening messages. Since I have a large shade tree, my lawn has needed no treatment that I try to cut it at 2 inches so that it is not scalped and allowed to flourish without fertilizers. I have always left the clippings on the grass for the same reason. Ron

Bizarre Priorities (Poetry) - 4/14/2014 4:32:05 AM
yes we have wasted it budd

Bizarre Priorities (Poetry) - 4/14/2014 2:36:50 AM
As greed-ridden plunder feeds oncoming storm We trash all the bounty of Nature’s intent And slowly we choke on our own discontent How so sadly true, and what a horrendous legacy we leave future generations.

Bizarre Priorities (Poetry) - 4/13/2014 9:41:17 PM
Your talent is what makes you, Ruan...stand out ...when combine with passion...you make an impact. Your "assignment of responsibility"...as I'd call your "weeping verse"...got a quality that makes it...a real inspiration and meaningful to all of us around the World. Keep up the great work! HAPPY EASTER RUAN!

Ocean's Seven (Poetry) - 4/13/2014 4:54:27 PM
Indeed, the personality of the shore is not only ever changing, but genius in it way of making beauty, even out of flotsam.

Bizarre Priorities (Poetry) - 4/13/2014 11:04:47 AM
There are so many useless stuff in the nowadays' world, it all has to do with the human's egos....Like who's better than who? Or who's got a bigger house? Who's skinnier than who? And who's prettier than who? People don't seem to be happy anymore. The consumer produce stuff to feed everyone's ego. It's sad. Great intriguing poem! Sandie

Bizarre Priorities (Poetry) - 4/13/2014 9:10:59 AM
Whether by ethos, pathos, or logos-- Goodness, beauty, or truth or by the sheer joy of reading splendid poetry-- you have touched every chord of reason. Add to all that the charm that is Ruan and who is left to be convinced?

Bizarre Priorities (Poetry) - 4/13/2014 7:50:59 AM
Couldn't agree with you more, Ruan. The media we all seem to love and adore (not me, I had my cable removed) have brainwashed us to chase after the perfect "US," when the regular us was quite good enough. I liked the part about giving the tits exaggeration money to help fight diseases. About those tits. I've tried them. It's like sucking and licking a beach ball.

Ocean's Seven (Poetry) - 4/6/2014 6:50:47 AM
Love the rhythm and build up of this poem...reminds of the ultimate power of a Nature... Diana...

Ocean's Seven (Poetry) - 4/4/2014 12:28:36 PM
~Ruan~ Beautiful spattering visions of the ocean. A day to remember reaching. Lady Mary Ann

Ocean's Seven (Poetry) - 4/4/2014 7:54:13 AM
Clutching the land, evermore, dragging it seaward without a care. Soon there will be no beach at all, as the sea rises to make its call. In the poker game of life. Ron

Ocean's Seven (Poetry) - 4/4/2014 5:58:21 AM
I can see the marquee now "Ocean's 14: starring Clooney, Damon, and Burke." Hurrah for Hollywood!

Ocean's Seven (Poetry) - 4/4/2014 2:15:08 AM
wonderful visions here budd

Ocean's Seven (Poetry) - 4/3/2014 5:58:45 PM
Absolutely wonderful!

Ocean's Seven (Poetry) - 4/3/2014 3:05:12 PM
A good metaphoric write! Enjoyed! Sandie

Ocean's Seven (Poetry) - 4/3/2014 3:04:05 PM
Eighth...comes as quickly as a gust of some restless wind...from nowhere...then disappears something within you changes...and awakens the spiritual core...of human being... Thank you, Ruan for sharing your great poem.

Ocean's Seven (Poetry) - 4/3/2014 11:09:52 AM
Oh, I absolutely love this Ruan, absolutely! What a beautiful concept and the writing is superb with image-making lines and well done rhyme. This poem deserved a gold star!

Precious Metal (Poetry) - 4/3/2014 5:48:24 AM
Great writing. Love the metalic hues and so descibes the photo. Laurie B

Precious Metal (Poetry) - 4/3/2014 5:47:33 AM
Well now, Ruan, you have redefined copper in such a nice way that it will surely leap the top of the precious metals list. I don't know about its price, but your stock is rising fast. Well done.

Precious Metal (Poetry) - 4/3/2014 2:50:21 AM
What a marvelous poetic sunset.

Precious Metal (Poetry) - 4/3/2014 2:33:51 AM
...words call up image and vice versa to unpack the feeling of warmth.

Precious Metal (Poetry) - 4/2/2014 11:48:01 PM
Perfect melding! Diana...

Precious Metal (Poetry) - 4/2/2014 9:21:56 AM
so vividly beautiful budd

Precious Metal (Poetry) - 4/2/2014 9:06:16 AM
Interesting take on an the overworked subject of sunsets. I'll remember this one. Has a theatricality to it that is intriguing.

Precious Metal (Poetry) - 4/2/2014 8:45:19 AM
Bravo! The photo and the very descriptive words were the perfect accompaniment to it. The merging of poetry with the photo is well done.

Haiku Harbour (Poetry) - 3/31/2014 7:15:20 AM
Very colorful indeed! Always, Deborah

Haiku Harbour (Poetry) - 3/25/2014 4:24:19 PM
perfect

Haiku Harbour (Poetry) - 3/25/2014 1:28:59 AM
Lovely 'ku and pic.

Haiku Harbour (Poetry) - 3/24/2014 3:53:02 PM
A wonderful Haiku poem! Sandie

The 'not so lowly' Janitor (Poetry) - 3/24/2014 12:55:10 PM
~Ruan~ Well written piece. He is golden. Lady Mary Ann

Haiku Harbour (Poetry) - 3/24/2014 12:45:23 PM
~Ruan~ Haiku of beauty and expressive detail. Lovely image. Lady Mary Ann

The 'not so lowly' Janitor (Poetry) - 3/24/2014 12:12:12 PM
Points well made, Ruan. My father was a "janitor" and he had little formal schooling but he was well read and self-educated and had a lot more "on the ball" than a lot of "degree holders" that I have known. Thank you. Love, peace, and best wishes, Regis

Haiku Harbour (Poetry) - 3/24/2014 12:10:13 PM
I love haiku (and senryu) and I love this colorful one of yours, Ruan. Love and best wishes, Regis

Haiku Harbour (Poetry) - 3/24/2014 11:21:40 AM
yes a beautiful vivid vision of peace budd

Haiku Harbour (Poetry) - 3/24/2014 10:54:12 AM
Ahhh . . . Beautiful photo, outstanding 'Ku.

Earth-Landing... First Impressions (Poetry) - 3/13/2014 12:16:43 PM
~Ruan~ This read is so funny!! Laughing to tears!!! Lady Mary Ann

Earth-Landing... First Impressions (Poetry) - 3/13/2014 3:05:35 AM
Can't say that I blame you, and I hope you find a more hospitable planet.

Earth-Landing... First Impressions (Poetry) - 3/12/2014 7:20:20 PM
Excellent fun read

Earth-Landing... First Impressions (Poetry) - 3/12/2014 2:49:09 PM
lol

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.