AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Joan Hovey, iRegis Schilken, iNancy Jardine, iAnn Frailey, iDenise Richardson, iNancy Shattuck, iJanice Scott, i
 
Home > Karen Laura-lee-Lee Wilson
 

Recent Reviews for Karen Laura-lee-Lee Wilson


Recipes for Survival: Stories of Hope and Healing. (Book) - 8/9/2012 8:14:31 PM
Sad, but interesting. Who would've known. I put it in my library.

Gaining a sense of self is now available as an e-book Kindle. 445 p. (Book) - 12/29/2011 5:37:51 PM
I enjoyed reading Theresa Potts'positive review of my book.She is the first reviewer to comment on the front cover. She accurately interpreted the sketch, which coincidentally was my own self portrait I had drawn in 1988 for an art class. My reason for writing the memoir was to inform others who had lived similar lives that, on looking back, you notice the highs as well as the lows in life. Sixty years ago most people refused to report signs of child abuse, thinking 'It was not their business.' Fortunately times have changed and people are becoming increasingly aware of their civic duty to report crimes against children. For child abuse victims the writing down of their story can be cathartic and frequently helps with long-term healing. it is also a reference for psychologists and counselors who treat adult victims of child abuse. Incidentally I was so chuffed to read about my 'impeccable grammar'. Thank you Theresa for your insightful review. Karen Laura-Lee Wilson

All Aglow in Te Anau (Short Story) - 8/12/2013 10:37:33 AM
I won't ever visit New Zealand again, and missed Te Arnau when I did. But thanks to you I've been there and perhaps it was I who held your hand.

All Aglow in Te Anau (Short Story) - 8/8/2013 5:00:59 AM
finely written piece budd

Doggy Doings and Other Matters (Short Story) - 5/9/2013 2:22:47 AM
very cool story budd

Butt Out (Short Story) - 12/19/2012 5:19:02 AM
this one is well written and very interesting budd

Innocents Abroad in Tasmania (Short Story) - 4/20/2012 7:10:40 AM
A wonderful memory of quite an adventure for two friends. Thank you for sharing. Donna

Perfect Day (Short Story) - 11/28/2011 1:18:57 PM
great story. glad he had his favorite breaky. well written

Perfect Day (Short Story) - 11/27/2011 3:18:09 PM
beautiful story. allowed for the sad, sweet memories of having my own friend "placed asleep"-dogs offer so much companionship and love and...laughs. ( the right side of your story was cut off, so missed a few words, but still knew what was being told) blessed are those wth a friend in four legs!

Reminiscences of Thedbo Village, New South Wales (Short Story) - 9/20/2011 6:55:41 PM
Great Story Karen. Almost felt like I was there on the slopes.

Life in the Fast Lane (Short Story) - 9/10/2011 8:24:01 AM
yikes, your story shifted from one interesting account to ...a kind of morbidly disgusting one-HOW FUN! what interesting memories of what sounds like a most interesting life. as to the murder? fun read!

Chokos, Draino and Survival (Short Story) - 9/3/2011 4:52:15 PM
I started reading this story and I could not stop, it made me more curious about how the children were going to get rid of that horrible vine." Your stories are well written and I really enjoy them.

On their Own: Britain's Child Migrants (Article) - 7/6/2013 10:31:35 AM
I knew something like this existed. But I didn't know it was so bad. American history isn't much better, with our treatment of blacks and Mexican farm workers. Back in the late 60s, I drove across Canada twice, and picked up some kids who were summer workers on Canada 1. I didn't know, but I might have given rides to some of those children. Then again, I doubt if they would have been free to travel on their own like the hitchhikers I met. Just like Charles Dickens brought attention to the child labor that took place during the 1800s, your article and the exhibition help enlighten us on abuses unthought of during Pax Britannia. Ron I noted a couple of typos that you could tend to.

Easter Bunny (Poetry) - 4/17/2014 5:40:16 AM
Karen, The Easter bunny is symbolic like Santa Claus. Yes, it causes the parents to tell the children to 'be good' or Santa or the Easter Bunny won't come. People need to see the REAL meaning of both. Love and blessings, Linda

Easter Bunny (Poetry) - 4/16/2014 3:00:32 AM
a different kind of write, interesting budd

Easter Bunny (Poetry) - 4/15/2014 10:50:26 AM
I tend to agree with you about the consumerism part of your story. A lot of little chicks and baby rabbits become not really pets, but cast-off trash after torture by uncaring greed induced glorification of a religious holiday that has nothing to do with rabbits or eggs. I disagree that cottontail rabbits are "feral" counterparts of domestic rabbits. These rabbits are wild animals that provide a major food source for wild predators. For hunters, like I was, they made very good food when fried and not necessarily needed to be put in a stew. The only thing disagreeable about wild rabbits are their fleas and and their stink when being cleaned. Ron

Easter Bunny (Poetry) - 4/14/2014 9:22:23 PM
A very interesting write!! :o) I never ate any rabbits or rabbit stew, but suspect it must taste good. Easter... like Christmas or any other seasonal days such as Halloween is almost always for the children to enjoy. I agree with your disappointment when you saw it was only your parents who had placed the eggs into your basket. That sort of taken all the magic off from Easter from you. Sandie

Ode to Bella (Poetry) - 12/2/2013 2:25:23 PM
~Karen~ Sweet Bella~beautiful visions of her bobbing along!! Lady Mary Ann

Ode to Bella (Poetry) - 11/24/2013 9:15:32 AM
You are a real dog whisperer. Bella is hearing you loud and strong. Ron

Ode to Bella (Poetry) - 11/24/2013 7:15:40 AM
a fine tribute to Bella budd

Ode to Bella (Poetry) - 11/23/2013 10:30:42 PM
A pretty nice poetic puppy poem. What a joy! Amen!

Lost Love (Poetry) - 10/26/2013 7:42:07 AM
this is a bittersweet piece well comoosed sharing with your readers the pain caused by a broken heart. Peace be with you William

Lost Love (Poetry) - 10/10/2013 12:46:12 PM
Thank you to Amor Sabor, John Domino, Ronald Hull, John Bidwell and Budd Nelson for your insightful comments and for taking the time to let me know what you think of my poem. I gretly appreciate your support. Karen

Lost Love (Poetry) - 10/8/2013 8:19:19 AM
I see how one would be bitter of being played the fool by another who is trying to pull as many brass rings on the merry-go-round of life and love won by treachery. But does that make one a fool? a Loser? Abandoned and alone? One cannot define oneself that way when love is given freely...only when one gives with expectations. The world is driven by greed and deceit but one cannot be a part of it and give it creedence by attempting to balance the scales with victimizing oneself. Excellent expression. I love the visuals you have displayed in these lines.

Lost Love (Poetry) - 10/8/2013 12:33:28 AM
Wonderfully expressed poem from a broken heart. However, I lost a wife to breast cancer and this is what I earned. "Life today is like driving a fast train. If you concentrate too much on what is behind you you will miss the blessings that are in front of you. Even worse than that, you may even steer a bright future right off the tracks." Amen! Peace, love and blessings, John Michael Domino

Lost Love (Poetry) - 10/3/2013 8:08:18 AM
It is strange how we deny lust as something bad and put it in the category where we don't want to face it… Even censor it. However, it is the passion of lust that gives us those feelings that we think are “love.” And that's where we get confused thinking that our lust was something much better––love. Once we begin to understand the real difference between the two, we can enjoy both and not spend a lot of time pining over something that really wasn't “lost.” Loneliness is another matter. Sorry to intrude on your poem like this. It's a very fine poem about a subject that inflicts almost everyone and me, several times… until I learned the difference. Ron

Lost Love (Poetry) - 10/3/2013 3:02:08 AM
I will die asking these questions, and wondering why happiness didn't happen. Well expressed. John

Lost Love (Poetry) - 10/3/2013 2:12:47 AM
not the way life should be budd

Hi (Poetry) - 8/31/2013 12:20:21 PM
Not all situations are good. Yet, there is good to find in every situation, no mater how dire. It begs the question about the grandparents and the chain of pain. The ole lassie not loving is history, gone forever. The love of the fruit of the loins is here and now and has future memories to be made. No money, no house, no forest is more worthy than a child's love and life. That is real wealth and, spend it whilst ye may.

Hi (Poetry) - 8/30/2013 6:52:24 AM
It sounds like you've broken the thread of dysfunction that ended with your mother's death. We all should live as well as you described you do. Ron

Hi (Poetry) - 8/30/2013 2:14:48 AM
you have lived and loved well them as we all deserve budd

Ode to Rain (Poetry) - 7/9/2013 6:12:41 AM
Gives me a soothing touch of the amazing rain. Great write,Karen.

For Sandy (Poetry) - 6/2/2013 5:19:03 AM
Karen, I dread the day I have to say goodbye to my precious dog. He's 10 years old and not as spry as he used to be. Love and blessings, +Linda

For Sandy (Poetry) - 5/30/2013 8:18:25 AM
While we don't know an elderly dog's misery, euthanasia seems to be a kinder way of dealing with animal death. Cataracts are now easily corrected. I wonder how many dog owners had had their pets' cataracts removed. If only we could do the same for humans. But then, doctors have always quietly done so with the approval of loved ones. Ron

For Sandy (Poetry) - 5/30/2013 6:22:55 AM
Those of us with compassion do this for our beloved friends... Tearfully I have had to do this more than once. It makes your heart ache but their peace is of the utmost importance... Thank you for a lovely tribute to Sandy many here can relate to this... Love and Light Lily

For Sandy (Poetry) - 5/30/2013 3:47:05 AM
we who love nature are that compassionate with our closest companions and miss them as the family they are budd

For Sandy (Poetry) - 5/29/2013 10:35:35 PM
Oh Karen- you made me cry, which I always do when I think of the day I had to put our beautiful Rottweiler and best friend Mephisto to sleep. The pain of sorrow is as constant as the lovely memories. Bless your kind heart.

Ode to Rain (Poetry) - 4/19/2013 11:10:10 AM
Just think about it. Much of the pure, fresh water we get free from the sky––already purified by mother nature. While this precious life-giving source can be poisoned by chemicals in the air, it is still the only source of water for much of the planet's fauna and flora. Let it rain. Let it rain. Ron

Ode to Rain (Poetry) - 4/18/2013 5:05:50 AM
O de rain :) I do love how you have described this rain... Here it isn't parched but it falls beautifully both that throated song you describe and heaviness which is lovely... Nicely done... Love and Light Lily

Ode to Rain (Poetry) - 4/18/2013 4:55:34 AM
Karen, I too, love the rain. I'm sure the birds and insects and all animals are glad to see rain after so many months without it. Many blessings, +Linda

Memento (Poetry) - 2/27/2013 8:35:29 AM
yes it does ignite my imagination-lovely

Memento (Poetry) - 2/6/2013 10:05:30 PM
A penetrating vision of time's transience illustrating the infinite value of every passing moment which flashes by and dies, settling into memory for a little while.

Memento (Poetry) - 2/6/2013 2:38:11 PM
Quite interesting and I must say one that piques the imagination :) Love and Light Lily

Memento (Poetry) - 2/6/2013 11:09:28 AM
What a lovely story! It's too bad your husband didn't see the humor in his childhood fantasies. Ron

Memento (Poetry) - 2/5/2013 8:23:35 PM
Ah, I see something here! I have such a box buried. I understand. Love ya! Jane

Destiny Beckons (Poetry) - 10/21/2012 11:11:26 AM
awesome write

Destiny Beckons (Poetry) - 8/4/2012 2:11:05 PM
well Karen I liked your poem and I do hope you will write more

Destiny Beckons (Poetry) - 9/19/2011 9:50:33 AM
Very touching write. Tom

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.