AuthorsDen.com  Join | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: D.L. Carroll, iDebby Rosenberg, iBrian Hill, iDenise Nowakowski, iDavid Schwinghammer, iArthur Jackson, iPamela Taeuffer, i
 
Home > Heather Payer-Smith
 

Recent Reviews for Heather Payer-Smith


Growing Up Mabel (Book) - 8/31/2012 3:23:55 AM
Mabel & Anna are both twelve years old & they are best friends forever. The two of them do everything together. When they get in trouble, they get in trouble together. Same when they try to get out of trouble. This one particular summer is very important in the lives of both girls ‘cos of the many unexpected changes. “Growing Up Mabel” is a lovely book about growing up, finding one’s way around important questions such as ”Where the children come from?” “What does it mean to be a woman?” “Are babies born from kissing?” etc. The author does a wonderful job guiding the readers through all the confusing emotions & concerns that come up around the time the kids start growing up. While I was reading “Growing Up Mabel”, I immediately felt transported to the times when I was younger and life seemed simpler, much simpler. In my opinion the book is very much like Astrid Lindgren books, which I read over & over again when I was a kid. Also, the world Mabel and Anna live in feels a lot like the one from “Anne of Green Gables”. “Growing Up Mabel” is very worth reading & getting a copy for the young ladies in your family is a great, great idea.

The Little Green Umbrella (Book) - 8/24/2012 12:37:24 AM
Annabel is an amazing example for kids. It shows how to be dedicated when it's necessary, i.e. Annabel doesn't mind getting wet as long as everyone else around her isn't getting wet. She even leaves her little green umbrella with a dog before going on a school bus so the dog can stay dry. Because she's so nice, after the school Annabel finds a wonderful surprise at home. Well done Heather, another great book :)

Picture Perfect (Short Story) - 8/28/2012 2:41:57 AM
What a sad story? However so many people are touched & live with the depression. I know I've been there & this is how it feels. Another fantastic story Heather.

The Day After (Short Story) - 8/28/2012 2:25:10 AM
Wow!!! I didn't not expect the ending Heather. Good job, very visual. I could see images in my mind making a wonderful short film.

Not an Ugly Duckling (Short Story) - 12/17/2011 3:27:39 PM
bullies come in all shapes and sizes...abnd like a wolf in sheep clothing, many even wear costumes of ....mothers...how sad-

Nobody Cries for Opossums (Short Story) - 11/20/2011 10:28:18 PM
I really like your story. It held my interest all the way through. A well crafted piece.

Elegant Things (Short Story) - 11/18/2011 10:42:25 AM
Thank you both for sharing your thoughts and compliments. It means a lot that others enjoy my stories. :)

Nobody Cries for Opossums (Short Story) - 11/18/2011 10:41:13 AM
I really appreciate the comments! Glad I was able to provoke some emotional responses. Magda, to answer your question, I like to explore darker themes when writing shorts. It's something I've been doing for several years now. I was inspired to "test the waters" after I read "St. Lucy's Home for Girls Raised by Wolves" - a collection of rather obscure short stories by Karen Russel. She had such a vivid way of depicting her stories and her themes were all a little on the unusual side.

Nobody Cries for Opossums (Short Story) - 11/18/2011 7:52:44 AM
This one is a little too short. The ending is really f*cked up because you can't tell if it is either a opossum or the woman becoming road kill. I am thinking this could be a human roadkill type story.

Nobody Cries for Opossums (Short Story) - 11/17/2011 6:54:21 AM
Wow. Another amazing & touching story. The story makes me think & remember that life is build of small moments & small choices we make. Once again you touch the subject of death. Is this something you are interested in?

Elegant Things (Short Story) - 11/17/2011 6:45:19 AM
Loved it. Beautiful story. I could feel everything the woman was feeling. I've been thinking about getting old a lot recently. I wonder if it's scary?

Elegant Things (Short Story) - 11/13/2011 5:48:51 PM
Vivid imagery; well penned!

Nobody Cries for Opossums (Short Story) - 11/13/2011 7:11:46 AM
Awesome story, Heather; very well penned!

Nobody Cries for Opossums (Short Story) - 11/11/2011 4:59:39 PM
yikes...what a vivid story.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.