AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Joe tofuri@swbell.net, iKaren Epp, iAudrey Coatesworth, iShervin Hojat, Ph.D., iDonna Lynch, iAlbert Megraw, iJacob Taylor, i
 
Home > John Smith Williams
 

Recent Reviews for John Smith Williams


True Mates (Short Story) - 2/5/2004 7:17:13 AM
A lovely story of mateship John! :D It brought back memories of my own hunting trips to Woodend, Victoria, where I shot many a rabbit. Oh to be a carefree youth again! ;D

True Mates (Short Story) - 12/18/2003 8:52:53 PM
Good lesson to share. Good mates are hard to find! Wonderful write.

The Button Box (Short Story) - 11/8/2003 4:34:30 AM
You certainly know how to make a grown woman tear up, don't you my friend?!? ;D A beautiful story, enjoyed every word of it and the memories it brought flooding back. Mum and I also had a button box, but ours was an old Milo tin! Time to find another tin/box I think ... Love Rob. xoxoxox

Going Home (Short Story) - 11/8/2003 4:24:41 AM
Oh John, how could you?!?!? He was such a sweetie and you killed him off, you big meanie!! ;D Very enjoyable story though, brought tears to my eyes just thinking about my own home back down under!! :D Love Rob. xoxoxox

Heartbeat. (Short Story) - 11/8/2003 4:20:35 AM
Everyone's worst fear I think, is to die alone. It just goes to show that sometimes "stressful families" are a good thing, doesn't it? And you know how stressful MINE can be, don't you John?!? lol Very enjoyable, I'm looking forward to reading the rest of yours and Beth's stories! :D Love Rob. xoxoxox

Heartbeat. (Short Story) - 10/11/2003 8:30:09 PM
John that is a short sad tale. I was hoping something exciting would happen before his end came. Nevertheless, I liked the story.

Heartbeat. (Short Story) - 8/4/2003 1:35:03 AM
wow!!! How sad. Wonder who found him????That was my first thought.... Good work as usual. love you.

Going Home (Short Story) - 7/30/2003 12:04:25 AM
Such a wonderful story. Sad true but what a way to go home. Nice one. Memories are wonderful.

Going Home (Short Story) - 7/22/2003 2:29:23 PM
oh, what a sad ending! lovely and gentle story; enjoyed! :( (((HUGS)))

The Button Box (Short Story) - 7/21/2003 2:24:17 PM
Makes me cry everytime I read it. It's excellent Dad. Love you bev xoxoxox

The Button Box (Short Story) - 7/18/2003 4:28:56 PM
What a wonderful story! Beautifully crafted and brought tears to my eyes. Amazing how something simple can trigger a memory and all the other memories come flooding in. I know you will enjoy Puddles in the Road. It is the same kind of memory trip - shorter but the destination is the same.

The Button Box (Short Story) - 7/18/2003 9:48:38 AM
Excellent story! :) ((HUGS)) enjoyed!

On Writing (Article) - 10/8/2003 4:26:07 PM
Not everyone can handle a critique or know how to write one without getting into personalities or bearing grudges. Though writing is personal, you have to be impersonal about the critique. Those who don't know how to do so, should shut up, IMHO. [smiles]

On Writing (Article) - 10/7/2003 10:41:38 PM
Critiques are best received by those who are open minded and realize that we all have more to learn in every area of life. Unfortunately, there are many who have not yet matured this far. I am grateful for the reviews I get because I learn from them. Nothing will strengthen your skills more than being shown where you are weak. If you are unable to handle poor or mediocre reviews, then perhaps you need to mature before your work can properly mature. You can't honestly hope to make a living at writing if you can't stomach poor reviews. You must also keep in mind that each review is the opinion of one person only, and that one person may not represent the audience you are trying to write for. Take the bitter pill, keeping in mind it was devised to aid you. In general, AuthorsDen is a wonderful way to connect with fellow wordsmiths and aim for well-deserved reviews. If you give up just because of a few negative comments from strangers then you lack the resolve to improve yourself in this area. Obviously, though, if nobody likes anything you do, you probably suck and should either work on developing a better sense of humor or try your hand at some other craft. We aren't all good at everything we try, but AuthorsDen can help you develop what writing talent you may have through the critical reviews of our peers.

Make Life Count (Poetry) - 8/17/2012 11:05:38 AM
This is beautiful, true,and it gives pause for serious thought. Continued success~ Barbara J Henry

A Matter of Trust (Poetry) - 8/17/2012 11:02:53 AM
Such a thought provoking poem John, and so very true. I was looking through the site and came upon yours for the first time. I wrote a poem having the same title some time ago. When you get a moment, stop by my page and let me know what you think of my poem which,although it has the very same title, is quite different. I'd be interested in knowing your thoughts. Continued success. Barbara J Henry

A Prayer for Help (Poetry) - 9/7/2011 5:58:08 PM
Thanks so much for shearing this prayer. It speaks to the heart.daphne

If I Had The Time (Poetry) - 8/25/2011 6:27:53 PM
This is beautifull and absolutly true.we can learn a lot from this poem. Keep on writing.

A Matter of Trust (Poetry) - 2/7/2011 10:53:45 AM
Oh so true, my friend. Thank you! Blessings...Frances

A Verse About Nothing in Particular (Poetry) - 11/5/2009 10:50:26 AM
Hi John I know the feeling. On one of my 'writer's block' days I wrote a poem a bit similar to yours entitled 'Poets Day Off' Yours is better though!

A Remeniscence (Poetry) - 6/30/2009 3:48:25 AM
I liked it. check my work out. will order some of your work.

A Matter of Trust (Poetry) - 2/1/2009 6:14:50 AM
Very nicely written and you captured the many people that we put our trust in everyday. Issue, I struggle with daily, begins with a faith and trust in God...thanks for sharing words of wisdom Hugs Nance

A Matter of Trust (Poetry) - 12/4/2008 8:35:48 AM
John, Such a wonderful poem. It is obvious you have a wonderful faith. Thank you for sharing it. With love, Cindy

Anzac Memories (Poetry) - 11/13/2008 11:10:54 AM
I have had quite a great experience going through your works. I love your approach and intensity. It is very engaging.

A Prayer for Help (Poetry) - 11/1/2008 3:56:39 PM
Wonderful thoughts! Praise GOD! JMD

A Flag of Our Own (Poetry) - 10/7/2008 10:58:18 AM
this is wonderful as well as metered and syntaxed much enjoyed. ~D.

A Healthy Lifestyle (Poetry) - 5/4/2008 10:00:48 AM
Giggles, chuckles, delight, delight! Selene

A Prayer for Help (Poetry) - 6/21/2007 6:44:08 AM
Beautiful heartspeak...Wonderful prayer poem, A winning combination.

A Verse About Nothing in Particular (Poetry) - 5/21/2007 8:16:37 AM
I like this one - the first line reminds me of 'I wandered lonely as a cloud' - the poem is simple, precise, rhythmic

Anzac Memories (Poetry) - 2/8/2007 8:29:37 PM
Nice tribute...I don't see an end in sight as of today on the war front! So much fighting...I realize though that it is to protect our freedom, and a fight against terrorists...just wish there was a simple solution to end the violence! Enjoyed the write! Blessings, Joyce Bowling

A Matter of Trust (Poetry) - 2/3/2007 9:44:19 AM
The greatest trust we all as a people or nation is to TRUST IN GOD. a Very powerful inspiring write. Light & peace, Joselyn

A Brush With A Turkey (Poetry) - 1/1/2007 4:33:48 AM
This is not in the slightest amusing as far as I can see. And the spelling and typing errors make it almost unreadable.

A Touch Of The Hand (Poetry) - 10/19/2006 3:07:06 PM
yes do i know the power of the right touch.

A Matter of trust (Poetry) - 10/19/2006 3:04:49 PM
I always asked this question and now i know why. he is seting us up for a blessing. For a miracle!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Get ready.

A Matter of Trust (Poetry) - 10/19/2006 3:01:22 PM
I totally put all my trust in Gid even though I am in love i know that he will never fail ne. God. This is awesome.

A true narrative (Poetry) - 10/11/2006 4:00:50 PM
Even if it's more than 2 years later, it is a narrative continuing on...truth or fiction; when it hits home, it's real

A Brush With A Turkey (Poetry) - 5/7/2006 6:34:00 AM
Clever write that made me chuckle. Thanks!

A Verse About Nothing in Particular (Poetry) - 4/19/2006 10:51:18 AM
This is a very good poem- straight from the heart. It touches a chord in anyone who is a natural writer. More power to your pen, John. Bala

A Brush With A Turkey (Poetry) - 12/30/2005 9:53:09 AM
There is a story, obvious humorous; though humour turns a name ironical indeed as I find the input of word imageries give a dip into the heart to fly with the Turkey as well the word graphical visual about the scene that causes a subtle stand of humour touches a heart intensively to glow with laughter with the incident where there is touch of fantasy, innocence, a bit of adventure and smell of humour in empirical fancy of poetic strength, moreover it flows with the narrative force of truth and rightly I find clarity in word visual projection, the dramatic effect in narration appears expressively vivid, besides there are rhythms in word order at par with rhymes give a nice rhythmic funny read as I enjoy the end comes with a symbolic effect and the title gives an appropriate poetic significance for the title gives a brush of the colour of the tale with allegorical flavour for ‘brush’ has two dimensional meanings fits in the whole work so the multi-dimensional glamour does touch a heart of poetic fancy.

A Touch Of The Hand (Poetry) - 9/24/2005 11:57:46 AM
Indeed the marvelous, mysterious power of the healing touch.....

A Matter of Trust (Poetry) - 9/24/2005 11:56:23 AM
Wonderful lines....

A Tidy Mind (Poetry) - 8/29/2005 12:18:36 AM
It is said that concentration is the secret of success in war, in politics, in business and all spheres. A cluttered mind can never achieve concentration or organization.The reference to genius is apt. They are supposed to be lopsided but they are more an exception than the rule.

What's Your Story (Poetry) - 8/29/2005 12:14:07 AM
I think this is a very interesting idea. People have this habit of reading biographies and autobiographies of great people but the fact is that there is as much to be learnt from the lives of ordinary people if only everyone were to share their life's story.It is said that wise men learn from the mistakes of others and fools from their own. So one can learn from other people's experiences to avoid history repeating itself. All your ideas are like social issues, John. Great thinking.

A Touch Of The Hand (Poetry) - 8/29/2005 12:08:48 AM
It is said that ability has to be backed up by visibility. If anyone forgets to touch or hug his wife, the veracity of what is mentioned in this poem can easily be witnessed. Expression is as important as intention which by itself does not mean anything. The last paragraph is really expressed well.

Make Life Count (Poetry) - 8/29/2005 12:04:19 AM
Great poem. Especially for the younger generation. There is a saying that lose health to earn money and then spend it to gain health. This is for those who are overdependent on career at the cost of everything else and mess up their lives. I rencently read "The monk who sold his Ferrari" and this is a poetic expression of the entire book. Great work. Keep it up.

If I Had The Time (Poetry) - 8/28/2005 11:59:02 PM
I think the best tribute to this poem is that if I had more time, I would read all such poems on authorsden and other wesbsites.

A Healthy Lifestyle (Poetry) - 8/28/2005 11:55:58 PM
Very interesting. Good Rhyming. One would surely appreciate being young more after reading this poem. My grandmother died recently at 87 and I can empathize.

Anzac Memories (Poetry) - 3/4/2005 4:23:04 AM
"lest we forget" And to the Author of this write may I say the same. RIP John Smith Williams

A Matter of Trust (Poetry) - 2/1/2005 7:05:52 PM
absolutely true!

A true narrative (Poetry) - 6/22/2004 4:43:32 AM
This poem, beautifully written was one of the last John wrote. Sadly John passed away peacefully on 6th May, 2004 :~(( John was like a father to me and I will miss him terribly. I hope all of John's readers will enjoy his works here, he was a beautiful writer!! John's wife Beth also writes lovely poems, so please visit her pages here too. She has written some since John's passing but I'm not sure if she'll be uploading them. Rest in peace John Smith Williams!!! :D Love Rob. xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox

Anzac Memories (Poetry) - 6/4/2004 7:37:43 PM
You honour them with this write..a moving poem. Love, Dani

Bush Morning (Poetry) - 6/2/2004 5:37:45 AM
yes nothing quite like it indeed. Thanks John. :)Ch'erie

Anzac Memories (Poetry) - 5/15/2004 1:23:48 PM
Lovely tribute, John. Love and peace. Regis

Anzac Memories (Poetry) - 5/2/2004 11:50:01 AM
A great write of tribute, John! ~ Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu ~

Anzac Memories (Poetry) - 4/26/2004 4:09:42 AM
A tribute to the fallen, a tribute to all that fought. To forget would be our demise. To try and forget is impossible. A wonderful work of memories. Lisa

Anzac Memories (Poetry) - 4/26/2004 3:53:54 AM
"...in the morning and in the evening WE WILL REMEMBER THEM..." john+

Anzac Memories (Poetry) - 4/25/2004 9:35:28 PM
a very well penned remembrance ...

Anzac Memories (Poetry) - 4/25/2004 7:16:56 PM
Thank you for sharing . My thoughts and prayers were with this remembrance today, and the friends I have in Australia etc.

Make Life Count (Poetry) - 4/25/2004 12:23:01 PM
Good thoughts well said. Love and peace to you, John. Regis

Make Life Count (Poetry) - 4/24/2004 12:53:11 AM
Yul Brynner said: We are born alone, we live alone, we die alone. Everything in-between is a gift. Enjoyable read, John. Thoughtful, indeed.

REPRIEVE (Poetry) - 4/21/2004 4:18:06 PM
Wonderful poetry.......so well written......... Very uplifting......its good to read of your recovery even if I don't know you........positive news is an equalizer........ good health to you pax A

REPRIEVE (Poetry) - 4/18/2004 11:09:30 AM
Your gratefulness shines through in these verses, John. Love and peace to you. Regis

REPRIEVE (Poetry) - 4/14/2004 7:39:10 AM
Hi John, Thanks for sharing this outstanding write... Trixie :)

REPRIEVE (Poetry) - 4/13/2004 11:25:14 AM
Beautiful work, John. I'm glad you are on the mend. May your life count for much and be remembered always. Love, Elizabeth

REPRIEVE (Poetry) - 4/12/2004 10:10:42 AM
Wonderful and powerful poem! I especially liked: "I emerged from the mists of a different time and place, Images of things half seen which I didn’t want to face, Nightmarish scenes half remembered through deep mists of time, Back into a world of light and familiar faces so sublime," It's great to appreciate and be thankful for the good things of life!

REPRIEVE (Poetry) - 4/12/2004 4:10:50 AM
A wonderful write, John. Many can relate to this. ~ Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu ~

REPRIEVE (Poetry) - 4/11/2004 11:37:14 PM
I'm glad you were given one. I just wish that Rod would :( Lovely write John, a true witness of the willingness of God. Love to you all Ch'erie

A true narrative (Poetry) - 4/11/2004 3:46:58 AM
Oh John this is so touching, and i am darn glad that God kept you with us, and to all the staff and Doc's, what can I say, those guys work 24/7, I know, Corey wouldnt be here if they didnt, and God never sleeps either, this is soooo special to my heart, Thank you so much for this beautiful offering. Love and Blessings Ch'erie

A true narrative (Poetry) - 4/10/2004 2:33:52 AM
John, I just had a scare in that area also, but it turned out ok. You have much to be grateful for. This should be an especially Happy Easter for you. Bill Murray

Stranger and Stranger (Poetry) - 4/10/2004 2:30:13 AM
Nice write. I tend to agree with your conclusions... as if that really matters. However, I would say that if a religious tradition has the potential to pose a public threat, the public should be protected. I'm thinking of a recent case where a certain woman wanted to cover her face in her drivers license picture due to her religious beliefs... I say let her cover her face all she wants, but she should not expect the benefit of public services or privileges if her true identity cannot be confirmed. Oh well, sometimes my poli sci, history, law background just won’t let go. I enjoyed your write.

A true narrative (Poetry) - 4/10/2004 2:22:04 AM
Thank you for sharing your experience. Good luck with your “new dimension.”

A true narrative (Poetry) - 4/9/2004 11:08:30 PM
Congratulations! You went through a very trying time. I'm happy for you and your family that you made it! I too came through a death experience so I know about it. Have a blessed and healthy Easter!

Stranger and Stranger (Poetry) - 2/15/2004 1:46:15 PM
everyone should be allowed to express their religious persuasion without fear or reprisal ...

Stranger and Stranger (Poetry) - 2/13/2004 10:21:22 AM
Strange indeed, John! I'm just a lil ole lady poet who loves to write, and I shall sing of hope, joy and light, till the end of my life. Very thoughtful poem, John. Well done!

Stranger and Stranger (Poetry) - 2/13/2004 4:27:02 AM
All religions aim to teach goodness. I hope everyone learn from it. ~ May / Sandie ~

Stranger and Stranger (Poetry) - 2/13/2004 2:55:54 AM
Nicely argued. Certainly religions do not want to take over the state and make nations all Christian or Muslim.

Stranger and Stranger (Poetry) - 2/13/2004 1:33:58 AM
Spot on John, and yes, your instincts are right as far as I am concerned, Revolution Reeks like a dead rat Blessings Ch'erie Batten down the Hatches M8

Heroes Or Villians (Poetry) - 2/10/2004 4:35:21 AM
Well done and very true!

Heroes Or Villians (Poetry) - 2/8/2004 4:54:12 AM
You are so right John. Even if they were hung for their convicted crimes..somehow, some way..years later when the story is retold, they find a way to make them seem almost sainted. Excellent write. Enjoyed. Lisa

Down In The Mall (REVISITED) (Poetry) - 2/5/2004 8:03:51 PM
Dollar stores are having similiar affects. Great write.

Down In The Mall (REVISITED) (Poetry) - 2/5/2004 6:12:34 PM
You had me there, John, but that will do it, those bulk places can really make it hard on the malls as well as WalMarts, I hear...interesting write, makes one think, but what can be done, if anything, or if anyone is interested...enjoyed and got sucked in, I like that in anything philosophical...Peace, Ed & Rufuz (w00f)

If I Had The Time (Poetry) - 2/4/2004 6:05:30 AM
great write.

If I Had The Time (Poetry) - 2/3/2004 6:20:58 PM
A wonderful flow of thoughts and memories through ones life. All we can ask from ourselves is to do our best. If we can say we have, we have done okay.

If I Had The Time (Poetry) - 2/3/2004 5:51:10 PM
A moving reflection...

What Is Belief (Poetry) - 2/2/2004 10:27:05 AM
John, search and you will find it. It lives within you. It's the light that comes from all that's good, moral, and praiseworthy.

What Is Belief (Poetry) - 2/2/2004 7:41:19 AM
Even the belief of no belief is a beief in itself. I understand exactly what your going through. The only answer that helped me in the long run was to look deeply within myself for the answers. I believe that as long as we are doing our best in our actions we are doing okay. The answer for me is, there is a energy out there that goes by any name we give it and positive actions and thoughts is the way to go :-)

What Is Belief (Poetry) - 2/2/2004 5:09:06 AM
Our own concience is our best guide. Wonderful write John, poses a question that many are asking, it's like it has come to decision time! Love Ch'erie

What Is Belief (Poetry) - 2/1/2004 8:28:01 PM
John, you gotta believe in that which makes you feel happy & comfortable, who really can say, Buddha, Christ, Allah, all right for those that believe in them, but where do you stand? Excellent write, similar to one I wrote, but much, much better thought out, enjoyed this...Peace, Ed & Rufuz

What's Your Story (Poetry) - 1/29/2004 5:06:10 PM
Good question, and I love the poem. Yes, we all have a story to tell. I wonder if we would learn more, if those stories were told. Just maybe no one would listen.

What's Your Story (Poetry) - 1/27/2004 11:52:00 PM
I wonder too, what my face says :) hope its not all the clap of doom or despair, hope there's some definate cheer and lightheartedness amongst all the years. Speaking of which, please review my extraordinary review in stories section, my way of releasing anguish is to be ( silly ) lol tell me if this hits a chord with you John. Or not LOL Hugs Ch'erie

WYSIWYG People (Poetry) - 1/23/2004 7:37:49 PM
These are great people to have in your life.

beyond Deaths Door (Poetry) - 1/17/2004 9:01:48 PM
Excellent poetization of an interesting story, John. Whatever is behind the door, it gives us comfort to think we know what it is. And when we go through it, it will no longer matter what we thought lay beyond. It will be what it will be. Some say eternal tranquility. I can buy that. Best regards, Leland

beyond Deaths Door (Poetry) - 1/17/2004 2:40:30 PM
Very thought-provoking write, John. Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu :o)

beyond Deaths Door (Poetry) - 1/17/2004 8:06:00 AM
John, a very touching and meaningful write. One can only pray that what lies beyond is eternal tranquility. Lisa

beyond Deaths Door (Poetry) - 1/16/2004 10:00:44 PM
part of our ability to survive death is our power to conceptualize it ... doesn't the master reside everywhere? just some insightful input to this very well written poem ...

The Power Of One (Poetry) - 1/15/2004 6:51:12 AM
Its a hard job, but someones gotta do it aye mate? Ty John, inspiring indeed Hugs Ch'erie

The Waiting Game (Poetry) - 1/15/2004 6:49:00 AM
Frightfully annoying, and you have expressed one of my pet peeves here really well. I like directory service, where they ask you who you want, I just keep saying, operator, operator, till i get an operator lol Ty John Hugs Ch'erie

The Waiting Game (Poetry) - 1/13/2004 8:56:54 AM
So annoying, this waiting game; and you captured the moment perfectly! Great writing, John; enjoyed! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in America, Karen Lynn in Texas. :D

The Waiting Game (Poetry) - 1/12/2004 6:46:18 PM
I have had that happen. Very annoying. Great capture of the essence of this call.

A Touch Of The Hand (Poetry) - 1/12/2004 12:57:26 PM
You make a very good point here. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you. Regis

A Touch Of The Hand (Poetry) - 1/12/2004 10:16:19 AM
Lovely write, John! (((HUGS))) and much love, your Tx. friend, Karen Lynn. :D

A Touch Of The Hand (Poetry) - 1/11/2004 5:47:02 PM
Again, another expression of the mystery of communication is this poem on 'A Touch of the Hand'. Inflections in the voice, facial expression, the tilt of the head, the depth of the eyes, speed or hesitation of reply, what is left unsaid, the touch of the hand etc. With all these variables, a simple sentence can be said uncountable different ways and all mean something different. Yes a simple touch of the hand, can communicate so much, so beautifully.

The Power Of One (Poetry) - 1/10/2004 9:00:05 PM
Fantastic write!!!! Very inspiring and uplifting.

As We Go Through Life (Poetry) - 1/10/2004 8:58:54 PM
Great advice!

The Power Of One (Poetry) - 1/9/2004 8:04:38 PM
the power of one unites us all ... excellent poem!

As We Go Through Life (Poetry) - 1/9/2004 7:44:19 AM
Well said, John. Life, as it is, is a gift--we don't treat it as such, but we are here under God's divine Will. It is up to us, as humans, to carry through in the light of His Word--if only we will. b

As We Go Through Life (Poetry) - 1/9/2004 7:32:32 AM
a fab write. well done.

As We Go Through Life (Poetry) - 1/9/2004 7:23:06 AM
Excellent write and read, John. Our lives ARE up to us, but some or alot tend to blame others for our mishaps, mistakes etc...They should read this, but then again, they may blame you for making them read this and blame me for saying they blame others, LOL! Peace, ED & Rufuz

As We Go Through Life (Poetry) - 1/9/2004 1:09:01 AM
Action oriented, like Dylan Thomas, you rage, rage against the dying of the light." Thanks, John.

The System Now (Poetry) - 1/7/2004 6:36:58 PM
great poem with a great message

The System Now (Poetry) - 1/6/2004 6:53:40 PM
John, excellent write, I also hear that the doctors can now be "accessed" through the internet...they say saving patients and doctors needed time... I say the patient is not saving anything, the doctor is just saving him/herself from seeing the patient in person, and I hear it still costs something for the patient to talk to the doctor online...it will only get worse, an excellent rant and complaint with regards the worlds condition...Peace in your New Year, ED & Rufuz

The System Now (Poetry) - 1/5/2004 7:47:19 PM
I remember the Dr. that made house calls :-) Not that old, just that sick as a child. All the systems are failing and have been for some time. When do we demand the changes and not let them get away with the excuses?

The System Now (Poetry) - 1/5/2004 7:20:20 PM
Yes, John we are a sick society, bought by an even sicker system... this is an excellent write... trying to bring back what once was... In Spirit, Bear

The System Now (Poetry) - 1/5/2004 7:03:39 PM
I understand all to well, excellently expressed! Reindeer

Pill Time (Poetry) - 1/4/2004 5:13:06 PM
Hi John: You have done wonders with this write. I agree with Karen, we all have to take pills as we get older. Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu :o)

Pill Time (Poetry) - 1/3/2004 11:51:44 AM
(((ed))) oh, i felt this one--now i gotta go take another pill you ever take so many that you rattle?? that's when you have a problem LOL (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

Pill Time (Poetry) - 1/3/2004 9:54:29 AM
Thought provoking write :-)

Pill Time (Poetry) - 1/3/2004 9:42:22 AM
As one who takes medication for ongoing and chronic pain, I could most definitely relate to this write! But unfortunately, taking pills is a part of growing older; it's a cross we have to learn to bear! Good write~ (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Texas, Karen Lynn. :D

An Abstract on Sameness (Poetry) - 1/3/2004 7:55:35 AM
Ah but if we were all the same, Or, as is said, on the same plain, Would we have such a hard life? Or would our strife, Be something none-existant? Or is it our differences that make us who we are,' Who is to say, either you or I, Maybe we should just all go out to a bar? And drink till we see each other as the same...Peace, Ed & Rufuz(woof) (dont look at me, the poem was not my idea, Rufuz did it! LOL)

Pill Time (Poetry) - 1/3/2004 7:45:59 AM
Ah the Aussies talking back and forthe, making us "yanks" strain to understand...LOL John, I know the feeling, I only take 3 right now, but on a daily basis, but if they help us to live longer, what the hell, although doc says exercise and a better diet too would help...Peace & keep takin' those pills, we need your intelligence and abilities to write around a bit longer, Ed & Rufuz (w00f)

Pill Time (Poetry) - 1/3/2004 4:03:18 AM
I take medication, for a autonomic epiletic condition, so my Son made a joke about it, reciting a scene out of Footrot flats, Little punk pulls, ( kiwi accent applies ) so it's no deal, except if I forget :) i find making a joke out of it all helps. Especially when things arent that funny. Top write John, And I hear it was a meagre 33 today your way, we had near on 39!!!! Coastal breezes lucky you. Love to you Ch'erie

An Abstract on Sameness (Poetry) - 1/2/2004 9:30:25 PM
uniqueness holds the trisms of creativity ...

An Abstract on Sameness (Poetry) - 1/2/2004 9:11:34 PM
Whoa, I am so glad we are all cut from a different mold...this would be such a horrible fate...excellent write on the intrigue of sameness. Allen

An Abstract on Sameness (Poetry) - 1/2/2004 6:10:40 PM
I agree with your thoughts here, It is the unexpected, that which is different, that makes this world so much fun!

Progressive Thought (Poetry) - 1/1/2004 7:16:01 AM
overcome the fear to move ahead into each day ... controlled fear is power...

Progressive Thought (Poetry) - 1/1/2004 6:40:16 AM
As long as there is breath within one's lungs..it's never too late. If I see you stumble..I'll gladly help you to your feet. Happy New Year. Lisa

Progressive Thought (Poetry) - 1/1/2004 12:37:02 AM
Shall refelct on these words of wisdom John, and there isnt half a cake left over in the fridge either :)It's a mirage!! Love Ch'erie

Progressive Thought (Poetry) - 12/31/2003 10:46:21 PM
Very wise. Happy New Years!

Peace In Our Time (Poetry) - 12/31/2003 3:01:05 PM
Wonderful words of wisdom, John! HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY! Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu :o)

Peace In Our Time (Poetry) - 12/29/2003 9:10:52 AM
Excellent write, John; well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Peace In Our Time (Poetry) - 12/28/2003 9:35:04 PM
Excellent words of wisdom's call, I too agree with your way of peace...and I still hope, for without hope...the people perish. May the upcoming year be a blessing for you. Allen

Peace In Our Time (Poetry) - 12/28/2003 8:12:49 PM
As long as we hold the dream it is possible :-) Wonderful write. Happy New Years!

Peace In Our Time (Poetry) - 12/28/2003 7:34:56 PM
That might come in 2005 if Bush loses the election, if the Arabs and the Israelis get tired of killing each other, if Pakistan and India decide to both leave Kashmir, if Tony Blair get tossed out on his ear in 2004, and if somebody comes up with a pill to remove half the testosterone from the bodies of every male on the planet. Otherwise, don't count on it.

On New Year Resolutions (Poetry) - 12/28/2003 11:06:48 AM
This is excellant food for thought, and that remark by your mother...TRUTHFUL AND PERFECT! ~Nikki~

Father (Poetry) - 12/27/2003 1:13:50 AM
Always wanted to write something about my dad, but seems all I can remember are the bad times and I would prefer not to, so much for a poem on him...your dad sounds as if he was a guy not to be triffled with, and yourself, in your bio, u are not much smaller than he was I will bet! Peace and keep up the great writes, Ed & Rufuz

Autumn Dawn (Poetry) - 12/27/2003 1:08:58 AM
As I said once before, it seems that we have all but lost Autumn up here in the north. Is it pollution, greenhouse effect or what I don't know but I miss it nonetheless...enjoy what you have & thanks for these special writes about other places, I really do enjoy reading them...peace, Ed & rufuz

A Tidy Mind (Poetry) - 12/27/2003 1:05:23 AM
John, I think a "tidy mind" is a product of a "sick mind" LOL! I have all the knowledge of space also, but unfortunately for me, space is a vacuum, and that explains my mind for freakin' sure! Again, Peace, Ed & Rufuz

Writers Block (Poetry) - 12/27/2003 1:01:23 AM
John, another one I like here and oh yes I have felt it too, I think I wrote on or two diddys on this same subject, one maybe called "Drained Again or emptyness, but I have this memory problem, its called "long term drug use, equals, short term memory loss, or is it the other way around, I never can recall, for some odd reason, LOL" Oh and a word to rhyme with ocean might be motion...Peace, ED & Rufuz

Seventy Four Today (Poetry) - 12/27/2003 12:56:44 AM
John, I truly liked this one, and by the way, damn, you ARE old, LOL I guess I should say congradulations, Happy Birthday, belated or condolances, just kinda covering all bases here, LOL! Peace, ED & rufuz (w00f)...oh & Kay below is the other person I talked about as being from AussieLand!

A Healthy Lifestyle (Poetry) - 12/27/2003 12:51:23 AM
Excellent John, I too laughed all the way thru as did other readers of this one. I know the feeling and I am a bit younger, just about 50 & I am way out of shape. Found that out today when delivering a heavy load of boxes to a customer...I near died, or so I thought, LOL! Took me a bit of awhile to recover for sure...Peace, Ed & rufuz

Christmas Down-under (Poetry) - 12/27/2003 12:46:57 AM
John, I enjoy very much reading about other places & how they celebrate or do not if that is the way, Christmas. Another author on AD lives "down under" and has spoken of the heat and like that! I especially like the line above, "AND HE WOULD BE TOO BUSY MOPPING HIS BROW TO GO HO, HO, HO!" I personaly could live with out the heat but it is fine we have it & it is nice to see it go & return later...I like the seasons, although we no longer seem to have 4 seasons, now just winter and summer...Peace, ED & rufuz (w00f)

On New Year Resolutions (Poetry) - 12/25/2003 9:05:14 PM
John, I love anything in the philosophy vicinity, and this truly does what it states...I have but one resolution this coming year & that is to learn a few small songs on my guitar that I have had in possession for quite a long time...'bout time I use it for other than hanging my coat, LOL! Peace, Ed & Rufuz

Thoughts On A New Year (Poetry) - 12/23/2003 9:24:19 AM
terrific write on the new year~ happy new year's and merry christmas to you, john! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :D

Thoughts On A New Year (Poetry) - 12/23/2003 6:12:27 AM
Anything is possible :-) Wonderful write, happy Holidays!

Which Christmas? (Poetry) - 12/22/2003 7:07:54 PM
A very simple, clever and humbling poem. Merry Christmas! Jennifer Ragan

The True Meaning of Christmas (Poetry) - 12/21/2003 1:33:10 PM
thanks for the reminder, john! AMEN!! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :D merry christmas to you and yours!

The True Meaning of Christmas (Poetry) - 12/20/2003 8:00:59 PM
AMEN! And thanks for the reminder, John! Merry Christmas! Julie :)

The True Meaning of Christmas (Poetry) - 12/20/2003 7:51:45 PM
This is Christmas, thank you for sharing. Nancy

The True Meaning of Christmas (Poetry) - 12/20/2003 6:17:34 PM
Wonderful message, great write!

What On Earth (Poetry) - 12/17/2003 4:54:49 AM
Great ending!

What On Earth (Poetry) - 12/17/2003 1:02:30 AM
well done!

What On Earth (Poetry) - 12/17/2003 1:00:34 AM
Yes, well, it kinda dosent have the same meaning anymore I reckon. Apathy rules. But this write is superb John, a darn good reminder for what we should be about. My father used to always say rather cynically, " come the 25 ceasefire, peace and goodwill to all men, boxing day, commence firing again. Cynic or realist eh! Thanks John, your a gem, and I wish that we had your cool sea breezes up here, been going nuts for days, finally it cooled off in the last hour or so, Phew!! Love Ch'erie

Which Christmas? (Poetry) - 12/16/2003 9:06:03 AM
i choose the latter; after all, that is what CHRISTmas is about..JESUS CHRIST! :D (((HUGS))) and much love, your texas friend, karen lynn. :D thanks for reminding us WHY we celebrate CHRISTmas!

Which Christmas? (Poetry) - 12/15/2003 10:54:15 PM
Excellent and very defining.It's usually more the first than the second for most.Not much changes sad to say...

Which Christmas? (Poetry) - 12/15/2003 7:10:19 PM
The 0r one... Thanks for the reminder.. Happy Holidays!

Which Christmas? (Poetry) - 12/15/2003 5:17:57 PM
Simply said. Well read.

Which Christmas? (Poetry) - 12/15/2003 5:13:03 PM
The latter! :):) Good one John, a needy write in times like these. TY mate Ch'erie

Christmas Down-under (Poetry) - 12/15/2003 4:49:28 PM
I guess there's no snow during the Christmas season where you are. Wonderful write indeed! Christmas can be so much fun, with or without the snow. Merry Christmas and A Happy New Year to you and your family. Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu :o)

Christmas Down-under (Poetry) - 12/15/2003 6:15:59 AM
Enjoyed reading about your 'Christmas Down-under!' Can I Fed-Ex you some snow? I've got way more than I need.

Christmas Down-under (Poetry) - 12/15/2003 5:56:59 AM
I like the idea of having a barby in the heat for celebrating Christmas! and a nice swim. Thanks for sharing your celebrations.

Christmas Down-under (Poetry) - 12/15/2003 2:01:00 AM
Big smiles, John - That's the Christmas I know! I'ts sunburn season again - don't you love it?! I've just organised our local Christmas Parade and I had to warn our dear old Santa to keep a bottle of iced water beside him in the sleigh because his suit was bought in America LOL - made for chilling cold.... Poor old dear - he was such a trooper!

Christmas Down-under (Poetry) - 12/15/2003 12:11:26 AM
Take relief in know that scientists/historians have placed the birth of Christ closer to May or June. Will you be closer to cold weather and snow then? Thanks, John.

Christmas Down-under (Poetry) - 12/14/2003 10:19:34 PM
Hmmm, father why hath thou forsaken me?, then he said, into thy hands i commend my spirit! Oh well John, not all will see. But I see, and I appreciate, and this was a lovely offering, and by GUM we are headed for a shocker of a hot one this year, how's it down your way, stinkin hot here today, 41 it is. TY muchly Blessings Ch'erie

Christmas Down-under (Poetry) - 12/14/2003 10:02:08 PM
"The birth of baby Jesus who came to save mankind" no one can save mankind from himself ... "father, why have you forsaken me?"

Christmas Down-under (Poetry) - 12/14/2003 9:38:15 PM
The meter is a bit off here and there, but otherwise, this is very nice. I certainly enjoy hearing about how the other half of the world celebrates Christmas. And a Merry Christmas to you, by the way.

When Troubles Come (Poetry) - 12/9/2003 9:14:10 PM
Your a gem, John, thanks mate ch'erie

Family Christmas (Poetry) - 12/9/2003 7:12:20 PM
This is interesting, since it reminds me of the poem I just posted on Authors' Den tonight, Memories of Christmas. I enjoyed reading yours.

When Troubles Come (Poetry) - 12/9/2003 7:10:45 PM
Few of us can do much for anybody else. I do what I can, but in the final analysis, I can barely manage to take care of myself.

When Troubles Come (Poetry) - 12/9/2003 4:48:27 PM
I like this write. My neighbors are better than me, but that's their problem? I'm still nice to them. Glad your here John Have some Happy Holidays!

INERTIA (Poetry) - 12/2/2003 4:47:02 PM
i really like "it's just another stage" as the finale to this very well wriiten poem ... yes, age is solely based on our creative verve...

INERTIA (Poetry) - 11/30/2003 6:22:31 AM
Forward motion, and thats appropriate for your work, well done John ((((hugs)))) and smilies :):)

A Remeniscence (Poetry) - 11/28/2003 7:06:38 PM
John, this is a wonderful write. That's what God says, "Trust In Me." Most of us when we grow older think this way.

A Remeniscence (Poetry) - 11/28/2003 6:46:04 PM
touching. well done.

A Remeniscence (Poetry) - 11/28/2003 6:34:08 PM
Wonderful heartfelt write!

The Loggers (Poetry) - 11/24/2003 9:48:33 AM
Thank you for the sharing. Great desriptions.

The Loggers (Poetry) - 11/24/2003 4:35:37 AM
A well-described piece, John. Wonderful pic and your words tells it so well. Enjoyed this. Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu :o)

That Town (Poetry) - 11/21/2003 8:33:28 PM
A little piece of Eden, eh? Nice. Thank you for the lovely portrait. Love and peace, Regis.

That Town (Poetry) - 11/16/2003 6:17:59 PM
Your town sounds delightful. A write that makes me want to visit. Love the idea of spotting whales!

That Town (Poetry) - 11/16/2003 4:45:13 PM
lovely town in wait thanks, d.

That Town (Poetry) - 11/16/2003 4:44:35 PM
Well, sounds nice to me. Wish I were there. Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu :o)

Father (Poetry) - 11/16/2003 5:08:30 AM
When man cut the tree's in order to survive all was well. Its when the machines came in that things went nuts. Yea I know I am playing on a computer. Thank you for such a wonderful sharing of your father. You introduce the reader to your father in a very gentle, but strong way with a smile. Great write.

Father (Poetry) - 11/16/2003 12:05:31 AM
Very well written John. I can remember Buying my Iron bark by the cord. Robin

Bush Memories (Poetry) - 11/15/2003 10:30:00 AM
Thank you for such a wonderful sharing of history and your life. Great write!

Bush Memories (Poetry) - 11/15/2003 6:05:36 AM
If this is going to be a series I'll make sure I watch for more. Enjoyed greatly. Lisa

Bush Memories (Poetry) - 11/15/2003 5:02:39 AM
s fantastic write. wonderfully done.

Bush Memories (Poetry) - 11/15/2003 4:44:38 AM
I really enjoyed this, you made it come alive.

Family Christmas (Poetry) - 11/14/2003 6:40:37 PM
Enjoyed reading this, thank you for sharing. Nancy

Family Christmas (Poetry) - 11/14/2003 4:13:51 AM
A joyous atmosphere captured in this one. I also enjoyed the great rhymings. Good work indeed! May Lu a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Encouragement (Poetry) - 11/13/2003 5:29:31 PM
Wonderful words od wncouragement, John! I'm sure a lot of us here at the den can use this. Thank you for sharing such beautiful words! Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu :o)

A Brush With A Turkey (Poetry) - 11/13/2003 9:54:49 AM
Thank you so much for the smiles, a joy to read.

A Brush With A Turkey (Poetry) - 11/12/2003 9:23:01 AM
HEEE!! (Grinnin' real big here...) A wonderful and wacky write; enjoyed much~ Thanks for sharing this hilarious write! LOL (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in texas, karen lynn. :D :D

A Brush With A Turkey (Poetry) - 11/11/2003 7:52:10 PM
Very funny! Happy Thanksgiving. Cynthia

A Brush With A Turkey (Poetry) - 11/11/2003 7:18:55 PM
Oh John of all the darndest things that could happen, LOLOL, ne'er mind we know it's not true :):) Great write, thanks for the laugh needed it mate. hugs Ch'erie

A Brush With A Turkey (Poetry) - 11/11/2003 6:39:40 PM
A pleasant read! Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu :o)

You Don't Know Me (Poetry) - 11/10/2003 4:00:41 AM
Well-said! This is the truth! It is always unfair to judge another without really getting to know the person first. Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu :o)

You Don't Know Me (Poetry) - 11/9/2003 9:46:21 PM
Wisely expressed in truth.

The Inexorable Advance of Age (Poetry) - 11/9/2003 6:59:29 PM
I agree with Ace...and it is our age which often gives us the best sight from within (though possibly not without.) Good write...And stay young, Jim.

The Inexorable Advance of Age (Poetry) - 11/9/2003 6:27:16 PM
age is really relative as long as we keep our creative juices flowing ;) well crafted...

The Inexorable Advance of Age (Poetry) - 11/9/2003 4:48:18 PM
Eeeeek and just when I was trying to forget how close I have become as of last month to the BIG 40!!!! LOL Yes, time and age do march on with quickened pace! Excellant Work! ~Nikki~

The Inexorable Advance of Age (Poetry) - 11/9/2003 4:46:27 PM
Time races with age. Sometimes time wins, and the aged looks young. but then there are times when age wins and we're old pre-maturely. No matter what We are the victims, for time and age race constantly. Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu :o)

here But' (Poetry) - 11/8/2003 7:56:32 PM
Amen! Excellent message, well done poem...

here But' (Poetry) - 11/8/2003 7:54:57 PM
BRAVO!

here But' (Poetry) - 11/8/2003 6:35:24 PM
Good words, thanks.

here But' (Poetry) - 11/8/2003 6:31:13 PM
Fantastic, right on the button, loved it, TY so much, and I'm glad I sparked this, rejoicing ( woohoo ) but it is catching isnt it. Blessings :) Ch'erie

here But' (Poetry) - 11/8/2003 6:02:41 PM
Powerful write!

The Road (Poetry) - 11/8/2003 3:38:24 AM
I taveleled much as a child.. Well, lets be honest..I ran away to many states.. nut hey thats traveling.. Iremember those ong roads .. endless trips.. many times I was unsure of my destination..just letting the road take me.. This reminds me of those bitter sweet days.. EXCELLENT write.

The Road (Poetry) - 11/8/2003 3:28:11 AM
Sounds like the Nullaboring :) Great write John. Ch'erie

The Road (Poetry) - 11/8/2003 12:58:47 AM
I can connect with this because of my many travels. Great write!

The Road (Poetry) - 11/7/2003 10:37:31 PM
YES! And, even the road once travelled becomes longer & LONGER!

The Shearer (Poetry) - 11/7/2003 9:35:35 PM
I commented on this earlier, but you must have re-posted it. This is a beautiful commentary on an interesting part of your Aussie culture. Very nicely done, indeed!

PAIN (Poetry) - 11/7/2003 9:31:13 AM
Terrific write, John; thanks for sharing! :( (((HUGS))) and much love, your Texas friend, Karen Lynn.

PAIN (Poetry) - 11/7/2003 5:39:19 AM
Your last stanza says it all, its how we deal with it, thats important. Great write!

PAIN (Poetry) - 11/7/2003 2:38:50 AM
I think pain is the price we pay for being able to feel pleasure. Adam

PAIN (Poetry) - 11/7/2003 1:11:01 AM
Ty John. :) No not that Cliff, though that saddened me a great deal too. Hugs Ch'erie

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.