AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Kendra Berni, iPhilip Hughes-Luing, iC. Holcomb, iJames Boyle, iGeorge Cunningham, i WhiteWolfSpiritBear, iJeff Alt, i
 
Home > Michael C Meisberger
 

Recent Reviews for Michael C Meisberger


Vampire Nation (Book) - 2/18/2006 7:11:36 AM
Macabre, suspenseful and makes you want to read more

The Imperial Dread Sea Scrolls ebook (Book) - 1/4/2004 12:16:09 PM
I'm, normally, not one for self-help books. Like George Carlin, if you go to a book, it's not SELF-help...and if you answered your own question, you didn't need the help. But I became involved with the author in his juncture to provide free ebooks to all military personnel and he, kindly, provided me with a copy of this book to read. I have to say, this is--in turn--deep, moving, and humourous in spoke. It becomes less of a self-help book and more of a discussion of personal philosophy than anything else. In my not-so-humble opinion, the Dread Pirate spends a great deal of time with interesting, intelligent philosophy and gives the reader a great deal to think on. Most self-help books give you the answers in a spoon fed fashion. This book takes the time to walk you through the author's life, his personal philosophy, and how he applied to his daily course. The reader is invited to use that to plot his or her own course through the mind and beliefs. The reader is challenged and inspired...exactly what a philosopher would do. Dread Pirate is a name that could be mouthed with others such as Plato, Socrates, and Descartes. I truly enjoyed this ebook. It is inspiring and lifting, but it is also interesting enough to hold my gaze to the computer screen for the entire read. Well done and most worth the price. I would call this a "must read" for anyone who wants to plot the course through the dangerous waters of our times and needs a good ship and a star to steer her by. This one is the North Star.

Birthright... Slayer ebook (Book) - 1/1/2004 1:44:20 PM
I would like to share with you a review I received via email from David Rehage; Birthright was an intense and terrifying glimpse into a wildly imaginative world of dreams and nightmares. The struggles of life, death, and love are made more real and humanistic by the inhuman nature of the characters. In the end one could almost consider the whole thing to be something of a metaphor for the human experience, only on a much grander scale. The story is made even more intriguing by its cast of characters. Can a kill be redeemed? By what standards can a man be judged? Is there life after death, or just regret? Ever wake up screaming, but you don't know why? Welcome to the world of Birthright...Slayer. Written by David Rehage, Tuesday, December 30, 2003 9:01 PM

The Imperial Dread Sea Scrolls ebook (Book) - 11/6/2003 5:58:14 AM
An excellent collection of highly motivational jewels all wrapped up in one big pirate's chest. Want to read sickly sweet sugar coated self help manuals??? Well don't come here then. This is a straight no nonsense look into the drives and ambitions of humankind. Even if you don't agree with everything, there is no doubt that you will still find a large bounty of downright good advice that will make you think!

The Imperial Dread Sea Scrolls ebook (Book) - 8/17/2003 5:40:33 PM
This collection of essays originated as a weblog journal on www.xanga.com For two years, the author posted his thoughts on life, politics, and all things maritime to the enjoyment of a readership invited to comment or argue. In this adaptation of that work, the metaphorical motif of a Pirate Captain instructing his crew on the good ship Destiny’s Quest is both useful and at times confusing. Some of the essays make references to material unavailable in this collection which occasionally places the reader outside what appears to be an inside joke or running gag. However, these are minor quibbles against the body of the book. The author has an engaging style and demonstrates a willingness to mine his own successes, failures, frustrations and triumphs in search of the keys that will guide himself and his readers into life choices that will capitalize on the positives and avoid the negatives. The list of topics gleaned from scrolling down through the Table of Contents reads like a catalog of motivational speeches. Diversity, Strategy, Challenge, Complexity, Love and Money, Right and Wrong, Team, and Tenacity all find their place in the list, but this isn’t the standard pablum offered by the motivational speaker recycling worn aphorisms and vague generality. Dread Pirate writes from the perspective of the Rogue and outsider. He dismisses the standard wisdom of the New Age guru and exposes the thoughts that many of us carry through the day. In “The Game of Life” he writes: I get in trouble a lot. Go figure. You see, I speak damn near the same way I right. No shit. Messes the common land lover up big time. The Dread Pirate neither apologizes nor brags, he simply states it the way it is and invites the reader to take it or leave it. In “A Symphony of Movement” he touches on one of his consistent themes, change as the constant of life: “Each journey is one of our own choosing. There are ventures we take with crew and others we take alone. At times crew might be all around us, and we stand alone in a musing that seems only to grow deeper and more mysterious with time. In the end it matters not. The breeze pushes the Quest along and we ride the waves along with her. There is little choice in the matter. For even deep in thought and frozen in thought we continue to move forward through time and space. Movement is continuous and thus we stop for nothing.” The Imperial Dread Sea Scrolls may be read as a work of motivation, as a glimpse into a personal journey, or as an example of the expanding new creative medium of weblogging as literary genre. However you choose to view the work, it will entertain and challenge. At times you will agree heartily as when he urges the acceptance of responsibility for the choices we make. At others you may disagree. In the end you may find yourself sailing along with the Captain and crew of Destiny’s Quest just for the sheer fun of it.

Truth or dare, pirate style... (Short Story) - 4/1/2013 7:02:11 AM
A very fresh idea and concisley written. I enjoyed it. That's the truth.

Truth or dare, pirate style... (Short Story) - 2/19/2008 6:40:12 PM
I dare you to be kind, Respect your mom and dad. I dare you not to harm your mind, Or make your loved-ones sad. I dare you to be thankful, For what God gave to you. I dare you not to be useful, To drugs that make you be untrue. I dare you to learn a lesson, Of never taking drugs. I dare you not to cave in, Or pass out on a rug. I dare you to be faithful, To thine own self be true. I dare you not to be full Of a life that makes you blue.

Truth or dare, pirate style... (Short Story) - 2/26/2007 9:27:56 AM
some interesting points made--especially to live a life based on truth

Symphony of war... (Short Story) - 8/3/2006 10:53:29 PM
Excellent scenory set up for something that can be good. I'd say go for it. Even if you choose not to, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks for the write, Charles D. O'Connor III "In everything I am an outsider"- H.P. Lovecraft. P.S. "Check out my new story entitled "The Painter". Tell me what you honestly think. Take care. :)

Truth or dare, pirate style... (Short Story) - 5/27/2006 6:26:44 PM
You do have a few good points there. Living in an adult world of course we too try to behave as such, we know the games and the rules and try not to break them, maybe bend them so every now and then. But, when it comes to our children, we preserved the right to be honest under any circumstances and to be daring when called for. Like this being a parent is way more fun and rewarding and you always have a chance to outlive your 'inner child'. A well penned essay and a message that should not be overheard. B&R

Destiny's Quest and the wharf rat. (Short Story) - 2/13/2005 4:50:29 PM
well done

Truth or dare, pirate style... (Short Story) - 2/13/2005 4:49:49 PM
interesting read

The call of the screech owl… (Short Story) - 4/24/2004 10:50:34 AM
This is superlative, the essence of description in understated elegance. Carol

Symphony of war... (Short Story) - 4/24/2004 10:49:44 AM
Excellant imagery - wonderful piece as is it's precursor. Carol

Symphony of war... (Short Story) - 4/14/2004 2:40:35 AM
well done

Destiny's Quest and the wharf rat. (Short Story) - 2/27/2004 7:14:51 AM
This is well written man. Very imaginative with the way it is done, does your Xanga readers know about this one yet? As for myself I pulled out some of my diary-x catalog for AuthorsDen -- two titled "F.T.E.O.A." and "Insect." This is a strong write just the same -- was wondering what do you have in the horror section.

Symphony of war... (Short Story) - 12/20/2003 7:08:54 AM
Good start of something longer here. I cannot wait to see what this one becomes or if this one is a finished story, it is a very strong write just the same.

Destiny's Quest and the wharf rat. (Short Story) - 11/7/2003 3:28:01 AM
I really liked this one. Each person who joins the crew of Destiny's Quest has a story about how they came on board, and this story ... it's great. Terri

Symphony of war... (Short Story) - 10/17/2003 7:14:53 AM
What a dazzling spectacle it is...

Destiny's Quest and the wharf rat. (Short Story) - 10/5/2003 8:30:31 AM
A good story well-told. I liked this very much. May Lu a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

ebook 101 (Article) - 9/8/2012 5:04:59 AM
Great information and layout. I didn't know ebooks went that far back.

Self-publishing (Article) - 9/8/2012 5:03:46 AM
Very inspireing. This article is practically a book on self-publishing. Yes, that 'build it and they will come' idea from 'Field of Dreams' has probobly relaxed a lot of people into not marketing. A very good point.

Positive Ballast (Article) - 9/8/2012 5:00:02 AM
Thoughful, well written and very well laid out article.

Self-publishing (Article) - 9/3/2007 8:10:24 AM
Very well said.An eyeopener for sel-published authors.

Self-publishing (Article) - 3/12/2006 11:29:17 AM
well said, good informational article

Self-publishing (Article) - 3/11/2006 9:37:07 PM
A very interesting and informative article, thanks for sharing, Birgit and Roger

History of the Sea Shanty (Article) - 2/27/2005 4:36:28 PM
enjoyed the read

Man Overboard! (Article) - 2/24/2005 10:20:33 AM
Who Knew? Dread thanks for sharing this info, makes good sense for landlubbers to keep the old cell phone in their vehicle on long trips. Fair winds Mark

Man Overboard! (Article) - 2/24/2005 4:20:41 AM
good info

The Slayer VanHelsing (Article) - 2/10/2005 7:24:18 AM
Hahaha! I like this article! You've said it all, quite well.

ebook 101 (Article) - 2/10/2005 7:17:00 AM
Informative write, well done.

ebook 101 (Article) - 2/8/2005 10:47:56 AM
enjoyed the read

The Slayer VanHelsing (Article) - 11/22/2004 3:00:54 AM
I've wondered the same things, many times. It would seem that there needs to a bit more balance in the story, otherwise, the monster rules. M.Rose

The Slayer VanHelsing (Article) - 5/11/2004 7:31:02 PM
I saw that movie while at Convergence 10, and what I have to say is that Von Helsing rocks. I want to write a Slayer story but I am not sure if I could pull it off. Von Helsing is a sacred name in the horror genre, and I am getting pissed that some of these fanfiction.net writers are really bastardizing the Von Helsing name. The movie rocks though.

Symphony of writing (Article) - 11/25/2003 4:09:33 PM
This is one of those that I have to say I relate to because I find myself trying to come up with a concept with short stories. They can be hard to write especially trying to top oneself.

Symphony of writing (Article) - 10/19/2003 12:03:55 AM
Excellent write... God Bless ~Michelle~

Symphony of writing (Article) - 10/16/2003 6:46:22 PM


Forward Motion (Poetry) - 12/25/2012 10:59:27 AM
It begins it. I have been here before, as I could tell. For finding: that myself I have reborn But not seen, is forever to persist To gather around the seasons of space with the everlastingness of event With the layered energy as it is made of things. Into the logical fiber of the tribute: a thought arises And stays on course, slowly progressing, not done. By fear: the fear that’s been since forever, In the same space the inseparable normal good Being passed through mankind Came accessible to me: I fade into remoteness

Forward Motion (Poetry) - 3/20/2009 4:38:46 AM
It is a long time between poems for a sailor that needs to say so much, and the seas are impatient, murmuring with arriving waves at the shore for you to write your name...and hers, on the wet sand. Georg

Dear Me (Poetry) - 3/20/2009 4:35:11 AM
Yes, that is poetry, one add a feeling or a tear the lose words become poetics thoughts, and nobody can look at a butterfly and say, "it cannot fly" Georg

Dear Me (Poetry) - 3/11/2009 2:09:29 PM
I like this; it feels like the mortal's thoughts before he finds himself under the spell of a siren in my own poem "Siren's Song."

Forward Motion (Poetry) - 8/24/2008 11:27:31 PM
The sailor of life knows, Only forward motion, Advance action, Will get you to your home port. indeed a truth if there ever was one! Thank you for reminding me... Vesna :)

Dear Me (Poetry) - 2/15/2008 10:14:32 AM
Look no further. You are thinking! And writing! Not lost.

Forward Motion (Poetry) - 11/8/2007 9:23:49 PM
Sage advice written in these lines. Thank you, DL Mullan

Cavalier (Poetry) - 8/30/2007 12:31:46 PM
Great poem. I loved it, especially the line: Can you imagine a being living the life of a mundane? Thanks for this. Take care Sue

Forward Motion (Poetry) - 7/16/2007 12:50:46 AM
Well done and welcome home sailor. God Bless You and Your Loved Ones http://www.myspace.com/barraheffner

Cavalier (Poetry) - 2/21/2007 9:34:31 AM
I like it! May we all avoid shipwrecks....... Peace, Bill

VampProseII (Poetry) - 1/14/2007 4:05:49 PM
I like your double meaning in your poetry. That word,pulchritudinous was a one that I had to look up."In 1919, an author named Inez Haynes Irwin wrote about Californian men in The Native Son:"That agglomeration of the Anglo-Saxon, the Celt and the Latin, has endowed the Native Son with the pulchritude of all three races." I found your use of the word (pulchritudinous) worthy of vampire Lore. It was as if you brought something ancient for the modern reader to peruse.

Forward Motion (Poetry) - 11/3/2006 4:35:30 PM
This is wonderful and inspiring prose. Words flow to movement of the sea, only a sailor could show. Some fear darkness, others fear unknown but ah the mystery of the sea, only a sailor could tell. And amazing photo to compliment your prose. Thanks for sharing. My best, Gloria

Riptide (Poetry) - 5/8/2006 5:09:24 PM
I like your poem. I write a few myelf. As I re-read the second time, I made notes that in a couple of instances I would have made line breaks slightly different. For example, in stanza two, a break before Or Neptune...ending up with three lines instead of two. Strong feeling in the poem and good description. I was a sailor at one time also.

Dear Me (Poetry) - 5/5/2006 11:39:46 AM
Seems like poetry to us. Liked it a lot! Birgit and Roger

Forward Motion (Poetry) - 4/24/2006 5:48:39 PM
Like your prose and your imagery...I can smell the sea air and feel the mist on my skin!

Riptide (Poetry) - 12/27/2005 6:04:00 PM
Oh how often we're reminded of nature's power...

Riptide (Poetry) - 9/22/2005 9:04:00 PM
sometimes it's like that, sounds like life itself, trying to pull us under. nice, descriptive poetry.

Forward Motion (Poetry) - 8/19/2005 3:40:41 PM
Excellent expression ....faith requires action. Great! Rich Criso Suarez

Forward Motion (Poetry) - 6/28/2005 2:57:02 PM
Dread, Beautifully penned inspiration; BRAVO! Full speed ahead! :) (Almost wrote, WARP SPEED! LOL) (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :)

Forward Motion (Poetry) - 6/28/2005 4:29:28 AM
Sailing at sea seems to be an ongoing journey for the sailors. They only stop to take a break. Their lives belong to the sea. Sandie Angel a.k.a. Sandie May Angel :o)

Forward Motion (Poetry) - 6/28/2005 4:17:25 AM
Most of life is much like that...when things are calm, wonderful and relaxing..we can't get enough..when the waves are pounding us, and the winds are blowing in our faces with enough force to take our breaths, it doesn't take us long, before we're ready for shelter. Strong and sturdy. If it weren't for the 'sailors' of life, that are willing to face these storms, we'd be lost at sea for sure. This holds a mighty lesson..Great write! Lisa

VampProse I (Poetry) - 6/23/2005 3:00:15 PM
Dread, Excellent! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :)

VampProseII (Poetry) - 6/23/2005 2:59:38 PM
Dread, Dang. Where's my dictionary? You've written an excellent, mysterious world--what is "pulchritudinous"?????? (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :)

Dear Me (Poetry) - 6/23/2005 2:58:01 PM
Dread, Keep looking--listening--searching; the answer is there. :) An excellent, pensive write--well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :)

Always another…. (Poetry) - 6/23/2005 2:57:05 PM
Dread, A beautiful write--fantastic! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. I, too, love sunrises and sunsets, and anything of the sea...........

Riptide (Poetry) - 6/23/2005 2:55:57 PM
Dread, I, too, have felt the power of riptide--one does not realize the strength the ocean possesses! A fantastic write-- (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :)

Cavalier (Poetry) - 6/23/2005 2:54:52 PM
Dread, Excellent write! :) Sail on--and keep writing--love the way you think! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :)

Cavalier (Poetry) - 6/23/2005 1:21:16 PM
i like it, dread pirate! fantastic stuff; very well done! :)

Cavalier (Poetry) - 6/23/2005 12:46:14 PM
Well, this motivation just made me wanna rap: "Some of us love it, some of us don't, some of us gonna get it, some of us won't; when it comes to the sea and the fates that await, Cavalier is what it takes." Ain't that great. . . your poem sure is Bro. Dread, blessin's cynth'ya lewis reed

Riptide (Poetry) - 6/13/2005 8:44:55 PM
If this is a "try" it's a great one. I enjoyed this.

Riptide (Poetry) - 5/26/2005 12:17:03 PM
incredible work..I like it!..give us more! vesna*

Riptide (Poetry) - 5/15/2005 8:19:38 AM
Strong and powerful poetry like the riptide excellent. Paul;-]

Riptide (Poetry) - 5/14/2005 7:37:48 AM
After infinity, I stand. assaulted with air hot sun. slow steps forward with heavy legs, tide ankle deep, glance around, gulping air. My friend...this is very powerful write...I can feel the riptide while reading this potent write...love n luck...BHUWAN!!!!

Riptide (Poetry) - 5/13/2005 4:37:52 PM
i amost died in a riptide so i empathize with this powerful poem ...

Dear Me (Poetry) - 5/1/2005 3:34:27 PM
Yet, keep looking and listening and searching. You'll find you! Nice poem, I like!

Dear Me (Poetry) - 4/27/2005 7:26:51 PM
Sweet. R

Always another…. (Poetry) - 4/19/2005 6:17:19 AM
This is as poetic as anything I have ever read...LOVE your optimism and the thought of a faultless sunset...

Always another…. (Poetry) - 2/4/2005 8:45:09 PM
poetic polarization at its best ...

Always another…. (Poetry) - 2/4/2005 10:56:44 AM
Yes this one is superb it sends a really good message.

Always another…. (Poetry) - 2/4/2005 10:17:08 AM
*Always Another* gracefully espouses not giving up. It's message: 'when one door closes, another opens' will resonate with the masses. :)

Always another…. (Poetry) - 2/4/2005 9:31:57 AM
Superb poetic depiction of the duality in all of life! etw

VampProseII (Poetry) - 6/12/2004 1:46:43 PM
I am with T Gray, 'cept I didn't read it 7 times. You know me, my # is 5, lol. I visited your site today, it has changed so much since I was last there. Awesome on both. JC xoxoxo

VampProse I (Poetry) - 4/12/2004 11:47:22 PM
::nodding in approval:: This is a strong write.

VampProseII (Poetry) - 10/31/2003 11:00:24 PM
I realize from your introduction that this poem has a particular meaning in the world of your vampire slayer character ~ I've just read through this about 7 times absorbing all the contrasts and paradoxes you've used. If you change ONE word "pulchritudinous" to almost any other - you've written a poem of incredible power with a universal message. Every human encounter contains these seeds of either death or liberation. This is more than just a "good write" this is great.

VampProseII (Poetry) - 10/29/2003 9:57:56 PM
Good write...interesting!!!

VampProse I (Poetry) - 10/2/2003 7:41:46 AM
Well written.....

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.