AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Carl David, iMyra Darwish, irichard cederberg, iJohn DeDakis, iRobert Campbell, iBurton Pines, iG. Rynk, i
 
Home > Barbara Anna Marjanovic
 

Recent Reviews for Barbara Anna Marjanovic


Collection II (Book) - 10/27/2005 4:57:32 AM
By far, Marjanovic is one of the most gifted voices in the horror genre and her voice surpass many who are out there these days. After seeing her published in a few magazines and my anthologies, I picked up her collection of short stories, titled Collection II. My favorite story in the collection by far is Good Riddence but the final story in the set titled "Gary" is close behind. Ranging from vampires to an Edgar Allan Poe style narrative, Marjanovic covers all the bases and then some. One of the most hardcore voices in the genre, you will see why I've published her on The Ethereal Gazette and Quakes and Storms: A Natural Disaster Anthology. Her voice alone is one of the darkest I've seen in a long time. She's got the voice of those who would compare her to a combination of Edgar Allan Poe and Stephen King; and after seeing the story "Gary." I will agree with them on this one. And having the honor to work with her on my sequel to House of Spiders, one of the very few authors who can match me with the muscular style of horror. Believe me, she's very muscular with this style of horror even in her vampire stuff it is more in common with either H.P. Lovecraft or Algernon Blackwood. She's a hard author to compare to the older authors because she's got her own voice in the genre. These stories are very ghoulish from the poetry in there to the short stories, and you will see a pattern between the poems and the short stories. Keep an eye on Marjanovic because she's one of the new voices in the genre, along with Macey Baggett Wuesthoff she will change the genre forever.

Collection (Book) - 1/11/2005 6:30:22 PM
I really need to get my hands on this collection. The Lesson is one of those stories that really does deliver the scares, and I will say this story is more talented than anything seen out there in the industry by authors who get paid for what they do. You are an author I wish got a hold of sooner when I was putting together Tabloid Purposes, because a story like The Lesson really captures a Stephen King style of horror -- if he was colaborating with Edgar Allan Poe.

One Night Stand (Short Story) - 3/26/2008 9:15:04 AM
I loved the way you let me visualize the scene, and ponder the origins of the man. Cudos on an excellent piece. Mark

One Night Stand (Short Story) - 8/18/2007 4:07:24 PM
good lord loved it you should add more i think like uh what she taught him and stuff but then thats all up to you. i love vampire stories and this one wow

The Man at the Water (Short Story) - 4/1/2007 6:02:29 PM
This is actually your second Science Fiction effort, damn good too. Keep going with this one because you're onto something. I guess working on House of Spiders 3 got you going in the realm of writing Science Fiction. Once you start doing science fiction there is no turning back.

One Night Stand (Short Story) - 4/1/2007 7:31:56 AM
Barbara, this is one of your best short stories to date. Chilling as hell take on the vampire mythos. I am surprised you haven't shopped this one around yet -- send it to Tales of the Talisman since David Lee Summers was on issue two with you on my mag.

In The Darkness (Short Story) - 11/22/2005 1:16:34 AM
A chilling take on the vampire story, Bram Stoker would be proud of this entity within the vampire subgenre. I learned as much people wear the genre out to death with the vampire story, this one really breaths life into it making the approach more chilling in the delivery. Touches of Stephen King's Salem's Lot with touches of Dracula, but the delivery is a lot more frightening than what Dracula's Guest had to offer.

The Balkan Secret Conspiracy - Chapter 1 (Short Story) - 11/18/2005 6:10:48 AM
I second that with Catherine here, good luck on this novel. A very imaginative passage you've posted here. I wish I can do the full on action but you can definately do this as well as you can do the horror fiction. Let me know when you find a home for this one.

The Balkan Secret Conspiracy - Chapter 1 (Short Story) - 9/26/2005 2:00:35 PM
Wonderful talent you have... Lynn Richardson

Good Riddance (Short Story) - 10/9/2004 2:15:19 PM
Very enjoyable. You have a good voice and an imaginative plot. You make murder most plausable.

Good Riddance (Short Story) - 6/3/2004 5:57:36 AM
Barbara-- I loved your story! I was an abused wife for three years and I could feel Martha's pain, believe me. In the words of the Dixie Chicks, "Goodbye, Earl" and Good Riddance! Lori

Good Riddance (Short Story) - 5/23/2004 5:31:24 PM
This was great...reminded me of one of Stephen kings short stories. The only thing was I knew she had killed her husband in the beggining. Dont give it away until the end...This was good. I too would like to see more from you. Very well written!!!

Good Riddance (Short Story) - 3/28/2004 3:55:13 PM
well done

Good Riddance (Short Story) - 2/6/2004 8:36:33 PM
I am liking this one every bit -- very suspenseful kind of horror, the kind that would crawl within the mind of the reader then really mess with their head later on. The other writer that comes to mind that also does this is Hasan Abood, a protege of mine that had wrote some strong titles on here as well -- yours is what if he takes it to the next level. If you want to make it even nastier you can add two words after "good riddence, m---- f----!!!" but I wont repeat them here. With my track record for explicit content. I would like to see what others you got going for yourself here because this one is very well written.

Demon (Poetry) - 9/2/2008 6:50:30 AM
Yes, very descriptive. Excellent poetry. However, I don't think the deamon is not something most people would want to go with to live in eternity. We all make choices. I pray that you make the right one. Blessings, John Michael

Child of Night (Poetry) - 9/2/2008 6:46:04 AM
Barbara Anne, This is a very descriptive poem about life the dark side. It is a very good poem and it is a big eye-opener. The question is, "Do we really want to be on the Dark side?" Blessings, John Michael

Heart (Poetry) - 8/4/2008 9:17:51 AM
Very lovely and presented in an interesting style.This is a good work.

Heart (Poetry) - 7/26/2008 2:30:38 PM
Hello Barbara, I read your poem,"Heart". I found that this poem must have come from the heart. The rhythm you have placed into this work is just right. Fine writing. Please feel free to visit my site here in the "Den"

Heart (Poetry) - 7/3/2008 8:11:25 AM
A SUPER poem about TRUE LOVE! Agape - unconditional Love is the BEST! God Bless You! John Michael

Heart (Poetry) - 6/10/2008 12:58:35 PM
My pure heart loves behond death. My heart yearns to be with deceased hubby, but not meant to be yet. God has some works for me to do yet. His was over with. It is hard sometimes to understand why did he take him and leave me. I think he was the better person. I only have to turn to God for guidance each day and to try to keep my heart pure.

Wish (Poetry) - 6/10/2008 12:56:32 PM
Longings like this come to me too, but I get out of bed eventually and face the day. Some days are better than others, yesterday was great, today is just medium, tomorrow might be bad, I don't know but day in and day out I survive right now. Have Faith. And Take care.

Lament of pain (Poetry) - 6/10/2008 12:55:05 PM
Hope the pain lessens and you get free of it. Much we must bear sometimes, but God does not give you more than you can bear. Sometimes we think we have more than we can bear but when it is over with we realize we did not have much to bear, but have much to live for. Beautiful write**********

Child of Night (Poetry) - 5/2/2008 9:26:33 AM
Too being afraid of the dark is not pleasant but when you don't like the dark and feel overwhelmed that it is controlling you, you need to mend your ways and thank God you are alive to see the darkness too.

Lament of pain (Poetry) - 12/31/2007 5:01:36 AM
well done enjoyed the read

Heart (Poetry) - 10/14/2007 7:27:53 PM
I like the idea of a heart seen as a ship. Nice metaphor of voyage, winds and storms. But I'm not sure I know what a "pure heart" is. There, you left me wondering... is my heart pure? Greetings, Axilea

Lament of pain (Poetry) - 7/16/2007 4:41:44 PM
This was an exceptional piece of poetry!!!!

Heart (Poetry) - 2/17/2007 4:35:25 PM
The last stanza is perfection...

Heart (Poetry) - 2/16/2007 2:03:35 PM
Beautiful picture of a love with a true rudder.

Burn (Poetry) - 10/9/2006 11:36:11 AM
interesting.. Vesna

Burn (Poetry) - 1/22/2006 7:55:18 AM
a powerful proclomation against the powers of darkness ...

Burn (Poetry) - 1/21/2006 8:19:16 PM
A very impressive and powerful write, Birgit and Roger

Burn (Poetry) - 1/21/2006 4:11:08 PM
~*~ Enveloped in agony, this is truly a poignant write... it brings to my mind the utter anguish of Barnabas Collins, the poetic, sensitive, gentleman Vampire of the Original 'Dark Shadows' Vampire Soap Opera aired LIVE each weekday on TV from 1966~1971. Now this same complete unedited 'Dark Shadows Collection' series is happily available in DVD Boxed Sets from Amazon.Com ! Yes... I am a Fan! See my AuthorsDen Home Page and Links. The Immortal Light Burns Away The Dark! You are a very talented writer Barbara! ~*~ Love, Shivani ~*~

Burn (Poetry) - 1/20/2006 4:03:14 PM
Very powerful. Darkness is overwhelming, even to those born within it.

Legacy (Poetry) - 1/16/2006 3:52:00 PM
Beautiful poem and sensitive..."Life is a gift given to all..." Vrlo lijepo,nastavite tako!!! Maria Deyana

Child of Night (Poetry) - 12/16/2005 8:19:50 AM
Love it. Excellent write on the dark side. Lovely imagery. ~hugs~ Karen

Legacy (Poetry) - 11/25/2005 2:47:40 PM
A fine tribute and wise advice as well, Barbara. Thank you for sharing this offering. Love and peace to you. Regis

Legacy (Poetry) - 8/28/2005 2:54:00 PM
This is a wonderful tribute that many can learn from- I love the first two lines best.

Legacy (Poetry) - 8/27/2005 9:25:52 AM
excellent tribute, barbara; very well done! :)

Child of Night (Poetry) - 8/3/2005 5:55:57 PM
nice dark poem ... i could visualize the images quite vividly ...

Child of Night (Poetry) - 7/27/2005 7:27:48 PM
Fantastic dark write and display of the attempted escape was very orginal.

Demon (Poetry) - 6/18/2005 6:27:09 PM
Overcoming! Powerful write, Barbara. Love and peace to you. Regis

Demon (Poetry) - 5/5/2005 3:11:11 PM
a most unique and strong write, barbara! very nice! :D

Wind (Poetry) - 5/1/2005 3:30:01 PM
I like poems about the wind. I've written many. You've done a brilliant job of expression here!

Demon (Poetry) - 5/1/2005 3:26:18 PM
A strong and interesting write! I would have called that Demon, something other than "dear" or "sweet" hahaha. Well done!

Demon (Poetry) - 4/28/2005 8:53:55 AM
A fine dramatic piece Barbara, I enjoyed it. One thing if I mat; the line "A man who dubs thyself Saint" I felt would read better as "A man who dubs himself saint" or "One who dubs yourself (thyself) Saint." I'm being picky? OK, but I can't help it, I'm British and I have a literature degree. Thou and Thy is old fashioned and because it is often misused in a religious context it can be tricky. But that is a small technical point and does not detract from the poem. best regards, Ian

Dark to Light (Poetry) - 4/24/2005 6:48:19 PM
Hi- That sentence "A shadow on the grave becomes the heart of the dark" Wow! that's intense. I loved your poem, full of meaning... in a life of strife-as we have now. SAD 2 SAy! Pray! STROng and Pray LonG! Inspiration B 2 U-Lady,Sheee P.S. I also liked "The burden of the crow that flies"- hmmm...

Ashes to Ashes (Poetry) - 3/21/2005 9:22:55 AM
This is so sad and yet very true for many; once hope is lost, there's nothing. Thank you for sharing this offering, Barbara Anna. Love and peace. Regis

Ashes to Ashes (Poetry) - 1/31/2005 2:30:22 PM
A very sad yet deep poem about life and how an individual copes with it. A great read!

Ashes to Ashes (Poetry) - 1/27/2005 12:25:27 PM
This is so sad. To loose everything and gain only despair, is such a sad existence. M.Rose

Ashes to Ashes (Poetry) - 1/26/2005 5:18:03 PM
this is a very powerful poem ... there are so many empty and full of fear ...

Ashes to Ashes (Poetry) - 1/26/2005 7:24:00 AM
A strong piece, and unfortunately, too many live this tale.

Ashes to Ashes (Poetry) - 1/26/2005 6:56:37 AM
I agree with the rest in that we do turn to ash in the end.

Ashes to Ashes (Poetry) - 1/26/2005 5:14:24 AM
There are many many of this man in our world. And no matter who's life is being wasted that is just what it is. A waste. Excellent write Barbara. Lisa

Ashes to Ashes (Poetry) - 1/25/2005 9:57:04 PM
Wow Barbara, I am totally blown away with this piece. It's truly a Gem. Love, Bonnie

Ashes to Ashes (Poetry) - 1/25/2005 8:18:14 PM
As sad as it gets...to waste a life in regret. Excellent poem...Eileen

Insanity of the Mind (Poetry) - 12/7/2004 11:17:05 PM
Extremely interesting write from a commanding perspective. Totally in control of ones own destiny. Well done. Allen

Insanity of the Mind (Poetry) - 12/7/2004 7:58:57 PM
nice emotional intensity!

Insanity of the Mind (Poetry) - 12/7/2004 5:45:50 PM
Strong to say the least

Insanity of the Mind (Poetry) - 12/7/2004 4:58:11 PM
maybe it's just the mood that i'm in at this moment...but i thought this was hysterical :)...nice right.

The Fisherman (Poetry) - 5/18/2004 8:15:30 PM
Nice job on this. You speak as if you know him personally.

Stranger Beside You (Poetry) - 4/2/2004 3:59:43 PM
Very well written and expressed. Debbie

Wind (Poetry) - 3/20/2004 12:12:52 AM
I love the wind. I love your imagery, emotion and meaning expressed in these verses. Love and peace to you, Barbara. Regis

Wind (Poetry) - 3/1/2004 12:29:50 PM
I loved the imagery in this poem...you have given the wind a personality...good job.

Wind (Poetry) - 1/30/2004 9:46:09 AM
Yes, good imagery and a fine feel for detail.

Wind (Poetry) - 11/14/2003 8:58:44 PM
you've convinced me never to visit a dustbowl great imagery and very perceptual delivery thanks, donna.

Wind (Poetry) - 11/14/2003 5:51:39 PM
exceptional imagery...

Wind (Poetry) - 11/14/2003 4:52:13 PM
Very intriquing poem. I enjoyed it very much!

Wind (Poetry) - 11/14/2003 4:48:20 PM
a wonderful poem. great job

Stranger Beside You (Poetry) - 11/13/2003 9:50:04 PM
So well written, Barbara, and very thought provoking. We have much in common. Like you I had written for as long as I can remember, yet became a financial officer (accounting)-- among other careers. While I was good at all of them...after all, I was taught to be the best at whatever I did... I hated each: except counseling. As you said, my satisfaction and pleasure and joy was and remains in writing. Visit me sometime. Love in Christ~~ Bonnie Q Unicorn Haven

Autumn Dreams (Poetry) - 10/31/2003 6:11:06 PM
Exceptionally beautiful poem. Greetings from Atlanta.

Stranger Beside You (Poetry) - 10/31/2003 6:06:57 PM
A beautiful poem. Excellent write. Greetings

Stranger Beside You (Poetry) - 10/25/2003 9:37:21 AM
Beautiful and thought provoking.

Stranger Beside You (Poetry) - 10/23/2003 5:37:21 PM
romantic

Stranger Beside You (Poetry) - 10/23/2003 4:27:46 PM
Excellent use of imagery..Brilliant verses! Justin

The Last Stand (Poetry) - 10/20/2003 5:20:33 PM
Well done and I am thankful I am not the one who inspired this write. God Bless You and Your Loved Ones Officer William Heffner

The Last Stand (Poetry) - 10/18/2003 5:26:35 PM
that silent conversation that ensues when one doesn't speak and the communication is inexistent is captured well in this piece almost as if the flower bearer is certain things are swell as the pot privately boils to a roar thanks, donna.

The Last Stand (Poetry) - 10/18/2003 3:22:27 PM
Hi Barbara, I love the symbolism here, a strong, vivid picture of wilted love. When "love" becomes like this and those names of "sweetie" and "honey" are still being used, it is a bit ignorant, isn't it? Thank you for sharing this.... stay strong.... In Spirit, Bear

The Last Stand (Poetry) - 10/18/2003 2:52:42 PM
Curious, how we sometimes equate "love" with "unchanging" and "control". When love is really a dynamic between living human beings0... Thtis is a thought provoker ... I like the flower motif-- good write john+

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.