AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: M. R. Mathias, iPier Tyler, iDanae Wilkin, iAlfred Schwab, iJeanne Miller, iG. Rynk, iLindsey Webster, i
 
Home > Annette Gisby
 

Recent Reviews for Annette Gisby


Silent Screams (Book) - 12/19/2002 2:42:22 PM
Kept me up until I finished it, halfway through the night. Annette Gisby "gets it right," in spades, as she leads her readers through the convoluted functioning of a family devoted to keeping the truth under wraps - at any cost. I found the ending, with its typically Gisby ironic twist, an especially realistic touch. It is not a comfortable read, because of the horrific subject matter; but it is a compelling one. My only negative comment (and I'm not sure "negative" is the right word for it) must be that most real-life women in Jessica's position don't come out on the other side as she does, because most never realize what surviving at all proves about their inner strength. To say more would be to spoil prospective readers...and that's the last thing I want to do. It's a keeper!

Nuw Roads Travelled (Book) - 7/19/2002 5:14:32 AM
As founder of the NUW Independent Authors Community and whose members works are profiled in NUW Roads Travelled, I can sincerely attest to the fact that this is an excellent read. A great way to sample the author's works before buying their books. Kristie Leigh Maguire founder of NUW Independent Authors Community and author of Emails from the Edge & Desert Triangle

Shadows of the Rose (Book) - 7/19/2002 5:10:40 AM
Sounds like a fascinating read! Kristie Leigh Maguire author of Emails from the Edge and Desert Triangle

Silent Screams (Book) - 2/1/2002 4:54:45 AM
Silent Screams opens up a subject too often kept hidden, incest. The young heroine, Jessica, struggles with her feeling of shame and guilt alone. Her ineffectual father cannot help her and her abusive mother won't. Jessica is forced to use only her own inner resources to emerge a strong self-reliant young woman. But the past still haunts her into adulthood. Ms. Gisby has created a heroine that you will want to cherish and never forget. Obviously, she has done her homework about the effects of this all too often silent crime. Jessica suffers from guilt and shame for acts over which she had no control. The trusted relative would have gotten away with his persecution except for the strong will of his young victim. The lies are piled in layers and the plot has more twists and turns than a corkscrew. Fans of V. C. Andrews will rejoice in the style. Any reader with a heart will want to cherish and protect young Jessica. Few will be able to put down this mesmerizing book. Reviewed by Kathleen Walls (www.katywalls.com), author of Last Step, a novel of romance and murder and the war on drugs, and Georgia's Ghostly Getaways, a travelogue of Georgia's most interesting haunted sites. It will be released soon by Southern Charm Press.

Silent Screams (Book) - 7/9/2001 3:53:20 PM
Emotional and gripping. Excellent reading.

Silent Screams (Book) - 6/21/2001 7:47:59 PM
Silent Screams is one of those thrillers that pulls you in by your emotions, then leads you on a path so scary that you want to close your eyes, yet can't because you have to keep reading! Annette Gisby has created a sympathetic character in Jessica Miller, who, due to misplaced guilt and outright fear, has allowed herself to become a victim in all areas of her life. It was heart wrenching to witness the unkindness she endured at the hands of others, though in the end it seemed that they all did their part (however unknowing) in helping her find her inner strength. Silent Screams is a story of survival, and I enjoyed reading it.

Silent Screams (Book) - 5/21/2001 11:15:38 AM
A thriller you can't put down.

Invasion of the Fluffy Penguins from Mars (Short Story) - 9/5/2003 9:18:39 AM
This is cute; I liked it! :D (((HUGS))) and love, your Texas friend, Karen Lynn.

I Want to Believe (Short Story) - 11/29/2002 4:46:33 PM
good one

I Want to Believe (Short Story) - 10/15/2001 8:34:32 AM
Wonderful writing, Annette! Sorry it took me so long to find this. Kristie Leigh Maguire author of Desert Triangle

I Want to Believe (Short Story) - 6/19/2001 9:11:21 AM
very good.

In Search of Hobbits (Article) - 1/13/2005 3:59:45 PM
Great article, Annette. Makes me wish I could go in search of Hobbits too.

In Search of Hobbits (Article) - 1/11/2005 11:46:48 AM
What an interesting write about the town. Sometimes I swear I saw one maybe peeking at me.

In Search of Hobbits (Article) - 1/11/2005 10:18:34 AM
What fun to actually see where a film was made. I remember when i saw Sound of Music, I could recognize some of the sreets I'd walked down in Salzsburg's old town. When I went back 30 years later, some of the shops were still there. Hope you had a grand time!!

Ten Ways to Get Your Book Some Publicity (Article) - 10/13/2003 6:37:48 AM
I liked it, Anne. It does seem that popularity and media coverage are more dependent on outrageousness than talent in today's world. I especially liked your disclaimer at the end! It's just another sign of the world we live in... Bret

Ten Ways to Get Your Book Some Publicity (Article) - 10/9/2003 8:46:15 PM
I love this. As funny as it is, your "Ten Ways to Get Your Book Some Publicity" hold more truth than fiction. I would try #1, but I don't think Bobby would appreciate calling me John. Kam Ruble Co-author of "Black Rosebud: Have No Mercy II"

Ten Ways to Get Your Book Some Publicity (Article) - 10/9/2003 4:28:59 PM
this is funny, if your a women and skydive nude should you have 3 books or hummmm.. maybe your right one is better,lol

Ten Ways to Get Your Book Some Publicity (Article) - 10/9/2003 8:11:26 AM
Excellent guide! I can't afford to buy thousands of books myself, have no chance of becoming a supermodel/actor/sports person. Guess I will have to take option 2. Problem with this is that the current president does not appeal to me at all! Maybe I will take option 10. Kristie Leigh Maguire author of "Desert Heat", "Emails from the Edge", co-author "No Lady and Her Tramp"

London on a Shoestring (Article) - 3/15/2003 3:15:00 PM
I'm just about to head off to London for six months and found this article very informative.

Book Review: Conduct Unbecoming (Article) - 2/16/2003 6:27:42 PM
good review

Killer Press Kits (Article) - 11/23/2002 9:24:30 AM
Great article Annette. I'm gonna start work on my media kit this weekend. Arthur L. Bain http://clik.to/ArthurLBain author of Publishing for Profit & Art 101: Developing Style

London on a Shoestring (Article) - 11/13/2002 3:55:36 PM
enjoyed the read

Killer Press Kits (Article) - 11/13/2002 11:51:35 AM
Exceptionally good, short and sweet. This will be of help to most of us that are fortunate enough to read it. Thanks so much for sharing this with me. Have a very Merry Christmas. Everett Beal author of Southern Winds

Killer Press Kits (Article) - 11/12/2002 8:42:21 PM
Annette I found it and it is very much to the point. I like it.Kristie wanted it and now I know what she wants she will get it. If I don't give it to her she will drag it out of me one way or the other. If we didn't have you and Kristie for a spark plugs we would only putter around in stead of zooming off like a rocket.

Killer Press Kits (Article) - 11/9/2002 5:37:52 PM
Great article Annette. Concise but has all the pertinent infomation

London on a Shoestring (Article) - 7/23/2002 9:15:24 AM
GREAT ARTICLE!! Would love to visit sometime... but first I have to get to Eastern USA!

London on a Shoestring (Article) - 7/19/2002 4:00:14 PM
Great article Annette. Maybe one of these days i'll be able to go there. Thank you for such helpful tips.

London on a Shoestring (Article) - 7/19/2002 1:38:46 PM
Lots of great ideas for seeing London on a budget! I didn't realize there were so many FREE things to see.

Killer Press Kits (Article) - 7/19/2002 1:23:14 PM
Thank you for all the good tips. This was very helpful. Payton Lee - Historic Romance Author http://semiramis.virtualave.net/payton/pl.htm

The Four P's (Article) - 7/19/2002 1:19:56 PM
An excellent precise synaps of publishing. Payton Lee - Historic Romance Author http://semiramis.virtualave.net/payton/pl.htm

Marketing and Promoting Your Book (Article) - 7/19/2002 12:45:53 PM
Great tips. Here's the one thing I haven't done. Visit Payton Lee-Historic Romance Author http://semiramis.virtualave.net/payton/pl.htm

The Character Quiz (Article) - 7/19/2002 12:38:20 PM
Great little quiz. I really enjoyed it. Your quiz is a wonderful idea to help people understand the importance of fleshing out their characters. Payton Lee - Historic Romance Author

London on a Shoestring (Article) - 7/19/2002 12:34:18 PM
Should I ever happen to visit England your article will come in very handy for a tourist like me. How else would I ever know about the ticket for a culture vulture like me. Great Article. Payton Lee-Historical Romance Author

London on a Shoestring (Article) - 7/19/2002 9:10:37 AM
It's been years since I visited London, but I remember how much I enjoyed my stay there. You've given more detailed information then most travel agencies care to offer. What a wonderful treat (saving money) you have given to everyone planning to visit there.

London on a Shoestring (Article) - 7/19/2002 5:08:21 AM
Great tips on seeing London without breaking the bank. Now if I can ever make it outside Heathrow when I visit England ----- Kristie Leigh Maguire author of Emails from the Edge and Desert Triangle

The Character Quiz (Article) - 5/14/2002 10:04:30 AM
great quiz, but none of it applied to an Indian maiden in the 14-15 century!

The Awakening (Poetry) - 6/13/2008 6:11:35 PM
Striking, dramatic images carry this home. John

Waiting for the Prince (Poetry) - 3/13/2004 10:24:40 AM
A wonderfully moving poem. It tugs at the heartstrings and touches reality for more of us than you will ever know. James

If Wishes Were Horses (Poetry) - 11/5/2003 10:44:29 AM
Annete, This is a splendid piece filled with many images, deep emotion and a message as plain as the noses on our faces. Excellant work!!!! ~Nikki~

If Wishes Were Horses (Poetry) - 11/4/2003 7:29:30 AM
Excellent poem, full of imagery and emotion...I wish you well...Sam

If Wishes Were Horses (Poetry) - 11/4/2003 5:49:29 AM
What a lovely and moving poem. I love the imagery of wishes being horses. Karen Mueller Bryson, playwright and novelist

If Wishes Were Horses (Poetry) - 11/3/2003 11:41:15 AM
I think I can understand the "inner message" here, Annette, and I think you did a fine job of portraying it. At least it "spoke" to ME.

If Wishes Were Horses (Poetry) - 11/3/2003 8:19:12 AM
Annette: This somehow combines something fun and sad--very evocative. I'd love to hear what inspired it and how you came up with the relationship between wishes and horses. Your NUW pal, Carolyn Howard-Johnson Award-winning author of This is the Place and Harkening

If Wishes Were Horses (Poetry) - 11/3/2003 8:19:03 AM
Beautiful! I love the analogy "If Wishes Were Horses"

Dark Angel (Poetry) - 10/30/2003 1:49:31 AM
Good write!!!

Dark Angel (Poetry) - 10/29/2003 2:36:06 PM
Nice write dear... Rodd

Silence (Poetry) - 10/17/2003 12:49:54 PM
I was happily surprised to find your poetry, Annette. You are so modest about much of the stuff you do. I like this piece very much.

Silence (Poetry) - 8/30/2003 10:05:22 AM
But sometimes silence is so thick and heavy that you almost can hear it. However, in the modern world we are seldom away from some sort of noice. Total silence is almost unnerving because we aren't prepared for it. Interesting concept here anyway.

Dark Angel (Poetry) - 7/2/2003 10:14:23 AM
Thanks for sharing, I prefer the light, but I understand the attraction. Officer William Heffner

Dark Angel (Poetry) - 5/29/2003 10:39:52 AM
Glad I discovered your poems in the dark.... I do live in the dark side and enjoy the dark...ciao

Dark Angel (Poetry) - 3/7/2003 3:13:39 PM
Wow! hot & steamy

Dark Angel (Poetry) - 1/6/2003 10:50:12 AM
So sad. I'm sorry for your pain. GOOD writing! May you have a blessed day and may the Angel of Peace descend upon you! God bless! Love, Beth

Clock by Annette Gisby (Poetry) - 7/13/2002 7:02:18 PM
Found this humorous and liked the wry tone. Felt a little off re the cadence, but that could be me (feeling off).

Silence (Poetry) - 7/13/2002 7:00:40 PM
I like this. [btw: I hate rating, and so my norm is an 8.] It feels like the color white and like silence feels. it is also very pertinent and says a lot about communication, or rather, about how not communicating makes me feel.

Silence (Poetry) - 3/1/2002 1:26:45 PM
Quality fare.

Dark Angel (Poetry) - 2/25/2002 6:46:37 PM
Deep and Dark Nice Job.

Silence (Poetry) - 2/25/2002 6:44:11 PM
It's Great. Thanks for the read.

Silence (Poetry) - 2/1/2002 7:02:32 AM
A nice visual piece with nice rhtyhm and words.Lovely piece

Dark Angel (Poetry) - 1/31/2002 11:03:34 AM
Annette, this was excellent. We were just talking about this in my group the other day. We were asking everyone if they had ever had sex with a ghost before. Your poem reminded me of this thread. You'll be amazed how many have or imagined they had!

Dark Angel (Poetry) - 1/30/2002 1:32:50 PM
Excellent write... Thanks, Trixie

Dark Angel (Poetry) - 1/30/2002 8:40:19 AM
Excellent. Reminds me of my short stories - Dream Lover and Fantasy Lover. Kristie Leigh Maguire

Dark Angel (Poetry) - 1/30/2002 5:21:29 AM
This one reminds me of my own poem, which I had written for a friend who had lost someone he loves dearly..... The link to see this poem is here, I have written this poem just for him.....and you're welcome to read this poem......titled: "A Message To Someone From....." http://sandie_1308.tripod.com/poetry.html#Message Sandie Angel :o)

There is a Monster in the Corner by Annette Gisby (Poetry) - 1/24/2002 3:17:45 PM
Great poem annette, my "monster" has taken possesion of my kids... :))

Silence (Poetry) - 1/8/2002 8:49:12 PM
oooo Annette, I love this, especially the last line, it wraps it up nicely. Janet

Silence (Poetry) - 1/8/2002 7:05:02 PM
Lovely poem Annette. Great visuals as I read. Thanks for sharing!

Silence (Poetry) - 1/8/2002 4:35:48 PM
I can also say that I have never heard silence. I think if I were able to hear total silence it would be deafening. D.L. Hale author of "If I Were An Eagle Bkko One" www.eaglewriter.com

Silence (Poetry) - 1/7/2002 12:32:57 PM
Silence can be very loud, very telling. When someone acquiesces--just follows through without telling you. Or when one is being ignored. That's deadening silence! Loved the poem. Loved the metaphor that silence is like "newly laid snow." Every writer can relate to it! Thank you, Annette! Reviewed by Carolyn Howard-Johnson Author of "This is the Place" and "Harkening: A Collection of Stories Remembered."

Silence (Poetry) - 1/7/2002 12:21:16 PM
I can't hear the silence..... but sometimes....you can see it. great poem dehanna

Silence (Poetry) - 1/7/2002 10:41:10 AM
Excellent! I love your poetry. Kristie Leigh Maguire, author of Emails from the Edge, Desert Triangle, contributor to Calliope's Mousepad: Women Writers Online

Clock by Annette Gisby (Poetry) - 12/10/2001 7:54:37 AM
Ha! I'm sure everyone would love to be a rock when that darn alarm keeps going off! Great piece, Annette, now I'm going back to read the rest!

Clock by Annette Gisby (Poetry) - 12/9/2001 4:49:18 PM
interesting pattern, and subject...keep up the great work

Clock by Annette Gisby (Poetry) - 12/7/2001 11:16:39 AM
I really like this!

Clock by Annette Gisby (Poetry) - 12/7/2001 8:51:19 AM
Ecxellent, Annette! There have been many times when I wanted to throw that clock at the wall and hear the sound no more - especially when I am sitting at my computer with that blank screen in front of me and have no words come to mind to fill it. Kristie Leigh Maguire

There is a Monster in the Corner by Annette Gisby (Poetry) - 11/8/2001 11:51:12 PM
Excellent poem!

There is a Monster in the Corner by Annette Gisby (Poetry) - 11/7/2001 9:12:26 AM
annette very nice poem, i believe i have one of those monsters myself, except i try to keeps his eyes shut ;) nice imagery, great rhythm, keep up the good work dehanna

There is a Monster in the Corner by Annette Gisby (Poetry) - 11/7/2001 6:48:58 AM
Excellent, Annette! You should write more poetry. You are good at it! Kristie Leigh Maguire, author of 'Desert Triangle' and 'Emails from the Edge - The Life of an Expatriate Wife'

Obsessed by Annette Gisby (Poetry) - 7/12/2001 6:44:21 PM
The poem--true to its title--grips onto that very thing it tries to explain: obsession, with its strange compulsions and destructive short-slightness. Very nicely done.

Obsessed by Annette Gisby (Poetry) - 6/24/2001 2:55:56 PM
I love this poem and feel that it needs no explanation. It can be interpreted 1,000 ways. It's up to us as readers. Excellent! JC

Obsessed by Annette Gisby (Poetry) - 6/18/2001 10:58:25 AM
Haunting and thought provoking. Kristie Leigh Maguire Author of Desert Triangle

Obsessed by Annette Gisby (Poetry) - 5/21/2001 7:21:56 AM
"I want to crush you," sort of confused me. Like physically crush or break somebody's heart? Yes, obsession is probably not a bad thing sometimes but love is, for the most part, some sort of obsession =/ I guess I can say I have felt most of these "obsession" feelings although I don't WANT to feel her dying but I will be there when it happens or she will for me. Nice, sharp poem -- only real problem with it, to me, is that it seems pretty cliché of a topic?

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.